Skip to main content

Full text of "The shores of the Adriatic, the Austrian side : the Küstenlande, Istria, and Dalmatia"

See other formats


fHE  SHORE 


M      IATIC 


j  T  han  SIDE 

s 

I  JACKSON   I 


I   •  •   .jnu.vn.i 


•:  ''I?'/ 


*»V     WAVVV»KgftJ| ' 


Digitized  by  the  Internet  Archive 
in  2013 


http://archive.org/details/shoresofadriatiOOjack 


THE    SHORES    OE 
THE    ADRIATIC 

THE  AUSTRIAN   SIDE 


HERZEGOVINIAN    WOMEN    AT    A    BAKER'S    SHOP    IN    RAGUSA 

Frontispiece 


THE    SHORES    OF 
THE    ADRIATIC 

THE  AUSTRIAN  SIDE 

THE  KUSTENLANDE,  ISTRIA,  AND  DALMATIA 
By  F.  HAMILTON  JACKSON,  R.B.A. 

VICE-PRESIDENT    OF    THE     INSTITUTE     OF     DECORATIVE    DESIGNERS 
CANTOR    LECTURER,    ETC. 

FULLY  ILLUSTRATED  WITH   PLANS,  DRAWINGS  BY  THE 

AUTHOR,  AND  PHOTOGRAPHS  TAKEN  SPECIALLY 

FOR  THIS  WORK 


LONDON 
JOHN    MURRAY,   ALBEMARLE   STREET,   W. 

1908 


PRINTED   BY 
HAZELL,   WATSON   AND   VINEY,   LD. 
LONDON  AND  AYLESBURY. 


PREFACE 

This  volume  is  complementary  to  that  dealing  with 
the  Italian  side  of  the  Adriatic,  and  follows  much  the 
same  lines.  It  has  not  been  thought  necessary  to 
repeat  what  appeared  there  about  the  sea  itself,  but 
some  further  details  on  the  subject  have  been  added 
in  an  introductory  chapter.  The  concluding  chapter 
treats  of  the  influence  which  the  two  coasts  exerted 
on  each  other,  and  contains  some  hints  as  to  certain 
archaeological  problems  of  great  interest,  which  deserve 
fuller  and  more  individual  treatment  than  they  can 
receive  in  such  a  work  as  the  present. 

In  a  country  which  still  contains  so  much  that  is 
unfamiliar,  so  many  mediaeval  survivals  in  customs 
and  costume,  and  so  much  that  is  fine  in  scenery, 
architecture,  and  the  decorative  arts,  the  picturesque 
aspect  of  the  country  has  been  dwelt  upon  more  than 
was  the  case  in  dealing  with  the  Italian  side,  and  the 
meticulous  description  of  buildings  has  to  a  great 
extent  been  abandoned,  except  in  cases  where  it  was 
necessary  for  the  full  understanding  of  the  deductions 
drawn  from  existing  details.  At  the  same  time, 
matters  of  archaeology  have  not  been  neglected,  and 
the  rich  remains  of  mediaeval  goldsmiths'  work  have 
received  special  attention.  The  costume,  the  customs, 
and  the  folk-lore  of  the  Morlacchi  are  also  treated 
of  in  considerable  detail. 

The  determination  of  the  Croat  majority  to  stamp 
out  the  Italian  language  by  insisting  upon  instruction 


vi  PREFACE 

in  the  schools  being  given  solely  in  Croat  will,  in  the 
course  of  a  generation,  make  Italian  a  foreign  language 
understood  by  few  ;  and  it  seems  wise  for  those  who 
desire  to  visit  Dalmatia  to  do  so  soon,  while  it  is  still 
understood  and  before  Italian  culture  is  forgotten. 

The  present  work  does  not  pretend  to  in  any 
way  rival  Mr.  T.  G.  Jackson's  classic  volumes  on  the 
architecture  of  the  country,  in  completeness  of  historical 
treatment  or  architectural  detail.  Though  Sir  Gardner 
Wilkinson  had  published  a  book  on  the  country,  and 
the  brothers  Adam's  full  description  of  Diocletian's 
Palace  was  well  known  to  connoisseurs,  he  may  be 
said  to  have  practically  discovered  Dalmatia  for  the 
Englishman ;  and  it  is  a  proof  of  the  excellence  of  his 
work  that,  though  twenty  years  have  elapsed  since  it 
was  published,  it  has  never  been  surpassed,  and  its 
value  remains  undiminished.  To  these  volumes  the 
author  desires  to  acknowledge  his  indebtedness,  as  well 
as  to  the  "  Mittheilungen  "  of  the  Austrian  Central 
Commission  for  the  Conservation  of  Historical  Monu- 
ments ;  the  "  Bullettino  di  Storia  Dalmata,"  con- 
ducted by  Mgr.  Bulic  at  Spalato  ;  .the  "  Atti  "  of 
the  Istrian  "  Societa  di  Archeologia  e  Storia  Patria," 
published  at  Parenzo ;  and  the  "  Archeografo  Triestino," 
published  at  Trieste,  all  chronicling  discoveries  as  they 
were  made,  and  containing  articles  giving  interesting 
and  reliable  information  upon  the  history  and  antiqui- 
ties of  the  coast.  In  addition,  the  following  works 
have  been  consulted  : 

Freeman's  "Subject  Lands  of  Venice";  Munro's 
"  Rambles  and  Studies  in  Bosnia  and  Herzegovina"  ; 
Neale's  "Travels  in  Dalmatia"  ;  Villari's  "  Ragusa"  ; 
Benussi's  "  LTstria  "  ;  Bianchi's  "  Zara  Cristiana  "  and 
"  Antichita  Romane  e  mediaevale  di  Zara  "  ;  Mgr.  Bulic's 
"  Guide  to  Spalato  and  Salona  "  ;  Caprin's  "  II  Trecento 
a  Trieste,"  "  Alpi  Gulie,"  and  "  LTstria  noblissima  "  ; 


PREFACE  vii 

Carrara's  "  La  Dalmazia  descritta  "  ;   Chiudina's  "  Le 
Castella  di  Spalato  "  ;   Fabianich's  "  La  Dalmazia  ne 
primi  cinque  secoli  del  Cristianesimo  "  ;  Fosco's  "  La 
Cathedrale  di  Sebenico";     Franceschi's  "  L'Istria  "  ; 
Gelcich's  "  Memorie  storiche  delle  Bocche  di  Cattaro" 
and    "  Dello   Sviluppo    civile    di     Ragusa";     Lago's 
"  Memorie  sulla  Dalmazia  "  ;  Lucio's  "  History  of  Dal- 
matia  and  Trau  "  ;  Ludwig  and  Molmenti's  "  Vittore 
Carpaccio";  Mantegazza's  "  L'Altra  Sponda  "  ;  Mod- 
rich's  "  La  Dalmazia  "  ;  Pasini's  "  II  Tesoro  di  S.  Marco 
in  Venezia  "  ;  Cav.  G.  B.  di  Rossi's  "  La  Capsella  Argen- 
tea  africana,"  &c,  and  the  two  series  of  "  Bullettino  di 
Archeologia  Cristiana  "  ;    Sabalich's  "  Guida  Archeo- 
logica  di  Zaza  "  ;  Tamaro's  "  Le  Citta  dell'  Istria  "  ;  and 
volumes  of  the  Zara  "  Annuario  Dalmatico  "  ;  Bamber- 
ger's "  Blaues  Meer  und  Schwarze  Berge  "  ;   Danilo's 
u  Dalmatien  "  ;   "Die  Monarchic  in  Wort  und  Bild  "  ; 
Eitelberger  von  Edelberg's    "  Gesammelte    Kunsthis- 
torischen   Schriften  "  ;     Hauser's    "  Spalato    und    die 
monumente   Dalmatiens  "  ;     Heider's    "  Mittelaltliche 
Kunst  denkmale  des  (Esterreichischen  Kaiserstaates  "  ; 
Passarge's  "  Dalmatien  und  Montenegro  ";  Petermann's 
"  Fiihrer  durch  Dalmatien  "  ;    Tomasin's  "  Die  Volk- 
stamme  im  Gebiete  von  Triest  und  in  Istrien";  Von 
Warsberg's  "  Dalmatien  "  ;    and  Count  Lanckoronski's 
magnificent  monograph  of  the  Cathedral  of  Aquileia. 
A  small  portion  of  the  matter  of  this  volume  has 
appeared  in  The  Builder  and  The  Guardian,  but  has 
been  revised  and,  to  a  great  extent,  rewritten.     The 
author's  thanks  are  due  to  the  proprietors  for  per- 
mission to   republish  these  articles.      He   desires   to 
express  his  thanks  also  to  the  Austrian  Government 
especially,    and    to    the    ecclesiastical  authorities,  for 
special  facilities  very  kindly  afforded  him  for  prose- 
cuting his  studies  ;  to  the  Central  Commission,  for  the 
loan  of  cliches  of  most  of  the  plans  ;  to  the  directorate 


viii  PREFACE 

of  the  Archeografo  Triestino,  for  permission  to  re- 
produce the  plan  of  the  cathedral,  Trieste;  to  the 
Istrian  Archaeological  Society,  for  the  plan  of  the  three 
cathedrals  of  Parenzo,  and  for  permission,  very 
courteously  given  by  the  president,  Dr.  Amoroso,  to  use 
anything  published  by  them  on  the  subject ;  to  Mgr. 
Bulic,  Sig.  Maionica,  Curator  of  the  Museum,  Aquileia, 
and  to  Sig.  Puschi,  of  the  Museum,  Trieste,  for  much 
information  kindly  given  by  word  of  mouth  ;  and  to 
Mr.  Palmer,  Librarian  of  the  Art  Library,  South 
Kensington,  for  calling  his  attention  to  several  books 
which  were  exceedingly  useful. 

The  photographs  (as  in  the  Italian  volume)  are 
from  the  excellent  negatives  of  Mr.  Cooper  Ashton,  the 
travelling  companion  of  many  foreign  archaeological 
expeditions. 


CONTENTS 


PAGE 


Preface         v 

Lists  of  Illustrations  and  Plans    ....         xi-xv 

I.  Introductory  Chapter i 

II.  The  Races  and  their  Customs     ....  6 

III.  Aquileia 23 

IV.  Grado 41 

V.  Grado  to  Trieste 54 

VI.  Historical  Sketch  of  Istria        .        .        .        .69 

VII.  MUGGIA   TO   PlRANO 79 

VIII.  Umago  to  Parenzo 104 

IX.  Parenzo 107 

X.  To  Pola  by  Sea 127 

XL  To  Pola  by  Land 133 

XII.  Pola 143 

XIII.  Characteristics  of  the  Istrian  Coast  .        .        .  160 

XIV.  FlUME  AND   VEGLIA 163 

XV.  OSSERO  AND   CHERSO l8o 

XVI.  Historical  Sketch  of  Dalmatia  ....  187 

XVII.  Arbe 192 

XVIII.  Zara 205, 

ix  b 


x  CONTENTS 

PAGE 

XIX.    Sebenico 245 

XX.    Trau  and  the  Riviera  dei  Sette  Castelli        .  262 

XXI.    Spalato 292 

XXII.    The  Southern  Group  of  Islands        .        .        .  316 

XXIII.  Ragusa 333 

XXIV.  The  Bocche  di  Cattaro 369 

XXV.   The  Reciprocal  Influences  of  the  Two  Shores  397 

Index 409 


ILLUSTRATIONS 


I.    FROM    PHOTOGRAPHS 


Herzegovinian  Women  at  a  Baker's  Shop  in  Ragusa 
Statue  of  Venus,  Museum,  Aquileia  . 
Pulpit  in  the  Cathedral,  Grado  .... 
Shipping  at  Trieste :  the  Canal,  with  the  Greek  Church 

and  Sant*  Antonio 

Pirano,  from  near  the  Cathedral .... 

Marble  Capital  of  the  Sixth  Century,  Parenzo   . 

High-altar,  Parenzo,  from  the  South  Aisle . 

Wine-boats  in  the  Fiumara  Canal,  Fiume  . 

South  Portion  of  Choir-screen,  Cathedral,  Veglia 

The  Harbour  of  Besca  Nova 

Chimneys  at  Besca  Nova    . 

Monstrance  in  Colleggiata,  Ossero 

Smergo  Fishermen 

Ascent  to  the  Ramparts,  Zara    . 

Carving  on  Right  Jamb  of  West  Door,  Cathedral,  Trau 

Interior  of  the  Cathedral,  Trau 

Door  of  the  "  Atrio  Rotondo,"  Palace  of  Diocletian 

Spalato 

Interior  of  the  Cathedral,  Spalato 

Panel  from  Guvina's  Doors  of  the  Cathedral,  Spalato 

Stall-backs  in  Choir,  Cathedral,  Spalato    . 

A  Morlacco  Family,  between  Salona  and  Clissa 

Travelling  at  ease  :   among  the  Islands 

Herzegovinian  Charcoal  Porter,  Gravosa  . 


Frontispiece 
Facing  page      36 

45 

57 

97 

113 

116 

163 

173 

176 
178 
184 
186 
205 
272 
276 

294 
296 
299 
300 
314 
329 
334 


Xll 


ILLUSTRATIONS 


Reliquary   of    the    Head   of    S.    Blaise,     Cathedral 

Treasury,  Ragusa 

Cloister  of  the  Dominican  Convent,  Ragusa 
Lavabo  in  Sacristy  of  Franciscan  Convent,  Ragusa 
Loggia  of  Rector's  Palace,  Ragusa 
Capital  from  the  Loggia,  Rector's  Palace,  Ragusa 
iEsculapius  Capital,  Rector's  Palace,  Ragusa    . 
Fountain  of  Onofrio  di  La  Cava,  Ragusa   . 
Reliquary  of  the  Head  of  S.  Trifone,  Cattaro     . 
Albanian  Horse-dealers,  Cattaro 


Facing  page  343 

349 
353 
354 
355 
356 
357 
384 
388 


II.    FULL-PAGE    LINE    DRAWINGS 


Narthex  of  the  Cathedral,  Aquileia    . 

A  Corner  in  Grado 

The  Patriarch's  Throne,  Cathedral,  Grado 
Choir-screen  and  Ambo,  Muggia  Vecchia  . 
The  "  Fontico  "  and  S.  Giacomo,  Capodistria  . 
The  Piazza  da  Ponte,  Capodistria 
The  Inner  Harbour,  Pirano        .... 
Opus  Sectile  in  the  Apse,  Cathedral,  Parenzo    . 
The  Atrium  and  Western  Facade,  Cathedral,  Parenzo 
View  across  the  Nave,  Cathedral,  Parenzo 
An  Istrian  Farm-house 


Interior  of  the  Basilica,  San  Lorenzo 

Entrance  to  the  Castle,  Pisino    . 

An  Angle  of  the  Castle,  San  Vincenti 

Arch  of  the  Sergii,  Pola     . 

The  Amphitheatre,  Pola    . 

West  Doorway,  S.  Francesco,  Pola 

Interior  of  the  Cathedral,  Veglia 

In  the  Harbour,  Besca  Nova 

The  Main  Street,  Besca  Nova    . 

Lussin  Grande    .         .         . 

West  Door  of  the  Colleggiata,  Ossero 

The  Landing-place,  Arbe    . 

The  Porta  Marina,  Zara    . 


in  Pasenatico 


35 

42 
46 
81 
90 
92 

94 
114 
119 
121 
133 
134 
137 
*39 
145 
146 

154 
171 

175 
177 
181 
183 
193 
207 


ILLUSTRATIONS 


Xlll 


North  Door  of  Western  Facade,  Cathedral,  Zara 

Apse  of  S.  Crisogono,  Zara 

Entrance  to  the  Town  of  Nona  . 

Eastern  End  of  Cathedral,  Sebenico  . 

Late  Venetian-Gothic  Doorway,  Sebenico  . 

South-east  Portion  of  Choir,  Cathedral,  Sebenico 

Belfry  of  Greek  Church,  Sebenico 

The  Porta  Marina  and  Custom  House,  Trau 

The  Porta  S.  Giovanni,  Trau 

A  Decayed  Palace,  Trau    .... 

The  Quay,  Castel  Vecchio  .... 

The  Porta  Aurea,  Spalato  .... 

Italian  Fruit  and  Vegetable  Boats,  Spalato 

Cloister  of  S.  Francesco,  Spalato 

Osteria  at  Salona 

Basilica  of  the  Christian  Cemetery,  Salona 

Porta  Pile,  Ragusa 

Torre  Menze  and  Fort  S.  Lorenzo,  Ragusa 

La  Sponza  and  Onofrio's  Fountain,  Ragusa 

The  Ruined  Bastion,  Castelnuovo,  Bocche  di  Cattaro 

Dobrota,  Bocche  di  Cattaro 

Ciborium  of  S.  Trifone,  Cattaro  . 

S.  Luka,  Cattaro 

The  Scuola  Nautica,  Cattaro 


Facing  page  220 
230 

239 
248 

253 
254 
257 
265 
266 
282 
287 
293 
303 
305 
310 
312 
336 

337 
359 
373 

378 
383 
385 
386 


III.    LINE    DRAWINGS    IN    TEXT 


Knocker  of  the  Rector's  Palace,  Ragusa  . 
Antique  Statue  in  the  Museum,  Aquileia  . 
Figure  of  S.  Giusto,  Campanile  of  the  Cathedral,  Trieste 

Arco  di  Riccardo,  Trieste 

West  End  of  the  Church,  Muggia  Vecchia 
Knocker  on  Palazzo  Tacco,  Capodistria    . 
Greek  Benedict ional  Cross,  Parenzo  . 
Sarcophagus  of  S.  Eufemia,  Rovigno 
Wayside  Chapel  outside  San  Vincenti 
Stall  on  the  Wine-quay,  Fiume  .... 


On  Title 
page       37 

63 
65 

80 

91 
117 
130 

140 

164 


xiv  ILLUSTRATIONS 

Veglia,  showing  the  Castle  Towers    .... 
Reliquary  of  the  Head  of  Sant  Christopher   .     . 

Arbe,  from  the  Shore 

Morlacco  Girl,  Zara   . 

Going  to  Market,  Zara 

Altar  of  Sant'  Anastasia,  Zara 

Reliquary  of  Sant'  Orontius,  Zara      .... 
Reliquary  of  the  Clothes  of  Our  Lord,  S.  Maria  Nuova, 

Zara 

Costume  of  Sebenico  ....... 

Late  Gothic  Lintel  at  Trau 

A  Quaint  Costume,  Trau 

Reliquaries  and  Chalice,  Treasury,  Spalato  Cathedral 
Morse  in  the  Treasury,  Spalato  Cathedral 

Porta  Maggiore,  Lesina 

West  Door  of  the  Cathedral,  Curzola .... 
Head  Reliquary  in  Cathedral,  Ragusa 
Reliquary  of  the  Jaw  of  S.  Stephen  of  Hungary 

A  Corner  of  the  Walls,  Cattaro 

Montenegrins  in  the  Market,  Cattaro 
Early  Greek  Ship,  from  Millingen's  Vases 


page 

172 

3> 

I96 

H 

203 

ii 

212 

ii 

213 

ii 

225 

J> 

226 

J> 

234 

a 

257 

a 

283 

a 

286 

5) 

297 

>> 

298 

ii 

319 

ii 

326 

ii 

345 

ii 

346 

ii 

388 

H 

392 

Tailpiece 

IV.    PLANS    AND    SECTIONS 


Plan  of  the  Cathedral,  Aquileia 

Plan  of  the  Cathedral,  Trieste  . 

Plan  of  Pulpit,  Muggia  Vecchia 

Plan  of  the  Three  Basilicas,  Parenzo  . 

Plan  of  S.  Maria  Formosa,  Pola 

Plans  of  S.  Donato,  Zara  .... 

Plans  and  Section  of  S.  Lorenzo,  Zara  .    Between  pages  216 

Plan  of  Foundations  discovered  on  the  Riva  Nuova, 

Zara 

Plan  of  the  Cathedral,  Zara 
Plan  of  Cathedral  Crypt,  Zara  . 
Plan  of  S.  Nicold,  Nona    .         . 
Plan  and  Sections,  S.  Barbara,  Trau 


page 

28 

ii 

60 

it 

82 

ii 

109 
I48 

and 

214 
217 

page 

218 

f> 

223 

>t 

224 

it 

242 

268 


ILLUSTRATIONS  xv 

Plan  of  the  Cathedral,  Trau 

Plan  of  Cathedral  and  Campanile,  Spalato 
Plan  of  the  Dominican  Convent,  Ragusa  . 
Plan  and  Elevation  of  one  Bay  of  Cloister,  Dominican 

Convent,  Ragusa 

Plan  of  La  Sponza,  Ragusa 

Plan  of  the  Cathedral,  Cattaro 

Map  of  Istria  and  Dalmatia       .... 


page 

271 

•  >> 

•  >> 

295 
348 

352 
358 
38i 

At  end  of  book 

INTRODUCTORY   CHAPTER 

The  two  shores  of  the  Adriatic  are  totally  different 
in  their  natural  characteristics  ;  the  western  being 
almost  islandless  and  destitute  of  harbours,  while  the 
eastern  is  fringed  by  an  almost  continuous  chain  of 
islands  and  possesses  several  magnificent  harbours 
which  communicate  with  the  open  sea  by  narrow 
channels  easily  fortified,  the  rocks  rising  precipitously 
from  the  water  along  the  greater  part  of  the  coast, 
whereas  on  the  Italian  side  there  is  an  equally  con- 
tinuous strip  of  alluvial  plain  between  the  foothills  and 
the  sea. 

The  Adriatic  was  once  bounded  by  a  kind  of  ridge 
stretching  from  Monte  Gargano  to  Albania.  North  of 
this  line  the  depth  is  much  less  than  in  the  Ionian  Sea. 
When  the  surface  of  the  earth  sank,  the  Dalmatian 
islands  were  formed  by  the  letting  in  of  the  sea.  The 
depth  near  Parenzo  is  about  120  ft. ;  in  the  Quarnero, 
near  Fiume,  195  ft. ;  between  Cherso  and  Arbe,  335  ft. ; 
and  south-west  of  the  island  Zuri  (some  24  miles  from 
the  mainland),  about  700  ft.  Depths  as  great  as  335  ft. 
to  490  ft.  are,  however,  not  very  common  within  nine 
miles  of  the  mainland.  In  the  Bocche  di  Cattaro  the 
depth  near  the  mouth  is  165  ft.,  but  half  a  mile  west  of 
the  Punta  d'Ostro,  335  ft.  North  of  the  line  from 
Monte  Gargano  to  Pelagosa,  Cazza,  and  Curzola  it  is 
never  as  much  as  780  ft. ;  south-east  of  this  line  the 


2  INTRODUCTORY   CHAPTER 

bottom  sinks  so  much  that  between  Cattaro  and 
Brindisi  it  reaches  a  depth  of  over  5,000  ft.  The  tide  is 
scarcely  perceptible,  and  the  currents  are  very  slight. 
The  land  is  still  sinking,  as  is  proved  by  the  Roman 
sarcophagi  found  beneath  the  water  at  Vranjic  and  the 
submerged  roads  between  Aquileia  and  Grado ;  while 
there  are  records  of  the  destruction  of  ancient  towns 
from  sudden  subsidences,  as  that  of  Cissa,  near  Rovigno. 
The  subsidence  has  been  calculated  as  about  a  yard  in 
1,000  years.  Cluverius  proves  from  Ptolemy  that  in 
antiquity  the  name  Adriatic  only  applied  to  that  part 
of  the  gulf  which  lay  to  the  north  of  a  line  between 
Monte  Gargano  and  Durazzo.  A  passage  of  Strabo, 
describing  the  people  of  Epirus,  runs  :  "  The  Adriatic 
being  ended,  the  Ionian  commences,  the  first  shore  of 
which  is  in  the  neighbourhood  of  Epidamnus  and  Apol- 
lonia."  When  Venice  conquered  Durazzo  the  limits  of 
the  Adriatic  were  extended,  and  it  was  thenceforth 
called  the  Gulf  of  Venice.  In  1859  tne  almost  incredible 
fact  is  recorded  that  it  was  frozen  for  several  days  ! 

The  Austrian  provinces  which  lie  along  the  coast 
are,  commencing  at  the  north,  the  Kiistenlande,  Istria, 
and  Dalmatia.  In  the  first  the  Julian  Alps  form  a 
great  boundary  wall  to  the  plain  of  the  Isonzo,  from 
which  the  ground  rises  between  Monfalcone  and  Na- 
bresina  to  the  stony  district  of  the  Karst.  The  Istrian 
ranges  are  spurs  from  this  lofty  plateau,  the  chain  cul- 
minating in  Monte  Maggiore,  north-west  of  Fiume.  All 
these  heights  belong  to  the  Julian  Alps.  Beyond 
Fiume,  southwards,  there  are  three  principal  mountain 
chains,  all  of  which  have  much  the  same  formation  of 
limestone,  pale  brownish  or  grey  in  colour,  with  fossils 
and  streaks  of  other  colours.  The  first  is  the  Dinaric 
Alps  or  Velebits,  a  continuation  of  the  Julian  Alps. 
These  separate  Dalmatia  from  Bosnia  as  far  as  Imoschi, 
where  they  enter  Herzegovina,  finally  joining  the  Monte- 


CHARACTERISTICS    OF   THE   LAND  3 

negrin  chain.  The  chain  of  the  shore  commences  on 
the  left  bank  of  the  Kerka  and  extends  to  the  Narenta, 
which  cuts  it.  It  runs  as  far  as  Trebinje,  beyond 
the  river.  The  Montenegrin  mountains,  which  are  so 
impressive  above  the  Bocche  di  Cattaro,  joining  with 
those  of  the  Herzegovina,  make  the  third  chain.  The 
islands  and  rocks  in  the  sea  appear  to  be  submarine 
branches  of  the  littoral  chain  ;  the  strata  lie  in  the  same 
direction — in  the  North  Dalmatian  islands  to  the  north- 
west, in  the  Southern  to  the  west.  On  the  peninsula 
of  Sabbioncello  they  lie  partly  in  one  and  partly  in  the 
other  direction.  The  former  connection  between  the 
islands  and  the  mainland  is  proved  by  the  remains  of 
rhinoceros,  horse,  and  stag  in  the  diluvial  bone  breccias 
of  Lesina,  and  the  survival  of  the  jackal  in  Giuppana, 
Curzola,  and  Sabbioncello.  Geologists  hold  that  the 
deeply  cut  bays  of  Sabbioncello  and  Gravosa,  as  well 
as  of  the  Bocche  di  Cattaro,  and  the  step-shaped  sink- 
ings of  the  northern  and  eastern  limestone  mountains 
towards  the  Adriatic  basin  are  signs  of  the  tearing  away 
of  the  islands  from  the  mainland,  perhaps  through  the' 
destruction  of  the  permeable  strata. 

These  generally  show  in  their  forms  the  craggy  and 
stony  character  of  the  Dinaric  Alps,  rising  perpendicu- 
larly from  the  water  on  the  side  of  the  prevailing  wind, 
and  without  vegetation.  On  the  other  side  are  softer 
hills  and  plains  with  southern  vegetation,  the  aromatic 
scents  from  which  are  carried  by  the  breeze.  There  are 
about  twenty  large  islands,  some  of  which  are  over  30 
miles  long  ;  but  the  number  may  be  raised  to  a  hundred 
by  counting  in  the  small  ones.  They  are  generally  in 
groups  or  chains,  though  some  are  isolated.  The  water 
is  generally  deep  up  to  the  shore,  so  there  are  very  few 
sandbanks. 

The  greater  portion  of  the  naked  surface  of  the  land 
is  formed  of  limestone  and  dolomites,  which  are  closely 


4  INTRODUCTORY   CHAPTER 

related  :  there  are  also,  on  the  lower  levels,  grey  or  red 
sands,  among  which  schistous  loams  of  uniform  colour 
predominate.  These  two  formations  stretch  from  one 
end  of  the  province  to  the  other  in  sloping  beds.  They 
are  interrupted  here  and  there  by  loam  and  schistous 
clay  and  horizontal  beds  of  a  kind  of  limestone  :  below 
these  are  lignites  and  chalky  limestone,  in  which  shells 
are  found  belonging  to  a  later  formation.  The  oldest 
formations  are  the  volcanic  mountains  near  Knin  and 
on  Lissa.  Next  follow  the  trias  strata,  as  under  the 
Velebits  and  westwards  from  Sinj,  then  the  sandstone 
beds,  the  different  eocene  beds  and  alluvial  strata,  as  in 
the  plain  of  Dernis,  north  of  the  Vrana  Lake,  by  Nona 
and  Imoski.  The  principal  characteristic  of  the  Karst 
district  (to  which  Dalmatia  belongs  geologically)  is  the 
way  the  water  flows,  sometimes  above,  sometimes  under 
ground.  Where  the  woods  were  cut  down  to  supply  the 
Romans  and  Venetians  with  material  for  constructing 
their  fleets,  and  where  natural  afforestation  has  been 
stopped  by  the  feeding  of  sheep  and  goats,  the  red  earth 
has  either  been  washed  away  by  the  rains  or  blown 
away  by  the  winds,  so  that  it  is  only  in  the  hollows  that 
cultivation  can  be  carried  on. 

The  bitter  north  wind,  the  Bora,  is  the  curse  of  the 
district.  In  the  island  of  Arbe  it  sometimes  blows  even 
in  June  and  July,  stripping  the  vineyards  as  if  hundreds 
of  men  had  been  at  work,  and  carrying  the  salt  spray 
all  over  the  island,  to  the  great  detriment  of  vegetation. 
It  is  sometimes  strong  enough  to  upset  pedestrians,  and 
it  is  said  that  if  it  were  not  for  it,  there  would  be  neither 
winter  nor  cold  in  the  Dalmatian  littoral.  On  the 
heights  winter  begins  in  November  and  lasts  till  April, 
with  heavy  snowfalls ;  but  on  the  coast  spring  begins 
in  February,  and  winter  only  at  the  beginning  of 
December.  The  summer,  which  commences  in  May,  is 
usually  rainless,  with  the  heat  tempered  by  sea-breezes, 


TREES   AND   FLOWERS  5 

though  at  the  end  of  August  heavy  rains  commence,  and 
in  autumn  the  frequent  changes  of  temperature  are 
dangerous.  The  flora  consists  of  nearly  2,500  species, 
described  by  Visiani  in  his  "  Flora  Dalmatica."  The 
aquatic  flora  contains  nearly  700  varieties,  many  of 
theseaweeds  being  exclusively  Dalmatian.  Views  on  the 
coast  of  Ragusa,  or  at  Castelnuovo,  in  the  Bocche,  re- 
semble those  of  Sardinia  and  Sicily.  On  one  side  may 
be  seen  green  meadows,  fruit  trees,  flowing  water,  corn- 
fields, beechwoods,  &c.  ;  on  the  other,  olive  groves, 
thickets  of  arbutus,  hedge  plants  the  height  of  a  tree, 
myrtles,  and  bay  ;  on  the  naked  rock  aloes  grow  and  the 
opuntia  ;  in  gardens,  dwarf  and  date-palms,  unprotected 
cycas  revoluta,  and  orange  and  lemon  trees  ;  and  wide 
valleys  are  filled  with  lofty  carob  trees — so  close  are  the 
boundaries  between  the  flora  of  middle  Europe  and  of 
the  Mediterranean.  Almonds  flower  in  December,  and 
peas  and  beans  are  often  gathered  at  Christmas.  At 
Cannosa  the  date-palm  ripens  its  fruit,  and  flowers  are 
always  to  be  seen.  The  Euphorbia  Dendroides  grows 
as  high  as  in  Crete,  and  rosemary  bushes  are  frequently 
up  to  the  shoulder  of  a  man.  In  August  the  Syrian 
hibiscus  is  violet-red  and  the  scarlet-red  arbutus  fruit 
hangs  till  Christmas.  On  Monte  Marjan,  near  Spalato, 
where  Diocletian  had  his  parks,  the  sheltered  aspect 
creates  a  tropical  climate.  Wild  aloes  grow  6  ft.  high, 
and  in  midwinter  numbers  of  field  flowers  may  be 
picked  as  if  it  were  spring. 


v 


II 

THE   RACES  AND    THEIR   CUSTOMS 

The  people  of  Istria  and  Dalmatia  are  a  very  mixed 
race,  as  might  be  expected  from  the  history  of  the 
countries.  On  these  shores  and  islands  were  Greek 
colonies  and  Roman  municipia,  which  have  left  their 
trace  in  the  names  of  places  and  families.  Greek 
colonies  were  at  Issa  (Lissa),  Pharia  (Lesina),  Epetium 
(Stobrec),  Tragurium  (Trau),  Melita  (Meleda),  Corcyra 
(Curzola),  Buta  (Budua),  and  Ambrachia  (Brazza),  to 
name  some  of  those  which  have  survived  as  towns  to  the 
present  day.  Roman  family  names  occur  especially 
round  Spalato,  such  as  Lutia  (Lucio),  Caepia  (Cippico), 
Valeria  (Valeri),  Junia(Giunio),  Coceia  (Coceich),  Marcia 
(Marce),  Cassia  (Cassio),  Caelia  (Celio),  and  Statilia 
(Statileo).  Byzantine  names  testify  to  the  rule  of  Byzan- 
tium, such  asPaleologo,  Lascaris,  Andronico,  Grisogono, 
Catacumano.  In  Istria  there  is  a  considerable  admixture 
of  German  blood  ;  on  the  rocks  of  Zara  the  Crusaders 
abandoned  sick  Frenchmen  ;  whilst  thither  and  to 
Spalato  also  came  Ghibellines  in  exile.  Franks,  Croats, 
Bosniaks,  Hungarians,  Genoese,  Neapolitans,  and  above 
all,  Venetians  have  held  sway  over  portions  of  the  coast 
at  different  times.  Families  of  Hungarian  and  Bosnian 
gentlemen  established  the  free  commune  of  Poglizza ; 
exiles  from  Spain,  Jews,  for  the  most  part  driven  out  in 
1492,  established  themselves  at  Spalato  and  Ragusa ; 
Lombards   descended   upon   the   coasts   and  islands ; 


SURVIVALS    OF   DIFFERENT    RACES  7 

and  Venetians  commenced  to  establish  themselves  in 
Dalmatia  in  the  eleventh  century,  Istria  coming  even 
earlier  more  or  less  under  their  influence.  In  1552, 
in  the  Council  of  Zara,  out  of  seventeen  noble  families 
more  than  two-thirds  were  of  Italian  descent ;  and  at 
Lesina  the  proportion  was  even  greater.  At  Zara  the 
Italians  still  preponderate,  but  the  Slav  element  is  in 
the  majority  in  the  greater  part  of  Dalmatia,  and  even 
in  the  country  parts  of  Istria.  There  are  also  many 
French,  Hungarians,  Bosniaks,  Herzegovinians,  Ger- 
mans, Swiss,  and  gypsies,  the  Slav  majority  increasing 
towards  the  south. 

In  Istria  the  present  inhabitants  may  be  divided 
into  Italians,  Roumanians,  and  Slavs :  to  the  last  division 
belong  the  Morlacchi,  the  Tschitsches,  Slovens,  and 
Croats.  The  Italians  are  the  most  intelligent  portion  of 
the  population,  and  are  craftsmen,  large  occupiers  of 
land,  merchants,  and  sailors.  They  are  the  descendants 
of  those  who  were  subjects  of  Venice  from  the  fourteenth 
century  till  the  fall  of  the  Republic.  The  Slovens  were 
in  Istria  as  early  as  the  eighth  century,  and  Paulus 
Diaconus  mentions  them  as  being  near  Cividale.  Re- 
cords exist  of  Croats  raids  in  the  tenth  century,  whilst 
further  south  there  were  two  great  immigrations — the 
first,  in  the  seventh  century,  by  the  "Belocroats,"  called 
by  Porphyrogenitus,  Croats,  from  the  banks  of  the 
Elbe,  descendants  of  whom  may  to-day  be  found  in  the 
islands  ;  and  the  second,  in  the  fourteenth  century,  by 
the  people  of  Rascia,  who  now  inhabit  much  of  the 
interior  and  are  known  as  "  Morlacchi,' '  a  name  derived 
from  the  Slav  "  Mauro  vlach,"  the  black  Wallachs. 

According  to  Lucio,  who  refers  to  William  of  Tyre, 
all  Dalmatians  used  the  Roman  language  until  1200. 
After  the  Croats  came  down,  the  name  of  "  Dalmatian/' 
strictly  speaking,  belonged  only  to  the  cities  of  Zara, 
Trau,  Spalato,  and  Ragusa,  to  the  western  islands  of 


8     THE  RACES  AND  THEIR  CUSTOMS 

Dalmatia,  and  to  Lissa  and  Lagosta — Eastern  Dal- 
matia  was  a  Servian  province  ;  Western,  a  Croatian.  It 
is  known  that  Slavs  came  in  1463  to  Salvore,  in  1526  to 
the  district  of  Rovigno,  in  1549  t°  *ne  district  of  Citta- 
nova,  Montona,  Parenzo,  and  Pola,  in  1595  to  Fontane, 
in  1624  and  1634  (the  plague  years)  to  Fillipano,  1647 
to  near  Pola,  and  1650  to  Peroi,  near  Fasano.  Those 
now  there  came  from  the  Bocche  and  Montenegro, 
settled  in  1658-1659  by  Doge  Giovanni  Pesaro,  after 
the  great  plague.  The  women  still  wear  the  ancient 
costume.  The  Slavs  are  most  numerous  between 
Dragogna  and  Trieste.  Procopius  gives  an  interesting 
description  of  them  worth  quoting  :  "  The  two  nations 
of  the  Autars  and  the  Slavs  know  no  monarchical 
government ;  but  from  ancient  times  live  freely  in 
common  fashion.  They  take  all  questions  of  great 
importance  or  difficulty  to  a  common  national  council. 
The  customs  of  the  two  nations  are  alike  in  every- 
thing else.  These  barbarians  believe,  by  an  article  of 
faith  transmitted  from  their  ancestors,  that,  among 
many,  there  is  one  sole  master  of  all  things,  whom  they 
look  upon  as  the  author  of  the  thunder  ;  and  to  him 
they  sacrifice  bulls  and  other  victims.  They  do  not 
know  what  the  goddess  Fortune  may  be,  nor  believe 
that  she  has  any  influence  on  human  affairs.  When 
they  feel  themselves  threatened  by  death,  either  by  ill- 
ness or  wounds  given  in  battle,  they  are  told  to  promise 
a  sacrifice  to  God  if  they  escape  the  danger.  Then,  if 
they  soon  get  about  again,  they  fulfil  the  vow,  firmly 
persuaded  that  by  it  they  have  recovered  their  health. 
They  offer  worship  to  woods,  to  nymphs,  and  other 
genii,  immolating  victims  to  them,  and  prophesying  in 
the  act.  They  live  in  rough  huts  far  away  from  each 
other,  and  often  change  the  situation.  The  greater 
part  of  them  fight  on  foot,  armed  with  shield  and  with 
darts,  but  without  corslet.   Some  of  them  do  not  wear 


PROCOPIUS   ON   THE    SLAVS  9 

their  ordinary  clothes  in  battle,  but  draperies  which 
scarcely  reach  to  the  thigh,  and  so  they  present  them- 
selves to  the  enemy.  They  all  speak  the  same  bar- 
barous tongue,  nor  differ  much  in  appearance,  but  are  all 
tall  and  powerful.  The  colour  of  the  flesh  and  the 
hair  is  neither  vermilion  nor  brown,  but  reddish. 
They  live  a  somewhat  fatiguing  life,  somewhat  neglected 
and  uncultivated, like  the  Massagetae,  and,  like  them,  on 
sordid  food.  They  are  not  cunning,  nor  evildoers,  but 
follow  the  customs  of  the  Huns  in  sacking  and  rapine. 
They  possess  vast  lands  and  occupy  the  greater  part  of 
the  further  bank  of  the  Danube."  They  have  retained 
many  characteristics  of  an  earlier  age,  though  not  of  the 
period  of  Procopius. 

The  men  are  tall  and  muscular,  with  strongly 
marked  features.  Their  eyes  are  generally  either  grey 
or  blue,  the  forehead  broad  and  prominent,  the  teeth 
white  and  strong,  the  hair  sometimes  blonde,  but  rang- 
ing through  all  shades  to  black,  and  the  countenance 
intelligent  and  expressive.  The  boys  herd  the  flocks 
barefoot  and  half  naked,  so  that  their  skin  is  always 
bronzed,  and  the  men  generally  have  bare  breasts. 
Their  sight  and  hearing  are  remarkably  keen,  and  in 
Dalmatia  they  can  make  themselves  heard  from  one 
hill  to  another,  a  feat  which  is  partly  owing  to  the 
quality  of  the  air.  Their  excellent  health  enables  them 
to  support  all  kinds  of  hardships ;  they  sleep  out  of 
doors  (covering  the  head),  except  in  winter,  at  which 
season  they  stay  a  good  deal  by  the  fire,  though  they 
may  be  seen  in  the  city  with  icicles  on  their  hairy  chests. 
They  have  neither  stoves,  chimneys,  nor  glass  in  the 
windows.  A  case  of  a  monk  has  been  recorded,  who, 
at  the  age  of  105,  made  watches  and  read  with  the 
naked  eye,  ate  and  drank,  walked  and  "  wept  "  like 
a  boy  of  twenty.  The  costume  is  distinctive  and,  with 
slight   variations,  is  worn   throughout   Dalmatia.     In 


io        THE    RACES    AND   THEIR   CUSTOMS 

Istria  there  are  considerable  differences  both  in  colour 
and  form.  "  The  Morlacco  in  full  dress  has  on  his  head 
the  kapa,  a  cap  of  scarlet  cloth,  with  black  embroidery 
on  the  border  and  hanging  fringe  on  one  side  ;  in  some 
districts  bordering  on  Bosnia  a  rich  band  of  silk  or 
coloured  wools  is  twisted  round  it.  Over  the  skirt  of 
rough  linen  (the  kosulja),  open  to  show  the  breast,  is  the 
krozet,  a  waistcoat  crossed  on  the  breast  with  flat 
buttons  of  silver,  or  tin,  and  embroidery ;  it  is  bound 
to  the  sides  with  a  girdle  (pas)  made  of  red  strings. 
The  trousers  (benevrechi)  are  of  a  coarse  blue  cloth  fitting 
to  the  legs  and  very  tight  at  the  calf,  below  which 
they  are  split  up  and  fastened  by  sponje,  copper  or 
silver  hooks.  The  stockings  (nazubei)  are  of  wool  of 
various  patterns.  The  shoes  (opanci)  have  a  sole  of  ox- 
leather  and  uppers  of  strips  of  dried  sheeps'  skin  (opute)  : 
a  longer  oputa  passes  several  times  round  the  ankle  and 
holds  the  shoe  firm  ;  it  turns  up  at  the  toe  and  looks  quite 
Oriental.  Instead  of  the  krozet,  or  over  it,  some  wear  the 
jacerma,  a  sleeveless  red  cloth  jacket,  covered  in  front 
with  little  discs  of  tin  (siliki),  or  large  balls  of  silver  (toke), 
or  by  rows  of  coins.  And  over  the  pas  they  have  the 
pasnjaca,  a  band  of  red  leather  covering  part  of  the 
abdomen,  with  various  divisions,  in  which  they  used  to 
carry  their  rich  arms,  pistols,  knives,  &c.,  now  filled  with 
the  pipe,  pipe-cleaner,  britva,  a  very  small  scimitar  with 
a  bone  handle,  and  a  small  knife  in  a  sheath.  Finally, 
there  is  the  koporan,  a  jacket  with  sleeves  of  blue  cloth, 
with  embroidery  on  the  elbows  and  back ;  but  few 
Morlacchi  wear  it. 

"  The  women  have  a  large  handkerchief  (jacmak)  on 
their  heads,  embroidered  on  the  borders  ;  instead  of  the 
kosulja,  or  above  it,  they  have  the  oplece — that  is,  the 
coverer  of  the  shoulders  ;  it  is  closed  at  the  neck,  em- 
broidered on  the  breast,  and  on  the  ample  sleeves  also. 
Round  the  neck  is  the  gerdan,  several  strings  of  glass 


COSTUME   OF   THE    MORLACCHI  n 

beads  of  different  colours  ;  it  is  bound  at  the  stomach 
by  the  litar,  a  long  band  of  leather  a  couple  of  inches 
wide  covered  with  little  tin  discs  and  very  heavy.  From 
the  litar  hang  the  britva  and  a  lot  of  keys,  by  chains, 
which  are  sometimes  costly.  The  gown  (vustan)  is  of 
blue  cloth,  but  in  summer  of  linen,  reaching  to  the 
middle  of  the  calf.  The  apron  (prejaca,  or,  in  Venetian, 
travesa)  is  always  a  chef-d'oeuvre  of  workmanship,  which 
the  Morlacca  thinks  a  deal  of.  The  footwear  is  com- 
posed of  three  parts  :  bicve,  of  blue  cloth  reaching  up  to 
the  knee,  tightly  laced  up  with  little  hooks,  and  finishing 
at  the  ankle  in  a  ring ;  over  them  the  true  stockings 
(nazubei)oi rough  wool,  with  patternsin  vivid  colours  and 
opanci,  or  filare,  like  the  men's.  The  girl  does  not  have 
the  litar ;  on  her  head  is  no  jacmak,  but  a  red  cloth  cap, 
sparkling  with  antique  or  modern  coins  of  silver,  and 
occasionally  of  gold.  In  some  places  the  girl  has  on  her 
bosom  the  gendar,  several  rows  of  coins  which  hang 
from  the  neck,  sometimes  below  the  stomach,  tinkling 
at  every  step  ;  this  is  her  dowry,  and  sometimes  worth  as 
much  as  £50.  When  she  is  married  she  puts  off  the 
gendar  and  sparkling  kapa.  The  men  used  to  have  a 
pigtail,  of  which  they  were  very  proud.  The  wife  used 
to  comb  it  twice  a  month,  anoint  it  with  butter,  and  tie 
up  the  end  with  ribbons  and  amulets.  It  was  the  only 
time  when  a  Morlacco  addressed  his  wife  affectionately. 
In  barracks  and  in  prison  the  hair  is  cut,  so  the  pigtail 
is  rarely  seen  now.  To  complete  the  toilet  the  torba 
zndtorbak  must  be  mentioned :  the  first  of  red  wool,  with 
embroidery,  worn  by  both  men  and  women  on  the  back, 
laced  round  the  shoulders  ;  the  second  generally  of  skin, 
worn  only  by  the  men,  and  hanging  crosswise  by  a 
broad  band  of  leather  on  the  left  hip." 

I  have  given  this  detailed  description  of  the  costume 
(quoted  from  Signor  Modrich's  "  Dalmazia"),  thinking 
it  would  be  of  interest;  but  descriptions  of  the  costumes 


12         THE   RACES   AND   THEIR   CUSTOMS 

as  they  appear  to  the  ordinary  traveller  will  be  found  in 
the  sections  dealing  with  the  various  places  on  the 
coast. 

The  Dalmatians  are  very  fond  of  music  and  are 
constantly  singing.  They  have  a  proverb  :  "  He  who 
sings  thinks  not  of  evil."  Tomaseo  thought  their  folk- 
songs richer  than  those  of  any  other  nation,  ranging 
as  they  do  over  all  manner  of  subjects.  They  are 
generally  heroical  or  amorous  in  character,  divided 
into  short  verses  and  sung  in  two  parts ;  the  bass  delivers 
a  kind  of  recitative,  and  the  baritone  joins  in,  the  long 
final  note  with  which  each  finishes  dying  away  in  a  full 
chord.  It  is  extraordinary  how  serious  the  men  are 
over  it,  even  when  singing  over  their  wine,  in  which 
they  sometimes  exceed.  At  Trau  one  Sunday  afternoon 
we  saw  a  party  of  eight  or  ten  sitting  round  a  table  in 
a  cafe  as  serious  as  if  at  a  funeral,  with  wine  before  them, 
and  enjoying  their  melancholy  music.  On  this  occa- 
sion the  alto  part  was  flat,  and  the  effect  was  not  as  good 
as  it  is  out  of  doors.  Later  we  came  across  more  than 
one  group  of  four,  standing  where  two  streets  met,  and 
singing  without  looking  at  each  other.  In  the  narrow 
ancient  streets  the  notes  sounded  quite  in  character 
with  the  surroundings  and  with  the  quaint  dresses  of 
the  singers.  Modrich  says  that  they  use  the  svirala,  a 
kind  of  bagpipe  with  two  canes,  one  with  four  and  the 
other  with  three  holes,  and  suggests  that  the  long- 
drawn  terminating  notes  of  the  songs  are  in  imitation  of 
its  sound  ;  but  we  neither  saw  nor  heard  this  instrument, 
all  the  singing  being  unaccompanied.  The  principal 
occupations  of  the  people  are  agriculture,  cattle-raising, 
and  fishing,  or  sea-faring.  They  are  exceedingly  re- 
ligious, devoted  to  church  and  priest,  and  observe  the 
great  festivals  with  feasting  and  rejoicing,  and  with 
ceremonies  many  of  which  are  evidently  survivals  of 
heathen  observances.     The  greatest  festival  is  Christ- 


CUSTOMS   OF   THE    MORLACCHI  13 

mas.  In  preparation  all  clothes  are  washed  and 
mended,  house  and  yard  cleaned,  and  better  and  richer 
food  than  they  usually  have  is  provided.  On  the  Eve 
they  work  hard  ;  before  sunrise  house  and  yard  are 
decked  with  bay  or  olive  branches  or  some  other  ever- 
green, which  they  think  protects  from  lightning.  On 
this  day  the  sun,  which  the  ancient  Slavs  worshipped, 
woke  from  sleep,  as  one  may  say,  and  the  days  began 
to  lengthen  perceptibly. 

The  father  of  the  sun  was  Perun,  the  thunder-god. 
To  this  god  the  oak  was  dedicated.  In  the  folk-songs 
he  is  replaced  by  S.  Elias,  and  to  this  day  a  great  log  of 
oak  is  placed  on  the  fire  on  Christmas  Eve,  and  kindled 
for  the  preparation  of  the  evening  meal.  It  burns  all 
night  and  the  whole  of  the  following  day,  and  in  many 
places  is  kept  smouldering  for  eight  days.  The  customs 
observed  are  as  follows.  The  head  of  the  family  bares 
his  head  and  says  :  "  Blessed  be  thou,  O  log  ;  God 
preserve  thee  !  "  and  sprinkles  wine  upon  it  crosswise. 
Then  corn  is  thrown  over  it,  and  he  invokes  every 
blessing  from  heaven  for  the  health  of  those  belonging 
to  the  house,  present  or  absent,  for  the  success  of  do- 
mestic undertakings,  and  for  the  harvest,  to  which  the 
others  present  reply  "  Amen,"  fire  off  guns  in  sign  of  joy, 
and  say  :  "  Welcome  to  the  evening  of  the  log."  Then 
they  sit  down  to  table  in  the  kitchen,  even  if  other 
rooms  are  available,  which  suggests  a  survival  of  the 
practice  of  eating  by  the  ancient  family  altar,  the 
hearth.  In  the  centre  of  the  table  are  three  candles 
twisted  together  in  honour  of  the  Trinity,  lighted,  and 
stuck  into  a  great  loaf  ornamented  with  ivy.  This  loaf 
is  afterwards  broken  up  and  given  to  the  sheep  and 
cows  when  bringing  forth,  or  when  sick.  A  little  of 
every  kind  of  food  is  thrown  on  to  the  burning  log.  If 
there  are  three  logs  (as  in  some  places),  the  right-hand 
one  must  be  the  biggest — the  Father,  the  Son  to  the  left, 


14        THE   RACES    AND   THEIR   CUSTOMS 

and  the  Spirit  in  the  middle,  the  aspersion  being  made  in 
this  order.  Boccaccio,  in  the  "Genealogy  of  the  Gods," 
refers  to  a  similar  custom  in  his  day  in  Florence,  evi- 
dently the  survival,  or  transmutation,  of  some  heathen 
rite.  After  supper  the  hymn  "  Es  wurde  geboren  der 
Himmels  Konig  von  der  unbefleckten  Jungfrau  Maria  " 
is  sung,  and  then  the  young  people  usually  play  Christ- 
mas games.  Little  houses  are  made  of  flour  or  bran, 
with  a  piece  of  money  in  one,  which  belongs  to  the  per- 
son who  selects  that  house.  On  Christmas  Day  they 
visit  neighbours  and  relations,  married  daughters  come 
with  husband  and  children  to  the  midday  meal,  bringing 
two  loaves — one  of  finer  quality  for  the  mother,  one  of 
the  usual  kind  as  big  as  possible  for  the  father.  During 
the  octave  groups  of  young  people  (and  sometimes  of 
men  also)  go  singing  carols  from  house  to  house,  and  are 
rewarded  with  money  and  wine  in  return  for  wishing 
the  donors  a  rich  wine,  olive,  and  fruit  crop.  On  New 
Year's  Day  the  three  tapers  of  Christmas  Eve  are  re- 
lighted. Before  drinking  at  the  meal  the  head  of  the 
house  uses  the  following  formula  :  "I  wish  you  a  good 
New  Year  ;  may  you  enjoy  it  in  health  and  happiness, 
neither  offend  God,  nor  lose  your  soul,  but  have  every 
tender  joy  and  celestial  glory.' '  Then  he  drinks  in  un- 
diluted wine  three  times,  and  blesses  those  present  in  the 
name  of  the  Father,  Son,  and  Spirit,  and  pours  the 
remainder  of  the  wine  on  the  candles  to  extinguish 
them.  If  by  chance  one  remains  alight  it  is  considered 
an  augury  of  long  life  to  the  person  in  front  of  whom  it 
stands.  The  holy  water  of  the  Vigil  of  the  Epiphany, 
called  "  water  of  the  Three  Kings,"  and  used  by  the 
priests  to  bless  every  dwelling,  is  preserved  to  sprinkle 
the  fields  and  the  sick  also,  and  is  thought  to  be  specific 
against  the  temptations  of  the  devil  at  the  hour  of 
death.  It  is  said  to  remain  uncorrupted  for  as  long  as 
twenty-five  years.     Children  go  about  on  New  Year's 


EPIPHANY,    LENT   AND   EASTER  15 

Day  with  a  branch  of  rosemary  stuck  in  an  apple  in 
which  are  kreuzer  or  ten-kreuzer  pieces,  wishing  good 
fortune  and  collecting  gifts.  In  Trieste  and  some  of 
the  Istrian  towns,  girls  andboys  go  about  throughout  the 
octave  of  Epiphany  with  little  lanterns,  kneel  on  the 
steps  of  the  houses,  sing  a  song  in  honour  of  the  three 
Holy  Kings,  and  then,  knocking,  ask  for  money.  The 
song  tells  how  Christ  was  born  poor,  lived  poor,  and 
died  on  the  Cross,  and  then  goes  on  to  wish  friendly 
donors  as  many  angels  to  take  them  to  heaven  as  a 
sieve  has  holes  ;  for  the  hard-hearted  as  many  devils  to 
take  them  as  nails  stuck  in  the  door  !  In  some  neigh- 
bourhoods children  are  taken  into  the  vineyards  on 
Innocents'  Day,  when  they  strike  the  vines  with 
switches  and  sing :  "  Bear,  bear  fruit,  pretty  vine,  else 
will  I  cut  thy  head  off." 

Great  preparations  are  made  for  Easter,  when  young 
lambs  and  turkeys  are  slain,  which  the  folk-songs  tell 
us  used  to  be  offered  to  the  sun-god.  Roasted  lamb, 
cooked  eggs,  cheese,  and  bread  and  salt  are  carried 
early  to  the  church  to  be  blessed  by  the  priest.  When 
the  bearers  return,  the  table  is  blessed  by  the  head  of 
the  family,  and  God  thanked  for  the  well-completed 
Lenten  fast,  after  which  they  sit  cheerfully  down  to 
their  meal,  burning  all  fragments  left,  since  the  food  has 
been  blessed,  and  taking  care  not  to  let  anything  fall  to 
the  ground.  In  Lent,  and  during  other  fasts,  they  eat 
neither  flesh  nor  eggs,  nor  any  kind  of  milk  food.  They 
have  a  saying  that  it  is  less  culpable  to  kill  a  person  in 
vendetta  than  to  eat  rich  food  in  Lent.  S.  John  the  Bap- 
tist's Day  is  one  of  their  principal  feasts.  On  the  Eve 
the  shepherds  light  fires  on  all  the  hills.  On  the  morn- 
ing they  swim  for  the  first  time  in  the  year,  or  wash  from 
head  to  foot,  and  also  wash  all  their  animals.  The  girls 
and  boys  make  garlands  of  flowers  and  broom,  set  them 
on  their  heads,  and  dance  "  with  devotional  joy."   This 


16        THE    RACES   AND    THEIR   CUSTOMS 

is  no  doubt  part  of  the  ancient  heathen  festival  of  mid- 
summer. Another  festival  which  has  nothing  to  do 
with  the  Church  is  the  "  Fasching  "  or  "  Pust,''  on 
Monday  during  Carnival.  Groups  of  masked  male 
dancers  go  through  the  villages  with  horns  on  their 
heads,  or  with  bells  at  their  girdles  weighing  several 
pounds,  in  one  hand  a  strong  stick,  in  the  other  a  bag  of 
ashes.  They  dance,  jest,  fight  with  other  bands,  and 
throw  ashes  over  the  women  and  children  who  run 
away.  One  of  them  generally  carries  a  clothed  figure 
like  a  man — the  "  Pust" — which  next  day,  or  on  Ash 
Wednesday,  is  burnt  or  buried.  This  is  a  relic  of  the 
heathen  custom  of  destroying  Morana  or  Mora,  the 
goddess  of  night,  of  darkness,  winter,  and  death,  who, 
the  country-folk  say,  sits  on  men  at  night  and  drinks 
their  blood,  and  of  Mrak  (twilight),  her  helper,  who 
brings  little  children  to  her  by  twilight.  The  priest, 
who  used  to  be  an  oracle  to  his  flock,  was  asked  first  to 
every  festivity,  and  consulted  in  every  difficulty.  "  The 
priest  says  so  "  put  an  end  to  all  questioning.  With 
their  religious  feeling,  superstition  goes  hand  in  hand. 
They  believe  in  vampires,  nightmares,  witches,  and 
"  Vilen."  The  vampire  is  an  evil  spirit  which  appears 
by  night  to  frighten  men,  in  the  guise  of  a  lately  dead 
man  or  woman  "  who  had  not  lived  piously.' '  It  is 
a  human  skin  filled  with  blood,  covered  with  a  shroud, 
and  shows  itself  at  crossways  and  on  bridges,  in  caves 
and  graveyards,  but  also  rattles  window-shutters  and 
throws  down  tiles  from  the  roof.  It  is  not  safe  to  call 
to  it ;  if  it  reaches  out  to  any  one  three  times  that  is 
taken  as  a  sign  that  it  is  a  good  spirit  from  purgatory 
asking  for  help.  For  protection  a  thorn-stick  is  carried, 
with  which  the  vampire  is  thrust  through.  The  "  Alp  " 
(the  nightmare)  is  an  evil  old  maid  who  sits  on  the  back 
or  breast  of  sleepers,  holds  their  hands  and  feet,  and 
stops  their  mouth  so  that  they  cannot  cry  for  help"; 


MORLACCO   SUPERSTITIONS  17 

therefore  they  never  sleep  on  the  back,  but  on  the  right 
side,  and  keep  near  the  bed  an  open  bottle-gourd,  of 
which  the  "  Alp  "  or  "  Mora  "  is  afraid.  It  generally 
wears  a  white  dress  and  black  bodice,  with  a  white  veil 
over  loose  hair.  Witches  only  appear  in  bad  weather, 
and  hold  their  assemblies  under  walnut-trees  or  on  cer- 
tain hills.  Excessive  hail  is  supposed  to  be  their  work. 
They  can  be  killed  by  firing  with  three  grains  of  corn 
and  the  Paschal  wax-candle  at  the  lightning  before  the 
thunder  sounds.  If  this  can  be  done,  the  witch  dies. 
"  Vilen  "  are  maidens  with  horses'  hoofs.  They  are 
found  in  caves  and  collect  in  woods,  at  the  sources  of 
streams  or  springs.  The  name  comes  from  the  Slav 
"  bijela,"  the  white  ;  they  are  not  regarded  as  evil 
spirits.  In  the  neighbourhood  of  Spalato  they  think 
that  new-born  children,  if  strong  and  handsome,  are 
likely  to  be  taken  away  by  "  Vilen,"  and  therefore 
watch  the  infants  most  carefully  till  they  are  baptized. 
These  maidens  busy  themselves  with  rope-making, 
spinning,  and  gold  and  silver  embroidery,  and  have  the 
power  of  changing  stones  and  coal  to  gold  and  silver. 
In  summer,  when  hail  falls  on  the  vineyards,  peasants 
may  still  be  seen  to  turn  to  the  black  clouds  and  throw 
up  salt  and  shredded  garlic.  It  is  said  that  the  devil 
can  be  seen  if  one  stand  at  the  church  door  in  such 
weather  with  a  priest,  treading  with  the  right  foot  upon 
the  priest's  right.  He  is  like  a  great  dragon  spreading 
his  claws  and  reaching  to  the  upper  clouds  from  the 
earth  ;  but  the  priests  never  allow  the  trial,  for  fear  the 
man  should  die  of  fright  at  the  sight.  This  reminds  one 
of  the  Chinese  and  Japanese  storm-dragon. 

The  peasants  practise  astrology  to  find  lucky  times 
to  commence  undertakings.  Falling  stars  are  con- 
sidered to  be  the  opening  of  heaven,  and  anything  asked 
for  at  that  moment  will  be  granted.  Thunders  are  the 
rumbling  which  S.  Elias  makes  with  his  car.     Amulets 


18         THE    RACES   AND   THEIR   CUSTOMS 

are  worn,  especially  near  the  Turkish  border.  It  is 
considered  lucky  to  spill  wine  on  oneself.  To  meet  a 
snake,  a  viper  in  the  house,  or  a  centipede  crawling  over 
the  walls  is  also  lucky.  On  the  other  hand,  misfortune 
attends  crackling  wood,  the  birth  of  black  lambs,  the 
entering  a  house  left  foot  first,  sitting  at  table  seven  or 
thirteen  in  number,  giving  drink  with  the  left  hand, 
spilling  oil  or  salt,  and  leaving  two  rods  or  knife  and 
spoon  crosswise.  A  crowing  hen  means  domestic  mis- 
fortune— she  must  be  killed  to  avoid  it  ;  and  the  baying 
of  a  dog  or  hooting  of  an  owl  at  night  imports  the  death 
of  a  neighbour.  Their  customs  are  patriarchal.  The 
father  has  full  authority  over  his  sons,  and  their  wives 
are  merely  fresh  daughters  of  the  house.  Every  boy  is 
held  to  be  worth  more  than  the  women,  from  the  age  of 
eight,  and  girls  and  women  who  meet  a  man  are  ex- 
pected to  salute  him.  In  some  places,  in  the  middle  of 
the  last  century,  this  salutation  was  accompanied  with 
a  kiss.  The  oldest  man  in  the  house  (stareshina)  was 
the  only  one  who  could  leave  anything  by  will.  He 
said  prayers  morning  and  evening,  blessed  the  table, 
welcomed  the  guests,  sat  with  them  at  table,  and  hur- 
ried the  service  of  his  family.  He  arranged  the  work  of 
each  member  of  the  household,  carried  on  all  com- 
mercial transactions,  and  disposed  of  the  results  as  he 
pleased.  If  he  found  the  duties  too  heavy  for  him  he 
transferred  the  responsibility  to  some  other  male 
member.  The  stopanjica  (the  mistress)  was  the  direc- 
tress of  the  house,  and  the  other  women  worked  under 
her  orders.  These  people  are  exceedingly  honest,  and  in 
some  of  the  villages  no  locks  are  to  be  found  either  on 
door  or  chest. 

They  have  a  ceremony  by  which  two  persons  swear 
friendship  before  the  altar,  and  are  then  called  half- 
brothers  or  half-sisters.  At  one  time  the  usage  was  also 
practised  between  persons  of  different  sex.     They  are 


MORLACCO   CUSTOMS  19 

also  tenacious  in  prosecuting  a  vendetta,  and,  till  about 
seventy  years  ago,  there  was  but  one  way  in  which  a 
blood  feud  could  be  extinguished.  It  was  called  the 
Karvarina,  or  price  of  blood,  and  its  acceptance  was 
preceded  by  several  very  curious  ceremonies.  The  re- 
lations dipped  the  murdered  man's  shirt  in  his  blood, 
and  kept  it  till  he  was  avenged,  or  the  price  of  blood  was 
arranged.  The  family  of  the  murderer  asked  for  a  truce 
of  several  weeks,  and  sent  a  solemn  embassy  of  twelve 
young  women  with  their  babies.  Arrived  at  the  house, 
the  babies  were  put  down,  and  the  women  wept,  asking 
for  peace  and  pity  in  the  name  of  S.  John  the  Baptist, 
and  the  putting  away  of  anger  for  pity  of  the  little  ones. 
After  a  time  the  people  of  the  house  picked  up  the  chil- 
dren and  promised  to  bring  to  the  font  twelve  of  their 
children  yet  unborn  to  be  attendants  at  the  marriage  of 
as  many  girls,  and  gave  the  mothers  a  piece  of  silver, 
a  veil,  and  a  cloth  in  sign  of  peace.  Then  the  relations 
of  the  slain  chose  twenty-four  judges,  who  were  en- 
treated by  the  other  side  to  serve,  and  could  not  refuse, 
nor  might  they  receive  payment.  To  the  preliminaries 
of  the  judgment  on  the  appointed  day  the  "  dance  of 
blood  "  succeeded.  The  criminal,  with  joined  hands, 
and  with  the  fatal  sword  at  his  neck,  extricated  himself 
from  the  slow,  melancholy  dance,  and  cried  three  times  : 
"  Pardon  !  "  The  nearest  relation  ordered  the  principal 
judge  to  drive  him  ignominiously  away.  The  judge 
obeyed,  and  struck  him  to  the  earth  with  his  foot,  but  as 
soon  as  his  forehead  touched  the  ground  he  turned  and 
cried  again  :  "  In  the  Name  of  God,  pardon  me !  "  The 
dancing  stopped,  and  the  dancers  burst  into  tears.  The 
embittered  relative  of  the  murdered  man  went  to  him, 
raised  him,  embraced  him,  and  kissed  him  on  the  fore- 
head, and,  turning  to  the  rest,  cried  out :  "  This  man  has 
been  my  enemy  hitherto,  but  shall  be  my  friend — my 
brother — henceforward,  to  me  and  to  you  all  also,  and 


20        THE   RACES   AND   THEIR   CUSTOMS 

to  any  who  were  blood-relations  of  our  dear  friend  who 
was  killed,"  and  then  broke  a  silver  coin  in  two,  giving 
him  one  half.  Then  the  oldest  of  the  judges  read  the 
sentence  imposing  the  price  of  blood,  from  50  to  140 
zecchins  of  gold.  Part  of  the  money  went  to  the  Church, 
a  third  to  the  expenses  of  the  judgment,  and  the  rest  to 
the  family,  who  generally  applied  it  to  some  pious  use. 
Marriage  customs  vary  slightly.  About  Pola  and 
Parenzo  the  country  people  make  a  great  display,  and 
go  through  ceremonies  pointing  to  the  capture  or  pur- 
chase of  the  bride.  The  cortege  is  headed  by  a  standard- 
bearer,  an  unmarried  relation,  carrying  a  linen  flag  of 
different  colours,  and  on  it  a  wheel-shaped  loaf  with  a 
great  apple  on  the  point  of  a  long  pole.  The  guests 
knock  loudly  at  the  door  :  after  a  time  a  voice  asks  who 
they  are  and  what  they  want.  The  oldest  man  answers: 
"A  rose  out  of  the  garden,"  or  "  A  hind  out  of  the 
thicket."  After  some  debate,  first  an  old  woman  is 
brought  out,  then  a  younger,  then  the  bridesmaids. 
They  take  them  all,  but  want  another — "  A  barefoot 
girl  is  still  there."  At  last  the  bride  appears.  "  That 
is  the  right  one  ;  we  will  take  her  away,"  all  cry,  and  the 
bride-leader  asks  for  her  stockings  and  fine  shoes,  which 
generally  contain  a  silver  coin.  These  she  herself  puts 
on.  The  bridegroom  gives  shoes  or  some  other  gift  to 
the  mother  and  all  the  home  people.  Then  one  of  the 
guests  fires  at  an  apple  on  a  stick  fixed  to  the  roof,  or  on 
a  tree-top,  and  it  is  considered  a  disgrace  to  all  if  he 
misses.  Now  the  bride  comes  down,  garlanded  and 
with  one  or  two  apples  in  her  hand,  which  she  throws  at 
the  bridegroom,  who  tries  to  cover  her  with  the  flag. 
Whether  struck  or  not,  he  picks  the  apples  up,  to  eat 
with  his  bride  after  the  ceremony.  Then  they  go  off  to 
church.  Other  customs  accompany  the  journey  home. 
The  Morlacchi  are  very  hospitable;  if  any  one 
approaches  one  of  their  houses  they  ask  him  in,  and 


PROVERBS  21 

will  not  let  him  go  without  his  tasting  bread  and  wine. 
They  are  exceedingly  loyal  and  devoted  to  their  native 
land.  They  are  very  fond  of  proverbs,  of  which  I  quote 
a  few  :  "  The  empty  sack  does  not  stand  upright "  ; 
"  Penitence  does  not  make  the  madman  well  again  "  ; 
"  If  you  will  not  be  a  thief  I  will  not  watch  "  ;  "  You 
can't  shut  out  the  sun  with  the  palm  of  your  hand"  ; 
"  Be  married  by  your  ears  and  not  your  eyes  "  ;  "  There 
is  most  milk  in  other  people's  cows  "  ;  "  He  who  cries 
most  loudly  works  the  least  "  ;  "  Promises  console  the 
foolish"  ;  "  He  who  has  been  bitten  by  a  viper  fears 
the  lizard"  ;  "The  wolf  changes  his  skin,  but  not  his 
habits";  "  As  the  mother  spins,  so  the  daughter 
weaves";  "  Horses  by  their  pace,  maidens  by  their 
stock." 

They  are  apowerful  and  a  proud  race,  as  the  following 
story  from  Fortis  shows,  and  will  without  doubt  leave 
their  mark  on  European  history  when  their  culture 
equals  their  physical  powers;  but  the  present  race- 
animosity  between  Croat  and  Italian  is  deplorable. 
The  Croats,  being  in  the  majority,  are  using  their  power 
to  oppress  the  Italian-speaking  portion  of  the  popula- 
tion. The  schools  are  now  all  Croat,  and  the  Italians 
have  no  means  of  instruction  for  their  children  in  their 
own  language  except  at  Zara.  At  Spalato  the  race- 
feeling  is  especially  bitter  ;  it  is  the  only  city  in  Dal- 
matia  in  which  the  anniversary  of  the  Italian  defeat  at 
Lissa  is  feted  with  display  of  flags  and  music  by  the 
municipio.  The  Italian  theatre  was  burnt  down  some 
years  ago,  and  the  Croat  majority  on  the  council  voted 
a  large  sum  of  money  (stated  to  have  been  £60,000)  to 
build  a  new  Croat  theatre  to  replace  it ;  and  this  they 
refused  to  let  to  Italian  companies.  But  there  are  no 
Croat  companies  ready  to  bear  the  expense  of  coming  to 
Spalato,  so  the  theatre  remains  closed  ! 

The  story  told  by  Fortis  is  as  follows  :  "  Venice  was 


22         THE   RACES   AND   THEIR   CUSTOMS 

exchanging  prisoners-of-war  with  the  Turks,  and  gave 
several  Turkish  soldiers  for  each  Dalmatian.  A  deputy 
of  the  Porte  observed  that  this  was  scarcely  fair,  to 
whom  a  Morlacco  of  Sinj  replied  fiercely :  '  Know  that 
our  prince  willingly  gives  many  asses  for  a  horse/  " 


Ill 

AQUILEIA 

The  city  of  Aquileia,  called  by  the  Greeks  Chry- 
sopolis,  because  it  was  one  of  the  largest  and 
richest  cities  of  the  empire,  is  now  represented  by  a 
cluster  of  houses,  a  cathedral,  and  a  museum  in  which 
the  greater  part  of  the  objects  found  by  excavating  are 
housed.  It  is  easily  reached  by  carriage  from  either 
Villa  Vicentina  or  Cervignano,  a  pleasant  drive  of  an 
hour  or  so  ;  and  it  gives  one  some  idea  of  the  size  of  the 
ancient  city  to  remember  that  the  whole  of  the  ground 
passed  over,  at  least  from  Villa  Vicentina,  was  originally 
included  in  its  suburbs.  The  city  stretched  16  miles 
along  the  shore,  but  the  ground  has  sunk  some  five  feet, 
and  much  of  ancient  Aquileia  now  lies  beneath  the 
lagoon.  The  inscriptions  show  that  most  of  the  in- 
habitants were  foreigners.  At  present  the  environs  are 
malarious ;  but  at  the  time  when  the  naval  station  was 
established  here  the  climate  must  have  been  much 
more  healthy ;  on  account,  probably,  of  the  great  pine- 
forest  which  stretched  along  the  shore,  and  of  which 
there  are  still  some  small  remains  towards  the  Belve- 
dere. At  that  time  the  Natisone  debouched  close  to 
the  town,  and  there  was  ample  anchorage  for  ships. 
In  the  eleventh  century  the  great  port  and  arsenal  were 
at  Morrano  and  S.  Marco  al  Belvedere,  which  were  then 
still  islands.  The  sea-mouth  was  between  Grado  and 
S.  Pietro  d'Oro,  where  the  pharos  was. 

23 


24  AQUILEIA 

The  city  was  founded  in  181  B.C.,  and  its  name  is 
said  to  have  originated  in  the  appearance  of  an  eagle 
which  was  seen  while  the  plan  was  being  laid  out.  It 
was  the  centre  from  which  numerous  roads  diverged. 
Here  Vespasian  was  hailed  emperor  by  his  legion.  In 
238  Maximin  and  his  son  were  killed  beneath  its  walls. 
Alaric  besieged  it,  and  Attila  destroyed  it  in  452. 
Forty  years  later  Theodoric  took  the  lordship  of  Italy 
from  Odoacer  on  the  banks  of  the  Isonzo,  and  in  552  the 
citizens  who  had  returned  were  again  driven  away  to 
the  deltas  of  other  rivers  by  Alboin,  who  was,  it  is  said, 
called  from  Pannonia  by  Narses  to  wreak  his  vengeance 
on  the  son  of  Justinian. 

Christianity  was  planted  in  Aquileia  in  apostolic 
times.  According  to  tradition  S.  Mark  was  sent  by  S. 
Peter  from  Rome  to  the  city,  and  there  wrote  or  trans- 
lated his  gospel  into  Greek.  S.  Hermagoras,  who  was 
Aquileian  by  birth,  followed  him  as  overseer  of  the 
Church.  He  was  consecrated  the  first  bishop  of  Italy 
in  Rome,  the  diocese  ranking  next  to  the  Roman  see  as 
being  the  most  ancient  after  that  city.  There  is  no 
doubt  possible  as  to  the  existence  of-  Christianity  here 
at  the  end  of  the  third  century.  There  were  churches 
in  the  time  of  Constantine,  and  a  baptistery  as  early 
as  270,  in  the  days  of  Aurelian.  In  Constantinian 
times  it  was  a  centre  of  Catholic  life.  SS.  Jerome  and 
Ambrose  lived  within  its  walls,  and  towards  the  end 
of  the  fourth  century  the  bishops  of  Como,  Venetia, 
Istria,  Noricum,  Pannonia,  and  even  Augsburg,  as  some 
say,  were  under  Valerian  the  bishop.  Till  Carolingian 
times  the  patriarchs  were  Italians,  Greeks,  or  Friulians ; 
but,  with  the  establishment  of  the  Holy  Roman  Empire, 
the  patriarchs  of  Aquileia  politically  were  attached  to 
it,  and  were  friends  of  the  emperors,  who  often  stayed 
in  the  city  on  their  journeys  to  and  from  Italy.  All 
the  names  are  German  from  the  end  of  the  tenth  century 


CHRISTIAN    AQUILEIA  25 

to  the  middle  of  the  thirteenth.  The  patriarchate 
was  exceedingly  prosperous  under  Poppo  (1019-1045), 
who  had  been  chancellor  to  Henry  II.  He  moved  his 
seat  back  to  Aquileia  from  Cividale,  built  a  fine  palace 
(of  which  the  two  isolated  pillars  and  the  ruined 
walls  to  the  south  of  the  cathedral  remain)  and  the 
existing  cathedral,  using  portions  of  an  earlier  one  as 
material. 

As  at  Parenzo,  excavations  have  revealed  the  plan 
of  earlier  buildings  upon  and  around  the  site  of  the 
cathedral.  This  was  the  Capitol  of  the  ancient  city,  and 
probably  a  street  ran  between  the  baptistery  and  the 
cathedral.  To  the  north  lay  the  forum  and  the  cattle- 
market,  as  inscriptions  prove.  The  discovery  of  drains 
proves  that  there  were  dwelling-houses  as  well  as 
temples  near ;  but  the  wall  of  the  original  city  was 
just  east  of  the  cathedral,  and  beyond  it  a  branch  of 
the  Natisone  flowed,  affording  additional  protection. 
The  river  was  canalised  and  navigable  for  seven  miles. 
The  piers  of  a  bridge  still  remain  near  Monastero. 

A  large  antique  building  of  some  kind,  perhaps  a 
prison  or  courts-of-law,  connected  with  the  martyrdom 
of  SS.  Hermagoras  and  Fortunatus,  was  used  in  the  con- 
struction of  the  first  cathedral,  and  portions  of  imperial 
work  are  to  be  seen  in  the  lower  parts  of  the  eastern 
wall  and  the  paving  of  the  crypt.  The  baptistery,  which 
rises  to  the  west,  also  is  on  the  base  of  a  heathen  temple. 
In  the  year  348  a  new  church  was  so  far  ready  that  a 
great  meeting  could  be  held  in  it,  at  which  the  emperors 
brother  was  present,  Athanasius  tells  us.  It  was 
finished  in  381,  when  a  council  was  held  in  it.  The 
destruction  wrought  by  Attila  appears  to  have  been 
complete,  for  no  inscriptions  have  been  found  of  his 
date,  nor  any  Lombard  objects,  and  at  the  time  of  the 
Lombard  invasion  the  patriarch  fled  to  Grado  with  all 
the  church  valuables,  and  moved  his  seat  thither. 


26  AQUILEIA 

The  foundations  show  that  there  were  two  basilicas 
side  by  side,  with  a  narthex  common  to  both  and  a 
passage  between  them  up  to  the  transept.  To  the 
south  the  narthex  terminated  in  an  apse  nearly  20  ft. 
across,  and  there  was  a  hall,  probably  open  to  the  sky, 
between  the  narthex  and  the  baptistery,  with  others  to 
the  north  and  south  of  it.  The  basilica  to  the  north  of 
the  present  cathedral  extended  under  the  campanile 
and  the  graveyard,  and  mosaics  of  its  floor  have  been 
found  on  two  levels,  sunken  in  part  by  the  weight  of  the 
campanile.  The  lower  mosaic  has  been  found  over  a 
space  of  more  than  120  ft.,  but  the  excavations  could 
not  be  made  complete  owing  to  the  ground  being  used 
as  a  cemetery.  One  pattern  is  purely  geometrical; 
another  has  birds,  dogs,  hares,  baskets  of  flowers,  and 
floral  scrolls  in  octagons  and  squares  set  diagonally 
between  them  ;  both  marble  and  vitreous  pastes  are 
used,  as  well  as  gold  tesserae.  Inscriptions  were  also 
found  in  letters  of  the  third  or  beginning  of  the 
fourth  century  :  "  ***ore  Felix  hie  crevisti  hie  Felix  " 
and  "  Cyriacus  vivas."  The  former  is  held  to  prove 
that  there  was  a  domestic  basilica  here  at  that  period. 
The  bottom  of  the  wall  was  painted  with  geometrical 
patterns  imitating  marble  plating.  The  mosaic  runs 
right  under  the  campanile.  There  is  a  door  to  the  south, 
and  two  pillars  parallel  to  the  face  of  the  wall,  and 
one  to  the  left,  opposite  the  north  angle.  The  upper 
building  has  a  double  row  of  bases  of  columns,  nine 
or  ten  in  number,  with  an  external  wall  19  ft.  6  in.  from 
the  present  basilica,  and  with  the  western  wall  of  the 
narthex  level  with  the  present  narthex,  beneath  the 
piazza.  Antique  fragments  were  used  in  the  founda- 
tions. The  lower  part  of  the  wall  of  the  existing 
building  is  of  the  same  materials  and  thickness,  and 
probably  of  the  same  date.  The  much  simpler  mosaic 
patterns  of  the  floor  are  at  the  same  level  both  inside 


REMAINS   OF    EARLIER    BUILDINGS         27 

and  outside — viz.  2  ft.  9  in.  below  the  present  pavement. 
Near  the  round  building  in  the  north  aisle  a  fish  mosaic 
was  found  on  which  the  sarcophagus  of  Poppo  stood. 
Signs  of  a  conflagration — fragments  of  charcoal,  &c. — 
were  also  found  on  this  pavement.  The  colours  used 
in  the  mosaics  are  white,  blue,  grey,  palish  green-grey, 
yellow,  brown,  black,  several  blues  and  reds,  and  two 
greens.  The  finest  fragment  has  a  figure  of  a  peacock 
with  tail  displayed,  which  was  in  the  narthex  in  front 
of  the  door  to  the  church,  and  is  now  in  the  museum. 
On  the  pavement  coins  were  found,  most  of  which  be- 
longed to  the  third  and  fourth  centuries  ;  but  there  were 
also  one  Greek  coin  of  Marcianopolis,  two  so-called 
Consular  coins,  one  Augustan,  three  of  the  second 
century,  one  Ostrogothic  of  Ravenna,  and  several 
Aquileian  of  1400.  In  the  eighteenth  century  sar- 
cophagi were  disinterred  bearing  fourth-century 
crosses,  of  an  earlier  date  than  Attila,  at  all  events. 

There  appears  to  have  been  a  restoration  in  the 
sixth  century,  probably  under  Narses  ;  the  use  of 
super-abaci  and  the  caps  in  the  transept  suggest  this. 
Perhaps  the  council  of  557  may  have  had  something  to 
do  with  it.  Twin  basilicas  occur  elsewhere  in  Istria, 
though  they  were  not  always  of  the  same  date,  as  at 
Trieste,  S.  Michele  in  Monte,  Pola,  and  probably  at 
Ossero,  where  the  seven-naved  basilica  of  which  Mr. 
T.  G.  Jackson  gives  the  plan  would  be  easily  explained 
by  the  supposition. 

The  original  east  end  was  square.  The  semicir- 
cular apse  within  it  is  of  a  later  date,  probably  of  the 
ninth  century,  of  which  period  there  are  other  remains 
— viz.  the  beautiful  slabs  of  the  choir  now  in  the  south 
transept,  with  the  remains  of  the  bases  of  the  pillars  of 
the  screen  above.  Two  of  the  patterns  are  exactly  like 
some  at  Muggia  Vecchia ;  others  resemble  ornamented 
pillars  of  the  door  of  S.  Ambrogio,  Milan  ;    others  are 


)».  *  »  Gr 


PLAN   OF   THE   CATHEDRAL,    AQUILEIA 


THE    PRESENT   CATHEDRAL  29 

very  like  the  fragments  preserved  at  S.  Maria  in  Valle, 
Cividale ;  whilst  a  band  of  interlacings  resembles  one 
which  occurs  on  an  Assyrian  cylinder,  not  only  in  its 
forms,  but  in  its  irregularities.  A  piece  of  antique 
fluted  pilaster  now  does  duty  as  a  base.  The  ornament 
on  the  steps  of  the  throne  is  also  of  this  period,  probably 
executed  under  either  Paulinus  (f8o2)  or  Maxentius 
(1*833)  by  Comacines,  who  probably  went  on  to  Rome 
to  work  in  S.  Maria  in  Cosmedin.  The  Liber  Ponti- 
ficalis  under  Hadrian  I.  mentions  the  "  tres  apsides 
in  ea  constituens  "  of  that  church  as  if  they  were  some- 
thing new. 

The  cathedral  was  much  damaged  by  the  earth- 
quake of  998,  and  Poppo  began  to  rebuild  it  after  the 
Lateran  Council  of  1027  nad  declared  the  see  of  Aquileia 
first  in  Italy  after  Rome.  It  was  sufficiently  finished  in 
103 1  for  it  to  be  consecrated  by  him  on  the  festival  of 
the  patron  saint  (July  13),  two  Roman  cardinal-bishops 
and  twelve  bishops  being  present,  as  a  later  inscription 
states.  Of  this  building  the  greater  part  remains, 
though  with  considerable  alterations  and  additions 
made  in  the  fourteenth  century,  after  the  earthquake  of 
1348,  and  in  the  fifteenth  century.  The  twenty  columns 
of  the  nave  arcade,  some  of  which  are  granite  and  some 
Istrian  limestone,  show  by  their  different  heights  and 
thickness  that  they  came  from  other  buildings.  Some 
of  them  are  in  more  than  one  piece.  The  bases  are 
Attic  of  different  heights  and  are  of  Poppo' s  time,  as 
the  caps  appear  to  be  also.  Two  similar  caps  are  in  the 
churchyard ;  and  one,  hollowed  out,  is  used  as  a  holy- 
water  basin.  Some  of  the  same  character  were  found 
at  Monastero  under  another  basilica.  The  central 
nave  is  39  ft.  broad,  and  the  aisles  26  ft.  The  transept 
is  about  136  ft.  long,  with  an  apse  32  ft.  6  in.  broad 
opening  from  it,  21  ft.  deep.  The  exterior  length  of  the 
building  is  218  ft.     The  round  arches  from  the  aisles 


30  AQUILEIA 

to  the  transepts  are  older  than  the  nave  arcade.  The 
columns  are  antique ;  that  on  the  south  has  also  a 
Corinthian  cap,  but  the  base  is  Romanesque.  The 
base  of  the  northern  column  is  a  shapeless  block ;  the 
cap  is  like  those  of  the  nave,  but  the  super-abacus 
is  plain.  Across  the  transepts  two  round  arches  are 
thrown  in  a  line  with  the  aisle  walls,  resting  on  very 
thin  columns  of  cipollino ;  that  on  the  south  is  of 
several  pieces  not  belonging  to  each  other.  The  caps 
vary  in  design.  North  and  south  of  these  arches  are 
the  chapels,  with  their  apses.  The  arch  of  the  apse  is 
round,  with  two  antique  granite  columns  ;  it  had  three 
small  round  windows  in  it.  The  bishop's  throne  is 
from  the  earlier  church.  Beneath  the  late-Gothic  seats 
round  the  apse  are  the  seats  of  Poppo's  time,  with 
remains  of  inscriptions :  the  pavement  of  marble 
slabs  and  mosaic  patterns  is  also  due  to  him. 

In  1896  frescoes  of  the  eleventh  century  were 
discovered  beneath  the  rococo  plaster-work  in  the 
semi-dome.  In  the  centre  is  the  Madonna  and  Child 
enthroned  in  a  vesica  above  six  saints,  and  surrounded 
by  the  symbols  of  the  Evangelists.  ■  The  saints  to  the 
spectator's  right  are  SS.  Hermagoras,  Fortunatus,  and 
Euphemia ;  to  the  left  are  SS.  Mark,  Hilarus,  and 
Titianus.  Among  them  are  persons  on  a  smaller 
scale — Poppo  holding  his  church,  the  emperor  (Conrad 
II.)  and  the  empress,  an  unnamed  person,  and  a  boy 
"  Einricus  "  (afterwards  Henry  III.) ;  a  border  of  medal- 
lions, with  heads  and  peacocks  alternately,  surrounds  the 
field.  Below,  between  the  three  windows,  are  six  more 
saints,  three  on  each  side.  Two  different  hands  can  be 
traced.  In  the  crypt  are  also  paintings  of  the  eleventh 
and  twelfth  centuries,  the  difference  in  technique 
being  marked.  On  the  vaults  are  the  legends  of  SS. 
Hermagoras  and  Fortunatus  ;  in  the  lunettes  the  life 
of  the  Virgin,  angels,  Apostles,  and  saints,  and  on  the 


THE   CRYPT  31 

soffits  of  the  arches  ;  and  painted  hangings  in  outline 
with  figure-subjects  upon  them,  on  the  lower  part  of  the 
wall.  There  is  one  subject  from  the  life  of  S.  Mark. 
Two  kinds  of  intonaco  are  used,  one  hard  and  white, 
the  other  grey  and  sandier.  There  are  two  rows  of 
pillars  in  the  crypt,  six  in  the  wall  round  the  apse,  and 
two  (Renaissance)  at  the  sides  of  the  westward  niche, 
which  looks  like  a  western  apse  with  altar  in  front  of  it. 
The  roof  is  a  wagon  vault  pierced  with  cross- vaults,  but 
not  truly  quadripartite,  and  the  caps  a  curious  combina- 
tion of  badly  cut  foliage  and  scrolls  and  round-arched 
arcading.  Iron  grilles  of  1500  isolate  the  space  within 
the  columns  where  the  sarcophagus  stands.  There 
were  doorways  to  the  triangular  spaces  left  between 
the  apse  and  the  rectangular  external  form,  which  were 
walled  up  at  a  later  date.  The  stairs  to  the  crypt  go 
through  the  side  wings  of  the  Renaissance  tribune 
above  with  a  crookedly  set  room  on  each  side,  with 
little  windows  in  the  walls,  one  of  which  is  blocked  by 
the  marble  sheeting,  while  those  towards  the  crypt  are 
also  walled  up,  showing  that  the  structure  is  early,  and 
is  probably  Poppo's.  The  doors  are  of  iron,  with  lions' 
heads  on  the  south  side  and  man-headed  animals  on  the 
other. 

The  Patriarch  Raimondo  della  Torre  (who  died  in 
1299)  built  the  chapel  of  SS.  Ambrogio  and  Margherita, 
which  was  used  as  the  sepulchral  chapel  of  the  family. 
It  opens  to  the  nave,  with  two  pointed  arches  with  an 
oculus  above.  In  the  middle  of  the  side  wall,  between 
two  sarcophagi  of  white  marble,  is  that  of  Allegranza 
di  Rho,  second  wife  of  Moschino  della  Torre  and  mother 
of  the  Patriarch  Gastone.  She  died  July  23,  1300,  and 
her  sarcophagus  is  the  only  one  of  the  five  in  the  chapel 
inscribed.  On  the  front  are  reliefs,  and  on  the  sloping 
cover  her  effigy.  One  of  those  at  her  side  has  a  figure 
of  a  person  in  subdeacon's  dress,  with  a  key,  no  doubt 


32  AQUILEIA 

Rainaldo  della  Torre,  treasurer  to  the  church  and 
brother  of  Gastone.  His  will  of  March  31,  1332,  gives 
a  precise  description  of  the  monument  he  wished  to 
have  erected  to  him.  There  was  to  be  an  archivolt 
over  it,  but  if  it  was  erected  it  must  have  fallen  in  the 
earthquake  of  1348,  as  there  are  no  traces  of  it.  One  of 
red  marble,  with  a  patriarch  fully  robed,  with  pallium 
and  mitre,  standing  on  a  dragon  between  a  processional 
cross  and  a  crozier,  with  censing  angels  on  each  side  of 
the  head,  is  that  of  either  Raimondo  or  Pagano.  It  also 
bears  a  relief  of  the  Annunciation.  On  the  front  of 
another  are  three  circular  plaques  with  the  Agnus  Dei 
in  the  centre  and  crosses  in  the  others ;  in  the  spaces 
between  are  flatly  treated  towers,  the  arms  of  the 
family.  In  the  north  transept  a  sarcophagus  front,  or 
altar,  stands  against  the  wall  supported  on  pillars.  It 
has  five  ogee  trefoil  niches  with  saints  within  them,  and 
a  framing  of  late  Gothic  foliage,  with  half-lengths  of 
angels  in  the  spandrils.  The  central  saint  is  accom- 
panied by  two  small  kneeling  donors  ;  the  other  four  are 
the  Aquileian  virgins.  In  the  south  transept  is  a 
sarcophagus  on  four  Romanesque  columns  with  twisted 
pillars  at  the  corners,  and  the  sides  of  the  central  subject 
(S.  Hermagoras,  with  the  four  virgins  small,  on  their 
knees,  and  the  hand  of  God  above).  The  spaces  be- 
tween are  inlaid  with  red  marble.  The  caps  appear  to 
be  of  the  fourteenth  century,  the  period  of  the  foliage 
cornice. 

As  a  consequence  of  the  earthquake  of  January  25, 
1348,  a  good  part  of  the  church  fell  down  on  October  19. 
Constant  wars  prevented  the  patriarch  from  having 
money  to  spend  on  its  restoration.  A  document  of 
1354  reveals  a  lamentable  state  of  things — the  popula- 
tion was  but  100 — worshippers  did  not  come,  and  the 
clergy  had  fled  to  save  themselves  from  sickness  and 
death  ;   no  one  came  to  the  services  of  Holy  Week  be- 


LATER   RESTORATIONS    AND    ADDITIONS   33 

cause  the  roads  were  under  water,  &c.  ;  with  a  final 
request  that  Udine  might  be  named  as  the  seat  of  the 
patriarchate.  The  rebuilding  was  commenced  under 
Lodovico  della  Torre  (1360)  and  finished  under  Mar- 
quard  da  Randeck  (1365-1380),  the  architect  being 
unknown.  At  this  time  the  nave  arcade  was  made 
pointed,  and  some  of  the  super-abaci  carved  with 
Gothic  foliage.  After  Venice  had  expropriated  the 
patriarch  (in  1420)  money  was  spent  upon  the  cathedral. 
In  1479  tne  choir  seats  were  renewed.  In  1493,  under 
Nicolo  Donato,  the  winter  choir  was  renewed.  In  1495 
the  high-altar  was  erected,  upon  which  Antonio  di 
Osteno,  Bernardino  di  Bissone,  and  Domenico  di  Udine 
were  employed.  Work  was  also  done  in  the  crypt,  in 
connection  with  the  better  preservation  of  the  relics 
of  some  saints.  In  1498  the  tribune  appears  to  have 
been  made,  under  Domenico  Grimani.  This  is  a  very 
decorative  arrangement,  with  a  central  feature,  flanked 
by  two  flights  of  steps,  and  side  platforms  furnished 
with  a  balustrade,  which  project  some  way  into  the 
transepts,  and  are  carved  elaborately  with  graceful  ara- 
besques. In  the  centre  below  is  a  niche  with  shell-head 
and  grated  window,  through  which  the  inside  of  the 
crypt  is  visible.  To  the  right  is  a  ciborium  altar,  with  a 
relief  of  Christ  in  the  tomb  half-length,  supported  by 
the  Virgin  and  S.  John,  flanked  by  two  scroll-bearing 
angels.  An  inscription  describes  it  as  an  oratory, 
where  relics  of  the  saints  are  venerated.  The  pillars 
bear  an  architrave — a  shell-head  beneath,  an  arch  above, 
and  a  gable  termination  of  early  Renaissance  shape — 
above  a  shallow  cornice.  The  effect  is  heavy.  The 
left  side  was  used  as  a  singing-gallery.  In  the  apse 
hangs  a  picture  by  Pellegrino  di  S.  Daniele  (which  was 
put  up  in  1503),  a  good  deal  repainted — a  Risen  Christ 
with  SS.  Peter  and  Hermagoras.  The  fine  frame  was 
carved  by  Giovanni  Pietro  di  Udine  in  1500,  and  gilded 

5 


34  AQUILEIA 

two  years  later  by  Antonio  de'  Tironi  of  Bergamo. 
Before  1484  the  floor  was  of  beaten  earth  ;  at  that  time 
a  pavement  of  red  Veronese  marble  was  commenced, 
completed  in  1544.  The  aisles  are  at  a  slightly  higher 
level  than  the  nave.  The  Gothic  roof  was  remade  on 
the  pattern  of  those  of  SS.  Zeno  and  Fermo,  Verona,  in 
1526  (signed  Giuliano  q*  Vivente  of  Udine),  and  restored 
in  1560.  It  is  now  painted  in  chequers.  Beams  resting 
on  corbels  beneath  the  windows  cross  the  nave,  while 
the  aisles  have  a  flat  panelled  roof,  with  bosses  at  the 
intersections  of  the  framing. 

The  font  is  supported  by  four  small  pillars  sur- 
rounding a  larger  central  one.  In  the  north  aisle  is  a 
circular  building  with  a  conical  wooden  roof  supported 
upon  a  little  colonnade — work  of  the  fifteenth  century  in 
its  present  form.  There  was,  however,  a  "  sepolcro  " — 
a  copy  of  the  Holy  Sepulchre — here,  with  a  flat  cupola, 
mentioned  in  1077,  and  described  as  being  near  the 
grave  of  Patriarch  Sigeard,  and  in  1085  an  altar  was 
consecrated  within  it  by  Patriarch  Frederick  II.  The 
ceremony  of  carrying  the  Host  thither  on  Good  Friday 
and  locking  and  sealing  the  door,  from  which  it  was 
brought  out  on  Easter  Day,  lasted  till  the  suppression 
of  the  patriarchate  in  175 1. 

At  that  time  the  treasure  and  archives  were  divided 
between  the  bishoprics  of  Gorz  and  Udine.  The 
precious  objects  were  stolen  from  Udine,  and  have  dis- 
appeared, but  at  Gorz  there  still  remain  several.  There 
is  a  bishop's  crozier  of  the  end  of  the  twelfth  century, 
Romanesque  in  style,  decorated  with  seven  pieces  of 
rock-crystal  arranged  diagonally,  and  with  a  knop  of 
the  same,  set  at  a  later  date.  The  crook  is  set  with 
precious  stones,  rubies,  turquoises,  aquamarine,  and 
lapis  lazuli.  Within  is  the  Lamb  holding  a  cross ; 
under  it  the  whorl  finishes  with  a  dragon.  A  much 
older  bishop's   staff  is  of  worm-eaten  wood — set   in 


w 

< 


OBJECTS    FROM   THE   TREASURY  35 

metal  at  a  later  date  to  preserve  it  from  destruc- 
tion— said  to  have  been  given  to  S.  Hermagoras  by 
S.  Peter  or  S.  Mark.  There  is  also  a  great  crucifix 
of  gilded  silver  on  a  wood  basis  worked  with  a 
rough  naturalism  free  from  Byzantine  influence.  The 
cross  is  made  into  a  tree,  from  which  grapes  hang  ;  the 
nimbus  is  set  with  large  amethysts  and  small  rubies. 
Of  the  same  period  is  a  fine  book-cover  of  gilded  silver 
with  the  subject  of  the  Ascension.  Christ  enthroned 
in  a  vesica  is  supported  by  two  angels  ;  below  is  the 
Madonna  as  orante,  surrounded  by  the  Apostles.  The 
border  consists  of  fine  leaf-scrolls,  late  twelfth  century 
in  character.  A  silver  statuette  of  the  Madonna  and 
Child  is  of  the  fourteenth  century.  The  Child  is  nude, 
tall,  and  thin,  and  wears  a  crown  decorated  with  pearls 
and  trefoils.  The  naked  portions  are  matt  silver,  the 
draperies  are  gilded.  It  stands  on  a  pedestal  of  three 
ornamented  steps.  The  fate  of  the  precious  objects  is 
reversed  in  the  case  of  the  documents.  Those  sent  to 
Gorz  have  disappeared,  whilst  Udine  still  preserves  a 
considerable  number.  At  Aquileia  the  only  object  re- 
maining from  the  treasury  is  a  statue  of  the  Madonna 
and  Child,  of  Istrian  marble,  heavily  painted.  The 
work  resembles  in  style  the  carving  at  S.  Giovanni  in 
Fonte,  Verona. 

The  campanile  must  have  been  built  by  Poppo,  al- 
though the  base  looks  like  Roman  masonry,  since  the 
mosaics  go  right  under  it,  but  it  was  added  to  later,  and 
the  octagonal  bell-chamber  is  inscribed:  "md1  xlviii 
tadevs  •  lvranvs  *  hoc  '  o  ■  fecit/ '  It  is  39  ft.  square 
and  the  walls  are  over  7  ft.  thick.  The  entrance  is 
approached  by  27  steps.  It  is  70  ft.  to  the  floor  of  the 
bell-chamber. 

The  narthex  has  three  thick  antique  pillars,  part 
granite  and  part  marble,  with  heavy  early  Christian 
Corinthian   caps   and   super-abaci  with  crosses  upon 


36  AQUILEIA 

them.  The  baptistery  lies  to  the  west  of  the  narthex, 
united  to  it  by  a  building  known  as  the  Chiesa  dei 
Pagani.  This  consists  of  three  bays  with  a  descent  of 
three  steps  from  the  first,  over  which  there  was  once  a 
cupola.  The  other  bays  are  cross-vaulted,  and  there  are 
several  round-headed  windows.  In  the  pavement  is  a 
curious  pierced  stone.  It  has  a  cross  with  the  Agnus 
Dei  in  the  centre  (pierced),  and  four  little  window 
shapes  in  the  angles  with  round-headed  tympana  and 
oblong  piercings  below.  There  was  a  second  story; 
part  of  the  wall  of  this  remains,  constructed  of  ancient 
tiles,  which  were  much  used  in  Aquileia  in  the  Middle 
Ages  ;  an  inscription  records  a  restoration  in  1738.  The 
baptistery  was  originally  a  Roman  building,  square  ex- 
ternally and  octagonal  within,  with  four  niches,  one  of 
which  is  partially  preserved.  Remains  of  the  others 
have  been  found  outside  the  octagon.  There  was  an 
hexagonal  font  in  the  centre,  and  in  the  angles  of  the 
walls  are  the  springings  of  vaults  ;  there  are  also  six 
pillar-stumps  of  different  thicknesses.  Most  of  the 
present  building  is  modern,  the  result  of  several  restora- 
tions. On  each  side  of  the  baptistery  and  Chiesa  dei 
Pagani  were  halls  with  mosaic  floors  of  the  Christian 
period,  of  which  that  to  the  south  was  least  damaged 
when  discovered;  it  had  three  patterned  fields,  with 
borders.  The  open  hall  between  was  stone-paved — a 
bit  of  the  paving  was  found  a  foot  deeper  than  the 
original  floor  of  the  baptistery. 

The  museum  contains  a  quantity  of  exceedingly 
interesting  objects,  the  fruit  of  excavations,  which  the 
director,  Signor  Maionica,  most  kindly  piloted  me 
through,  calling  attention  to  the  various  objects  of 
special  interest  and  giving  me  details  about  them  of 
which  otherwise  I  should  have  been  ignorant.  The 
collection  of  objects  in  amber,  many  of  them  stained 
a  fine  red,  is  the  finest  in  existence,  though  the  most 


STATUE    OF    VENUS,    MUSEUM,    AQUILEIA 

To  face  page  36 


OBJECTS    IN   THE    MUSEUM 


37 


splendid  examples  have  gone  to  the  British  Museum,  to 
Udine  and  Gorz.  The  sculptured  objects  include  a  very 
beautiful  youthful  Venus,  a  girl  apparently  of  about  17, 
a  draped  statue  of  the  Emperor  Claudius  in  Greek  cos- 
tume, one  of  Tiberius  as  Pon- 
tifex  Maxim  us  (both  found 
near  thetheatre),oneof  Livia, 
showing  the  arrangement  of 
the  back  hair,  and  marble 
wigs  to  place  upon  the  heads 
of  statues  to  keep  them  in 
the  fashion.  There  is  also  a 
draped  Venus  with  a  Cupid 
hiding  beneath  her  robe,  a 
copy  of  the  Aura  (Spring- 
rain)  of  Scopas,  of  which 
another  is  in  the  museum  at 
Trieste,  and  a  most  interest- 
ing sculptor's  model  for  use 
in  the  studio,  showing  how 
arms  and  legs  of  other  pieces 
of  marble  were  affixed  to 
statues.  A  pedestal  shows 
the  life  of  Priapus,  from  his 
birth  in  the  spring  to  his 
winter's  inactivity ;  others 
have  winged  Cupids  bearing  /? 
torches  and  bestriding  dol-^-- 
phins,   the   idea   being  of  a 

Zm      ~  4-        4.U        T    1  J  £    il,         ANTIQUE   STATUE   IN    THE   MUSEUM, 

voyage  to  the  Islands  of  the  aquileia 

Blest.  A  panel  shows  Bac- 
chanalian Cupids  ;  one  desires  to  drink,  one  is  drinking 
from  a  crater,  another,  supported  away,  inebriated  ;  the 
robed  master  of  the  feast  bears  a  sceptre  and  is  playing 
the  Pan-pipes.  Another  relief  represents  a  banquet  in 
a  triclinium.     One  man  sounds  a  double  pipe,  another 


38  AQUILEIA 

carries  food  to  the  guests,  one  of  whom  is  singing  an 
obscene  song,  which  disgusts  the  women,  who  make  the 
sign  of  displeasure  at  him.  In  a  relief  of  the  time  of 
Heliogabalus  a  meteoric  stone  is  seen  carried  in  pro- 
cession, preceded  by  duumvirs,  lictors,  &c. — an  evidence 
of  an  Oriental  cult  practised  in  Aquileia.  Five  great 
medallions  from  the  same  building  show  busts  in  very 
high  relief  of  Jupiter,  Mercury,  Vulcan,  Venus,  and 
Minerva.  A  stone  table  with  a  sundial  and  windrose 
engraved  upon  it  has  a  low  seat  on  three  sides,  but  the 
fourth  free,  so  that  the  hour  may  be  seen  at  all  times  of 
the  day  without  the  annoyance  of  dodging  one's  shadow. 
The  letters  of  the  inscription  point  to  the  second  century 
a.d.  as  the  date  of  its  production.  Many  sarcophagi 
come  from  the  north-east  of  Aquileia  near  Columbara, 
where  a  monument  was  found  much  resembling  those  of 
Petra  and  Baalbek  in  its  forms.  Inscriptions  name 
clothiers,  fullers,  joiners,  linen-weavers,  builders  and 
servants,  purple-dyers,  pikesmiths,  a  silver-worker,  an 
Oriental  pearl  merchant  with  a  sign  of  the  city  of  Rome, 
&c.  In  the  eighteenth  century  the  Mint  was  discovered, 
with  bars  of  silver  and  baskets  of  coin.  A  fine  plate 
of  beaten  silver,  with  the  story  of  Triptolemus,  found 
here  is  now  at  Vienna. 

Many  pieces  of  ornament  are  preserved,  often  very 
finely  modelled  and  also  with  traces  of  colour.  The  larger 
pieces,  many  of  which  are  coarse  in  workmanship,  are 
housed  under  a  long  shed  in  the  open  ;  among  them  are 
slabs  of  ninth-century  ornament,  lead  coffins,  and  pipes 
with  pointed  covers  to  keep  the  sand  out,  urns  for  ashes, 
&c.  There  appears  to  have  been  a  Roman  rococo  at 
Aquileia,  earlier  than  at  Spalato  or  Florence.  Here,  too, 
are  some  of  the  early  Christian  mosaics  found  during 
the  excavations  in  and  around  the  cathedral.  Especi- 
ally beautiful  are  the  fragments  with  peacocks  and  other 
birds,  and  lambs,  with  freely  growing  scrolls  of  vine. 


A   CURIOUS    MEDIEVAL   CEREMONY        39 

An  asbestos  net,  found  at  Monastero,  used  to  wrap  round 
the  body  during  cremation  and  so  keep  the  bones 
together,  is  interesting,  as  are  lachrymatories  mis- 
shapen by  the  flames,  small  bottles  of  rock-crystal 
beautifully  cut,  a  few  enamelled  objects  and  carvings  in 
ivory,  principally  children's  toys.  Rings  set  with  gems 
were  made  of  gold  for  the  nobles  and  of  iron  for  the 
citizens,  who  at  a  later  period  used  silver  and  even  gold. 
Over  40,000  coins  have  been  found  in  the  course  of  the 
excavations,  andlamps  bearing  no  less  than  800  different 
makers'  marks.  The  marks  are  the  same  as  those  found 
all  through  Istria,  Dalmatia,  and  the  islands,  proving  a 
large  export  trade.  The  most  important  were  those  of 
C.  Vibio  Pansa,  whose  stamp  (or  those  of  his  successors) 
is  found  in  conjunction  with  imperial  names  till  the 
time  of  Constantine.  In  the  delta  of  the  Isonzo,  near 
Monfalcone,  a  portion  was  called  "  Insula  Pansiana  " 
even  in  the  Middle  Ages.  A  river  in  the  bay  of  Mon- 
falcone is  still  called  Panzano,  and  near  there  is  a  place 
of  the  same  name.  There  were  also  glass  works  at  S. 
Stefano,  Aquileia,  where  fragments  of  coloured  glass 
have  been  found. 

Ruskin  refers  to  a  curious  ceremony,  instituted  in 
the  twelfth  century,  which  was  observed  in  Venice  till 
1549  "  m  memorial  of  the  submission  of  Woldaric, 
patriarch  of  Aquileia,  who,  having  taken  up  arms 
against  the  patriarch  of  Grado,  and  being  defeated  and 
taken  prisoner  by  the  Venetians,  was  sentenced,  not  to 
death,  but  to  send  every  year  on  '  Giovedi  Grasso  ' 
sixty-two  large  loaves,  twelve  fat  pigs,  and  a  bull,  to 
the  Doge  ;  the  bull  being  understood  to  represent  the 
patriarch  and  the  twelve  pigs  his  clergy  ;  and  the 
ceremonies  of  the  day  consisting  in  the  decapitation 
of  these  representatives,  and  a  distribution  of  their 
joints  among  the  senators  ;  together  with  a  sym- 
bolic   record    of    the    attack    on    Aquileia,    by    the 


40  AQUILEIA 

erection  of  a  wooden  castle  in  the  rooms  of  the  Ducal 
Palace,  which  the  Doge  and  the  Senate  attacked  and 
demolished  with  clubs.' '     Mutinelli  quotes  the  decree. 

The  patriarchate  reached  the  zenith  of  its  power 
under  Volfkerus  of  Cologne,  known  to  the  Italians  as 
Volchero.  He  was  elected  in  1204,  and  ruled  till  1218. 
His  dioceses  included  seventeen  bishoprics  of  Venice  on 
terra  firma,  stretching  as  far  as  Como  and  Trent,  and  six 
in  Istria.  The  Venetian  island  bishoprics,  by  the  con- 
vention of  1 180,  were  under  the  Patriarch  of  Grado. 
In  1208  his  dominions  were  so  much  increased  that 
they  almost  exceeded  those  of  the  Pope  in  extent.  He 
held  the  duchies  of  Carniola  and  Friuli,  as  well  as  the 
marquisate  of  Istria.  He  struck  his  own  coins,  of 
which  there  are  two  types,  one  closely  resembling 
those  of  Aix-la-Chapelle  and  Cologne,  and  governed 
constitutionally  with  the  assistance  of  a  parliament  of 
three  estates. 


IV 

GRADO 

From  Aquileia  a  steam-launch  plies  back  and  forth 
to  Grado,  a  distance  of  some  six  or  seven  miles, 
at  first  along  a  canal  with  grassy  banks  plentifully 
besprinkled  with  giant  snowdrops  in  the  spring,  then 
through  wide  stretches  of  lagoon  along  a  channel, 
marked  by  piles,  sometimes  approaching  the  fisher- 
men's huts,  which  occupy  the  summit  of  slight  elevations 
rising  but  little  above  the  surface  of  the  water.  These 
huts  are  mere  shelters  of  reeds,  and,  one  would  think, 
quite  unfit  for  human  habitation,  but  close  by  them  the 
nets  may  be  seen  drying,  and  perhaps  food  in  course  of 
preparation  over  an  open  fire,  while  the  boat,  thrust 
into  a  creek  or  tied  to  a  stake,  occupies  the  foreground. 
These  wide-spreading  lagoons,  the  resort  of  many  kinds 
of  water-fowl  in  their  passage  from  north  to  south  and 
vice  versa,  are  very  pictorial.  The  enclosures  in  which 
fish  brought  in  by  the  tide  are  retained,  the  beds  of  reeds 
and  rushes  with  yellow  water-lilies,  the  figures  of  women 
and  children  wading  and  seeking  fishy  treasures,  provide 
excellent  material  for  the  artist.  Occasionally  a  boat 
passes  in  which  a  woman  is  taking  fish  to  Aquileia, 
leaving  behind  it  a  long  trail  of  ripples.  The  two  great 
campanili,  of  Grado  which  we  are  nearing,  and  of 
Aquileia  passing  into  the  distance  behind  us,  each  with 
its  cluster  of  low  buildings  around,  are  prominent 
against   the   horizon   showing   dark   against   the   fine 

41  6 


42  GRADO 

cumulus  clouds,  which  are  heaped  in  sharply  denned 
masses  against  the  blue  of  the  upper  sky  and  rise  in 
threatening  billows  like  exhalations  from  some  vast 
cauldron,  soon  to  fade  away  innocuously  in  the  late 
afternoon. 

Grado  is  on  one  of  the  islands  of  which  a  chain 
stretches  from  the  mouth  of  the  Isonzo  to  that  of  the 
Brenta  right  across  the  northern  border  of  the  Adriatic. 
Its  port  was  one  of  the  harbours  of  Aquileia,  at  first  for 
purposes  of  war,  but  later  for  those  of  commerce.  The 
town  was  square  in  plan,  walled,  and  full  of  people. 
Cassiodorus  speaks  of  its  material  conditions.  The 
modern  town  is  most  picturesque,  with  narrow  streets 
andnumerous courtyards,  with  outside  staircases,  quaint 
shops,  and  fascinating  plays  of  light  and  shade,  and  so 
much  of  the  life  of  the  people  passes  in  the  open  air  that 
there  is  always  interesting  matter  for  observation.  It 
is  a  seaside  resort,  visited  a  good  deal  for  bathing  during 
the  summer  months,  and  there  is  also,  as  at  Rovigno, 
an  establishment  for  scrofulous  children.  But  its  chief 
attraction  for  us  is  archaeological,  for  it  contains  early 
Christian  antiquities  of  considerable  importance. 

Its  greatest  prosperity  was  between  the  time  of  the 
great  wanderings  of  the  peoples  and  the  descent  of  the 
barbarians  into  Italy.  Its  patriarch  took  the  lead  in 
establishing  the  government  of  the  islands  from  which 
the  Venetian  Republic  sprang.  In  460  Nicetas  called 
all  the  bishops,  clergy,  and  leading  officials  of  the  islands 
together  to  deliberate  on  the  question  of  government, 
and,  after  discussion,  they  agreed  to  establish  one  under 
the  directorship  of  Tribunes.  The  first  tribune  was  to 
live  at  Grado,  with  three  others,  called  "maggiori,"  but 
depending  upon  him,  one  for  Rivoalto,  one  for  Cande- 
ana,  and  one  for  Dorsea,  living  at  Rialto,  Eraclea,  and 
Torcello  respectively.  They  had  charge  of  the  admin- 
istration of  justice,  presided  over  the  execution  of  the 


A    CORNER    IN    GRADO 


To  face  page  42 


HISTORY   OF   GRADO  43 

laws,  enforced  discipline,  and  met  at  times  in  council  to 
discuss  propositions  laid  before  them.  Grado  lost  its 
supremacy  in  696,  when  the  assembly  held  at  Eraclea 
gave  it  to  that  city,  though  the  Patriarch  of  Grado, 
Cristoforo,  was  given  equality  with  the  three  tribunes 
which  Eraclea  then  had.  The  next  year  the  first  doge, 
Paolo  Lucio  Anafesto,  was  elected.  It  was  by  means  of 
Fortunatus  of  Trieste,  Patriarch  of  Grado  (803-825), 
that  the  cry  of  the  Istrians,  oppressed  by  the  Frankish 
duke  and  his  supporters,  came  to  the  ears  of  Charle- 
magne, with  the  result  that  after  a  strict  inquiry  held  at 
Risano  in  804,  when  the  representatives  of  the  cities  and 
castella  exposed  the  odious  proceedings  of  the  bishop, 
the  duke,  and  their  adherents,  they  obtained  redress. 
In  875  the  Saracens  attacked  Grado,  but  were  repulsed. 
The  next  year  a  similar  attack  was  made  by  the  Slavs  of 
Croatia  and  Dalmatia,  but  the  Doge  Orso  met  them, 
defeated  them,  and  gave  back  to  several  Istrian  towns 
objects  of  which  they  had  been  robbed. 

Between  Grado  and  Aquileia  there  was  a  constant 
struggle  for  supremacy,  which  was  in  reality  a  contest 
between  Venice  and  the  empire,  Aquileia  standing  for 
the  latter  and  Grado  for  the  former.  A  formal  peace 
was  concluded  between  them  during  theLateran  Council 
of  1 180,  by  which  the  Patriarch  of  Grado  renounced  all 
claims  over  the  Istrian  bishoprics,  except  as  regards  the 
hundred  amphoras  of  wine  sent  by  Capodistria  from 
1075,  given  as  a  personal  honour  to  the  Doge  Pietro 
Candiano,  and  by  him  handed  over  to  the  Patriarch  of 
Grado.  In  452  the  Patriarch  of  Aquileia  fled  to  Grado 
from  the  Huns,  returning  after  they  had  passed,  and  in 
578,  when  Aquileia  had  become  Lombard,  Paulinus 
transferred  his  seat  to  Grado,  thus  putting  himself  under 
Byzantine  protection.  In  579  a  synod  was  held  in  the 
church.  From  607  there  were  two  patriarchs — one 
in  Grado  and  one  in  Aquileia — established  for  political 


44  GRADO 

reasons  by  the  Lombards  ;  they  were  schismatical,  that 
is  to  say,  adherents  of  the  "  three  chapters."  During 
the  continuance  of  this  schism,  in  610,  three  Istrian 
bishops  were  taken  from  their  very  churches  by  the 
military,  and  carried  off  to  Grado,  where  they  were 
compelled  to  bend  to  the  Imperial  will  in  the  matter. 
Gregory  III.  sanctioned  the  division  of  the  two  patri- 
archates in  731,  both  having  become  orthodox,  Aquileia 
in  698  and  Grado  in  715.  In  145 1  the  patriarchate  of 
Grado  was  transferred  to  Venice,  where  the  patriarch 
had  been  living  for  a  long  time. 

The  foundations  of  the  cathedral  were  laid  under 
Nicetas  (456)  by  the  architect  Paulus,  who  was  sent 
to  him  by  Pope  Leo  I.  The  plan  is  Romanesque,  a 
basilica  with  nave  and  aisles  and  no  transept,  the 
nave  terminating  in  an  apse  eastward.  It  has  two 
western  doors,  which  open  into  a  portico  of  almost  the 
whole  breadth  of  the  church,  part  being  cut  off  by  the 
campanile,  which  is  nearly  20  ft.  square  and  over 
160  ft.  high.  The  clerestory  and  low-pitched  wooden 
roof  of  the  nave  are  supported  by  two  piers  and  ten 
columns  on  each  side.  The  columns  are  antique,  but 
of  varied  material — cipollino,  white  and  black  and 
white- veined  marble,  and  granite ;  and  there  is  one  of 
a  rosy  and  white  breccia.  The  caps  vary  both  in  de- 
sign and  size,  and  have  been  repaired  with  stucco. 
Some  of  them  are  decadent  Roman  and  the  rest 
Byzantine  :  the  bases  are  hidden  by  a  square  wooden 
boxing.  The  eleven  arches  of  the  nave  arcade  are 
round.  The  round-headed  windows  of  both  nave  and 
aisles  had  pierced  slabs  of  stone  in  them,  but  in  1740 
the  openings  were  made  lunette-shaped.  One  pierced 
slab  of  the  ninth  century  has  been  found,  and  is  now 
placed  high  up  in  the  apse  above  the  patriarch's  throne. 
Under  Fortunatus  and  John  the  Younger,  about  the 
beginning  of  the  ninth  century,  the  church  appears  to 


PULPIT    IN    THE    CATHEDRAL,    GRADO 

To  face  page  45 


INTERIOR   OF   THE   CATHEDRAL  45 

have  been  beautified  ;  and  again,  in  the  second  half  of 
the  tenth,  under  Vitalis.  It  is  related  that  the  relics 
were  then  provided  with  fresh  receptacles  and  inscrip- 
tions. The  choir  occupies  three  bays  of  the  nave,  with 
a  modern  enclosure  raised  by  several  steps.  Just  out- 
side the  rail,  by  the  fourth  column  on  the  left,  stands 
the  interesting  pulpit,  which  has  a  later  canopy,  but 
itself  appears  to  be  of  the  ninth  century,  judging  by  the 
columns,  two  of  which  are  twisted,  and  by  the  carving 
of  the  symbols  of  the  Evangelists,  which  seems  to  be 
rather  later.  On  the  other  hand,  there  is  a  square  O 
in  the  inscription  on  S.  John's  book,  of  which  other 
instances  occur  at  Cattaro  in  an  inscription  of  the  ninth 
century,  and  in  one  of  the  seventh  at  Spalato.  The 
pulpit  is  sexfoil  in  plan ;  one  side  is  open,  and  one  has 
a  large  cross  carved  upon  it.  The g canopy  has  six 
fourteenth  or  fifteenth-century  octagonal  colonnettes, 
supporting  ogee  trefoiled  arches  with  a  domical  ter- 
mination, coloured  in  red  and  white  chequers,  and  with 
scrolls  and  rosettes  of  red  on  the  spandrils  of  the  arches 
below.  The  shape  and  decoration  show  Arab  in- 
fluence strongly. 

In  the  pavement  is  still  preserved  a  great  deal  of 
that  laid  down  by  Elias  in  the  sixth  century.  It  filled 
the  nave,  being  entirely  worked  in  tesserae  of  very  few 
colours — black,  a  green-grey,  red,  yellow,  and  white. 
From  the  west  door  a  pattern,  surrounded  by  a  border, 
stretches  as  far  as  the  fifth  pair  of  columns.  It  consists 
of  a  central  band  of  a  wavy  pattern,  interrupted  by 
inscriptions  and  medallions  ;  the  easternmost  one  is 
blank  and  has  a  running  border,  with  the  corners  of  the 
square  (cut  off  by  the  band  of  inscriptions)  filled  with 
scroll-work.  The  side  portions  are  cut  up  into  squares 
by  bands  of  open  interlacings,  with  ivy  leaves  in  the 
interstices,  and  different  designs  within  the  squares,  or 
with  inscriptions,  most  of  them  in  Latin,  but  one  in 


46  GRADO 

Greek.  They  record  the  gift  of  so  many  feet  of  pave- 
ment, as  at  Parenzo  ;  and  one  donor,  Laurentius  the 
Viscount  Palatine,  seems  to  have  been  generous  to  both 
cathedrals.  A  long  inscription  leaves  no  doubt  as  to 
the  date,  and  that  it  was  laid  down  under  the  Patriarch 
Elias  (571-585) ;  it  runs  :  "  Atria  quae  cernis  vario 
formata  decore  squallida  sub  picto  caelatur  marmore 
tellus  longa  vetustatis  senio  fuscaverat  aetas  prisca  en 
cesserunt  magno  novitatis  honori  praesulis  Haeliae 
studio  praestante  beati  haec  sunt  tecta  pio  semper 
devota  timori.,, 

The  flat  ceilings  and  the  rococo  stucco-work  are  due 
to  the  restorations  of  1740.  The  apse  contains  remains 
of  mediaeval  painting — a  seated  Christ  of  colossal  size 
surrounded  by  the  symbols  of  the  four  Evangelists,  with 
raised  right  hand  and  a  closed  book  in  the  left  ;  on  one 
side  S.  John  the  Baptist  holding  an  open  scroll,  and  on 
the  other  a  saint  in  green,  with  gold-shot  stole  and 
nimbus,  but  no  attribute — both  larger  than  life.  The 
corners  are  occupied  by  the  patron  saints,  Hermagoras 
and  Fortunatus.  Round  the  apse,  just  above  the  patri- 
arch's seat,  runs  a  row  of  portraits  of  bishops  of  later 
date,  half-lengths,  beneath  a  round-arched  arcade  on 
a  gold  ground.  On  the  left  nave  pier,  near  the  door,  are 
the  remains  of  a  painting  of  S.  Helena,  who  has  nimbus, 
cross,  and  book.  In  the  centre  of  the  apse  is  the  ancient 
patriarch's  seat,  with  an  inscription  upon  the  wall 
commemorating  the  ancient  supremacy  of  the  see  :  it 
is  mainly  composed  of  mutilated  ninth-century  carved 
slabs,  probably  portions  of  the  chancel  of  that  date. 
Other  slabs  with  similar  designs  and  portions  of  a 
ciborium  are  preserved  in  a  little  collection  of  marbles 
under  a  shed  behind  the  apse,  where  are  also  several 
sarcophagi  and  other  antique  fragments. 

In  the  treasury  are  two  early  reliquaries  of  silver, 
found  beneath  the  high-altar  in  August,  1871.     One  is 


THE    PATRIARCH'S    THRONE,    CATHEDRAL,    GRADO 

To  face  page  46 


EARLY   RELIQUARIES  47 

cylindrical,  with  a  convex  lid,  upon  which  is  represented 
in  relief  the  Virgin  enthroned,  with  the  Babe  at  her 
breast.  Her  right  hand  holds  a  cross-headed  sceptre, 
and  behind  her  head  is  a  nimbus  with  the  usual  mono- 
gram, MH  ®T.  The  cylinder  has  no  decoration  but  two 
bands  of  names  of  saints  in  Roman  capital  letters. 
These  are :  "  Sane.  Maria,  Sane.  Vitvs,  Scs.  Cassianvs, 
Sane.  Pancrativs,  Sane.  Ypolitvs,  Sane.  Apollinaris, 
Sane.  Martinvs."  Within  is  a  central  cylinder  and  six 
compartments  radiating  from  it,  which  contained  a 
small  cylindrical  vase  of  gold  with  rings  round  it,  a 
little  glass  flask,  closed  up  and  containing  water,  a  little 
gold  box  with  crosses  and  a  leaf  pattern  on  the  outside, 
and  a  cross  of  dark-green  enamel  on  the  cover,  a  small 
slab  of  chalk  or  cement  with  a  Greek  cross  imprinted 
on  it,  and  several  thin  gold  plates  with  the  names  of 
saints  upon  them.  Several  of  the  printed  accounts  of 
the  discovery  of  this  treasure  say  that  there  were  six 
of  these  plates  in  the  casket ;  but  the  glass  case  which 
encloses  it  and  its  contents  has  eleven,  with  the  names 
as  follows  :  "  Domna  Maria,  Scs.  Cassianvs,  Sc.  Mar- 
tinvs,  Sc.  Brancativs,  Scs.  Troteomvs,  Sea.  Agnes,  Scs. 
Bitvs,  Scs.  Apolinnaris,  Scs.  Hyppolitvs,  Scs.  Sabas- 
tianvs,  Scs.  Severvs."  Dr.  Kandler  thought  that  it 
came  from  the  church  of  S.  Niceta  in  Aquileia,  and  was 
brought  to  the  island  with  other  treasures  in  452,  for 
safety,  from  Attila.  De  Rossi  thought  that  the  appel- 
lative "  Domna "  distinguishing  the  Virgin  was  an 
argument  against  such  high  antiquity  ;  but  in  a  later 
number  of  his  "  Bullettino  "  he  described  an  inscription 
of  about  457  at  Loja,  in  Spain,  in  which  the  title  "  Dom- 
nus  "  or  "  Domna  "  is  applied  to  all  the  saints,  including 
the  Virgin.  There  is  a  legend  that  "  When  Paul  was 
patriarch  of  Aquileia  the  priest  Geminianus  was  told 
in  a  vision  to  go  to  the  destroyed  city  of  Trieste  to  find 
the  bodies  of  42  martyrs  buried  between  the  wall  of 


48  GRADO 

the  church  dedicated  to  them  and  the  city  wall.  Going 
thither  with  many  other  Venetians  he  found  the  holy 
bodies  in  the  specified  place,  covered  over  with  marble 
slabs,  and,  taking  them,  went  to  the  destroyed  city  of 
Aquileia,  where  he  added  to  the  relics  the  bodies 
of  Cantius,  Cantianus,  Cantianilla,  and  the  virgins 
Euphemia,  Dorothea,  Thecla,  and  Erasma,  and  then 
took  them  all  to  Grado."  Paul  is  Paulinus  I.  (557-569), 
and  the  occurrence  took  place  after  the  Lombards  had 
gone  by  in  568.  The  forty-two  martyrs  were  laid  side 
by  side  in  the  church  of  S.  Vitale,  and  Paul  died  the 
next  year. 

The  other  reliquary  is  elliptical,  and  has  upon  its 
sides  reliefs  and  inscriptions  bordered  with  a  rough 
leaf-moulding.  Round  the  middle  are  eight  me- 
dallions with  male  and  female  heads,  divided  into  two 
groups  of  five  and  three  by  palm-trees.  Above  and 
below  is  a  row  of  names  ;  those  of  the  top  row  being  : 
"  >%<  Sanctvs  Cantivs,  Sane.  Cantianvs,  Sancta  Can- 
tianilla, Santvs  Qvirinvs,  Santvs  Latinv."  The  lower 
row  runs  :  "  ^  S.  Lavrentivs,  vs.  Ioannes,  vs  Niceforvs 
Santisreddedidbotvm  "  (vir  spectabilis,  &c,  reddidit 
votum).  The  use  of  b  for  v  is  characteristic  of  the 
period  of  the  Patriarch  Elias.  The  cover  is  slightly 
domical ;  upon  it  are  two  lambs,  and  between  them  a 
gemmed  cross.  They  stand  on  a  hill  from  which  the 
four  rivers  of  Paradise  flow.  Within  was  a  second 
silver  casket  filled  with  water,  and  some  remains  of 
relics.  At  Pola  some  reliquaries  of  somewhat  the  same 
kind  were  found,  of  which  a  description  will  be  given 
later. 

In  the  Museo  Sacro  of  the  Vatican  library  is  a 
similar  capsella  found  at  Am  Beida  in  Tunisia.  It  is 
oval,  and  has  the  same  bands  of  ornament ;  round  the 
body  are  reliefs.  On  one  side  is  a  lamb  with  a  cross 
above  his  back,  and  on  either  side  four  sheep  (with 


OBJECTS    IN   THE   TREASURY  49 

tufted  tails,  a  Tunisian  variety)  coming  towards  him 
from  an  arched  and  pillared  building.  On  the  other  is 
the  Labarum  monogram  with  ornamental  terminations 
on  a  hill  from  which  the  four  Paradise  streams  flow ;  a 
stag  on  either  side  kneels  to  drink.  On  the  cover 
stands  a  saint,  on  the  four  Paradise  streams,  between 
two  lighted  tapers  in  candlesticks,  holding  a  crown ; 
whilst  the  hand  of  God  holds  another  over  his  head. 
There  are  no  nimbi.  The  reliquary  was  empty  and 
without  any  compartments.  De  Rossi  pronounced  it 
to  be  of  the  sixth  century,  or  the  end  of  the  fifth. 

The  treasury  also  contains  an  oblong  fourteenth- 
century  casket  and  two  Limoges  gemellions,  as  well  as 
a  good  deal  of  late  silver  work,  and  an  interesting  altar 
frontal.  The  gemellions  are  champleve  on  copper,, 
with  engraved  backs  showing  traces  of  gilding.  A 
central  circle  on  the  face  contains  a  shield  with  a  ram- 
pant lion,  enamelled  in  blue  ;  round  it  is  a  quatrefoil 
made  by  four  larger  circles  which  overlap  at  the  re- 
entering angle.  The  spandril  spaces  are  filled  with 
dragon-like  monsters  on  a  green  ground.  The  ring  and 
the  shield  show  metal.  The  quatrefoil  is  outlined  with 
white,  and  filled  with  scrolls  and  figures  righting  with 
each  other  or  with  beasts.  The  corner  pieces  have  a 
little  tower  and  scrolls,  the  windows  and  cornice  are 
red  enamel,  the  ground  is  green.  The  outside  edge 
has  a  zigzag  of  blue  enamel.  The  hole  through  which 
the  water  was  poured  over  the  hands  has  a  spout 
representing  an  animal's  head.  I  believe  these  basins, 
to  be  the  only  examples  of  Limoges  work  to  be  found 
along  the  coast. 

The  altar-frontal  is  inscribed :  "  ^  MCCCLXII  de 
Settembrio  in  lo  tempo  del  nobele  Miser  Andrea 
Contarini  Doxe  di  Vanesia  e  Miser  Francesco  Contarini 
Conte  de'  Grado  fo  f atta  questa  palla  e  Donado  Maca- 
lorso  da  Vinesia  me  fece."     It  is  of  silver-gilt,  4  ft.  7  in... 

7 


50  GRADO 

high  and  7  ft.  4  in.  long,  with  twenty-one  divisions, 
in  three  rows  of  seven  panels,  the  bars  being  covered 
with  leaf  scrolls  and  with  medallion  half-lengths  of 
Greek  saints  at  the  crossings.  In  the  upper  row,  in 
the  middle  panel,  is  a  half-length  "  Ecce  Homo," 
right  and  left  are  the  symbols  of  the  Evangelists, 
and  the  outer  corners  have  the  Annunciation — the 
Virgin  on  the  right,  and  the  angel  on  the  left.  In 
the  centre  of  the  second  row  Christ  sits  in  the  attitude 
of  blessing,  with  raised  right  hand,  and  holding  an 
open  book  in  the  left.  On  its  pages  is  inscribed  :  "  Ego 
sum  lux  mundi  qui  in  me  crediderit  non  morietur  in 
aeternum  Amen."  On  the  right  are  SS.  John,  Paul, 
and  Fortunatus ;  on  the  left,  SS.  Felix,  Peter,  and 
Martha.  In  the  lowest  row  the  centre  shows  a  chalice 
with  the  Host ;  on  the  right,  SS.  Hermagoras,  Thecla, 
and  Erasma  ;  on  the  left,  SS.  Dorothea,  Euphemia, 
and  another  Fortunatus. 

The  patriarchal  seat  given  by  Heraclius  to  the 
Patriarch  Primigenius  was  taken  in  1520  to  S.  Mark's, 
Venice,  where  it  may  still  be  seen  in  the  treasury. 
Pasini  says  it  is  certainly  of  Egyptian  manufacture,  in 
proof  of  which  both  the  character  of  the  ornaments 
and  tradition  are  invoked.  The  Chronicles  of  the  Acts 
of  S.  Mark  in  Aquileia,  which  are  earlier  than  the 
eleventh  century,  say  that  it  was  covered  with  ivory 
plaques,  "  utique  antiquo,"  but  the  large  amount  of 
carving  upon  it  leaves  little  space  for  the  attachment 
of  further  ornament.  Its  history  seems  quite  clear. 
Heraclius  brought  it  from  Alexandria  to  Constantinople 
about  630,  and  between  1520  and  1534  it  was  behind 
the  high-altar  of  S.  Mark's.  In  the  latter  year  it  was 
moved  into  the  baptistery  on  to  the  altar,  where  it 
stayed  till  taken  into  the  treasury. 

It  is  made  of  Oriental  cipollino.  The  medallion  at 
the  top  is  cemented  on.     On  it  is  a  crux  ansata,  with 


THE   SEAT   OF    S.    MARK  51 

two  figures  at  the  sides,  both  in  front  and  behind,  be- 
lieved to  be  the  four  Evangelists.  On  the  exterior  of 
the  arms  are  ten  lighted  tapers,  thought  to  symbolise 
the  ten  churches  founded  in  Africa  by  SS.  Matthew  and 
Mark.  Below  the  medallion  in  front  is  a  Lamb  on  a 
hill,  from  which  the  rivers  of  Paradise  flow,  and  on  which 
is  either  a  vine  or  a  fig-tree.  On  the  back  are  an  eagle 
and  a  lion,  each  with  six  wings.  The  background  is 
starred,  there  are  two  palms  at  the  bottom,  and  a  Tree 
of  Life  in  the  space  between  the  lion's  lower  wings. 
Above  the  eagle's  head  is  a  crescent.  Beneath  the 
tapers  on  the  outside  is  a  bull  with  six  wings  on  a  starred 
background,  and  on  the  other  side  an  angel,  also  with 
six  wings,  with  two  palms  below,  and  two  little  two- 
winged  trumpeting  angels  in  the  top  corners,  on  a 
similarly  starred  ground.  These  three  sides  have  a 
band  of  lattice-work  at  the  base  ;  the  front  has  a  panel 
with  zigzag  lines.  The  inscription  on  the  front  has 
puzzled  paleographists.  It  has  been  read  as  Hebrew 
and  as  stating  that  it  is  the  chair  of  S.  Mark.  A  hole 
in  the  back  and  another  in  the  side  are  thought  to  have 
perhaps  held  the  debris  of  the  wooden  chair  which  he 
actually  used. 

Herr  Graeven  believes  that  he  has  identified 
several  plaques  of  ivory  which  belonged  to  the  chair 
in  different  museums.  They  all  display  the  type  of 
head  afterwards  used  for  S.  Paul  in  Western  art,  which 
Dr.  Strzygowski  has  identified  as  representing  S.  Mark 
in  Alexandrian  ivories. 

The  octagonal  baptistery,  to  the  north  of  the 
cathedral,  shows  no  sign  of  its  age,  which  must  no 
doubt  be  considerable  ;  near  to  it  is  the  church  of 
S.  Maria  delle  Grazie,  which  has  fragments  of  similar 
paving  to  that  in  the  cathedral,  including  the  inscrip- 
tions. In  the  floor  in  front  of  the  altar  are  also  several 
pieces  of  ninth-century  ciborium  heads,  and  bits    of 


52  GRADO 

twelfth-century  carving.  It  is  possible  that  the  bap- 
tistery once  had  a  canopy  such  as  still  exists  at  Cividale, 
and  that  the  fragments  here  and  at  the  cathedral 
formed  part  of  it.  The  nave  has  six  bays,  with  five 
antique  columns  on  each  side,  of  cipollino,  granite,  white 
and  black,  and  white-veined  marble.  The  caps  are  very 
varied.  Some  are  Byzantine  of  the  type  of  those  at 
S.  Apollinare  in  Classe  ;  two  are  truncated  reversed 
pyramids  with  roughly  cut  scrolls  on  the  surface,  and 
one  of  these  has  a  super-abacus.  Two  of  them  are 
queer,  rough  things,  with  brackets  at  the  angles  in  place 
of  volutes,  and  a  deep  abacus  sloping  back,  with  a  cross 
upon  it.  The  bases  of  the  pillars  are  boxed  in,  as  at 
the  cathedral.  An  antique  base  serves  as  support  to 
the  holy-water  basin.  The  floor  has  been  mended  with 
slabs  of  red  and  white  marble  and  tiles,  and  the  mosaic 
goes  on  into  the  rooms  which  flank  the  apse,  at  the  ends 
of  the  aisles.  This  arrangement  of  the  plan  is  exactly 
the  same  as  that  in  a  church  at  Kanytelides  not  far 
from  Tarsus,  the  plan  of  which  Miss  Lowthian  Bell 
gives  in  her  book  on  Cilicia  and  Lycaonia  ;  it  also 
occurs  in  the  church  of  Bir-Umm-Ali  in  Tunisia. 
De  Vogue  gives  two  plans  closely  resembling  it,  and 
Mr.  H.  C.  Butler  describes  some  very  similar  plans  near 
Is-Sanemen  in  the  Northern  Hauran  (the  ancient  JEre), 
which  are  probably  Const antinian.  It  seems  certain 
that  it  is  an  Oriental  importation,  especially  in  connec- 
tion with  the  fact  that  the  free-standing  apse,  as  in  the 
earlier  church  at  Parenzo  and  at  Salona,  occurs  quite 
frequently  in  Cilicia  and  Lycaonia,  as  Miss  Lowthian 
Bell  shows. 

Between  Grado  and  Aquileia  is  a  little  island  with 
a  celebrated  church,  S.  Maria  di  Barbana.  In  the  early 
centuries  of  the  Christian  era  legend  says  that  a  picture 
of  the  Virgin  floated  hither  on  a  springtide,  and  was 
caught  in  the  branches  of  a  little  tree,  which  lived  till 


A    FESTIVAL   ON    THE    LAGOON  53 

the  middle  of  the  nineteenth  century  when  a  great 
storm  destroyed  it.  The  picture  and  the  church  which 
contains  it  are  the  object  of  an  annual  pilgrimage  on 
the  Feast  of  the  Assumption  ;  people  from  all  around 
accompany  a  sacred  picture  from  Grado  to  visit  it. 
On  this  day  the  lagoon  is  alive  with  numberless  craft, 
the  priests'  boat  leading,  with  banners  and  tapers  and 
fully  vested  ecclesiastics  ;  and  the  air  resounds  with 
simple  church  melodies.  At  Barbana  the  Virgin's 
picture  waits  on  the  pier  to  greet  that  from  Grado  ;  and 
report  says  that  it  has  been  observed  to  nod  at  the 
moment  the  sister  picture  reached  the  shore  ! 


V 

GRADO   TO  TRIESTE 

There  is  a  small  steamer  which  plies  from  Grado 
to  Trieste,  going  one  day  and  returning  the  next, 
but  fine  weather  is  very  necessary  for  that  mode 
of  travel,  as  the  sea  can  be  very  rough  between  Venice 
and  Trieste.  We  did  not  hit  the  day  of  its  sailing,  so 
retraced  our  steps  to  Villa  Vicentina  and  went  via 
Monfalcone  and  Nabresina.  Between  these  two  places 
the  railway  rises  steadily,  giving  fine  views  over  the  sea 
and  plain.  Looking  forward  and  back  the  pale-grey 
line  of  the  viaducts  winds  round  and  about  the  slopes 
like  some  gigantic  snake,  or  like  the  aqueducts  of  the 
Campagna  of  Rome.  Here  the  grey  limestone  breaks 
through  the  vegetation  more  and  more,  for  the  line  is 
approaching  the  lofty  stony  plateau  of  the  Karst,  and 
enormous  heaps  of  debris  accentuate  the  position  of  the 
numerous  quarries.  They  are  very  extensive,  going 
far  into  the  rock,  which  is  also  pierced  by  many  great 
hollows,  like  entrances  to  an  unknown  under-world. 
All  over  Istria  these  memorials  of  sunken  river  channels 
occur — a  maze  of  holes  and  paths,  in  which  the  water  is 
still  sinking  deeper  through  the  porous  stone  as  through 
a  sieve.  Curious  funnel-shaped  depressions  often  occur 
amid  uniform  slopes,  several  hundred  feet  across  and 
sometimes  200  ft.  deep,  as  if  worn  by  ancient  whirl- 
pools, and  many  of  the  rivers  become  subterranean, 

54 


THE    CASTLE    OF   DUINO  55 

sometimes  coming  to  the  surface  again  many  miles 
away.  The  river  Rjeka,  for  instance,  enters  into  the 
grottoes  of  S.  Canzian,  near  Divaca — a  succession  of 
narrow  abysses,  hollows,  pits,  waterfalls,  and  stalactite 
grottoes,  with  pools  in  them  ;  and  other  examples  will 
be  noted  farther  down  the  coast. 

The  Castle  of  Duino  has  been  called  "  The  pearl  of 
the  Coastlands."  It  stands  finely  upon  its  rock,  just 
where  the  diluvial  plain  meets  the  lime  or  sandstone 
formation.  In  a  couple  of  hundred  paces  or  so  the  vege- 
tation changes  its  character  from  that  of  upper  Italy  to 
the  softness  of  the  southern  islands,  the  sheltered  slope 
to  the  sea  being  like  an  evergreen  garden.  Aloes  root 
in  the  rocks  as  at  Sorrento,  and  even  in  winter  the 
purple  cyclamen  may  be  found  in  flower.  Its  name  in 
antiquity  was  Castrum  Pucinum.  Here  Augustus  had 
a  villa,  whence  the  best  wine  for  his  table  was  brought. 
From  the  line,  too,  the  campanili  of  Grado  and  Aquileia 
are  visible,  far  away  over  the  plain,  dark  against  lagoon 
or  sky  in  the  evening,  or  flashing  white  in  the  morn- 
ing sun. 

At  Monfalcone  we  took  corner  seats  in  an  un- 
occupied carriage,  but  while  we  were  arranging  our 
things  an  old  man,  rather  infirm,  got  in  and  made  me 
to  understand  that  he  wanted  mine.  German  was  the 
language  which  he  spoke.  I  thought  perhaps  I  was 
intruding,  though  there  was  nothing  on  the  seat  to 
show  that  it  was  taken,  so  gave  it  up.  We  had  two 
nice  youths,  who  were  talking  Italian,  at  the  other  end 
of  the  compartment,  cadets  of  some  kind  in  uniform, 
going  home  for  the  Easter  holidays.  The  old  man  was 
very  short-sighted  and  gazed  at  the  landscape  through 
a  little  telescope.  When  we  left  Nabresina  and  went 
the  other  way  to  run  down  to  Trieste,  the  views 
changed  to  the  other  side  of  the  carriage,  and  to  my 
astonishment  the  selfish  old  fellow  moved  across  and 


56  GRADO   TO   TRIESTE 

turned  one  of  the  youths  out  of  his  place  !  to  which 
he  submitted  quite  meekly. 

The  descent  from  the  high  land  to  the  coast  level 
is  very  fine,  the  eye  ranging  far  over  the  blue  water, 
headland  projecting  beyond  headland,  paler  and  more 
diaphanous,  till  the  historic  point  of  Salvore  fades  into 
the  distance  scarcely  distinguishable.  Below  the  blue 
is  stained  by  the  smoke  of  steamers  and  flecked  with 
the  many-coloured  sails  of  other  craft,  while  in  the 
middle-distance  populous  Trieste  stretches  round  the 
curve  of  the  bay,  with  many  vessels  at  its  wharves,  and 
the  smoke  from  the  Lloyd-Arsenal  mingling  with  that 
from  the  ironworks  at  Muggia  beyond  S.  Servolo  across 
the  bay ;  or,  if  it  should  be  night,  lines  of  lights  define 
the  long  stretch  of  quays  and  streets  like  strings  of 
pearls,  and  sparkle  up  the  heights  which  the  houses 
climb  in  several  directions.  Prosecco  is  passed,  which 
gives  its  name  to  a  celebrated  wine  much  esteemed  in 
Trieste  ;  Miramar,  with  its  memories  of  the  ill-fated 
Maximilian  of  Mexico,  who  delighted  in  its  beautiful 
situation  and  splendour  of  appointment  ;  then  comes 
Barcola,  where  excavations  have  proved  the  existence 
of  Roman  villas,  which  have  enriched  the  museum  of 
Trieste  with  many  interesting  objects  ;  and  at  last  the 
train  slackens  and  stops  at  the  west  end  of  the  town, 
in  the  fine  station  built  with  that  disregard  for  economy 
of  space  and  lavish  expenditure  of  material  which  the 
Englishman  finds  remarkable  in  Continental  railway 
management. 

Trieste  is  primarily  a  modern  town,  and  the  people 
are  very  proud  of  the  important  buildings  which  adorn 
it,  as  they  have  every  right  to  be.  The  post  office,  for 
instance,  is  palatial,  and  round  and  near  to  the  Piazza 
Grande  are  large  and  showy  edifices  which  include  the 
Town  Hall  and  the  Lloyd  Palace,  while  the  Greek 
church  is  a  fine  building  in  the  Byzantine  style,  de- 


SHIPPING  AT  TRIESTE:  THE  CANAL,  WITH  THE  GREEK  CHURCH 
AND   SANT'    ANTONIO 

To  face  page  57 


THE   QUAYS    AT   TRIESTE  57 

corated  with  mosaics,  and  the  church  of  Sant'  Antonio 
makes  a  very  effective  termination  to  the  Canale 
Grande.  The  broad  quays  are  thronged  with  people 
of  many  nationalities  and  varied  costumes,  from  the 
ships  which  lie  along  them  flaunting  ensigns  of  all 
kinds — red  and  white  crosses,  blue,  yellow,  and  black 
stripes,  moons  and  stars — Italian,  Norwegian,  Greek, 
Turkish,  French,  and  Montenegrin,  as  well  as  Istrian 
and  Dalmatian.  The  Greek  ships  generally  lie  in  the 
Canal,  the  Norwegian  by  the  Molo  S.  Carlo  (so  called 
from  a  warship  which  was  sunk  in  1737),  and  beyond 
the  health  office  for  the  port  at  the  Molo  Giuseppino, 
where  many  others  also  lie,  and  the  various  passenger 
steamers  in  definite  berths — the  big  English  steamers 
at  the  end  of  the  projecting  quays.  From  a  Sicilian 
ship  hundreds  of  chests  of  oranges  and  lemons  may  be 
seen  unloading ;  from  a  Venetian  trabarcolo  great 
heaps  of  onions  and  ropes  of  garlic  ;  an  Istrian  boat 
disgorges  a  small  mountain  of  green  water-melons  ; 
from  a  Dalmatian  cutter  barrel  after  barrel  of  wine  is 
rolled  out,  much  of  which  goes  on  to  Bordeaux  (!) ; 
and  the  same  from  a  Greek  schooner  near,  while  its 
neighbour  from  the  Levant  lands  grapes  and  chests 
of  raisins,  and  the  Norwegian  ship  brings  train  oil  or 
wood.  Many  Turkish  and  Albanian  costumes  lighten 
up  the  crowd  with  their  brilliant  colours  and  quaint 
shapes,  Bosniaks  and  Montenegrins  are  occasionally 
seen,  and  a  fair  number  of  Morlacchi,  though  fewer  than 
lower  down  the  coast.  The  weather-beaten  Chioggian 
fishermen,  too,  with  their  red  caps  and  waist-scarves, 
black  curly  hair  and  great  rings  in  their  ears,  are 
very  picturesque,  though  less  unusual.  The  Triestines 
themselves  are  abandoning  the  old  costume  of  the 
countryman,  the  "  mandriere/'  described  as  consisting 
of  a  long  waistcoat  with  great  silver  buttons  hanging 
on  it,  short  black  hose  open  at  the  knee,  and  a  short 

8 


58  GRADO    TO   TRIESTE 

black,  close-fitting  jacket.  In  summer  he  wore  a 
broad,  flapping  hat ;  in  winter  a  costly  cap  of  so-called 
beaver-skin,  which  he  had  probably  inherited  from  his 
grandfather.  The  women  had  broad  frocks  with 
coloured  borders,  and  a  short,  heavy  cloth  jacket ;  and 
on  their  heads  a  white  linen  cloth  hanging  down  behind, 
with  costly  lace  upon  it.  The  girl  of  the  people,  the 
"  sessolotta,"  and  the  seamstress,  the  "  sartorella," 
both  go  bareheaded,  and  are  proud  of  their  hair  ;  they 
are  fond  of  flowers  and  songs,  and  spend  much  of  their 
time  in  the  open  air.  I  quote  a  Gradese  song,  which 
is  also  sung  at  Trieste,  and  must  be  of  some  antiquity, 
since  it  names  the  gondola,  which  is  not  now  seen 
either  at  Grado  or  Trieste. 

Lisetta  guarda,  bella  e  la  luna 
Argento  piove  sulla  laguna, 
Non  e  una  nuvola  ;  quieto  e  il  mar — 
Lisetta,  in  gondola  ti  voi  menar  ? 

La  bavisella  che  va  soffiando 
Con  quel  bel  viso  di  quando  in  quando 
I  biondi  boccoli  te  li  fa  far — 
Lisetta,  in  gondola  ti  voi  menar  ? 

The  markets  are  rich  with  colour  and  well  looked 
after.  Officials  go  round  constantly  testing  the  ar- 
ticles of  food  sold,  while  the  women  (who  are  generally 
the  sellers)  look  on  with  anxiety.  A  dozen  or  more, 
men  and  women,  will  bring  in  their  wares  on  a  cart, 
10  or  15  ft.  long,  each  putting  a  hand  to  the  work. 

The  city  existed  in  antiquity.  Strabo  knew  it  as 
a  Carnian  market- town.  Various  derivations  of  the 
Latin  name  "  Tergeste  "  have  been  suggested,  of  which 
perhaps  the  most  probable  is  from  the  Celtic  "  twr," 
water  or  sea,  and  "  geste,"  colony,  establishment.  The 
fact  that  it  was  the  only  city  held  by  the  Carni  on  the 
sea-coast  increases  the  probability.     A  Roman  colony 


ANCIENT   TRIESTE  59 

was  established  here  in  129  B.C.  The  amount  of  tribute 
paid  by  the  various  cities  is-an  index  of  their  import- 
ance ;  both  Pola  and  Parenzo  paid  more  than  Trieste. 
The  Triestines  were  enrolled  in  the  tribe  Pupinia.  The 
city  was  the  landing-place  for  Roman  troops,  as  was 
the  case  in  Trajan's  campaign  against  the  Dacians. 
The  fulling  establishments  of  both  Trieste  and  Pola 
were  known  far  and  wide. 

The  Romans  made  the  hill  of  S.  Giusto  the  centre 
of  their  colony,  adding  to  the  defensive  works  the 
temple  of  the  Capitoline  divinities,  reconstructed  with 
a  magnificence  worthy  of  the  increased  importance  of 
the  city  by  Clodius  Quirinale,  prefect  of  the  fleet  of 
Ravenna.  Remains  of  it  are  the  seven  columns  within 
the  campanile  (built  in  1337  and  restored  in  1556),  still 
bearing  architrave,  frieze,  and  cornice,  and  fragments  of 
architectural  carving  and  inscriptions  encrusted  in  its 
walls,  or  preserved  in  the  civic  Museo  Lapidario.  There 
was  an  antique  theatre  at  Trieste  also ;  its  shape  only 
can  be  traced,  though  the  name  of  the  street  is  still 
"  Rena  Vecchia." 

S.  Hermagoras  is  said  to  have  planted  a  church  here 
about  50  a.d.,  by  means  of  missionaries  sent  from 
Aquileia.  S.  Giusto,  one  of  the  patron  saints  of  the 
city,  probably  died  about  303.  The  other  two  are 
S.  Sergio,  a  soldier,  whose  halberd  still  appears  in  the 
arms  of  the  town,  and  S.  Servolo,  a  pious  youth  who 
lived  at  one  time  in  a  grotto  not  far  from  this  place, 
where  they  both  were  martyred.  There  is  said  to  have 
been  a  bishop  in  the  fourth  century,  but  the  list  of 
authentic  bishops  begins  with  Frugiferus  in  the  sixth. 
When  Christianity  triumphed,  a  church  was  built  on 
the  Capitol  on  the  ruins  of  the  ancient  temple  of 
Jupiter,  Juno,  and  Minerva,  dedicated  to  the  Virgin  of 
the  Assumption.  This  was  the  part  to  the  north  of  the 
present  church  (see  plan),  now  the  nave  of  the  Holy 


60  GRADO   TO   TRIESTE 

Sacrament,  "  del  Santissimo,"  in  the  apse  of  which  are 
the  mosaics  of  the  twelve  Apostles,  probably  earlier  than 


l«T*r    ft)ar»    liOO 


PLAN   OF   THE  CATHEDRAL,   TRIESTE 


the  sixth  century ;  while  those  in  the  vault,  together 
with  the  border,  are  later.     Till  some  twenty  years  ago 


THE    CATHEDRAL,   TRIESTE  61 

a  difference  in  the  level  of  the  floor  between  the  three 
columns  farthest  east  on  each  side  (where  the  pulpit 
stands)  marked  the  place  of  the  original  choir.  The 
walled-up  clerestory  windows  of  the  right  side  are 
ancient.  The  fourteen  columns  have  been  plastered 
over  to  make  them  uniform,  but  are  evidently  of  differ- 
ent thicknesses,  suggesting  the  use  of  older  material. 
The  caps  are  for  the  most  part  rough  imitations  of 
Corinthian,  and  the  bases  are  stilted  Attic  in  type.  Of 
the  baptistery  nothing  remains  but  the  hexagonal  font  of 
marble  in  the  chapel  of  S.  John  the  Baptist,  where  there 
is  also  an  ancient  well  and  the  apparatus  for  baptism 
by  ablution,  not  now  used.  In  the  time  of  Justinian, 
the  second,  smaller,  church  (probably  dedicated  to 
SS.  Giusto  and  Servolo)  was  erected  at  the  south  side 
by  Bishop  Frugiferus,  about  550,  as  the  monogram  at 
the  left  of  the  apse  shows.  The  mosaics  in  the  apse 
are  late  Byzantine.  Four  great  columns  support  a 
cupola  in  front  of  the  presbytery,  by  means  of  four 
round  arches,  pendentives,  and  a  drum,  round  which  is 
an  arcade  of  sixteen  stilted  round  arches  with  foliated 
caps  and  prominently  projecting  abaci,  which  it  is 
thought  may  belong  to  the  original  building,  though 
the  cupola  itself  is  later.  The  small  apse  of  the  south 
aisle,  with  vaulted  roof,  also  belonged  to  the  first 
building.  In  front  of  the  apses  is  a  solea  with  a  wagon 
vault,  except  in  front  of  the  small  aisle  apse,  where  it 
is  quadripartite.  The  aisle  is  raised  a  step  above  the 
nave.  The  arcades  are  uniformly  round-arched  and 
stilted,  and  the  caps  generally  have  super-abaci.  The 
north  aisle  has  pointed  arches  at  intervals  and  a  flat 
roof  ;  the  nave  of  the  Santissimo  also  has  a  flat  roof 
with  beams  and  brackets.  There  is  a  triumphal  arch 
and  one  blocked  window  in  the  apse,  with  mosaic  on 
the  splay  of  the  jamb. 

The  mosaic  in  the  semi-dome  is  probably  an  eleventh- 


62  GRADO   TO   TRIESTE 

century  restoration  of  an  older  work,  itself  very  care- 
fully restored  in  1863.  The  Virgin,  robed  in  blue  and 
holding  the  Divine  Child  to  her  bosom,  is  enthroned 
between  the  archangels  Michael  and  Gabriel,  who  hold 
lilies  and  are  robed  in  priestly  costume.  The  Child 
blesses  with  the  right  hand  in  the  Greek  fashion. 
Below,  on  the  wall,  are  figures  of  the  Apostles,  of  a  very 
early  date,  for  SS.  Peter  and  Paul  are  without  their 
usual  attributes,  and  the  white  draperies  shaded  with 
pale  colours  are  early  Christian  in  arrangement.  Be- 
tween the  figures  are  palm-trees  and  conventional 
plant  ornaments.  The  church  is  very  dark,  but  the 
details  of  the  mosaics  may  be  studied  in  the  careful 
copies  in  the  museum.  Above  the  altar  of  S.  Giusto, 
to  the  right,  in  the  semi-dome,  SS.  Giusto  and  Servolo 
stand  on  each  side  of  our  Saviour,  beneath  whose  feet 
are  two  monsters,  asp  and  basilisk.  The  central  apse 
was  reconstructed  in  the  seventeenth  century.  The 
main  reconstruction  took  place  in  the  fourteenth 
century.  The  aisle  walls  of  the  two  churches  were 
demolished,  and  a  nave  built  reaching  from  the  pillars 
of  one  church  to  those  of  the  other;  thus  uniting  them 
under  one  roof,  the  western  wall  being  placed  contigu- 
ous to  the  campanile,  and  chapels  added  at  each  side. 
The  memorial  of  the  Gens  Barbia  was  sawn  in  two  and 
used  as  jambs  for  the  west  door,  and  inscriptions  from 
the  pedestals  of  statues  and  classical  ornamental  frag- 
ments were  used  in  the  campanile,  both  round  the 
openings  and  close  to  the  niche  which  encloses  the 
statue  of  S.  Giusto  holding  a  model  of  the  cathedral  and 
castle.  The  consecration  took  place  in  1385,  Bishop 
Henry  of  Wildenstein  officiating.  Below  the  S.  Giusto 
mosaics  are  wall-paintings  of  the  fourteenth  century, 
in  niches  of  a  much  earlier  date,  with  slender  antique 
columns  of  precious  marbles  ;  in  the  centre  the  saint 
stands  with  a  model  of  the  city  in  his  hand — the  earliest 


THE    CATHEDRAL,   TRIESTE  63 

record  of  its  appearance  extant ;  the  other  niches  show 


FIGURE   OF   S.    GIUSTO,    CAMPANILE   OF   THE   CATHEDRAL,   TRIESTE 

his  sufferings.     In  the  niche  of  S.  Apollinaris  are  re- 
mains of  frescoes  of  two  dates  found  in   1892,   and 


64  GRADO   TO   TRIESTE 

thought  to  belong  to  the  sixth  and  the  tenth  centuries  ; 
other  remains  of  the  fourteenth  or  fifteenth  century, 
found  under  whitewash,  prove  that  the  whole  church 
was  ornamented  with  painting  as  the  "Acts"  relate. 
When  the  roof  was  raised  the  exterior  of  the  drum  of 
S.  Giusto  was  enclosed  within  the  church.  The  tri- 
lobate roof  of  the  nave  was  mediaeval,  but  has  lately 
been  restored.  The  facade  also  was  restored  in  1843, 
and  the  gravestones  ranged  along  its  base  were  then 
removed  from  the  floor. 

In  the  sacristy  is  a  picture  signed  Tommaso  Giottino, 
and  dated  1313  ;  it  is  thought  to  have  belonged  to  the 
high-altar.  There  is  a  picture  by  Benedetto  Carpaccio, 
of  the  Madonna,  between  SS.  Giusto  and  Servolo,  in 
the  right-hand  portion  of  the  church.  The  treasury 
is  kept  in  the  chapel  of  S.  Antonio  Abate,  to  the  north 
of  the  apse  of  the  Santissimo ;  it  is  closed  with  a  very 
fine  late  Renaissance  German  iron  grille,  with  elaborate 
projecting  floral  bosses.  It  contains  a  thirteenth- 
century  processional  cross,  with  a  repousse  Christ  on  a 
ground  of  gilded  silver. 

The  original  wheel-window  of  the  facade  is  in  the 
Museo  Lapidario,  just  below  the  cathedral,  where  a 
good  many  well-heads  of  Venetian  type  are  also  pre- 
served, and  a  few  fragments  of  eighth  and  ninth- 
century  carving,  as  well  as  the  usual  antique  columns, 
bases,  and  inscriptions,  one  expects  to  find.  There  are 
also  stone  balista  balls,  relics  of  ancient  sieges,  many 
cinerary  urns,  and  a  few  mutilated  figures,  grouped 
under  the  trees  and  upon  the  terraces  which  descend 
to  the  little  temple  in  which  the  better  pieces  are 
housed.  These  include  the  lower  half  of  a  female 
figure,  graceful  in  pose,  and,  in  the  folds  of  the  drapery, 
a  decree  of  the  Decurions'  College  of  Trieste  in  honour 
of  the  quaestor  and  Senator  Fabius  Severus  (of  the  time 
of  Antoninus   Pius),    engraved   on   one  of  two   large 


ANTIQUE    REMAINS 


65 


pedestals,  a  sarcophagus  and  steles,  the  inscriptions 
from  the  jambs  of  the  campanile,  &c.  The  collection 
is  mainly  due  to  Dr.  Dom.  di  Rossetti,  who,  in  1830, 
erected  the  monument  to  Winckelmann  (murdered 
here  in  1768), 
which  is  against 
one  of  the  walls. 
Near  the  Jesuit 
church,  half- 
way down  the 
slope  of  the  hill, 
is  a  half-buried 
Roman  arch  of 
the  time  of 
Severus,  orna- 
mented equally 
on  both  sides, 
perhaps  a  me- 
morial of  one 
of  the  ancient 
gates.  It  is 
known  as  the 
Arco  di  Ric- 
car  do ,  from 
some  fancied 
connection  with 
Richard  Cceur 
de  Lion. 

The  finest 
objects  in  the 
Civic  Museum  are  two  pieces  of  antique  Greek  metal- 
work  found  at  Taranto.  One  is  a  bronze  jug,  upon 
which  are  represented  two  griffins,  facing  each  other  by 
the  sides  of  a  palmette,  with  a  flowing  band  of  vine- 
leaves  surrounding  the  body  above.  The  relief  is  very 
delicate,   and  the  design  beautiful.      The  other   is  a 

9 


ARCO    DI    RICCARDO,    TRIESTE 


66  GRADO   TO    TRIESTE 

rhyton  of  silver  which  is  almost  unique.  The  motif  is 
the  head  of  a  young  deer.  The  ears,  which  project  at 
right  angles,  are  riveted  on ;  the  rest  is  repousse  in  one 
piece.  It  is  so  finely  modelled  and  so  accurate  in  its 
detail,  that  it  has  been  recognised  as  a  representation  of 
the  Cervus  Dama,  which  was  formerly  common  in  South 
Italy.  The  interior  of  the  ears  and  the  lip  of  the  cup 
have  been  gilt,  and  in  the  nostrils  is  niello.  Round  the 
neck  is  a  band  with  four  small  figures,  probably  repre- 
senting the  nuptials  of  Poseidon  and  Saturia,  daughter 
of  Minos,  from  which  sprang  Taras,  the  mythical 
founder  of  Taranto.  Two  of  the  figures  are  seated, 
two  standing  ;  their  draperies  are  gilded.  The  handle 
curves  gracefully  to  the  back  of  the  jawbones,  where  it 
is  attached  to  a  palmette.  The  work  may  be  of  the 
fourth  century  B.C.,  the  doe's  head  being  much  finer 
than  the  figures,  which  are  possibly  a  later  addition. 
The  only  similar  piece  of  silver-work  known  is  the 
bulFs-head  rhyton  in  the  Hermitage  Collection,  St. 
Petersburg.  In  this  also  the  figures  (which  are  of 
barbarians)  are  inferior  to  the  animal  forms. 

There  are  various  sculptures  discovered  at  Barcola, 
the  finest  of  which  is  a  male  torso  with  the  greater  part 
of  the  legs,  prehistoric  objects,  coins,  a  personification 
of  Istria,  things  found  at  Pirano,  and  three  splendid 
large  Chinese  bronzes.  The  copies  of  the  mosaics  of 
the  Apostles  from  S.  Giusto  are  on  the  ceiling  of  the 
upper  room.  A  seal  of  the  city  of  the  fourteenth 
century  bears  three  towers  and  the  inscription  :  "  Sis- 
tilianum  '  publica  *  Castilir  *  mare  *  Certos  *  dat '  michi  * 
fines."  Sistiana  was  on  the  north  of  Trieste  ;  Castilir, 
the  river  Risano,  was  the  southern  boundary.  The 
present  arms  were  given  by  Frederick  IV.,  1464 — a 
black  two-headed  eagle  on  gold  on  the  first  of  three 
horizontal  fields,  and  on  the  lowest  the  halberd  of 
S.  Sergius,  on  the  colours  of  the  archduchy  of  Austria. 


LATER    HISTORY   OF   TRIESTE  67 

The  bishopric  of  Trieste  corresponded  to  the  Roman 
municipium  in  its  boundaries.  The  bishops  gradually 
became  temporal  lords  of  the  city,  and  in  1295  the 
commune  bought  its  freedom  from  Brissa  di  Toppo  for 
two  hundred  marks.  At  this  time  the  first  communal 
palace  was  built.  The  first  statute,  however,  dates 
from  13 13-13 19.  It  provides  for  a  foreign  podesta,  a 
greater  and  lesser  council,  and  the  usual  officials  from 
the  noble  families.  The  title  of  Count  of  Trieste  was 
first  taken  by  Antonio  di  Negri  (1350-1370).  During 
his  time  Venice  besieged  the  city  for  eleven  months, 
conquering  it  in  1368,  notwithstanding  the  attempted 
succour  of  Leopold  of  Austria.  They  then  built  a  fort 
on  the  hill  of  S.  Giusto  and  another  on  the  shore  called 
Amarina.  Trieste  made  overtures  to  the  dukes  of 
Austria,  and  war  continued  between  them  and  Venice 
till  1370,  when  it  was  ended  by  the  peace  of  Kaisach, 
by  which  Venice  agreed  to  pay  75,000  florins  of  gold, 
and  to  give  up  the  castle  of  Vragna,  as  well  as  to 
relinquish  all  claim  to  Trieste  and  her  territory.  The 
Venetian  forts  were  demolished,  and  in  1382  the  city 
gave  itself  to  the  Habsburgs  to  make  itself  secure. 
In  1470  Frederick  III.  built  the  castle  to  control  the 
factions  which  had  been  indulging  in  civil  war,  and 
Trieste  lost  a  good  deal  of  her  liberty.  The  mediaeval 
city  formed  a  triangle  on  the  north-west  slope  of  the 
castle.  Till  the  middle  of  the  eighteenth  century  it 
was  a  small  town  of  6,000  inhabitants,  but  the  gift  of 
free  harbour  rights  by  Charles  VI.,  in  1719,  soon  made 
it  prosperous.  Italian,  German,  and  Swiss  merchants 
settled  in  numbers,  and  the  population  grew  till  it  is 
now  over  160,000. 

The  bishop  of  Trieste  was  subject  to  the  Patriarch 
of  Aquileia,  and  a  special  form  of  worship  was  used, 
invented  by  the  Patriarch  Paulinus.  This  is  still  in 
existence,  partly  printed  and  partly  in  MS. 


68  GRADO   TO   TRIESTE 

On  Saturday,  June  10,  1501,  Canon  Johannes 
Baptista,  the  chancellor,  used  the  Roman  rite  in  the 
cathedral  for  the  first  time,  a  fact  noted  as  remarkable 
in  several  documents.  In  Aquileia  itself  the  form 
continued  in  use  till  1585,  and  in  S.  Mark's,  Venice, 
till  the  fall  of  the  Republic.  In  Trieste  confraternities 
were  established  very  early.  That  of  S.  Giusto  is 
mentioned  in  1072. 


VI 

HISTORICAL    SKETCH    OF    ISTRIA 

The  name  "  Istria  "  is  derived  from  the  Istro,  con- 
founded by  the  ancient  geographers  with  the  Danube 
(Ister),  and  therefore  supposed  to  be  a  branch  of  it. 
Considering  the  testimony  of  ancient  writers  as  to  the 
migration  of  Thracians,  it  appears  probable  that  the 
Istrians  were  of  these  people,  a  band  who  left  Pontic 
Istria  by  ascending  the  rivers  Danube,  Save,  and 
Lubiana,  crossed  the  Julian  Alps,  and  descended  to  the 
Adriatic.  Some  such  migration  may  be  at  the  root  of 
the  story  of  the  passage  of  the  Argonauts,  pursued  by 
the  Colchians.  In  the  ninth  century  B.C.  Ionians  from 
Miletus  settled  colonies  in  Istria,  who  were  followed  by 
Corinthians  in  735  B.C.  It  has  been  claimed  that  the 
name  "  Adriatic  "  is  derived  from  Adar,  the  Asiatic  sun- 
god,  or  god  of  fire.  Plenty  of  stone  implements  and 
other  prehistoric  objects  have  been  found  in  caves  and 
burial  places,  and  there  are  many  Celtic  place-names  ; 
the  Celts  arrived  in  the  fourth  or  fifth  century  B.C., 
and  contested  the  country  with  the  older  immigrants. 
Under  Roman  rule  the  two  races  ultimately  intermixed, 
the  Celts  being  in  the  majority. 

The  oldest  inhabitants  thus  appear  to  have  been  of 
Pelasgic  stock,  Celto-Thracian.  The  Carnians  were  a 
branch  of  those  of  Lycaonia  and  Acarnania,  who  also 
settled  in  Gaul,  and,  according  to  Livy,  mixed  with  the 
Etruscans    during    the    reign    of    Tarquinius    Priscus. 

69 


yo  HISTORICAL   SKETCH    OF    ISTRIA 

They  were   sailors   and  merchants,   but  also   pirates. 
When  the  Romans  founded  Aquileia  they  were  forced 
to  take  measures  to  ensure  safe  navigation  and  to  pre- 
vent danger  to  the  new  colony.     Therefore,  in  178  B.C., 
an   expedition   against   the   Istrians   was   undertaken 
under  the  Consul  Aulus  Manlius  Vulso,  but  without  the 
authorisation  of  the  Senate,   the  army  being  trans- 
ported   by    ship    to    the    environs    of    Muggia.     The 
Istrians  attacked  the  camp  in  a  fog,  and,  having  driven 
the  Romans  to  the  shore,  sat  down  to  eat — and  drink. 
While   they   were   incapacitated   in   consequence,  the 
Romans  returned  and  killed  most  of  them.     The  follow- 
ing year  they  entered  Istria  again,  sacking  and  devas- 
tating the  country.     In  the  battle  which  followed,  4,000 
Istrians  were  left  on  the  field,  and  the  rest  took  refuge  in 
the  cities,  and  asked  for  peace.     The  negotiations  were 
broken  off  owing  to  the  Consul  Claudius  proceeding  in 
an  irregular  manner,  and   Nesactium  was  vigorously 
besieged   with   two   fresh   legions.      A   stream   which 
defended   the  walls  and  supplied  drinking-water  was 
diverted  by   the   Romans  ;   its  failure  convinced   the 
inhabitants  that  their  gods  were  either  powerless  or 
angry,    and   during   the   final   assault   the   despairing 
Istrians  killed  their  women  and  children  to  save  them 
from  slavery,  and  threw  their  bodies  over  the  walls. 
Epulus,  the  king,  fell  upon  his  sword  when  he  saw  the 
enemy  within  the  walls  ;  the  rest  either  perished  or  were 
made  slaves.     Mutila  and  Faveria  were  also  attacked 
and  levelled  with  the  ground,  and  quiet  reigned  in 
Istria.     Livy    says    that    at    that  time  5,622  persons 
were  sold  into  slavery,  the  authors  of  the  war  were 
beaten  and  then  decapitated,  and  Istria  was  garrisoned 
with  Roman  troops.     In  129  B.C.  the  Istrians  rose  in 
revolt  when  Rome  was  occupied  with  the  Gepid  war. 
The  Consul  Caius  Sempronius  Tuditanus  crushed  this 
revolt,    and   after   that   colonies   were   established   at 


ISTRIA    UNDER   THE   EMPIRE  71 

Mgida.  (Capodistria),  iEmonia  (Cittanova),  Albona,  Par- 
entium,  Piquentum,  Pola,  Tergeste,  and  probably  in 
other  places.  Many  Istrians  fled  into  the  Karst  region, 
and  for  a  long  time  the  land  was  unsafe.  Julius 
Caesar  had  to  take  measures  to  protect  Tergeste  from 
raids. 

The  Italianising  of  the  country  proceeded  apace. 
Many  Slav  names  occur  in  Roman  inscriptions  ;  but  in 
127  B.C.  14,000  Roman  colonists  arrived,  and  year  by 
year  more  came,  until  the  time  of  Augustus,  both 
plebeians  and  patricians.  Many  of  the  latter  of 
Istrian  birth  occupied  important  posts  outside  Istria ; 
and,  according  to  an  ancient  Aquileian  breviary  quoted 
by  Dr.  Kandler,  many  of  the  Christian  martyrs  be- 
longed to  patrician  families.  The  names  of  SS. 
Euphemia,  Thecla,  Apollinaris,  Lazarus,  Justina,  Zeno, 
Sergius,  Bacchus,  Servulus,  and  Justus  may  be  quoted. 
The  towns  benefited  in  material  ways,  aqueducts  were 
constructed  to  supply  them  with  water,  and  fine  roads, 
such  as  the  consular  road  from  Pola  to  Aquileia  and 
Venetia,  with  its  many  branches,  provided  easy  and 
rapid  communication.  There  was  traffic  in  wines, 
wood,  marble,  and  granite.  Istrian  acorns  nourished 
a  fine  breed  of  pigs  which  were  exported  to  Rome. 
The  purple-dyeing  factories  of  Cissa  near  Rovigno,  the 
fulling  works  of  Pola  and  Trieste,  and  the  potteries  of 
Aquileia  were  known  far  and  wide.  Nor  were  philan- 
thropic works  neglected.  Under  some  of  the  later 
Pagan  emperors  foundling  hospitals  and  schools  were 
established  in  separate  provinces  for  orphans  and 
poor  children. 

Under  the  just  and  wise  rule  of  Theodoric  the 
province  flourished  ;  but  the  people  always  regarded 
the  Goths  as  barbarians,  and  when  the  Byzantines 
attacked  Istria  in  539-544  and  552  the  troops  of  Vitalius, 
Belisarius,  and  Narses  were  welcomed.     They  called 


72  HISTORICAL   SKETCH    OF    ISTRIA 

the  Greek  Government  "  Sancta  Respublica/'  and 
erected  basilicas  in  gratitude  for  the  freeing  of  the  land 
from  the  Arian  Goths.  Justinian  re-established  the 
Roman  constitution  with  certain  alterations,  among 
which  was  the  power  of  appeal  to  the  court  of  the  bishop, 
which  gave  him  control  and  surveillance  over  the 
municipal  functionaries.  His  power  was  not  supreme, 
however,  the  military  defence  of  the  frontier  being 
equally  important.  For  some  sixty  years  the  ' '  Schism  of 
the  Three  Chapters"  rent  this  part  of  Christendom,  and 
caused  a  great  deal  of  ill-feeling  and  many  question- 
able actions.  It  arose  from  the  Emperor  Justinian  in 
544  condemning  (i)  the  writings  of  Theodore,  bishop  of 
Mopsnestia,  who  anticipated  the  heresy  of  Nestorius ; 
(2)  the  writings  of  Theodoret,  bishop  of  Cyrus,  against 
the  twelve  anathemas  of  S.  Cyril  of  Alexandria,  and  the 
decrees  of  the  Council  of  Ephesus ;  and  (3)  the  letter  of 
Ibas,  bishop  of  Edessa,  to  Maris  the  Persian.  The  Latin 
Church,  with  Vigilius  the  pope  at  its  head,  declined  to 
accept  the  Imperial  decree,  which  was  in  contradiction 
to  the  Council  of  Chalcedon  of  451.  In  548  the  pope, 
while  at  Constantinople,  was  induced  to  repudiate 
them ;  but,  on  finding  how  strong  the  opposition  was, 
revoked  his  agreement  in  550,  and  induced  the  emperor 
to  summon  a  council,  which  met  in  553  and  condemned 
the  three  chapters  and  their  authors.  The  pope 
returned  to  Rome,  and  died  there  in  554,  having  con- 
firmed the  decision  of  the  Council  of  Constantinople,  and 
anathematised  those  who  refused  to  accept  it.  Not- 
withstanding this,  the  bishops  of  Lombardy,  Venice, 
and  Istria,  with  the  Aquileian  patriarch  Macedonius 
at  their  head,  and  other  bishops,  refused,  and  this 
refusal  produced  the  "  Istrian  schism/'  or  schism  of 
the  "  Tre  Capitoli.,,  Paulinus,  who  succeeded  Mace- 
donius, called  a  synod  at  Aquileia  in  557,  which 
repudiated  the  decision  of  the  Council  of  Constanti- 


THE   SCHISM   OF   THE   THREE    CHAPTERS    73 

nople.  Pelagius  II.,  who  was  then  pope,  called  in 
the  secular  arm,  but  the  descent  of  the  Lombards  in 
568  stopped  the  discussion.  Euphrasius  of  Parenzo 
was  one  of  the  principal  supporters  of  Macedonius,  and 
the  pope  did  not  hesitate  to  make  the  most  disgraceful 
charges  against  him.  In  578  Paulinus  transferred  the 
patriarchate  to  Grado,  so  putting  himself  under  Byzan- 
tine protection.  Elias  of  Grado  held  the  same  opinions 
as  his  predecessor,  even  excommunicating  his  adver- 
saries. His  successor,  Severus,  holding  the  same  views, 
Smaragdus  the  Exarch  made  an  expedition  to  Grado 
in  588,  took  Severus  and  the  bishops  of  Parenzo  and 
Trieste  to  Ravenna,  and  kept  them  there  in  prison 
for  a  twelvemonth,  till  they  agreed  to  condemn  the 
three  chapters.  When  they  returned  they  found  their 
clergy  would  not  go  with  them,  so  a  synod  was  convened 
at  Marano,  and  there  they  revoked  their  condemnation. 
Smaragdus,  exarch  again  in  603,  so  arranged  matters 
that  on  the  death  of  Severus  (who  had  preached  revolt) 
Candidiano  was  appointed  patriarch,  a  man  who  was 
devoted  to  the  papal  authority,  and  who  reconciled 
himself  with  Rome,  thus  ending  the  schism.  It  had 
caused  grievous  disorders,  the  bishops  being  sometimes 
for  and  sometimes  against  it,  and  the  clergy  sometimes 
in  strife  among  themselves  and  sometimes  with  the 
Patriarch  of  Grado  ;  but  the  mode  in  which  it  was 
ended  was  quite  as  disgraceful  as  any  of  the  deeds  done 
during  its  course.  In  610  armed  Byzantine  soldiers 
entered  the  basilicas  and  dragged  three  Istrian  bishops 
from  the  altars,  with  menaces  and  vituperation,  com- 
pelling them  to  accompany  them  to  Grado,  where  they 
were  forced  to  bend  to  the  Imperial  commands  and 
reconsecrate   Candidiano   patriarch. 

The  Lombards  re-established  the  patriarchate  of 
Aquileia,  electing  Abbot  John,  who  was  opposed  to  the 
pope,' and  thus  there  was  a  double  patriarchate.     The 

10 


74  HISTORICAL   SKETCH   OF    ISTRIA 

Aquileian  patriarchs  only  became  reconciled  to  the 
papacy  in  698  when  the  Lombards  had  ceased  to 
be  Arians.  The  Istrian  bishops  obeyed  the  Patri- 
arch of  Grado  until  the  Council  of  Mantua  (827),  which 
decided  that  they  should  return  to  Aquileia.  Istria 
was  Lombard  only  from  751  to  788. 

When  Charlemagne  conquered  the  country  in  789 
feudalism  was  substituted  for  the  Roman  autonomy 
with  the  co-operation  of  the  higher  clergy.  The  Frank 
duke  was  supreme,  and  his  underlings  had  arbitrary 
power.  Public  property  was  confiscated  for  the  benefit 
of  the  duke  and  his  supporters,  and  all  kinds  of  arbi- 
trary and  exorbitant  imposts  and  restraints  were  imposed 
upon  the  people,  even  to  the  prohibition  of  fishing  !  The 
result  was  great  discontent,  and  at  last,  in  804,  by  the 
intervention  of  Fortunatus,  Patriarch  of  Grado,  an 
inquiry  was  held  at  Risano,  the  acts  of  which  were 
embodied  in  the  "  placito  "  of  Risano.  The  envoys 
of  Charlemagne  restored  the  communal  property  and 
the  jurisdiction  over  foreigners,  exempted  freemen 
from  servile  tasks,  suppressed  arbitrary  imposts,  and 
restored  the  tribunes  and  other  Byzantine  magistrates, 
whom  the  people  were  allowed  to  select  freely  according 
to  the  ancient  custom.  In  952  Istria  became  a  German 
fief  by  gift  of  Otho  I.  of  Germany  (who  had  conquered 
Italy  the  year  before)  in  feud  to  his  brother  Henry, 
duke  of  Bavaria,  together  with  Verona  and  Friuli. 
Documents  show  the  presence  of  large  numbers  of 
persons  of  German  origin  during  the  tenth  century  ;  but 
the  maritime  cities,  depending  upon  commerce,  were 
forced  into  connection  with  Venice  by  the  necessity  of 
making  arrangements  for  mutual  defence  against 
Slav  and  Saracen  Corsairs,  and  thus  the  foundations 
were  laid  for  the  Republic's  later  supremacy. 

Great  part  of  the  history  of  Istria  relates  to  incur- 
sions by  the  barbarians,  either  beaten  off,  or  successful, 


BARBARIANS    AND    PIRATES  75 

with  the  destruction  of  towns,  and  the  carrying  off  of 
slaves  and  booty.  The  descent  of  the  Lombards  was 
followed  by  a  raid  of  the  Avars  in  599,  but  they  were 
beaten  off.  Three  years  later  they  came  again  in 
company  with  Slavs  and  Lombards.  In  611  the  Huns 
or  Slovens  descended  on  Istria,in  670  they  were  defeated 
near  Cividale  by  Duke  Vetturi,  and  in  718  were  con- 
quered in  three  battles  near  Lauriana  by  Duke  Pemmo. 
His  son  Ratchis  copied  the  bad  example  of  the  Huns, 
sacking  and  killing  far  into  Carniola.  Between  620  and 
630  the  Serbo-Croats  descended  from  the  Carpathians 
and  crossed  the  Danube  by  suggestion  of  Heraclius, 
driving  the  Avars  from  Dalmatia  and  taking  their  place. 
The  result  of  these  constant  barbarian  raids  was  the 
concentration  of  the  population  in  the  towns  on  the 
sea-coast. 

The  pirates  in  the  Adriatic  were  first  the  Narentans 
and  next  the  Saracens,  who  devastated  the  coasts  of 
Dalmatia  in  840,  fruitlessly  besieging  Ragusa  for 
fifteen  months,  and  afterwards  taking  Taranto  and 
Bari.  In  842  they  defeated  the  Venetians  at  Taranto, 
and,  on  the  octave  of  Easter,  took  Ossero  and  burnt  it. 
They  then  passed  on  to  Ancona  and  Adria,  and  as  they 
returned  captured  a  whole  Venetian  squadron.  In 
876  the  Slavs  of  Croatia  and  Dalmatia  raided  the 
Istrian  coast  towns,  but  were  defeated  at  Grado.  The 
Emperor  Basil  occupied  Dalmatia  in  8yy  on  the  pretext 
of  Slav  piracy.  He  gave  the  tribute  from  the  Roman 
cities  of  Dalmatia  to  the  Croats  and  Narentans,  so  that 
Spalato,  Zara,  Trau,  Arbe,  and  the  Byzantine  cities 
of  Veglia  and  Ossero  had  to  pay  tribute  to  the  Croats. 
The  successful  expedition  of  Pietro  Orseolo  II.  against 
the  Narentan  pirates  tended  to  the  greater  security 
of  the  coast  towns  and  strengthened  the  bond  which 
Venice  was  weaving. 

In  933  a  solemn  treaty  of  peace  was  signed  at 


76  HISTORICAL   SKETCH    OF   ISTRIA 

Rialto  between  Istria  and  Venice  by  the  Marquis  of 
Istria,  the  bishops  of  Pola  and  Cittanova,  two  "  loco- 
positi,"  two  -  scabini,"  and  twelve  other  trustees  from 
Pola,  Capodistria,  Muggia,  and  Pirano,  there  convened. 
A  fresh  treaty  was  made  in  977  with  Capodistria,  giving 
Venice  special  advantages,  and  these  negotiations  were 
carried  on  without  reference  to  the  Imperial  authority, 
the  nominal  feudal  lord.  Walking  thus  warily,  avoid- 
ing offence  to  the  Emperor  of  Germany,  Venice  took 
200  years  of  continuous  political  action  to  acquire  the 
Istrian  cities.  By  1145  Venice  had  obtained  for  her- 
self liberty  of  commerce  in  most  of  the  Istrian  towns 
and  complete  exemption  from  any  kind  of  taxation  ; 
she  had  established  at  Pola  and  Capodistria  a  repre- 
sentative, to  look  after  the  punctual  execution  of 
treaties,  and  to  protect  Venetians  from  injustice,  and 
had  also  made  the  Istrian  cities  pay  her  a  tribute, 
either  in  money  or  products,  obtaining  also  assistance 
for  her  navy  from  them  whenever  it  was  fighting  beyond 
Zara  and  Ancona.  The  importance  attached  by 
Venice  to  these  concessions  is  proved  by  the  triumph 
which  was  given  to  the  squadron '  of  Morosini  and 
Gradonico  when  returning  victorious  from  Istrian 
waters.  It  was  then  that  the  doge  assumed  the  title 
of  "  dux  totius  Istriae,''  but  the  dates  of  the  dedition  of 
the  several  cities  are  much  later.  The  re-organisation 
of  the  communes  took  place  between  1150  and  1180. 
The  podesta  had  a  council  of  assessors,  the  "  consiglio 
minore "  ;  the  larger  ™  consiglio  del  popolo "  was 
called  together  for  the  more  important  matters,  such 
as  declaration  of  war,  conclusion  of  peace,  legislation, 
imposition  of  taxes,  election  of  podesta  and  consuls,  &c. ; 
while  many  documents  show  that  the  whole  body  of 
citizens  was  summoned  to  a  a  parlamento  "  for  the 
publication  of  new  laws,  very  important  deliberations 
requiring  practical  unanimity,  the  installation  of  fresh 


COMMUNAL    REGULATIONS  77 

magistrates,  &c.  The  "  statute' '  was  apparently 
drawn  up  when  a  foreign  podesta  succeeded  to  native 
consuls  as  an  assertion  of  the  ancient  judicial  custom. 
That  of  Capodistria,  the  earliest,  is  of  1238-1239 ;  that 
of  Pola,  1264.  As  soon  as  the  communes  began  to 
extend  their  work  of  domestic  supervision  a  "  fontico  " 
was  established,  a  place  where  corn  was  sold  at  little 
above  cost  price.  Everything  was  supervised — the 
time  of  vintage  and  of  selling  the  new  wine  was  fixed, 
the  amount  of  bread  to  be  baked  in  each  oven  was 
prescribed,  the  justices  tasted  the  wine  before  the 
taverners  began  to  sell,  cut  off  the  tails  of  fish  unsold 
by  the  evening,  and  generally  looked  after  the  strict 
fulfilment  of  the  regulations  affecting  food.  As  the 
vintage  approached,  the  guards  in  the  vineyards  were 
doubled,  and,  from  August  3,  dogs  were  tethered  to 
a  stake  to  intimidate  thieves.  The  prices  of  foreign 
goods  were  fixed  and,  before  commencing  to  sell, 
merchants  were  obliged  to  expose  their  wares  on  the 
quays  or  in  the  piazza  for  three  days.  Standard 
measures  were  cut  in  stone  in  conspicuous  places,  and 
at  Albona  the  various  imposts  were  carved  on  the 
clock- tower  in  the  piazza.  Armed  men  were  not 
allowed  to  enter  the  cities,  and  the  officials  interested 
themselves  in  everything  going  on,  an  example  of 
which  may  be  quoted  from  Pirano.  When  S.  Francesco 
was  built  in  1301,  the  podesta  carried  the  first  stone 
on  his  shoulder,  and  set  it  in  the  ground  before  the 
assembled  people.  Venice  succeeded  the  patriarch  as 
overlord  of  the  Istrian  communes  in  1420,  and  after 
this  the  history  of  Istria  is  merged  in  that  of  the 
Republic. 

The  ravages  of  the  plague  were  fearful,  and  practi- 
cally depopulated  the  province,  returning  again  and  again 
till  1 63 1.  In  the  fourteenth  century  it  decimated  the 
Brioni  Islands  ;   no  less  than  five  Benedictine  convents 


78  HISTORICAL   SKETCH    OF   ISTRIA 

were  abandoned — three  in  Pola  and  one  near  Barbana 
d'Arsia,  as  well  as  that  on  the  Brioni  Islands.  In  Muggia 
an  inscription  states  that  half  the  population  died  in 
1347.  In  I3^1  Ossero  was  so  devastated  that  two 
years  later  the  bishop  abandoned  it  and  went  to  live  in 
Zara.  In  1371  the  country  round  Pola  was  so  afflicted 
that  of  seventy-two  towns  only  eleven  preserved  their 
names,  the  rest  disappearing  without  leaving  any  trace. 
In  Cittanova  in  1643  there  were  only  ten  inhabitants 
left,  the  bishop  abandoned  it  to  live  in  Buie  or  Verten- 
eglio,  and  in  1686,  as  there  were  not  enough  citizens  to 
constitute  a  council,  they  had  to  add  strangers  to  make 
a  quorum.  Angelo  Morosini,  podesta  of  Capodistria  in 
1646,  described  it  as  "  Goddess  of  desolation  and 
refuge  of  solitude  itself."  Parenzo  was  so  severely 
smitten  that  only  thirty  persons  remained.  At  Pola  in 
1 63 1  there  were  but  300  persons  left,  including  the 
garrison  of  foreigners,  and  of  the  citizens  but  three 
families.     This  was  the  last  visitation. 


VII 

MUGGIA    TO    PIRANO 

From  Trieste  steamers,  large  and  small,  ply  to  most 
of  the  places  on  the  coast,  and  the  islands  down  to 
Fiume.  Though  there  is  railway  communication  with  a 
few  places,  travelling  by  water  is  much  pleasanter  in 
fine  weather,  and  the  towns  are  more  easily  acces- 
sible from  the  seaside.  The  country  people  throng  to 
market  in  the  early  hours  of  the  morning,  and  are  ready 
to  return  by  the  time  the  average  English  tourist  has 
finished  his  breakfast  and  sets  out  sightseeing. 

We  went  to  Muggia  about  midday  by  one  of  the 
little  steamboats  which  round  the  Punta  S.  Andrea, 
and,  passing  the  Lloyd-Arsenal,  cross  the  bay,  the 
Vallone  di  Muggia.  The  boat  was  full  of  belated  con- 
tadini,  for  the  most  part  rugged  and  picturesque, 
among  whom  was  an  old  woman  with  a  few  long 
candles,  which  she  vainly  offered  for  sale  to  every 
person  on  the  boat  ;  a  boy  with  nuts  and  sweets  was 
more  fortunate,  and  lessened  his  stock  considerably. 
The  deck  was  lumbered  up  with  baskets,  milk-cans, 
&c,  which  had  been  full  in  the  early  morning,  and  most 
of  the  passengers  had  bundles  and  parcels  containing 
their  purchases.  Some  thirty  minutes  were  sufficient  in 
the  fine  weather  with  which  we  were  favoured  to  take  us 
across,  and,  passing  the  smoky  iron-works  which  are  the 
principal  industry  of  modern  Muggia,  we  disembarked 
at  the  little  quay,  and  immediately  became  objects  of 

79 


8o 


MUGGIA   TO    PIRANO 


interest  to  a  small  crowd  of  impertinent  boys.  Our 
principal  objective  was  the  ancient  church  on  the  hill 
where  Muggia  Vecchia  once  stood.  We  found  on  inquiry 
that  it  was  closed  as  being  in  a  dangerous  state.  This 
entailed  visits  to  the  municipio  and  to  the  parish  priest, 
under  escort  of  a  uniformed  official,  who  then  con- 
ducted us  by  a  steep  and  stony  path  up  the  hill  Monte 


WEST    END    OF   THE    CHURCH,    MUGGIA    VECCHIA 

Michele,  towards  the  summit  of  which,  higher  than  the 
church,  prehistoric  graves  have  been  found,  consisting 
of  stone  slabs  set  roughly  together,  making  a  kind  of 
chest  which  opens  on  to  the  hillside.  The  church 
stands  amid  fragments  of  ruined  walls,  the  remains  of 
the  town  destroyed  by  the  Genoese  in  1354.  To  the 
west  is  a  stony  space  where  wild  irises  grow  and  bloom 
profusely  in  the  crevices  of  the  rocks,  and  from  which 


<  --4 

CHOIR-SCREEN    AND    AMBO,    MUGGIA    VECCHIA 


To  face  page  81 


MUGGIA   VECCHIA  81 

there  is  a  fine  view  over  the  sea  northwards  to  the  high- 
lands of  the  Karst.  Between  this  flowery  wilderness 
and  the  church  is  an  open  grassy  space  enclosed  by  a 
wall,  and  with  a  few  trees  round  its  edges,  which  was 
probably  the  atrium.  Opening  upon  this  is  the 
narthex,  an  open  portico  level  with  the  tower  which 
stands  at  the  west  end  of  the  north  aisle,  with  a  stone 
seat  running  round  the  wall.  Two  steps  lead  down 
into  the  nave,  and  there  is  a  door  in  the  south  aisle, 
which  has  two  windows,  the  clerestory  having  four ; 
though  on  the  north  side,  where  the  graveyard  lies, 
there  are  none.  The  building  consists  of  a  nave  and 
aisles  divided  by  an  arcade  of  five  round  arches  upon 
rectangular  piers  without  caps,  the  two  eastern  bays 
being  enclosed  by  dwarf  walls  with  framings  of  marble 
slabs  upon  which  interlacing  patterns  of  the  ninth 
century  are  carved.  They  return  across  the  ends  of  the 
aisles,  in  each  of  which  is  an  altar  beneath  a  wagon 
vault,  though  there  is  no  apse.  The  central  apse  is 
vaulted  with  a  semi-dome,  but  does  not  show  externally. 
The  choir  is  raised  two  steps  above  the  nave,  and  the 
altar  is  approached  by  a  third.  The  ambo  or  pulpit 
stands  outside  the  screen  on  four  columns,  approached 
by  steep  steps  from  within  ;  an  octagonal  column  of 
coloured  marble  supports  a  slab  for  a  book-rest,  facing 
eastwards  at  the  foot  of  the  steps.  In  plan  the  ambo 
somewhat  resembles  that  at  Grado,  with  six  half- 
colonnettes  projecting  from  the  curved  form,  two  of 
them  terminating  in  heads  on  each  side  of  the  book- 
rest,  itself  supported  on  an  octagonal  shaft  which  dies 
into  its  underside  with  very  flat  vine  or  oak  leaves 
spread  over  the  surface.  The  whole  has  been  so 
plentifully  whitewashed  that  detail  is  nearly  obliter- 
ated, but  there  is  sufficient  difference  between  the  styles 
of  various  parts  to  make  it  probable  that  a  recon- 
struction took  place  at  some  period,   older  material 


82 


MUGGIA  TO   PIRANO 


being  employed  to  a  great  extent.  The  fact  that  two 
of  the  bases  have  angle  claws  and  are  manifestly  not 
in  their  original  position  supports  this  theory.  The 
altar  to  the  left  is  part  of  a  Roman  sarcophagus  with  a 
funerary  inscription  in  letters  of  the  Imperial  period  : 

c  • IVLIO 

NICOSTRATO 

FILIO  '  PIISSIMO 

ANN  '  XVIII  '  M  '  Villi  *  D  *  XII 

IVLIVS  *  NICOSTRATVS. 


PLAN   OF   PULPIT,    MUGGIA   VECCHIA 


Upon  the  piers  and  walls  are  remains  of  paintings 
of  various  dates.  On  the  first  pier  to  the  left  is  S. 
Catherine,  vested  as  a  Byzantine  empress.  Further 
to  the  east  are  the  Madonna  "Blacherniotissa"  and  S. 
Dominic,  and  near  the  ambo  figures  of  the  four  Evan- 
gelists ;  the  last  apparently  of  the  period  of  the  founda- 
tion of  the  church,  the  ninth  or  early  tenth  century. 
On  the  last  pier,  which  is  broader  than  the  others,  and 
suggests  a  later  addition  (perhaps  in  the  thirteenth 
century),  is  a  gigantic  S.  Christopher,  roughly  painted, 
and  with  the  well-known  inscription  stating  that  whoso 
looks  at  it  will  not  die  a  sudden  death  that  day.     The 


MUGGIA   NUOVA  83 

aisles  have  lean-to  roofs,  and  the  nave  roof  we  found 
shored  up,  the  supporting  timbers  being  wreathed  with 
garlands  of  artificial  flowers.  The  dedication  is  to- 
SS.  Peter  and  Paul. 

As  we  descended  the  hill  our  guide,  observing  that 
flowers  interested  us,  made  a  sudden  dive  through  the 
gate  of  a  garden  full  of  wallflowers  and  picked  a  bunch 
for  us,  presenting  it  with  as  much  grace  as  if  they  had 
been  his  own  !  a  proceeding  to  which  the  rightful 
owners  appeared  to  have  no  objection.  The  more 
modern  town  lay  below  us  with  its  walls  and  towers, 
some  of  them  ruinous  and  some  restored,  and  looked 
picturesque  enough  except  for  the  ancient  castle  which 
has  been  turned  into  a  modern  house  by  its  latest 
purchaser,  who  has  tried  with  more  zeal  than  judg- 
ment to  copy  the  style  of  the  older  portions.  Through 
the  postern  by  which  we  had  left  the  town  a  number  of 
workmen  from  the  iron-works  straggled,  grimy  and 
weary ;  in  their  modern  dress  and  employment  marking 
a  contrast  with  their  surroundings.  Muggia  Nuova 
first  appears  in  history  in  1235.  When  Paganino 
Doria  destroyed  Monticula  (Muggia  Vecchia)  in  1354, 
the  port  Vicuna  Lauri  (now  Muggia)  increased,  and 
twenty  years  later  was  surrounded  with  walls  by  the 
Patriarch  Marquand  da  Randeck  after  his  triumphal 
entry.  It  had  nine  square  towers,  a  bastioned  keep  on 
the  east,  and  a  barbican  with  unequal  sides,  which 
covered  the  Porta  a  Mare,  or  of  S.  Rocco.  Three  other 
gates,  the  Porta  Grande,  which  faced  to  the  country,  the 
Porta  S.  Francesco  or  Del  Castello,  and  the  Portizza, 
which  joined  the  Imperial  road  of  Zaule  with  a  draw- 
bridge, added  to  the  defences,  and  a  chain  closed  the 
port. 

The  nave  of  the  church  is  of  the  eighteenth  cen- 
tury, the  apse  twelfth,  and  the  facade  of  the  fifteenth 
century,   with   a   wheel  window  of   1467   above   the 


84  MUGGIA   TO    PIRANO 

west  door,  and  a  gable  of  an  ogee-trefoil  shape.  In 
the  centre  of  the  rose  of  sixteen  rays  is  a  little 
relief  of  the  Virgin  and  Child ;  the  tracery  is  like 
that  of  the  cathedral  at  Trieste.  The  door  is  square- 
headed,  with  a  cable  moulding  on  the  inner  and  a 
dentil  on  the  outer  edge,  and  with  a  slightly  ogee 
tympanum  above,  in  which  are  an  enthroned  God  the 
Father  with  Christ  in  His  lap,  two  kneeling  figures  with 
palms  at  the  sides,  and  two  little  angels  on  the  uprights 
of  the  throne.  On  the  architrave  is  an  Agnus  Dei. 
Two  windows,  slightly  ogee-headed,  flank  the  door. 
Coats  of  arms  and  inscriptions  give  the  date.  The 
treasury  contains  a  late  Gothic  ostensory  with  Re- 
naissance patterns  on  the  foot,  a  chalice  which  has 
portions  of  several  dates,  and  a  seventeenth-century 
processional  cross.  The  contemporary  municipal 
palace  is  now  made  into  dwelling-houses,  though  the 
lion  of  S.  Mark,  with  closed  book  and  the  date  1444,  still 
looks  down  from  the  wall,  and  the  shapes  of  the  windows 
reveal  a  mediaeval  building. 

While  we  were  on  the  hill  the  few  children  had 
become  a  crowd,  and  our  proceedings  were  much 
hampered,  although  our  friendly  guard  adopted  very 
rough  measures  more  than  once  to  keep  them  in  order. 
The  people  have  always  been  turbulent  and  unruly, 
and  no  doubt  there  is  still  an  hereditary  disposition 
among  them  to  resist  authority,  though  one  must 
acknowledge  that  it  was  only  among  the  young  that 
we  ourselves  observed  it. 

Muggia  Vecchia  is  first  mentioned  in  a  diploma 
of  Ugo  and  Lothair,  king  of  Italy,  in  971,  by  which 
the  Castello  was  given  to  the  church  of  Aquileia. 
In  1202,  when  the  Venetians  were  on  their  way  to 
the  Holy  Land,  they  subjected  the  coast  towns 
under  the  pretext  of  enforcing  jthe  patriarch's  rights. 
Doge  Enrico  Dandolo  disembarked   at    Muggia   with 


HISTORY   OF   MUGGIA  85 

part  of  his  troops,  and  was  received  by  clergy  and 
people  with  the  ringing  of  bells.  The  citizens  being 
collected  swore  fealty  and  subjection  to  the  Republic, 
promising  not  to  help  pirates,  and  to  pay  each  S. 
Martin's  Day  twenty-five  "  orne  "  of  good  wine.  From 
this  date  till  1420  the  city  was  ruled  by  a  podesta  elected 
every  six  months  by  the  council  and  confirmed  by  the 
patriarch.  There  were  three  judges  and  several  "  an- 
ziani,"  who  formed  the  lesser  council,  to  attend  to  daily 
business.  In  the  thirteenth  century  it  had  its  own 
statute,  and  at  that  time  the  commune  paid  a  doctor, 
a  surgeon,  and  a  schoolmaster.  The  crest  is  a  turreted 
castle,  seen  on  the  campanile  of  the  old  church  borne 
by  two  figures.  It  was  sometimes  under  Venice  and 
sometimes  under  the  patriarch  till  1420.  At  one  time 
four  noble  hostages  were  confined  for  the  latter  in 
Cividale,  who  were  obliged  to  prove  their  presence 
every  day  ;  at  another  the  procurator  swore  fealty  to 
Venice  and  received  the  standard  of  S.  Mark  with  much 
pomp.  In  1371  the  council  decided  to  elect  every  year 
two  upright  men  who  should  do  their  best  to  settle 
disputes  and  quarrels  among  the  citizens,  and  in  case 
of  failure  to  report  to  the  council,  when  extraordinary 
measures  were  to  be  taken.  The  next  year  Raffaello 
Steno  attacked  the  city  at  the  head  of  the  exiles  and 
killed  many  supporters  of  the  patriarch,  sacking  their 
houses  and  proscribing  his  followers  ;  and  it  was  only 
at  the  end  of  1374  that  he  succeeded  in  retaking  the 
town,  coming  in  person  to  do  so.  After  his  triumphal 
entry  in  that  year  a  castle  was  built  to  keep  the  people 
in  subjection,  and  a  castellan  with  a  garrison  was  left 
in  it ;  but  the  town  rebelled  again  in  1377. 

Capodistria  is  at  the  head  of  the  next  bay  to  the 
south-west,  on  rising  ground  which  was  once  an  island, 
though  now  joined  to  the  mainland.  From  the  sea  the 
most  conspicuous  building  is  a  great  yellow   prison. 


S6  MUGGIA   TO   PIRANO 

There  is  also  a  naval  school  there,  the  cadets  from  which 
have  to  endure  a  certain  amount  of  chaff  when  they 
acknowledge  having  spent  five  years  at  Capodistria. 
According  to  Dandolo  the  city  was  founded  on  the 
island  of  Capraria,  and  named  in  honour  of  Justin  II. 
(565-578)  Justinopolis ;  the  fact  of  its  having  been  free 
of  money  taxes  during  the  Byzantine  dominion  makes 
some  such  origin  probable  ;  but  it  occupies  the  site  of 
the  Roman  colony  of  iEgida,  founded  in  128  B.C.,  and  a 
few  antique  fragments  have  been  found,  such  as  the 
restored  statue  of  Justice  on  the  communal  palace,  a 
Roman  work  of  the  Lower  Empire,  and  the  reliefs  of 
an  ox  and  a  female  dancer  encrusted  in  the  wall  of 
a  garden.  In  the  church  of  S.  Clemente  there  is  also 
a  little  round  antique  altar,  used  as  a  holy-water  basin. 
Under  Pietro  Orseolo  a  treaty  was  made  between 
Venice  and  Capodistria  in  977,  under  which  the  hundred 
amphoras  of  wine  (which  had  been  sent  since  932  as  an 
annual  present  to  the  doge,  and  handed  by  him  to  the 
Patriarch  of  Grado)  wTere  made  obligatory  and  a  per- 
petual tribute,  while  a  Venetian  officer  resided  in  Capo- 
distria to  look  after  it.  Another  stipulation  was  that 
the  city  should  always  be  at  peace  with  Venice,  even  if 
the  rest  of  Istria  were  at  war.  The  Venetian  represen- 
tative or  consul  had  the  right  to  sit  with  the  Capodis- 
trian  judges  whenever  a  Venetian  had  cause  to  appear 
before  them.  In  1145,  envoys  had  to  go  to  Venice  to 
swear  on  the  Gospels  true  and  loyal  fidelity  to  S.  Mark, 
the  Doge  Polano,  and  all  his  successors,  and  to  the 
commune  of  Venice,  undertaking  to  renew  the  oath  on 
the  election  of  each  new  doge.  In  1186  the  commune 
was  represented  by  a  podesta  and  four  consuls,  the 
year  in  which  the  bishopric  was  founded  on  the  strength 
of  their  promise  to  provide  sufficient  income.  Eight 
years  later  they  were  obliged  to  decree  that  if  any  one 
did  not  pay  his  dues  by  the  usual  time  he  should  have 


THE    FORTIFICATIONS,   CAPODISTRIA    87 

his  vineyard  taken  away,  and  if  the  tithe  of  oil  was  not 
paid  by  the  Purification,  it  should  be  doubled.  It  was 
the  first  Istrian  city  with  a  fully  formed  commune,  and 
the  notice  of  the  meeting  of  the  council  on  July  5,  1186, 
is  the  earliest  notice  preserved  of  such  a  meeting.  The 
first  statute  appears  in  1238-1239. 

When  Venice  had  acquired  the  city  the  senate  com- 
manded Tommaso  Gritti  and  Piero  Gradenigo  to  build 
Castel  Leone  ;  it  was  constructed  astride  the  road 
which  crossed  the  marshes,  so  that  all  travellers  and 
vehicles  entering  or  leaving  the  city  had  to  pass  through 
it.  The  walls,  for  which  the  Patriarch  Gregorio  Monte- 
lungo  was  responsible,  were  damaged  in  1278,  when  the 
city  swore  fealty  to  Venice,  and  were  thrown  down  on 
the  sea  side  after  the  insurrection  of  1348.  They  were 
not  completely  repaired  till  the  sixteenth  century.  In 
1550  Michele  Sanmicheli,  and  subsequently  his  nephew 
Alvise  Brignoli  and  others  were  sent  by  the  senate  to 
report,  and  finally  the  repair  of  the  walls  of  many  of 
the  Istrian  towns  was  committed  to  Constantine  and 
Francesco  Capi.  A  hundred  years  later  they  were  in 
such  a  state  that  Stefano  Capello  reported  that  it  was 
useless  to  guard  the  gates,  for  entrance  was  easy  through 
the  ruinous  part  of  the  walls.  The  only  portion  now 
remaining  is  the  Porta  della  Muda,  built  by  Sebastian 
Contarini  in  the  seventeenth  century.  It  bears  an 
inscription  of  1701  stating  that  the  sea  then  no  longer 
flowed  round  it. 

The  Palazzo  Comunale  was  burnt  after  the  revolt  of 
1348,  when  the  city  had  to  surrender  unconditionally, 
the  clergy  carrying  crosses,  and  the  citizens  in  procession, 
followed  by  the  soldiers  and  the  other  foreigners,  meet- 
ing the  army  outside  the  gates.  Fifty  of  the  persons 
most  compromised  were  sent  to  Venice  for  trial,  and  the 
city  was  punished  by  increase  of  taxation  and  modifi- 
cation of  some  of  the  chapters  of  the  statute.     A  few 


88  MUGGIA   TO   PIRANO 

years  after  it  rebelled  again,  and  was  then  deprived  of  all 
municipal  rights.  The  burnt  portion  of  the  palace  was 
ordered  to  be  restored  in  1353,  but  it  had  to  be  pulled 
down  afterwards,  and  in  1385  the  senate  gave  orders  to 
the  Podesta  Leonardo  Bembo  to  level  it  and  rebuild.  It 
bears  resemblance  in  some  of  its  details  to  palaces  of  the 
Bembo  family  in  Venice.  It  was  not  completed  till 
1447,  under  Domenico  Diedo.  The  right  wing  was 
altered  in  1481,  and  further  damaging  alterations  were 
made  in  1664  by  Vincenzo  Bembo,  who  was  so  proud  of 
his  work  that  he  put  up  a  pompous  inscription.  There 
are  numerous  coats  of  arms  of  podestas  and  busts  on 
the  facade,  the  earliest  of  which  is  dated  1432.  Under 
the  portico  were  the  "  bocche  del  leone  "  for  secret 
denunciations,  and,  though  the  masks  are  gone,  the 
chests  within  are  still  in  position. 

At  right  angles  to  the  Palazzo  Comunale  is  the 
cathedral,  with  the  campanile  projecting  and  flanking 
the  facade  to  the  south.  It  has  a  ground  story  of 
Gothic,  three  pointed  arches,  the  central  one  pierced  by 
a  doorway  with  clustered  pillars,  and  figures  beneath 
niches  above  them,  and  an  upper  .story  with  classic 
pilasters  and  cornice,  the  central  space  pierced  by  a 
circular  window.  These  are  somewhat  the  characteris- 
tics of  the  cathedral  at  Cividale,  of  which  two  Capodis- 
trians,  Bartolommeo  Costa  and  Giovanni  Sedula,  were 
architects.  It  was  reconsecrated  in  1445,  but  the  upper 
part  was  not  finished  till  1598.  The  side  doors,  with 
beautiful  arabesques  carved  on  the  jambs,  were  con- 
structed with  material  from  the  tribune  in  which  the  big 
Carpaccio  was  housed.  It  was  destroyed  in  1714  during 
the  restoration  of  the  cathedral.  There  is  a  terra-cotta 
medallion  of  Const antine  Copronymus  on  the  facade. 
The  present  campanile  is  of  1480.  The  great  bell  was 
cast  in  1333  by  two  sons  of  the  celebrated  bell-founder, 
Jacopo  da  Venezia.    Under  the  bell-chamber  of  the  older 


PICTURES    IN   THE   CATHEDRAL  89 

campanile  was  an  iron  cage  in  which  ecclesiastics  guilty 
of  grievous  crime  were  exposed,  a  punishment  abolished 
in  1497. 

The  interior  of  the  church,  considered  the  finest  of 
the  period  in  Istria,  was  recast  in  1741  by  the  Venetian 
engineer  Giorgio  Massari.  Under  the  last  arch  of  the 
nave  to  the  right  is  a  picture  by  Vittore  Carpaccio, 
signed  and  dated  15 16 — a  Madonna  and  Child  en- 
throned upon  a  damask-hung  seat  raised  on  five  steps, 
which  are  covered  with  an  Oriental  carpet.  Upon  the 
steps  saints  are  ranged,  SS.  Jerome,  Roch,  and  an  old 
man  to  the  left — perhaps  Zacchariah  or  Joseph ;  SS. 
Sebastian,  George,  and  a  bishop  to  the  right — probably 
S.  Louis  of  Toulouse  :  at  the  bottom  a  little  lute- 
playing  angel  sits,  flanked  by  two  amorini  on  a  lower 
level  with  white  drapery.  The  Virgin  is  seated  in  an 
arched  vestibule  with  a  flat  ceiling  through  which  the 
sky  and  trees  are  seen.  It  was  restored  in  1829. 
Another  picture  from  S.  Nicolo  near  the  port  shows  the 
Virgin  with  SS.  Nicholas  of  Bari  and  John  the  Baptist. 
The  organ  wings  were  painted  by  Vittore' s  son  Benedetto 
in  1538,  and  two  other  pictures  of  his  are  affixed  to  the 
west  wall.  The  subjects  are  the  Slaughter  of  the  Inno- 
cents and  the  Presentation  in  the  Temple.  Other 
pictures  by  him  are  a  Coronation  of  the  Virgin,  in  the 
communal  palace,  signed  and  dated  1537,  his  earliest 
known  picture  ;  the  Virgin  between  SS.  James  and 
Bartholomew,  1538  ;  and  the  town  damaged  by  a  sea- 
storm.  In  Santa  Anna  is  a  picture  of  the  Name  of  Jesus 
adored  by  SS.  Paul,  John  the  Baptist,  Francis,  and  Ber- 
nardino, and  surrounded  by  cherubs'  heads.  In  the 
communal  palace  an  indifferent  picture  of  the  entrance 
of  a  podesta  escorted  by  the  councillors  (dated  15 17)  is 
ascribed  to  Vittore  Carpaccio,  who  has  been  claimed  as 
a  Capodistrian,  as  his  son  Benedetto  certainly  was.  He 
lived  in  the  Largo  di  Porta  S.  Martino,  in  an  old  house 

12 


90  MUGGIA   TO   PIRANO 

of  two  stories.  In  1500  it  was  inhabited  by  the  Scar- 
paza  family,  and  before  that  they  possessed  a  little 
farm  in  the  locality  called  San  Vittore  ;  but  the  Capodis- 
trian  tradition  as  to  Vittore's  birthplace  is  erroneous, 
since  he  was  born  at  Venice  of  a  family  of  Mazzorbo, 
record  of  which  has  been  found  by  Signor  Molmenti. 
Lazzaro  Sebastiani  is  also  claimed  as  Capodistrian,  and 
memorials  of  two  other  painters  exist,  Cleriginus  de 
Justinopoli,  who  was  living  in  1471,  and  Giorgio  Vin- 
centi.  A  Mag.  Domenico  di  Capodistria  began  the 
pretty  octagonal  chapel  at  Vicovaro  above  Tivoli. 

In  the  choir  of  the  church  of  Santa  Anna  is  a  picture 
by  Cima  da  Conegliano  in  the  original  frame  made  by 
Vittore  da  Feltre.  In  the  central  arched  compartment 
the  Virgin  sits  enthroned  with  the  Child  on  her  knees  and 
angels  at  her  sides  ;  on  the  steps  below  are  two  child 
angels  with  mandoline  and  fiddle.  The  lower  range  of 
panels  has  full-length  figures  of  SS.  Anna,  Mary  Mag- 
dalene, Joachim,  and  Catherine.  In  the  upper  are 
half-lengths  of  SS.  Chiara,  Francis,  Jerome,  and  Nazario, 
with  Christ  between  SS.  Peter  and  Andrew  in  the  centre. 
It  has  been  restored.  There  is  also  an  altar-frontal  of 
cut  and  gilded  leather. 

The  lions  from  the  ancient  cathedral  doors  are  now 
in  the  atrium  of  the  high-school.  The  ancient  baptis- 
tery is  close  to  the  north  side  of  the  cathedral ;  it  has 
suffered  Renaissance  alteration  inside,  but  outside  still 
shows  the  early  arrangement  of  pilaster-strips  and 
corbel-tables.  It  is  circular  in  plan,  and  has  several 
round-headed,  unmoulded  windows  built  up,  as  well  as 
a  pointed-arched  door  with  fourteenth-century  shields 
in  the  tympanum. 

In  the  large  piazza  which  stretches  to  the  south-east 
of  the  cathedral  are  two  well-heads  and  the  "  fontico  n 
or  place  where  corn  was  sold  cheaply  to  the  poor,  a 
building  of  1432,  restored  in  1529,  plentifully  studded 


MEDIAEVAL  AND  RENAISSANCE  OBJECTS    91 

with  coats  of  arms.  Opposite  the  Palazzo  Comunale^is 
the  Loggia,  now  a  cafe,  built  in  1464  for  a  literary 
academy.  It  has  seven  pointed  and  traceried  arches  in 
front  and  two  at  the  side,  a  Madonna  and  Child  decorates 
the  south-west  angle, 
and  coats  of  arms  are 
between  the  windows 
of  the  upper  story. 
Here  the  Compagnia 
della  Calza  was  insti- 
tuted in  1478  in  imita- 
tion of  that  of  Venice. 
A  few  houses  have 
remains  of  late  Gothic 
painting,  and  in  others 
something  of  the 
mediaeval  arrangement 
may  still  be  seen.  Upon 
the  Palazzo  Tacco  is  a 
very  beautiful  knocker, 
ascribed  to  Sansovino, 
now  happily  the  pro- 
perty of  the  commune ; 
and  the  Casa  del  Bello 
has  a  fine  negro's  head 
as  handle,  rather  worn 
by  use,  and  an  elaborate 
knocker,  probably  of 
German  work.  The 
Casa  Borisi  also  has  a 
handle  with  the  head  and  shoulders  of  a  child  emergent 
from  leaves,  and  a  knocker  of  similar  design. 

In  the  cathedral  treasury  is  a  late  fifteenth-century 
silver-gilt  chalice  with  elaborately  worked  knop  and 
stem  ;  on  the  knop  are  saints  under  canopies,  and 
angels  with  outspread  wings  emerge  from  scroll-work 


KNOCKER   ON   PALAZZO  TACCO,   CAPODISTRIA 


92  MUGGIA   TO   PIRANO 

round  the  base  of  the  cup.  Also  a  monstrance  of  the 
same  period  with  very  elaborate  and  beautiful  archi- 
tectural ornament  and  figures  of  angels  in  adoration. 
In  two  elaborate  silver-gilt  crosses  of  the  sixteenth 
century  there  is  a  curious  mixture  of  Gothic  and  Renais- 
sance details. 

There  is  also  a  Byzantine  civil  casket  at  Capodistria, 
with  traces  of  ancient  gilding  upon  it.  It  has  the 
usual  rosettes  in  the  borders,  and  small  plaques  with 
figure  subjects.  On  the  front  there  are  three  gods  and 
goddesses,  separated  by  a  repetition  of  the  border 
pattern.     The  handle  and  fastenings  are  later  in  date. 

Just  inside  the  Porta  della  Muda  is  the  Piazza  da 
Ponte,  so  called  after  the  Podesta  Lorenzo  da  Ponte,  who 
in  1666  had  the  very  curious  fountain  erected,  in  which 
he  imagined  a  further  memorial  of  himself  by  the  pun- 
ning design  of  the  bridge,  so  unsuitable  for  its  position. 
In  front  of  the  Palazzo  Tacco  is  a  column  with  a  statue 
of  S.  Giustina,  set  up  to  commemorate  the  battle  of 
Lepanto,  at  which  Domenico  di  Tacco  commanded  a 
ship  fitted  out  at  his  own  expense. 

In  the  churches  on  Good  Friday  a  crucifix  was  laid 
on  the  chancel  steps.  Women  and  children  knelt  round 
and  kissed  it.  In  one  or  two  of  them  a  dead  Christ, 
life-size  and  painted,  was  exhibited  behind  glass.  There 
was  also  the  "  tomba,"  a  custom  to  which  one  is  used 
in  Italy.  A  few  men  joined  in  the  devotion.  The  Good 
Friday  procession  is  over  half  a  mile  long,  and  takes  two 
hours  to  get  round  the  town,  starting  from  the  cathedral 
west  door  at  twilight.  It  is  formed  in  great  part  of  the 
ancient  confraternities  (among  which  that  of  S.  Maria  is 
mentioned  as  early  as  1082),  who  carry  some  200  imple- 
ments and  standards,  torches,  candelabra,  wax  tapers, 
figures  of  saints,  and  lanterns.  At  the  end  of  the  pro- 
cession a  rich  baldacchino  is  borne  aloft  above  the  priest 
who   carries  the  Host.     "  Mazzieri "  (from  the  mace 


M 

Q 

2 

W 

H 

O 
Ph 

<1 

G 

<tj 

N 
N 
< 


PIRANO  93 

which  they  carry  as  sign  of  authority)  keep  order.  Other 
processions  by  daylight  take  place  on  Corpus  Domini 
and  S.  Nazario  (June  19).  The  people  have  always  been 
fond  of  such  displays,  and  till  the  seventeenth  century 
there  was  a  great  function  at  the  departure  of  the  rector, 
who  was  solemnly  bidden  farewell  by  one  of  the  syndics 
or  nobles  in  the  cathedral.  These  Istrian  coast  towns 
have  always  shown  enlightenment  in  the  matter  of 
education.  In  1699  a  school  was  opened  in  Capodistria 
for  the  sons  of  citizens  and  patricians,  in  which  Latin, 
Greek,  Italian,  mathematics,  rhetoric,  and  physics  were 
taught.  And,  in  order  that  poor  and  talented  young 
men  should  not  be  cut  off  from  the  possibility  of  learn- 
ing, this  town,  and,  after  its  example,  Isola,  Muggia, 
Parenzo,  Pola,  and  Trieste  established  scholarships  at 
the  University  of  Padua,  where  Istrian  professors  be- 
came rectors.  But,  even  in  the  fourteenth  century, 
there  were  already  school  teachers  in  Pirano,  Muggia, 
and  Capodistria. 

It  is  Pirano  on  its  headland,  with  the  cathedral 
standing  out  against  the  sea,  and  with  its  crown  of 
battlemented  towers  among  cypresses  and  other  trees 
which  terminates  the  land  as  seen  from  the  railway 
descending  from  Nabresina  to  Trieste  ;  for,  though 
the  Point  of  Salvore  stretches  actually  farther  out,  it 
is  low,  and  does  not  catch  the  eye  as  Pirano  does, 
especially  when  its  characteristic  silhouette  is  empha- 
sised by  the  blue  shadow  of  a  passing  cloud.  The  head- 
land upon  which  the  cathedral  is  built,  with  its  arched 
buttresses  below,  hides  the  town,  except  for  the  forti- 
fied cresting  high  above  the  trees  ;  but,  when  the  point 
is  rounded  and  the  harbour  entered,  one  is  tempted 
to  assert  that  there  are  few  places  so  picturesque.  The 
quays  are  crowded  with  fishing-boats,  which  are  backed 
by  the  brilliantly  white  buildings.  The  green  water 
reflects  boats,  buildings,  and  sky  with  a  bewildering 


94  MUGGIA   TO   PIRANO 

flashing  and  mingling  of  varied  colours  ;  while,  above  the 
houses  of  the  Piazza  Tartini,  other  houses  and  towers 
climb  to  the  battlemented  walls  which  crown  the  hill 
above  a  space  filled  with  the  grey  of  olives  and  green  of 
the  grass  beneath  them.  Within  the  town  the  streets 
are  narrow  and  often  arched  over,  producing  striking 
effects  of  light  and  shade  ;  and  there  are  external  stairs 
to  some  of  the  houses  and  many  balconies. 

It  is  an  ancient  town,  and  may  have  been  founded  by 
Celtic  immigrants,  since  the  word  "  pyrn  "  (a  possible 
derivation  for  its  name)  means  "  top  of  the  hill  "  in 
Celtic.  It  certainly  was  inhabited  in  Roman  times,  for 
the  foundations  of  a  Roman  house  have  been  found,  as 
well  as  inscriptions,  bronzes,  and  other  objects  now  pre- 
served in  the  museums  of  Trieste,  Parenzo,  and  Pola. 
The  names  of  a  good  many  places  near  are  of  Roman 
derivation,  but  the  first  definite  mention  of  Pirano  is 
made  by  the  anonymous  Ravennese  chronicler.  In  the 
tenth  century  the  Istrians  attacked  the  possessions  of 
the  Patriarch  of  Grado  and  of  Venice,  under  the  Marquis 
Winter,  who  governed  for  Ugo,  king  of  Italy.  The  doge 
retaliated  by  prohibiting  all  commerce  with  Pirano, 
Trieste,  Muggia,  Capodistria,  Cittanova,  and  Pola,  and 
this  soon  brought  them  to  their  knees,  finally  resulting 
in  the  treaty  of  933. 

A  castle,  the  residence  of  the  count  or  burgrave,  was 
built  nearly  opposite  the  cathedral,  with  a  wall  falling 
sheer  to  the  sea;  this  wall  was  still  in  existence  in 
1483,  and  was  seen  by  Sanudo,  but  it  was  destroyed 
soon  after.  Venice  gradually  laid  a  heavier  hand  on 
this  part  of  the  eastern  shore  of  the  Adriatic,  and, 
though  the  citizens  struggled  to  retain  their  independ- 
ence, the  year  1283  saw  the  dedition  of  Pirano.  Yet  it 
always  retained  the  right  of  displaying  its  own  standard 
of  S.  George  in  the  Piazza  by  the  side  of  that  of  S.  Mark. 
The  existing  bases  for  the  support  of  these  standards 


MEDIEVAL   WALLS  95 

date  from  1464  and  1466,  and  bear  the  figure  of  S. 
George  on  one,  and  S.  Mark's  lion  on  the  other,  with  the 
arms  of  the  podestas  who  ruled  in  those  years.  On 
the  base  of  the  Venetian  standard  the  measures  of 
length  then  in  use  are  engraved.  The  standards  for 
measures  of  capacity  were  three  hollows  sunk  in  a  stone 
which  once  stood  at  the  foot  of  the  stair  of  the  com- 
munal palace.  This  palace  was  demolished  in  1877.  It 
was  a  building  erected  in  1291,  outside  the  circuit  of  the 
walls  as  it  then  existed,  "  to  show  that  a  new  spirit  ought 
to  animate  the  citizens  to  forget  their  ancient  divi- 
sions/ '  as  a  chronicler  says.  From  1264  Venice  practi- 
cally had  control  of  the  government,  being  the  principal 
customer  for  the  salt,  which  was  (and  is  still)  the  chief 
product  of  the  place. 

The  city  is  an  irregular  triangle  in  plan,  and  is 
divided  into  four  sections,  known  as  "  Porte  " — Porta 
Muggia,  Porta  Domo,  Porta  Misana,  and  Porta  Campo. 
Walls  enclosed  each  of  these  sections,  which  were 
thrown  down  by  Venice  at  the  same  time  that  many  of 
the  nobles'  towers  were  destroyed ;  but  some  portions 
remain  here  and  there,  utilised  for  the  erection  of  later 
houses.  Round  the  "  Punta,"  the  most  ancient  part  of 
the  city,  are  remains  of  early  walls,  thought  to  be  late 
Roman.  The  Venetians  allowed  only  one  wall  for 
protection,  and  the  present  towered  portion,  so  con- 
spicuous along  the  crest  of  the  hill,  was  finished  in  1488. 
The  suburb,  the  Borgo  Marzana,  which  stretched  along 
the  shore,  was  also  enclosed  within  their  circuit  by  1533. 
They  recall  those  of  Soave  and  Marostica  in  North  Italy, 
where  the  houses  cluster  round  the  piazza  below,  and  the 
hillside  is  covered  with  olives,  through  and  above  which 
the  line  of  battlements  may  be  traced  high  above  the 
tops  of  the  campanili.  The  harbour  was  once  larger 
than  it  now  is,  the  Piazza  Tartini  occupying  the  site  of 
part  of  it.     In  1320  the  Venetians  sent  three  engineers 


96  MUGGIA   TO   PIRANO 

to  construct  a  port,  but  all  that  was  done  was  to 
strengthen  the  inner  harbour  as  then  existing.  The 
chain  which  closed  it  was  replaced  by  a  drawbridge  in 
1578,  shown  in  a  picture  in  the  cathedral,  but  this  was 
demolished  in  1894. 

In  1379  the  Genoese  fleet  of  fifteen  galleys  demanded 
the  surrender  of  Pirano.  Reply  was  made  with  cannon- 
shots  which  sank  three  large  ships,  and  the  others  sailed 
away.  It  was  the  only  Istrian  city  which  thus  repelled 
the  Genoese  attack,  and  the  incident  is  also  interesting 
as  showing  that  the  Venetians  used  bombards  before 
the  war  of  Chioggia. 

The  statute  is  more  ancient  than  those  of  most  of 
the  neighbouring  cities,  and  gives  curious  details  as  to 
pains  and  penalties  and  municipal  regulations.  The 
penalty  for  mutilation  was  a  corresponding  mutilation 
unless  the  fine  prescribed  was  paid.  The  making  of 
false  money  was  punished  with  death.  The  false  wit- 
ness, if  insolvent,  lost  his  right  nostril,  and  his  name  was 
published  as  a  perjurer  on  the  stair  of  the  communal 
palace.  He  who  destroyed  the  property  of  another  lost 
his  right  hand.  But  there  was  ho  public  executioner  ; 
and  there  are  many  records  of  the  flight  of  guilty  persons, 
though  an  intention  to  make  "  the  punishment  fit  the 
crime  "  is  evident.  No  one  was  allowed  to  build  a  house 
close  to  the  walls,  and  thatch  was  forbidden.  A  blas- 
phemer was  pilloried  for  a  day  (a  list  of  illegal  words 
and  phrases  is  attached  to  this  section).  Workmen  were 
forbidden  to  receive  more  than  the  wage  prescribed, 
butchers  had  to  accept  the  price  fixed  for  meat  by  the 
justices,  and  the  times  and  places  for  fishing  were 
specified.  The  commune  had  an  inn  "  let  to  an  honest 
man,"  with  six  good  beds,  which  he  had  to  provide.  No 
one  else  was  allowed  to  let  rooms  till  1469,  when  the 
payment  of  a  tax  of  three  ducats  a  year  entitled  the 
payer  to  a  license.     In  1484  interest  on  loans  was  fixed 


FESTIVALS    AND    FUNERALS  97 

at  20  per  cent.,  and  Jews  were  allowed  to  charge  no  more. 
This  people  enjoyed  considerable  liberties,  as  in  Venice, 
and  corresponding  concessions  were  made  to  them. 
With  the  establishment  of  a  "  Monte  di  Pieta  "  their 
occupation  was  gone,  and  they  migrated  to  Trieste.  The 
commune  paid  a  chief  bombardier,  a  captain  of  ordnance, 
a  palace  chaplain,  two  doctors  and  a  surgeon,  a  canon 
of  the  Community,  a  master  of  arithmetic,  a  professor 
of  humanities  and  rhetoric,  and  a  preacher  for  Lent. 

An  academy,  called  "  Dei  Virtuosi,"  was  also  sus- 
tained at  the  public  expense,  and  by  it  public  festivals 
were  organised,  with  the  accompaniment  of  decorations 
and  music,  &c.  The  festival  of  Corpus  Domini  is  still 
celebrated  with  the  hanging  of  cloths  and  paintings 
on  the  walls  of  the  houses,  and  with  stretching  awnings, 
like  the  Florentine  mediaeval  "  cieli,"  across  the  streets, 
which  are  strewn  with  flowers  and  ornamented  with 
altars  and  fountains.  Processions  also  still  accompany 
funerals  and  marriages,  when  garlands,  flowers,  and 
confetti  are  thrown  upon  the  cortege  as  it  passes.  The 
banner  and  pall  are  black,  with  white  embroidery,  and 
the  members  of  a  red-clothed  confraternity  attend  the 
funerals,  bearing  a  crucifix  and  tapers.  Many  of  them 
are  quite  old  men,  and  they  raise  a  quavering  chant  as 
they  climb  the  steep  ascent  to  the  cathedral,  which 
is  a  late  Renaissance  building,  and  not  interesting, 
though  finely  placed.  The  campanile  is  an  evident 
copy  of  that  of  S.  Mark  at  Venice. 

In  1572,  under  an  altar  in  the  cathedral,  a  fine 
Byzantine  civil  casket  of  ivory  was  found.  Presented 
in  1884  to  the  Emperor  by  the  municipality,  it  is  now  in 
the  Court  museum  at  Vienna.  It  has  a  sliding  lid,  the 
usual  borders  of  rosettes,  and  long  panels  of  subjects 
imitated  from  the  antique.  In  the  library  above  the 
sacristy  are  several  early  paintings  in  carved  and  gilt 
frames.     The  most  important  represents  a  long  arcade 

13 


98  MUGGIA   TO   PIRANO 

with  four  saints  on  each  side  of  a  broader  central  panel, 
on  which  are  the  Virgin  and  Child  enthroned.  The 
figures  have  small  heads  and  meagre  limbs.  There  is 
also  a  Crucifixion,  which,  from  its  shape,  was  probably 
the  top  panel  of  a  large  picture  in  compartments.  These 
are  of  the  fourteenth  century.  A  later  example  shows 
four  saints  in  trefoil-headed  panels,  with  a  cornice 
above,  composed  of  a  seriesof  shell-headed  tops  of  niches. 
These  originally  formed  the  doors  of  a  cupboard.  There 
are  also  said  to  be  a  psalter  and  antiphonary  of  the  four- 
teenth century,  and  a  Bull  of  Urban  V.  relating  to  the 
Crusades  of  1365.  The  ancient  baptistery  stood  opposite 
the  cathedral,  if  one  may  trust  the  views  in  Carpaccio's 
picture,  and  in  one  by  Domenico  Tintoretto  in  the  town- 
hall.  The  modern  one  is  on  the  slope  of  the  hill,  just 
below  the  campanile.  It  contains  an  early  rectangular 
font.  On  the  side  facing  the  door  is  a  carving  similar 
to  that  on  the  font  at  Venzone — a  naked  youth  astride 
of  a  sea-monster,  said  to  typify  the  control  of  the  bodily 
appetites  by  the  reason.  The  other  sides  are  much 
damaged. 

The  other  important  church  is  that  of  S.  Francesco, 
which  has  a  good  early  Renaissance  doorway  and  a 
cloister,  some  seventeenth-century  carved  chairs,  several 
Venetian  pictures,  and  an  early  altar-piece.  On  the 
facade  a  curious  inscription  is  set  in  the  wall,  which 
states  that  the  church  was  dedicated  onS.  Mark's  Eve, 
1344,  and  that  seven  altars  were  then  consecrated  by 
seven  bishops — nine  being  mentioned,  however — 
Justinoplensis  (Capodistria),  Enonensis  (Cittanova), 
Parentinus,  Polensis,  Petenesinus  (Pisino),  Capiolensis, 
Evelinensis  (Buie),  Domatensis,  Soaralensis.  The  lion 
of  the  church  is,  however,  the  fine  Carpaccio  in  the  chapel 
to  the  left  at  the  bottom  of  the  nave,  dated  1518,  and 
signed  "  Victoris  Charpatii  Veneti  opus,"  considered  by 
some  his  best  work.     It  represents  the  Virgin  seated, 


PICTURES   BY   THE   TWO   CARPACCIOS    99 

and  holding  the  Child  to  her  breast.  He  has  two 
cherries  in  His  left  hand ;  to  His  right  are  three  saints 
— S.  Francis  with  a  cross,  S.  George,  and  S.  Louis  of 
Toulouse  ;  to  the  left,  S.  Anthony,  Santa  Chiara,  and 
S.  Louis  of  France.  At  the  feet  of  the  Virgin  are  two 
angels  with  lute  and  violin  on  each  side  of  a  pot  of  lilies  ; 
a  pillared  hall,  with  a  view  of  Pirano  in  the  distance, 
forms  the  background.  The  chapel  has  pilasters  with 
very  beautiful  arabesques.  The  design  of  the  architec- 
ture and  of  the  picture  agrees  perfectly,  and  it  is  evident 
that  it  was  intended  that  the  painted  architecture 
should  continue  the  effect  of  perspective,  which  com- 
mences with  the  reality  of  carved  and  built-up  marble. 

In  the  office  of  the  salt-works  is  a  picture  by  Car- 
paccio's  son  Benedetto,  signed  and  dated  1541,  which 
came  from  S.  Lucia  di  Val  di  Fasano.  It  shows  the 
Virgin  seated  with  the  Child  in  a  little  shirt,  in  the  act  of 
blessing.  On  the  left  is  S.  Lucy,  on  the  right  S.  George 
standing,  with  their  heads  on  the  same  level  as  the 
Virgin,  and  therefore  on  a  smaller  scale.  The  throne 
has  a  very  shallow  step.  The  figure  of  S.  George  is  a 
repetition  of  that  by  Benedetto's  father  in  S.  Francesco. 

In  the  PiazzaTartini,  near  a  fourteenth-century  house 
of  Venetian  Gothic,  once  the  palace  of  the  family  of  del 
Bello,  is  a  modern  statue  of  Tartini  the  violinist  (1692- 
1770),  who  here  commenced  the  study  of  music,  which 
led  him  to  extraordinary  executive  triumphs  and  the 
production  of  the  celebrated  "  Trillo  del  diavolo." 

Outside  the  walls,  on  the  road  to  Porto  Rose,  are 
the  ruins  of  the  monastery  of  S.  Bernardino,  founded  in 
1450  by  S.  Giovanni  da  Capistrano,  to  whom  the  ruined 
convent  on  the  island  opposite  Rovigno  is  also  due.  It 
once  possessed  a  Vivarini,  a  Madonna  with  a  sleeping 
Child,  which  was  sent  to  Vienna  in  1803.  In  the  church 
of  S.  George  is  a  fragment  of  a  carved  stall  with  a  figure 
of  the  saint,  which  should  be  mentioned. 


ioo  MUGGIA   TO    PIRANO 

The  town  of  Salvore  seems  to  "have  been  under  the 
jurisdiction  of  Pirano,  and  the  commune  held  a  fair  there 
on  S.  John  the  Baptist's  Day,  to  celebrate  the  naval 
battle  in  1177,  in  which  Frederick  Barbarossa  was  con- 
quered in  the  deep  bay  between  it  and  Pirano.  The 
jousts,  boat-races,  and  hunts  which  were  held  then  and 
on  the  feasts  of  Pentecost  and  S.  Orligo  were  so  sump- 
tuous that  the  provveditore  limited  the  expenditure. 

The  last  boat  for  Trieste  left  Pirano  at  1.30  p.m.,  an 
hour  so  ridiculously  early,  that  we  determined  to  walk 
to  Isola  and  proceed  thence  by  train.  We  started  off 
bravely  up  the  steep  road  which  led  to  the  fifteenth-cen- 
tury Porta  di  Raspo,  obtaining  fine  views  down  the  alleys 
and  through  garden  doors  as  we  ascended  the  hill. 
High  above  our  heads  the  battlements  towered,  and  as 
we  approached  the  walls  we  realised  what  a  business  it 
must  have  been  to  attack  a  town  so  protected  before  the 
invention  of  gunpowder.  Soon  the  road  bent  away  to 
the  right,  which  was  not  the  direction  in  which  we  wished 
to  go,  but  a  path  led  to  some  brick-works,  and  there  we 
found  an  idle  workman,  who  advised  us  to  go  along  the 
shore  as  being  much  shorter.  So  we  plunged  and  slid 
about  among  rocks  of  a  considerable  size,  and  skirted 
the  base  of  slippery  cliffs,  and  ploughed  through  sand 
and  shingle  for  some  miles,  rejoicing  when  we  met  the 
road  again  in  a  flat  piece  of  land  where  there  were  salt- 
pans. From  this  point  it  made  a  long  sweep  inland  and 
then  rose  in  wide  curves  up  the  shoulder  of  a  hill  which 
divided  us  from  Isola.  Here  we  saw  a  train  draw  up  to 
take  on  board  two  gentlemen  and  a  little  boy ;  there  was 
no  sign  of  station  or  halting-place,  and  we  wondered 
whether  all  that  was  necessary  was  to  stand  by  the  line 
and  wave  one's  hand  to  the  driver  in  order  to  be  taken 
up  !  A  stony  path  led  us  to  the  summit — another  short 
cut,  which  happily  called  for  less  exertion  than  our  pre- 
vious jaunt  along  the  shore — and  a  charming  view  amply 


ISOLA  101 

repaid  us  for  our  labours.  In  the  foreground  the  stony 
path  dropped  between  steep  banks,  the  soil  being  oc- 
cupied by  vines  and  olives,  with  a  little  shrine  perched 
on  one  of  the  banks.  In  the  middle  distance  Isola  lay 
like  a  jewel  upon  the  sea,  opalescent  with  delicate  blue 
shadows  and  the  indescribable  tints  of  grey  stone  build- 
ings at  a  distance  in  sunlight  ;  with  the  campanile 
crowning  the  slight  elevation  of  the  clustered  houses. 
Beyond  were  the  horns  of  the  Bay  of  Capodistria  and 
the  highlands  of  the  Julian  Alps,  blue  in  the  shadow 
of  the  declining  sun.  A  few  lighter  houses  scattered 
along  the  peninsula  served  to  soften  the  transition  from 
the  grey  town  to  the  green  country. 

The  town  is  at  least  as  old  as  the  beginning  of  the 
eleventh  century,  for  in  1041  it  was  ceded  to  the  monas- 
tery of  Aquileia  ;  at  this  time  it  was  probably  unwalled, 
for  in  1 1 65  the  Abbess  Valpert a  allowed  the  inhabitants 
to  remove  to  Monte  Albuciano  and  build  fresh  houses 
there,  as  they  did  not  feel  secure.  After  the  dedition  to 
Venice  in  1280  it  was  strengthened;  but  that  did  not  pre- 
vent a  body  of  the  patriarch's  troops  scaling  the  walls 
and  taking  it  on  August  25,  1379,  to  be  driven  out  a 
few  days  after  by  the  podestas  of  Capodistria,  Pirano, 
and  Umago.  Since  1411  it  has  been  joined  to  the  Capo- 
distria road  by  a  bridge,  and  no  one  would  now  sup- 
pose that  it  was  originally — as  its  name  denotes — an 
island.  Nine  square  towers  defended  the  walls,  and  the 
principal  gate  was  protected  by  a  barbican.  The  ditch 
was  so  useful  to  the  people  in  peaceful  times  that  the 
commune  threatened  with  severe  penalties  those  who 
went  by  night  to  deposit  in  it  the  refuse  of  their  houses 
and  stables.     No  trace  of  these  works  now  remains. 

The  Colleggiata  is  a  late  Renaissance  building,  but 
contains  some  interesting  things,  including  a  picture  by 
Girolamo  Santa  Croce  of  the  Madonna  enthroned,  with 
SS.  Nicholas  and  Joseph,  and  a  child  angel  with   a 


102  MUGGIA   TO   PIRANO 

violin  on  the  plinth,  signed  and  dated  1537,  but  re- 
stored. The  treasury  contains  a  fine  monstrance  of 
silver,  Gothic  in  design,  with  bands  of  pierced  work 
and  tabernacles  at  the  sides  on  twisted  columns.  It 
has  a  spire-like  top  with  windows  and  pinnacles  be- 
tween round  its  base,  a  feature  which  is  repeated  on  the 
knop.  In  the  seventeenth  century  several  figures  were 
added  or  replaced  and  the  stem  repaired.  The  Scuola 
dei  Battuti,  built  in  1451,  has  a  door  with  a  frescoed 
tympanum  beneath  a  pointed  arch  on  brackets,  a  good 
deal  weather-worn — Madonna  sheltering  the  penitents 
beneath  her  cloak — and  pretty  arabesque  scrolls  on 
the  soffit. 

Isola  is  delightful  from  outside ;  but  inside  there  is 
much  dirt,  and  little  food  for  the  traveller.  All  that  we 
could  obtain  was  bread  and  rough  red  wine.  While 
waiting  for  the  train,  as  the  sun  set  and  twilight  fell,  we 
saw  many  of  the  contadini  returning  from  their  work, 
most  of  them  on  donkeys  or  ponies — a  father  with  a 
little  son  before  or  behind  him,  a  man  in  a  black  cloak 
with  panniers  laden  with  branches  of  trees,  which  hid 
the  saddle,  and,  in  the  semi-obscurity,  made  them  look 
like  some  monstrous  beast  of  strange  form,  another 
perched  upon  a  great  bundle  of  hay  or  grass,  and  so  on, 
all  passing  rapidly  from  the  malaria  of  the  fields  to  the 
safety  of  the  malodorous  town. 

It  reminded  one  of  the  return  of  the  townspeople 
within  the  walls  at  nightfall  necessitated  by  the  medi- 
aeval custom  of  closing  the  gates  an  hour  after  "  Ave 
Maria,' '  after  which  none  could  enter  or  leave  the  cities ; 
and  how  the  lamps  of  the  shrines  were  the  only  illumina- 
tion of  the  streets,  about  which  none  were  allowed  to  go 
without  carrying  a  light. 

In  the  train  we  had  as  fellow  traveller  an  engineer 
who  spoke  English  well.  He  said  that  all  over  Istria 
nothing  could  be  obtained  to  eat  (except,  of  course,  in 


DRAWBACKS  103 

the  more  important  towns).  He  had  been  constructing 
a  new  line  near  Divaca,  where  nothing  was  obtainable, 
and  he  and  his  companions  had  been  obliged  to  take  a 
cook  and  all  supplies  with  them.  He  appeared  to  have 
a  very  bad  opinion  of  the  Triestines,  whom  he  character- 
ised as  drunken  swine,  which  we  had  not  observed  our- 
selves. He  said  that  beer  was  too  dear  for  the  majority, 
so  they  got  drunk  on  black  wine  and  brandy — a  state- 
ment which  sounded  strange  to  our  English  ears.  The 
smaller  boats,  being  for  the  use  of  the  country  people, 
are  very  inconvenient  for  tourists,  since  they  generally 
start  so  as  to  arrive  at  Trieste  early  in  the  day,  thus 
allowing  of  return  the  same  night  with  the  purchases 
made.  Baedeker  advises  an  excursion  to  Muggia  and 
on  to  Capodistria  and  Isola  and  Pirano,  "  returning  by 
boat  in  the  evening  "  ;  but  the  last  boat  from  Pirano 
leaves  at  1.30  p.m.,  and  the  last  one  from  Capodistria 
at  4.0  (by  which,  by-the-bye,  we  paid  twice  as  much  as 
we  paid  for  the  same  journey  in  the  morning),  and  after 
that  the  traveller  is  dependent  upon  the  little  railway, 
which  lands  him  in  Trieste  after  10.0  p.m.,  at  the 
S.  Andrea  Station,  rather  late  to  obtain  a  meal. 


VIII 

UMAGO    TO    PARENZO 

The  next  place  along  the  coast,  after  passing  the  Pro- 
montory of  Salvore  and  turning  south,  is  Umago.  It 
is  sheltered  behind  a  shoal,  upon  which  the  Chronicles 
say  that  the  ship  laden  with  the  relics  of  S.  Mark  struck 
during  a  storm  on  its  way  to  Venice.  It  was  given  as  a 
feud  to  the  bishop  of  Trieste  in  929,  at  Pavia,  by  Ugo 
of  Provence,  king  of  Italy,  and  to  the  bishop  of  Citta- 
nova  in  1029  or  103&  by  the  Emperor  Conrad.  It  had 
been  sacked  by  the  Slavs  of  Croatia  and  Dalmatia  in 
876,  at  the  same  time  with  Cittanova,  Rovigno,  and 
Sipar  (at  which  last  place  very  early  wall-paintings  are 
said  to  exist).  It  swore  fealty  to  Venice  in  1269  ;  but 
very  little  is  known  of  its  history,  the  English  appar- 
ently having  burnt  the  archives  in  the  piazza  early  in 
the  nineteenth  century.  At  that  period  no  one  seems 
to  have  thought  that  such  things  could  be  of  any  value  ; 
indeed  at  Portole,  about  1850,  the  podesta  actually  sold 
all  the  communal  deeds  to  the  grocer  of  the  place, 
thinking  them  useless  rubbish,  and  at  Cittanova  the 
parchments  were  used  by  the  citizens  to  mend  windows  ! 
Cittanova  lies  at  the  mouth  of  the  Quieto  valley 
which,  commencing  at  Pinguente,  passes  Montona  on 
its  isolated  hill  (visible  from  the  coast  like  lofty  Buie), 
and  terminates  in  a  marsh  seven  or  eight  miles  long.  The 
mouth  is  known  as  Porto  Torre,  from  a  little  place  on 
the  Parenzo  side  of  the  river.     The  city  was  a  Roman 

104 


CITTANOVA  105 

colony  with  the  name  ^Emonia,  and  the  seat  of  an  early 
Istrian  bishop.  A  few  years  ago  some  seventy  carved 
slabs  of  the  eighth  or  ninth  century  were  discovered  face 
downwards  in  the  pavement  of  the  crypt  of  the  basilica, 
which  appear  to  have  belonged  to  the  font  and  choir 
enclosure.  Among  them  are  several  archivolt  pieces, 
very  much  like  those  of  the  font  of  Calixtus  at  Cividale, 
which  show  by  a  mutilated  inscription  that  they  were 
due  to  Bishop  Maurizio,  apparently  a  bishop  suspected 
of  being  on  the  side  of  the  Franks,  and  therefore  blinded 
by  the  Byzantines  in  781.  The  slabs  are  all  of  Istrian 
stone,  except  one,  which  is  of  marble,  and  the  carvings 
therefore  may  possibly  to  some  extent  be  of  local 
workmanship,  though  we  know  that  Comacines  from 
Cividale  were  employed  in  Croatia.  They  have  the 
characteristic  Lombard  furrows  and  interweavings, 
and  other  details  met  with  in  different  parts  of  Italy. 
There  are  no  mouldings,  but  a  slight  bead  and  reel 
along  the  interior  edge  of  the  arches.  One  slab  shows 
two  birds  drinking  from  a  vase  in  the  upper  part,  and, 
below,  two  others  apparently  going  to  divide  a  fish — 
at  each  side  vine  scrolls  springing  from  vases ;  another 
is  carved  with  figures  of  griffins.  There  are  two 
window-slabs  with  pierced  patterns  :  one  has  simple 
rhomboidal  forms ;  the  other  a  central  stem,  with  curling 
branches  terminating  in  trefoils  of  much  more  ad- 
vanced type,  suggesting  the  panels  in  the  later  tomb  of 
the  Dogaressa  Michieli  in  the  atrium  of  S.  Mark's, 
Venice.  The  basilica  was  restored  in  1409-1414,  and  in 
the  sixteenth  century,  with  the  assistance  of  Venice, 
at  i  which  time  the  baldacchino  was  destroyed.  The 
church  stands  on  the  edge  of  the  land,  and  has  a  small 
round-arched  arcade  on  the  facade  divided  by  the  door- 
way, which  is  covered  with  a  pointed  hood  on  brackets. 
In  the  gable  is  an  oculus.  The  campanile  resembles 
S.  Mark's,  Venice,  as  is  usual.     Within,  a  Venetian  Ma- 

14 


106  UMAGO   TO   PARENZO 

donna  and  Child  is  preserved,  Mantegnesque  in  style, 
and  therefore  ascribed  to  Mantegna  or  John  Bellini. 
In  the  eighteenth  century  a  picture  by  the  latter  was 
sent  to  Venice  to  be  restored,  and,  if  this  is  the  picture, 
the  restoration  was  very  thorough.  The  baptistery, 
destroyed  in  1780,  had  a  vestibule  like  that  at 
Concordia.  It  was  octagonal,  with  four  little  round- 
headed  windows,  and  the  hexagonal  font  was  built 
up  from  the  floor,  the  rim  being  level  with  the  top- 
.most  of  the  three  steps  which  surrounded  the  building. 
Three  steps  also  descended  into  it. 

The  city  swore  fealty  to  Venice  in  1270.  It  still 
retains  a  portion  of  its  ancient  battlemented  walls, 
which  have  a  curious  feature — a  projecting  spur,  which 
runs  out  into  the  sea  a  long  way,  and  was  probably 
intended  to  make  the  sea-front  secure  at  low  water. 
The  commune  was  very  zealous  in  its  preparations  for 
war,  and,  according  to  the  statute,  a  citizen  who 
wounded  or  killed  a  spectator  during  military  evolu- 
tions or  practice  was  able  to  secure  immunity  from 
punishment  ! 

In  1466  the  see  was  divided  from  the  patriarchate 
of  Venice  by  Paul  II.,  Francesco  Contarini  being  made 
bishop,  and  was  enriched  by  the  gift  of  the  property  of 
the  suppressed  bishopric  of  Equilium.  Fifty  years 
before  leave  was  granted  to  the  then  bishop  to  sell  wine 
grown  in  his  vineyards  outside  the  territory. 


IX 

PARENZO 

The  next  town  along  the  coast,  Parenzo,  is  celebrated 
for  its  fine  sixth-century  cathedral,  the  pride  of  the 
whole  of  Istria  "  the  land  of  basilicas/ '  and  is  the  head- 
quarters of  the  Istrian  Archaeological  Society,  several  of 
whose  members  have  devoted  much  time  and  money  to 
the  elucidation  of  the  history,  construction,  and  decora- 
tion of  the  building. 

The  excavations  undertaken  by  the  late  Monsignore 
P.  Deperis,  Parroco  Decano,  showed  that  there  have 
been  four  main  epochs  of  construction,  as  well  as  restora- 
tions and  embellishments :  (i)  Roman,  or  Early  Chris- 
tian, (2)  Byzantine,  (3)  Gothic,  and  (4)  Modern.  There 
was  a  primitive  Christian  basilica  to  the  north  of  the 
present  one  ;  and  Euphrasius,  in  the  sixth  century,  built 
his  church  upon  the  foundations  of  a  second,  which  had 
succeeded  it.  The  site  of  the  first  was  used  as  a  ceme- 
tery till  the  end  of  the  eighteenth  century,  and  was  then 
made  into  the  garden  of  the  bishop's  palace.  It  was 
oblong  in  shape,  like  the  most  ancient  Christian 
churches,  and  had  no  apse,  being  75  ft.  6  in.  long  and 
55  ft.  9  in.  wide.  It  had  one  main  door  of  entrance,  and 
the  altar  was  at  the  eastern  end  of  the  northern  portion. 
The  pavement  is  5  ft.  9  in.  below  the  level  of  the  basilica 
of  Euphrasius.  In  the  south  wall  of  the  portion  first 
discovered  (one  half  of  the  total  area)  a  door,  the  cill  of 
which  is  still  preserved,  led  to  an  oratory.     On  the 

107 


108  PARENZO 

mosaic  pavement  is  this  inscription  in  black  letters  on 
a  white  ground  : 

[Lu]picinvs 

[et  PaJscASiA 

[cum  r]EVERENTiA  FA[mula] 

FE[cerunt  pedes]  c[entum]. 

The  remains  of  this  pavement  are  good  in  design  and 
execution,  and  the  colours  are  well  distributed.  The 
nave  was  surrounded  by  a  broad  white  band,  within 
which  was  another  still  broader,  sown  with  starred 
crosses.  The  panels  with  subjects  were  also  surrounded 
by  a  similar  band.  In  the  first  panel  from  the  door  is  a 
crown  formed  of  a  triple  row  of  leaves  within  a  double 
circle  ;  the  outer  one  has  an  octagon  formed  of  me- 
anders, and  the  inner  a  circular  treatment  of  the  same 
kind.  Outside  are  lilies  and  other  flowers  within  geo- 
metrical forms,  and  the  whole  is  bordered  with  inter- 
laced lines.  In  the  small  circle  is  a  portion  of  an 
inscription,  the  right  part  of  which  has  been  destroyed 
by  a  tomb : 

iNFAN[tius]    - 
et  iNNOc[entia] 
ex  svo  p[alatio] 
BASi[licam  et] 

TEs[sellati] 
p[edes]. 

The  middle  panel  is  square  ;  within  it  is  a  handled 
crater  with  a  high  foot.  Two  branches  spring  from  it, 
which  are  bursting  into  flowers  and  leaves  ;  they  fill  the 
whole  space  with  their  convolutions.  At  the  top  is  an 
inscription : 

[Lu]picinvs  et  pascasia  p[edes]  cccc  F[ecerunt] ; 
and  at  the  bottom  another : 

clamosvs  mag  pver  et  svccessa   p[edes]  c[entum] 
felicissimvs  cvm  svis  p[edes]  c[entum]. 


THE    EARLIEST   CHURCH  109 

This  inscription    is  interesting  as  showing  that  there 


SEslgaaBi — mEa&BBd  1 


^^S.SSVV-v-^^qp; 


M    J   I   1    I   'i   » 


ca. 
2?  basilvca. 
Of>«rua$s  ftlUd  u|k. 


PLAN    OF    THE   THREE    BASILICAS,    PARENZO 

was  a  school  attached  to  the  basilica  before  the  fourth 
century.     The  third   panel  surrounded   the  altar,  the 


no  PARENZO 

rectangle  of  which  is  marked  by  the  sunken  places  in 
the  marble  slab  where  the  columns  stood.  A  piece  of 
marble  of  the  same  size  as  the  sinkings  was  found  not 
far  away.  At  the  right  is  a  square  of  about  3  ft.  3  in., 
with  a  framing  of  white  bands  and  triangles  of  colour 
10  in.  broad,  reducing  the  internal  square  to  19  in.  In 
the  centre  is  a  portion  of  a  cross  based  on  the  swa- 
stika, and  a  fish.  On  the  left  a  cross,  formed  by  the 
intersection  of  two  oval  rings,  appears  above  the  fish. 
These  symbolic  crosses  point  to  a  very  early  date.  The 
doorstep  of  the  oratory  shows  signs  of  considerable 
wear,  and  the  mosaic  has  been  roughly  repaired  near  the 
word  picinvs.  The  fishes  are  apparently  insertions, 
later  in  date  than  the  original  mosaic  (which  has  the 
structural  characteristics  of  the  second  century).  This 
suggests  that  the  first  basilica  may  have  been  a  portion 
of  the  house  of  a  Christian  of  position,  of  which  ex- 
amples occur  in  Rome.  It  was  probably  burnt  when 
Diocletian  ordered  the  destruction  of  all  Christian 
churches  in  303  a.d.,  since  charcoal  was  found  amongst 
the  masonry.  The  pavement,  much  broken  up  by 
tombs  and  by  the  old  cistern  constructed  in  the  garden, 
extended  under  the  north  aisle  of  the  present  building ; 
and  the  site  of  the  altar  is  shown  by  lifting  a  trap-door 
in  the  chapel  in  the  north  arm  of  the  cross,  for  the 
present  basilica  was  made  cruciform  in  plan  ini.846-1847, 
by  the  erection  of  two  chapels.  The  mosaics  found  in 
the  garden  have  been  completely  excavated  ;  they  are 
covered  over  with  glazed  outhouses,  and  can  be  easily 
seen.  Later  excavations  made  in  1900  have  proved 
that  this  first  basilica  had  two  equal  naves,  and  remains 
of  a  marble  chancel  recalled  the  phrase  in  the  S.  Maurus 
inscription  found  beneath  the  high-altar  in  1846  :  "  ideo 
in  honorem  duplicatus  est  locus/ ' 

The  second  basilica  was  probably    Const antinian. 
The  present  one  coincides  with  it,  except  that  the  apse 


THE    SECOND    BASILICA  in 

is  polygonal  and  projects  towards  the  east,  and  that  the 
lines  of  the  walls  bend  a  little  to  the  left  from  a  line 
drawn  across  between  the  modern  chapels.  The  floor 
of  this  basilica  is  about  2  ft.  9  in.  below  that  of  the 
present  one.  The  mosaic  pavement  is  well  preserved 
nearly  all  over  the  surface ;  and  the  sacristan  opens 
numerous  trap-doors,  and  puts  down  tapers,  to  show 
the  most  interesting  portions.  The  cills  of  two  of  the 
doors  still  remain  9  in.  higher  and  much  worn  by 
traffic  ;  the  third  was  destroyed  to  place  a  sarcophagus 
against  the  wall  of  the  church.  Between  the  two  pave- 
ment levels  several  unfinished  caps  and  columns  of  lime- 
stone were  found,  and  also  two  pedestals  and  one  base 
among  the  foundations  of  the  present  nave  arcade. 

Beneath  the  presbytery  is  a  choir  and  presbytery 
of  the  form  used  in  the  most  ancient  Constantinian 
basilicas.  A  sloping  platform  led  up  to  the  step  upon 
which  the  bishop's  seat  stood  at  the  centre  of  the  semi- 
circle, flanked  by  seats  on  each  side  for  presbyters,  the 
places  being  marked  by  red  lines  painted  upon  the  fine 
plaster  which  covers  the  low  wall,  rising  about  8  in. 
above  the  floor,  itself  2  ft.  3 J  in.  above  the  level  of  that 
of  the  nave.  The  diameter  of  the  semicircle  is  about 
18  ft.,  and  it  is  floored  with  mosaic.  Outside  runs  a 
white  band  6  in.  wide,  within  which  is  a  band  of 
ornament  with  two  black  lines  at  each  side  ;  one  of 
them  dentilled.  This  feature  is  20  in.  wide,  with  a 
waving  stem  with  volutes  and  leaves  of  ivy  occupying 
the  central  12  in.,  black  and  grey  on  white.  In  the 
centre  of  all  are  other  black  leaves  and  scrolls  in  red, 
damaged  by  a  mediaeval  tomb.  Three  steps  led  down 
to  the  choir,  for  the  singers,  sub-deacons,  and  deacons. 
It  has  a  plaster  floor  of  a  porphyry  purple  colour,  and 
reaches  as  far  as  the'  third  column  of  the  present  nave, 
counting  from  the  east.  It  was  afterwards  extended 
on  a  lower  level,  reached  by  steps  on  each  side,  one  of 


ii2  PARENZO 

which  is  still  in  place.  The  mosaic  pavement  of  this 
lower  nave  continues  as  far  as  a  line  which  cuts  across 
the  central  apse,  appearing  outside  the  ends  of  the 
aisles,  as  well  as  outside  the  semicircle  of  the  pres- 
bytery just  described,  as  at  S.  Maria,  Grado.  The 
presbytery  wall  is  rough  masonry,  as  if  it  had  been 
external,  and  there  are  no  signs  of  its  having  been 
decorated  in  any  way ;  but  the  oblong  plan  with  the 
apse  some  way  within  is  found  also  at  Salona,  and  in 
Syria  and  North  Africa.  Traces  of  a  wall  parallel  to 
that  of  the  north  aisle,  and  beyond  it,  suggest  the 
existence  of  rooms  to  the  north. 

An  excavation  in  front  of  the  door  of  the  sacristy 
discovered  a  square  mosaic  on  this  level  with  inscrip- 
tion— 

THEOFRASTVS    [et] 

IANVARIVS   DIAC 

FEC  *  P  *  CCC 

— which  commenced  beneath  the  chord  of  the  existing 
apse  and  terminated  in  a  line  with  the  end  of  the  wall 
of  the  earlier  presbytery.  West  of  it,  and  separated 
by  a  smooth  and  even  division,  as  if  a  wall  or  screen 
had  been  there,  mosaics  previously  discovered  stretched 
to  the  west  door.  On  the  south  side  a  similar  division 
of  the  mosaic  was  found,  a  bit  of  a  colonnette  and  a 
few  fragments  as  of  a  balustrade  or  cancellum.  The 
spaces  thus  marked  off  were  probably  prothesis  and 
diaconicon,  the  latter  being  to  the  left,  where  the  two 
deacons  gave  the  pavement.  In  the  left  aisle  were 
five  different  designs  given  by  as  many  donors.  The 
right  aisle  was  simpler.  In  the  nave  an  inscription 
was  found  mentioning  the  Clamosus  who  was  named 
on  the  earlier  pavement,  but  in  conjunction  with 
Victorina,  either  his  daughter  or  a  second  wife.  This 
proves   that  no   great   time  intervened  between   the 


MARBLE    CAPITAL    OF    THE    SIXTH    CENTURY,    PARENZO 

To  face  page  113 


THE    PRESENT    CATHEDRAL  113 

erection  of  the  second  and  the  regular  use  of  the  first 
basilica.  The  inscription  found  beneath  the  high- 
altar,  already  referred  to,  mentions  two  churches,  and 
states  that  the  first  was  repaired  by  the  prayers  of 
S.  Maurus,  and  that  his  body  was  transferred  to  that 
place ;  and  calls  him  bishop  and  confessor.  Till  1354 
his  relics  remained  there,  when  the  Genoese  admiral, 
Pagano  Doria,  took  them  to  Genoa  as  booty  when  he 
had  sacked  the  city,  placing  them  in  the  abbey  church 
belonging  to  his  family.  The  Marquis  Doria  soon 
returned  them.  In  mediaeval  documents  the  district 
of  the  city  of  Parenzo  is  called  "  territorio,  terra  di 
S.  Mauro/' 

The  present  cathedral  was  erected  by  Euphrasius 
between  531  and  542.  This  is  proved  by  his  mosaic 
inscription,  which  states  that  "  in  the  eleventh  year 
of  his  episcopate  "  (543)  he  had  endowed  it ;  for  the 
endowment  would  naturally  come  after  the  building. 
He  found  the  second  basilica  likely  to  fall,  with  the 
roof  only  kept  up  by  chains.  The  columns  are  of 
Greek  cipollino,  like  those  at  S.  Vitale,  Spirito  Santo, 
S.  Francesco,  SS.  Apollinare  Nuovo  and  in  Classe, 
Ravenna,  and  in  S.  Maria,  Pomposa,  and  were  worked 
by  the  same  workmen  in  the  Proconesos  workshops  : 
for  on  columns  at  S.  Vitale  and  Parenzo,  and  also  at 
Pomposa,  are  found  the  same  mason's  marks,  mono- 
grams uniting  the  letters  IITE  for  Petrus  and  Iw 
for  Joannes.  The  bases  are  Attic,  as  at  Ravenna  and 
SS.  Sergius  and  Bacchus,  Constantinople ;  and,  of  the 
eighteen  caps  in  the  nave,  six  are  exactly  similar  to 
those  of  the  lower  arcade  of  S.  Vitale,  several  are  like 
others  at  Grado,  two  are  like  a  damaged  one  at  Pom- 
posa, and  others  are  much  like  some  at  Otranto  and 
Rome.  At  Venice,  too,  capitals  of  the  same  types 
occur  in  considerable  number.  The  super-abaci  are 
of  Greek  marble,  with  a  circular  plaque  bearing  the 

15 


ii4  PARENZO 

monogram  of  Euphrasius.  On  the  north  the  soffits 
of  the  arches  retain  the  original  stucco  ornaments,  all 
different ;    on  the  south  they  have  disappeared. 

The  mosaics  in  the  apse  closely  resemble  those  of  the 
Arian  baptistery  at  Ravenna  in  style.  The  figure  of 
S.  Maurus  might  almost  have  been  worked  from  the 
cartoon  of  one  of  the  Apostles  there.  In  the  centre  of 
the  semi-dome  is  a  figure  of  the  Virgin  with  the  Infant 
Saviour,  clothed  in  white  and  gold.  Above,  a  hand 
holding  a  crown  emerges  from  clouds.  On  each  side  are 
an  angel  and  three  large  figures  ;  on  the  left  are  Arch- 
bishop Claudius,  Euphrasius  the  bishop,  with  a  small 
figure  of  his  son,  and  S.  Maurus,  holding  a  jewelled 
urn  ;  Euphrasius  holds  his  church.  The  three  figures 
on  the  other  side  are  unnamed  ;  one  bears  a  book,  and 
the  other  two  crowns.  The  ground  is  gold,  and  below, 
at  the  springing  of  the  dome,  is  the  long  dedicatory 
inscription  in  gold  letters  on  a  blue  ground.  On  the 
wall  below  are  mosaics  between  the  windows.  An 
angel  occupies  the  central  pier,  and  on  the  piers  on 
either  side  is  a  saint,  probably  SS.  Maurus  and  John 
the  Baptist.  On  the  wide  wall  spaces  beyond  the 
windows  are  the  Annunciation  on  the  north,  and  the 
Salutation  on  the  south.  The  soffit  of  the  triumphal 
arch  has  medallions  of  female  saints  within  wreaths, 
and  at  the  summit  an  Agnus  Dei.  The  lower  part  of 
the  wall  is  separated  from  the  mosaics  by  an  orna- 
mental plaster  moulding,  and  is  decorated  with  a 
remarkably  fine  series  of  panels  in  opus  sectile,  eight 
designs  in  couples  answering  to  each  other  on  either 
side,  with  a  single  design  above  the  bishop's  seat  in 
the  centre,  on  which  the  monogram  of  Euphrasius 
again  occurs.  The  colours  and  materials  used  are 
green  and  red  porphyry,  two  blues,  a  green  vitreous 
paste,  a  dull-red  marble,  and  a  bluish-green  marble 
which  has  perished  a  good  deal  and  is  now  preserved 


OPUS     SECTILE     IN     THE     APSE,      CATHEDRAL,      PARENZO 

To  face  page  114 


MOSAICS   AND    OPUS    SECTILE  115 

under  glass  plates  cut  to  fit  the  shapes,  occasional  spots 
of  a  beautiful  orange  colour,  like  a  marble  used  in 
inlays  at  S.  Vitale,  a  very  dark  blue,  almost  black,  a 
pale  yellow-green,  and  a  pale  purple  like  chocolate 
powder.  The  white  is  generally  mother-of-pearl,  or 
marble,  veined  with  a  pale  grey,  and  a  good  deal  of 
Oriental  alabaster  is  used.  The  panel  above  the  simple 
bishop's  throne  has  a  hill,  with  a  golden  cross  on  a 
green  ground  diapered  with  mother-of-pearl,  and  with 
tall  panels  at  the  sides  with  the  seven  golden  candle- 
sticks. On  a  lower  level  than  the  throne  a  marble 
seat  runs  round  the  apse,  terminated  by  two  slabs 
carved  with  dolphins. 

The  architect,  Signor  Tommaso  Natale,  discovered  a 
mosaic  above  the  triumphal  arch  a  few  years  ago,  which 
had  been  hidden  by  the  late  Renaissance  "  improve- 
ments/'  It  consisted  of  a  long  strip  of  gold,  on  which 
the  Apostles  stood,  clothed  in  white  robes  gemmed  with 
crosses,  six  on  each  side  of  a  central  figure  of  Christ, 
robed  in  purple  and  seated  on  the  globe.  He  has  a 
cruciferous  nimbus,  and  is  blessing  with  the  right  hand, 
whilst  with  the  left  He  holds  an  open  book  inscribed 
"  ego  svm  lvx  vera."  On  the  right  are  S.  Peter  with  the 
keys,  S.  Andrew  with  a  book,  S.  James  with  a  crown, 
SS.  Bartholomew  and  Thomas  with  books,  and  S.  Simon 
with  a  crown  ;  on  the  left  S.  Paul  with  two  scrolls, 
S.  John  with  a  crown,  SS.  Philip  and  Matthew  with 
books,  S.  James  Alpheus  with  a  crown,  and  S.  Jude  with 
a  book.  The  names  are  inscribed  above  the  figures,  and 
a  band  of  dark  red  with  golden  gems  surrounds  the 
whole.  The  heads  of  Christ  and  SS.  Bartholomew  and 
Matthew  were  damaged  by  brackets  belonging  to  the 
roof.  The  whole  of  these  mosaics  have  been  restored 
by  a  Roman  mosaicist,  Signor  Bornia. 

The  altar  of  Euphrasius  was  retained  till  the  time 
of  Bishop  Folcherius  (1208-1220),    who  substituted  a 


u6  PARENZO 

larger  one  to  contain  more  relics.  A  few  years  after, 
Bishop  Adalpert  raised  the  level  of  the  choir  about 
eight  inches,  and  the  altar  to  correspond,  reconsecrating 
it  May  8,  1233.  The  present  ciborium  was  put  up  in 
1277  by  Bishop  Otho,  using  the  old  columns  and  caps. 
It  has  slightly  pointed  arches,  with  Venetian  dentil 
borderings,  and  mosaics  in  the  spandrils.  On  the  west 
side  is  the  Annunciation,  and  on  the  other  three  sides 
heads  of  saints  in  circles  ;  the  vault  is  also  covered  with 
mosaic.  A  long  inscription  in  Lombardic  letters  gives 
the  date  and  the  name  of  the  donor. 

The  pala  was  made  in  1452,  and  cost  600  ducats 
of  gold,  half  of  which  the  commune  contributed  by 
selling  useless  church  objects,  while  half  was  paid  by 
Bishop  Giovanni,  a  Parentine  by  birth.  It  is  a  fine 
work  in  the  style  of  the  early  Renaissance,  with  a 
Virgin  and  Child  in  the  centre,  S.  Mark  to  the  right,  and 
S.  Peter  to  the  left,  and  outside  of  them  a  bishop  with 
an  elaborate  crozier,  and  a  deacon  holding  a  model  of 
the  town — SS.  Maurus  and  Eleutherius.  The  figures 
are  within  classical  niches,  the  sides  of  which  vanish 
in  perspective  towards  the  central  point.  Along  the 
cornice  runs  a  series  of  small  medallions  with  busts 
of  the  Apostles.  In  the  chapel  of  the  Sacrament  are 
some  stalls  to  which  the  same  date  (1452)  is  given. 
They  are  quite  Gothic  as  to  the  ornament  and  structure, 
and  even  the  figures  present  considerable  contrast 
with  those  of  the  pala.  There  are  five  seats  with 
backs,  canopy,  and  ends  at  each  side  of  the  altar. 
At  each  end  are  well-executed  figures  among  foliage 
scrolls,  which  are  out  of  scale — on  one  side,  a 
Virgin  and  Child  and  a  bishop  ;  on  the  other,  two  saints, 
one  of  whom  is  an  ecclesiastic.  The  uprights  between 
the  seats  are  faced  with  twisted  colonnettes,  and  the 
backs  have  a  quatrefoil  pattern  made  by  cutting  the 
bars  of  a  rectangular  framing  ornamentally. 


HIGH-ALTAR,    PARENZO,    FROM    THE    SOUTH    AISLE 

To  face  page  tt6 


TREASURES    OF   THE    CATHEDRAL       117 

In  the  sacristy  is  a  picture  by  Antonio  da  Murano 
in  the  original  frame. 
Both  frame  and  pic- 
ture are  in  a  bad 
state,  the  gesso 
having  scaled  off 
in  places.  In  the 
centre  is  the 
Madonna  and  Child, 
flanked  by  two  full- 
length  saints  on 
each  side,  SS.  Fran- 
cis and  Nicholas, 
S.  Simeon,  and 
another  male  saint ; 
above  the  Virgin  is 
a  half-length  of  the 
dead  Christ  ;  and, 
above  the  other 
saints,  half-lengths 
of  SS.  Mary  Mag- 
dalene and  Christo- 
pher, Catherine  and 
Anthony.  It  is 
signed  "  Antonius 
de  Muriano,  1448. " 
In  the  treasury  is  a 
Greek  Benedictional 
cross,  with  subjects 
carved  in  wood, 
and  a  silver-gilt 
enamelled  case. 
There  are  five  sub- 
jects  On    each    face,  GREEK  benedictional  cross,  parenzo 

well  carved  and  traditional  in  their  design.     On  one 
side  is  the  Annunciation  at  the  top ;  in  the  centre, 


u8  PARENZO 

the  Baptism,  with  angels  assisting ;  at  each  end,  an 
Evangelist  seated  ;  below,  Christ  as  Judge  between  two 
saints,  and  at  His  feet  men  in  the  abyss.  On  the  other 
side  is  the  Presentation  in  the  Temple  at  the  top ;  in 
the  centre,  the  Crucifixion,  with  the  thieves,  the  Virgin, 
and  holy  women.  Two  Evangelists  are  seated  in  the 
arms,  and  below  is  either  the  Resurrection,  or  the 
Harrowing  of  Hell.  The  case  has  jewels  and  pearls 
inserted  plentifully,  and  is  decorated  with  floral 
enamelled  ornament  in  green,  blue,  and  red  enamel. 
It  is  made  to  take  to  pieces.  The  handle  bears  the 
name  of  the  maker,  "  Ezechiel,  monk  of  the  monastery 
of  Laura."  It  is  ascribed  to  the  thirteenth  century, 
but  is  very  like  those  at  Kloster  Savina  in  the  Bocche, 
which  are  seventeenth-century,  the  character  of  the 
floral  design  agreeing  well  with  that  period. 

In  1847  Bishop  Peteani  made  considerable  altera- 
tions, which  included  the  re-arrangement  of  the  high- 
altar  to  face  the  east ;  and  at  that  time  the  relics  of 
SS.  Julian  and  Demetrius  were  found  in  a  square  chest 
of  white  marble  inscribed  with  the  date  of  consecration 
and  the  name  of  the  maker,  Adalpert.  The  ambo  in 
the  right  aisle,  made  up  of  columns  and  carved  slabs 
of  the  sixth  century,  is  due  to  him,  as  are  the  chapels 
to  right  and  left  of  the  nave.  The  present  pavement 
was  laid  down  in  1880,  when  some  inscriptions  of  the 
Euphrasian  period  were  removed  to  the  baptistery. 
The  triapsidal  chapel,  entered  through  an  elliptical  ante- 
room, beyond  the  sacristy,  was  probably  a  relic  chapel, 
and  is  of  the  sixth  century — a  mosaic  of  that  date  was 
found  here  five  feet  below  the  surface  ;  but  the  vaulted 
passage  by  which  it  is  approached  is  of  the  thirteenth 
century,  while  the  superstructure  of  the  chapel  is 
Venetian,  added  to  assist  in  the  defence  of  the  place 
from  this  side,  for  the  sea  is  quite  close.  To  the  east  of 
the  city  towards  Torre  Nuova  a  Christian  cemetery  was 


THE    ATRIUM    AND    WESTERN    FACADE,    CATHEDRAL,    PARENZO 

To  face  page  119 


THE    ATRIUM    AND    FACADE  119 

discovered  in  1893  close  to  the  road,  consisting  of  three 
little  apsed  buildings  close  together,  a  larger  one  with 
a  small  one  contiguous,  with  buildings  belonging  to  the 
original  villa  which  occupied  that  site  at  the  end  of 
the  first  or  beginning  of  the  second  century.  A  coin  of 
Vespasian  was  found  at  the  time,  and  a  ring  with 
a  palm  engraved  on  it.  There  are  several  tombs  of 
the  kind  in  Rome  belonging  to  the  fourth  century. 
The  mosaics  found  in  the  fifth  building  are  now  in  the 
baptistery.  It  is  believed  that  these  buildings  were 
memorial  chapels  erected  over  the  tombs  of  the  Paren- 
tine  martyrs,  and  that  the  greater  part  of  the  materials 
was  used  in  the  erection  of  the  church  of  S.  Eleutherius 
near,  after  the  translation  of  the  relics  to  the  cathedral. 
The  plan  of  the  atrium  of  the  cathedral  is  Roman, 
not  Byzantine  like  those  at  Grado,  Ravenna,  and  Con- 
stantinople, which  have  a  portico  and  the  baptistery 
at  the  side,  separate  from  the  basilica.  In  this  case 
the  pavement  of  the  atrium  was  seven  or  eight  inches 
above  that  of  the  narthex.  Along  the  facade  a  herring- 
bone pattern  pavement  of  white  and  red  tesserae  was 
found  which  continued  farther  to  the  north.  The 
gable  of  the  church  was  decorated  with  mosaic  ;  be- 
tween the  windows  the  seven  Apocalyptic  candlesticks 
were  represented,  and  there  were  figures  at  the  sides, 
all  within  a  containing  border.  This  has  been  restored. 
Above,  in  the  centre,  the  feet  of  a  figure  of  Christ 
seated  on  the  globe  may  be  traced,  and  folds  of  the 
draperies  of  figures  at  the  sides.  Scarcely  any  of  the 
tesserae  remain,  but  the  lights  of  the  drawing  appear 
in  relief.  A  certain  test  of  the  age  of  the  different 
parts  of  the  building  is  afforded  by  the  quality  of  the 
mortar  used.  By  this  it  is  proved  that  the  eastern 
apse  is  due  purely  to  Euphrasius,  the  foundations  being 
set  in  mortar  of  the  kind  used  by  him  ;  and  also  that 
he  kept  the  atrium  pretty  much  as  it  was,  only  adding 


120  PARENZO 

the  columns  with  Byzantine  caps.  The  baptistery  on 
the  other  side  also  was  very  little  altered.  It  had  a 
floor  of  stucco,  and  was  circular  internally  ;  enough  was 
found  between  the  campanile  and  the  door  from  the 
piazza  into  the  atrium  to  develop  the  whole  curve. 
Euphrasius  made  it  octagonal,  and  surrounded  the  font 
with  marble  slabs,  the  marks  of  which  still  remain  ;  a 
few  fragments  were  found,  together  with  some  gilded 
and  coloured  tesserae,  showing  that  it  had  mosaic 
enrichments.  It  is  now  used  to  store  discarded 
portions  of  the  early  buildings.  Here  is  the  Euphrasian 
altar,  standing  on  a  slab  of  marble  with  sunk  squares 
in  the  corners  for  the  bases  of  the  ciborium  columns, 
and  enough  panels  and  colonnettes  to  make  a  restora- 
tion of  the  chancel  of  the  choir,  though  it  is  equally 
likely  that  they  belonged  to  a  baldacchino  above  the 
font,  similar  to  that  which  still  exists  at  Cividale,  and 
once  existed  at  Pola  and  at  Cittanova.  Here  are  also 
two  caps  from  the  fourth-century  church,  fragments  of 
mosaic  pavement  found  in  mediaeval  tombs,  and  a  good 
many  pieces  of  eighth  and  ninth-century  carving. 

The  survival  of  the  Constantinian  plan  is  explained 
by  the  slight  alterations  made  by  Euphrasius.  The 
walled-up  doors  in  the  baptistery  show  that  it  was  not 
an  isolated  building.  They  probably  gave  entrance  to 
dressing-rooms  for  the  two  sexes  attached  to  it,  waiting- 
rooms  for  the  baptized  and  their  relations,  &c.  ;  and 
an  arch  of  the  fourth  century,  near  to  v/hich  the  herring- 
bone pavement  runs,  was  probably  the  entrance  to  a 
portico  joining  the  basilica  with  the  baptistery  or  the 
consignatorium,  where  the  bishop  anointed  the  neo- 
phytes directly  after  baptism,  before  they  made  their 
solemn  entry  into  the  church.  This  latter  building  still 
exists  as  the  "  cantina  "  of  the  bishop's  palace — a  true 
basilica,  with  a  nave  almost  square,  and  with  a  double- 
walled  apse  on  the  north,  and  corridors  east  and  west, 


EASTER   EVE    CEREMONIAL  121 

approached  on  the  south  side  by  a  portico.  In  front 
was  an  oblong  court.  The  walls  are  all  of  Roman 
work,  and  the  outer  apse  has  an  arcade  on  pilasters, 
with  large  arched  windows.  A  few  years  ago  repairs 
to  the  roof  led  to  the  discovery  of  windows  in  the  inner 
apse.  The  work  round  the  doors  is  Euphrasian.  The 
corridors  were  spanned  by  arches,  which  are  now  built 
up,  and  thus  make  small  rooms.  There  was  a  second 
story,  which  was  the  bishop's  palace  ;  but  the  second 
floor  of  the  west  wing  is  mediaeval,  and  it  is  probable 
that  the  great  hall  was  made  at  that  period  by  dividing 
the  basilica  horizontally  on  the  level  of  the  second 
story.  After  the  custom  of  anointing  the  newly 
baptized  in  the  const gnatorium  was  abandoned,  it 
became  the  chapel  of  S.  Nicolo,  then  of  S.  Mary  Mag- 
dalene, and  the  original  use  was  quite  forgotten.  The 
campanile  is  of  the  fifteenth  century  and  uninteresting. 
It  was  Easter  Eve  on  the  occasion  of  our  first  visit 
to  Parenzo,  and  while  we  were  studying  the  architecture 
women  were  constantly  bringing  their  Easter  cakes 
and  other  food  to  be  blessed  at  the  altar  of  S.  Maurus 
in  the  north  aisle.  Later  there  was  a  Resurrection 
service  with  a  fine  procession,  with  many  men  and  boys 
robed  in  scarlet  carrying  long  candles.  A  crucifer  in 
purple  bore  the  capitular  cross,  followed  by  canons  in 
violet  and  other  officials,  the  bishop's  coachman  in  a 
long  blue  buttoned  coat,  two  little  acolytes  in  sur- 
plices, with  cloths  embroidered  with  crosses  on  their 
shoulders  and  censers,  deacons  in  dalmatics  of  cloth  of 
gold,  a  suffragan  bishop  in  cope  of  cloth  of  gold  and  a 
white  mitre,  and  the  bishop  similarly  robed.  A  large 
painted  flag  of  red  silk  was  carried  in  the  procession, 
and  two  small  painted  figures  of  our  Lord,  one  on 
the  cross,  and  the  other,  a  half-length,  emergent  from 
the  tomb.  The  bishop,  fully  robed,  went  first  into  the 
capitular   chapel  and  then  to  the  chapel  of  the  Holy 

16 


122  PARENZO 

Sacrament,  where  the  dead  Christ  was  laid  out  in  a 
tomb,  took  the  Host  and  brought  it  out,  being  then 
bareheaded  beneath  a  canopy.  The  procession  then 
filed  out  into  the  atrium,  leaving  it  by  the  bishop's  door 
at  the  side  of  the  baptistery,  and,  passing  through  the 
street,  regained  the  atrium  by  the  usual  entrance. 
The  Host  was  then  placed  on  the  high-altar,  and  a  kind 
of  benediction  service  held,  in  which  a  fine  bass  sang 
several  solos.  The  church  was  thronged  by  a  devout 
crowd  of  both  sexes  and  all  classes. 

The  city  was  called  "  Julia  Parentium  "  under  the 
Romans,  from  the  colony  of  legionaries  sent  by  Au- 
gustus. The  tribute  to  Rome  was  as  much  as  that 
paid  by  Pola,  the  capital  of  the  province.  There  were 
temples  to  Mars  and  Neptune,  of  which  there  are  some 
remains,  drums  of  a  few  of  the  columns  and  a  portion 
of  the  podium  and  steps,  now  used  as  the  lower  courses 
of  poor  houses.  The  buildings  were  destroyed  in  the 
fifteenth  century,  the  materials  being  used  to  construct 
the  quay.  The  main  street  leading  from  this  part  of 
the  town  to  the  Porta  a  Terra  may.  be  the  Via  Decu- 
mana  of  a  Roman  camp.  The  site  of  the  amphi- 
theatre is  indicated  by  the  curved  line  of  the  houses 
built  on  its  foundations,  but  there  are  no  remains  of 
Roman  work  visible.  Reliefs  of  the  tenth  century  are 
encrusted  in  the  wall  of  a  house  on  the  site  of  the 
ancient  church  of  S.  Peter ;  and  the  Casa  dei  Santi  in 
the  Via  Predol,  which  probably  occupies  part  of  the 
area  of  the  convent  and  church  of  S.  Cassiano,  has  two 
figures  on  brackets  between  the  windows  of  the  first 
floor,  apparently  late  eleventh-century  work.  The 
Canonica,  built  in  125 1,  a  fine  piece  of  Romanesque 
domestic  architecture,  has  six  two-light  windows  on 
the  first  floor,  and  shell-headed  niches  round  the  door, 
with  a  cross  and  inscriptions.  It  was  burnt  in  1488, 
and  in  the  eighteenth  century  was  converted  by  the 


MEDIEVAL   BUILDINGS  123 

chapter  into  a  store  for  the  tithes  of  wine,  corn,  oil,  and 
fruit,  but  has  been  restored,  together  with  the  adjoining 
entrance  to  the  atrium.  There  are  several  Venetian 
palaces  in  the  main  street.  One,  of  the  fourteenth 
century,  is  especially  fine.  It  has  big  cable  string- 
courses and  brackets  of  lions'  heads  and  necks,  and  a 
large  and  imposing  window  on  the  first  floor. 

There  have  been  three  enceintes :  (a)  Roman  ;  (b) 
that  completed  about  1250  under  Patriarch  Warner  of 
Gillach  ;  (c)  a  third  commenced  in  the  fifteenth  century 
on  the  same  lines,  but  a  little  larger.  In  the  eighteenth 
century  the  circuit  of  the  walls  was  about  a  mile. 
There  were  two  principal  gates — the  Porta  a  Mare  and 
the  Porta  a  Terra — and  two  posterns  made  for  the 
convenience  of  the  inhabitants.  The  city  was  divided 
into  four  Rioni — Pusterla,  Porta  Nuova,  Marafor,  and 
Predol.  The  existing  square  tower  flanking  the  Porta 
a  Terra  was  erected  in  1447  under  Nicolo  Lion  ;  he 
signs  it  with  initials,  and  there  is  a  coat  of  arms  be- 
neath the  panel  of  the  lion  of  S.  Mark.  At  the  bottom 
of  the  frame  are  the  date  and  an  inscription  giving  the 
name  of  the  architect,  "  Mag.  Johannes  de  Pari  Ter- 
gestinus,"  and  of  his  son  Lazarus,  the  sculptor.  His 
name  occurs  on  the  architrave  of  the  rebuilt  church  of 
S.  John  the  Baptist  of  Volciana  on  the  Carso,  with  the 
date  1429.  The  round  tower  dates  from  after  the  in- 
cursion of  the  Turks  into  the  Carso  in  1470,  built  under 
Pietro  da  Mula,  1474.  On  the  Porta  della  Campana 
the  length  of  the  dagger  which  was  allowed  is  marked, 
and  the  town  still  preserves  one  of  the  "  Bocche  de' 
leoni  "  which  were  used  for  secret  denunciations.  The 
communal  palace  was  built  in  1270,  one  year  before 
Parenzo  gave  herself  to  Venice.  Games  of  cards  and 
dice  were  allowed  under  its  portico  and  in  the  loggia, 
where  the  players  were  under  the  eyes  of  the  guards. 

During  the  latter  half  of  the  thirteenth  century 


I24  PARENZO 

Parenzo  was  in  constant  contest  with  her  bishop,  re- 
sisting the  financial  demands  of  the  ecclesiastical 
authority  with  threats  and  violence.  A  podesta,  at 
the  head  of  the  people,  broke  into  the  cathedral,  burst 
open  the  treasury,  and  seized  the  precious  objects.  In 
1270  Marco  Michiel,  in  the  name  of  the  commune, 
forbad  the  citizens  to  pay  tithe,  proclaimed  liberty  of 
fishing  and  pasturage,  and  took  possession  of  several 
of  the  church  properties,  saying  that  they  had  returned 
to  those  to  whom  they  properly  belonged.  In  1278 
Bishop  Otho  excommunicated  them  for  refusing  to  pay 
tithe,  and  because  of  a  rising,  in  which  the  palace  was 
invaded  and  all  the  authentic  privileges  and  documents 
thrown  into  the  sea  ;  but  the  citizens  were  the  stronger, 
and  bishop  and  canons  were  driven  away  from  the  city. 
In  1280  there  was  a  delimitation  of  the  land  belonging 
to  church  and  commune.  The  next  bishop,  Boniface, 
renewed  the  episcopal  pretensions  denying  freehold  to 
both  commune  and  individual  citizens.  The  podesta, 
Jacopo  Soranzo,  the  commune,  and  citizens  were  so 
enraged  that  the  bishop,  in  fear  of  his  life,  fled  to 
Rovigno,  and  from  thence  to  Venice.  The  podesta 
lodged  soldiers  in  his  palace  during  the  war  ;  and  in  1284 
Boniface  fulminated  a  comprehensive  excommunica- 
tion from  Venice  against  podesta  and  city.  Matters 
were  arranged  and  he  returned  to  Parenzo,  but  only 
to  renew  his  claims.  In  1293  the  podesta,  Jacopo 
Querini,  was  disputing  with  him  over  a  feud  at  Cervera 
which  he  claimed,  though  it  had  been  in  the  possession 
of  others  for  eighty  years,  and  both  lost  their  tempers. 
The  podesta  turned  to  the  bishop  and  said  :  "  I  promise 
you  that  when  my  term  of  office  is  over  I  will  do  you 
all  the  harm  I  can,  both  publicly  and  privately  ;  and  I 
pray  God  and  His  saints  to  let  me  live  long  enough  to 
see  with  my  own  eyes  the  prophecies  fulfilled  of  the 
destruction  of  the  Church  of  Rome,  for  one  may  well 


VIOLENT   DISSENSIONS  125 

see  that  the  time  is  near."  On  September  14,  1296, 
the  podesta,  Giovanni  Soranzo,  attacked  the  bishop's 
palace  at  the  head  of  the  armed  populace,  intending, 
as  the  bishop  asserted,  to  kill  him.  The  prelate  took 
refuge  in  the  Franciscan  convent,  and  escaped  by 
ship  to  Pirano.  Thence  he  went  again  to  Venice,  and 
excommunicated  the  whole  of  his  opponents.  The 
podesta  threatened  to  cut  off  hand  and  foot  from  who- 
ever published  or  executed  the  ban ;  and  Boniface 
ordered  the  prepositum  of  Pisino  to  send  it  to  the 
clergy,  which  was  done  next  year,  but  without  the 
desired  effect.  He  acted  in  the  same  way  with  other 
podestas,  and  was  often  absent  from  his  seat  in  conse- 
quence, thus  incurring  reproofs  from  the  patriarchs 
Raimondo  and  Pietro  Gerra.  The  latter  went  so  far 
as  to  attack  and  destroy  the  castle  of  Orsera,  where 
the  bishop  took  refuge. 

The  people  of  Parenzo  now  are  more  concerned  with 
developing  their  commerce  than  with  insisting  upon 
their  rights,  and  the  quay  presents  a  busy  scene  when 
the  wine-boats  are  lading.  The  casks  are  so  large  that 
two  are  a  load  for  a  yoke  of  oxen.  The  cart  has  sloping 
sides,  and  a  bed  of  fresh-cut  boughs  and  hay  acts  as 
springs.  One  of  the  sides  of  the  cart  (of  wicker  or 
staves)  is  removed  at  the  quay,  and  the  casks  are  rolled 
down  an  inclined  plane.  There  were  much  excitement 
and  some  danger  as  the  lumbering  weight  was  turned 
at  right  angles  to  its  former  course,  which  was  towards 
the  water.  The  fishermen  were  busy  too  ;  they  catch 
spider-crabs  with  long  spears  ending  in  five  prongs,  at 
right  angles  to  the  shaft,  and  forming  a  kind  of  cage, 
which  the  crabs  find  it  difficult  to  negotiate  when  they 
are  raked  out  of  the  crannies  of  the  rocks.  There  was 
a  semi-lunar  implement  in  the  boats  also,  with  four 
internal  prongs,  at  the  end  of  a  long  shaft,  used  for 
catching  cuttle-fish. 


126  PARENZO 

At  the  hotel  in  which  we  stayed  on  our  first  visit 
there  was  a  green-and-yellow  parrot  which  was  very 
tame.  His  accomplishments  included  the  saying 
"  Marietta,  padrona,  and  bello  "  quite  clearly,  singing 
and  laughing.  Its  mistress  made  it  flirt  with  a  highly 
coloured  young  lady  on  a  poster  in  a  very  diverting 
fashion.  At  Fiume  we  saw  two  parrots  of  the  same 
kind  on  perches  outside  a  shop  ;  and  my  friend,  recollect- 
ing the  friendly  bird  at  Parenzo,  made  overtures  to 
them,  which  were  not  received  in  the  proper  spirit,  and 
I  am  sorry  to  say  that  his  finger  was  sore  for  days 
after. 

There  is  record  of  a  joust  held  at  Parenzo  as  late 
as  February  14,  1745.  There  must  have  been  diverting 
incidents  on  that  occasion,  since  the  combatants 
contended  with  unfamiliar  weapons  which  had  been 
long  out  of  use  ! 

Parenzo  is  poor  in  records  of  craftsmen,  and  its 
only  artist  of  repute  is  Bernardo  of  Parenzo,  who  was 
much  employed  in  his  day  ;  pictures  by  him  are  pre- 
served in  the  Accademia  at  Venice,  the  Doria  Gallery, 
Rome,  in  the  Louvre,  and  at  Modena.  He  studied  at 
Padua  with  Mantegna,  under  Squarcione,  and  executed 
frescoes  and  chiaroscuro  arabesques  in  the  cloister  of 
S.  Giustina  in  that  city.  When  the  Austrians  con- 
verted the  convent  to  military  uses  the  paintings  were 
plastered  over,  and,  although  again  uncovered  in  1895, 
they  were  found  to  be  in  a  much  damaged  condition. 
Bernardo  died  in  153 1. 


X 

TO    POLA    BY    SEA 

From  Parenzo  Pola  may  be  reached  either  by  land  or 
sea,  the  latter  being  the  more  convenient  way.  The 
only  place  of  importance  passed  is  Rovigno,  though  the 
Canal  di  Leme,  an  arm  of  the  sea  7J  miles  long,  from 
70  to  100  ft.  deep,  and  some  500  yds.  broad,  which 
affords  accommodation  for  much  more  shipping  than 
ever  makes  use  of  it,  leads  up  towards  Due  Castelli, 
now  ruinous,  but  at  one  time  a  thriving  and  important 
town.  On  the  way,  near  Orsera,  the  little  island  of 
"  Scoglio  Orlandino  "  is  passed,  rocky  and  divided 
into  two  portions  by  a  chasm  or  crack.  Legend  says 
that  Orlando,  passing  that  way,  made  a  slash  at  it 
and  left  it  as  it  now  is. 

Rovigno  is  thought  to  be  the  ancient  Arupenum  or 
Rubinum,  but  is  first  mentioned  by  the  anonymous 
Ravennese  chronicler,  and  was  probably  founded  in 
the  third  or  fourth  century.  In  the  walls  of  the 
principal  church  are  fragments  of  sixth-century  work. 
There  is  a  tradition  that  it  was  founded  when  Cissa 
sank  into  the  sea  in  the  seventh  century.  The  site  of 
this  city  was  near  the  modern  lighthouse,  and  remains 
of  its  buildings  are  believed  to  be  recognisable  beneath 
the  water  at  the  point  called  Barbariga,  on  the  further 
side  of  the  Bay  of  S.  Pelagio.  The  large  beds  of  murex 
shells  in  certain  places  are  an  indication  that  there 
were  purple  dye-works  here,   an  industry  for  which 

127 


128  TO   POLA   BY   SEA 

Cissa  was  celebrated.  Rovigno  is  situated  upon  a  rock, 
and  was  surrounded  with  walls.  Within  their  area 
the  houses,  as  seen  from  the  sea  or  from  the  railway 
station  behind  the  town,  seem  to  be  piled  one  over  the 
other,  and  culminate  very  picturesquely  in  the  cam- 
panile at  the  top.  Beyond  the  railway  station  on  the 
Bay  of  S.  Pelagio  are  the  Berlin  aquarium  for  the  study 
of  the  marine  fauna  of  the  Adriatic,  and  a  sanatorium 
for  scrofulous  children,  opened  in  1888.  The  neigh- 
bourhood being  fever-stricken  the  peasants  live  in 
the  city,  going  and  returning  to  their  work  morning 
and  evening.  Their  Sunday  costume  consists  of  orna- 
mented leather  shoes,  tight  white  hose  of  wool,  a  broad- 
sleeved  white  shirt  with  a  frill  in  front,  dark  waistcoat, 
and  flat  black  cap.  They  have  the  curious  custom  of 
wearing  one  large  earring  in  the  left  ear.  Rovigno  is 
a  good  market  for  wine — considered  the  best  in  Istria — 
olives,  sardines,  and  hazel-nuts  which  are  reputed  the 
finest  in  the  world.  Consequently,  amongst  the  in- 
habitants are  many  merchants,  and  the  fishers'  guild 
is  very  numerous;  but  the  steep  -  streets  are  narrow 
and,  in  wet  weather,  noisome,  and  the  children  do  not 
look  as  healthy  as  in  many  other  places.  During  our 
stay  we  saw  two  funerals  in  the  Colleggiata  within  a 
few  hours,  both  attended  by  a  red-robed  confraternity 
which  included  boys  and  men.  The  spectacle  in  the 
darkening  nave  (for  it  was  late  afternoon)  of  the  two 
rows  of  red-robed  figures  holding  lighted  tapers,  with 
two  or  three  ensigns  or  symbols  in  the  background, 
was  impressive,  but  marred  by  atrocious  singing.  The 
officiating  priest  was  a  fine  man ;  and,  as  the  cortege 
departed  to  the  cemetery  just  below  the  church  on  the 
seaward  side,  there  was  an  impression  of  solemnity 
which  is  often  lacking  in  English  funerals.  A  few  late 
Venetian  palaces,  with  fine  loggias  at  the  top  to  catch 
the  sea-breezes,  show  above  the  other  houses,  and  the 


ROVIGNO  129 

arch  between  the  fish-market  and  the  Piazza  S.  Da- 
miano,  erected  in  1680  under  Daniele  Balbi,  still  stands, 
with  the  Venetian  lion  holding  a  book  proudly  in- 
scribed :  "  Victoria  tibi  Marce  Evangelista  meus  "  ;  but 
the  walls  have  entirely  disappeared,  with  the  exception 
of  one  ruinous  tower,  the  "  Torre  del  Boraso,"  which 
has  been  in  that  state  since  the  sixteenth  century.  At 
the  beginning  of  the  fourteenth  century  it  belonged 
to  the  bishop  of  Pola ;  the  Colleggio  dei  Cinque  Savi 
acquired  it  in  1332,  and  ordered  its  occupation  by  the 
captain  of  the  Pasenatico  and  the  podesta  of  Rovigno, 
asking  whether  it  was  best  to  preserve  or  destroy  it, 
the  former  course  being  determined  on. 

A  curious  heptagonal  building,  the  Oratory  of  the 
Trinity,  which  stands  some  distance  outside  the  ancient 
walls,  appears  to  be  rather  early  in  date.  It  has  a 
polygonal  drum  rising  from  the  roof  of  the  lower  portion, 
and  two  curious  little  pierced  and  carved  windows  about 
three  feet  high ;  one  of  them  is  too  much  broken  to 
make  out  the  design.  The  other  has  a  crucifix  with 
half-length  figures,  and  consecration  cross  among  the 
piercings,  very  roughly  cut.  The  head  is  slightly 
pointed.  The  Colleggiata  has  been  rebuilt  in  late 
Renaissance  style ;  and  the  campanile,  crowned  by  a 
figure  of  S.  Eufemia,  the  patron  saint  of  the  town,  is  a 
copy  of  that  of  S.  Mark's,  Venice.  The  chapel  to  the 
right  of  the  high-altar  contains  the  shrine  of  the  saint, 
a  large  unfinished  sarcophagus  of  Greek  marble.  It 
has  two  arches  on  the  side  with  figures  scarcely  begun, 
and  an  octagonal  tablet  with  curved  sides  in  the 
middle.  The  legend  is  that  the  body  of  the  saint 
floated  over  the  waves  in  the  great  sarcophagus,  and 
was  driven  by  a  storm  into  a  little  inlet  called  the 
"  Armo  di  S.  Eufemia,"  a  short  way  from  the  pier, 
where  a  square  pillar  with  an  inscription  of  1720  and 
the  communal  arms  marks  the  place  where  it  grounded. 

17 


130 


TO    POLA    BY   SEA 


Some  fishers  who  went  out  at  dawn  were  attracted  by 
the  miraculous  light  which  shone  around  it.  Several 
days  passed  before  the  heavy  sarcophagus  could  be 
moved.  A  certain  pious  widow,  with  the  suggestive 
name  of  "  Astuta,"  had  a  dream,  as  a  consequence  of 
which  a  pair  of  bullocks  was  yoked  to  it  by  her  little 
son,  and  so  it  went  up  the  hill  to  the  summit  at  such  a 


SARCOPHAGUS   OF  S.    EUFEMIA,    ROVIGNO 


rate  as  to  run  over  one  of  the  bystanders,  who  was 
nearly  killed,  and  fainted.  When  he  revived  he  re- 
vealed the  name  of  the  saint,  and  her  bones  were  found 
within  the  sarcophagus  together  with  the  history  of 
her  martyrdom.  From  that  time  the  hill  has  had  the 
name  of  S.  Eufemia.  The  relics  were  taken  by  the 
Genoese  in  1380  and  carried  to  Chioggia.     The  Vene- 


PIRATE   RAIDS  131 

tians  rescued  them,  but  carried  them  to  S.  Canciano, 
Venice,  where  they  stayed  for  thirty  years.  On  their 
return  to  Rovigno  in  1410  a  storm  drove  the  ship  to 
the  salt-works  in  the  Canal  di  Leme,  where  certain 
cattle-boats  were  sheltering.  The  cattle  jumped  into 
the  water  and  danced  round  the  ship  !  So,  at  least, 
a  manuscript  in  the  capitular  archives  relates.  Scenes 
from  this  legend  are  painted  on  the  walls  of  the  chapel. 
In  the  sacristy  is  a  fourteenth  or  fifteenth-century 
picture  on  a  gold  ground — a  figure  of  S.  John  the 
Baptist,  with  incidents  from  his  life.  It  came  from  a 
church  dedicated  to  him  which  was  destroyed  in  1839. 

Rovigno  and  the  neighbourhood  have  suffered  much 
from  piracy.  In  965  the  Slavs  sacked  the  city.  Into 
the  harbour  the  Uscocs  entered  one  night  at  the  be- 
ginning of  1597,  and  sacked  a  galley  and  ten  ships  laden 
with  rich  merchandise  belonging  to  Venice.  In  the 
port  of  Vestre  (the  birthplace  of  Maximian  of  Ravenna), 
about  three  miles  from  Rovigno,  an  Uscoc  ship,  with 
150  men,  attacked  a  ship  of  Cattaro  which  carried 
letters  from  the  doge  of  Venice,  6,000  ducats  of  public 
money  and  4,000  of  private,  with  valuable  merchandise. 
They  took  everything  and  also  stripped  the  other 
Venetian  ships  in  the  harbour,  leaving  the  sailors 
nothing  but  their  shirts  ! 

The  Canal  of  Fasana,  between  the  Brioni  Islands 
and  the  mainland,  a  little  to  the  south,  was  the  scene 
of  the  crushing  defeat  of  the  Venetians  by  the  Genoese 
in  1379.  The  quarries  in  these  islands,  together  with 
those  of  Rovigno,  provided  stone  for  the  ducal  and 
other  palaces,  the  Procuratie  at  Venice,  the  murazzi 
at  Chioggia,  and  the  mole  at  Malamocco.  It  is  but  a 
short  distance  hence  to  the  entrance  to  the  magnificent 
harbour  of  Pola. 

Craftsmen  of  Rovigno  have  made  the  name  of  the 
town  celebrated,  such   as  the  sculptors  Lorenzo  and 


132  TO    POLA   BY    SEA 

Antonio  del  Vescovo,  who  worked  in  1468  at  the 
Camaldulan  church  of  Murano,  and  Taddeo  da  Rovigno, 
who  did  much  decorative  carving  in  Venetian  palaces. 
A  more  distinguished  man  was  Fra  Sebastiano  da 
Rovigno,  the  lame  Slavonian  (il  Zoppo  Schiavone), 
the  teacher  of  the  still  more  celebrated  intarsiatore, 
Fra  Damiano  of  Bergamo.  Some  of  his  works  are  in 
the  choir  and  sacristy  of  S.  Mark's,  Venice.  The  name 
of  Donato  of  Parenzo  is  also  coupled  with  these  Rovig- 
nese  craftsmen. 


I 


XI 

TO    POLA    BY    LAND 

One  Easter  Sunday  we  drove  in  lovely  weather  from 
Parenzo  to  S.  Lorenzo  in  Pasenatico,  and  on  to 
Canfanaro.  By  the  road  we  passed  every  now  and 
then  farmers'  houses,  such  as  the  one  illustrated,  and 
met  groups  of  peasants  going  into  Parenzo  to  the  festa. 
As  we  got  further  from  the  city  the  men  were  collected 
in  groups,  talking,  smoking,  or  playing  bowls  ;  whilst 
the  women  also  by  themselves,  in  knots  of  as  many  as 
twenty,  were  seated  together  enjoying  a  gossip.  The 
landscape  was  pleasant,  but  rather  featureless,  except 
for  the  bulk  of  Monte  Maggiore  blue  to  the  south-east. 
We  reached  S.  Lorenzo  at  the  moment  of  the  elevation 
of  the  Host,  and  found  the  ancient  basilica  crowded 
with  worshippers,  while  several  men  knelt  with  rosary 
in  clasped  hands  outside  the  open  doors,  their  eyes 
fixed  intently  upon  the  altar.  After  a  time  the  con- 
gregation poured  out,  dressed  in  most  picturesque 
costumes,  and  evidently  found  our  appearance  quite 
as  interesting  and  strange  as  we  found  theirs.  The 
men  had  one  big  earring  (as  at  Rovigno),  and  wore 
white  shirts  with  full  sleeves,  sometimes  embroidered, 
hose  of  woven  wool,  a  jacket  hung  loosely  over  the 
shoulders,  and  a  little  black  cap  on  the  head.  The 
women  had  full  skirts  of  beautiful  tertiary  colours, 
rows  of  coral  round  their  necks,  and  large  silver-gilt 
brooches,  and  rosette  ornaments  on  their  breasts  with 

133 


134  TO    POLA   BY   LAND 

chains  attached.  On  their  heads,  tied  round  the  base 
of  the  skull,  they  had  white  handkerchiefs,  sometimes 
with  ornamented  borders.  Over  the  bodice  a  kind  of 
loose  waistcoat  was  worn. 

The  church  is  a  basilica  with  nave  and  aisles,  all 
terminated  by  semicircular  apses,  with  an  arcade  of 
nine  arches  of  unequal  width,  owing  perhaps  partly  to 
the  obliquity  of  the  west  wall,  itself  caused  by  the  close 
proximity  of  the  palace  of  the  Count,  which  was  still  in 
existence  till  1833.  The  three  easternmost  bays  are 
enclosed  as  presbytery,  and  this  and  other  alterations 
are  the  work  of  the  seventeenth  century  ;  but  two  of  the 
original  pierced  window-slabs  are  still  in  position  in 
the  side  apses,  traces  of  the  small  clerestory  windows 
are  visible,  and  in  a  wall  to  the  left  of  the  facade  are 
encrusted  several  fragments  of  carving  which  appar- 
ently formed  part  of  the  original  chancel  of  the  ninth 
or  early  tenth  century.  The  style  of  the  caps  of  the 
nave  arcade,  the  irregularity  in  their  size,  and  in  that 
of  the  plain  super-abaci  above  them,  also  point  to  the 
same  period.  The  apses  have  shallow  arcading  out- 
side ;  the  campanile  is  an  addition  built  on  to  the  tower 
of  one  of  the  town  gates,  the  exterior  arch  of  which  is 
stopped  ;  about  the  height  of  the  nave  cornice  two 
great  brackets  project.  Another  of  the  wall-towers 
near  at  hand  still  retains  the  staircase  by  which  it  was 
ascended.  Along  the  south  wall  of  the  church  runs  a 
loggia  supported  on  slender  columns,  and  in  the  piazza 
in  front  is  the  base  of  the  flagstaff  which  once  supported 
the  standard  of  S.  Mark.  A  gateway  with  a  very 
pointed  arch  at  the  bottom  of  this  piazza  forms  the 
entrance  to  the  town.  The  walls  are  all  of  the  early 
Venetian  period,  and  a  well-head  ordered  to  be  carved 
in  133 1  by  Giovanni  Contarini  has  a  rampant  winged 
lion  half-length,  crowned  and  nimbed,  and  with  a 
closed  book. 


en 

W 

X 
H 

o 
o 

M 
ft 

w 


S.    LORENZO    IN    PASENATICO  135 

The  city  swore  fealty  to  Venice  in  12  71,  and  became 
in  1304  the  seat  of  the  captain  of  the  Pasenatico,  an 
officer  who  had  charge  of  the  fortresses  and  town  walls 
throughout  Istria,  and  the  duty  of  enlisting  foot 
soldiers,  sailors,  and  oarsmen.  Marco  Soranzo  was 
the  first  captain.  Fifty-two  years  after  his  time  a 
second  captaincy  was  created  in  Umago,  afterwards 
transferred  to  Grisignana.  At  some  time  between  1312 
and  1328  Marino  Faliero  was  governor  here.  In  1394 
the  captaincy  was  removed  to  Raspo,  and  subsequently 
to  Pinguente.  In  1595  it  was  given  to  the  podesta 
and  captain  of  Capodistria,  except  as  regarded  Pirano. 

The  church  is  said  to  contain  the  bodies  of  SS.  Victor 
and  Corona,  taken  from  Due  Castelli  during  the  war  of 
Chioggia.  The  "Chronicle"  relates  that  a  Genoese 
squadron  was  in  the  Canal  di  Leme,  and  the  people  of 
S.  Lorenzo  sent  a  deputation  suggesting  co-operation  in 
an  attack  on  Due  Castelli,  between  which  town  and 
itself  there  were  rivalry  and  hatred.  The  enterprise  was 
successful,  and  Due  Castelli  was  sacked  and  burnt. 
Tommasini  records  that  the  marks  of  fire  were  visible 
in  his  time.  The  bodies  of  the  saints  were  carried  off 
as  spoil ;  but  it  seems  probable  that  it  was  a  Venetian 
and  not  a  Genoese  fleet  which  co-operated  with  the 
men  of  S.  Lorenzo,  since  Due  Castelli  belonged  to  the 
patriarch,  who  was  allied  to  the  Genoese. 

The  road  from  S.  Lorenzo  to  Canfanaro  crosses  the 
Draga  valley  (which  is  600  or  700  ft.  deep)  by  long 
zigzags,  from  which  the  ruins  of  Due  Castelli  are  seen 
towards  the  west.  They  can  be  visited  from  Canfanaro. 
Where  the  valley  narrows  upon  two  projecting  spurs, 
nearly  opposite  to  each  other,  were  Monte  Castello,  or 
Moncastello,  and  Castello  Parentino,  given  to  the 
church  of  Parenzo  by  Otho  II.,  but  entirely  destroyed 
long  ago.  These  were  the  "  Due  Castelli ':  (two 
castles).     The  sea  is  five  kilometres  away.     The  walls 


136  TO    POLA   BY    LAND 

and  towers  (which  were  built  about  1616  by  the  prov- 
veditore,  Marco  Loredan)  from  a  distance  appear  well 
preserved,  but  the  only  buildings  remaining  within 
are  two  churches  and  the  castle. 

The  double  girdle  of  walls  of  the  castle,  with  well- 
preserved  battlemented  towers,  is  the  principal  factor 
in  the  effect.  The  gateways  are  pointed  :  outside  the 
walls,  towards  Castel  Parentino,  is  the  pedestal  for  the 
municipal  standard;  on  the  other  side  is  an  illegible 
inscription  in  which  the  date  1475  may  be  deciphered. 
The  more  important  church,  S.  Sofia,  still  has  its 
outside  walls,  the  three  apses,  with  traces  of  frescoes 
in  the  central  one,  and  the  walls  of  the  sacristy.  At 
the  beginning  of  the  fourteenth  century  it  appears  to 
have  belonged  to  the  Castropola,  and  then  to  the  Count 
of  Gorizia ;  but  in  1420  the  Venetians  appointed  a 
podesta.  In  1616  the  Uscocs  sacked  the  place,  and  the 
plague  of  1630-1631  slew  many  of  the  remaining  in- 
habitants. The  district  grew  malarious ;  and  at  the 
beginning  of  the  next  century  the  rector,  the  ministers, 
the  chapter,  and  the  few  people  who  remained  took 
the  precious  things  which  the  church  still  retained 
and  moved  to  S.  Silvestro,  Canfanaro.  S.  Sofia  was 
abandoned  on  June  7,  1714.  The  fourteenth-century 
pulpit,  brought  with  them,  is  hexagonal,  with  subjects 
in  the  panels,  and  supported  on  six  columns.  In  one 
panel  a  female  figure  holds  two  triple-towered  castles 
of  the  same  shape  as  those  in  the  arms  of  Muggia. 
Malaria  still  keeps  the  district  clear  of  houses,  though 
the  land  is  cultivated. 

A  few  miles  from  Canfanaro  to  the  north-west  is 
Pisino,  the  capital  of  Istria,  situated  upon  and  about 
the  rock  beneath  which  the  river  Foiba  disappears. 
The  railway  winds  round  the  sides  of  green  and  wooded 
hills,  rising  with  each  curve  till  it  is  some  height  above 
the  city.     The  landscape  is  more  striking  than  is  usual 


PISINO  137 

in  Istria,  hills  of  some  size  appearing  on  the  horizon, 
while  in  the  middle  distance  the  Foiba  meanders 
through  a  fruitful  valley,  occasionally  broken  by  a  low 
waterfall.  The  copses  which  clothe  the  hillsides  here 
and  there  are  vocal  with  the  song  of  birds,  and  nightin- 
gales may  be  heard  in  plenty  in  the  spring.  The 
situation  is  magnificent.  The  town  stands  upon  the 
summit  of  a  promontory  spreading  out  like  the  fingers 
of  a  hand,  and  at  its  base  the  river  foams  and  rushes, 
entering  a  deep  winding  ravine  and  plunging  beneath 
a  rocky  precipice  several  hundred  feet  high,  on  the  top 
of  which  a  few  houses  appear.  The  steep  sides  are 
green  with  trees  to  a  certain  height,  and  then  the  grey 
rock  appears  scantily  covered  with  grass  in  places  ; 
above  the  abyss  swallows  dart  and  hawks  hover.  On 
all  sides  the  rushing  of  water  is  heard,  and  fountains 
in  the  streets  betoken  an  unusual  supply,  for  Istria 
is  generally  a  thirsty  land.  The  castle  is  so  close  to 
the  chasm  that  from  one  of  the  windows  a  stone  can 
be  tossed  into  the  water.  The  dwarf  wall  shown  in 
the  illustration  runs  along  the  top  of  the  precipice. 
Upon  the  door  the  date  of  1785  is  cut,  but  the  greater 
part  of  the  walls  with  their  machicolations  belongs  to 
a  reconstruction  of  the  ancient  castle  in  the  fifteenth 
century.  It  is  still  inhabited,  and  part  of  it  is  used 
for  district  offices,  but  there  is  little  of  archaeological 
interest  in  city  or  castle.  In  the  courtyard  is  a  well 
on  a  platform  ornamented  with  stone  balls  to  which 
twelve  steps  ascend,  a  rather  curious  arrangement. 
The  place  for  the  bar  which  fastened  the  doors  is  still 
there,  but  in  these  peaceful  times  they  appear  to  stand 
open  day  and  night ;  at  all  events  they  were  open  when 
we  reached  the  place  about  7  a.m.,  having  left  Pola 
soon  after  5.  In  the  cathedral  are  a  silver  processional 
cross  with  figures  of  saints,  and  a  tabernacle  of  1543, 
rich  of  its  kind,  also  a  picture  by  Girolamo  da  S.  Croce. 


138  TO    POLA    BY    LAND 

There  was  a  cattle-fair  on  the  day  we  were  in  the 
town ;  the  place  was  full  of  contadini,  and  the  roads 
were  thronged  with  cattle  being  driven  in  for  sale. 
The  lambs  were  slung  on  donkeys'  backs  in  couples, 
confined  in  sacks  with  their  heads  out  of  the  mouths, 
and  one  lively  little  black  fellow  escaped  and  caused 
much  excitement  before  he  was  caught  and  re- 
imprisoned.  The  type  of  the  peasants  is  quite  different 
from  that  of  those  lower  down  the  coast  ;  the  head  is 
long,  the  nose  aquiline,  and  the  countenance  seamed  with 
many  deep  wrinkles.  The  older  men  wore  one  large 
earring  in  the  right  ear,  hose  of  a  thick  whitish  woollen 
material,  or  brown  or  blue  trousers  which  sometimes 
reached  but  a  little  below  the  knee,  a  white  shirt,  and  a 
brown  jacket  hung  over  the  shoulder.  The  daughter 
of  the  house,  who  served  us  at  a  rough  restaurant 
where  we  had  dejeuner  together  with  some  of  the 
country  folk,  was  anxious  to  know  whether  the  lan- 
guage we  were  speaking  together  was  Russian.  I  fancy 
English  travellers  are  very  rare  in  that  part  of  the 
country. 

A  few  miles  south  of  Canfanaro  is  the  little  town  of 
San  Vincenti,  in  which  is  one  of  the  best  preserved  of 
the  Istrian  castles,  showing  indeed  little  sign  of  ruin 
externally.  It  occupies  one  side  of  the  main  piazza. 
At  right  angles  to  it  is  the  church,  with  a  facade  re- 
calling the  work  of  the  Lombardi,  and  there  is  a  loggia 
and  a  public  cistern,  made  in  1808  to  ensure  a  good 
supply  of  drinking-water.  In  this  piazza  a  joust  was 
held  as  late  as  June  24, 17 13.  There  Maria  Radoslavich 
was  hung  and  then  burnt  as  a  witch  on  February  25 , 
1632. 

The  castle  is  quadrilateral  with  a  round  and  an 
octagonal  tower  at  the  angles  of  the  northern  face. 
The  opposite  side  has  a  square  tower  at  the  angle  to 
the  right,  and  to  the  left  the  house  of  the  governor  just 


^3 


AN    ANGLE    OF    THE    CASTLE,    SAN    VINCENTI 

To  face  pageji3Q 


SAN    VINCENTI  139 

beyond  the  entrance-gate  ;  the  walls  splay  out  widely 
to  the  bottom  of  the  ditch.  The  slits  for  the  chains 
of  the  drawbridge  are  on  each  side  of  a  little  grated 
window,  and  above  the  door  are  the  date  1485  and  the 
arms  of  Marino  Grimani,  with  an  inscription  recording 
a  restoration  in  1589  after  a  fire  in  1586.  On  a  small 
door  inside  is  the  date  1728,  showing  that  the  castle 
underwent  restorations  and  rebuildings.  In  the  middle 
of  the  cornice  is  an  arch  for  the  castle-bell.  The  town 
was  part  of  the  feud  of  S.  Apollinare,  and  was  destroyed 
in  1330  by  the  soldiers  of  the  Patriarch  Pagano  della 
Torre.  The  castle  belonged  first  to  the  Castropola, 
then  to  the  Morosini,  and  finally  to  the  Grimani.  It 
was  dismantled  by  Bernardo  Tiepolo  after  the  war  of 
Gradisca  (during  which  Loredano  used  it  as  his  quarters 
general),  with  the  object  of  freeing  the  people  from 
forced  service  of  various  kinds.  Low  buildings  used 
as  harness  and  store-rooms,  &c.,  still  remain  against 
the  walls  inside,  but  the  stair  to  the  suite  of  principal 
rooms  is  ruinous.  It  is  external,  and  led  to  a  terrace 
beneath  which  were  prisons,  and  from  which  another 
flight  rose  to  a  door  of  entrance,  walled  up  but  still 
traceable,  at  a  considerable  height.  Other  prisons 
were  in  the  towers,  which  were  bound  together  by  the 
gallery  which  ran  round  the  interior.  The  ground  floor 
of  the  seventeenth-century  house  which  occupies  the 
ancient  keep  was  arranged  as  guard-rooms  and  soldiers' 
lodgings ;  an  internal  stair  conducts  to  a  few  rooms 
which  look  into  the  courtyard ;  the  floors  of  the  rest 
have  been  destroyed.  Externally  there  is  no  opening 
for  half  the  height ;  then  there  are  two  pointed  windows 
with  a  considerable  space  between  ;  above  these  in  the 
middle  is  a  large  loggia  with  two  pointed  doors,  at 
the  sides  quadrangular  windows,  and  higher  up,  beneath 
the  eaves,  four  more  small  window-openings.  Some 
of  the  towers  are  ivy-grown. 


140 


TO    POLA   BY   LAND 


In  the  church  in  the  piazza  is  a  S.  Sebastian  ascribed 
to  Schiavone.  The  most  ancient  church  is,  however, 
in  the  cemetery  to  the  north,  a  simple  nave  with  pointed 
windows.  The  little  chapel  illustrated,  at  a  crossing  of 
the  ways,  is  characteristic  of  this  part  of  Istria.  The 
people  still  speak  Venetian  Italian,  though  there  are  a 
good  many  Slav  contadini,  brought  from  Dalmatia  by 
the  Grimani  in  1628.     The  type  has  regular  and  marked 


m,. 


WAYSIDE   CHAPEL   OUTSIDE   SAN   VINCENTI 

features,  with  dark  eyes  and  hair.  The  costume  is  not 
quite  that  of  the  Morlacchi,  being  all  black  except  the 
shoes,  which  are  of  natural  leather.  The  women  have 
short  skirts,  black  stockings,  and  shiny  shoes,  many 
chains  round  the  neck,  and  earrings,  and  on  festas  have 
a  coronal  of  pins  in  their  carefully  arranged  hair,  like 
the  women  of  the  Brianza.  Their  weddings  are  cele- 
brated amid  great  gatherings  of  friends  ;  two  pipers, 
with  instruments  timed  in  thirds,  march  first,  playing 
a  kind  of  tarantella ;  then  follows  a  company  of  con- 


MARRIAGE   CUSTOMS  141 

tadini  two  and  two,  not  arm-in-arm,  but  with  a  coloured 
handkerchief  from  one  head  to  the  other.  The  bride 
has  a  kind  of  turban  of  brilliant  colours  on  her  head, 
from  which  masses  of  vari-coloured  silken  ribbons  hang, 
covering  her  to  the  shoulders  and  breast  except  for  her 
eyes,  nose,  and  mouth.  Her  chemise  is  finely  pierced 
and  embroidered  on  neck,  bosom,  and  cuffs,  and  her 
stockings  are  of  open  work,  while  her  shoes  are  almost 
like  sandals.  Rows  of  coral  deck  her  neck,  and  her 
fingers  have  as  many  gold  rings  on  them  as  possible. 
The  bridegroom's  hat  bears  a  crown  of  artificial  flowers, 
as  does  that  of  the  best  man ;  all  the  friends  have  a 
similar  bunch  in  their  hands  or  caps.  After  the 
marriage  the  pipers  play,  and  the  whole  of  the  company 
form  up  in  a  straight  line  outside  the  church.  Then 
the  best  man  comes  forward  with  a  kind  of  cake,  which, 
after  various  feints,  he  throws  among  the  crowd  of 
children  which  quickly  collects,  and  they  scramble  for 
it.  Then  the  husband  and  wife,  with  the  best  man,  go 
to  the  goldsmith's  to  buy  the  marriage  present.  Later 
there  is  a  dance.  The  men  and  women  face  each  other 
in  line.  They  pace  rapidly  back  and  forth  without 
moving  forward.  Then  the  couples  advance,  the  man 
raises  his  right  arm  and  opens  the  hand  to  the  woman, 
who  grasps  it,  and  turns  herself  under  the  arch  of  the 
two  arms.  Then  the  man  passes  his  arm  round  his 
partner's  waist  and  they  go  round  in  measured  walk. 

Between  San  Vincenti  and  Pola  are  Valle  and 
Dignano.  At  the  former  the  fortifications  are  earlier 
than  the  fourteenth  century,  heavy  and  imposing,  with 
five  lofty  towers  (two  of  which  are  embattled),  so  that 
projectiles  were  dangerous  rather  from  the  force  of 
gravity  than  from  the  impulse  given.  A  portion  of 
them  is  ruined,  and  one  of  the  towers  is  now  the  com- 
munal cistern.  In  the  crypt  of  the  church  are  frag- 
ments of  ninth-century  carving,  cut  up  disgracefully 


142  TO    POLA   BY   LAND 

and  made  into  a  modern  altar,  and  there  is  a  sarco- 
phagus of  the  same  period  in  the  cemetery.  The 
campanile  is  considered  to  be  the  oldest  in  Istria.  In 
the  treasury  are  a  silver-gilt  monstrance  with  many 
pinnacles  and  Renaissance  scrolls  on  the  foot,  a  cross 
and  a  chalice  of  silver-gilt  with  medallions  on  the  foot, 
which  once  had  an  enamel  ground.  The  most  inte- 
resting thing,  however,  is  a  chasuble  of  the  fifteenth 
century,  with  embroidered  figures  of  silver-gilt  thread 
in  high  relief  upon  the  cross.  At  the  back,  on  the  up- 
right part,  is  a  half-length  of  our  Lord  in  a  chalice,  and 
two  saints,  all  three  beneath  canopies,  and  on  the  arms 
SS.  Peter  and  Paul.  On  the  front  are  two  figures  and 
an  Annunciation  on  the  arms  ;  the  Virgin  on  one  side, 
and  the  angel  on  the  other.     The  flesh  is  painted. 


XII 

POLA 

The  town  and  arsenal  of  Pola  lie  at  the  head  of  one  of 
those  convenient  inlets  which  provide  the  Austrian 
coast  so  plentifully  with  fine  harbours.  As  the  steamer 
passes  between  Cape  Compare  and  Monte  Grosso  the 
naval  port  appears  to  the  right  with  many  powerful 
ships-of-war  anchored  in  the  bay  :  beyond  and  above 
the  island  of  Olivi,  occupied  by  part  of  the  arsenal, 
rises  the  town,  its  buildings  climbing  the  hill  towards 
the  castle  which  crowns  the  summit.  To  the  left  is  the 
ample  commercial  port  with  its  long  quays  stretching 
towards  the  railway  station,  the  imposing  mass  of 
the  amphitheatre  dominating  the  whole  of  that  side  of 
the  picture.  These  two  structures,  the  amphitheatre 
and  the  arsenal,  show  the  chief  interests  of  Pola — the 
glory  of  antiquity,  and  modern  utility  devoted  to  de- 
fence ;  for  the  monuments  of  mediaeval  times  are  few 
in  the  city,  and  the  destruction  wrought  alternately  by 
Venice  and  Genoa  left  it  poor,  and  in  many  parts 
ruinous,  till  the  modern  revival,  with  the  transference 
of  the  headquarters  of  the  Austrian  navy  from  Venice 
in  1861.  The  mouth  of  the  harbour  is  less  than  half  a 
mile  across  and  is  over  100  ft.  deep.  The  eastern 
portion  has  a  depth  of  20  ft.  against  the  quays,  which 
are  all  constructed  on  made  ground.  The  quarries  on 
the  Brioni  Islands  have  afforded  excellent  material  close 
at  hand  for  the  buildings  and  fortifications  both  in 
antiquity  and  in  modern  times. 

143 


144  POLA 

The  castle  hill  was  the  capitol  of  the  Roman  city, 
and  the  streets  ran  round  it,  with  others  diverging  like 
the  ladders  of  a  spider's  web.  A  canal  isolating  the 
city  from  the  land  existed  to  the  east.  Of  the  land 
gates  two  still  remain — the  Porta  Gemina  (anciently 
the  Porta  Jo  via)  and  the  Porta  Ercole  ;  the  arch  of  the 
Sergii  formed  the  interior  face  of  a  third  (of  which  a 
portion  of  the  lower  courses  remain),  the  Porta  Aurea, 
so  called  probably  from  its  having  had  grilles  of  gilded 
bronze.  There  were  also  seven  gates  in  the  walls 
towards  the  sea.  The  forum  was  twice  the  size  of 
the  present  piazza,  which  occupies  part  of  its  site,  and 
had  twin  temples  at  one  end,  with  the  comitium  be- 
tween them,  of  which  one  remains  in  good  preservation, 
and  a  portion  of  the  back  part  of  the  other.  There  was 
a  temple  of  Jupiter  Conservatorius,  upon  the  site  of 
which  the  cathedral  stands  ;  and  one  to  Minerva, 
afterwards  the  site  of  the  destroyed  basilica  of  S.  Maria 
in  Canneto.  The  theatre  was  near  the  Porta  Aurea, 
and  is  now  marked  only  by  the  excavation  of  its  curve 
in  the  hillside  and  a  few  ruined  arches  in  a  private 
garden.  The  destruction  of  ancient  Pola  is  largely 
due  to  Venice,  who  appeared  to  think  that  when  the 
communes  gave  themselves  to  her  she  acquired  the 
right  of  removing  any  of  the  monuments  to  beautify 
herself  ;  and  it  even  went  so  far  as  for  a  patrician  to 
seriously  propose  to  bear  the  cost  of  transporting  the 
amphitheatre  to  Venice,  and  re-erecting  it  on  the  site 
of  the  present  public  gardens  ! 

The  Porta  Gemina  consists  of  twin  arches,  beneath 
a  simple  frieze  and  more  elaborate  cornice  supported 
by  modillions,  which  rest  upon  three  engaged  com- 
posite columns  raised  upon  pedestal  blocks.  The  key- 
stones are  flat,  and  the  piercing  of  some  holes  in  them 
suggests  that  metal  enrichments  were  affixed.  It  was 
an  important  gate,  being  the  direct  way  to  the  amphi- 


ARCH    OF    THE     SERGII,    POLA 


To  face  page  145 


ANCIENT   GATES   OF   THE   CITY  145 

theatre  from  the  Capitol,  and  also  the  starting-point 
of  the  military  road  towards  the  Arsa  and  Albona.  By 
it  also  the  aqueduct  passed  into  the  city.  The  Porta 
Ercole  is  simpler,  and  probably  older  ;  it  bears  the 
names  of  two  duumvirs,  Lucius  Cassius  Longinus  and 
Lucius  Calphurnius  Piso,  and  some  rough  carving. 
Of  the  Porta  Aurea  itself,  which  had  a  central  gate  for 
chariots  and  two  side  gates  for  pedestrians,  little 
remains.  Beneath  the  arch  of  the  Sergii  the  ancient 
pavement  has  been  uncovered,  bearing  wheelmarks 
made  many  centuries  ago,  and  the  lower  courses  of  the 
gateway  adjacent,  but  all  the  part  above  the  present 
street-level  has  disappeared.  The  carving  on  the  arch 
of  the  Sergii  shows  a  curious  economy.  Since  the  gate 
was  so  close  to  it  only  a  portion  of  the  coupled 
Corinthian  columns  could  be  seen  ;  the  fluting,  there- 
fore, was  carried  only  a  third  of  the  way  round,  and 
the  capitals  were  left  merely  roughed  out,  as  were 
also  the  mouldings  of  the  attic  which  would  be  hidden 
by  the  cornice,  except  in  the  portions  visible  from  the 
external  sides.  The  soffit  of  the  arch  is  carved,  and 
the  face  of  the  pilaster  below  has  a  very  rich  and  grace- 
ful vine  arabesque  upon  it.  The  other  side  is  fully 
decorated  with  victories  in  the  spandrils,  festoons  and 
chariot-races  on  the  frieze,  and  the  attic  develops 
three  pedestals  for  statues,  inscribed  to  members  of  the 
family  of  Salvia  Postumia,  who  erected  it  in  honour  of 
her  husband,  Lucius  Sergius,  his  father  of  the  same 
name,  and  his  uncle  Cnseus  Sergius.  Lucius  Sergius 
was  tribune  of  the  29th  Legion.  The  work  is  probably 
of  the  time  of  Augustus. 

The  finely  proportioned  temple  was  erected  at  a 
later  period  during  his  lifetime  by  the  grateful  Polese  ; 
such  adulation  could  be  tolerated  only  in  Asia,  and 
Augustus  declined  to  allow  the  dedication  without  the 
addition  of  "  Rome."     The  facade  has  four  Corinthian 

19 


146  POLA 

columns,  and  at  the  angles  of  the  cella  are  four  chan- 
nelled pilasters  ;  between  these  and  the  four  columns 
of  the  facade  is  a  similar  column  on  each  side.  The 
roof  is  modern.  Within  it  and  around  are  collected 
numerous  sculptured  fragments,  antique  and  of  the 
early  mediaeval  period  for  the  most  part,  which  would 
be  the  better  for  spacing  and  arranging.  The  other 
temple  is  of  a  later  date.  They  both  stood  upon  a 
platform  twelve  steps  above  the  forum,  themselves 
raised  further  by  seven  steps  and  a  stylobate.  The 
rostra  were  on  the  forum  side  of  the  comitium. 

Till  1875  the  amphitheatre — which  was  built  in 
198-2 1 1  in  honour  of  Septimius  Severus  (who  had  been 
governor  of  Illyria)  and  of  Caracalla — lay  open  to  the 
street.  It  was  then  railed  round,  and  since  that  time 
systematic  excavations  have  disclosed  the  plan  of  the 
sub-structures.  The  circuit,  which  is  nearly  perfect, 
consists  of  seventy-two  arches,  and  the  elevation  has  a 
basement  and  a  principal  story,  with  an  attic  of  square 
windows  to  light  the  promenade,  and  a  finishing  cornice 
through  which  the  masts  for  the  Velarium  passed, 
resting  upon  stone  blocks  above  the  cornice  of  the  main 
story.  The  arches  at  the  extremities  of  the  long 
diameter  are  wider  than  the  rest,  and  therefore  cut  into 
the  frieze  above,  an  unusual  licence.  There  are  four 
towers,  two  towards  the  sea  and  two  towards  the  hill, 
which  probably  contained  double  staircases,  but  no 
sign  of  them  remains,  though  the  doorways  and  grilles 
of  pierced  stone  testify  to  their  usefulness.  Excava- 
tions have  brought  to  light  forty  or  fifty  pieces  of  the 
steps  of  the  auditorium,  upon  some  of  which  the  seats 
are  marked  by  dividing  lines  and  by  letters.  The 
podium  of  the  arena  shows  by  its  lowness  that  fights 
with  wild  beasts  did  not  take  place  in  it.  Until  the 
fourteenth  century  the  interior  remained  nearly  com- 
plete, the  patriarch  having  forbidden  the  removal  of 


< 
c 

w 

< 

w 
s 

H 

i— i 

X 

3 

< 

w 


S.   MARIA   FORMOSA  147 

stones.  At  that  time  the  seats  were  taken  to  repair 
the  town  walls,  and  a  great  deal  of  the  material  was 
subsequently  sold  to  Venice.  The  stone  of  which  the 
amphitheatre  is  built  has  taken  on  a  beautiful  warm 
colour  from  the  suns  of  centuries,  and  glows  in  the 
sunset  light  as  if  it  were  the  marble  which  makes  so 
many  Italian  buildings  lovely  in  colour. 

The  most  important  church  in  Pola  was  S.  Maria 
Formosa,  or  del  Canneto  (of  the  marsh),  built  on  the 
foundations  of  the  temple  of  Minerva.  It  was  founded 
by  Maximian,  archbishop  of  Ravenna,  the  friend  of 
Justinian,  who  was  born  at  Vistro,  now  Porto  Vestre, 
a  village  to  the  south  of  Rovigno.  He  came  to  Pola 
to  consecrate  it  in  546.  He  also  founded  a  Benedictine 
monastery  near,  which  soon  became  the  richest  in  Istria 
by  its  connection  with  Ravenna,  endowed  the  convent 
of  S.  Andrea,  and  built  a  house  for  the  rector  of  the 
basilica.  The  site  of  the  abbey  is  now  occupied  by  the 
buildings  of  the  Hotel  Central  and  other  houses  in 
the  parallel  streets  Via  Minerva  and  Via  Abbazia.  It 
was  a  basilican  church  with  nave,  and  aisles  raised  two 
steps  above  it.  There  were  ten  columns  on  each  side, 
with  varied  capitals.  The  aisles  were  vaulted,  and  the 
semi-dome  of  the  apse  was  decorated  with  mosaics  on 
a  gold  ground.  The  high-altar  was  under  a  baldacchino  ; 
there  was  a  throne  for  the  abbot,  and  seats  in  the  choir 
for  the  monks.  The  windows  were  small  and  round- 
headed,  filled  with  pierced  slabs.  The  ancient  door  of 
entrance  is  between  Nos.  27  and  33,  Via  Abbazia — a 
round  arch  simply  moulded,  with  a  dentil  round  the 
tympanum  and  a  lintel  below.  The  nave  stretched 
along  the  space  now  occupied  by  the  stable-yard  of  the 
hotel,  and  the  wall  of  the  north  aisle  forms  part  of 
the  stables.  It  has  external  pilaster  strips  opposite  to 
the  places  where  the  columns  of  the  nave  arcade  stood. 
The  apse,  with  triumphal  arch,  still  exists,  and  two 


VIAH1NERVN 


ALTES  ABTEITHOR 
PLAN   OF  S.    MARIA   FORMOSA,    POLA 


VIA  AEBAZW 


REMAINS   OF   THE   CHURCH  149 

round  chapels  which  flanked  it  and  were  entered  from 
the  aisles ;  one  of  them  was  dedicated  to  the  Madonna 
del  Carmelo,  and  the  other  to  S.  Andrew. 

The  S.  Maria  del  Canneto  of  to-day  is  a  cruciform 
chapel  which  lay  to  the  right,  and  has  an  apsidal 
eastern  end.  The  entrance  is  past  the  kitchen  of  the 
hotel ;  and  from  a  window  of  an  upstairs  corridor  one 
can  "  assist  "  at  Mass  when  it  is  performed,  for  the 
church  is  entirely  enclosed  in  the  hotel  buildings.  The 
arms  of  the  cross  have  wagon  vaults ;  at  the  crossing 
is  a  quadripartite  vault  with  ribs  and  central  oculus 
on  a  higher  level ;  rough  projections  along  the  ribs 
suggest  the  copying  of  leaf  ribs  of  early  mosaics.  It  is 
about  22  ft.  6  in.  high,  and  there  is  a  window  in  each 
wall.  The  roof  shows  ancient  material,  and  in  some 
parts  the  ancient  manner  of  using  tiles.  On  the  face 
of  the  bell-turret  a  piece  of  eighth-century  carving  is 
fixed.  The  walls  are  now  whitewashed,  and  the  floor 
covered  with  red  tiles.  The  round  chapel  to  the  left 
of  the  apse  has  a  cupola  with  an  oculus  and  a  lantern 
at  the  top.  There  are  still  remains  of  the  mosaic 
pavement  of  the  apse  in  No.  20,  Via  Minerva  :  in  1898, 
when  building  the  stables,  some  fragments  were  found 
near  to  the  aisle  wall,  which,  with  others  unearthed  in 
1902,  are  now  in  the  municipal  museum.  The  patterns 
are  a  guilloche  border  with  fishes,  enclosing  a  field  of 
plant  sprigs,  and  a  lotus  border  with  a  more  con- 
ventional pattern  within.  The  colours  used  are  two 
reds,  two  greens,  black  and  white,  and  pale  blue  occa- 
sionally. The  cloister  lay  between  the  church  and  Via 
Abbazia;  the  houses  39,  37,  and  35,  stand  on  its  site. 
The  last  notices  of  the  church  occur  in  the  middle  of 
the  thirteenth  century  ;  later  mention  refers  only  to  the 
ruins.  The  destruction  appears  to  have  taken  place 
when  Pola  was  sacked  by  the  Venetians  under  Giacomo 
Tiepolo  and  Leonardo  Querini  in  1243,  though  some 


ISO  POLA 

think  that  it  was  in  one  of  the  later  sackings  by  the 
Genoese,  of  which  there  were  three  in  the  fourteenth 
century — 1354,  1376,  and  1380.  In  1600  a  number  of 
the  pillars  were  still  upright,  and  mosaics  and  sculptures 
were  visible  ;  at  that  time  they  tried  to  raise  a  chapel 
within  its  walls.  It  is  certain  that  the  Venetians 
gradually  despoiled  it  of  everything  of  value,  with  the 
consent  of  the  Polese.  Much  of  the  material  was  used 
in  the  seventeenth  century  for  the  restoration  and  re- 
building of  the  communal  palace,  and  two  at  least  of 
the  pillars  of  the  ciborium  of  S.  Mark's,  Venice,  as  well 
as  the  four  of  Oriental  alabaster,  which  the  tourist  is 
told  came  from  the  Temple  of  Solomon,  were  spoils 
from  this  splendid  church,  the  latter  annexed  in  1605, 
and  the  former  by  Giacomo  Tiepolo  in  1243. 

In  1545  Sansovino  was  sent  by  the  Senate  to  bring 
away  the  marble  columns  to  Venice.  The  African 
marble  on  the  landings  of  the  Libreria  Vecchia  also 
came  from  Pola,  and  the  shaft  of  the  holy-water  basin 
in  S.  Mark's,  with  dolphins  and  tridents,  once  belonged 
to  a  temple  of  Neptune  there.  The  Polese  presented 
the  four  central  columns  to  S.  Maria  della  Salute,  from 
the  theatre  on  Monte  Zaro.  In  1632  the  Venetian 
Senate  ordered  the  provveditore  of  the  castle,  Pola,  to 
inform  himself  as  to  the  number  and  quantity  of  the 
columns  of  "noble  architecture  "  which  were  in  one  of 
the  ruinous  churches,  and  on  August  21,  1638,  praised 
the  diligence  of  Bragadin  in  sending  marbles  for  S. 
Maria  della  Salute.  He  had  sent  fourteen  columns 
in  April,  and  information  of  others  at  Parenzo. 

Several  other  early  churches  in  and  around  Pola 
were  destroyed  while  constructing  the  fortifications. 
On  the  island  of  S.  Caterina  was  a  cemetery  church, 
the  plan  of  which  indicated  early  Byzantine  origin  ; 
on  that  of  S.  Andrea  were  a  cloister  and  church  of  the 
sixth  century ;  and  on  the  hill  whence  the  Tegethoff 


THE   CATHEDRAL  151 

monument  now  looks  over  the  harbour  the  double 
basilica  of  S.  Michele  in  Monte,  partly  dating  from  the 
seventh  century  and  partly  from  the  eleventh.  The 
grave  of  Salomon,  king  of  Hungary,  who  died  here  in 
1087  and  was  canonised  shortly  after,  whose  body  had 
been  venerated  in  the  cathedral  from  the  fifteenth 
century,  was  then  found.  The  sarcophagus  is  now 
in  the  museum. 

The  original  cathedral  appears  to  have  been  con- 
temporary with  that  of  Parenzo,  but  it  was  restored 
in  the  ninth  century.  In  1884  the  floor  of  the  pres- 
bytery was  lowered,  and  near  the  high-altar,  at  a  depth  of 
two  feet,  Roman  fragments  and  ninth-century  carvings 
were  found,  with  an  inscription  of  the  fifteenth  century  ; 
lower  still  were  Roman  inscriptions  and  sculptures, 
and  then  a  semicircular  mosaic  floor  of  13  ft.  radius, 
with  a  lily  border  on  a  black  and  red  ground  (grey, 
yellow,  and  white  tesserae  also  being  used),  with  an 
inscription  mentioning  Donatian,  and  small  medallions 
with  cross  and  square.  Under  the  first  step  of  the 
demolished  stairs  was  a  second  much  damaged  mosaic 
resembling  the  early  one  at  Parenzo.  It  may  be  seen 
by  lifting  a  trap-door.  A  bronze  medal  of  Agrippina 
was  found  at  the  same  time.  Three  rectangular 
windows  were  also  discovered,  a  large  one  in  the  centre 
and  two  smaller  towards  the  sides,  the  former  filled 
with  a  pierced  slab  now  preserved  in  the  presbytery. 
The  triumphal  arch  is  round,  with  early  caps  and 
impost  mouldings  ;  other  early  caps  and  columns  are 
visible  in  the  walls  of  the  choir  in  hollows  made  to 
expose  them.  The  theory  is  that  there  was  a  confes- 
sional behind  the  apse  instead  of  below  it,  of  which 
these  fragments  are  the  remains.  Encrusted  in  the 
outer  wall  of  the  south  aisle  is  an  inscription  which 
runs  thus  :  "  In  the  year  857,  fifth  indiction,  under 
Ludovicus,  Emperor  of  Italy,   Handegis  was   elected 


152  POLA 

and  consecrated  bishop  on  Whit  Sunday,  and  occupied 
the  seat  for  five  years."  It  is  thought  that  he  was  the 
restorer  of  the  building.  Some  of  the  ninth-century 
carvings  are  in  the  museum.  Several  small  windows 
high  in  the  nave  walls  still  retain  the  slabs  pierced  with 
ninth-century  patterns,  and  two  unbroken  ciborium 
or  baptistery  archi volts  still  exist,  one  in  the  courtyard 
of  the  Beata  Vergine  della  Misericordia,  and  the  other  in 
the  Piazza  S.  Giovanni,  where  it  is  made  up  into  a 
little  shrine  with  two  fourteenth-century  caps,  and  a  Re- 
naissance pediment  with  two  uprights  of  a  chancel  of 
Lombard  work,  with  three  furrowed  scrolls  and  crosses 
of  the  usual  Syrian  derivation. 

The  church  was  subsequently  much  altered,  the 
transepts  and  apse  have  vanished,  and  stones  found 
which  bear  the  marks  of  fire  suggest  that  it  was  burnt, 
either  by  the  Venetians  in  1243  or  by  the  Genoese  in 
1379,  wnen  they  took  the  bronze  doors  away  and 
burnt  the  archives.  An  inscription  on  the  front  of 
the  reliquary  tomb,  which  is  to  the  right  of  the  high- 
altar,  and  claims  to  contain  the  bodies  of  SS.  Basil, 
Demetrius,  George,  and  Theodore,  and  of  Salomon,  king 
of  Hungary,  states  that  Bishop  Biagio  Molin  rebuilt 
the  church  in  1417.  To  this  building  the  retable  of 
the  high-altar,  dedicated  in  1469  and  now  in  the  north 
aisle,  belongs,  still  called  La  Madonna  del  Coro.  It 
has  figures  of  saints  in  the  upper  row,  half  length,  and 
full  length  in  the  lower  row,  in  high  relief ;  the  Madonna 
in  the  centre,  and  above  her  Christ  over  His  tomb, 
showing  His  wounds,  and  attended  by  the  Virgin  and 
S.  John,  with  fine  tabernacle  work  and  pierced 
pinnacles,  all  gilded  except  the  flesh,  which  is  painted, 
and  the  ground  behind  the  pinnacles,  which  is  blue. 
It  is  rather  over-restored  and  looks  quite  new.  The 
ciborium  has  cipollino  columns,  antique  caps,  pointed 
arches,  and  Venetian  dentil  enrichments  with  marble 


EARLY   RELIQUARIES  153 

inlays.  The  nave  arcade,  of  nine  columns,  has  slightly 
pointed  arches,  unmoulded  except  for  a  simple  hood- 
mould  and  a  kind  of  engrailed  crown  above  the  abacus. 
The  caps  are  for  the  most  part  late  fourteenth  century 
in  character,  but  some  are  antique.  The  columns  have 
been  made  up  to  the  same  size  with  plaster,  and  painted 
to  imitate  granite,  only  a  few  having  escaped.  The 
last  one  on  the  south  has  a  ring  round  the  centre  ;  one 
base  looks  antique,  many  of  them  have  spurs.  The 
restorations  of  1640  and  17 12  have  obliterated  all 
appearance  of  antiquity.  Bishop  Giuseppe  Maria 
Bottari,  the  last  restorer,  used  so  many  inscribed  slabs 
in  repairing  the  interior  and  building  the  campanile 
that  he  was  nicknamed  "  the  sexton  of  inscriptions.' ' 
There  was  a  cruciform  baptistery  to  the  west,  the  re- 
mains of  which  were  destroyed  in  1850  in  connection 
with  the  harbour  works.  To  the  north  of  the  cathedral 
is  the  communal  cistern,  which  covers  a  great  part  of 
the  site  of  the  early  church  of  S.  Thomas.  In  i860 
some  reliquaries  were  found  here  between  the  cistern 
and  the  cathedral  sacristy,  where  the  centre  of  the  apse 
probably  was,  and  further  investigations  disclosed  the 
steps  to  the  presbytery,  remains  of  the  apse,  and  stones 
carved  with  ornament.  In  1332  this  church  was  used 
for  service  in  place  of  the  ruined  cathedral,  and  as  late 
as  1812  some  remains  of  the  walls  were  visible.  The 
reliquaries  were  contained  in  a  stone  chest  some  three 
feet  below  the  ground  level.  Within  it  was  another 
smaller  chest  of  Greek  marble,  with  Byzantine  orna- 
ment, and  a  gable  roof  with  an  inlaid  cross  of  green 
stone.  This  was  preserved  in  the  cathedral  for  some 
time,  but  has  now  disappeared.  Within  it  the  work- 
men found  a  flat  rectangular  casket,  described  as  being 
divided  into  sixteen  compartments,  which  held  silver 
reliquaries,  and  in  the  middle  a  small  golden  box,  in 
which  were  two  little  finger-bones.     In  another  was  a 

20 


154  POLA 

small  yellow  piece  of  silk  with  blood-spots  on  it.  The 
sacristan  asserted  that  there  were  also  twelve  golden 
statuettes  a  span  high,  and  some  smaller  silver  vases ; 
but  all  the  reliquaries  have  disappeared  except  two, 
which  have  been  preserved  at  Vienna  since  1888.  The 
more  important  of  the  two  is  an  hexagonal  box  with  an 
ogee-shaped  lid  and  a  little  rosette  on  the  apex  ;  on 
the  sides  are  repousse  figures,  the  upper  parts  of  which 
are  repeated  with  some  modifications  on  the  lid. 
These  figures  are :  Christ,  between  SS.  Peter  and  Paul, 
and  three  single  figures,  two  of  which  hold  symbols, 
a  roll,  and  a  tau-cross.  The  Christ  is  youthful,  without 
a  nimbus,  and  holds  an  open  book  in  the  left  hand. 
The  draperies  are  all  antique  in  style,  and  the  work 
is  believed  to  be  of  the  first  or  second  century.  A  hasp 
is  attached  to  the  lid,  but  there  is  no  sign  of  hinge  or 
corresponding  button.  The  smaller  casket  is  rectan- 
gular, resembling  that  found  at  Grado.  On  the  lid  is 
a  cross  in  dark-blue  enamel  with  surroundings  of 
filigree. 

The  church  of  S.  Francesco  is  halfway  up  the  hill 
to  the  castle,  and  is  now  used  as  a  military  magazine. 
Towards  the  road  the  wall  terminates  in  a  gable,  with 
two  pointed  openings  for  bells  ;  below  is  a  red  cross 
inlaid  within  an  enclosing  moulding.  A  ramping 
cornice  of  shallow  arches  with  dentils  above  it  finishes 
the  wall,  the  centre  portion  of  which  is  pierced  with  a 
two-light  trefoiled  window  blocked  up  below,  while  a 
chapel  to  the  north  is  lighted  by  simple-pointed 
windows.  The  fine  entrance  door,  with  its  rich  mould- 
ings, twisted  columns,  and  round  arch,  looks  rather 
older  than  1314,  which  is  the  date  of  the  first  certain 
mention  of  the  church  ;  but  in  Istria  and  Dalmatia  styles 
lingered  late.  It  is  said  to  have  been  built  by  the 
Castropola  in  1285,  and  a  half-obliterated  inscription 
by  the  door  records  the  date  of  1406,  when  a  provincial 


WEST    DOORWAY,    S.    FRANCESCO,    POLA 


To  face  page  154 


OTHER   MEDIAEVAL   BUILDINGS  155 

Franciscan  council  was  held  in  the  church.  On  each 
side  of  the  door  is  a  window  of  two  trefoiled  lights  with 
slender  shafts,  and  above  it  a  rose  with  Gothic  tracery. 
The  interior  has  a  simple  unvaulted  nave,  a  choir  of 
one  bay  with  cross  vaulting,  and  a  small  chapel,  pro- 
bably the  sepulchral  chapel  of  the  Castropola,  since 
their  arms  are  on  the  windows.  The  only  remaining 
piece  of  the  cloister  serves  as  entrance  portico.  The 
little  garden  outside  the  principal  door  has  a  bowling- 
alley  beneath  a  vine  pergola,  from  which  there  is  a 
beautiful  view  over  the  bay  ;  and  in  it  grow  trees  of 
euonymus  and  oleander  with  thick  trunks,  and  an  aloe, 
besides  the  usual  roses,  peaches,  and  mulberries. 

The  communal  palace  was  built  in  1296  ;  the  back 
portion  is  part  of  the  second  temple.  Some  portions 
of  the  ancient  building  remain  on  the  right  flank,  It 
was  the  palace  of  the  Margrave  of  Istria,  and  later  of 
the  Venetian  rectors  or  counts  of  Pola.  According  to 
Kandler,  the  figure  of  a  knight  upon  it  represents 
Albert  II.,  Count  of  Istria.  The  Genoese  damaged  the 
palace  in  1390,  but  it  was  restored  the  next  year. 
After  the  facade  fell  in  165 1,  it  was  rebuilt  in  its  present 
form,  with  material  from  S.  Maria  Formosa,  but  it  was 
not  finished  till  1703.  During  the  last  years  of  the 
Republic  the  count  lived  in  the  back  portion,  had  his 
stables  in  the  temple  of  Augustus  and  his  kitchen  in 
the  other  temple. 

The  castle  was  built  on  the  ruins  of  the  Capitol, 
probably  about  1200.  Within  was  the  habitation  of 
the  count,  a  three-naved  chapel,  arsenal,  lodging  for 
two  hundred  soldiers,  &c.  The  Sergii  seized  it  in 
1271  and  became  known  as  Castropolae.  Here  the 
captains  of  the  people  lived,  who  ruled  Pola  for  the 
sixty-three  years  before  1328.  The  count  was  a  civil 
governor,  and  after  133 1,  when  the  Polese  gave  them- 
selves to  Venice,  had  authority  in  the  lower  city ;  but 


156  POLA 

a  provveditore  was  appointed  for  the  castle,  who  had 
a  captain,  a  sergeant,  two  lieutenants,  and  eighty 
soldiers  under  his  command.  In  1638  the  two  offices 
were  united.  The  new  castle  was  commenced  after  the 
plague  of  1632  from  the  designs  of  the  Frenchman 
Deville,  who  used  the  material  of  the  theatre.  Kandler 
says  that  he  remembered  this  castle,  which  had  double 
walls  with  four  towers  to  each,  and  one  larger  tower 
towards  Monte  Maggiore.  The  present  castle  is  quite 
modern,  and  one  is  warned  off  when  approaching  it. 
The  mediaeval  walls  were  demolished  in  1848.  They 
appear  to  have  been  generally  in  a  bad  state  of  repair, 
and  records  of  their  restoration  are  frequent.  The 
sea-walls  were  thrown  down  by  the  Venetians,  who  did 
not  like  the  cities  under  their  sway  to  have  defences  on 
the  water-side,  though  they  were  sometimes  obliged 
to  permit  something  of  the  sort.  For  instance,  in  1351, 
the  Polese  were  allowed  to  build  a  wall  10  ft.  high 
towards  the  sea,  which  was  a  sufficient  defence  against 
a  sudden  raid,  but  of  little  use  in  the  case  of  a  strong 
attack.  As  a  matter  of  fact,  the.  Genoese  broke  it 
down  in  1380,  sacked  the  city,  and  put  all  opponents 
to  the  sword. 

At  the  beginning  of  the  fifteenth  century  Pola  was 
surrounded  by  a  number  of  carefully  built  polygonal 
towers.  There  were  eight  gates  with  machicolated 
defences  above  them,  and  the  arms  of  fifteen  rectors 
in  different  places  showed  that  the  walls  had  been  long 
in  building.  In  1610  the  Uscocs  sacked  the  city, 
entering  through  certain  holes  in  the  walls,  which,  as 
Fra  Paolo  Sarpi  relates,  rendered  the  closing  of  the  great 
gates  useless.  The  neglect  of  the  Venetians  in  the 
matters  of  pay  and  provision  of  war  material  in  the 
seventeenth  century  reduced  the  defences  to  a  farce. 

The  laws  of  many  of  the  cities  prescribed  penalties 
for  crossing  the  wall.     Pola,  1442  :    "  No  person  shall 


THE   COMMUNAL   MUSEUM  157 

dare  to  pass  over  the  walls  of  the  city  of  Pola  in  any 
manner,  neither  going  nor  returning,  neither  with  nor 
without  a  ladder,  and  neither  shall  they  enter  nor  leave 
the  gates  of  the  city,  neither  below  nor  above,  under 
penalty  of  50  lire  di  piccoli  and  three  months  in  prison/ ' 
The  inhabitants  of  walled  places  had  little  liberty. 
Besides  the  duty  of  guarding  the  gates,  a  citizen  could 
neither  enter  nor  leave  except  between  certain  fixed 
hours  ;  if  he  reached  the  opposite  side  of  the  ditch 
after  the  evening  bell  he  found  the  drawbridge  raised, 
and  had  to  seek  a  bed  outside,  or  climb  the  wall,  in  which 
case  he  ran  the  risk  of  being  surprised  and  punished. 

The  communal  museum  contains  many  very  in- 
teresting things  belonging  to  different  periods  of 
Polese  history.  Here  are  some  very  ancient  stones 
with  Mycenean  whorls  cut  upon  Istrian  material, 
perhaps  by  some  prisoner  taken  by  Istrian  pirates  ; 
also  stones  with  these  whorls  half  obliterated,  and 
hollows  sunk  here  and  there,  which,  it  is  thought,  were 
a  kind  of  star  map  made  by  shepherds  when  Istria  was 
wooded,  to  direct  them  in  driving  their  flocks.  Here 
are  two  inscriptions  mentioning  an  entirely  unknown 
god  and  goddess,  and  the  inscription  of  Gordian  in 
which  the  name  of  Nesactium  occurs,  the  discovery 
of  which  fixed  the  site  of  the  most  important  of  the 
Istrian  cities,  the  scene  of  the  massacre  of  the  women 
and  children  by  the  hands  of  their  husbands  and 
fathers,  to  prevent  them  from  being  taken  by  the 
Romans. 

Many  things  found  there  are  also  in  the  museum — 
skulls,  an  ivory  spindle,  fragments  of  pottery  and  glass, 
and  two  curious  statues,  very  archaic  in  style,  from  a 
tomb-building.  One  is  a  nude  rider  upon  a  horse,  the 
other  an  unclothed  woman  suckling  a  child,  thought  to 
be  the  indigenous  god  Melescos  and  one  of  the  goddess 
mothers.     There  are  also  a  prehistoric  oven,  bronze 


158  POLA 

vases  found  in  the  well  at  Tivoli,  near  Pola,  fragments 
from  S.  Maria  in  Canneto  and  other  destroyed  churches ; 
and  here  also  the  chapter  of  the  cathedral  has  deposited 
portions  of  the  cathedral  ciborium  and  other  archi- 
tectural fragments. 

Pola  was  founded  as  a  Roman  colony  in  129  B.C., 
at  the  same  time  as  Trieste.  It  fought  for  Pompey, 
and  was  punished  by  destruction,  but  was  restored  in 
33  B.C.  as  "  Pietas  Julia"  ;  and  in  27  B.C.  Augustus 
raised  the  Istrian  cities  to  the  rank  of  municipia  by 
adding  the  province  to  Italy.  The  Polese  were 
inscribed  in  the  tribe  Valeria.  Pola  was  also  called 
Polentia  in  honour  of  the  mother  of  Vespasian,  and 
Herculanea  in  honour  of  Commodus.  It  had  been  the 
judicial  capital  under  the  Republic,  and  was  prosperous 
under  the  Empire,  being  the  place  where  two  lines  of 
traffic  crossed,  that  from  Rome  through  Ancona  and 
so  to  the  Danube,  and  that  from  Britain  to  Constanti- 
nople, and  also  had  agricultural  riches  and  manu- 
factures of  its  own.  It  was  the  base  of  operations 
during  the  reconquest  of  Italy  from  the  Goths,  both  for 
Belisarius  and  for  Narses,  and  was  made  the  principal 
city  and  harbour  on  the  east  coast  of  the  Adriatic. 
It  was  also  the  granary  of  the  Exarchate,  owing  to  the 
Lombard  destruction  in  Italy,  and  had  a  population  of 
some  25,000.  During  the  plague  of  1348,  which  lasted 
for  several  months,  a  fifth  of  the  population  died,  fifty 
patrician  families  became  entirely  extinct,  and  privi- 
leges were  offered  to  foreigners  to  induce  them  to 
re-people  the  city.  At  the  downfall  of  the  Venetian 
Republic  the  population  barely  amounted  to  600 
souls. 

The  popular  tradition  of  the  destruction  of  the 
Castropola  (who  had  made  themselves  lords  of  Pola) 
runs  thus  :  Andrea  di  Tonata,  the  head  of  the  popular 
faction,  arranged  a  conspiracy  to  free  the  city.     The 


MASSACRE  OF  THE  CASTROPOLA   159 

moment  chosen  was  the  evening  of  Good  Friday,  during 
the  annual  procession  called  "  of  the  wood  of  the  Holy 
Cross,"  which  went  round  the  city,  starting  from  the 
cathedral.  Near  the  church  of  S.  Stefano  (which  was 
within  the  walls  at  the  foot  of  the  castle  hill)  the 
conspirators,  disguised  in  the  dress  of  members  of  the 
Confraternity  of  S.  Stephen,  drawing  their  daggers  at 
a  given  signal,  threw  themselves  upon  the  Castropola, 
who  were  in  a  separate  group  in  the  procession,  not 
thinking  of  danger,  and  killed  them.  Then,  calling 
on  the  people  to  rise,  the  conspirators  led  them  to  the 
assault  of  the  neighbouring  castle,  which  they  took  by 
surprise,  killing  any  of  the  family  or  their  adherents 
whom  they  met.  Only  one  child  escaped,  owing  his 
life  to  the  devotion  of  a  servant  who  hid  him  when  the 
crowd  had  actually  entered  the  castle,  and  let  him 
down  by  a  cord  into  the  Franciscan  convent  just  below, 
from  which  a  monk  took  him  secretly  out  of  the  city 
to  one  of  the  country  places  belonging  to  the  family. 
This  tradition  is  not  historical,  for  the  family  continued 
in  Pola  till  the  fall  of  the  Signory,  and  flourished 
afterwards  in  Venice  and  Treviso  ;  but  there  was 
certainly  a  rising  then  in  which  the  houses  of  certain 
of  their  adherents  were  sacked.  Two  members  of  the 
aristocracy  were  appointed  captains  of  the  people,  but 
after  a  month  they  decided  to  give  themselves  to 
Venice  ;  by  the  Act  of  Dedition  the  Castropola  were 
banished  from  Pola,  Istria,  Friuli,  and  Schiavonia, 
though  they  were  allowed  to  retain  their  property. 
Their  principal  adherents  were  also  banished.  In  1334 
an  attempt  to  regain  the  Signory  caused  the  Polese  to 
ask  the  Senate  to  dismantle  the  castle,  which  was  done, 
and  the  houses  of  the  two  heads  of  the  family  were 
also  destroyed.  So  Pola  became  a  mere  appanage  of 
Venice. 


XIII 

CHARACTERISTICS    OF    THE    ISTRIAN 
COAST 

Istria  is  in  great  part  a  dry  and  stony  land,  but  there 
are  valleys  with  streams  and  woods.  It  slopes  to  the 
west  and  south  with  a  tolerably  continuous  declivity, 
so  that  the  base  of  the  triangular  peninsula  is  on  the 
whole  the  highest  part.  Much  of  the  vegetation  is 
greyish,  and  the  rocks  also  are  generally  a  pale  grey. 
It  is  divided  into  three  districts,  named,  from,  the 
prevailing  colour  of  the  ground,  white,  yellow,  and  red. 
The  first  is  the  stony  portion,  the  grey  limestone  of  the 
Karst ;  next  the  yellow  sandstone  formation  which 
begins  at  Trieste  and  extends  through  middle  Istria ; 
and  then  the  southern  portion  where  the  white  lime- 
stone is  underneath,  and  clay  of  a  red  ochreous  colour 
occurs  in  streaks.  Round  Pisino  and  Pinguente  and 
between  them  are  fields,  meadows,  and  even  woods, 
with  plenty  of  streams  which  burst  from  the  sandstone, 
while  limestone  hills  jut  out  here  and  there.  Pisino 
lies  on  the  edge  of  "  yellow  "  Istria,  and  hills  rise  around 
it ;  on  the  south  side  is  a  hill  of  the  red  land  ;  and  the 
houses  are  on  an  outcrop  of  the  white  limestone.  The 
Foiba  runs  along  the  junction  of  the  two  formations. 
Middle  Istria  undulates  from  about  1,200  ft.  to  900  ft. 
above  the  sea,  while  Lower  Istria  is  but  500  ft.  The 
hills  are  lower  and  less  steep,  there  is  more  cultivation, 
and  the  villages  and  towns  look  more  prosperous. 

160 


COAST   TOWNS  161 

The  shore  (except  for  the  deltas  of  a  few  streams) 
has  no  flat  portions,  and  the  banks  (scarcely  cliffs), 
though  generally  perpendicular  and  difficult  to  climb, 
are  not  at  all  lofty.  The  coast  is  broken  into  bays  by 
projecting  tongues  of  land,  making  harbours  of  differing 
degrees  of  safety,  with  an  enormous  number  of  small 
islands,  many  of  which  are  mere  rocks,  obliging  the 
steamers  to  keep  some  considerable  distance  from  the 
land.  The  first  navigable  passage  between  them  and 
the  coast  is  the  Canal  of  Fasana,  within  the  Brioni 
Islands.  The  view  from  the  sea  shows  rough  steep 
stretches  of  bank  with  picturesque  harbour  towns  ; 
the  stone  walls  and  towers,  the  tall  campanile,  generally 
reminiscent  of  that  of  S.  Marco,  Venice,  the  white 
houses,  the  grey  of  the  bare  shores  and  the  varied 
greens  of  the  surrounding  country,  with  its  woods, 
fields  and  gardens,  harmonise  pleasantly,  especially 
in  the  afternoon  and  evening  light.  Nearly  every 
town  has  an  upper  or  more  ancient  portion  built  for 
security  on  a  hill  which  was  once  an  island,  and  a  newer 
part  close  to  the  water.  From  the  outer  harbour  the 
"  mandracchio,"  the  inner  harbour,  opens  with  the 
fish-market  close  by.  The  "  piazza,"  in  and  near 
which  are  the  tnunicipio,  the  loggia,  and  the  patricians' 
palaces,  is  generally  approached  by  one  of  the  steep 
streets,  many  of  which  are  on  the  natural  rock  and 
impassable  for  wheeled  vehicles.  Above  the  coastline 
the  hills  of  the  interior  rise  in  bluer  distance,  with  here 
and  there  a  town  crowning  a  lesser  elevation.  Montona 
appears,  cresting  its  isolated  hill  above  the  Quieto,  and 
Buie,  the  look-out  of  Istria,  while  to  the  south-east 
the  blue  mass  of  Monte  Maggiore  is  hidden  or  disclosed 
as  the  clouds  gather  and  disperse. 

Beyond  the  harbour  of  Pola  is  the  low  point  of 
Promontore,  where  the  coastline  turns  and  runs  north- 
east.   All  around  the  harbour  forts  are  seated  on  points 

21 


1 62  THE    ISTRIAN   COAST 

of  vantage,  some  older,  some  very  modern  ;  and  little 
villages  occupy  those  elevations  left  vacant  by  the 
military  authorities.  To  the  south  are  the  large 
islands  of  Cherso  and  Veglia.  At  the  mouth  of  the 
Bado  valley  lies  the  little  port  of  that  name,  around 
which  are  many  tiny  islands.  From  Caorano,  near  the 
mouth  of  the  canal  of  the  Arsa,  the  land  begins  to  rise, 
and  with  Punta  Nera,  an  outlying  spur  of  the  chain 
of  Monte  Maggiore,  the  coast  becomes  rocky  and  pre- 
cipitous, from  950  ft.  to  3,200  ft.  high,  furrowed  by 
valleys  running  down  to  the  sea.  The  villages  are  high 
above  the  water,  and  there  is  little  green  except  in  the 
lower  parts,  the  grey  of  the  rock  being  varied  only 
with  brushwood.  Albona  may  be  taken  as  a  typical 
example  of  the  situation  of  these  villages,  being  high 
above  its  harbour,  Rabaz.  As  the  boat  approaches 
nearer  the  shore  the  range  of  cliffs  plunging  down  into 
the  green  water  is  impressive.  Towards  Abbazia  the 
red  soil  becomes  more  abundant,  the  hills  are  terraced, 
and  vegetation  is  more  luxuriant,  great  chestnuts  and 
bay-trees  appear,  and  cypresses  when  Lovrana  is 
reached.  This  north  shore  of  the  Quarnero,  stretching 
to  Fiume,  is  the  Riviera  of  Austria.  The  Dinaric  Alps 
surround  it  from  Monte  Maggiore,  and  the  Liburnian 
Karst  to  the  Velebits.  In  this  district  hedges  of  bay 
nourish,  and  in  the  Villa  Angiolina  park  may  be  seen 
many  varieties  of  trees  in  blossom  or  fruit,  which 
luxuriate  in  the  sheltered  situation.  The  view  from 
the  harbour  at  Fiume  in  the  afternoon  is  delightful, 
the  mass  of  Monte  Syss  on  Cherso  guarding  the  entrance 
to  the  Quarnero  on  one  side,  while  the  many  spurs  of 
the  Monte  Maggiore  range  on  the  other  troop  to  the 
sea,  blue  in  the  shadow,  and  paling  and  lowering  with 
greater  distance. 


WINE-BOATS    IN    THE    FIUMARA    CANAL,    FIUME 

To  face  page  163 


XIV 

FIUME   AND   VEGLIA 

Fiume  is  one  of  the  few  towns  along  the  coast  in  which 
the  Italians  are  in  the  majority.  It  lies  at  the  north- 
eastern end  of  the  Bay  of  the  Quarnero,  and  is  the  chief 
seaport  of  Hungary,  to  which  it  has  belonged  in  the 
main  since  the  beginning  of  the  twelfth  century  ;  and 
permanently  since  1870.  Though  it  was  a  thriving 
town  in  the  Middle  Ages,  and  existed  in  Roman  times, 
there  is  very  little  to  be  seen  older  than  the  period  of 
the  late  Renaissance.  It  is  a  busy  modern  town,  and 
for  the  archaeologist  is  merely  a  convenient  place  of 
departure  for  other  more  interesting  sites,  though  there 
is  some  picturesqueness  of  costume  and  situation  about 
it ;  and  the  Englishman  is  pleased  to  see  many  ships  with 
the  national  flag,  and  to  know  that  one  of  the  great 
industries  of  the  place  is  the  Whitehead  torpedo  factory. 
The  Tarsia,  as  the  Rjeka  was  called,  gave  the  name  of 
Tarsatica  to  the  ancient  Liburnian  city.  The  Romans 
built  a  castle  on  the  bank  of  the  stream  to  rein  in 
the  ferocious  Gepids.  Round  this  castle  the  ancient 
Tarsatica  grew  up.  The  only  Roman  remains  existing 
are :  a  triumphal  arch  said  to  have  been  erected  in 
honour  of  the  Emperor  Claudius  II.,  Gothicus  (268-270), 
which  resembles  the  Arco  di  Riccardo,  Trieste,  in  its 
situation  on  the  side  of  the  hill  in  the  old  city,  but  is 
much  less  ornamented  and  more  dilapidated  ;  some 
remains  of  Roman  construction  in  the  Castle  of  the 

163 


164 


FIUME    AND   VEGLIA 


Frangipani ;  and  at  the  top  of  the  hill  above  the  Porto 
di  Martinschizza  (called  "  Solin "),  the  remains  of 
another  Roman  fortress,  which  protected  the  city  to 
the  east,  commanding  the  ravine  of  La  Draga,  a  mile 
and  a  half  from  Tarsatto.  Tarsatica  was  destroyed 
in  799  by  Charlemagne. 

The  wine-quay,  by  the  Porto  Canale,  Fiumara,  is 


STALL  ON   THE   WINE-QUAY,    FIUME 

shaded  pleasantly  with  trees,  and  always  busy  with  its 
own  particular  trade,  supplemented  by  stalls  at  which 
various  goods  are  offered  for  sale.  Close  by  is  a  street, 
which  in  the  spring  is  bright  with  Judas-trees  in  flower. 
The  ravine  down  which  the  stream  flows  has  always 
been  the  boundary  of  the  Croatian  kingdom.  On  the 
further  side  is  the  ascent  of  410  steps  to  the  pilgrimage 


THE    MADONNA   DEL   TARSATTO         165 

church  of  the  Madonna  del  Tarsatto,  on  one  of  the  spurs 
of  the  hills  which  surround  the  city  ;  an  ascent  which 
devout  pilgrims  are  said  to  have  negotiated  on  their 
knees.  A  chronogram  over  the  church  door  gives  the 
date  1730,  but  it  was  founded  in  1453  by  one  of 
the  Frangipani  counts  on  the  site  once  occupied  by  the 
Nazareth  House  now  at  Loreto,  the  tradition  being 
that  this  rested  here  for  three  years  and  seven 
months,  from  1291  to  1294  ;  and  in  a  dark  passage 
behind  the  high-altar  a  room  is  still  shown  said  to  be 
a  part  of  it. 

The  church  contains  a  picture  of  the  Madonna  and 
Child,  ascribed  as  usual  to  S.  Luke,  of  which  a  little 
copy  hangs  by  the  choir  arch  in  the  aisle  ;  the  two 
heads  and  hands  are  painted.  The  rest  is  covered  with 
silver-gilt  plates  modelled  in  low  relief  to  represent  the 
drapery,  nimbi,  &c.  Near  the  high-altar  are  frescoes 
with  Latin  inscriptions,  of  no  great  interest,  also  two 
great  silver  candlesticks  and  portions  of  Turkish 
harness,  gifts  of  the  Emperor  Leopold  I.  The  pillars 
are  hung  with  the  votive  offerings  of  rescued  mariners. 
The  church  has  only  one  aisle,  to  the  north.  At  the 
west  end  is  an  organ  gallery  on  slight  columns  with 
fifteenth-century  carving.  The  choir  has  a  fine  seven- 
teenth-century wrought-iron  grille  with  two  amorini, 
a  crown  and  heart,  &c,  interwoven  with  scrolls,  gilded 
and  painted.  The  beaten  work  is  mixed  with  scrolls 
of  flat  thin  material  between  strong  uprights  and  cross 
pieces.  At  the  height  of  the  face  of  a  kneeling  figure 
is  a  row  of  small  balusters.  The  upper  portion  is 
painted  white. 

In  front  of  the  church  is  an  avenue  of  horse-chest- 
nuts, and  on  a  spur  of  hill  to  the  left  is  the  Castle  of 
Tarsatto,  once  belonging  to  the  Frangipani,  now  in  the 
possession  of  Count  Nugent,  and  completely  restored. 
In  the  castle  is  a  collection  of  statues  from  Minturnum, 


1 66  FIUME   AND   VEGLIA 

a  gift  of  Ferdinand  I.  of  Naples  to  Field-Marshal 
Nugent.  From  it  a  flight  of  steps  conducts  to  a  plea- 
sant field-path  which  rounds  the  shoulder  of  the  next 
hill  and  brings  one  back  to  the  steps  by  which  the 
church  is  reached.  The  view  from  the  plateau  is  very 
extensive,  the  islands  of  Veglia  and  Cherso,  in  con- 
junction with  the  spurs  of  Monte  Maggiore,  seeming 
almost  to  enclose  the  sea,  while  to  the  south  the  Velebit 
range  towers,  generally  cloud-capped. 

The  church  of  SS.  Vito  and  Modesto  was  built  in 
1631  after  the  pattern  of  S.  Maria  della  Salute.  In  the 
wall  by  the  entrance  is  a  cannon-ball,  a  memento  of 
the  English  bombardment  of  1813.  On  the  quays 
there  is  to  be  seen  much  the  same  mixture  of  types 
and  costumes  as  at  Trieste.  The  country  people  wear 
a  black  loose  coat  with  sleeves,  over  a  kind  of  sweater 
which  hangs  below  it  ;  the  trousers  resemble  broad 
breeches  with  a  bit  of  loose  stocking  showing  above 
the  shoe.  The  rawhide  shoes  are  of  the  same  kind 
as  those  worn  at  Grado,  at  Monte  S.  Angelo  across 
the  water,  and  all  over  the  country  further  south, 
pointed  in  shape  and  turned  up  at  the  toes,  generally 
brown,  with  the  upper  part  covered  with  lacing. 
On  the  men's  heads  are  little  caps,  black,  brown, 
or  red. 

While  we  were  having  dinner  in  the  Piazza  Adamich 
a  military  band  came  and  played  two  morceaux ; 
after  which  they  marched  off  to  the  accompaniment 
of  music,  looking  very  picturesque,  with  the  light 
from  candles  in  lanterns  hanging  from  staves  flashing 
from  the  brazen  instruments  and  lighting  up  the 
coloured  uniforms  against  the  dim  background  of 
garden  and  distant  house. 

The  islands  of  Cherso  and  Veglia  divide  the  Quar- 
rero  into  three  channels:  that  between  Istria  and  Cherso, 
the  Canale  di  Farasina  ;  between  Cherso  and  Veglia, 


THE    USCOCS   OF   ZENGG  167 

the  Canale  di  Mezzo  (becoming  the  Quarnerolo  further 
south) ;  and  between  Veglia  and  the  Croatian  mainland, 
the  Canale  di  Maltempo  or  della  Morlacca,  in  front  of 
which  the  little  island  of  S.  Marco  lies.  The  scenery 
of  the  last-named  channel  is  much  finer  than  the 
Quarnerolo,  and  its  interest  is  enhanced  because 
the  steamer  passes  Segna  or  Zengg,  the  rocky  nest  of 
the  Uscocs,  the  pirates  who  were  so  troublesome  in  the 
sixteenth  and  seventeenth  centuries  ;  but  its  first  name, 
the  Canal  of  Evil  Weather,  is  an  accurate  description 
of  what  may  be  expected,  since  here  the  "  Bora  "  blows 
with  the  greatest  fury,  making  it  the  most  dangerous 
part  of  the  whole  coast.  There  is  scarcely  enough  of 
interest  in  the  town  itself  to  make  it  worthy  of  a  visit, 
since  the  picturesque  and  horrible  exploits  of  its 
savage  inhabitants  (which  are  its  chief  title  to  fame) 
may  be  read  in  the  histories  of  the  Uscocs.  They  were 
refugees  from  Bosnia  and  Herzegovina,  driven  out  by 
the  Turks  ;  the  word  "  Scochi  "  in  Slav  meaning  exiles 
or  fugitives.  Their  first  establishment  was  at  Clissa, 
near  Spalato,  under  Pietro  Crussich,  lord  of  Lupoglavo 
in  Istria.  From  this  place  they  made  raids  on  the 
Turks,  who  at  last  collected  an  army  and  besieged  the 
place  for  a  year.  The  castellan  was  killed  in  a  sortie, 
and  the  castle  surrendered  in  1537.  They  then  retired 
to  Segna,  where  they  were  received  and  paid  by  the 
Emperor.  The  original  band  numbered  only  five 
or  six  hundred,  but  they  had  with  them  many  assist- 
ants, Dalmatians  banished  by  the  Venetians  or  escaped 
from  the  galleys,  and  brigands  of  other  nations,  as  well 
as  indigenous  camp-followers.  At  first  they  only 
attacked  the  Turks,  more  or  less  straightforwardly,  but 
gradually  became  mere  pirates.  The  Venetians  fought 
fruitlessly  against  them  for  some  time,  and  finally 
became  embroiled  with  Austria  over  the  question. 
They    were    most    daring    in    their    enterprises.     On 


168  FIUME    AND   VEGLIA 

January  19,  1599,  eight  hundred  of  them  disembarked 
at  Portolungo  and  assaulted  Albona.  They  had 
entered  the  suburb,  when  the  citizens  rushed  to  arms, 
led  by  the  valiant  parish  priest  Don  Priamo  Luciani 
Cristoforo  Negri,  and  succeeded  in  beating  them  off. 
They  then  retired  on  Fianona,  which  they  took  by 
surprise,  established  themselves  there,  hoisted  the 
Austrian  flag,  and  obliged  the  inhabitants  to  swear 
fealty  to  Austria.  One  man  who  refused,  Gaspare 
Calovanich,  they  flayed  alive !  Many  other  outrages 
were  committed,  shipping  was  attacked,  and  sailors 
robbed.  The  war  which  followed  only  ended  with  the 
peace  of  Madrid,  September  26,  1617,  by  the  provisions 
of  which  the  Uscocs  were  to  be  interned  and  scattered 
over  the  Austrian  provinces,  and  their  ships  destroyed  ; 
whilst  the  Venetians  were  to  restore  conquered  places 
to  Austria.  A  few  of  the  Uscocs  who  were  left  at  Segna 
went  on  in  their  evil  ways,  and  in  February,  1619,  took 
a  Venetian  ship  with  4,000  zecchins-worth  of  cargo. 
The  Republic  made  a  claim,  and  Austria  punished 
them  with  death  and  restored  the  booty.  This  was 
the  last  of  their  raids.  Sir  Gardner  Wilkinson  says 
that  out  of  a  number  hanged  in  1618  nine  were  English- 
men, of  whom  six  were  gentlemen. 

They  are  described  as  being  without  discipline,  but 
ready  to  follow  their  captains  blindly.  They  feared 
no  fatigue,  climbed  the  rocks  like  cats,  slept  in  the 
open  air,  preferred  tactics  of  surprise,  and  cared  for 
nothing  but  the  satisfaction  of  their  cupidity.  Some 
were  dressed  gipsy-fashion,  with  arms  and  breast  bare. 
The  bulk,  however,  wore  a  dress  resembling  that  of  the 
Morlacchi — tight  hose,  shoes  of  cord  or  rawhide,  a  red- 
brown  waistcoat  without  sleeves,  and  a  red  felt  cap  on 
the  head.  They  wore  their  hair  in  long  locks,  with 
wild-looking  moustaches,  had  earrings  of  iron  or  silver, 
and  their  weapons  were  semicircular  axes,  and  knives 


VICTORY    OF   OCTAVIAN  169 

which  they  carried  in  their  girdles.     Altogether  a  fear- 
some crew  to  have  to  do  with  ! 

Segna  belonged  to  the  Counts  Frangipani,  whose 
eyrie  was  fixed  at  Castel  Muschio  on  the  island  of 
Veglia.  It  is  near  the  northern  end  above  a  wide  bay 
on  the  sea  side  of  a  broken  plateau,  partly  crowned 
with  fortress-walls,  in  front  of  which  a  few  houses 
sparkle  white  in  the  sun.  Only  one  tower  remains, 
with  doors  on  first  and  second-floor  level  and  a  S. 
Mark's  lion  in  relief.  The  island  was  the  ancient 
Curicta,  near  which  there  was  a  sea-fight  between 
the  ships  of  Caesar  and  Pompey  in  49  b.c,,  when  the 
Istrians  took  the  part  of  the  latter.  The  Caesarian  fleet 
under  Dolabella  was  destroyed,  and  Caius  Antonius, 
Caesar's  general,  was  shut  up  in  Veglia,  where  he  was 
encamped  with  two  legions.  The  soldiers  constructed 
three  rafts  made  of  two  rows  of  boats  fastened  together 
with  chains,  and  with  a  platform  of  beams  upon  them, 
and  a  great  tower  at  one  end,  by  means  of  which  the 
rowers  were  to  be  protected  and  the  enemy  attacked. 
Octavian,  Pompey' s  admiral,  retired  behind  Cherso, 
but  left  the  channel  fouled  with  ropes  and  chains 
fastened  to  the  rocks.  In  the  afternoon  the  rafts 
which  had  been  launched  reached  the  narrow  part  of 
the  strait.  The  two  smaller  ones  got  through,  but  the 
largest  stuck.  Octavian  then  attacked.  On  the  big 
raft  were  one  thousand  Opitergian  colonists,  under  the 
captaincy  of  the  tribune  Vulteius.  They  fought  till 
night,  when,  seeing  that  their  case  was  hopeless,  they 
determined  to  die  rather  than  surrender.  At  dawn  the 
struggle  recommenced,  the  Istrians  joining  in  the 
attack.  The  end  was  the  suicide  of  Vulteius  and  his 
followers,  and  the  surrender  of  the  cohorts  on  the 
island. 

From  1 126  the  islands  of  the  Ouarnero  belonged  to 
Venice,  but  the  peace  of  Zara  in  1358  ceded  Dalmatia 

22 


170  FIUME    AND    VEGLIA 

to  Hungary  and  Veglia  with  it ;  and,  when  Ladislas  sold 
Dalmatia  to  Venice  in  1409,  Veglia  was  excluded,  being 
formally  ceded  by  the  last  Count  Giovanni  in  1480. 
Nicholas  Frangipani,  who  was  count  in  1409,  had  nine 
sons,  and  left  his  property  equally  divided  among  them, 
so  that  there  were  nine  counts  of  Veglia  at  the  same 
time.  Giovanni,  the  eldest,  to  make  himself  secure 
against  his  brothers,  put  himself  under  the  protection 
of  Venice  in  1452,  married  a  daughter  of  Paolo  Moro- 
sini,  and  published  his  will  in  1453,  by  which  he  left 
the  island  to  the  Republic  if  he  died  without  issue,  thus 
making  it  clear  to  his  brothers  that  he  was  determined 
that  they  should  never  have  the  island,  and  that  if 
they  tried  to  take  it  by  force  he  would  be  protected  by 
Venice.  At  the  same  time  he  swore  to  the  inhabitants 
to  preserve  their  ancient  laws  and  customs.  He  had 
no  intention  of  keeping  his  word  in  any  particular,  and 
played  off  Matthias  Corvinus,  king  of  Hungary,  against 
Venice  in  the  most  unblushing  manner,  making  trai- 
torous suggestions  to  both  sides  alike,  and  attacking 
the  towns  of  either  party  alternately.  His  subjects, 
being  much  oppressed,  invited  the  Hungarian  general, 
Magiar  Bias,  to  invade  the  island  in  1480,  saying  that 
he  would  be  received  as  a  Messiah.  He  came  and 
attacked  Castel  Muschio ;  but  the  count  invoked  the 
protection  of  Venice.  A  few  days  later  Veglia  was 
bombarded  by  the  Hungarians,  the  Venetian  galleys 
not  being  able  to  render  much  assistance.  The  people 
refused  to  fight,  saying  that  they  preferred  to  have  even 
Turks  as  rulers  rather  than  their  count.  After  con- 
sultation with  the  Venetian  officers  they  were  sum- 
moned to  the  Palazzo  Pubblico ;  and  the  count  told 
them  that  he  was  the  servant  of  Venice,  and  that  they 
must  swear  fealty  to  the  Republic  and  would  be  pro- 
tected. Accordingly  the  oath  was  taken  by  all,  and 
the  Hungarians  were  obliged  to  make  terms.     They 


THE   LAST   OF   THE    FRANGIPANI         171 

were  allowed  to  return  safely  to  the  mainland.  The 
count  then  began  to  threaten  those  of  his  subjects 
who  had  been  in  favour  of  the  Hungarians,  and  many 
fled  in  fear.  The  captain-general  of  the  Venetians,  as 
corrective,  published  an  order  authorising  the  inhabit- 
ants to  kill  any  of  the  count's  people  who  molested 
them.  Count  Giovanni  bit  his  lips,  determining  to  be 
revenged  when  the  captain-general  had  gone,  but 
never  had  the  chance,  as  he  was  carried  off  to  Venice, 
at  which  the  Veglians  rang  the  bells  for  joy.  The 
Venetians  set  matters  in  order ;  but  the  count  wrote 
letters  saying  that  he  would  soon  return  to  Veglia  and 
punish  all  traitors ;  in  consequence  of  which  the 
Veglians  assured  the  governor  that,  should  he  do  so, 
they  would  either  call  in  the  Turks  or  leave  the  island 
waste  and  uninhabited.  To  solve  the  difficulty  the 
Venetians  pensioned  him  off.  He  became,  however, 
soon  dissatisfied  with  the  amount  and  fled  from 
Venice,  his  disappearance  being  regretted  by  no  one. 
He  was  an  abominable  character,  and  among  the  evil 
deeds  of  which  he  was  guilty  was  the  making  of  false 
seals  to  enable  him  to  forge  documents. 

A  considerable  portion  of  the  walls  built  by  the 
Venetians  round  the  town  still  remains,  overgrown  with 
ivy,  and  the  city  is  still  entered  by  the  old  gate-open- 
ings, the  Porta  di  Su  and  the  Porta  Pisani,  though 
the  actual  gateways  have  disappeared.  On  one  of  the 
towers  guarding  the  latter  is  a  rather  fine  relief  of  the 
Venetian  lion.  Close  to  the  cathedral  is  the  castle  of 
the  Frangipani,  two  of  the  towers  being  within  the 
bishop's  garden.  The  sea  washes  the  rocks  on  which 
they  are  built,  and  in  time  of  storm  the  spray  flies  over 
the  curtain  wall. 

Our  prowlings  around  the  walls  attracted  the 
attention  of  two  guards,  who,  after  following  us  for 
some  time,  stopped  us  to   question  our  proceedings. 


172 


FIUME   AND   VEGLIA 


The  production  of  the  Statthalter's  letter  which  I 
carried  with  me  satisfied  them  that  we  had  no  nefarious 
designs,  and  it  was  returned  to  me  with  the  remark 
(made  rather  regretfully,  I  thought)  that  it  was  all  "  in 
order."  Travellers  will  find  it  advantageous  to  obtain 
some  kind  of  "  permit  "  if  their  tastes  are  likely  to  lead 
to  the  exhibition  of  unusual  curiosity  in  relation  to 
buildings  and  their  surroundings. 

The  cathedral,  erected  in  1133  in  thanksgiving  for 
a  great  victory  over  Corsairs  gained  with  the  assistance 
of  Venice,  was  therefore  dedicated  to  S.  Mark.  It 
consists  of  nave  and  aisles  with  an  apse  of  five  sides  of 


VEGLIA,    SHOWING    THE   CASTLE  TOWERS 


an  octagon,  which  bears  the  date  of  1688.  The  nave 
arcade  is  semicircular,  the  arches  varying  in  height, 
some  being  stilted,  and  rests  upon  sixteen  columns  of 
granite,  Istrian  stone,  red  marble  of  the  island,  and 
pavonazzetto.  Several  are  in  more  than  one  piece, 
one  or  two  are  made  up  to  the  requisite  height  with 
another  stone,  and  two  are  octagonal.  Most  of  them 
have  but  the  slightest  projection  for  base,  the  level  of 
the  pavement  having  apparently  been  raised.  Most 
of  the  caps  have  Byzantine  thistly  acanthus  worked 
with  great  use  of  the  drill,  one  has  quaint  gambolling 
beasts  and  birds  within  arched  forms  in  place  of  foliage, 
which  show   imitation  of  Oriental  ornamental  forms, 


SOUTH    PORTION    OF    CHOIR-SCREEN,    CATHEDRAL,    VEGLIA 

To  face  page  173 


THE    CATHEDRAL  173 

and  one,  which  has  hollows  for  inlays  of  squares  and 
diamonds,  bounded  by  the  leaf  shapes,  is  exactly  like 
one  in  the  pergola  of  the  director's  house  at  Salona, 
which  came  from  the  campanile,  Spalato.  There  is 
a  fine  early  Renaissance  choir-screen  with  an  ambo  at 
each  side,  made  of  the  red  variegated  marble  of  the 
island;  an  angel  of  white  marble  supports  the  book- 
rest.  To  the  north  of  this  screen  is  a  rather  late  Gothic 
chapel  with  apse  of  three  sides  and  Heme  vaulting. 
It  has  octagonal  wall  shafts  and  shields  as  bosses,  with 
devices  upon  them,  and  the  arms  of  the  Frangipani. 
The  place  of  the  altar  still  shows  on  the  pavement,  and 
it  has  been  suggested  that  the  silver  pala  belonged  to 
this  chapel.  Two  more  chapels  open  from  the  south 
aisle  through  Venetian  slightly  ogee  arches,  with 
saints  at  the  top  emergent  from  leaves,  and  a  cable 
moulding  within  and  dentils  without.  In  one,  the 
columns  have  been  replaced  by  Renaissance  half- 
columns;  in  the  other,  the  fourteenth-century  shafts  still 
remain.  In  the  choir  are  two  fine  Gothic  tomb  slabs, 
commemorating  a  fourteenth-century  bishop  and  an 
arch-priest  (1494),  and  other  slabs  with  coats  of  arms 
in  high  relief. 

The  silver  pala  is  preserved  just  within  the  west 
door  upon  the  south  wall,  behind  glass  in  tolerably 
large  sheets,  so  that  it  can  be  easily  studied.  The 
present  parroco  replaced  the  old  heavy  wooden  framing 
by  one  of  lighter  construction.  It  is  thought  to  have 
been  a  triptych  originally.  Each  of  the  wings  has  ten 
figures  in  two  rows  of  five,  one  above  the  other — twenty 
in  all.  On  the  right  S.  Peter  occupies  the  middle  of  the 
top  row  with  S.  John  the  Baptist  below ;  on  the  left  are 
S.  Paul  and  S.  Nicholas  in  the  corresponding  places. 
All  the  figures  stand  on  brackets.  The  upper  centre  is 
occupied  by  the  Madonna  and  Child  standing  on  the 
crescent  moon  ;  below  is  the  Coronation  of  the  Virgin  ; 


174  FIUME   AND   VEGLIA 

the  other  four  niches  have  figures  of  angels,  three 
half-lengths  in  each,  one  above  the  other.  SS.  Jerome 
and  George  are  recognisable  among  the  other  saints. 
The  heads  are  much  too  large,  and  the  figure-work  is 
coarse.  The  niches  are  tref oiled  and  ogee-headed,  with 
crockets  and  finials  and  octagonal  colonnettes  between, 
springing  from  corbels,  and  crowned  with  imbricated 
pinnacles  ;  they  have  piercings  resembling  window 
tracery,  with  rosettes  between  each  repetition.  The 
bar  which  divides  the  two  ranges  of  figures,  and  the 
frame  have  very  beautiful  triple  rows  of  vine-scrolling 
in  exceedingly  low  relief,  which  is  quite  lost  at  a  little 
distance.  An  inscription  gives  the  name  of  Peter 
Grimani  and  the  date  of  1742  ;  but  this  must  refer  to  a 
restoration,  as  the  style  suggests  the  fifteenth  century, 
and  would  agree  quite  well  with  the  date  1405,  when 
one  of  the  Frangipani  is  recorded  to  have  established 
the  chapel  of  S.  Vito  in  the  cathedral.  The  treasury 
now  contains  nothing  of  importance — at  least,  in- 
quiries only  produced  a  showy  processional  cross  of 
the  seventeenth  century. 

The  cathedral  is  entered  from  an  archway  beneath 
the  campanile  ;  on  the  other  side  of  the  arch  is  the 
church  of  S.  Quirinus,  a  Romanesque  building  in  two 
stories.  The  lower  portion  is  now  a  wine-store  ;  the 
upper,  reached  by  steps,  is  vaulted  like  a  crypt,  nine 
spans  resting  on  four  low  columns.  It  has  been 
modernised,  but  the  three  apses  are  untouched  ex- 
ternally, crowned  with  a  corbelled  arcuated  cornice,  the 
centre  one  being  the  largest.  The  cathedral  has  a  door- 
way on  the  south  side  not  now  used  ;  the  round  arch 
has  a  torus  moulding,  pilaster  strips,  and  caps  beneath 
a  gabled  hood,  made  of  the  local  marble  and  bleached 
by  the  sun  to  a  delightful  varied  yellow. 

Close  to  the  Porta  di  Su  is  another  Romanesque 
church — S.  Maria.     The  interior  has  been  modernised, 


LATER   BUILDINGS  175 

though  a  few  caps  resembling  those  in  the  cathedral 
remain  ;  but  the  tower  (at  the  west  end)  has  two  stories, 
with  two  circular-headed  windows  with  buttress  be- 
tween unspoilt.  At  the  other  side  of  the  road  is  S. 
Francesco,  which  has  a  tower  of  five  stories  near  the 
east  end,  and  long  trefoil-headed  windows.  The  high- 
altar-piece  in  this  church  (a  Madonna  with  saints)  is 
ascribed  to  Pordenone  (1531),  and  there  is  an  interesting 
pulpit  with  five  marquetry  panels,  S.  Francis  receiving 
the  stigmata  in  the  centre,  and  personifications  of  four 
Christian  graces  in  the  others,  good  work  of  the  seven- 
teenth century. 

The  Venetian  clock-tower,  now  a  cafe,  bears  the 
date  1493  on  a  panel  of  the  winged  lion  above  the 
pointed  arch,  but  must  be  earlier  than  that  date,  as  it 
also  bears  the  Frangipani  escutcheon.  The  loggia  was 
behind  it.  In  this  piazza  are  carved  panels  from  a 
Venetian  well  or  fountain,  with  an  inscription  of  1558 
ascribing  its  erection  to  Antonio  Gradenigo,  swags  of 
flowers  and  fruit,  a  S.  Mark's  lion  with  a  tower  by  the 
sea,  &c.  ;  and  in  the  walls  here  and  there  are  encrusted 
a  few  antique  inscriptions. 

A  walk  of  about  forty  minutes  brings  one  to  the 
shore  of  Val  Cassione,  a  nearly  semicircular  bay  with 
only  a  narrow  entrance  from  the  Quarnerolo.  The 
water  is  generally  smooth  like  a  pond,  the  mountain  of 
Treskavac,  which  rises  to  the  north-east,  sheltering  it. 
The  island  of  Zoccolante,  girdled  with  ilex  and  maples, 
lies  opposite  the  village  of  Ponte,  and  on  it  is  the 
Franciscan  monastery  of  Cassione.  A  pergola  shelters 
the  path  from  the  boat-house  to  the  porch,  and  the 
cloister  is  full  of  flowers  and  bushes.  The  church  has 
an  altar-piece  by  Girolamo  da  S.  Croce,  signed  and 
dated  1535,  and  a  Raffaellesque  Virgin  and  sleeping 
Child.  The  library  contains  a  few  early  printed  books. 
Throughout  the  island,  except  in  this  convent  and  in 


176  FIUME   AND   VEGLIA 

the  town  of  Veglia,  the  Slav  liturgy,  granted  by  Pope 
John  VIII.  (872-882),  is  in  use. 

The  usual  route  to  Castel  Muschio  and  Veglia  is 
from  Fiume,  but  one  of  our  visits  was  made  from  Arbe 
to  Besca  Nova,  a  most  picturesque  and  equally  evil- 
smelling  port,  sheltered  by  widely  stretching  rocky 
points  (one  of  which  bears  the  appropriate  name  of 
Punta  Scoglia),  which  rise  to  mountainous  masses 
behind  the  little  town,  with  a  modern  cemetery  chapel 
on  one  of  the  lower  spurs.  The  houses  straggle  round 
the  curve  of  the  shore,  with  groups  of  trees  here  and 
there,  and  little  creeks  running  up  into  the  land,  crossed 
by  narrow  bridges ;  the  streets,  mere  alleys  often, 
scarcely  permitting  two  persons  to  pass  each  other,  rise 
to  a  church  round  which  they  cluster  more  thickly.  At 
this  end  of  the  town  the  houses  cling  to  the  side  of  the 
hill  above  and  below  the  street,  and  are  approached 
by  steps  which  descend  to  the  front,  though  there  are 
also  doors  on  the  street  level  convenient  for  elopements, 
and  wonderful  great  chimneys  of  great  originality  and 
variety.  There  were  a  good  many  boats  in  the  harbour, 
and  we  had  an  excellent  opportunity  of  seeing  it  from 
all  points  of  view,  for  the  pier  at  which  the  steamer 
stops  is  at  one  horn  of  the  bay,  and  it  is  a  walk  of  a 
quarter  of  an  hour  to  the  indifferent  inn.  We  asked 
a  couple  of  gentlemen  who  were  coming  out  if  we  could 
get  anything  to  eat  there,  and  they  replied  :  "  Oh  yes, 
if  you  go  at  once."  We  found,  however,  that  we  must 
order  what  we  wanted  and  wait  until  it  was  cooked,  so 
we  left  the  civil  padrona  to  her  labours,  and  immediately 
were  mobbed  by  a  crowd  of  children  to  whom  strangers 
were  a  godsend.  A  gendarme  approached  and  asked 
for  our  credentials,  but,  being  satisfied  that  we  were  not 
dangerous,  offered  to  assist  us  in  any  way  he  could,  and 
we  found  that  the  children  disappeared  for  a  time.  I 
made  inquiries    of  him   as   to    a   couple   of   pictures 


.THE    MAIN    STREET,    BESCA    NOVA 


To  face  page  177 
\ 


AN    EVENING   DRIVE  177 

ascribed  to  Vivarini  and  Basaiti,  which  I  understood 
were  in  the  town,  but  he  knew  nothing  about  them. 
The  Vivarini  is  a  Madonna  enthroned  with  two  child 
angels  at  her  feet,  with  three  saints  on  either  side  of 
her  and  angels  holding  the  baldacchino. 

On  our  return  to  the  inn  the  question  of  a  carriage 
to  Veglia  engaged  our  attention.  There  was  an  officer 
of  some  kind  in  the  room,  who  had  taken  one  of  the 
three  carriages  which  appear  to  compose  the  transport 
of  Besca  Nova  and  declined  to  share  it.  The  second 
was  under  repair,  one  of  its  wheels  being  in  the  hands 
of  the  wheelwright  on  the  ground  in  front  of  the  inn. 
The  third  had  been  engaged  by  two  Italian  gentlemen, 
father  and  son,  and  its  appearance  suggested  doubts  as 
to  whether  it  would  take  five  persons  and  our  luggage 
over  the  backbone  of  the  island.  There  was  a  diligence, 
but  it  started  at  2  a.m.,  and  the  drivers  tried  to  per- 
suade us  to  sleep  at  Besca,  saying  they  could  take  us 
on  at  6  a.m.  The  dejeuner  we  had  had,  however, 
inspired  so  little  confidence  that  we  determined  to 
get  on  to  Veglia  that  night,  sharing  the  third  carriage 
with  the  Italians,  though  in  the  end  we  did  not 
benefit  very  much  by  the  arrangement.  As  the 
shadows  began  to  lengthen,  the  horses  were  put  to,  the 
harness  being  supplemented  with  bits  of  rope  in  some 
places,  and  we  packed  ourselves  and  our  belongings 
into  the  carriage,  finding  our  fellow-travellers  very 
pleasant  companions.  The  narrow  road  runs  up  a 
rocky  valley,  at  first  with  a  considerable  space  of 
cultivated  land  on  each  side,  vineyards  and  grain 
occupying  the  greater  part  ;  and  before  long  Besca 
Valle  came  in  sight,  a  barbarous-looking  village,  with 
curious  reed-thatched  huts  for  styes  and  cart-hovels, 
and  with  whitewashed  walls  to  the  houses  which  stood 
upon  unparapeted  terraces  supported  on  great  arches 
used  for  storage  of  different  kinds.     In  the  church  of 

23 


178  FIUME   AND   VEGLIA 

S.  Lucia,  some  distance  away,  is  the  earliest  Glagolitic 
inscription  known.  Our  driver  appeared  to  be  on 
familiar  terms  with  most  of  the  population,  and  was 
continually  calling  out  greetings  to  people  some  distance 
from  the  road. 

The  valley  narrowed  and  the  rocks  rose  higher,  the 
clear  bright  green  Fiumera  foamed  and  tumbled  in  its 
rocky  bed,  and  we  passed  a  picturesque  mill  astride  of 
it,  backed  up  with  trees.  Soon  the  driver  called  our 
attention  to  a  great  rock  hanging  from  the  cliff  which 
seemed  as  if  its  fall  from  the  height  was  merely  a  matter 
of  moments,  but  which  had  looked  so,  he  said,  for  years. 
The  continuous  climb  was  interrupted  by  a  wooded 
depression  through  which  the  road  wound  ;  it  then 
crossed  the  stream  and  commenced  a  long  ascent 
continuing  for  more  than  a  mile,  which  we  negotiated 
on  foot.  As  we  rose  higher  the  view  expanded,  and 
we  found  it  pleasant  to  turn  and  gaze  at  it,  warm  in  the 
sunset-glow.  The  Velebit  Mountains,  with  their  sum- 
mits hidden  in  the  clouds,  blushed  a  beautiful  warm 
rose  colour,  while  Arbe  and  the  nearer  island  of  Per- 
vicchio  which  shelters  the  harbour,  rather  more  orange 
in  colour,  contrasted  with  the  pale  sapphire  of  the 
sea,  each  increasing  the  brilliancy  of  the  other.  The 
shadowed  valley  at  our  feet,  with  mill,  stream,  and  dark 
trees,  enhanced  the  brightness  of  the  distance  and  of  the 
final  glow  upon  Besca  Nova,  where  the  curve  of  its 
houses  embraced  the  bay  with  chains  of  orange  and 
cream  colour. 

A  solitary  horseman  passed  us  while  we  were  sur- 
mounting the  stony  waste  through  which  the  higher 
portion  of  the  road  winds,  a  greyish  and  reddish 
variegated  marble  used  in  buildings  in  the  island, 
and  just  at  the  summit  we  met  the  diligence  on  its 
way  to  Besca.  The  sunset  was  superb,  the  glow  of  the 
sky  reflected  in  the  sea,  with  Cherso  dark  againstit 


CHIMNEYS    AT    BESCA    NOVA 


To  face  page  178 


DESCENT    INTO    VEGLIA  179 

and  the  shores  of  Veglia  laid  out  below  us,  showing 
Ponte  and  the  Convent  of  Cassione,  and  Veglia  beyond 
almost  hidden  in  trees.  As  we  descended  the  long 
slope  the  colour  faded  from  the  sky,  and  long  before 
we  reached  the  town  of  Veglia  nothing  could  be  dis- 
cerned but  the  silhouettes  of  branch  and  leaf  against 
the  sky. 


XV 

OSSERO    AND    CHERSO 

On  one  of  our  journeys  we  went  by  boat  from  Trieste 
to  Lussin  Piccolo,  stopping  only  at  Pola.  It  was  just 
before  Easter,  and  many  sailors  from  the  fleet  were 
going  home  for  a  holiday.  The  quay  was  crowded  with 
passengers,  and  a  queerly  shaped  engine,  belching 
forth  thick  smoke,  with  train  attached,  was  drawn 
up  behind  them.  This  we  thought  a  fair  subject  for  a 
snap-shot,  but  the  production  of  the  camera  attracted 
the  attention  of  a  policeman  who  would  not  be  satisfied 
until  it  was  put  away,  though  the  arsenal  was  behind 
us.  The  sailors  swarmed  on  board  and  filled  the  whole 
fore  part  of  the  boat — fine-looking  fellows  for  the  most 
part,  and  very  good-humoured.  Their  kits  were  done 
up  in  handkerchiefs  with  the  map  of  Europe  printed  on 
them  in  red,  blue,  or  buff.  They  were  full  of  jokes,  and 
were,  in  fact,  just  like  a  lot  of  big  schoolboys.  Some 
of  them  gathered  in  a  ring  and  sang  in  parts  for  some 
time  ;  the  music  sounded  better  a  little  way  off  than 
near.  There  were  also  Montenegrins  on  board  who  had 
been  working  on  some  railway  in  course  of  construction. 
One  of  them,  had  two  pairs  of  corduroy  trousers  on,  the 
upper  whitish,  the  under  the  usual  brown-green. 

Lussin  Piccolo  lies  at  the  head  of  a  deep  bay,  and 
climbs  the  ridge  along  which  the  road  runs  to  Lussin 
Grande,  a  place  which  is  now  much  smaller  than  its 
neighbour,  but  more  picturesque  and  pleasant.     The 

1 80 


LUSSIN    PICCOLO  181 

bigger  hotels  are  at  Lussin  Piccolo,  where  the  larger 
harbour  allows  the  steamers  to  call.  It  has  become  a 
winter  residence  for  Russians  and  Austrians ;  and  the 
keeper  of  the  largest  cafe  told  us  that  many  of  the 
former  came,  instancing  an  officer  of  the  guards  who 
stayed  six  months,  and  told  him  he  was  better  off  there 
than  in  St.  Petersburg,  or  indeed  Manchuria,  where  he 
expected  to  be  sent  if  he  returned  !  The  harbour  is 
called  Val  d'Augusto,  because  the  fleet  of  the  Emperor 
Augustus  is  said  to  have  remained  at  anchor  there  for 
a  whole  winter.  It  may  be  true,  for  at  the  battle  of 
Actium  his  fleet  was  principally  manned  by  Dalmatians. 
From  above  the  town  the  view  looking  towards  Ossero 
is  rather  fine,  the  summits  of  the  hills  along  the  spine 
of  the  island  rising  one  beyond  the  other,  culminating 
in  Monte  Ossero,  paling  and  getting  bluer  with  greater 
distance.  The  sea,  of  a  blue  quite  different  in  its 
quality,  runs  into  the  land  in  many  little  inlets, 
while  beyond  are  Veglia  and  the  mainland  mountains 
often  capped  with  clouds. 

The  road  to  Lussin  Grande  runs  along  the  slope  of 
the  hills,  rounding  tree-clad  spurs  and  diving  into 
hollows,  with  frequent  peeps  down  into  little  coves 
where  boats  are  drawn  up.  In  one  of  these  a  little 
fellow  was  paddling  himself  about  in  a  tub.  On  seeing 
us  looking  at  him,  he  raised  the  usual  boatman's  cry, 
"  Barca,  barca,  Signori,  per  Lussin  Grande/ '  and  burst 
into  a  peal  of  laughter,  in  which  we  joined.  The  port 
is  delightfully  picturesque  ;  at  the  entrance  is  a  church 
approached  by  a  flight  of  steps,  with  a  terrace  and 
cypresses,  towards  which  nuns  were  wending  their  way 
for  "  benediction  "  ;  the  sun  glowed  upon  white  walls, 
dark  trees,  and  tiled  roofs  ;  while  the  harbour  in  shadow, 
full  of  boats  rich  with  the  colour  of  nets  and  sails,  and 
the  reflections  of  the  blue  sky  upon  its  rippled*  surface, 
afforded  an  attractive  contrast.     One  round  tower  of 


1 82  OSSERO   AND    CHERSO 

the  walls  remains,  built  of  stone,  with  machicolations 
and  Ghibelline  battlements  added  in  brick  and  plas- 
tered ;  a  modern  slab  over  the  door  gives  the  date  1455. 
A  kind  of  public  garden  called  the  Piazza  del  Pozzo,  from 
an  old  rope- worn  well  within  it,  contains  many  different 
kinds  of  flowering  and  shady  trees  with  seats  beneath 
them,  and  aloes  grow  on  the  rocks  above  the  entrance 
to  the  harbour  on  both  sides.  The  town  contains 
several  fine  houses,  and  in  the  churches  are  a  few 
interesting  pictures,  though  architecturally  they  are 
not  very  noticeable.  One  of  them  has  a  curious  tiled 
ogee-shaped  dome  over  the  sanctuary.  The  pictures 
are  :  in  S.  Nicold,  a  Byzantine  Madonna  and  Child 
with  S.  Joseph  ;  in  S.  Maria  degli  Angeli,  a  Bartolom- 
meo  Vivarini — God  the  Father  above,  surrounded  by 
angels  ;  below,  an  enthroned  Madonna  with  SS.  Augus- 
tine, Catherine,  and  Cicely  on  one  side ;  on  the  other, 
SS.  Agnes,  Jerome,  and  Lucy :  the  picture  is  dated 
1475.  There  are  also  a  Pietro  della  Vaccina  called  a 
Titian,  and  a  few  others. 

The  women  wear  a  curious  head-dress  something 
like  a  turban  with  a  long  end  hanging  down  the  back  ; 
they  generally  have  a  loose  sleeveless  jacket  over  a 
white  full-sleeved  blouse  and  a  skirt  in  many  pleats 
and  often  of  many  colours,  and  an  apron ;  sometimes 
a  handkerchief  is  thrown  over  the  head  instead  of  the 
head-dress.  They  also  wear  elaborate  earrings,  a 
number  of  rings  fastened  together  with  a  drop  below, 
all  of  metal. 

From  Lussin  Piccolo  we  drove  in  the  opposite 
direction  to  Ossero,  the  ancient  Apsoros  or  Auxerrum, 
following  a  narrow  road  through  olive-yards,  along  the 
shore  or  some  way  up  the  hill  among  a  bewildering 
variety  and  luxuriance  of  vegetation.  On  the  island, 
which  is  about  eighteen  miles  long,  though  nowhere 
more  than  two  in  breadth  and  seldom  more  than  one, 


f* 


WEST    DOOR    OF    THE    COLLEGGIATA,    OSSERO 

To  face  page  183 


A    DRIVE   TO   OSSERO  183 

there  are  three  villages  besides  the  two  Lussins.  They 
are  Neresine,  Chiunschi,  and  S.  Giacomo.  At  Neresine 
we  were  told  that  there  was  an  English-speaking 
landlady.  So  we  looked  her  up  at  the  "  Gasthaus 
Amicorum."  We  found  that  she  and  her  husband  had 
been  in  America,  and  were  told  several  strange  stories 
of  curious  occurrences  which  she  had  known  of  while 
there,  especially  with  regard  to  the  drugging  of  drinks, 
which  made  one  think  she  must  find  her  life  rather 
lacking  in  excitement  in  this  little  out-of-the-way  place 
where  she  was  apparently  going  to  end  her  days.  There 
is  a  Franciscan  convent  here  with  a  handsome  cam- 
panile looking  much  more  ancient  than  its  date  (1590- 
1604),  with  double  lights  and  a  balustrade  round  the 
top.  In  the  church  are  pictures  attributed  to  Girolamo 
da  Santa  Croce  and  the  younger  Palma.  The  ascent 
of  Monte  Ossero  may  be  made  from  here  (1,900  ft.). 
The  top  is  a  bare,  stony  wilderness  like  the  backbone 
of  Veglia. 

The  weather  was  lovely,  and  we  constantly  came 
upon  subjects  which  would  tempt  the  artist  to  stop 
and  sketch — a  monk  seated  under  an  olive-tree  in  the 
shade  ;  cattle  and  sheep  tethered  to  the  grey  trunks, 
grouping  themselves  as  they  clustered  for  company  ; 
a  boat  under  sail  seen  through  the  branches  of  the  trees 
against  a  headland  on  the  more  distant  hills  of  Arbe 
and  the  mainland  ;  and  so  on.  The  hillside  was  clothed 
with  bushes  and  plants  in  flower,  among  which  we 
recognised  the  oleander,  white  rose,  juniper,  laurus- 
tinus,  fig-trees,  ilex,  cypress,  strawberry  arbutus,  a 
small-leaved  myrtle,  grape  hyacinths  thick  on  the 
ground,  giant  and  quite  small  spurges,  a  euphorbia 
with  thorny  trailing  stems  and  heart-shaped  leaves, 
great  ericas  as  high  as  a  man,  in  some  places  cyclamen 
in  clumps  by  the  wayside  like  daisies,  a  bush  trifolium 
something  like  cytisus  but  scentless,  thyme,  and  a  kind 


1 84  OSSERO    AND    CHERSO 

of  sage,  while  the  bay-trees  were  so  fully  in  bloom  that 
they  looked  a  pale  yellowish  green  instead  of  their 
usual  colour.  Just  before  we  reached  the  bridge 
connecting  the  islands  of  Ossero  and  Cherso,  which  has 
to  be  crossed  before  the  town  of  Ossero  is  reached, 
great  banks  of  spurge  made  the  roadside  as  yellow  as 
fields  full  of  charlock  in  England. 

In  a  wall  at  the  entrance  of  the  town  the  S.  Mark's 
lion  still  watches,  though  the  two  fortresses  which 
report  says  were  here  are  no  longer  traceable.  The 
cathedral  is  Lombardesque  in  style,  built  by  Bishop 
Antonio  Palcic  (1465-1474),  and  has  a  rather  pretty 
doorway  ascribed  to  George  of  Sebenico,  who  was 
certainly  employed  by  him  upon  other  works,  and  a 
massive  campanile  of  1675,  which  dominates  the  place. 
The  nave  is  five  bays  long,  the  arcade  is  round-arched 
with  pretty  caps  and  ornamented  archivolts,  and  the 
floor  is  paved  with  red  and  white  marble  in  chequers. 
The  holy-water  basins  are  simple,  and  the  columns  of 
the  ciborium  rest  on  two  red  marble  caps  of  the  four- 
teenth century  upside  down,  one. base  of  the  same  and 
one  of  the  Lombardi  period,  showing  the  use  of  older 
material.  The  church  still  retains  a  fine  monstrance, 
one  or  two  other  pieces  of  silver-work,  and  some  em- 
broidered vestments,  though  no  longer  the  seat  of  a 
bishop,  and  over  the  high-altar  is  a  picture  of  the  school 
of  Titian.  The  monstrance  is  late  Gothic,  with  a  foot 
added  in  the  seventeenth  century.  It  is  decorated  with 
many  niches  and  figures,  and  a  fine  cresting  round  the 
domical  top.  The  curved  surfaces  above  and  below 
the  glass  tube  have  scroll-work  upon  a  blue  enamel 
ground,  part  of  which  has  come  away.  In  these  places 
there  is  no  sign  of  pattern  upon  the  silver,  but  only  a 
general  cross-patching  showing  that  the  arabesques 
and  other  patterns  were  not  soldered  to  the  ground 
beneath,  but  only  arranged  with  the  enamel  flux  before 


MONSTRANCE    IN    COLLEGGIATA,    OSSERO 

To  face  page  184 


ANTIQUITIES    AT   OSSERO  185 

firing.  The  architectural  details  are  gilded,  the  rest 
is  silver. 

There  are  some  remains  of  Roman  walls  still 
traceable,  between  which  and  the  mediaeval  walls  is 
the  site  of  a  large  seven-aisled  church,  perhaps  a  pair 
of  twin  basilicas.  Upon  the  ruins  of  the  seventh  aisle 
the  present  church  of  S.  Maria  was  erected,  and  within 
it  the  ancient  bishop's  throne,  constructed  of  fragments 
of  ninth-century  carved  slabs,  was  still  preserved  till  a 
few  years  ago.  It  was  only  after  persistent  inquiries 
that  we  found  it  in  a  store-shed  with  other  fragments  of 
ninth-century  carving  and  some  Roman  antiquities 
thought  of  little  importance,  though  the  inscriptions 
and  other  marble  fragments  and  the  stone  funerary 
urns  are  in  their  company.  In  the  show  museum  are 
Roman  fragments,  lamps,  Pansiana  pottery  stamps, 
bronze  vessels  and  utensils,  iron  fragments,  glass 
phials,  &c.  On  the  hill,  not  far  off,  prehistoric  tombs 
with  interesting  objects  have  been  found ;  but  the 
greater  part  of  the  finds  have  been  sent  to  more  im- 
portant museums. 

The  sea-passage,  which  is  crossed  by  a  swing  bridge, 
is  [called  the  "Cavanella  di  Ossero"  ;  through  it  a 
strong  current  runs.  The  island  of  Cherso,  the  ancient 
Apsirtide,  is  a  miniature  of  Monte  Maggiore,  with  some 
fine  mountain  scenery  in  it,  and  a  curious  fresh-water 
lake,  the  surface  of  which  is  only  50  ft.  above  sea-level, 
though  it  is  225  ft.  deep  in  some  parts.  The  finest 
mountain  scenery  is  near  Smergo,  where  the  rock  rises 
sheer  from  the  water  to  the  height  of  1,000  ft.  Here  is 
the  "  Dirupo  di  Smergo,"  a  cave  with  a  domed  top.  At 
one  time  the  sea  broke  into  it,  laying  bare  the  interior, 
which  is  like  a  giant  amphitheatre  with  ribbed  roof  and 
sides.  The  fragments  then  detached  lie  at  the  foot  of 
the  rock,  making  a  wall  between  the  sea  and  the  cave. 
The  city  of  Cherso  is  best  reached  from  Pola  or  Fiume. 

24 


1 86  OSSERO   AND    CHERSO 

It  lies  at  the  head  of  a  winding  inlet,  protected  by  a 
round  tower  at  the  point,  a  relic  of  the  fortifications  of 
an  earlier  period.  It  belonged  to  Venice  from  1126  or 
1 130  till  1358,  becoming  finally  Venetian  in  1409,  and 
was  granted  in  feud  to  various  patrician  families,  so 
that  all  the  objects  of  art  in  the  city  show  distinct 
traces  of  Venetian  influence.  The  piazza  by  the 
harbour  is  triangular  in  shape,  the  narrow  streets,  with 
many  picturesque  houses  in  them,  climb  the  hillside 
from  the  water,  and  the  ancient  walls  remain  on  the 
land  side.  The  loggia  is  a  simple  seventeenth-century 
building  supported  on  six  stone  piers  ;  in  the  back 
wall  are  encrusted  two  inscriptions — one  Roman,  one 
mediaeval.  The  cathedral  was  burnt  in  1827,  but  the 
west  door  still  remains,  very  closely  resembling  that 
of  Ossero.  A  picture  by  Alvise  Vivarini  is  preserved 
in  the  priest's  house — a  Madonna  with  SS.  Sebastian 
and  Catherine,  and  SS.  Christopher  and  Cosmas. 

In  the  chapel  of  the  Mother  of  God  is  a  Byzantine 
Madonna  and  Child  on  a  gold  ground.  The  carnations 
are  brownish  ;  there  is  a  cross  on  the  breast  and  on  both 
sides  of  the  head,  with  the  Greek  monogram  MH  ©T. 
There  are  also  some  fine  stalls  in  the  church  of  the 
Franciscan  monastery  ;  but  there  is  not  very  much  of 
interest  in  the  town  except  the  numerous  Venetian 
houses. 


SMERGO    FISHERMEN 


To  face  page  186 


XVI 

HISTORICAL    SKETCH    OF    DALMAT1A 

The  history  of  Dalmatia  is  obscure  and  confused  for  a 
great  part  of  its  course.  That  there  were  Greek  and 
Phoenician  colonies  along  the  coast  and  on  the  islands 
is  certain ;  the  earliest  of  the  former  was  that  founded 
by  the  Syracusans  in  Issa  (Lissa)  in  390  B.C.  A  Cy- 
clopean building,  the  so-called  Gradina  Gate  at  Gelsa, 
is  attributable  either  to  this  colony  or  to  that  of  385 
B.C.  in  the  ancient  Pharia  (Lesina).  Tragurium  (Trau) 
and  Epetium  (Stobrec)  were  daughter  colonies  of  Issa. 
The  largest  number  of  inscriptions  and  coins  have  been 
found  on  Lesina  and  Lissa.  Celts  were  in  the  country 
from  about  the  same  period.  The  Roman  conquest 
was  brought  about  by  the  appeal  of  the  people  of  Issa 
for  help  against  the  powerful  native  queen  Teuta. 
Illyria,  south  of  the  Narenta,  became  a  Roman  province 
in  168  B.C.,  though  war  with  the  inland  tribes  continued 
till  34  B.C.,  when  Augustus  took  the  ships  of  the  pirates 
of  Curzola  and  Meleda  and  the  Liburnians,  and  con- 
quered the  inland  tribes  at  Promona — eight  long  and 
disastrous  campaigns  in  all.  There  was,  however, 
another  revolt  in  6  a.d.,  when  the  danger  to  Rome  was 
so  great  (800,000  men  being  in  rebellion)  that  Augustus 
sent  seven  legions  under  such  generals  as  Tiberius, 
Germanicus,  and  Postumius,  who  took  several  years 
to  overcome  their  resistance,  so  that  it  was  not  till 
12  a.d.  that  Tiberius  enjoyed  his  triumph.     Some  of 

187 


188     HISTORICAL   SKETCH    OF   DALMATIA 

the  cities  were  made  municipia,  and  some  colonies, 
and  from  this  time  Dalmatia  was  loyal  to  Rome.  The 
Antonines  erected  important  buildings  in  Jadera  and 
Burnum,  and  they  also  fortified  Salona. 

Roman  Dalmatia  included  the  whole  coast  from 
Istria  to  the  Drina,  part  of  Albania,  all  Montenegro, 
Herzegovina,  Croatia.  Servia,  almost  all  Bosnia,  and 
some  of  the  islands  of  the  Quarnero.  The  legions  for 
the  most  part  remained  near  the  coast,  which  gradually 
increased  in  commercial  prosperity  and  civilisation  ; 
broad  and  safe  roads  were  made  to  the  interior  uniting 
the  Save  and  the  Danube  on  one  side,  and  the  Drina  on 
the  other.  From  Burnum  a  road  by  way  of  Petrovac 
reached  the  basin  of  the  Save  ;  from  Salona  a  fan  of 
carriage-roads  spread  out — one  across  the  Dinaric  Alps 
by  iEquum  and  the  hill  of  Prolog  to  the  Danube, 
another  by  the  same  hill  to  Livno  and  Kupres,  a  third 
between  Delminum  and  Serajevo.  From  Narona  (Vid) 
the  great  Roman  Road  of  the  Narenta  started,  and  in 
Albania  was  the  Via  Ignatia  from  Durazzo  and  Vallona 
to  Salonica.  The  great  coast-road  from  Zara  went  past 
Scardona  and  Salona  to  Narona  and  Scodra  ;  the  inner 
land  route  commenced  at  Tarsatico  (Fiume)  and  went 
by  Zengg  over  the  Velebits  to  Clambeta  (near  Obro- 
vazzo)  and  Zara,  then  by  Nadinum,  Asseria  (Pod- 
gradje),  Burnum,  Promona,  Municipium  Magnum,  and 
Andetrium  to  Salona. 

Illyricum  was  divided  into  Liburnia,  from  Istria  to 
the  river  Kerka,  the  people  belonging  to  the  juridical 
Convent  of  Scardona,  which  settled  the  business  of 
eighty-nine  cities  ;  from  the  Kerka  to  the  Narenta  they 
sent  their  representatives  to  Salona ;  and  Illyris 
Grseca,  from  the  Narenta  to  Drilone  in  Epirus,  which 
belonged  to  the  juridical  Convent  of  Narona.  With 
the  successive  Eastern  invasions  and  the  consequent 
race  differentiations,   maritime    and  inland  Dalmatia 


EARLY    MEDIEVAL    PERIOD  189 

were  separated,  and  the  Turkish  conquest  made  the 
Dinaric  Alps  into  a  bulwark  not  to  be  crossed. 

The  Illyrians  furnished  the  Romans  with  many 
distinguished  soldiers,  of  whom  Claudius  Gothicus, 
Aurelian,  Septimius,  Probus,  and  Carus  of  Narona  were 
soldier  emperors.  Diocletian  was  the  most  celebrated. 
More  than  sixty  Roman  settlements  are  known.  For 
about  seventy  years  the  country  was  ruled  by  the 
Goths.  After  the  recovery  of  Italy  by  Belisarius  and 
Narses  it  belonged  to  Byzantium  from  537,  and  was 
ruled  from  Ravenna  by  a  catapan  at  Salona.  The  war 
with  Chosroes  in  600-614  strained  the  Byzantine 
resources  and  thus  denuded  the  coast  of  soldiers,  so 
that  the  Avar  and  Slav  inroads  met  with  little  re- 
sistance under  Heraclius  (610-640),  who  had  called  in 
the  latter  to  drive  out  the  Avars  ;  Narona,  Salona, 
Epidaurus,  Burnum,  and  Rhizinium  were  destroyed. 
In  641  Pope  John  IV.,  a  Dalmatian  by  birth,  sent 
Abbot  John  to  Istria  and  Dalmatia  to  ransom  prisoners 
and  collect  relics. 

The  Croats  and  Serbs  exterminated  the  Avars  in  the 
middle  of  the  seventh  century  and  delivered  the  pro- 
vince, the  Croats  occupying  the  west  to  the  river 
Cetina,  the  Serbs  the  east  from  the  Cetina  to  Albania. 
Under  the  Serbs  the  southern  portion  was  divided  into 
four  zupanje,  of  which  the  only  name  which  has 
survived  is  Trebinia,  which  reached  from  Cattaro 
to  Ragusa  and  included  the  mountain  regions.  The 
Croat  dukes  recognised  the  sovereignty  of  the  Carlo- 
vingians,  as  is  proved  by  the  oldest  inscription  extant, 
that  of  Tripimir  (852),  being  dated  by  the  rule  of  the 
Emperor  Lothair.  The  title  of  king  was  assumed  by 
Muncimir  in  914.  Two  or  three  of  the  kings  resided 
at  Nona  in  the  eleventh  century — Stepan  (f  1052), 
Peter  Cresimir  and  Svinimir  (  f  1089).  The  widow  of  the 
last  invited  her  brother  Ladislas  of  Hungary  to  take 


190     HISTORICAL   SKETCH    OF   DALMATIA 

the  kingdom.  In  1097  Coloman  I.  of  Hungary  married 
the  daughter  of  Roger  of  Sicily.  Under  Coloman  II. 
(1102-1113)  the  coast  towns  from  Zara  to  Spalato  were 
Hungarian,  while  Ragusa  and  Cattaro  remained  under 
the  protection  of  Byzantium. 

The  government  of  the  Dalmatian  cities  was 
democratic  to  a  considerable  extent,  the  oligarchy 
embracing  a  large  proportion  of  the  inhabitants,  and 
the  monasteries  were  expected  to  contribute  to  the 
common  needs  and  share  in  the  defence  of  the  town. 
The  supreme  official  was  called  prior;  judges  and  tri- 
bunes also  are  mentioned  in  contemporary  documents. 
A  certain  dependence  upon  the  Greek  Empire  was 
recognised,  for  in  Zara  the  strategos,  the  catapan,  and 
the  proconsul  of  Dalmatia  appear  even  after  the  time 
of  the  Croatian  kings.  The  Venetian  doge  had  the  title 
of  King  of  Dalmatia  given  him  by  the  Emperor  of 
Constantinople  about  the  end  of  the  eleventh  century 
in  return  for  the  help  given  by  the  fleet  against  the 
Normans. 

During  the  whole  of  the  twelfth  century  Venice  and 
Hungary  contested  the  possession  of  Dalmatia,  victory 
inclining  to  Venice,  who,  by  policing  the  Adriatic,  made 
her  protection  valuable  to  the  coast  cities.  The  pirate 
raids  from  which  the  coasts  suffered  were  of  varied 
nationality — Saracen  and  Turk,  Uscoc  and  bands 
of  native  pirates.  Of  these  latter  the  Narentans  were 
the  most  powerful.  They  remained  pagan  till  near  the 
end  of  the  ninth  century,  and  beat  off  an  attack  by 
Doge  Pietro  Candiano  in  887,  killing  him.  He  was 
buried  in  the  atrium  at  Grado.  For  one  hundred  and 
sixty-eight  years  they  carried  on  the  contest  with 
Venice,  being  most  powerful  during  the  tenth  century, 
when  Otho  I.  sought  their  alliance.  They  had  then 
become  Christian,  and  assisted  in  driving  the  Saracens 
from  Monte   Gargano.     In  992  the  confederate  Dal- 


CROSS    AND    CRESCENT  191 

matian  cities  asked  for  the  protection  of  Venice,  in 
response  to  which  the  expedition  under  Orseolo  II.  was 
fitted  out,  and  broke  their  power.  The  population  of 
the  Narenta  valley  is  now  but  12,000,  in  spite  of  the 
facts  that  Metkovic,  near  the  mouth,  is  the  terminus 
of  the  railway  from  Serajevo  and  Mostar,  and  that 
the  government  has  spent  much  money  in  dredging 
and  embankment  works  at  the  mouth  of  the 
river.  The  boundary  of  Herzegovina  is  but  a  mile 
from  Metkovic,  for  which  it  serves  as  port.  Vid,  a  few 
miles  away,  is  the  ancient  Narona.  A  good  many 
inscriptions  and  antique  fragments  have  been  found 
there,  and  are  now  encrusted  in  the  wall  of  a  house. 
For  many  years  Vid  was  a  bulwark  of  Christianity 
against  the  Turks,  and  the  minarets  of  a  little  Turkish 
village,  Liubuski,  in  which  half  the  population,  male 
and  female,  wear  Turkish  costume  may  be  seen  not 
far  away. 

By  the  middle  of  the  fourteenth  century  Lewis  of 
Hungary  had  acquired  the  whole  of  Dalmatia  from 
Zara  to  Cattaro.  In  1409-1420  Venice  bought  the 
territory  from  Hungary,  with  the  exception  of  Ragusa, 
which  for  some  fifty  years  remained  under  Hungarian 
protection,  but  after  1467  was  protected  by  Turkey. 
In  the  sixteenth  century  the  Cross  and  the  Crescent 
were  bitterly  opposed ;  Austria  became  the  Christian 
champion  in  place  of  Venice  towards  the  end  of  the 
seventeenth  century,  and  at  the  fall  of  the  Republic 
Istria  and  Dalmatia  were  given  to  her  in  1797  by  the 
treaty  of  Passerino.  From  1806  till  1814  they  were 
French ;  but  the  peace  of  Vienna  settled  their  destiny 
as  forming  part  of  the  Austrian  dominions,  in  which 
they  have   remained  till  the   present  day. 


XVII 

ARBE 

It  was  very  early  in  the  morning  when  we  arrived  at 
Arbe  the  first  time  ;  so  early,  in  fact,  that  the  inn- 
keeper was  still  in  bed  and  had  to  be  interviewed  from 
his  chamber-window,  and  we  had  to  deposit  our 
belongings  at  the  door  before  commencing  our  ex- 
plorations breakfastless.  On  this  occasion  we  were 
unfortunate.  The  skull  of  S.  Christopher  was  exposed 
on  the  altar,  but  the  shrine  was  locked  up,  and  the 
parroco  had  gone  into  the  country  to  visit  a  sick  man, 
with  the  key  in  his  pocket,  while  the  ciborium  was 
swathed  in  festival  draperies.  We  therefore  deter- 
mined to  satisfy  ourselves  with  a  cursory  inspection, 
and  arranged  to  return  the  next  year ;  for  the  steam- 
boats are  not  like  suburban  trains,  missing  one  of  which 
merely  means  a  slight  delay.  Many  of  the  islands  have 
but  one  or  two  services  in  the  week  ;  and  staying  for  the 
next  boat  may  derange  the  plan  of  a  whole  tour. 

The  city  looks  most  attractive  from  the  sea  as  one 
approaches.  It  occupies  a  long  tongue  of  land  midway 
along  the  western  coast,  and  the  walls  drop  into  the 
water  both  towards  the  harbour  and  the  open  sea. 
They  are  nearly  complete  in  their  circuit,  but  have  lost 
their  battlements  and  some  portions  of  their  substance. 
There  is  a  good  deal  of  ruin  within  them,  which  makes 
the  foregrounds  uninteresting  and  squalid.  To  the 
west  is  a  public  garden  planted  with  fir-trees,  and  with 

192 


jm-. 


i"\ 


(4,H 1-iiP \ i \  i:*.-';v      .11  ji ".Alt  ^ .  J 


HOUSES    OF   THE   VENETIAN    PERIOD    193 

seats  here  and  there.  Aloes  grow  plentifully  on  the 
rocks  to  the  south-west. 

In  the  early  Middle  Ages  Arbe  was  prosperous  owing 
to  its  trade  and  its  position  on  the  high-road  between 
Venice  and  the  East.  The  plague  of  1456  depopulated 
it,  and  all  the  richer  people  fled  except  the  bishop, 
Johannes  Scaffa,  and  five  canons.  In  1463  Bosniaks 
flying  from  the  Turks  came  to  increase  the  population 
and  were  well  received,  but  the  town  never  recovered 
its  prosperity.  The  empty  streets  and  ruined  houses 
and  churches  near  the  cathedral  testify  to  the  desola- 
tion. The  style  of  the  houses  is  Venetian  for  the  most 
part,  as  might  be  expected,  since  it  was  the  port  of  call 
for  those  going  to  Greece  or  the  Holy  Land.  Some  of 
them  are  very  interesting  and  beautiful.  The  quay  has 
several  fronting  on  to  it,  specially  a  lofty  tower-like 
building  of  the  fourteenth  century  with  later  windows 
and  balconies  inserted.  Many  marble  coats  of  arms 
may  be  seen  here  and  there,  and  the  windows  and 
door-jambs  often  have  charming  carved  ornaments. 
The  Palazzo  Nemira  shows  a  pleasing  combination  of 
late  Gothic  and  Renaissance  detail  in  pierced  panels 
and  balustrading  ;  and  the  parroco  lives  in  a  house 
which  has  a  good  doorway  of  the  usual  Venetian-Gothic 
type.  The  house  in  which  Archbishop  De  Dominis 
was  born  (for  some  time  Dean  of  Windsor,  and  cele- 
brated for  his  scientific  attainments),  a  palace  of  some- 
what later  date,  is  now  a  kind  of  club  and  reading- 
room,  in  which  the  innkeeper  apparently  has  the  right 
of  serving  his  patrons  with  meals.  The  families  of 
De  Dominis  and  De  Hermolais  gave  many  bishops  to 
the  see  between  the  twelfth  and  fifteenth  centuries. 
The  loggia  is  well  preserved  or  has  been  well  restored. 
Overlooking  it  is  a  window  from  which  a  parrot  screams 
insulting  remarks  to  passers-by. 

Arbe  was  known  to  the  ancients  as  part  of  Liburnia. 

25 


194  ARBE 

Pliny  mentions  it,  and  so  does  Porphyrogenitus.  There 
was  a  second  city  in  the  island  in  antiquity  called 
Colento,  of  which  every  trace  has  disappeared.  The 
island  belonged  sometimes  to  the  Croats,  sometimes  to 
Byzantium,  and  sometimes  to  Hungary,  but  from  1115 
was  mainly  under  the  influence  of  Venice.  The 
history  of  the  Church  goes  back  to  the  tenth  cen- 
tury, but  the  first  bishops'  names  are  uncertain.  A 
Zaraitan  record  of  986  mentions  a  Bishop  Petrus. 
In  1062  a  Bishop  Dragus  is  named  as  being  at  the 
consecration  of  S.  Pietro  in  Valle,  the  oldest  Bene- 
dictine convent  in  Arbe.  In  the  communal  archives 
are  preserved  the  oldest  MSS.  of  the  kings  of  Dalmatia 
and  Croatia  of  the  tenth  century. 

The  cathedral  is  a  basilica  with  nave  and  aisles. 
The  main  apse  is  octagonal  outside  and  semicircular 
within  ;  the  apse  to  the  north  aisle  also  exists ;  that  of 
the  south  aisle  has  been  replaced  by  a  square  chapel. 
The  nave  arcade  consists  of  six  bays  of  round  arches, 
resting  on  five  pairs  of  columns  which,  though  they 
are  made  up  with  plaster  and  painted,  are  probably 
antique,  since  the  caps  differ  enormously  in  height  and 
column  and  cap  frequently  do  not  fit.  Some  of  the 
capitals  might  be  late  Roman,  but  most  of  them 
are  very  rude  imitations.  Super-abaci  are  used.  The 
ciborium  is  hexagonal  and  rests  on  six  columns  of 
Greek  cipollino,  with  the  top  and  bottom  mouldings 
worked  on  them  ;  the  caps  are  Byzantine  of  the  sixth 
or  seventh  century,  but  without  super-abaci.  The  front 
arches  have  huge  Renaissance  swags  in  the  spandrils 
and  a  moulded  cornice  with  classic  enrichments  ;  at  the 
back  are  three  ninth-century  panels  with  arch  and 
spandril  in  one  piece,  carved  with  ornament  similar  to 
that  on  the  baptistery  of  Calixtus  at  Cividale  ;  the 
pyramidal  roof  terminates  in  a  carved  finial.  The 
greater  part  of  the  building  is  of  the  thirteenth  century. 


INTERIOR    OF   THE    CATHEDRAL         195 

The  church,  having  become  ruinous  in  1237,  was  restored 
in  1287,  and  again  in  1438  and  1490.  It  is  now  the 
chief  parish  church  of  the  diocese  of  Veglia.  The  west 
door  belongs  to  the  last  restoration  ;  in  the  tympanum 
is  a  poorly  carved  Pieta.  It  is  flanked  by  some  remains 
of  a  flat  arcading.  The  wheel-window  above,  though 
Romanesque  in  design,  bears  the  date  1439.  A  pink 
marble  is  used  in  this  facade  with  very  good  effect.  In 
the  north  wall  is  a  square  marble  panel  with  an  en- 
throned Christ,  of  Byzantine  type,  like  the  ciborium 
and  the  nave  columns  a  relic  of  an  earlier  building. 
The  stalls  are  fine  of  their  kind,  and  we  were  told  that 
an  offer  of  50,000  florins  and  a  new  set  had  been  made 
for  them  and  refused.  They  are  dated  1445,  and  are 
elaborately  carved  with  figures  and  the  usual  nerveless 
foliage  of  the  period,  of  which  other  good  examples 
occur  at  Zara  and  Parenzo.  In  a  chapel  in  the  north 
aisle  is  a  polygonal  Renaissance  font  of  rather  pleasing 
design,  with  S.  John  the  Baptist  in  the  central  panel  and 
fruit,  &c,  hanging  in  the  others.  In  the  apse  of  the 
north  aisle  is  an  early  Madonna  with  the  Child,  robed 
in  red  and  blue  with  golden  diaper  patterns ;  and  over 
an  altar  in  the  south  aisle  is  an  interesting  tempera 
picture  in  a  frame  of  the  fourteenth  century,  painted  on 
a  gold  ground,  with  Greek  inscriptions  and  technique. 
In  the  central  panel  is  a  Crucifixion,  on  the  left  is 
S.  Matthew,  and  on  the  right  S.  Christopher. 

S.  Christopher  was  patron  of  the  town  and  diocese, 
and  the  greatest  relic  is  his  head,  now  that  those  of 
Shadrach,  Meshech,  and  Abednego  have  disappeared. 
The  first  mention  of  it  occurs  in  the  eleventh  century, 
when  Bishop  Dabrana  or  Domana  (1080-1086)  brought 
it  forth  with  prayers  and  hymns  to  deliver  Arbe  from 
an  attacking  horde  which  had  besieged  the  city  for  a 
month.  A  great  stone  fell  from  heaven  into  the  camp 
of  the  besiegers  on  that  occasion,  and  the  missiles  which 


196 


ARBE 


they  shot  recoiled  upon  them.  In  Arbe,  S.  Christopher's 
Day  is  kept  on  May  9,  the  day  of  this  discomfiture, 
instead  of  July  25  as  elsewhere.  Other  deliverances 
took  place  in  1097  from  Coloman  of  Hungary,  and  in 
1 1 05  from  a  Hungarian  Count  Sergius,  according  to 
tradition.  The  shrine  appears  to  be  work  of  the 
twelfth  century,  and  is  based  on  the  antique,  but  betrays 


RELIQUARY    OF    THE    HEAD    OF    S.    CHRISTOPHER 


Byzantine  influence  also.  It  is  decorated  with  gilded 
reliefs  upon  a  ground  of  silver.  It  is  a  rectangular 
wooden  box  with  a  pyramidal  lid,  to  which  the  silver 
plates  are  nailed.  The  subjects  upon  the  four  sides  are  : 
1.  A  seated  king  and  an  archer  shooting  at  S.  Chris- 
topher, who  is  bound  to  a  stake ;  the  arrows  fall  de- 
flected and  broken  by  the  hand  of  God,  which  appears 
by  the  saint's  head.     Above  is  a  canopy  supported  on 


RELIQUARY    IN    THE    CATHEDRAL        197 

twisted  columns.  2.  The  saint  is  beheaded  beneath  a 
canopy  ;  the  hand  of  God  again  appears  by  the  headless 
trunk.  Two  soldiers  in  Roman  costume  stand  by,  one 
with  lance,  and  the  other  with  raised  sword.  3.  Three 
holy  men  holding  scrolls,  barefoot  and  robed  in  tunic 
and  toga.  4.  Three  holy  women,  two  holding  a  cross  ; 
the  heads  have  been  restored.  All  these  figures  have 
large  heads,  especially  those  standing  under  the  round- 
arched  arcade,  with  alternate  twisted  and  ringed 
colonnettes.  The  lid  has  repousse  subjects  upon  all 
four  surfaces  :  1.  Christ  enthroned,  blessing  and 
holding  a  book,  with  the  monograms  IC  and  XC  ;  in 
the  corners  the  lion  and  eagle  with  books.  2.  S.  John 
with  the  eagle  and  monogram  IONS.  3.  S.  Chris- 
topher, beardless,  as  a  standard-bearer,  and  with  a  royal 

S.XPO 
mantle,  with  inscription    FOR ;     at  his   feet    a    male 

VS 
and  a  female  figure — donors  probably.  4.  The  Virgin 
standing  with  monograms  MH  ©T.  An  angel  with 
a  book  stands  near.  The  skull  is  surrounded  by  a 
double  crown,  the  outer  of  gold  set  with  precious  stones, 
the  inner  of  silver  ornamented  with  lilies.  The  tradi- 
tion is  that  the  reliquary  was  the  gift  of  Queen  Eliza- 
beth of  Hungary. 

In  the  sacristy  are  also  three  strips  of  champleve 
enamel  from  a  destroyed  reliquary,  with  figures  of  eight 
of  the  Apostles — Matthew,  James,  Bartholomew,  An- 
drew, Thomas,  Philip,  Thaddeus,  and  Svhon  (Simon) — 
seated  and  holding  symbols  in  one  hand  and  churches 
in  the  other  (which  have  central  domes  sometimes,  and 
pediments  over  the  doors,  while  the  roofs  and  towers 
look  much  later  than  the  thirteenth  century,  to  which 
they  are  generally  ascribed).  The  colours  used  are 
blue,  green,  yellow,  white,  and  red,  and  the  style  re- 
sembles  that  of  the   Maestricht   school.     Eitelberger 


198  ARBE 

describes  another  plaque  on  which  SS.  Peter,  John, 
Mark,  and  three  others  were  represented.  This  seems 
to  have  disappeared  since  his  time,  as  it  was  not  shown 
me  with  the  others. 

The  campanile  of  the  cathedral  is  one  of  the  finest 
in  Dalmatia,  and  is  older  than  the  year  1212,  in  which 
year  there  is  mention  of  it.  It  is  20  ft.  square  and  more 
than  100  ft.  high,  with  four  stories  separated  by  orna- 
mented string  courses,  a  base  and  a  pyramidal  top. 
The  base  has  a  door  and  eight  windows,  two  on  each 
side,  on  a  higher  level.  The  lowest  story  has  also  two 
windows  on  each  side,  but  beneath  three  corbelled 
arches.  In  the  next  the  windows  are  each  coupled, 
with  a  central  colonnette  and  an  arch  above  springing 
from  the  central  and  angle  pilaster  strips.  In  the  third 
the  windows  have  three  lights  and  coupled  colonnettes 
beneath  a  similar  arch,  but  the  story  is  loftier.  In  the 
top  story  (which  is  as  deep  as  two  of  those  below) 
there  are  four  lights  with  coupled  colonnettes  and  a 
square  framing  round  them ;  a  cornice  slightly  projecting 
and  a  balustrade  complete  the  perpendicular  part.  All 
the  arches  are  round  and  the  window  shafts  have  neither 
cap  nor  base.  The  leaf  ornament  of  the  strings  imitates 
the  antique.  The  pyramidal  top  is  octagonal,  and  bears 
an  inscription  recording  its  restoration  after  damage 
by  lightning  ;    the  lower  portion  seems  to  be  original. 

Four  of  five  other  churches  have  campaniles,  of 
which  S.  Andrea  is  the  best,  apparently  twelfth-century 
work,  as  are  the  three  apses  at  the  eastern  end.  S. 
Giustina  has  a  curious  bulbous  top,  plastered  and 
painted  red.  The  churches  generally  have  a  semi- 
circular apse  and  flat  wooden  ceilings  ;  those  without 
campanili  have  bell-turrets  on  the  west  wall,  many  of 
them  no  longer  in  use.  S.  Andrea  was  rebuilt  in  the 
middle  of  the  fifteenth  century,  and  has  a  good  Venetian 
Renaissance  doorway.     In  S.  Antonio,  just  beyond  the 


S.    GIOVANNI    BATTISTA  199 

cathedral  is  a  fifteenth-century  altar-piece  with  carved 
and  painted  figures.  In  S.  Andrea  is  a  wofully  re- 
painted Bart.  Vivarini,  signed  and  dated  1485,  and  in 
the  Franciscan  convent  of  S.  Eufemia,  some  way 
outside  the  walls,  there  are  said  to  be  two  pictures  by 
the  same  artist. 

Of  S.  Giovanni  Battista,  which  was  so  interesting 
for  the  construction  of  its  apse  and  ambulatory,  scarcely 
anything  remains — just  the  exterior  wall  of  the  apse 
and  north  wall  of  the  nave,  with  remains  of  one  door 
with  an  inscription.  The  obliging  owner  or  renter  of  the 
ground  showed  us  a  piece  of  the  mosaic  pavement  in 
rather  bad  repair,  which  he  said  the  Duke  of  S.  Stefano 
wished  to  buy,  but  it  was  impossible  to  get  it  up  from 
the  grass  which  had  grown  round  it,  apart  from  the 
difficulty  of  the  three  permessi  required  from  the  bishop, 
the  authorities,  and  the  proprietor.  He  had  the  earth 
swept  off  the  piece  which  we  saw,  and  there  was  no  grass 
growing  just  there.  The  patterns  are  interweavings 
rather  Roman  in  design,  the  colours  used  being  black, 
red,  rose-pink,  and  white.  The  church  is  said  to  have 
been  the  first  cathedral ;  later  it  belonged  to  a  Francis- 
can convent  which  was  used  as  the  palace  of  the  bishop 
some  seventy  years  ago.  Round  the  cloister  were  two 
stories  of  rooms,  with  a  curious  chapter-house  in  the 
corner.  The  site  is  now  laid  out  as  a  garden,  with 
pergolas  and  a  terrace-walk  looking  over  the  sea  ;  amid 
these  are  still  a  good  many  architectural  fragments 
lying  about,  some  of  which  appear  to  go  back  to  the 
tenth  century.  Four  boxes  full  of  such  fragments  were 
sent  to  the  Museum  of  S.  Donato  at  Zara  without  any 
claim  being  made  for  expenses,  but  were  refused. 

One  ought  not  to  omit  mentioning  the  chapel  of 
the  Campo  Santo,  which  has  a  strange  facade  with  three 
great  conventional  shell  forms  above  a  rose-window,  and 
a  carved  architrave  with  Renaissance  motifs  above  the 


200  ARBE 

door.     It  was  restored  in  1867 ;  the  adjoining  ruinous 
building  has  1657  over  ^s  door. 

S.  Pietro  in  Valle  is  some  six  miles  from  Arbe, 
and  is  as  yet  undescribed.  Signor  Rismondo,  whose 
kindness  I  have  just  referred  to,  offered  to  drive  us  out 
to  it,  an  attractive  offer  which  I  was  exceedingly  sorry 
to  have  to  decline  ;  but  the  times  of  sailing  of  the  boats 
are  not  elastic,  and  it  would  have  meant  spending  four 
days  more  on  the  island,  an  amount  of  time  which  I 
could  not  spare.  He  also  wanted  to  take  us  to  below 
Loparo,  where  he  said  the  geological  formations  are 
strange  and  impressive.  The  cliffs  facing  the  mainland 
are  riven  into  detached  pinnacles  estimated  to  be  as 
high  as  the  campanile  of  the  cathedral,  and  the  scenery 
is  savage  in  the  extreme. 

Our  second  visit  to  Arbe  was  made  from  Zara,  which 
we  left  in  rather  stormy  weather,  the  waves  outside  the 
harbour  flashing  with  little  white  caps,  while  flaws  of 
rain  constantly  hid  the  island  of  Ugljan  on  the  other 
side  of  the  channel.  The  boat  was  rather  a  small  one, 
belonging  to  the  Zaratina  company,  with  a  crew  which 
consisted  of  a  captain,  who  also  acted  as  supercargo,  an 
engineer,  a  stoker,  a  cook,  one  deck-hand,  and  a  cock. 
The  cock's  name  was  Nero,  and  he  had  voyaged  with 
the  boat  for  two  months  (as  the  engineer  testified) 
without  suffering  even  from  the  most  tempestuous 
weather.  There  was  an  awning  over  the  central  portion 
of  the  boat  and  flapping  pieces  of  sailcloth,  apparently 
intended  to  shield  the  very  varied  merchandise  which 
was  being  brought  on  board,  and  we  found  that  it  was 
possible  to  shelter  beneath  it  by  observing  the  direction 
of  the  wind  and  keeping  to  leeward.  The  crew  com- 
forted some  women  who  feared  the  roughness  of  the 
waves  (one  of  whom  carried  a  new  hat  in  a  large 
paper-bag,  which  became  rather  dilapidated  under  the 
attentions  of  the  wind  and  the  frequent  showers)    by 


A    STORMY    PASSAGE  201 

saying  it  would  be  all  right  when  we  got  round  the 
point  behind  which  Nona  lies  ;  and  as  the  boat  was  very- 
buoyant  and  seaworthy  we  found  it  possible  to  enjoy 
the  passage  notwithstanding  the  doubtful  weather. 
As  we  turned  down  the  bay  to  Val  Cassione,  however, 
the  wind  shifted  a  point  and  blew  dead  against  us,  and 
we  began  to  think  that  the  boat  was  very  small  for 
such  a  sea.  The  women  and  a  child  had  to  disembark 
here,  and  were  almost  in  tears,  and  the  length  of  time 
that  the  boatmen  took  to  make  up  their  minds  to  come 
out  from  the  harbour  and  face  the  choppy  sea  did  not 
reassure  them.  Nero  marched  bravely  up  and  down 
the  deck,  giving  vent  every  now  and  then  to  a  rather 
cracked  crow,  and  we  wondered  how  he  escaped  being 
blown  overboard  !  Fortunately  he  carried  very  little 
sail,  only  two  feathers  remaining  in  his  dilapidated 
tail ;  but  his  spirit  was  high,  and  he  was  always  ready 
to  respond  to  the  challenges  of  the  engineer. 

As  we  rounded  the  point  after  leaving  Val  Cassione 
the  wind  shifted  again  and  the  weather  improved  as 
if  by  magic.  The  clouds  gradually  melted  away,  and 
the  blue  of  the  sky  palpitated  through  the  grey  ;  the 
sun  shone  warm  upon  the  barren,  featureless  coast, 
adding  colour  to  the  dispiriting  grey  of  the  limestone 
spotted  with  the  dark  green  of  shrubs,  a  characteristic 
of  most  of  the  Dalmatian  islands,  and  the  Velebit 
Mountains  became  clear,  in  some  places  to  the 
summits,  though  the  greater  part  of  the  chain  was 
still  cloud-capped  and  barred  with  heavy  purple 
shadows. 

The  party  at  lunch  consisted  of  the  captain,  the 
engineer,  and  a  priest  who  was  now  the  one  passenger 
beside  ourselves.  We  comfortably  filled  the  table  in 
the  little  cabin.  The  captain  said  that  since  the 
phylloxera  damaged  the  vines  two-thirds  of  the  Dal- 
matians   fthe   country   people)    had   emigrated.      He 

26 


202  ARBE 

seemed  to  hold  them  in  slight  estimation,  perhaps 
because  he  was  a  sailor,  which  he  said  none  of  them  are 
in  that  part  of  the  country  (a  statement  we  had  an 
opportunity  of  verifying,  for  we  noticed  that  a  very 
slight  motion  of  the  boat  makes  them  sick),  and  so 
ignorant  "  that  it  would  require  2,000  years  of  teaching 
to  civilise  them  !  "  The  captain  himself  belonged  to 
one  of  the  outlying  islands,  where  his' wife  and  family 
lived  and  where  he  spent  two  nights  in  each  week  ;  and 
he  took  a  gloomy  view  of  the  prospects  of  the  "  Dal- 
mati,"  as  the  Italian-speaking  Dalmatians  call  them- 
selves. He  said  when  he  was  a  boy  the  language  used 
in  the  schools  generally  was  Italian,  then  it  was  changed 
to  German  for  a  time,  but  Croat  is  now  universal,  so 
that  in  twenty  years  Italian  will  no  longer  be  under- 
stood along  the  eastern  littoral ;  which  will  be  bad  for 
the  culture  of  the  country,  almost  the  whole  of  which 
is  Italian,  and  has  been  so  for  centuries. 

Our  priest  left  us  at  a  little  convent  with  a  chapel 
and  two  houses  standing  close  to  the  water's  edge  ;  and 
at  Novaglia  we  took  on  board  a  party  of  emigrants, 
some  of  whom  were  quite  boys,  while  one  was  grey- 
headed. Most  of  them  wore  the  picturesque  costume 
of  the  Morlacchi  ;  but  the  next  day  we  saw  them  again, 
clad  in  the  characterless,  sack-like  slop-suit  which  seems 
to  be  thought  a  mark  of  civilisation,  having  lost  much 
of  their  individuality  without  gaining  anything  in 
exchange.  A  number  of  friends  lingered  on  the  shore 
to  see  them  off ;  but  there  was  no  such  singing  as  we 
heard  next  day  at  Loparo  beyond  Arbe,  the  birthplace 
of  the  founder  of  the  Republic  of  S.  Marino,  where 
some  twenty  or  more  were  waiting  for  us  on  a  barge  in 
the  pretty  bay,  singing  a  farewell  song  which  wailed 
over  the  water  as  we  approached.  As  they  boarded 
the  steamboat  they  kissed  their  friends  on  both  cheeks, 
and  crowded  to  the  side  as  we  got  under  way  again, 


A    PICTURESQUE    CITY  203 

repeating  their  melancholy  song  and  waving  adieus  ; 
while  all  along  the  tops  of  the  hills  which  flank  both 
sides  of  the  harbour  figures  silhouetted  against  the  sky, 
waved  in  response,  and  stood  watching  the  boat  as 
long  as  we  could  distinguish  them. 

When  we  reached  Arbe,  cresting  its  rocky  point 


ARBE    FROM    THE   SHORE 


with  a  picturesque  confusion  of  walls,  campanili,  and 
house-roofs  that  seemed  to  grow  out  of  the  rocks,  so 
well  do  they  harmonise  with  them,  the  afternoon  was 
sunny  and  delightful,  though  the  roads  showed  signs 
of  the  rain  which  had  recently  fallen.     At  sunset  we 


204  ARBE 

climbed  again  to  the  public  garden  and  enjoyed  the 
well-remembered  view  of  towers  and  walls  grey  against 
the  glowing  sky,  the  most  beautiful  grouping  of  one 
of  the  most  picturesque  places  that  I  know,  intensified 
by  the  charm  of  the  changing  colours  as  the  glow 
gradually  faded,  and  the  opalescent  sea  by  slow  degrees 
took  its  place  in  the  quiet  harmonies  of  twilight. 


ASCENT    TO    THE    RAMPARTS,    ZARA 


To  face  page  205 


XVIII 

ZARA 

The  continuation  of  the  Canale  della  Morlacca,  which 
washes  the  mainland,  is  the  Canale  della  Montagna,  on 
the  west  side  of  which  is  the  island  of  Pago,  the  Gissa  of 
the  ancients.  The  city  of  the  same  name  was  founded 
by  the  Venetians,  and  was  originally  a  defensive  military 
post  against  the  Uscocs.  The  bay  upon  which  it  is 
situated  lies  open  to  the  "  Bora,"  and  therefore  cannot 
always  be  entered  in  winter.  For  this  reason  Val 
Cassione,  on  the  west  side  of  the  narrow  island,  is  the 
usual  port.  A  road  over  a  slight  hill  conducts  to  the 
south  end  of  the  bay  and  the  city,  in  front  of  which 
the  water  is  so  narrow  that  it  is  bridged  over.  On 
the  near  side  are  the  celebrated  salt-works,  the  richest 
in  Dalmatia.  There  are  a  few  Roman  remains,  includ- 
ing those  of  a  camp  ;  and  near  Novaglia  is  a  tunnel  300 
yards  long,  lighted  by  pierced  apertures,  said  to  have 
belonged  to  a  Roman  aqueduct.  The  scenery  outside 
the  island  of  Pago  is  uninteresting ;  the  islands  have  little 
elevation,  beauty  of  form  or  colour,  nor  is  there 
sufficient  vegetation  to  disguise  the  dull  grey  of  the 
rocks,  though,  as  the  boat  turns  to  the  west  to  gain  the 
mouth  of  the  Canal  of  Zara,  the  Velebit  Mountains  be- 
hind may  become  imposing  under  certain  circumstances. 
The  first  time  we  went  to  Zara  the  sun  was  setting  at 
this  part  of  the  voyage,  and  the  sky  effect  was  fine, 
while  the  Velebits  flushed  a  pinkish  purple  with  blue- 

205 


206  ZARA 

purple  shadows,  the  silhouette  only  showing  in  places 
beneath  heavy  masses  of  cloud,  in  which  some  of  the 
summits  were  hidden.  Falling  showers  here  and  there 
softened  and  veiled  the  strong  light  and  shade,  relieved 
by  the  prismatic  hues  of  a  rainbow.  As  the  sun  sank 
lower  the  mountains  and  clouds  gradually  became  a 
pallid  grey,  while  the  sky  to  westward  passed  through 
many  gradations  of  colour  and  tone  as  the  clouds 
slowly  dispersed  and  night  fell.  Far  away  over 
the  darkening  water  the  electric  lights  of  Zara  flashed 
and  glittered,  reflected  in  chains  of  sparkles  which  grew 
longer  as  we  approached. 

The  boat  turned  to  the  left  into  the  old  port,  and 
thus  we  escaped  the  ordeal  of  the  dogana  to  which 
passengers  landing  at  the  new  quay  are  subjected,  and 
entered  the  town  through  the  Porta  Marina,  the  entrance 
for  all  travellers  arriving  by  water  until,  in  1868,  the 
walls  towards  the  sea  were  thrown  down,  and  the 
Riva  Nuova  constructed.  It  is  proposed  to  extend 
this  fine  promenade  to  Borgo  Erizzo  eventually.  In 
making  it  some  remains  of  Roman  walls  were  found. 
The  city  was  declared  "open,"  and  the  cannon  were 
transported  to  the  arsenal.  On  the  other  side  of  the 
water  is  the  island  of  Ugljan,  with  its  conspicuous 
Venetian  castle  of  S.  Michele,  to  which  the  peasants 
make  a  pilgrimage  on  Michaelmas  Day.  From  the 
height  which  it  crowns,  the  second  Canal  of  Zara 
may  be  seen,  and  the  islands  of  Incoronata,  Isole 
Grosse,  and  the  open  sea  beyond.  It  is  said  that  the 
coast  of  Italy  can  be  seen  with  a  telescope  on  a  fine 
day.  The  remaining  portions  of  the  fortifications 
have  been  planted  with  trees,  or  turned  into  gardens, 
and  form  pleasant  promenades  both  during  the  day, 
when  the  shade  of  the  trees  is  acceptable,  and  at 
evening,  when  the  sea  breeze  blows  cool  from  off  the 
water.     Among  the  trees  are  found  palms  and  Paul- 


THE    PORTA    MARINA,    ZARA 


To  face  page  207 


THE    GATES    OF    ZARA  207 

ownia  in  flower.  Outside  the  Porta  Terra  Ferma  a 
large  bastion  has  been  made  into  a  public  park,  named 
after  General  Blazekovic,  who  created  it  in  1888-1890. 
The  fortifications,  commenced  by  Sanmichele  in  1533, 
were  finished  ten  years  later  by  his  nephew  Giovanni 
Girolamo  :  a  drawing  for  the  Porta  Terra  Ferma  exists 
in  the  Uffrzj  at  Florence,  showing  the  whole  depth  to 
the  bottom  of  the  ditch,  which  much  improves  the 
proportion.  It  was  approached  diagonally  across  a 
wooden  bridge ;  the  road  is  now  direct,  and  the  ditch 
filled  up.  The  isthmus  joining  the  peninsula  to  the 
land  had  been  cut  through  to  strengthen  the  older 
fortifications,  of  which  one  tower,  the  pentagonal  Bo 
d'Antona,  alone  remains.  When  the  new  works  were 
carried  out,  as  a  stronger  defence  against  the  Turks,  the 
suburbs  were  destroyed,  and  the  ditch  was  subsequently 
turned  into  the  cisterns  below  the  Cinque  Pozzi. 
This  great  reservoir,  made  in  1574,  was  provided  with 
an  elaborate  system  of  filtering-beds,  the  water  being 
collected  from  the  roofs  until  the  aqueduct  was  opened 
in  1838.  The  sand  was  renewed  once  in  a  hundred 
years. 

The  inner  portion  of  the  other  gate,  the  Porta 
Marina,  was,  according  to  local  tradition,  brought  from 
iEnona.  It  is  part  of  a  triumphal  arch  erected  by  a 
Roman  lady,  Melia  Anniana,  to  her  husband,  Laepicius 
Bassus,  with  additions  of  the  period  of  the  Renaissance. 
It  bears  a  long  Latin  inscription  referring  to 
the  battle  of  Lepanto,  October  5,  1571,  and  on  the 
water  side  has  a  pretty,  early  Renaissance  upper  part, 
with  the  lion  of  S.  Mark  and  amorini  supporting  a 
shield  within  an  architectural  framing. 

Zara  (anciently  Jadera)  is  traditionally  the  capital 
of  the  Liburnians.  It  became  a  Roman  colony  in 
78  B.C.,  and  many  Roman  fragments  have  been  found 
which  attest  its   splendour  and  prosperity  under  the 


208  ZARA 

Empire.  Trajan  built  an  aqueduct,  of  which  traces 
have  been  found  through  Borgo  Erizzo  to  and  beyond 
Makarska.  Stone  pipes  of  the  same  kind  were  found  on 
the  shore  at  Zara  Vecchia,  in  the  ruins  of  the  Templars' 
castle  on  the  hill  Kastelj  above  the  lake  of  Vrana,  and 
in  the  marshes  through  which  the  road  from  Vrana  to 
Benkovac  passes.  It  is  believed  that  the  source  was 
a  spring  at  Biba  on  this  hill.  Salona,  during  the  time 
of  its  prosperity,  was  of  more  importance  than  Zara  ; 
but  after  its  destruction  by  the  Avars  in  639  the  latter 
again  became  of  first  importance  in  Dalmatia,  the 
Byzantine  fleet  being  stationed  there  when  Ravenna 
was  taken  by  the  Lombards  in  752,  and  the  town 
becoming  the  dwelling  of  the  "  strategos."  In  804 
Donatus,  bishop  of  Zara,  acted  as  envoy  with  the  doge 
of  $i Venice  in  concluding  peace  between  Charlemagne 
and  .the  Byzantine  Emperor  Nicephorus.  In  the  tenth 
century  it  was  known  as  Diadora.  In  991  it  became 
Venetian  for  the  first  time,  but  without  severing  its 
relations  with  Byzantium ;  and  Orso  Orseolo  fortified 
itvfin  1018.  Somewhat  later,  the  Venetians  made  it 
their  ^'principal  city,  putting  the  bishoprics  of  Arbe, 
Veglia,  and  Ossero  under  the  metropolitan  in  1154, 
and  making  Domenico  Morosini,  son  of  the  doge, 
Count  of  Zara.  The  inscription  on  the  nuns' 
church  of  S.  Maria  records  the  fact  that  Coloman 
entered  Zara  in  11 05  ;  from  that  date  the  Hungarian 
period  commences,  though  apparently  the  Venetians  still 
had  rule  over  maritime  Dalmatia.  The  sacking  of  the 
city  by  the  French  in  1202  appears  to  have  been  due 
to  the  greed  of  the  Venetians,  and  to  their  desire  to  get 
even  with  the  Hungarians  also.  Between  11 69  and 
1201  a  Pisan  fleet,  probably  allied  with  Hungary, 
took  Pola  from  the  Venetians  ;  but  it  was  retaken  before 
long,  and  the  discords  between  Henry  or  Emeric,  son  of 
Bela  of  Hungary,  and  his  brother  Andrew  facilitated 


VENETIANS    AND    HUNGARIANS  209 

the  taking  of  Zara.  It  is  recorded  that  Andrew  had 
most  of  the  magnates  on  his  side  ;  but  Emeric  went  alone 
and  unarmed  to  the  malcontents,  saying  :  "  Now  I  wish 
to  see  who  of  you  will  dare  to  raise  his  hand  against  his 
king  "  ;  and  all  quietly  and  in  silence  let  him  pass.  He 
then  took  his  brother,  led  him  out,  and  imprisoned 
him  in  a  certain  castle.  The  magnates  fell  at  his  feet 
asking  pardon.  Truly  in  those  days  divinity  did  hedge 
the  king  ! 

The  French  Crusaders  had  engaged  the  Venetians  to 
take  them  to  the  Holy  Land,  but  did  not  assemble  at 
Venice  at  the  time  appointed,  nor  had  they  the  money 
ready  to  pay  for  their  transport.  The  Venetians,  being 
men  of  business,  demanded  cash  down ;  and  so  the 
favourable  time  for  reaching  Syria  was  allowed  to  pass 
without  the  expedition  setting  forth.  Provisions  and 
ships  had  been  prepared,  and  the  Venetians,  wishing  to 
use  them,  with  the  consent  of  Doge  Enrico  Dandolo,  pro- 
posed to  the  French  an  attack  on  Zara,  part  of  the  booty 
to  be  used  to  pay  for  their  passage.  The  attack  took 
place  on  November  10,  1202,  and  the  French  stayed  till 
April  7,  1203.  The  Venetians  took  all  the  booty,  and 
threw  down  the  wall  on  the  seaward  side,  but  it  was 
restored  shortly  after.  They  also  sent  colonists  to  Zara 
after  a  rebellion  and  a  reconquest  in  1243. 

The  Venetian  counts  were  generally  citizens  of 
Venice,  and  had  no  defined  term  of  rule.  In  1311  the  city 
again  returned  to  the  Hungarians,  and  the  result  was 
the  siege  of  1312-1313,  which  ended  in  the  condottiere 
Dalmasio,  who  was  besieging,  being  offered  the  count- 
ship  by  the  ban  of  Dalmatia  and  Croatia.  To  prevent 
this  the  Venetians  offered  to  leave  the  Zaratines  free 
to  choose  their  own  count,  only  reserving  the  right  of 
confirmation.  In  1345  Zara  rebelled  for  the  seventh 
time,  when  Andrea  Dandolo  was  doge,  and  in  conse- 
quence a  long  siege  commenced  on  August  12.     The 


210  ZARA 

Venetians  had  at  Nona  20,000  men,  horse  and  foot,  who 
devastated  the  fields  for  three  days  and  set  fire  to  the 
villages ;  the  countrymen  fled  to  the  city,  so  that  there 
were  more  than  20,000  within  the  walls,  of  whom  6,000 
only  were  armed.  On  August  30  they  closed  the  port 
with  a  chain  made  of  thirteen  beams,  and  on  September  1 
sent  an  envoy  to  Andrew,  king  of  Naples,  to  ask  for 
aid.  On  the  8th  they  received  letters  from  the  King  of 
Hungary  promising  help,  and  raised  the  Hungarian 
flag.  The  king  sent  the  bani  of  Bosnia  and  Croatia 
to  help  them,  but  the  Venetian  senate  bought  the 
rescuers  off !  In  January,  1346,  the  Venetians  took  the 
Castle  of  S.  Damian  and  broke  the  chain  of  the  port. 
The  Venetian  trenches  consisted  of  a  bastion  200 
yards  long  and  100  yards  broad  built  of  wood  on 
three  sides.  On  the  east  it  had  ten  towers,  as  many 
on  the  west,  and  fourteen  on  the  north,  being  open 
on  the  south  towards  the  fleet.  They  now  controlled 
25,000  men.  On  June  2,  Ladislas  of  Hungary  came 
to  help  the  besieged,  and  encamped  at  Zemonico, 
seven  miles  away,  with  100,000  cavalry.  On  July  10 
he  advanced  close  to  the  city  with  2,000  of  his 
best  men.  The  citizens  welcomed  him  with  much  joy, 
and  the  next  day  sent  legates  with  great  solemnity 
to  offer  him  the  keys  of  the  city.  On  the  16th  he  at- 
tacked the  bastion.  On  the  20th,  Bernardo,  patriarch 
of  Aquileia,  entered  the  city ;  but  the  king  held  aloof. 
The  Venetians  tried  in  vain  to  make  terms,  and  the 
Zaratines  attacked  the  bastion  with  good  heart, 
burning  one  of  the  towers ;  but  the  Hungarians  only 
looked  on  while  the  Venetians  repelled  the  assault. 
The  king's  behaviour  is  mysterious.  On  July  30  he 
returned  to  Vrana,  and  so  to  Hungary ;  and,  although 
his  promised  envoys  went  to  Venice,  they  went  for 
other  purposes.  He  appears  to  have  been  using  Zara 
as  a  pawn  in  some  great  game.     Famine  obliged  the 


THE   COUNTRY    PEOPLE  211 

Zaratines  to  surrender,  and  the  Venetians  entered  the 
city  on  December  21,  1347,  the  war  having  lasted  two 
years  and  six  months,  and  having  cost  the  Republic 
from  40,000  to  60,000  ducats  a  month  for  soldiers' 
pay  alone,  without  counting  the  shipping.  Eleven 
years  later  Zara  again  became  Hungarian,  but  was 
finally  ceded  to  Venice  in  1413  by  the  peace  of  Trieste. 
The  dialect  spoken  in  the  city  is  pure  Venetian,  and 
the  municipality  is  the  only  Italian  one  in  Dalmatia. 
Zara  is  still  the  capital,  and  the  diet  meets  in  the  city. 
Here,  too,  are  the  only  Italian  schools  in  the  province, 
the  Slav  majority  in  most  places  exercising  its  power 
to  veto  everything  Italian.  The  only  flourishing 
industry  is  the  manufacture  of  maraschino,  of  which 
300,000  bottles  are  exported  annually.  The  cherries, 
which  are  the  raw  material,  are  imported  from  Sebenico, 
Almissa,  and  Poljica,  near  Spalato.  The  streets  are 
narrow  and  impossible  for  carriage  traffic  ;  merchandise 
is  put  upon  long  narrow  carts,  with  long  poles  pro- 
jecting in  front  and  cross-pieces  at  the  end ;  the  cart  is 
then  pushed  and  pulled  by  several  men.  The  population 
is  13,000,  and  is  increased  by  many  country  people  in 
the  mornings,  who  come  to  market,  so  that  the  streets 
and  piazzas  are  crowded  with  a  most  distracting  variety 
of  costumes.  Both  men  and  girls  from  the  country 
wear  little  red  caps.  The  men  have  great  light-coloured 
woollen  coats  which  they  throw  over  their  shoulders 
without  putting  their  arms  in,  light  shirts,  sometimes 
with  an  embroidered  jacket,  trousers  with  embroidery 
round  the  pocket-holes  (which  are  in  front  of  the  thigh) 
and  a  split  at  the  lower  part  of  the  side  which  is  buttoned 
up.  They  sometimes  have  a  sash  round  the  waist  with 
a  knife.  The  women  wear  leggings  woven  roughly  in 
patterns  like  the  wrong  side  of  a  tapestry  curtain,  and 
shoes  somewhat  the  shape  of  gondolas,  thick  skirts 
with  patterned  aprons,  and  small  waistcoat-like  jackets. 


212 


ZARA 


Their  hair  is  plaited  round  the  head.  The  dress  of  the 
townspeople  is  less  individual ;  the  head  is  covered  with 
a  white  or  coloured  kerchief,  the  dress  is  frequently- 
black,  and  the  modern  blouse  is  sometimes  seen.     It 

is  interesting  to  watch  the 
boatloads  of  country-folk 
arriving  either  by  the  Porta 
Terra  Ferma,  close  to  which 
are  steps  and  a  small  har- 
bour, or  on  the  quay  by  the 
Porta  Marina.  Lambs  and 
kids  are  brought  alive  and 
killed  and  skinned  on  the 
quay,  the  women  holding 
pots  or  jugs  to  catch  the 
blood,  which  they  seem  to 
think  valuable.  The  wall 
of  the  quay  was  being  re- 
built when  we  were  there 
the  second  time,  and  a 
diver  was  working  at  it. 
It  looked  odd  to  see  the 
stones  and  buckets  of  ce- 
ment lowered  into  the  water 
with  ropes. 

There  are  two  antique 
columns  still  erect:  one, 
fluted,  is  in  the  Piazza  S. 
Simeone,  set  up  in  1729,  and 
the  other  is  in  the  Piazza 
deir  Erbe  ;  it  was  used  as  a 
pillory,  and  the"  chains  with  the  iron  collars  still  hang 
to  it,  having,  by  centuries  of  friction,  cut  deep-curved 
grooves  in  the  marble  with  swinging  to  and  fro.  This 
column  also  has  sockets  for  the  insertion  of  flagstaff  s,  and 
attached  to  it  is  a  much-worn  piece  of  eighth-century 


MORLACCA    GIRL,    ZARA 


ANTIQUE    REMAINS  213 

sculpture,  with  the  motif  of  an  ornamented  cross  be- 
neath an  arch  fastened  with  clamps.  The  chroniclers 
of  the  seventeenth  century  record  that  near  this  place 
several  drums  of  columns  projected  from  the  earth, 
and  that  two  entire  pillars  were  erect  and  united 
by  a  piece  of  the  architrave.  One  was  moved  to  S. 
Simeone,  near  to  which  Mr.  T.  G.  Jackson  saw  in  1884 
the  base  of  a  Roman  arch  excavated  beneath  the  level 


GOING    TO    MARKET,    ZARA 


of   the   piazza.     Other   similar   fragments  have   been 
used  in  the  foundations  of  S.  Donato. 

In  the  year  380  a  bishop  of  Zara  (Felix)  is  men- 
tioned for  the  first  time.  S.  Donatus  is  reckoned  the 
fourth  bishop,  Andrew  and  Sabinianus  (who  are  shown 
on  a  reliquary  with  Felix)  traditionally  preceding  him. 
As  his  episcopate  lasted  into  the  ninth  century  it  is 
evident  that  the  list  is  not  complete.  His  diplomatic 
mission  took  him  either  to  Diedenhofen  or  Aachen  and 
then    to   Constantinople,  where  he  had  the  relics  of 


214  ZARA 

S.  Anastasia  given  him.  It  is  probable  that  the  sight  of 
the  great  churches  which  he  saw  during  his  journeys 
suggested  the  plan  of  S.  Donato,  which  was  originally 
dedicated  to  the  Holy  Trinity.  Porphyrogenitus  com- 
pares it  to  S.  Sophia,  Constantinople,  which  seems 
strange  in  a  Byzantine.  It  is  circular  in  plan,  about 
60  ft.  in  diameter.  Six  gigantic  piers,  wider  than  the 
arches  which  rest  upon  them,  placed  ten  feet  from  the 


PLANS   OF   S.    DONATO,    ZARA 

wall,  sustain  a  barrel  vault,  about  28  ft.  high,  over 
the  ambulatory,  which  has  strengthening  arches.  The 
piers  of  the  upper  story  sustained  the  drum  of  a  cupola 
which  no  longer  exists.  Opposite  the  entrance  are  three 
vaulted  apses,  the  central  one  larger  and  deeper  than  the 
others  and  with  four  windows,  the  others  having  but  one 
each  ;  and  these  apses  are  repeated  above,  without  the 
windows.  In  front  of  them  are  two  smooth  columns 
of   Oriental   yellow  marble   7   ft.  round,  in   place   of 


S.    DONATO  215 

piers,  and  thinner  columns  cut  short  occupy  the  same 
relative  place  above.  The  caps  are  antique  and  a  good 
deal  damaged.  Three  are  composite  like  the  arch  of 
Septimius  Severus,  and  one  is  Corinthian.  The  roof  is 
now  tiled.  A  Roman  inscription  on  the  fourth  pilaster 
seems  to  indicate  that  there  was  a  great  temple  to 
Augusta  Livia,  wife  of  Augustus,  here ;  and  when  the 
floor  level  was  lowered  in  1888  a  number  of  inscriptions 
were  found,  and  portions  of  carved  friezes  and  pillars 
used  as  foundation  material  and  simply  laid  on  the 
pavement  of  the  Roman  forum.  Among  these  were 
portions  of  columns  resembling  both  of  the  two  still 
upright.  Part  of  a  flight  of  steps  was  also  found, 
which  may  have  been  part  of  the  sub-structure  of  the 
temple.  Fragments  of  four  different  buildings  have 
been  recognised.  Two  stairs  have  served  the  upper 
story  of  the  church — an  early  one  with  carved  hood 
mould  of  the  ninth  century  to  the  external  door,  now 
blocked  up,  and  a  second  from  the  interior,  which 
lands  in  a  vestibule  where  some  early  mediaeval 
carvings  are  arranged.  The  upper  portion  is  a  double 
flight,  arranged,  perhaps,  to  use  when  this  stair  was  a 
"  Scala  Santa  "  ascended  by  the  faithful  on  their  knees, 
whereby  they  gained  the  same  indulgences  as  were  at- 
tached to  the  Scala  Santa  at  Rome.  The  building  was 
a  military  magazine  in  1649,  again  from  1798  to  1877, 
and  then  a  wine-store  till,  in  1888,  the  museum  was 
founded.  In  1890-1891  the  ancient  entrance-door  was 
found  behind  the  eighteenth-century  additions.  It  is  a 
simple  square-headed  door  with  semicircular  opening 
above,  made  of  Roman  uncarved  material,  with  conse- 
cration-crosses sunk  in  the  lintel  and  base  of  the  right- 
hand  jamb;  to  the  right  and  left  of  the  lintel  a  little 
above  it  are  two  simple  brackets  with  crosses  on  them. 
The  lintel  itself  is  double,  and  treated  as  if  it  were  wood. 
The  cill  was  two  feet  below  the  ground  level. 


2i6  ZARA 

The  museum  contains  Roman  and  pre-Roman 
antiquities,  inscriptions,  lamps,  carved  fragments, 
coins,  bronze  and  glass  vessels,  pottery,  &c. ;  mediaeval 
fragments,  carved  and  gilded  panels,  lanterns  and 
ensigns  from  Venetian  galleys,  a  crozier  of  Limoges 
work  of  the  thirteenth  century  found  under  the  pave- 
ment of  S.  Crisogono,  arms  and  carvings  of  the  Re- 
naissance period,  &c.  But  perhaps  the  most  interesting 
things  are  the  plans  of  the  early  churches  which  have 
either  been  destroyed  or  very  much  altered,  and  the  early 
mediaeval  carvings  ;  among  these  are  two  very  curious 
slabs  with  figures  under  arches,  one  of  which  was  found 
under  the  pavement  of  S.  Crisogono,  while  the  other, 
closely  resembling  it  in  style,  came  .from  S.  Domenico. 
The  former  shows  the  Flight  into  Egypt  and  the 
Massacre  of  the  Innocents  ;  the  latter  the  Nativity  and 
Adoration  of  the  Kings.  They  probably  formed  part 
of  a  chancel  enclosure.  There  are  also  fragments  of 
ciboria,  altar  frontals,  or  sarcophagi,  while  a  column 
sawn  in  two  has  furnished  decorated  jambs  to  the 
door  of  the  upper  church.  On  a  lintel  of  the  early 
church  of  S.  Lorenzo  is  a  Christ  in  a  mandorla,  sup- 
ported by  angels  with  a  sacred  tree  on  each  side  and  a 
griffin  beyond ;  a  rough  astragal  moulding  surrounds  the 
subject.  The  jambs  have  a  rough  arabesque  scroll, 
terminating  in  a  two-headed  bird.  These  carvings  are 
all  of  the  ninth  century. 

The  church  of  S.  Lorenzo  is  in  the  courtyard  of  the 
military  command  building  on  the  Piazza  dei  Signori. 
The  sides  are  in  courts  entered  from  the  Calle  Larga  and 
Via  del  Teatro  Vecchio.  It  has  a  nave  and  aisles  about 
21  ft.  long  and  about  14  ft.  broad,  with  four  pillars, 
springing  from  which  are  three  unmoulded  arches. 
The  arches  are  stilted,  and  at  the  height  of  the  real 
springing  an  impost  projects  in  profile.  The  central 
compartment  has  a  wagon  vault,  the  other  two  quadri- 


jg-     g 


Or 


' isJ^ 


h---.7v 


Wl 


■   4  '• 


3 


7 


Ft 


J 


■ 


_n_ 


.  |  -  _ — 


>-i 


Sri 
LU 


(8$  |G}  !     _] 

:  _1 


:^,u 


S.    LORENZO,    ZARA 


fc 


S.    LORENZO,    ZARA— TOP    STORY 


Between  pages  216  and  217 


EARLY   CHURCHES  217 

partite  vaults.  The  aisles  have  semi-domes  running 
north  and  south,  resting  on  cross  arches,  with  squinches 
in  the  corners.  The  choir  has  two  stories,  the  lower 
with  three  square-ended  apses,  and  entered  by  a  door 
flanked  by  pillars.  The  walls  which  separate  the  apses 
run  up  to  a  tower.  The  vault  is  a  transverse  wagon 
pierced  by  wagon  vaults  at  right  angles.  The  architec- 
ture is  very  simple,  and  shows  Byzantine  influence,  but 
the  construction  is  hidden  by  plastering.  The  nave  caps 
are  debased  Corinthian,  with  ornamented  volutes  and 
one  row  of  flat  acanthus-leaves,  the  abacus  being  square. 
The  front  leaf  in  each  shows  a  half-length  of  a  male  figure 
with  nimbus,  his  arms  raised  as  if  in  prayer,  the  body 
hidden  by  a  shorter  leaf.  The  columns  are  of  different 
sizes,  but  the  caps  are  all  the  same.  The  entrance  door 
towards  the  Calle  Larga  has  a  simply  moulded  round 
arch ;  the  other  has  been  mentioned  as  being  in  S. 
Donato.  The  upper  story  of  the  choir  has  pillars  with 
carved  caps  supporting  an  arch  of  two  orders,  now 
built  up,  formerly  no  doubt  an  oratory.  The  church 
is  mentioned  in  a  document  of  919. 

S.  Domenico  (which  no  longer  exists)  was  of  some- 
what the  same  character ;  but  the  choir  was  without 
dividing  walls,  and  thus  became  an  upper  church.  It 
was  only  21  ft.  square  and  had  three  columns  on  each 
side,  the  last  close  to  the  wall.  The  vaults  were  domically 
quadripartite,  springing  from  pilasters  which  rested  on 
the  caps.  The  arcade  was  round-arched,  the  central 
and  right-hand  apses  were  square-ended,  and  the  left 
had  a  semicircular  niche.  The  under  church  was 
wagon-vaulted  without  architectural  features.  The 
foundation  of  a  chapel  was  found  on  the  Riva  Nuova 
with  five  niches  of  a  six-niched  circle  and  an  entrance 
passage  in  the  sixth,  which  turned  at  right  angles  to 
the  north  to  reach  the  street.  In  the  angle  thus  formed 
between  the  entrance  and  the  main  building  a  sar- 

28 


PLAN    OF    FOUNDATIONS    DISCOVERED   ON    THE    R1VA    NUOVA,    ZARA 


S.    PIETRO   VECCHIO  219 

cophagus  stood.  This  circular-niched  plan  occurs  else- 
where in  Dalmatia,  as  in  the  baptistery  here,  and  SS. 
Trinita  at  Spalato,  and  the  dimensions  are  generally 
so  nearly  the  same  as  to  suggest  some  common  original 
design.  S.  Pietro  Vecchio  is  considered  to  be  the 
oldest  church  in  Zara.  It  is  now  desecrated,  but  was 
used  as  a  sacristy  to  the  fourteenth-century  church  of 
S.  Andrea,  belonging  to  the  Fishers'  Confraternity, 
the  sixteenth-century  apse  of  which  projected  into  the 
nave  as  far  as  the  first  pillar.  It  was  cleared  out  by 
order  of  the  Central  Commission  in  1886.  It  is  about 
38  ft.  long  by  19  ft.  broad,  and  is  built  of  ancient 
fragments  with  very  little  architectural  character. 
One  of  the  two  columns  bears  a  Roman  inscription, 
and  both  have  crosses  cut  in  them.  One  of  the  caps 
is  a  damaged  antique ;  the  other  is  an  antique  base 
upside  down  ;  neither  column  has  any  base.  The  church 
is  an  irregular  rectangle  in  plan,  divided  into  two 
naves  which  end  in  apses  by  two  pillars  and  a 
pier.  The  pilasters  are  not  upright,  the  arches  are 
deformed,  and  the  two  altar  niches  have  half-cupola 
vaults  on  a  rectangular  plan,  with  arches  thrown  across 
the  corners.  There  are  two  original  doors,  both  built 
up.  The  pier  between  the  two  apses  has  a  round- 
arched  niche  in  it.  The  church  is  mentioned  in  918  in 
the  will  of  Prior  Andrea. 

There  was  a  cathedral  here  in  very  early  times, 
referred  to  in  a  will  of  908  as  S.  Anastasia.  It  was 
originally  S.  Pietro,  and  the  dedication  was  changed 
when  the  relics  of  S.  Anastasia  which  S.  Donato  brought 
from  Constantinople  and  placed  in  the  church  of  the 
Holy  Trinity  were  transferred  to  the  cathedral.  This 
church  was  destroyed  by  the  Venetians  in  1202,  but 
probably  portions  of  it  were  worked  up  in  the  new 
building  which  the  Crusaders  are  said  to  have  erected 
as  a  votive  church  after  the  pope  had  excommunicated 


220  ZARA 

them  all  for  the  sack  of  Zara.  This  seems,  however, 
a  legend,  since  the  new  building  was  not  consecrated  till 
May  27,  1285,  the  Archbishop  Lorenzo  Periandro  offi- 
ciating, assisted  by  the  Metropolitan  of  Spalato  and 
the  suffragan  bishops  of  both  dioceses.  On  the  vault  of 
the  ciborium  and  on  the  jamb  of  the  main  door  are 
inscriptions,  dated  respectively  1332  and  1324,  record- 
ing their  erection  by  "  Joannis  de  Bvtvane,  archiep  : 
Jadren."  Certain  portions  show  by  their  style  that 
additions  and  alterations  were  made  still  later.  The 
length  is  170  ft.  and  the  width  65  ft. 

The  facade  has  three  doors,  and  is  divided  by  pilaster 
strips  which  emphasise  the  width  of  the  nave  ;  at  either 
side  of  the  central  door  is  a  shallow  recess  filling  the  space 
between  it  and  the  pilaster  strips.  The  door  itself  has 
spiral  and  simple  colonnettes  in  the  jambs,  with  corre- 
sponding arch  moulds  of  four  orders.  In  the  tym- 
panum is  a  later  relief  of  the  Virgin  and  Child  enthroned, 
with  two  saints,  beneath  a  pointed  trefoil  arcade  ;  and  on 
brackets  at  the  sides  are  four  figures  of  Apostles.  On 
the  side  doors  the  tympana  have  the  Agnus  Dei,  and 
that  to  the  left  has  the  Annunciation  on  brackets,  one 
figure  on  each  side  of  the  door.  The  colonnettes  and 
arch  moulds  are  both  twisted  in  this  door ;  in  that  to  the 
right  they  are  plain  ;  the  figures  on  brackets  are  similar. 
The  lintels  and  jambs  have  elaborate  arabesque  scrolls, 
which  remind  one  of  Provencal  Romanesque  ornament. 
The  lower  part  of  the  wall  has  courses  of  pinkish  marble 
among  the  white,  and  bands  of  inlaid  ornament 
decorate  both  the  wall  and  the  campanile.  Above  the 
string  course  over  the  doorways  is  a  Romanesque- 
looking  arcade  with  another  which  fills  the  slope  of  the 
aisle  walls,  with  animals  standing  at  the  ends.  The 
central  portion  has  a  restored  wheel-window  with 
radiating  colonnettes  and  round  arches,  and  above  it  in 
the  gable  is  another  with  cusped  tracery  of  a  later  date ; 


m^wm  -  '^{rH 


NORTH     DOOR     OF     WESTERN     FACADE,     CATHEDRAL,     ZARA 

To  face  page  220 


THE    CATHEDRAL  221 

round  this  an  arcading  ramps  as  at  the  end  of  the  aisles, 
and  the  lower  rose  is  flanked  by  arcading  in  two  stages 
arched  only  in  the  upper  one.  Both  of  these  arcadings 
have  coupled  colonnettes,  and  are  manifestly  much  later 
than  the  lower  part  of  the  facade.  The  walls  of  the 
north  aisle  have  an  arcading  separated  into  groups  by 
pilasters,  echoing  the  internal  divisions,  with  a  gallery 
above,  like  S.  Nicola,  Bari,  and  others  of  the  Apulian 
churches.  A  cornice  of  corbelled  arches  crowns  the 
nave  wall.  The  campanile  was  commenced  in  1449 
by  Archbishop  Lorenzo  Venier,  and  carried  up  by 
Archbishop  Matteo  Valaresso  in  1460  to  the  height 
from  which  Mr.  T.  G.  Jackson  completed  it.  It  has 
five  stories  and  an  octagonal  pyramidal  termination. 
The  three  upper  stories  have  two  window  openings  in 
each,  the  lowest  being  single  lights,  while  the  upper  two 
have  a  central  colonnette  and  two  stilted  round  arches 
beneath  a  containing  arch.  A  string  with  corbelled 
arches  below  divides  the  stories,  and  the  square  portion 
terminates  with  a  balustrade  in  the  usual  manner. 

The  inside  was  altered  in  the  eighteenth  century  and 
the  beginning  of  the  nineteenth.  The  nave  arcade, 
which  continues  to  the  apse,  consists  of  ten  round 
arches  on  each  side  resting  alternately  on  columns  and 
piers  with  columns  attached  which  have  cushion  caps. 
Some  of  the  columns  are  spirally  fluted  and  have  de- 
cadent antique  caps.  Some  are  cipollino,  and  two  are 
apparently  cut  from  antique  columns,  one  having  four 
shafts  attached  to  the  central  cylindrical  mass,  and 
the  corresponding  one  on  the  other  side  being  panelled, 
with  octagonal  colonnettes  attached.  The  pier  at  the 
choir  steps  has  two  small  columns  instead  of  one.  Two 
bays  of  the  aisles  equal  one  bay  of  the  nave,  and  pilasters 
run  up  from  the  piers,  dividing  the  triforium  arches 
into  groups  of  six,  on  the  tops  of  which  figures  stand. 
The  triforium  arcade  has  round  arches  with  coupled 


222  ZARA 

colonnettes  of  red  marble  on  the  face  and  varied  caps  ; 
the  voussoirs  are  alternately  red  and  grey ;  and  a  string 
with  carved  leaf  pattern,  much  like  that  at  Trau,  runs 
along  the  triforium,  between  the  nave  arcade  and  the 
balustrade.  The  nave  arcade  terminates  at  each  end 
with  a  single  arch.  The  apse  has  a  marble  seat  running 
round  it,  with  the  bishop's  seat  in  the  centre  raised  on 
several  steps.  It  has  exactly  the  same  ornament  on 
its  sides  as  is  on  the  font  in  the  baptistery.  The  wall 
is  sheeted  with  red  marble.  The  ciborium  has  pointed 
arches  resting  upon  Corinthianising  caps  and  columns 
of  cipollino  carved  in  coffered  patterns  or  spiral  and 
zigzag  channelling ;  a  cornice  of  acanthus-leaves  runs 
above  the  arches.  It  was  erected  by  Archbishop 
Butuane,  consecrated  in  1332,  and  restored  in 
1901-1902.  The  presbytery  pavement  is  of  1336.  The 
stalls,  once  painted  and  gilt,  are  very  fine  examples  of 
Venetian-Gothic  wood  carving,  and  were  partly  made 
for  Archbishop  Biagio  Molin  in  1420-1427,  whose  arms 
are  carved  on  them ;  but  those  of  his  predecessor  and 
successor,  and  those  of  Valaresso,  under  whom  the 
work  was  probably  completed,  also  appear.  Between 
the  stalls,  elaborately  pierced  and  carved  scroll-work 
runs  up  to  the  canopy  level,  where  little  figures  stand 
in  niches.  Above  the  canopies,  which  are  slightly 
pointed  fluted  shells,  and  separated  from  them  by 
curious  ogee-shaped  gables,  are  thirty-six  half-length 
figures  of  prophets,  emergent  from  scrolls  and  holding 
labels.  Above  one  of  the  side  altars  are  six  small 
Carpaccios  on  panel  much  repainted — the  one  with  the 
figure  of  S.  Martin  bears  his  signature ;  also  a  Palma 
Giovine  and  an  Andrea  Schiavone. 

Beneath  the  step  of  the  high-altar  is  the  sarcophagus 
of  Oriental  marble,  with  porphyry  cover,  of  the  three 
saints,  Agape,  Chionia,  and  Irene,  whose  remains  are 
interred  in  the  crypt.     The  crypt  is  entered  by  two 


PLAN    OF   THE 
CATHEDRAL,    ZARA 


224 


ZARA 


flights  of  stairs  from  the  sides  of  the  choir.  It  is  of  an 
irregular  shape,  about  70  ft.  long,  23  ft.  broad,  and  15  ft. 
high.  Eastwards  it  suddenly  broadens  out  to  a  width 
of  33  ft.  and  terminates  in  a  semicircle.  In  this  apse 
there  are  three  windows.  Two  rows  of  nine  columns  ex- 
tend to  just  above  the  point  where  the  change  in  width 
begins,  and  four  more  follow  the  external  curve  of 
the  wall.  These  support  quadripartite  vaulting.  The 
columns  have  heavy  square  caps  and  square  bases.     In 


6W.K1. 


PLAN  OF  CATHEDRAL  CRYPT,  ZARA 


one  is  a  grated  aperture  as  if  for  relics.  The  sarcophagus 
altar  has  a  much  worn  representation  of  the  Martyrdom 
of  Sant*  Anastasia,  with  her  name  inscribed  in  Lom- 
bardic  letters  between  two  foliage  scrolls.  Fragments  of 
early  work  are  visible  here  and  there,  pointing  to  the 
reconstruction  of  the  crypt.  It  is  very  dark,  and  is 
now  used  as  a  store,  having  become  too  damp  for  ritual 
purposes. 

The  treasury  contains  some  exceedingly  interesting 
objects,  and  is  rich  in  reliquaries.     It  is  kept  in  the  wall 


RELIQUARIES    IN   THE   CATHEDRAL    225 

between  the  body  of  the  cathedral  and  the  baptistery 
in  a  rather  evil-smelling  vault,  which  opens  into  the 
latter  building.  The  most  ancient  reliquary,  once 
belonging  to  the  cathedral  at  Grado,  is  that  of  Sant' 
Orontius  ;  it  contains  a  portion  of  his  head,  and  is 
work  of  the  eleventh  century,  material  of  an  earlier 
date  having  been  used  in  its  construction.  Upon  the 
sides  and  front  is  an  arcade  with  alternate  twisted  and 
fluted  columns,  beneath  which  are  figures  of  saints 
robed  in  the  Greek  manner,  and  holding  Benedictional 
crosses.  The  names  of  the  saints,  inscribed  in  mixed 
Latin  and  Greek  letters,  are  Sabinianus,  Felix,  Vitalis, 


ALTAR   OF   SANT     ANASTASIA,   ZARA 

Satorus,  Repositus,  Septimus,  Januarius,  Arotatius, 
Onoratus,  and  Fortunatianus.  On  the  back  is  a  plate 
inscribed  in  Roman  letters:  "£%i  Sergivs  F.  Mai  Nepos 
zallae  fecit  hanc  capsam  sco  capiti  Arontii  Martins."  * 
On  the  top  are  the  escutcheon  of  Archbishop  Pesaro 
(1505-1530)  and  two  quatrefoils.  The  casket  has  been 
mended  with  strips  of  stamped  silver  of  various  periods. 
Two  reliquaries  of  the  twelfth  century  described  by  Eitel- 
berger  and  Mr.T.G.  Jackson  were  not  shown  to  us,  though 

*  Mgr.  Bianchi  has  found  the  names  of  Madius  and  Zella  in 
documents  of  1067  and  1096,  and  that  of  "  Sergius  tribunus "  in 
one  of  1 09 1. 

29 


226 


ZARA 


we  were  assured  that  we  had  seen  everything  of  interest. 
One  contains  the  head  of  S.  Giacomo  Interciso,  a  martyr 
of  the  fifth  century.  It  has  a  domed  top,  and  round 
the  ring  is  an  inscription:  ">%i  Ego  Bosna  ivssi  fieri  anch 
capsam  ad  onorem  scs  iacobi  martiris  ob  remedivm 
anime  chasei  viri  mei  et  anime  mee."  On  the  lid  in 
round  medallions  are  six  figures — Christ  with  the  mono- 
grams IC  and  XC,  "  Jachbus,  martyr/'  Judas,  Simon, 
Johannes,  and  Maria.  Round  the  drum  is  an  arcade 
supported  on  twisted,  fluted,  or  diapered  columns,  under 
which  are  the  figures  of  nine  Apostles,  named  SS.  Petrus, 


RELIQUARY    OF   SANT'    ORONTIUS,    ZARA 


Paulus,  Andreas,  Jacobus,  Tomas,  Jacobus  again, 
Filippus,  Bartolomeus,  and  Mateus.  The  ground  is 
plain  silver ;  the  figures  are  gilded.  On  the  summit 
is  a  classic  head  with  flying  hair,  a  relief  which  did 
not  form  part  of  the  original  work.  The  letters  are 
like  those  of  the  monument  to  Vekenega,  who  died  in 
II II ;  and  Bianchi  says  there  was  a  prior  named 
Chaseus  or  Chaseo  in  1096.  An  arm  reliquary  bears 
the  inscription  in  raised  Lombardic  letters :  "  Ego 
Chacia  usor  Dimitrii  feci  fieri  hoc  opus."  It  is  of 
plain    metal    enriched    with    filigree,    and    set    with 


OTHER    RELIQUARIES  227 

stones  and  patterned  cloisonne  enamels,  and  stands 
upon  a  triangular  cast  base  with  three  feet ;  on 
each  side  is  a  winged  figure  with  sceptre  and  orb  amid 
twelfth-century  scroll-work.  Bianchi  says  Demetrius, 
husband  of  Chacia,  was  prior  in  n 62.  An  interesting 
reliquary  inscribed  "  Hie  est  spongia  dni  quo  potat  fuit 
in  patibulo  crucis  "  is  supported  by  four  dragons  without 
wings,  but  with  raised  tails.  It  is  a  tube  of  crystal, 
surmounted  by  a  crucifix,  below  which  is  a  band  of 
natural  leaves  with  birds.  Between  this  and  the  foot 
is  a  cube  of  crystal  surrounded  by  cast  and  pierced 
metal — a  figure  of  a  man  in  civilian  dress  blowing  a 
horn,  alternately  with  a  knight  tilting  and  carrying  a 
falcon  through  a  wood,  typified  by  a  tree  behind  him. 
The  treasury  contains  many  interesting  things  of  a 
later  date,  of  which  the  reliquary  of  S.  Crisogono  is 
perhaps  the  most  attractive,  showing  earlier  enamels 
in  a  good  fourteenth-century  setting.  On  the  front 
are  two  square  enamels  of  SS.  Zoilus  and  Anastasia,  with 
little  chapels  at  their  sides  supported  on  slender  twisted 
columns.  Upon  the  lid  are  three  similar  vesica-shaped 
medallions — S.  Crisogono  in  the  middle,  S.  John  the 
Baptist  on  the  left,  and  S.  John  the  Evangelist  on  the 
right.  Cypress-trees  are  on  each  side  of  the  figures, 
enamelled  dark  green.  S.  Crisogono  is  robed  as  a  king, 
crowned,  and  holding  a  cross  before  his  breast ;  angels  at 
each  side  of  his  head  hold  tapers.  The  material  is  silver. 
The  figures  are  delicately  drawn,  and  the  ground  is  filled 
in  with  deep  blue  enamel,  red  and  green  also  appearing. 
The  borders  show  good  vine-leaf  scrolls.  The  ends  have 
a  rough  sexfoil  rose,  which  is  repeated  on  the  back 
between  modern  scrolls  imitating  the  old.  The  in- 
scription is  round  the  lid  in  Lombardic  letters  of  silver 
on  a  ground  of  red  enamel:  "  Hoc  op.  fvit  fact  tvr 
nobiliv  viror  viti  cadvl  vvlcin  martinvsii  et  Pavli  de 
Galcign  ann  D.  MCCCXXVI."     An  ugly  head  reliquary 


228  ZARA 

of  S.  Mary  Magdalene,  dated  1332,  is  inscribed  with  the 
same  name,  Volcine  de  Martinusio,  who  was  one  of  the 
three  rectors  or  judges  of  Zara.  It  has  flowing  hair 
down  to  the  shoulders.  Several  arm  reliquaries  of  late 
fourteenth  century  are  up  to  the  usual  standard.  One 
is  of  S.  Crisogono ;  one  of  S.  Donato,  with  many  jewels 
and  a  pierced  band  of  quatrefoils  with  some  of  a  larger 
number  representing  the  opening  of  the  sleeve ;  one 
with  plaques  of  translucent  enamel  and  vine  scrolls 
said  to  contain  a  finger  of  S.  John  the  Baptist,  &c.  An 
hexagonal  pyx  on  a  stem  has  on  the  knop  and  foot  a 
half-length  of  our  Lord  erect  in  the  tomb.  A  foot  of 
S.  Crisogono  in  a  shoe-shaped  reliquary  with  jewelled 
bands  has  a  pretty  flowing  scroll  pattern  of  the  early 
Renaissance  in  low  relief.  A  casket  reliquary  of 
S.  Daniel  (which,  according  to  Bianchi,  also  encloses 
relics  of  SS.  Peter  and  Paul  and  Martin)  is  rather 
coarser  work  of  the  Renaissance  (1496)  upon  the  same 
lines  as  the  early  reliquaries.  It  has  figures  of  a  Risen 
Christ  and  SS.  Anatasia,  Donato,  and  Daniel.  On  the 
sides  and  top  are  double-headed  eagles  with  aM"  on 
the  breast.  Bishop  Valaresso's  pastoral  staff  is  also 
preserved  here — a  fine  work  of  1460,  6  ft.  6  in.  high. 
It  is  hexagonal,  divided  into  eight  sections  by  bands,  of 
which  every  other  one  is  broader  and  more  decorated. 
These  bear  a  pierced  pattern  and  projecting  triangles, 
serving  as  spandrils  to  the  trefoiled  arches,  which  are 
incised  on  the  spaces  between.  The  knop  is  an 
elaborately  niched  and  pinnacled  architectural  feature 
of  two  stories  with  figures  in  the  niches  and  beneath 
the  canopies.  It  terminates  in  a  foliated  form  (a  later 
addition),  from  which  the  crook  springs.  Round  the 
outside  of  this  are  half-lengths  of  prophets  emerging 
from  foliage,  facing  in  two  directions,  with  a  statuette 
of  Christ  on  the  summit.  Within  are  two  figures,  a 
crowned  woman  holding  a  book,  and  a  mitred  male 


THE    BAPTISTERY    AND    SACRISTY      229 

figure,  probably  intended  for  the  Virgin  and  Valaresso 
himself. 

The  baptistery  is  an  hexagonal  building  with  niches 
in  each  side  within,  vaulted  without  ribs  in  wagon 
divisions,  and  with  four  windows  above  the  niches. 
Altars  stand  in  two  niches,  a  confessional-box  in  another, 
and  through  the  remaining  three  there  are  doors.  In 
the  centre  is  the  octagonal  font  raised  on  three  circular 
steps.  It  is  6  ft.  6  in.  broad  and  3  ft.  3  in.  high,  and  has 
an  enclosure  in  the  centre.  It  is  panelled  on  the  sides, 
sometimes  with  two  panels,  each  of  which  has  round- 
headed  sinkings  like  windows,  sometimes  with  one 
panel  containing  three  such  sinkings,  separated  by 
coupled  colonnettes  ;  the  cornice  and  base  are  moulded. 
The  material  is  red  Veronese  marble  like  that  used  at 
Grado.  A  white  marble  basin,  quatrefoil  in  shape, 
upon  a  fourteenth-century  cap,  holds  the  baptismal 
water,  very  green  and  slimy,  and  there  is  water  at  the 
bottom  of  the  font  itself. 

The  sacristy,  a  Gothic  building  with  two  bays  of 
cross  vaults,  was  the  ancient  church  of  S.  Barbara,  in 
which  the  Zaratines  swore  fealty  to  the  Hungarian 
crown  on  the  arm  of  S.  Crisogono  on  July  8,  1384.  In 
1794  a  mosaic  pavement  was  found  beneath  the  exist- 
ing pavement.  Between  it  and  the  apse  is  a  little 
wagon-vaulted  room,  perhaps  the  ancient  sacristy. 

S.  Crisogono  belongs  to  the  most  ancient  Benedictine 
convent  in  Dalmatia.  The  church  was  originally  S. 
Antonio  Abate ;  but  when  the  body  of  S.  Crisogono  was 
brought  from  Aquileia  it  was  deposited  here,  and  the 
dedication  was  changed.  In  906  the  church  and  mon- 
astery were  recorded  under  the  name  of  S.  Crisogono,  and 
as  being  ruined  by  barbarian  invasion.  In  986  Majo, 
rector  of  Zara  and  proconsul  of  Dalmatia,  rebuilt  both, 
and  made  Madius,  a  monk  from  Monte  Cassino,  abbot. 
The  standard  of  the  city  then  bore  S.  Crisogono  on 


230  ZARA 

horseback,  added  to  the  earlier  white  cross  on  a  red 
ground.  Destroyed  by  the  Venetians,  the  church  was 
rebuilt  in  1032,  and  in  1056  the  buried  relics  were 
re-discovered.  The  final  rebuilding  was  in  the  twelfth 
century,  and  it  was  consecrated  on  May  4, 1175,  by  the 
first  archbishop,  Lampridius,  though  additions  were 
made  at  a  later  date.  The  central  portion  of  the  west 
front,  though  Romanesque  in  style,  is  nothing  like  as 
fine  as  the  eastern  apses,  and  may  be  work  of  the 
end  of  the  fourteenth  century,  since  a  consecration  is 
recorded  in  1407,  though  Bianchi  states  that  the 
inscription  in  his  time  gave  the  date  1298.  It  has 
a  central  door  with  three  unmoulded  orders  and  a 
sunk  tympanum  beneath  a  gable.  Above  this  is  a 
heavy  string  course  from  which  two  pilaster  strips 
spring,  a  window  flanked  by  four  arches  on  slender 
coupled  columns,  with  semicircular  niches,  filling  the 
space  between  them ;  above,  a  space  from  which  it  is 
cut  by  a  second  string  forms  the  next  stage  ;  over  it 
is  another  string  and  two  small  windows  beneath  a 
gable  cornice  of  corbelled  arches,  the  same  cornice 
raking  over  the  aisles.  Beasts  project  at  the  gable 
angles,  and  the  summit  it  crowned  by  a  finial.  All  the 
arches  are  round,  and  the  little  arcade  has  red  and  grey 
voussoirs.  To  the  left  is  a  large  squat  campanile  which 
was  built  in  1546-1562,  and  was  then  higher.  A  fire 
damaged  it  in  1645.  The  north  aisle  wall  has  an  arcade 
of  twelve  arches  with  twisted  columns,  and  the  east  end 
has  three  apses,  the  central  one  larger  and  with  a  fine 
open  arcade  beneath  the  cornice ;  above  its  roof  in  the 
gable  is  a  cross  which  had  scodelle  in  the  arms  and 
centre.  The  interior  has  an  arcade  of  seven  arches, 
arranged  three,  two,  and  two,  between  piers,  with  a  flat 
pilaster  running  up  to  what  was  once  the  wall  plate. 
The  columns  are  antique,  as  are  some  of  the  caps.  The 
horizontal  moulding  above  the  nave  arcade  is  the  same 


APSE    OF    S.    CRISOGONO,    ZARA 


To  face  page  230 


S.   CRISOGONO    AND    S.   MARIA    NUOVA  231 

as  that  above  the  apse  arcade,  and  is  ornamented  with 
beasts'  heads,  &c.  A  twelfth-century  mosaic  in  the 
apse  was  destroyed  in  1791.  The  pavement  of  the 
presbytery  is  of  coloured  marbles,  and  on  the  aisle 
wall  hangs  a  great  painted  crucifix  which  was  once  in 
S.  Domenico,  and  recalls  the  work  of  the  early  Tuscans. 
The  church  was  the  burial-place  of  many  distinguished 
Zaratines,  and  the  body  of  Elizabeth  of  Hungary,  who 
was  killed  in  the  castle  of  Novigrad  by  Giovanni 
Palisna,  prior  of  Vrana,  in  1386,  was  buried  here  for 
some  years.  When  the  church  was  restored,  nineteen 
historic  gravestones  were  set  in  the  outer  wall.  At  the 
same  time  a  relief  of  S.  Crisogono,  remains  of  an  early 
ciborium  or  chancel,  and  traces  of  a  crypt  were  found, 
also  the  Limoges  pastoral  staff  now  in  the  museum. 
The  cloister  has  been  pulled  down,  and  a  school  erected 
on  the  site. 

S.  Maria  is  first  mentioned  in  906.  It  was  given  in 
1066  by  the  Benedictine  monks  of  S.  Crisogono  to  nuns 
of  their  order.  It  is  called  in  the  deed  i(  Ecclesiola 
S.  Marise  minoris  ante  portam  Bellatam."  The  street 
opposite  the  lesser  door  led  to  the  ancient  city  gate, 
Porta  Bellata  or  Belluata,  by  which  animals  were 
brought  into  the  city.  The  convent  was  rebuilt  and 
enlarged  by  Cicca  the  abbess,  who  took  the  veil 
after  the  murder  of  her  husband,  and  who  was  sister 
to  Cresimir  the  younger,  king  of  Dalmatia ;  and  it  was 
consecrated  on  October  28,  1072,  by  Andrea,  bishop  of 
Zara,  five  other  bishops  and  four  abbots  being  present, 
when  Andrea  and  the  President  Drago  gave  the  island  of 
Selve  to  it.  The  fine  tower  was  built  in  1105  by  order 
of  Coloman,  to  commemorate  his  entry  into  Zara  as  king 
of  Dalmatia,  as  an  inscription  states.  Of  this  period 
is  the  chapter-house  containing  the  tomb  of  Vekenega, 
the  repudiated  wife  of  the  monarch,  and  daughter  of 
Cicca,  who  died  in  1111.     A  window  in  the  north  aisle  of 


232  ZARA 

the  church  communicates  with  it,  but  is  only  opened 
when  a  nun  professes,  or  when  one  dies.  The  nuns' 
choir  is  above  the  main  door  on  the  level  of  the  side 
galleries,  shut  off  by  a  gilded  grating  inscribed :  "  Placida 
abbatissa  fieri  fecit  anno  MCCCVI."  Within  are  the 
stalls  made  or  altered  by  Giovanni  da  Curzola  in  1495. 
The  facade  of  the  church,  which  faces  on  to  a  small  court- 
yard, is  of  the  period  of  the  Lombardi.  At  the  side  of 
the  high-altar  towards  the  sacristy  Bishop  Andrea  was 
buried,  and  here  are  also  the  remains  of  Coloman, 
brought  in  11 17  from  Zara  Vecchia,  where  he  died. 
Cicca  died  in  1096.  Just  within  the  door  to  the  right 
is  a  Christ  crowned  with  thorns,  and  the  Virgin  lament- 
ing— a  good  picture  of  the  school  of  Titian,  if  not  by  the 
master.  There  is  also  a  SS.  Peter  and  Paul  by  Palma 
Vecchio. 

The  treasury  is  above  an  altar  at  the  end  of  the 
north  aisle.  The  sacristan,  who  told  us  that  he  had 
filled  that  position  for  fifty  years,  lighted  candles  before 
opening  the  doors,  kissed  each  reliquary  before  return- 
ing it  to  its  place,  and  insisted  upon  the  authenticity 
of  each  relic.  The  objects  are  scarcely  so  interesting 
as  those  at  the  cathedral,  but  include  several  fine 
fourteenth-century  reliquaries  as  well  as  one  or  two 
which  were  made,  or  remade,  in  Renaissance  times. 
The  reliquary  of  S.  Gregory  has  on  the  front  Christ 
enthroned  between  standing  figures  of  SS.  Mark  and 
John  beneath  a  round-arched  arcade  on  twisted 
columns.  Three  more  saints  are  at  the  back,  and  at 
the  ends  are  the  subjects  of  the  Annunciation  and  the 
Visitation.  Upon  the  sloping  parts  of  the  lid  are  me- 
dallions of  angels  writing  between  scroll-work,  and  at 
the  top  is  a  figure  of  S.  Gregory.  It  was  a  votive 
offering  of  Catherine,  wife  of  Sandalius,  Voivode  of 
Bosnia,  who  died  between  1433  and  1436.  A  reliquary 
of    an  unknown    saint   (which   Bianchi   speaks  of  as 


THE   TREASURY   AT   S.    MARIA    NUOVA     233 

S.  Zoilus)  has  on  the  front  a  fine  equestrian  figure  of  a 
knight  with  lance  in  rest,  said  to  be  S.  Crisogono, 
between  two  figures  of  ecclesiastics  (SS.  Zoilus  and 
Donato),  all  three  in  high  relief.  Upon  the  pyramidal 
cover  are  medallions  of  the  symbols  of  the  Evangelists 
in  lower  relief,  with  bands  of  running  ornament  along 
all  the  angles.  At  the  back  are  figures  of  Christ  and 
two  saints,  and  at  each  end  three  saints.  The  reli- 
quary of  S.  Quirinus,  another  work  of  much  the  same 
period,  has  saints  under  a  pointed  trefoiled  arcade  on 
twisted  and  horizontally  ringed  columns,  with  foliage 
in  the  spandrils.  In  the  centre  at  the  back  is  a  figure 
of  our  Lord;  on  the  lid  are  an  angel,  Gethsemane, 
S.  Peter  sleeping,  and  the  winged  lion,  between  scrolls. 
A  panel  of  S.  Gregory,  with  low  mitre,  and  inscription 
in  Lombardic  letters,  holding  a  dragon-headed  crozier, 
and  with  his  bird  at  the  other  side,  has  a  stamped 
border  of  thirteenth-century  character ;  and  a  fine  relief 
of  the  Madonna  and  Child,  with  decorated  nimbi  upon 
a  ground  which  has  once  been  blue  enamel,  has  a 
gabled  top  with  a  border  of  relics  in  roundels  with 
jewels  in  the  interstices.  It  must  once  have  been 
used  as  a  door,  as  the  hinges,  still  attached  to  the  wood, 
testify. 

The  reliquary  of  the  clothes  of  Our  Lord  is  of  good 
early  Renaissance  design,  but  some  of  the  figures  appear 
to  be  of  an  earlier  date.  In  the  centre  is  an  oblong 
panel  with  the  Madonna  "  del  Parto  "  in  the  centre,  and 
S.  John  the  Baptist  and  S.  Paul  in  high  relief.  Outside, 
on  brackets,  are  the  Angel  Gabriel  and  the  Virgin ;  at 
the  back  are  S.  Anthony  and  another  saint.  Above  is 
a  medallion  containing  three  relics  from  the  manger  at 
Bethlehem,  from  the  house  at  Nazareth,  and  from  the 
clothes  of  Our  Lord,  crowned  by  a  crucifix  and  flanked 
by  figures  of  the  Virgin  and  S.  John  on  brackets.  On 
the  foot  are  four  medallions  in  niello  amid  arabesques. 

30 


234 


ZARA 


There  are  also  six  arm 
reliquaries  of  the  usual 
pattern,  two  of  which 
have  little  doors  of  niello, 
two  or  three  heads,  and 
an  ostensory,  at  the  top 
of  which  is  a  thorn  from 
the  crown  of  thorns. 

The  church  of  S. 
Simeone  was  a  "Colleg- 
giata,"  instituted  in 
1150  by  Archbishop 
Lampridius,  and  dedi- 
cated to  S.  Stephen.  It 
was  subsequently  called 
the  Madonna  della  Pace, 
because  the  Madonna  so 
called  was  deposited  in 
it  in  1567  from  the 
suburban  church  of  S. 
Matteo.  The  body  of 
S.  Simeon  was  brought 
here  in  1632,  having  been 
in  Zara  since  1280,  when 
it  was  brought  from 
Jerusalem  by  Bishop 
Periandro.  The  cele- 
brated "  area  "  was  in 
the  collegiate  church  of 
S.  Maria  to  the  north, 
destroyed  in  the  middle 
of  the  sixteenth  century 
to  make  room  for  the 
fortifications,  a  small 
chapel  only  being  left  standing,  in  which  the  wooden 
area  was  kept,  the  silver  one  being  consigned  to  the 


RELIQUARY    OF   THE   CLOTHES   OF    OUR    LORD, 
S.    MARIA    NUOVA,    ZARA 


CHURCH    OF    S.   SIMEONE  235 

care  of  the  nuns.  In  1632  a  new  chancel  was  added 
to  the  church  now  S.  Simeone ;  the  area  was  repaired 
and  placed  in  its  present  position.  The  campanile  was 
built  in  1707.  In  the  nave  on  one  side  are  antique 
fluted  columns  with  Corinthian  caps,  which  belonged  to 
S.  Stefano.  The  area  is  of  cypress  wood,  covered  with 
silver  plates,  which  are  fastened  with  silver  screws.  It 
cost  28,000  ducats,  and  was  supported  on  four  angels  of 
silver.  These  were  melted  down  at  the  time  of  the  war 
between  Venice  and  Cyprus,  and  have  been  replaced  by 
two  of  stone  and  two  of  bronze  made  from  cannon  taken 
from  the  Turks  and  given  to  Zara  by  Venice  in  1647. 
On  the  lid  a  figure  of  the  saint  nearly  life-size  lies,  and 
on  the  sides  and  ends  are  subjects  referring  to  the  his- 
tory of  the  relics,  and  an  inscription  giving  the  date  of 
1380,  and  the  names  of  the  Queen  of  Hungary  as  the 
donor,  and  the  goldsmith  Franciscus  of  Milan  as  the 
artist.  On  the  roof  is  a  panel  showing  the  artist  at  work 
on  it.  There  is  a  reproduction  in  the  Victoria  and  Albert 
Museum.  In  the  treasury  is  a  chalice  also  given  by 
Queen  Elizabeth  the  younger,  late  Gothic  in  style,  with 
Renaissance  additions,  made  of  silver,  parcel  gilt,  with 
niello  and  a  little  enamel ;  it  has  an  octagonal  knop  with 
coats  of  arms  reversed  on  quatrefoil  ends  and  on  the 
sexfoil  foot.  Upon  the  base  of  the  cup  are  subjects  in 
outline,  the  Crucifixion  and  figures  of  saints  in  petal-like 
forms.  The  treasury  also  contains  some  curious  rococo 
painted  vestments,  apparently  in  water-colour  on  silk. 
To  the  right  of  the  choir,  in  a  chapel  just  outside  the 
sacristy,  is  a  reredos  of  repousse  silver — two  big  angels 
kneeling  below,  and  God  the  Father  above  a  Madonna 
and  Child  with  painted  faces,  the  rest  of  the  figures  being 
in  relief.  The  frame  is  flanked  by  S.  Michael  and  a  saint, 
with  a  little  angel  flying  below  and  holding  a  book,  also 
with  the  heads  only  painted.  These  figures  and  the 
Virgin  and  Child  have  a  good  deal  of  gilding  about 


236  ZARA 

them,  and  may  be  of  the  fifteenth  century,  since  they 
look  earlier  than  the  rest,  which  is  late  sixteenth  or  early 
seventeenth.  In  the  chapel  to  the  left  is  a  Byzantine- 
looking  relief  gilded  all  over  except  the  hands  and  faces, 
which  are  painted  pink,  mounted  on  a  polished  slab 
of  black  marble.  The  subject  is  the  Virgin  and  Child 
standing,  the  Child  draped.  A  half-finished  building 
not  far  off  is  all  that  was  completed  of  a  magnificent 
church  designed  to  house  the  area  of  S.  Simeon.  It 
was  commenced  in  1572,  but  abandoned  in  1600. 

Beyond  the  cathedral,  and  not  far  from  the  walls, 
is  the  church  and  convent  of  S.  Francesco,  consecrated 
in  1282  by  Archbishop  Lorenzo  Periandro,  according  to 
an  inscription  on  a  pilaster  in  the  choir.  The  choir 
contains  a  very  fine  set  of  stalls,  made  in  1394  by 
"  Maestro  Giovanni  quondam  Giacomo  da  Borgo  San 
Sepolcro  in  Venezia,"  at  a  cost  of  456  ducats  of 
gold.  They  used  to  be  in  front  of  the  altar,  but 
were  moved  in  1808  when  the  new  altar  was  put 
up.  In  the  Cappella  del  Crocifisso  is  a  large 
Carpaccio,  an  allegory  of  the  militant  and  triumphant 
Church,  with  a  row  of  portrait  figures.  It  is  in  rather 
a  bad  state,  painted  in  tempera  on  panel.  In  the  sky 
is  a  pretty  Madonna  and  Child  in  a  vesica  surrounded 
by  angels.  The  rest  of  the  sky  has  rows  of  angels  in  it, 
and  below,  on  the  earth,  kneeling  bishops,  potentates,  and 
others,  with  some  nice  little  children  in  front.  Between 
the  two  divisions  is  a  landscape  with  a  shrine  in  the 
centre,  and  the  whole  composition  is  contained  in  an 
upright  oval,  the  corners  being  filled  up  with  later 
painting.  The  usual  white  dog  appears  with  a  red 
collar-ribbon.  The  frame  is  well  carved,  but  not  archi- 
tectural. In  a  side  chapel  is  a  S.  Francis  by  Palma 
Giovane.  The  chapel  of  S.  Carlo,  once  called  degli 
Innocenti,  can  be  entered  either  from  the  cloister  or  the 
church.     In  it  is  an  enormous  painted  crucifix  of  wood 


PAINTINGS    IN    S.   FRANCESCO  237 

in  relief,  with  the  Virgin  and  S.  John  half-length  painted 
at  the  ends  of  the  cross,  and  an  angel  above.  It  bears 
inscriptions  in  Greek  and  Latin,  "  ictavpwcic  "  and 
"  Rex  Ivdeorvm,"  and,  below  the  arms  of  Christ, 
"  In  me  credentes  ad  me  concvrrite  gentes."  It  is 
believed  to  be  of  the  tenth  century,  or  even  earlier. 
In  the  sacristy  is  a  picture  of  1430  on  a  gold  ground 
in  the  original  frame,  restored  at  the  emperor's 
expense.  In  the  centre  is  the  Madonna  with  the 
Child  and  little  angels  ;  on  one  side  are  SS.  Jerome, 
Simeon,  and  James ;  on  the  other,  SS.  Peter  Martyr, 
Nicholas,  and  Francis.  A  predella  shows  the  twelve 
Apostles,  with  Christ  in  the  centre.  Above,  in  the 
centre,  is  Christ  half-length,  flanked  by  smaller  nearly 
full-lengths  of  the  Virgin  and  S.  John;  at  each  side  three 
half-lengths  of  saints — left,  SS.  Martin,  Stephen,  and 
John  the  Baptist ;  right,  a  warrior,  a  bishop,  and  a  man 
with  green  robe,  and  hat  turned  up  in  four  pieces.  The 
frame  is  fine,  a  blue  ground  and  gilded  arabesques. 
The  church  possesses  four  chalices  of  silver-gilt  of  the 
fourteenth  or  early  fifteenth  century.  Two  of  them 
have  elaborate  knops  with  crocketed  niches  with  figures, 
and  one  has  the  symbols  of  the  Evangelists  in  high 
relief  on  the  foot,  with  leaf-scrolls  and  big  stars,  the  plan 
being  octofoil.  The  finest  has  a  sexfoil  foot,  and  there 
are  angular  projections  in  both  between  the  foils,  and  a 
pierced  perpendicular  band  below.  Upon  the  foot  are 
six  roundels,  with  Christ  and  saints  in  low  relief,  as  if  for 
basse-taille  enamel.  The  third  has  a  knop  with  window 
tracery,  pinnacles,  and  flying  buttresses  ;  on  the  foot, 
of  a  later  date,  are  graceful  leaf-arabesques,  rather 
like  the  work  of  Aldegrever.  The  fourth  is  smaller  and 
less  elaborate.  There  are  also  some  fifteenth-century 
psalters  and  antiphonaries.  One  of  the  three  bells  in 
the  modern  campanile  is  the  oldest  in  Zara,  dated  1328, 
and  signed  ' '  Magister  Beloa  Viccentius. ' '    The  tradition 


238  ZARA 

runs  that  S.  Francis,  going  to  or  returning  from  the 
Holy  Land  in  12 12,  visited  Dalmatia,  and  founded  this 
monastery  among  others. 

The  church  of  S.  Domenico  (anciently  S.  Michele) 
has  a  pointed  Venetian  door,  with  a  relief  in  the  tym- 
panum of  S.  Michael  weighing  souls,  with  the  Devil 
pulling  the  scale  down,  an  armed  angel  at  one  side,  and 
a  woman  with  a  lighted  taper  at  the  other.  On  the 
lintel  are  a  Virgin  and  Child,  and  several  saints  in  little 
panels  also  spreading  beyond  on  to  the  wall. 

The  Greek  church,  S.  Elia,  which  the  Servian  ortho- 
dox Christians  have  had  since  the  French  invasion, 
is  nearly  opposite  the  cathedral.  One  year  we  were  at 
Zara  at  the  time  when  they  were  preparing  to  keep 
Easter.  In  front  of  the  iconostasis  was  an  "  Entomb- 
ment/ '  surrounded  with  young  grass  amid  which  little 
lamps  shone.  The  whole  was  covered  with  a  canopy 
similar  to  that  carried  over  the  Host.  It  was  delicate 
and  pretty,  and  a  great  contrast  to  "  Tombe,"  which 
we  had  seen  in  years  gone  by  in  Italy,  and  a  few  days 
before  at  Capodistria. 

There  were  thirty  churches  in  Zara,  fifteen  of  which 
have  been  destroyed  or  given  to  different  bodies.  Seven 
are  now  Catholic,  and  four  preserve  their  outward  shape, 
but  are  secularised. 

The  Loggia,  the  open  hall  of  justice,  ascribed  to 
Sanmichele  in  its  original  form,  was  restored  shortly 
before  the  end  of  the  Venetian  rule.  It  is  now  the 
Paravia  library.  It  has  three  arches  between  coupled 
Doric  columns,  and  is  still  quite  well  preserved.  The 
Palace  of  the  Priors,  the  former  rulers  of  the  town,  was 
enlarged  by  the  addition  of  private  houses  for  the 
residences  of  the  Venetian  Count  and  the  provveditore ; 
while  the  commune  had  to  be  content  with  the  corn- 
magazine,  near  S.  Simeone,  which  is  still  the  com- 
munal palace.     When  the  Austrian  governor  followed 


)im 


AN    EXCURSION   TO    NONA  239 

the  Venetian  provveditore  the  palace  was  restored  and 
modernised.  It  is  a  Venetian  building  of  1562,  with  a 
clock-tower  which  was  restored  in  1798 ;  the  clock 
itself  was  put  up  in  1807. 

Nona  is  some  hour-and-a-half  s  drive  from  Zara,  for 
the  greater  part  of  the  way  over  stony  uplands  with 
very  little  vegetation,  but  with  extensive  views  over 
land  and  sea  when  the  weather  is  fine.  We  were  trou- 
bled by  showers  and  a  bitter  wind,  against  which  our 
overcoats  were  an  insufficient  protection  ;  and  we  looked 
with  some  wonder  at  the  herd  boys  and  girls  and  other 
peasants  whom  we  met,  many  of  them  barefoot  and 
with  no  additional  clothing  to  what  they  had  found 
sufficient  in  the  market  the  day  before  when  the  sun 
shone  strongly.  The  town  is  now  a  mere  village  of 
some  500  inhabitants,  and,  though  a  few  antique  frag- 
ments may  be  seen,  and  the  ruins  of  several  churches  of 
different  periods,  it  is  difficult  to  realise  that  it  was  once 
one  of  the  most  important  towns  in  Dalmatia.  It 
appears  to  have  been  a  Roman  port,  and  the  head  of 
one  of  the  roads  to  Byzantium  across  Dalmatia — ran 
ancient  Liburnian  city,  the  great  prosperity  of  which,  at 
the  end  of  the  first  century  a.d.,  is  attested  by  the  coins 
found  here.  It  was  called  ^Enona  and  ^Enonium  by 
Pliny  and  Ptolemy,  Nona  by  Porphyrogenitus.  De- 
stroyed by  the  Slavs  in  the  seventh  century,  re-occupied 
and  restored  by  another  branch,  the  dukes  and  kings  of 
Croatia  made  it  one  of  the  thirteen  Dalmatian  "  zu- 
panje."  Later  it  belonged  at  intervals  to  the  King  of 
Hungary  and  to  Venice,  and  after  1409  remained  in  the 
power  of  the  latter.  In  1357  Count  Giustiniani  valiantly 
but  vainly  defended  it  against  the  Hungarians,  when  the 
garrison  was  reduced  to  such  straits  by  famine  that  they 
had  to  eat  their  horses.  It  was  twice  burnt  to  prevent 
it  from  falling  into  Turkish  hands  and  being  utilised  as 
an  outpost,  in  1571  and  1646.     The  harbour  has  silted 


240  ZARA 

up,  and  only  a  small  piece  of  the  walls  is  traceable.  Of 
the  Venetian  dominion  the  only  remains  are  the  en- 
trance gateway,  with  the  lion  of  S.  Mark  above  it,  and 
the  "  Stabilimento,"  founded  in  1786  by  Girolamo  Man- 
frin  for  the  cultivation  of  tobacco,  but  ruined  by  a  fire, 
and  no  longer  used  for  that  purpose. 

The  Christian  Church  in  Nona  is  said  to  have  been 
founded  by  S.  Anselm  in  117  a.d.  Under  the  Croats  it 
had  a  bishop  and  a  chapter.  The  ancient  church  of  S. 
Croce  was  the  cathedral,  a  small  cruciform  church  with 
three  apses  in  the  eastward  wall,  and  a  dome  over  the 
crossing.  It  is  30  ft.  long,  and  each  arm  of  the  cross  is 
10  ft.  wide.  The  dome  has  a  flat-pointed  vault  and  win- 
dows, while  the  nave  and  transepts  have  wagon  vaults 
terminating  in  half-cupolas.  To  the  west  is  a  lintelled 
door,  with  consecration  crosses  on  the  jambs  and  carving 
of  the  ninth  century  on  the  lintel.  A  Slavonic  inscription 
upon  it  (inside)  has  been  read  "  Godeslav  Juppano 
Ch[risto]  Domo  Co[nservat]."  The  breaking  of  the 
upper  angles  of  the  carved  portion,  and  the  difference  in 
the  character  of  the  crosses  on  lintel  and  jambs  indicate 
the  use  of  early  material  in  a  later  rebuilding ;  but  the 
church  is  considered  one  of  the  oldest  in  Dalmatia. 
From  1697  it  served  as  an  oratory  to  the  Count 
of  Nona,  being  near  his  palace.  Its  bell  (hung  in  the 
gable  above  the  west  door)  served  to  call  the  people 
together  for  public  meetings,  &c.  The  eastern  apse  has 
a  blank  arcading  on  its  exterior,  which  is  square,  and 
the  same  kind  of  ornament  occurs  on  the  drum  which 
conceals  the  dome.  There  are  three  windows  in  the 
west  wall,  and  others  in  the  transept  walls  and  gable. 
The  church  was  restored  some  seven  or  eight  years  ago, 
as  well  as  the  somewhat  similar  church  of  S.  Nicolo 
outside  the  town. 

The  parish  church  of  S.  Anselmo  was  the  mediaeval 
cathedral,  rebuilt  during  the  eighteenth  century.   Close 


RELIQUARIES    AT    NONA  241 

to  it  is  another  church,  once  dedicated  to  S.  Ambrogio, 
and  now  to  the  Madonna.  In  the  treasury  are  various 
interesting  pieces  of  goldsmith's  work  kept  in  a  marble 
chest  with  glazed  front  and  gilded  metal  door.  When 
we  were  there  the  priest  was  enjoying  his  siesta,  and, 
though  we  were  in  charge  of  an  official  from  the  town- 
hall,  we  were  unsuccessful  in  rousing  him  from  his  slum- 
bers. I  therefore  take  the  description  of  them  from 
Bianchi,  as  I  was  not  able  to  examine  them  critically. 
There  are  two  caskets  of  silver-gilt  with  the  heads  of 
S.  Anselm  and  his  sister,  S.  Marcella,  made  by  the  same 
goldsmith.  On  the  front  are  Christ,  the  Virgin,  and 
S.  John  in  relief,  with  a  frieze  of  a  hunting  subject,  the 
figures  beneath  trefoiled  arches  on  twisted  columns; 
on  the  back,  SS.  Anselm,  Ambrose,  and  Marcella  ;  on  the 
ends,  SS.  Peter  and  Paul,  and  a  king  and  queen.  Bianchi 
says  these  are  thirteenth  century;  Mr.  T.  G.  Jackson 
says  fifteenth,  which  is  more  likely.  On  the  lids  are  the 
symbols  of  the  Evangelists.  Two  other  reliquaries  con- 
tain the  shoulder-blades  of  S.  Anselm.  On  the  front 
are  figures  of  the  three  protectors  full-length.  An  arm 
reliquary  has  pagan  subjects  in  relief,  and  is  set  with 
precious  stones.  An  inscription  gives  the  name  of 
Simeon  the  goldsmith,  and  the  Bano  Paolo  (Lord  of 
Bosnia  also  at  the  end  of  the  thirteenth  and  beginning 
of  the  fourteenth  centuries).  Two  reliquaries  of  the  feet 
of  S.  Anselm,  given  by  Radoslav  Utusano,  chancellor  of 
the  Bano  Paolo,  and  zupan  of  the  church  of  Nona,  are 
dated  1309.  There  are  two  other  reliquaries :  one  of 
SS.  Giacomo  and  Orontius,  with  three  medallions  of 
saints ;  and  the  other  with  the  Evangelists'  symbols. 
Mr.  T.  G.  Jackson  also  saw  two  crosses  and  a  sixteenth- 
century  chalice.  I  particularly  regretted  being  unable 
to  see  the  wooden  area  of  S.  Marcella,  which  is  a  very 
remarkable  example  of  early  Christian  art.  Bianchi 
says  that  it  is  varnished,  and  has  eleven  compartments, 

3i 


242 


ZARA 


with  figures  in  high  relief.  One  is  entitled  S.  Barbara — 
the  first  on  the  left.  Then  come  a  king  with  a  double 
cross,  S.  Luke's  ox,  S.  Marcella,  S.  Matthew's  angel,  the 
Virgin  and  Child,  S.  Mark's  lion,  S.  Ambrose,  S.  John's 
eagle,  and  a  queen  with  a  lily  in  her  hand.  The  eleventh 
compartment  is  not  recognisable. 

North  of  the  parish  church  are  remains  of  a  Roman 


10A 


PLAN   OF  S.    NICOL6,    NONA 


temple,  and  an  antique  cap  or  two  may  be  seen.  In  a 
private  house  are  remains  of  a  bath  and  a  mosaic  pave- 
ment. The  ruined  church  of  S.  Michele  stands  on  the 
site  of  the  Roman  arena.  Antique  fragments  are  also 
recognisable  in  the  walls  of  S.  Nicolo.  There  are  several 
ruined  churches  which  appear  to  be  of  the  thirteenth  or 


S.    NICOLO,   NONA  243 

fourteenth  centuries.  Some  of  them  have  been  altered 
at  a  later  period,  but  they  contain  nothing  of  first-rate 
interest.  Nona  had  sixteen  in  the  Middle  Ages.  We 
walked  out  to  S.  Nicolo,  an  early  church,  which  crowns 
a  hillock  thickly  sown  with  asphodels  in  blossom,  some 
little  distance  from  the  road  and  a  mile  or  so  from  Nona. 
It  is  cruciform  in  plan,  with  apsidal  terminations  to  three 
arms,  the  west  being  square,  and  having  a  door  with  a 
semicircular  tympanum  above  it  internally.  Squinches 
in  the  angles  serve  as  transition  to  the  semi-dome  which 
covers  each  arm.  From  the  pilasters  between  the  apses 
cross  arches  spring  beneath  a  domical  vault  with  a  pen- 
dant at  their  intersection  ;  in  the  left  pilaster  by  the  apse 
is  a  recess.  The  central  tower  is  octagonal  and  turreted  ; 
beneath  the  apse  eaves  are  rough  corbels,  the  door  has  a 
semicircular  tympanum  externally,  little  brackets  sup- 
porting nothing,  and  the  jambs  and  lintel  are  put  to- 
gether rather  as  if  the  material  were  wood.  The  church 
is  probably  of  the  eleventh  century. 

Borgo  Erizzo,  an  Albanian  village,  lies  but  a  short 
distance  from  Zara.  In  the  eighteenth  century  the 
atrocities  of  Mehmed  Begovich,  pasha  of  Albania,  per- 
petrated on  the  Catholics,  being  very  great,  some  of 
them  emigrated,  seeking  the  protection  of  Vincenzo 
Zmajevich,  bishop  of  Antivari,  who  was  living  at  his 
native  city  of  Perasto.  A  little  later  (1726)  he  became 
archbishop  of  Zara,  and  brought  twenty-seven  families 
of  Albanians  with  him,  recommending  them  to  the  pro- 
tection of  Count  Erizzo,  commandant  of  the  fortress, 
who  assigned  them  land  near  the  city,  where  they  flour- 
ished and  increased.  There  are  now  about  3,000  of 
them.  The  church,  which  appears  to  be  in  a  dangerous 
condition,  was  built  for  them  by  Zmajevich.  The 
girls  work  in  the  factories  till  they  marry,  after  which 
they  remain  at  home.  The  men  are  agriculturists, 
and  some   own   fields  and  vineyards  seven  or  eight 


244  ZARA 

miles  away,  to  which  they  walk  or  go  in  carts.  The 
village  is  dirty  and  not  very  picturesque.  They  get 
their  drinking-water  from  the  Kaiser  Brunnen,  a  spring 
covered  with  a  dome  close  to  the  sea,  said  to  be  a  Roman 
erection.  Sailors  also  water  there.  Before  the  aque- 
duct was  restored,  in  years  of  drought  Zara  had  to  im- 
port water,  and  in  1828,  1834,  and  1835  it  was  brought 
from  the  Kerka  by  Scardona. 

Zara  Vecchia,  formerly  Alba  or  Belgrad,  is  some 
eighteen  miles  down  the  coast.  Here  Coloman  of 
Hungary,  nephew  of  S.  Ladislas,  was  crowned  in  1102. 
The  "  porto  d'oro  "  is  all  that  remains  of  a  palace  built 
by  Bishop  Valaresso,  with  its  foundations  in  the  sea. 
Mention  of  the  place  is  infrequent.  Towards  the  middle 
of  the  eleventh  century  Crescimeno  Pietro,  third  king  of 
Croatia,  assigned  a  prebend  to  the  Benedictines  of  Zara 
Vecchia.  In  1092  Busita,  daughter  of  Roger  I.,  Count 
of  Sicily  and  Durazzo,  and  wife  of  Coloman,  king  of 
Hungary,  came  here  accompanied  by  Geoffrey  Mala- 
terra.  In  1114  Ordelaffo  Faliero  took  it,  and  in  1115  it 
was  destroyed  to  the  foundations  by  Domenico  Michieli. 
Some  of  the  inhabitants,  with  the  bishop  and  clergy, 
fled  to  Scardona ;  the  rest,  with  the  notables,  to  Sebenico. 
The  nuns  escaped  to  Zara,  and  the  Benedictines  crossed 
to  Tkon  in  the  island  of  Pasman,  where  they  still  are. 


XIX 

SEBENICO 

Sebenico  lies  within  a  fine  harbour  at  the  mouth  of 
the  Kerka,  some  six  hours  from  Zara.  The  entrance  to 
the  bay  is  defended  by  the  strong  fort  S.  Nicolo,  which 
bears  the  lion  of  S.  Mark  upon  the  landward  side, 
showing  that  Venice  ruled  when  it  was  built  in  1540 
(according  to  tradition,  from  Sanmichele's  designs), 
though  the  actual  sculpture  is  a  replacement  of  1824 
of  the  original  thrown  into  the  sea  by  the  French  in 
1 8 13.  During  the  Italian  struggle  for  freedom  and 
unity  many  patriots  were  shut  up  in  the  damp  dungeons 
of  this  fort  by  the  Austrians.  Within  the  strait,  the 
Canale  di  S.  Antonio,  there  is  shelter  for  a  large  fleet ; 
and  it  is  reported  that  the  Austrian  Government  in- 
tends to  make  it  into  a  naval  arsenal  (of  which  the 
commencement  may  be  seen  in  some  very  ugly  buildings 
to  the  left  of  the  town).  Sebenico  is  commanded  by 
three  castles,  from  the  highest  of  which,  that  of  S.  Gio- 
vanni, constructed  in  1646,  a  splendid  view  over  town, 
bay,  and  islands  rewards  the  labour  of  the  climb.  The 
next  is  Fort  Barone,  so  named  after  Baron  Degenfeldt, 
the  gallant  defender  of  the  city  against  20,000  Turks  in 
1647.  It  is  now  abandoned  and  in  ruins.  The  third 
is  Fort  S.  Anna,  which  crowns  the  hill  just  above  the 
houses.  This  is  thought  to  occupy  the  site  of  a  king's 
castle  mentioned  in  1066.  Fort  S.  Giovanni  and  the 
walls,  of  which  a  great  portion  of  the  circuit  still  re- 

245 


246  SEBENICO 

mains,  were  restored  in  1837.  These  walls  are  for  the 
most  part  the  work  of  kings  of  Hungary,  though  the 
Venetians  added  to  them.  The  sea  suburb  the  Borgo 
di  Mare  is  probably  the  oldest  portion  of  the  place  ;  that 
on  the  land  side,  the  Borgo  di  Terra,  grew  up  with  the 
need  for  the  shelter  of  the  fortress  during  the  Turkish 
wars. 

In  1 1 17  the  town  was  taken  and  destroyed  by 
Ordelaffo  Faliero ;  but  in  1127,  when  Zara  Vecchia  was 
razed  to  the  ground  by  Domenico  Michieli,  and  the 
bishop  and  clergy  were  removed  to  Scardona,  the  bulk 
of  the  population  took  refuge  at  Sebenico.  It  was  a 
pirate  city,  and  there  was  continual  strife  between  it  and 
Trau.  Until  n 67  it  was  only  a  small  place,  but  in 
that  year  Stephen  III.  of  Hungary  gave  it  the  title  of 
"  city."  Lago,  however,  says  that  it  was  only  a  "  cas- 
tello  "  till  1298,  when  the  bishopric  was  established  by 
Boniface  VIII.  in  consequence  of  the  representations 
of  the  archbishops  of  Zara  and  Spalato,  and  of  Queen 
Maria  of  Hungary.  The  first  bishop  was  Martin  of 
Arbe.  When  he  was  consecrated,  the  ceremony  took 
place  in  the  piazza,  because  the  church  was  not  large 
enough.  In  1412  the  chapter  was  allowed  to  choose  its 
own  bishop ;  and  the  town  and  church  authorities  be- 
came responsible  for  law  and  order  throughout  certain 
denned  territories.  The  city  seals  bear  either  an  angel 
with  nimbus  standing  on  a  dragon,  and  holding  in  his 
right  hand  an  upright  sword,  and  in  his  left  an  orb,  or 
a  half-length  of  a  similar  angel,  holding  an  orb  in  his 
left  hand  and  a  sloping  sceptre  in  his  right,  with  the 
sun  on  one  side,  and  a  crescent  moon  on  the  other  ; 
above  a  city  with  a  central  gate  and  two  side  towers, 
with  windows  on  each  side. 

Sebenico  owes  its  chief  celebrity  perhaps  to  its 
cathedral,  the  chef  d'ceuvre  of  Giorgio  Orsini,  known  as 
George  of  Sebenico,  an  architect  of  exceptional  genius, 


THE    CATHEDRAL  247 

whose  work  may  also  be  seen  at  Spalato,  Ragusa,  pro- 
bably at  Ossero,  and  at  Ancona  on  the  other  side  of  the 
Adriatic.  His  father  was  known  as  Matteo  of  Zara,  and 
was  also  a  stonemason,  as  George  proudly  announced 
himself  to  be  when  he  carved  upon  the  door  of  his 
house  a  mallet  and  chisels  hung  with  garlands  which 
are  supported  in  the  centre  of  the  lintel  by  the  bear, 
the  cognizance  of  the  noble  house  which  acknowledged 
his  grandson  as  a  relation. 

When  it  was  determined  to  rebuild  the  cathedral 
on  a  larger  scale  in  1402,  the  bishop  and  council 
of  forty-five  nobles  made  provision  in  various  ways 
for  the  work.  The  territory  of  Vodizze  was  assigned 
for  the  purpose,  the  bishop  gave  half  of  the  tithes, 
fines  inflicted  were  to  go  to  the  fund,  notaries 
were  charged  to  remind  testators  to  leave  something 
to  the  fabric,  &c.  If  the  community  of  Sebenico  went 
back  from  their  promises  they  were  to  be  fined  1,000 
golden  ducats.  When  the  towers  protecting  the  mouth 
of  the  port  were  rebuilt  in  1409  the  Venetians  seized  the 
stone  prepared  for  the  cathedral,  but  subsequently  paid 
80  ducats  of  gold  as  compensation.  The  city  became 
Venetian  in  1412.  In  1430,  after  some  wavering,  it 
was  decided  to  add  the  bishop's  palace  and  the  street 
between  it  and  the  church  to  the  cathedral  site.  The 
building  was  commenced  in  1431,  under  Antonio,  son 
of  Pietro  Paolo  Massegna,  in  the  Gothic  style  as  under- 
stood by  the  Venetians  ;  but  in  1441  he  was  superseded 
by  Giorgio  Orsini  with  a  six  years'  engagement,  on  the 
strength  of  a  design  whch  he  had  made  showing  how 
he  proposed  to  complete  the  building.  The  west  door 
with  its  scroll-work  of  exaggerated  curvature,  its  pin- 
nacled canopies  supported  on  twisted  columns,  and 
figures  of  various  degrees  of  excellence,  shows  Antonio's 
capacity  and  his  limitations.  The  side  door,  which  is 
rather  simpler  and  in  better  proportion,  is  in  much  the 


248  SEBENICO 

same  style,  but  has  foolish-looking  lions  on  brackets 
beneath  the  columns  outside  the  door,  with  figures  of 
Adam  and  Eve  interposed  between  the  columns  and 
the  canopied  tabernacles  above,  which  bear  great  re- 
semblance to  those  in  a  similar  position  at  Trau.  The 
pointed  and  cusped  cornice  of  interlacing  arches,  sur- 
mounted by  a  cable  moulding,  which  continues  to  the 
end  of  the  transept  wall,  seems  to  show  that  the  build- 
ing had  advanced  as  far  as  this  point  when  Giorgio 
appeared  upon  the  scene  in  1441.  The  arms  of  the 
Venetian  rectors  also  afford  indications  of  the  progress 
and  intermissions  of  the  work. 

In  the  tracery  of  the  windows  of  the  central  apse  a 
modification  of  a  graceful  Gothic  pattern  has  been 
employed,  resembling  patterns  used  in  the  campanile 
at  Trau,  combined  with  classic  pilasters  and  colonnette 
forms,  but  the  greater  part  of  the  rest  of  the  building  is 
early  Renaissance.  The  aisles  are  roofed  with  a  half- 
wagon  vault  above  the  quadripartite  pointed  vaulting, 
forming  a  kind  of  triforium,  which  is,  however,  in- 
accessible ;  the  chapels  at  the  sides  of  the  choir  have  the 
semicircular  form  of  the  roof  of  the  nave  and  choir, 
perhaps  suggested  by  the  temple  at  Spalato,  now  known 
as  the  baptistery ;  and  the  east  end  is  tri-apsidal,  the 
apses  being  polygonal,  but  roofed  with  a  semi-dome. 
All  these  forms  are  evident  externally,  the  joints  of  the 
roofing  slabs  being  covered  by  an  ornamented  band 
answering  to  the  internal  supporting  rib.  The  external 
sculpture  is  in  the  main  restrained  and  delicate,  and  the 
general  proportions  are  excellent.  The  angle  pier  at 
the  north-east  of  the  north  transept  has  the  simplicity 
of  its  outline  destroyed  to  provide  place  for  figure 
sculpture  and  the  dedicatory  inscription,  and  the  string 
dividing  the  stylobate  from  the  principal  stage  beais  a 
curious  decoration  of  heads  in  the  round ;  but  these  are 
slight  blemishes  amid  much  beauty      The  heads  have 


EASTERN    END    OF    CATHEDRAL,    SEBENICO 


To  face  page  248 


GIORGIO   ORSINI,   THE   ARCHITECT     249 

a  good  deal  of  character,  and  some  may  be  portraits  of 
the  architect's  assistants.  The  same  motif  occurs 
round  the  square-headed  door  of  S.  Francesco  alle 
Scale,  Ancona.  The  construction  of  the  semi-domes 
and  of  the  roofs  shows  that  Giorgio  was  a  competent 
constructor  ;  but  the  inventive  and  beautiful  treatment 
of  the  decoration  of  the  choir  shows  him  as  something 
more.  The  graceful  singing-galleries  at  each  side, 
terminating  in  the  curved  ambos  attached  to  the  main 
piers  of  the  dome,  are  very  delicate  and  beautiful ;  the 
lofty  proportions  of  the  nave  and  choir  are  impressive ; 
and  the  little  baptistery,  with  its  curious  mingling  of 
Gothic  and  Renaissance  forms,  is  quaint  and  ingenious, 
if  not  very  pure  in  style. 

In  1444  Giorgio  went  to  Spalato  to  build  the  chapel 
of  S.  Ranier  in  the  church  of  S.  Benedetto,  which  was 
to  have  been  finished  in  two  years,  but  it  was  nearly 
four  before  the  donor  was  satisfied.  The  price  was 
306  ducats  of  gold.  It  no  longer  exists.  After  his 
first  contract  expired  at  Sebenico,  where  the  work  ap- 
parently progressed  very  slowly,  he  went  again  to 
Spalato  in  1448  to  make  the  chapel  of  S.  Anastasius  in 
the  cathedral.  Here  he  had  to  compete  with  the  work 
of  Gaspare  Bonino  of  Milan,  who  had  made  the  corre- 
sponding chapel  on  the  other  side  in  1427.  They  are 
both  rather  late  Gothic  in  style.  In  1449  he  returned 
to  Sebenico,  his  contract  with  the  chapter  having  been 
renewed  in  1446  for  ten  years  at  an  advance  of  five 
ducats.  The  first  contract  was  for  six  years,  at  a 
salary  of  115  ducats.  In  a  notice  of  1450  from  Zara, 
he  is  thus  referred  to :  "  Mistro  Zorzi,  taglia  pietra, 
pro  to  alia  fabbrica  della  chiesa  di  S.  Giacomo  di  Seben- 
ico." The  contract  for  the  sacristy  is  dated  March  1, 
1452.  It  cost  600  ducats.  He  was  at  Ancona  in  1451, 
when  he  undertook  the  facade  of  the  Loggia  de'  Mer- 
canti,  an  ornate  work,  which  took  eight  years  to  build, 

32 


250  SEBENICO 

and  has  several  details  resembling  those  parts  of  the 
cathedral,  Sebenico,  which  are  ascribed  to  Massegna. 
In  1556  it  was  burnt,  and  was  restored  by  Tipaldi. 
Barnabei,  a  contemporary  writer,  states  that  Giorgio 
also  built  the  adjoining  Palazzo  Benincasa.  He  must 
have  gone  backwards  and  forwards  between  Italy  and 
Dalmatia,  for  in  1455,  while  he  was  under  contract  with 
the  Sebenico  authorities,  he  completed  the  fine  facade 
of  S.  Francesco  alle  Scale,  Ancona,  receiving  a  bonus  of 
70  ducats  above  the  price,  according  to  Lando  Feretti. 
The  church  was  built  in  1323.  The  monastery  is  now 
half  barracks  and  half  hospital.  Between  1455  and 
1459,  the  facade  of  S.  Agostino  in  the  same  town  was 
built  as  an  addition  to  a  church  of  1338,  which  also 
is  now  a  barrack.  The  foliage,  twisted  columns,  and 
canopies  are  a  good  deal  like  the  earlier  work  at 
Sebenico.  In  1460,  Giorgio  returned  to  Sebenico,  but 
in  1464  and  1465  was  at  Ragusa,  where  he  helped  in 
building  the  Torre  Menze,  and  in  restoring  the  palace 
of  the  Rectors.  The  next  year  he  was  at  Pago,  im- 
proving and  enlarging  the  courtyard  of  the  bishop's 
palace.  It  was  the  Bishop  of  Ossero,  who  thought  he 
was  going  to  obtain  the  removal  of  the  see  to  Pago,  but 
failed  to  do  so.  The  facade  of  the  cathedral  at  Ossero 
has  been  ascribed  to  him,  and  there  is  nothing  in 
its  design  to  make  his  authorship  impossible.  In  the 
next  year  he  undertook  work  on  the  facade  of  the 
Cappella  Grande  of  the  parish  church  at  Pago.  In  1470 
he  went  to  Rome,  where  his  compatriot  Giovanni 
Dalmato,  the  sculptor,  of  Trau,  was  at  work  on  the 
monument  of  Paul  II.  He  went  as  representative  of 
the  procurators  to  Paul  II.,  in  reference  to  certain 
charities  left  by  Bishop  Vignacco,  who  died  at  Porto, 
near  Rome.  In  1472  it  is  stated  that  he  had  let  all  the 
houses  which  he  had  in  the  Venetian  dominions.  In 
this  year  he  commenced  the  facade  of  S.  Maria,  Citta- 


PROGRESS    OF   THE    CATHEDRAL         251 

nova,  in  the  Marche.  During  his  frequent  absences 
from  home,  his  Venetian  wife  Elizabeth  looked  after  his 
affairs,  apparently  having  a  power  of  attorney.  He  had 
many  pupils,  some  of  whom  continued  to  work  on  the 
cathedral  at  Sebenico  after  his  death  in  1476. 

The  cost  of  the  building  is  stated  to  have  been 
80,000  Venetian  ducats  of  gold.  It  was  thoroughly  re- 
stored between  1843  and  i860  ;  seven  out  of  the  fourteen 
caps  of  the  nave  arcade  have  been  replaced,  and  a  good 
deal  of  the  framing  of  the  panelling  of  red  marble  above. 
At  each  side  of  the  west  door  are  monuments  to  bishops, 
and  also  at  each  side  of  the  choir  steps.  The  slabs 
are  sloping,  and  bear  figures  in  relief.  That  on  the 
right  of  the  door  is  Bishop  Sisgoreo's,  made  under 
Giorgio' s  direction,  with  an  inscription  added  in 
1874  by  a  descendant.  The  tomb  of  Lucio  Stafileo 
(fi.557),  under  whom  the  cathedral  was  re-consecrated, 
is  to  the  north.  Those  at  the  entrance  to  the  choir 
are  Luca  Spignaroli  (11589)  to  the  left,  and  Domenico 
Calegari  (fi.722)  to  the  right.  The  choir  is  raised  six 
steps  above  the  level  of  the  nave,  and  the  sanctuary 
seven  steps  higher  still. 

At  the  time  of  Giorgio' s  death  the  work  had  pro- 
gressed as  far  as  the  roofing  in  of  the  apses,  if  one  may 
trust  the  arms  of  Bishop  de  Tollentis  (elected  in  1468), 
placed  above  the  upper  arch  of  the  transept ;  while 
upon  the  external  arch  to  the  north  are  those  of  Count 
Captain  Piero  Canal,  who  left  in  1470  ;  and  on  the 
arch  of  the  central  apse  inside,  behind  the  sculptured 
bust  representing  God  the  Father,  are  those  of  Count 
Captain  Girolamo  Pesaro,  who  began  to  rule  in  1476. 
At  that  time,  therefore,  the  nave  and  cupola  remained 
to  be  completed.  Upon  the  cupola  there  are  no  arms. 
Those  of  Count  Nicolo  Mulla  on  the  clerestory  north 
wall  show  that  it  was  finished  to  the  cornice  in  1491-1493. 
Those  of  Nicolo  Navager,  who  died  1489,  fastened  with 


252  SEBENICO 

iron  clamps  in  the  same  place,  suggest  that  it  was  not 
completed  at  his  death,  though  it  was  probably  in 
course  of  construction.  The  arms  of  Count  Andrea 
Gritti,  captain  in  1534-1537,  on  the  summit  of  the  facade, 
show  that  the  western  end  of  the  vault  was  completed 
by  Giovanni  Masticevich  in  1536.  The  western  rose 
(at  which  Giacomo,  son  of  Matteo  da  Mestre,  capo 
mastro,  1528-1535,  was  working  in  1531)  has  Gothic 
cusped  arches  to  the  radiating  bars,  but  the  mouldings 
round  are  Renaissance,  as  are  the  angle  pilasters  to  the 
nave  wall  and  the  paterae  decorating  the  quarter-circles 
of  the  aisles.  The  fluted  pilasters  of  the  dome  are  in 
harmony  with  the  pilasters  of  the  open  gallery  above 
the  nave  arcade.  The  pointed  arches,  which  were 
certainly  finished  in  1444,  are  probably  Massegna's 
work,  though  the  leafy  cornice  above  bears  great 
resemblance  to  carving  for  which  Giorgio  was  respon- 
sible at  Ancona. 

The  baptistery  is  a  queer  little  building  at  the 
eastern  end  of  the  south  aisle,  and  one  of  the  entrances 
to  the  cathedral  is  through  it.  The  font  has  a  bowl 
and  base  of  variegated  marble,  like  that  used  at  Veglia, 
very  flat  in  shape  and  unmoulded,  supported  by  three 
amorini,  carved  in  Istrian  stone,  who  stand  round  the 
supporting  stem.  The  plan  of  the  building  is  cruci- 
form, the  arms  of  the  cross  being  semicircular  niches 
which  have  shell-heads.  The  wall  above  them  has 
Gothic  tracery,  on  the  eastern  side  pierced  to  give  light. 
The  ribs  at  the  angles  are  supported  on  engaged  columns, 
above  which  are  Gothic  figures  beneath  canopies, 
of  which  two,  David  and  Simeon,  remain  ;  the  other 
two  were  destroyed  or  stolen,  I  understand,  by  thieves 
who  broke  into  the  building.  The  figures  bend  forward 
awkwardly  beneath  the  curve  of  the  vault,  which  be- 
comes domical,  with  angels  and  cherubs  upon  it.  The 
boss  in  the  centre  bears  a  head  of  God  the  Father  and 


LATE    VENETIAN-GOTHIC    DOORWAY,    SEBENICO 

To  face  page  253 


GIORGIO'S    PART    IN    THE    CATHEDRAL     253 

the  Holy  Dove,  with  an  inscription  round  the  edge : 
"  Hie  est  films  meus,"  &c. 

The  question  of  the  part  played  by  Giorgio  in  the 
construction  of  the  cathedral  is  difficult  to  decide, 
being  complicated  by  the  mixture  of  styles  and  the 
possibly  later  insertion  of  several  of  the  coats  of 
arms  of  the  rectors  and  bishops.  The  western  piers 
of  the  crossing  are  considered  to  be  part  of  the 
earlier  work,  because  of  the  close  resemblance  of  the 
carved  foliage  to  Venetian-Gothic  ornament ;  but  it 
must  be  remembered  that  Giorgio  was  trained  in  Venice, 
just  as  Massegna  was,  and  would  be  familiar  with  such 
work.  Foliage  of  similar  style  occurs  in  domestic  work 
at  Trau,  and  in  other  places  along  the  coast,  so  that  it  is 
scarcely  safe  to  consider  it  the  sign-manual  of  any  one 
sculptor.  The  time  from  1441,  when  he  signed  a  con- 
tract for  six  years,  to  1443  was  spent  in  widening 
the  street  to  allow  of  the  eastward  extension  of  the 
church.  On  June  16, 1442,  the  demand  for  the  rebuild- 
ing of  the  facade  of  the  count's  palace  (which  was  on 
the  other  side)  was  formally  made  for  the  bishop,  pro- 
curators, and  chapter.  This  additional  space  was  ne- 
cessitated by  the  design  of  the  apse,  &c,  as  laid  down 
in  Giorgio' s  plan,  and  still  existing.*  The  Gothic  char- 
acter of  the  domestic  doorway  illustrated,  with  the 
late  form  of  shield  in  the  tympanum,  shows  that  such 
forms  lingered  late  in  Dalmatia.  The  same  may  be 
said  of  the  design  of  the  rose-window,  finished  in  1531, 
and  of  similar  details  which  occur  in  undoubted  work 
by  Giorgio  in  Ancona. 

The  door  of  the  lions  in  the  north  aisle  is  quite 
Gothic  in  character,  yet  the  arms  above  it  are  those  of 

*  Mgr.  Fosco  states  that  Giorgio  submitted  a  plan  of  his  proposed 
work,  with  cupola,  apses,  and  transepts,  with  the  little  choirs — possibly 
a  model,  such  as  we  know  he  prepared  at  the  time  the  contract  for  the 
sacristy  was  signed. 


254  SEBENICO 

Leonardo  Vernier  (1453-1454)^  Bishop  George  Sisgoreo 
(fi.453),  and  of  Bishop  Vignacco  (elected  1454),  ap- 
parently fixing  its  date  thirteen  years  after  Massegna 
had  received  his  conge.  If  it  be  contended  that  these 
arms  are  a  later  insertion,  which  the  arrangement  of 
the  masonry  makes  possible,  the  value  of  all  the  coats 
of  arms  as  fixing  the  dates  of  the  portions  of  the  building 
on  which  they  occur  must  be  discounted.  The  design 
of  the  lowest  portions  of  the  shafts  in  the  right-hand 
jamb  is  different  and  apparently  later  than  the  rest  of 
the  work,  and  the  foliage  on  the  brackets  beneath  the 
lions  also  is  very  different  from  the  fine  caps  to  the 
west  of  the  crossing,  so  that  one  scarcely  likes  to 
assume  that  they  are  by  the  same  hand.  Upon  the 
pier,  above  one  of  the  capitals  attributed  to  Giorgio, 
which  has  been  compared  disparagingly  with  the  caps 
last  named,  is  the  date  1524.  This  is  below  the  level 
of  the  door  of  the  sacristy,  which  we  know  Giorgio  built, 
and  one  would  assume  that  the  pier  must  be  anterior 
to  the  door,  as  the  construction  of  the  sacristy  would 
scarcely  precede  the  roofing  in  of  the  aisle  from  which 
it  is  entered.  Moreover,  the  baptistery  is  beneath  the 
apse  which  terminates  this  aisle,  and  it  was  certainly 
completed  in  1452,  since  it  is  mentioned  in  the  contract 
for  the  sacristy.  The  mixture  of  Gothic  and  Renaissance 
forms  is  characteristic  of  Giorgio' s  work  throughout ; 
and  it  is  difficult  to  agree  wholly  either  with  Mgr.  Fosco 
or  Mr.  T.  G.  Jackson  in  the  different  conclusions  on 
this  subject  which  they  draw  from  the  same  data. 
The  fact  of  Massegna  having  been  dismissed  on  the 
definite  ground  of  errors  made  and  defects  discovered, 
with  the  additional  complaint  of  the  throwing  away  of 
money  upon  ornament,  suggests  that  the  earlier  portion 
was  not  left  as  we  now  see  it  by  the  first  architect,  of 
whom  Mr.  Jackson  says :  "  To  us  there  seems  no  fault 
in  the  design  of  Antonio."     The  design  of  the  western 


SOUTH-EAST    PORTION    OF    CHOIR,    CATHEDRAL,    SEBENICO 

To  face  page  254 


PRIORITY   OF   GIORGIO'S    CONCEPTION     255 

pair  of  caps  of  the  piers  at  the  crossing  is  as  different 
from  that  of  the  nave  caps,  which  are  certainly  Masseg- 
na's,  as  from  that  of  the  two  eastern  piers.  Mr.  Jackson 
says,  probably  quite  rightly,  that  the  torus  moulding 
decorated  with  the  laurel  above  the  leaf  cornice  of  the 
nave  marks  the  commencement  of  Giorgio' s  work  in 
that  part  ;  the  same  moulding  occurs  in  the  same 
relative  position  in  the  ambos  to  which  he  assigns 
the  date  of  1547  ;  and  one  does  not  quite  understand 
why  the  same  detail  should  not  have  the  same  origin 
in  both  places.  The  only  contract  of  1547,  quoted  by 
Mgr.  Fosco,  is  one  with  "  Checcus  "  of  Padua  for  350 
squared  paving-stones  and  for  laying  them. 

Whatever  part  George  of  Sebenico  had  in  the  con- 
struction he  must  be  classed  with  the  great  architec- 
tural designers.  Leo  Battista  Alberti  commenced  the 
recasing  of  S.  Francesco,  Rimini,  which  is  generally 
quoted  as  the  earliest  Renaissance  work  in  Italy,  in 
1446,  and  the  stone  for  the  work  was  imported  from 
Istria.  In  that  year  Giorgio's  first  contract  was  re- 
newed for  ten  years.  The  Lombardi  were  then  only 
commencing  their  work.  S.  Zaccaria  at  Venice  was 
built  by  Martino  in  1456,  and  the  Scuola  di  S.  Marco 
in  1485.  Pietro  was  engaged  on  the  Madonna  dei 
Miracoli  in  1483.  So  that  Giorgio' s  work  antedates 
theirs  by  some  years.  He  had  numerous  pupils,  whose 
names  have  been  recorded  ;  the  other  workmen  came 
from  Durazzo,  Curzola,  and  Spalato.  The  best  known 
of  them,  Andrea  Alexis,  the  Albanian  of  Durazzo,  was 
much  employed  in  Spalato,  Arbe,  and  Trau. 

The  votive  church  of  S.  Salvatore,  just  inside  the 
Porta  Pile,  Ragusa,  built  in  1522  after  the  earthquake 
of  1520,  and  designed  by  Bartolommeo  da  Mestre, 
master  mason  at  Sebenico  in  1528,  bears  considerable 
resemblance  to  the  cathedral. 

The  door  of  Giorgio's  house  is  beyond  that  of  the 


256  SEBENICO 

sacristan,  in  a  narrow  street,  the  Contrada  S.  Gre- 
gorio.  To  reach  it,  one  leaves  the  piazza  by  a  slope  be- 
yond the  Loggia,  the  ancient  palace  of  the  council  of 
the  Nobles,  a  building  of  1522,  now  a  social  club.  The 
slope  affords  a  view  of  the  enclosure  in  which  the  "  vere  " 
of  the  communal  wells  still  remain,  four  circular  well- 
heads, with  the  symbols  of  the  Evangelists  and  coats 
of  arms  in  roundels  upon  them,  surrounded  by  cable 
mouldings,  four  on  each.  Sebenico  now  has  a  fine 
water-supply  brought  from  the  Kerka,  twelve  miles 
away,  and  they  are  no  longer  in  use.  The  aqueduct — 
— the  first  constructed  in  Dalmatia  in  modern  times — is 
named  the  Lott-Brunnen,  in  commemoration  of  the 
clever  engineer  who  designed  it. 

Near  the  cathedral  is  the  little  church  of  S.  Barbara  ; 
the  bell-turret  on  the  wall  is  used  as  its  campanile.  In 
the  north  wall  is  an  ogee-headed  window,  deeply 
splayed  and  with  pretty  tracery  ;  below  it  a  little 
shrine  to  the  Virgin  is  set  most  oddly,  with  an  arch  pro- 
jecting  up  into  the  window  space.  A  little  higher  up 
the  street  is  the  fine  Venetian  door  illustrated  a  few 
pages  back,  with  columns  and  pinnacles,  and  returning 
wall  with  elaborately  shaped  battlements.  At  the 
church  of  S.  Giovanni  Battista  is  a  fine  external  stair 
of  fourteenth-century  Venetian  type,  a  double  flight 
returning  on  itself,  with  a  landing  at  the  change  of 
direction.  The  balustrade  is  continued  round  the  side 
of  the  church  and  the  tower,  but  with  square  un- 
moulded  shafts  in  place  of  the  colonnettes.  The  tre- 
foiled  heads  are  cut  in  the  rail  with  the  carved  spandrils 
between.  There  are  many  pieces  of  sculpture  of  the 
Venetian  period,  windows,  balconies,  &c,  in  the  walls 
here  and  there,  and  wheel-windows  occur  with  quatre- 
foils  filling  the  heads  of  the  spaces  next  the  circum- 
ference. 

There  are  also  a  few  pictures  to  be  seen.     In  the 


BELFRY    OF    GREEK    CHURCH,    SEBENICO 


To  face  page  257 


THE    GREEK   CHURCH 


257 


cathedral  is  an  Andrea  Schiavone  (who  died  here  in 
1582),  "The  Adoration  of  the  Three  Kings."  In  S. 
Domenico  alia  Marina  there  are  said  to  be  fine  Renais- 
sance altars,  and  pictures  by  Lorenzo  Lotto,  Palma 
Giovane,  and  Marco  Vecellio.  We  did  not  see  them, 
as,  on  the  occasion  of  both  our 
visits  to  Sebenico,  the  church  was 
being  restored  or  rebuilt.  The  in- 
terior of  S.  Francesco  isharmonious. 
It  was  in  the  archives  of  this  con- 
vent that  Mgr.  Bulic  discovered  a 
gradual  written  on  parchment  of 
the  ninth  or  tenth  century,  which 
had  been  brought  from  S.  Maria  di 
Bribir  in  1527. 

The  Greek  church  has  a  very  in- 
teresting belfry  of  late  Renaissance 
style  in  the  gable  ;  two  arches  with 
projecting  semicircular  pierced 
balustrades  for  the  ringers,  and  the 
bells  (which  are  clappered)  hanging 
in  the  free  space  beneath  the  arch 
above.  A  third  bell  is  in  a  higher 
arch  without  the  balustrading. 
The  Greek  Christians  celebrate  the 
Church  festivals  with  processions 
about  the  town,  treated  with  great 
respect  by  their  Roman  Catholic 
fellow-citizens,  of  which  one  held  on 
the  Assumption  may  be  described 
as  typical.  Boys  and  girls  with 
garlands  led  the  way,  followed  by  women  with  coloured 
aprons  and  voluminous  draperies.  Then  came  a  band 
in  gay  uniforms  and  plumed  head-gear,  then  priests  in 
vestments  of  cloth  of  gold,  swinging  silver  censers,  or 
bearing  holy  pictures ;  they  were  big  men  of  fine  ap- 

33 


COSTUME   OF   SEBENICO 


258  SEBENICO 

pearance,  with  religious  earnestness  in  their  faces.  In 
the  middle,  under  a  silken  canopy  with  gold  fringes,  a 
higher  ecclesiastic  walked,  a  venerable  figure,  with  long 
silver  hair  and  beard,  bearing  the  most  holy  object 
and  looking  like  a  high-priest,  surrounded  as  he  was 
with  clouds  of  incense.  After  the  priests  came  a  long 
line  of  men  in  country  costume,  powerful  figures  with 
flashing  eyes,  and  faces  full  of  character.  They  held 
themselves  upright  like  soldiers,  and  bore  large  white 
tapers  fastened  four  together.  The  sides  of  the  narrow 
streets  were  lined  with  Roman  Catholics  who  looked  on 
with  sympathetic  interest  at  the  religious  ceremonies  of 
their  fellow-citizens  of  a  different  creed,  an  example 
which  might  be  commended  to  sects  nearer  home. 

The  people  are  hospitable,  and  very  generous,  but 
proud,  and,  like  the  Spaniards,  easily  moved  both  to 
acts  of  violence  and  kindness.  There  is  no  nobility,  the 
patrician  families  being  either  extinct  or  impoverished, 
partly  owing  to  a  severe  epidemic  of  smallpox  which 
smote  the  town  in  1872.  The  men  wear  a  ridiculous 
small  red  cap,  like  that  worn  at  Zara,  but  smaller, 
often  requiring  an  elastic  round  the  back  of  the  head 
to  keep  it  on,  and  waistcoats  and  coats  ornamented  with 
large  silver  buttons  of  filigree  work  (older  examples  of 
which  are  works  of  art,  but  the  modern  mere  articles  of 
commerce).  The  collar  is  curious,  with  a  facing  of  red 
or  black  worsted,  apparently  intended  to  imitate  fur 
(shown  in  the  drawing  of  the  costume).  The  trousers  are 
dark  blue,  with  a  slit  towards  the  ankle,  laced  up  with 
silver  wire,  and  strong  shoes  are  worn  with  turned-up 
toes  covered  with  hide  lacings.  The  women  have  a  white 
head-dress,  a  cloth  twisted  round  and  fastened  to  the 
hair  in  the  manner  of  that  worn  at  Lussin  Piccolo. 
One  of  the  waiters  at  the  restaurant  who  came  from 
Spalato,  but  whose  side-whiskers  stamped  him  as  an 
Austrian,  told  us  he  had  been  in  Glasgow  and  other 


SCARDONA  259 

British  towns — a  rather  unusual  thing  with  the  men 
of  his  class,  though  many  of  the  sailors  are  acquainted 
with  British  ports.  The  dustmen  reminded  one  of  the 
days  of  one's  childhood  when  in  England ;  they  went 
round  ringing  a  bell  and  calling  "  Dust-ooh !  "  At  the 
sound  all  kinds  of  refuse  were  brought  out  to  the  cart, 
which  went  slowly  along  the  narrow  street. 

Sebenico  was  the  birthplace  of  the  celebrated  Nicold 
Tommaseo,  to  whom  a  statue  has  been  erected  in  the 
public  garden  below  the  piazza,  where  Sanmichele's 
gate  stands.  He  was  born  in  1802,  and  was  philologist, 
philosopher,  historian,  poet,  novelist,  critic,  psycholo- 
gist, statist,  politician,  and  orator,  leaving  behind 
him,  when  he  died  in  1874,  some  two  hundred  works. 
In  its  time  of  prosperity  the  city  owned  several  islands, 
of  which  Zlarin  is  the  most  populous  and  the  richest. 

Sebenico  is  the  usual  starting-point  for  the  ex- 
cursion to  the  Kerka  falls ;  and,  on  the  arrival  of  the 
boat,  tourists  make  arrangements  to  share  carriages. 
It  is  a  driveof  about  twelve  miles,  through  a  barren,  stony 
land,  till  one  reaches  the  park-like  country  along  the 
banks  of  the  river.  The  falls  can  also  easily  be  reached 
from  Scardona,  to  which  a  little  steamboat  runs  in  the 
morning ;  but  there  is  none  back  in  the  afternoon,  so 
those  who  are  pressed  for  time  generally  drive.  Scar- 
dona is  an  ancient  city  mentioned  by  Pliny  as  a  principal 
market-town  of  Liburnia.  The  ruins  which  remain  are 
late  Roman.  In  the  Middle  Ages,  Venice,  Hungary,  and 
Turkey  all  coveted  it,  and  it  suffered  accordingly. 
In  1411  it  became  Venetian,  in  1522  was  sacked  by 
the  Turks,  and  retaken  by  the  Venetians  in  1537.  The 
fortifications  were  destroyed,  and  the  town  abandoned 
and  afterwards  burnt ;  but  the  Turks  held  it  till  1684, 
when  they  finally  evacuated  it.  The  falls  are  about 
three-quarters  of  an  hour's  walk  away  up  the  river, 
which  was  the  ancient  boundary  between  Liburnia  and 


26c  SEBENICO 

Dalmatia.  They  form  its  final  plunge  to  sea  level,  for  two 
tributaries  join  it,  one  on  each  side  of  Scardona,  where 
it  virtually  becomes  an  estuary.  The  water  precipi- 
tates itself  over  five  terraces  some  300  ft.  wide,  a  magni- 
fied artificial  cascade  with  a  fall  of  150  ft.  The  main 
fall  occupies  the  centre  of  the  stream,  and  is  slightly 
horseshoe  in  shape ;  to  the  right  and  left  are  numerous 
smaller  cascades  with  a  little  island  between.  Many 
partly  artificial  channels  conduct  the  water  to  flour  and 
fulling  mills  on  both  sides  of  the  stream,  of  which  there 
are  some  fifty,  the  sound  of  the  mill-wheels  and  the 
fulling-hammers  mingling  with  the  rush  of  the  waters. 
On  the  Sebenico  side  are  a  mill  for  insect-powder  made 
from  the  pyrethrum,  and  the  pumping-house  for  the 
water-supply  of  the  city,  the  power  for  the  electric 
lighting  being  also  generated  here.  The  mills  are  not 
so  busy  as  they  used  to  be,  for  the  Hungarian  and 
Russian  flour  is  driving  the  home  product  out  of  the 
market.  The  spray  from  the  falls  rises  high  in  the  air, 
and  bathes  the  overhanging  trees  and  reeds,  keeping 
the  neighbouring  rocks  clothed  with  ferns. 

After  dinner  we  strolled  along  the  quay  to  the  south 
of  Sebenico.  There  was  no  moon,  and  the  stars  were 
not  as  brilliant  as  they  sometimes  are  in  these  southerly 
latitudes,  making  it  rather  difficult  to  pick  one's 
way  among  the  mysterious  darknesses,  which  meant 
obstacles  of  one  kind  or  another.  As  we  rounded  a 
corner  a  lamp  or  two  flashed  in  our  eyes  from  the  other 
side  of  a  little  cove,  and  sparkled  in  broken  lights  upon 
the  uneasy  wavelets  which  splashed  and  tinkled  against 
the  sides  of  several  coasting-vessels  moored  near  at 
hand.  The  semi-silence  of  the  night  was  broken  by 
musical  sounds,  scarcely  melody,  but  an  uneven  kind  of 
chant,  commencing  in  unison,  and  dying  awTay  in  a 
prolonged  melancholy,  wailing  chord,  swelling  and 
falling,  almost  like  the  notes  produced  by  an  iEolian 


MUSIC    OF   THE    MORLACCHI  261 

harp  as  the  wind  sweeps  over  its  strings.  The  glow  of 
light  which  showed  the  door  of  a  wine-shop  across  the 
water  marked  where  the  singers  were  enjoying  their 
melancholy  music,  which,  in  its  formlessness  and  dying 
cadences,  was  in  strange  harmony  with  the  shapeless 
undulating  dark  masses,  which  by  day  were  rocky 
islands  sparsely  clad  with  trees,  now  only  relieved  by 
the  glimmer  of  the  paler  water,  whose  lapping  formed 
an  undertone  to  the  stronger  notes  of  the  voices. 


XX 

TRAU  AND  THE  RIVIERA  DEI  SETTE  CASTELLI 

From  Sebenico,  Spalato  can  be  reached  either  by  boat 
or  by  rail.  On  our  first  visit  we  chose  the  train,  since 
it  gave  us  greater  choice  of  times  for  making  the 
journey.  The  railway  stations  are  generally  far  away 
from  the  piers  ;  we  had  observed  this  at  Pola  and 
Parenzo,  and  the  same  thing  occurs  at  Sebenico.  The 
hotel  porters  are  not  allowed  to  carry  baggage  to  and 
from  the  steamers  or  the  station ;  we  were  told  there 
was  a  law  against  it,  which  a  man  sitting  by  said  was 
just  enough,  for  the  odd-job  men  must  live  !  The  retro- 
spect from  the  railway  is  fine.  The  southern  end  of  the 
inlet  is  in  the  foreground,  with  a  training-ship  upon  it ; 
the  city  on  its  hill  lies  to  the  right,  crowned  by  Fort  S. 
Anna,  and  higher  still  the  Fort  S.  Giovanni  ;  while  to 
the  left  is  the  other  portion  of  the  inlet  which  stretches 
towards  Scardona  and  to  the  entrance,  dotted  with 
islands  and  terminated  by  low  hills.  A  bright  sun 
illumined  the  whole  scene,  increasing  the  lustre  of  the 
rocks  and  buildings,  which  contrasted  sharply  with 
the  colour  of  the  sea,  blue  as  the  luminous  over-arching 
sky  it  reflected. 

The  line  climbs  slowly  up  the  slopes  of  Monte 
Dinara,  towards  Perkovic-Slivno,  the  junction  for  Knin 
through  a  rather  stony  landscape  above  rich  and 
well-cultivated  valleys.  The  hills  in  the  middle-dis- 
tance look  barren,  but  the  foreground  is  interesting  on 

262 


THE    DESCENT   TO    SPALATO  263 

account  of  the  variety  of  broken  forms  caused  by 
projecting  rocks  and  stones.  It  is  starred  with  green 
humps,  and  there  are  trees  in  places.  The  humps  are 
stunted  growths  of  juniper,  sloe,  bramble,  hawthorn,  or 
a  trifoliate  plant,  with  grass  growing  in  the  shadow. 
The  trees  are  hawthorns,  ilex,  olive,  fig,  almond,  chest- 
nut, mountain  ash,  hornbeam,  or  elm,  and  I  thought  I 
saw  oak,  though  it  is  said  that  it  does  not  grow  in 
Dalmatia.  Colour  was  added  by  many  flowers,  orchids, 
iris,  yellow  daisies,  asphodel,  and  fields  of  pink  pyre- 
thrum  ;  while  the  dresses  of  groups  of  peasants  on  their 
way  to  or  from  Mass  gave  brilliant  patches  of  reds  and 
blues.  Vines  grew  in  pockets  of  earth  among  the  rocks 
from  which  loose  stones  had  been  collected  to  build 
rough  terrace  walls. 

At  Perkovic-Slivno,  the  song  ot  nightingales  be- 
guiled the  tedium  of  waiting,  shut  within  a  barrier, 
for  the  train  from  Knin,  for  one  is  not  allowed  to 
stray  about  until  the  train  arrives.  After  a  little 
further  climbing,  the  summit  of  the  range  was  pierced, 
and  the  lovely  Riviera  of  the  Castelli  lay  spread  before 
us  far  below.  The  long  island  of  Bua  stretched  to- 
wards the  strait,  by  which  the  ancient  port  of  Salona 
was  approached ;  a  land-locked  bay,  from  the  other  side 
of  which  above  the  peninsula  of  Monte  Mar j  an  rose  the 
campanile  of  the  cathedral  of  Spalato,  swathed  in  the 
scaffolding  of  its  long-continuing  restoration  ;  beyond 
was  the  sea,  with  the  southern  islands  in  the  distance, 
and  the  littoral  chain  growing  pale  in  serial  perspective. 
It  formed  an  enchanting  whole,  equalling  views  which 
have  a  world-wide  reputation,  opalescent  in  the  morn- 
ing sunlight,  with  pale  purples,  blues,  and  greens  thrown 
like  a  veil  over  the  rich  soil  and  the  grey  limestone  of 
the  mountains.  The  line  descends  rapidly,  too  rapidly 
for  one's  desires,  and  approaches  the  shore  near  the 
fourth  of  the  castelli,  rounds  the  bavin  which  Vranjic 


264  TR  AU  AND  THE  RIVIERA  OF  THE  CASTELLI 

lies,  passing  beneath  Salona,  and,  crossing  the  Jader, 
arrives  at  the  Spalato  station  through  cuttings  which 
prevent  one  from  seeing  anything  of  the  palace  wall. 

On  other  occasions  we  went  by  boat,  reaching 
Spalato  in  the  evening.  After  the  Punta  Planka,  the 
ancient  Promontorium  Syrtis  is  passed,  where  the 
water  is  often  rough,  since  there  is  no  protecting  screen 
of  islands,  the  campanili  and  towers  of  Trau  come  into 
sight,  between  which  and  Bua  there  is  a  swing 
bridge  across  the  channel.  Beyond  this  the  boat  passes 
under  the  lee  of  Bua,  on  the  shore  of  which  is  a  solitary 
white  monastery;  whilst  on  the  opposite  shore  the 
buildings  of  the  Castelli  throw  long  tremulous  reflec- 
tions across  the  water,  and  boats  with  sails  painted 
in  various  colours  and  patterns  pass  to  right  and 
left,  flushed  with  the  rays  of  the  setting  sun,  and 
leaving  trails  of  light  or  dark  behind  them  according 
as  the  water  reflects  the  land  or  the  sky.  As  the  sun 
sinks  lower,  leaving  the  sea  in  shadow,  the  glow  upon 
the  hills  becomes  more  and  more  roseate,  till  at  last 
it  fades,  as  the  strait  is  passed  and  the  harbour  opens. 
The  smoke  from  a  cement  factory  hangs  in  the  air  like 
evening  mists  in  an  English  valley  ;  and,  as  we  approach 
still  nearer,  the  long  line  of  buildings  upon  the  quays, 
dominated  by  the  great  campanile  and  the  colonnade 
of  Diocletian's  palace,  gradually  grows  more  impressive 
in  the  failing  light. 

It  is  distinctly  asserted  by  Strabo  that  Trau,  the 
ancient  Tragurium,  was  founded  in  the  fourth  century 
B.C.  by  Greek  Sicilians  from  Lissa.  At  a  later  date  it 
was  certainly  a  Roman  colony.  After  the  fall  of  the 
Western  empire  it  was  subject  to  the  emperors  of  By- 
zantium, and  for  forty  years  or  so  in  the  ninth  century 
to  the  Franks,  after  which  Hungarians,  Byzantines, 
Genoese,  and  Croats  struggled  for  it,  till  in  1420  it  was 
taken  by  Venice.     Its  first  privilege  was  granted  by 


MEDIEVAL   TRAU  265 

Coloman  of  Hungary  in  1108,  renewed  and  amplified 
by  Stephen  in  1124,  Geysa  III.  in  1151,  and  Bela  III. 
in  1 182.  Bela  IV.,  with  his  family,  treasures,  and  a 
brilliant  following,  took  refuge  here  in  1241  from  the 
Tartar  hordes.  He  was  received  with  due  honours, 
and  conceded  in  return  the  confirmation  of  ancient 
privileges,  &c.  The  city  was  mainly  Slav  during  the 
Middle  Ages,  and,  on  the  whole,  was  happy  and  peaceful 
under  Hungarian  rule,  though  sacked  by  the  Saracens 
in  1123,  and  by  the  Venetians  in  1194,  under  the 
leadership  of  Vitale  Michiele.  Between  1322  and  1358 
it  belonged  to  the  Venetians. 

Under  Venetian  rule  the  walls  of  Dalmatian  cities 
towards  the  sea  were  weak,  and  often  formed  merely 
by  houses  and  towers  belonging  to  private  persons. 
Those  of  Trau  are  no  earlier  than  the  thirteenth  century, 
and  only  small  portions  of  that  date  remain  by  the  tower 
of  the  nuns  of  S.  Nicolo.  In  1289  a  wall  was  com- 
menced round  the  suburbs ;  and  Law  XX.  of  the  first 
book  of  the  Statutes  obliged  each  count  to  build  ten 
"canne"  of  wall  in  the  suburb  each  year,  as  Lucio  states. 
Notwithstanding  this  regulation,  it  was  not  finished 
till  1404,  and  one  tower  even  was  not  completed  till 
1 41 2.  The  suburb  was  called  Citta  Nova,  and  the 
dividing  wall  was  subsequently  demolished.  In  1290 
Stefano  d'Ugerio  of  Ancona,  podesta,  was  freed  from 
the  obligation  of  paving  fifty  paces  of  the  street 
between  the  two  main  gates,  which  was  laid  on  every 
podesta,  so  one  may  suppose  that  the  paving  was 
completed.  In  Venetian  times  Trau  had  seven  gates. 
Of  these  three  remain — a  plain  pointed  arch  near 
S.  Nicolo,  the  Porta  Marina,  and  the  Porta  a 
Terra.  This  latter  is  also  known  as  Porta  S.  Giovanni 
from  the  figure  of  S.  Giovanni  Orsino  which  crowns  it, 
and  before  which  a  lamp  continually  burns.  The  gate 
is  Renaissance,  with  the  S.  Mark's  lion  in  an  oblong 

34 


266TRAU  AND  THE  RIVIERA  OF  THE  CASTELLI 

panel  above  the  arch.  From  the  middle  of  the  base  of 
this  panel  a  little  cypress  grew,  which  remained  the 
same  size  for  generations.  The  country  people  be- 
lieved that  its  growth  was  due  to  the  wonder-working 
power  of  the  saint,  and  that  its  colour  foretold 
scarcity  or  a  fruitful  year.  When  I  was  there  the 
second  time,  in  1906,  the  podesta  told  me  it  had  died. 
The  sea  gate  is  also  Renaissance  ;  from  the  jambs 
still  hang  the  ancient  doors  thickly  studded  with  iron 
nails,  and  behind  the  door  is  a  S.  Mark's  lion  with  the 
book  closed,  though  they  say  it  was  open  till  the  fall  of 
the  Republic.  Above  the  gate  is  another  lion  with  an 
inscription  of  1642.  Close  by  is  the  custom-house, 
which  groups  picturesquely  with  the  gateway. 

The  castle  at  the  end  of  the  quay,  the  Castel  del 
Camerlengho,  was  built  in  1424.  It  is  very  well  pre- 
served. The  three  smaller  angle  towers  have  been 
altered  for  cannon.  It  is  now  a  store-house  for  sand 
and  such  things,  with  a  small  garden  and  a  few  almond- 
trees.  In  the  corner  is  a  little  chapel  nearly  covered 
by  the  sand,  and  I  was  told  there  was  a  shallow  cistern 
in  the  middle.  The  round  tower  to  the  north-west  dates 
from  1378,  when  the  Dalmatian  towns  were  allied  with 
Genoa  against  Venice,  and  Trau  was  the  rendezvous. 
The  walls  are  battlemented,  the  octagonal  angle  towers 
have  had  machicolations  (tolerably  well  preserved  on 
one  of  them),  and  above  each  of  the  two  entrances  is  a 
projecting  defensive  work  of  the  same  kind. 

A  few  discoveries  have  been  made  of  pre-mediaeval 
things.  In  1899,  some  half-mile  towards  Spalato,  two 
terra-cotta  urns  were  found,  one  of  which  had  been 
mended  with  straps  of  lead.  It  contained  seven  bits 
of  a  statuette  of  Bacchus,  which  have  been  put  together, 
and  three  bits  of  a  larger  figure.  They  are  now  in  the 
museum  at  Spalato.  In  1903,  remains  of  an  early  church 
were  excavated  on  the  mainland,  close  to  the  wooden 


THE    PORTA    S.    GIOVANNI,    TRAU 


To  face  page  266 


S.    BARBARA,    TRAU  267 

bridge  which  crosses  the  isolating  arm  of  the  sea,  bringing 
to  light  a  mosaic  pavement,  part  of  the  apse,  and  one 
column.  It  was  probably  part  of  a  cemetery  basilica  of 
the  fifth  or  sixth  century,  just  outside  the  ancient  wall 
of  Tragurium.  Two  Christian  inscriptions  of  the  fifth 
century  have  been  found  near,  upon  one  of  which 
are  the  words  "  sancta  ecclesia  "  ;  and  close  by  was 
discovered  the  torso  of  a  prisoner  of  war,  apparently 
Roman  work.  Close  to  the  cistern  is  the  reversed  cover 
of  an  antique  sarcophagus,  and  part  of  the  front  of 
another  with  a  sixth-century  cross.  A  curious  custom 
still  existing  suggests  a  traditional  memory  of  the  site 
of  the  ancient  cemetery.  On  Holy  Thursday  the  Con- 
fraternity, after  visiting  the  churches  in  the  town,  and 
that  of  the  cemetery  (about  half  a  mile  away),  returns  to 
the  cistern,  and,  gathering  round  it,  prays  for  the  dead. 

At  one  time  there  were  twenty-one  churches  in 
the  city.  Those  of  S.  Nicolo  and  S.  Barbara  are  early. 
S.  Nicolo  (formerly  S.  Doimo)  was  founded  in  1064  by 
Giovanni  Orsini  for  ladies  of  noble  descent,  but  little 
remains  to  show  its  age.  There  is  said  to  be  a  Greek 
fragment  of  the  third  century  B.C.  in  the  court  of  the 
convent.  Two  early  caps  in  the  entrance  portico  appear 
to  belong  to  the  period  of  foundation. 

S.  Barbara  was  originally  dedicated  to  S.  Martin,  but 
the  name  was  changed  when  the  altar  from  the  church 
of  S.  Barbara  was  brought  here  during  the  Turkish 
siege  of  1537  ;  it  is  mentioned  in  1194.  It  is  the  most 
ancient  church  in  Trau,  and  the  lintel  of  the  door  has 
an  inscription  upon  it  with  diamond-shaped  O's,  as 
used  in  the  eighth  century.  The  ornamental  carving 
also  is  consistent  with  that  period  in  its  design,  with 
crosses  of  interlaced  work  in  the  centre  and  at  the  ends, 
two  griffins  with  tails  entwined  in  a  circle,  one  on  each 
side  of  a  central  feature,  with  a  rosette  within  a  cable 
moulding,  and  rough  trefoils  filling  up  gaps.   The  interior 


268  TRAU  ANDTHERIVIERAOFTHECASTELLI 

lias  nave  and   aisles,  with  four  stilted  arches  resting 
upon  columns  on  each  side,  and  three  apses  (of  which  the 


JHtKL 


PLAN    AND    SECTIONS,    S.    BARBARA,    TRAU 


central  one  is  larger  and  longer  than  the  others)  with  two 
niches  in  the  wall,  covered  by  a  semi-dome  on  squinches, 


S.   DOMENICO,   TRAU  269 

the  plan  being  square.  The  caps  and  columns  appear 
to  be  antique  for  the  most  part,  and  just  outside  is  a 
shallow  cap  of  the  same  pattern  as  one  at  Kairouan.  The 
aisles  are  very  narrow,  and  are  vaulted  with  cross- 
vaulting  without  ribs,  but  with  strengthening  arches 
thrown  across  to  the  wall.  The  nave  has  a  barrel 
vault  with  pilaster  strips  running  up  to  the  springing 
of  the  strengthening  arches,  which  are  all  round  and 
unmoulded.  A  moulding  with  three  projecting  corbels 
runs  round  the  base  of  the  apse  vault.  It  is  said 
that  there  was  once  a  central  cupola.  The  east  win- 
dow still  retains  a  lattice-pierced  slab.  The  church  is 
now  a  store-house  for  odds  and  ends,  with  a  floor  half-way 
up  over  the  western  part,  but  the  podesta  told  me  that 
they  hoped  to  clear  it  out  and  make  it  into  a  museum. 

S.  Domenico  retains  portions  of  Gothic  work.  The 
building  was  finished  in  1372.  A  rough  relief  in  the 
tympanum  shows  a  Virgin  and  Child,  and  on  the  right 
a  local  saint,  Augustino  Cassioti,  canonised  by  Pope 
John  XXII.  (1313-1334),  with  mitre  and  pectoral,  and 
on  the  left  S.  Mary  Magdalene.  At  the  feet  of  the 
saint  kneels  the  foundress,  his  sister  Bitcula.  A  Gothic 
inscription  gives  her  name,  and  that  of  the  sculptor, 
"  Maiste  Nicolai  de  te  dito  cervo  d  Venecia  fecit  hoc 
opvs."  Within  are  a  picture  of  the  Circumcision  by 
Palma  Giovane,  with  a  pretty  Virgin,  the  marble 
sarcophagus  of  the  family  Sobota,  a  grandiose  Renais- 
sance production,  andsix  panels  of  saints  on  gold  ground, 
rather  like  the  Gubbio  school  in  style,  arranged  in 
threes  on  the  wall  of  the  choir. 

The  cathedral,  however,  is  the  glory  of  Trail.  It 
replaces  an  earlier  building,  reported  to  have  dated  from 
the  sixth  century,  but  destroyed  by  the  Saracens  in 
1123.  At  this  time  the  Traurines  fled  to  Spalato, 
and  apparently  did  not  venture  back  till  1152.  The 
builder  of  the  main  part  of  the  cathedral  was  Bishop 


270TRAU  ANDTHERIVIERAOFTHECASTELLI 

Treguanus,  a  Florentine  who  came  from  Hungary,  and 
was  bishop  from  1206  till  about  1256.  The  south  door 
bears  the  date  1213,  the  great  west  door  1240,  but  the 
west  gable  has  the  arms  of  Bishop  Casotti  (1362-1371) 
upon  it,  and  the  campanile  was  not  finished  till  1598. 
The  plan  shows  a  nave  and  aisles  five  bays  in  length, 
terminating  in  three  apses,  while  to  the  west  is  a  broad 
and  lofty  porch,  above  one  end  of  which  the  tower  rises. 
This  porch  is  entered  by  an  arch  at  the  south  end,  but 
there  is  another  opposite  the  great  west  door ;  and  at  the 
further  end  is  the  fifteenth-century  baptistery.  Round  it 
runs  a  low  seat  with  arcaded  panelling,  which  serves  as 
base  to  all  the  shafts.  It  is  vaulted  in  three  bays,  with 
twisted  colonnettes  in  the  angles  of  the  piers.  The 
vaulting  is  quadripartite,  with  ribs  and  two  arches  three 
feet  broad  repeating  the  divisions  of  the  nave,  all  the 
arches  being  round.  The  central  compartment  rises  like 
a  dome  upon  the  surface  of  the  terrace  above.  In  the 
aisle  walls  are  two  pierced  circular  windows,  Roman- 
esque in  design.  In  one,  two  dragons  are  represented 
devouring  a  man ;  in  the  other  are  two  lions  rearing 
against  a  twisted  pillar  on  which  is  a.  cup.  The  bodies 
are  broken,  and  the  tails,  which  remain,  encroach  upon 
the  wall  surface. 

The  great  west  door  is  the  pride  of  all  Dalmatia,  and 
is  unsurpassed  in  the  elaborate  richness  of  its  carving. 
It  is  dated  in  the  lintel  inscription  1240,  and  signed 
Raduanus,  a  Slav  name  Radovan  latinised.  There  are 
two  orders  and  a  tympanum  with  octagonal  shafts  in  the 
angles,  those  nearest  the  door  apparently  having  frag- 
ments of  highly  carved  work  inserted,  since  the  plain  octa- 
gonal shaft  is  visible  both  above  and  below  the  carving. 
A  flatfish  gable  surmounts  it,  with  a  kind  of  taber- 
nacle work  at  each  end  above  the  figures  of  Adam  and 
Eve,  and  a  cresting  of  crockets  shaped  like  eighth-cen- 
tury crockets  in  a  similar  situation.     In  the  centre  is  a 


ill  3 


I — h 


PLAN   OF   THE   CATHEDRAL,    TRAU 


272  TRAU  AND  THE  RIVIERA  OF  THE  CASTELLI 

little  niche  with  a  later  figure  of  S.  Laurence,  the  patron 
saint.  The  tympanum  is  occupied  by  the  subject  of  the 
Nativity,  arranged  in  two  stages.  In  the  centre  above  is 
a  curtained  recess,  with  the  Virgin  in  bed,  and  the  Child 
in  a  kind  of  cradle,  above  which  the  heads  of  the  ox  and 
ass  appear.  Over  them  are  two  angels,  one  of  whom 
holds  a  star  from  which  rays  stream  down  on  the  Child, 
whilst  the  other  speaks  to  the  shepherds.  Below  are 
Joseph  and  two  women,  one  of  whom  pours  water  into 
a  tub,  while  the  other  washes  the  Child  in  it.  Behind 
Joseph  is  a  shepherd  (these  two  figures  are  named). 
On  the  left  are  the  shepherds  and  their  flocks ;  on 
the  right  the  three  kings  ride  up.  "Guasper"  and 
"  Balthssar  "  are  also  named.  The  arches  above  are  un- 
moulded,  but  carved  on  the  face.  On  the  outside  order 
at  the  top  is  the  Crucifixion,  with  the  Virgin  and  S.  John 
and  two  kneeling  figures.  Commencing  from  the  bottom 
on  the  left  the  subj  ects  run  :  the  Flight  into  Egypt ; 
the  Entry  into  Jerusalem  ;  the  Marriage  of  Cana,  or  the 
Feast  at  Simon's  House ;  the  Scourging  of  our  Lord ;  the 
Watchers  at  the  Grave,  or  the  Resurrection  ;  the  Temp- 
tation, or  Casting  out  of  Devils  ;  and  the  Baptism  of 
Christ.  Some  of  the  reliefs  are  damaged.  The  inner 
order  has  at  the  top  the  iVdoration  of  the  Kings  (Joseph 
stands  behind  Madonna's  throne) ;  at  the  base  the  An- 
nunciation (the  Virgin  spinning  on  one  side,  and  Gabriel 
with  a  long  staff  on  the  other).  This  and  the  cupola  on 
the  building  behind  the  Virgin  suggest  a  Byzantine 
model,  as  well  as  the  incorrect  monogram,  which 
is  T©.  The  rest  of  the  arch  is  filled  with  censing 
angels.  The  jambs  bear  four-feet  figures  of  Adam  and 
Eve  outside  the  orders  of  the  arch,  holding  fig-leaves  in 
the  same  manner  as  the  figures  at  Sebenico,  which  they 
much  resemble.  Below  Eve  is  a  lioness  with  two  cubs 
under  her,  and  a  lamb  in  her  claws  ;  below  Adam  a  lion 
with  a  dragon  in  its  claws ;  very  decorative  in  their  effect, 


CARVING    ON    RIGHT    JAMB    OF    WEST    DOOR,    CATHEDRAL,    TRAU 

To  face  page  272 


WEST    DOORWAY    OF   THE    CATHEDRAL      273 

and  standing  upon  brackets  with  channelled  supports 
enriched  with  balls.  The  pilasters  are  not  quite  homo- 
geneous, and  indeed  scarcely  agree  even  with  their 
fellows  on  the  opposite  side.  Next  to  Adam  are  three 
figures  of  Apostles  with  nimbi,  in  panels  made  by  the 
crossing  of  foliated  stems  ;  next  to  Eve  are  also  three 
figures  without  nimbi,  but  smaller,  though  the  panels 
are  similar ;  two  have  small  canopies.  On  the  other 
face  are  foliage  scrolls  with  animals  within  them ; 
on  Eve's  side  an  ass,  horse,  camel,  elephant,  hippo- 
potamus, and  the  Oriental  motif  of  a  griffin  stooping 
over  its  prey  ;  on  Adam's  side  a  woman  riding  on  a 
horse,  a  centaur  with  a  dart,  a  mermaid,  a  sea-horse, 
and  at  the  bottom  a  griffin  devouring  a  scroll,  with  a 
human  head  attached.  Below  the  ornament  are  semi- 
nude  caryatid  figures  on  one  side ;  on  the  other  they 
have  turbans  and  shoes,  and  one  has  ankle  band- 
ages. In  the  angle  is  an  octagonal  shaft  of  green  marble 
which  continues  round  the  arch.  The  reliefs  on  Eve's 
side  in  the  next  order  show  details  of  burgher  life  and 
agriculture,  probably  labours  of  the  months  or  seasons — 
pruning  leafless  trees,  the  preparation  of  leather,  a  man 
seated  by  a  fire  on  which  is  a  cauldron,  whilst  a  woman 
fills  his  cup  from  a  skin  over  her  shoulder,  behind  hang 
sausages.  Above  is  a  pig  which  a  man  is  about  to  kill. 
The  other  side  is  similar.  Above  are  shepherds  shearing 
sheep  in  a  wood ;  then  comes  a  figure  holding  a  scroll 
upon  which  there  is  no  inscription ;  below  is  a  warrior 
with  sword,  baton,  and  shield,  below  him  a  nude  man 
with  flying  hair,  both  among  twining  branches.  Upon 
the  other  face  are  spirals  of  leaf  ornament  with  heads  of 
men  and  beasts,  resembling  a  piece  of  antique  carving  at 
Spalato,  finished  with  extraordinary  care  and  mastery. 
Caryatid  figures  support  this  order  also,  turbaned  and 
clothed  with  tunic  and  cloak.  The  carved  portions  of 
the  inner  columns  are  of  a  white  limestone,  while  the 

35 


274TRAU  AND  THE  RIVIERA  OF  THE  CASTELLI 

octagonal  shafts  are  of  green  marble ;  and  this  gives 
some  support  to  the  legend  that  they  were  brought  from 
Bihac,  a  castle  of  the  kings  of  Croatia  and  Dalmatia,  and 
later  of  the  kings  of  Hungary,  a  short  distance  away,  of 
which  scarcely  a  sign  now  remains.*  These  shafts  have 
elaborate  scrolls  of  intertwining  branches  and  leaves, 
with  animals,  including  some  not  found  in  Dalmatia. 
The  hunter  has  a  greyhound.  There  are  a  stag,  a  bear,  a 
sow,  hares  dragged  out  by  peasants,  &c.  ;  here  there  is  a 
female  centaur ;  there  a  girl  seated  on  an  ox,  a  wood- 
devil  with  two  horns,  &c.  On  the  other  side  are  lions 
and  bears,  figures  fighting,  a  young  man  with  a  falcon, 
loose  dogs,  &c.,  all  most  carefully  carved.  Beneath 
the  lintel  two  caps  with  amorini  of  the  fifteenth  or  six- 
teenth century  have  been  inserted. 

The  south  door  is  simpler,  but  in  the  same  round- 
arched  style.  It  has  square  orders  with  rolls  laid  in  the 
reveals,  of  which  the  inner  one  resembles  a  cable,  and  the 
outer  chain  mail.  In  the  semicircular  tympanum  is  a 
round  window  enclosing  a  quatrefoil  surrounded  by  an 
inscription  with  the  date  1213  and  the  name  of  Bishop 
Treguanus.  The  side  walls  are  divided  into  five  spaces 
by  piers;  an  arched  corbelled  cornice  terminating  in 
mouldings  runs  along  them,  and  returns  up  the  slope  of 
the  east  wall.  Above  it  is  a  curious  little  loggia  with  very 
squat  pillars  and  brackets  imitating  the  wood  forms  of 
Venetian  courtyards,  but  cut  in  stone.  The  alteration 
in  the  slope  of  the  east  end  shows  that  it  is  a  later  addi- 
tion. The  same  kind  of  cornice  finishes  the  east  gable 
and  the  nave  walls,  and  also  runs  round  the  apses,  but 
with  richer  mouldings  above  it,  especially  round  the 
central  one.  The  curious  Dalmatian  square-leaf  en- 
richment, channelled  in  six  radiating  striae,  and  termi- 
nating in  a  small  volute  at  the  top  corner  occurs  here. 
There  are  two  shafts  to  each  small  apse  dividing  the  wall 

*  The  last  king  to  visit  it  was  Sigismund  in  1387. 


EXTERIOR   OF   THE   CATHEDRAL,  TRAU     275 

space,  and  one  window,  but  the  central  apse  has  four 
twisted  shafts  and  three  windows,  of  which  the  central 
one  is  largest.  In  the  gable  is  a  rose-window.  On  the 
roof  of  the  northern  aisle  the  lines  of  the  plan  and  eleva- 
tion of  parts  of  the  campanile  are  cut,  working  drawings 
for  the  masons.  Heads  of  beasts  project  beneath  the 
aisle  cornice  as  gargoyles.  Above  the  ground  story 
the  tower  is  Gothic,  and  has  two  Gothic  windows  of 
two  lights  on  the  south  side,  with  octagonal  shafts 
and  traceried  heads.  The  other  sides  have  arcading 
divided  into  two  panels.  Here  there  is  an  inscription 
giving  the  date  of  1422,  and  the  names  of  the  Masters 
Mateus  and  Stefanus,  probably  the  Matteo  Goykovic 
who  contracted  for  the  repair  of  church  and  campanile 
with  the  "  operarius  "  of  the  church  in  142 1.  The  stage 
above  has  tall  square-headed  windows,  with  reticulated 
tracery  in  the  heads  of  cusped  circles  or  quatrefoils,  and 
two  lights  below  with  central  colonnette.  The  angles 
have  shafts,  and  there  is  a  pointed  trefoiled  cornice  with 
carved  mouldings  and  cornice  above.  The  third  story 
is  Renaissance,  finished  in  1598  by  Trifon  Boccanich. 
Gothic  details  still  appear  as  in  the  shafted  two-light 
windows,  with  the  pierced  quatrefoils  above  and  the 
twisted  shafts  at  the  angles.  The  whole  finishes 
with  a  pyramidal  spire,  imitating  the  Venetian  cam- 
panile. The  gable  above  the  portico  has  an  enormous 
wheel-window  of  sixteen  divisions,  which  had  a  door 
beneath  it. 

The  nave  is  19  ft.  6  in.  broad.  Its  piers  vary  in 
width,  and  the  round-arched  arcade  is  irregular  in  its 
spacing.  The  north  aisle  is  broader  than  the  south. 
The  piers  and  arches  are  unmoulded ;  the  arches  have 
two  orders,  carved  imposts,  and  a  very  small  base. 
The  main  arches  of  the  vault  have  mouldings  at  each 
side  of  a  flat  surface,  and  are  pointed ;  the  lesser  ribs 
are  twisted.     The  central  bay  only  has  a  rib  running 


276TRAU  ANDTHERIVIERAOFTHECASTELLI 

east  and  west  at  the  summit  of  the  arch.  The  aisles 
are  vaulted  in  the  same  manner,  but  with  semicircular 
section.  All  the  vaults  are  domical,  and  those  of  the 
nave  spring  from  corbels  carved  in  the  style  of  Venetian 
fifteenth-century  work.  This  agrees  with  the  statement 
that  the  vaulting  dates  from  1427-31,  and  was  strength- 
ened by  chains  and  iron  anchors  in  1440.  The  central 
bay  has  the  south  door  on  one  side  of  it,  the  chapel  of 
S.  Giovanni  Orsini  to  the  north  ;  and  the  pulpit  against 
the  north-eastern  pier  marks  the  commencement  of  the 
choir,  which  is  raised  two  steps  above  the  level  of  the 
nave.  A  stone  bench  runs  round  the  apse,  but  there  is 
no  sign  of  an  episcopal  seat  in  the  centre.  The  ciborium 
is  somewhat  of  the  type  used  by  the  Roman  marble- 
workers  in  the  twelfth  century,  but  the  proportions  re- 
semble those  at  S.  Nicola,  Bari,  more  than  the  other 
Italian  examples.  It  is  of  grey  marble,  and  bears  upon 
the  western  angles  of  the  square  portion  figures  of  the 
Virgin  and  the  Angel  Gabriel,  the  latter  kneeling,  for 
which  the  change  to  octagonal  plan  for  the  upper  por- 
tion leaves  room.  The  figures  are  fifteenth-century  in 
character,  and  on  the  bases  are  the  names  of  the  artist 
and  of  the  overseer — on  that  of  the  Virgin,  "Mavrvs 
me  fecit "  ;  on  the  angels',  "  Bitalis  qda  Martini  opraHi," 
in  Lombardic  letters.  The  "  operarii  "  were  generally 
nobles,  and  had  control  of  the  church  works.  A  gilded 
inscription  on  the  front  of  the  architrave  gives  the 
angelic  greeting.  The  columns  are  of  cipollino ;  the 
caps,  once  gilded,  are  very  like  those  of  the  pulpit, 
which  seems  to  be  of  the  same  date.  It  is  octagonal 
and  surrounded  by  round-arched  arcading,  two  arches 
to  a  side,  with  coupled  columns  on  the  sides  and  three 
at  the  angles,  above  single  arches  resting  upon  shafts 
of  precious  marbles  with  elaborate  caps  which  also  at 
one  time  were  gilded.  The  design  suggests  the  copying 
of  a  metal  original  in  the  treatment  of  the  foliage  scrolls 


INTERIOR    OF    THE    CATHEDRAL,    TRAU 


To  face  page  276 


INTERIOR   OF   THE    CATHEDRAL,   TRAU     277 

and  the  heads  of  the  monsters,  and  contrasts  with  the 
pulpit  at  Spalato,  in  which  a  wood  treatment  of  the 
capitals  is  suggested.  The  column  for  the  book-rest 
stands  on  a  little  lion  bracket ;  of  the  eagle  which 
once  surmounted  it  only  the  claws  remain.  Beneath  it 
William,  son  of  Baldwin,  emperor  of  Constantinople, 
was  buried  in  1242.  The  choir  stalls  are  of  the 
fourteenth-century  Gothic  type,  like  those  at  Arbe 
and  Zara,  touched  with  colour  and  gilding.  They  cost 
eighteen  ducats  of  gold  each,  and  were  restored  in  1757 
and  1852.  The  carved  portions  are  added,  not  cut 
out  of  the  solid.  The  chapel  of  S.  Jerome  at  the  west 
end  on  the  north  was  built  in  1458.  It  has  a  quatre- 
foil  wooden  grille,  made  by  cutting  triangles  out  of 
the  uprights  and  cross-pieces  equal  in  size  to  the 
angles  remaining.  On  the  west  wall  is  a  little  relief 
of  a  Virgin  and  Child,  S.  Jerome,  and  a  saint  with 
halberd,  beneath  early  Renaissance  niches  and  chan- 
nelled pilasters.  On  the  nave  piers  are  paintings,  most 
of  them  of  little  value.  A  S.  Jerome  and  S.  John  the 
Baptist  show  decorative  feeling  in  the  landscape  and 
its  combination  with  the  figure  ;  and  on  the  second 
pier  on  each  side  is  a  row  of  nine  saints  and  angels,  small 
figures  as  if  from  a  predella,  which  show  a  combination 
of  Peruginesque  and  Florentine  design  and  colour. 
Eitelberger  says  the  paintings  above  the  side  altar  are 
ascribed  to  the  younger  Palma.  The  cross  of  lamps 
which  hangs  in  the  nave  recalls  S.  Mark's,  Venice,  as  do 
the  harmonious  tone  of  the  interior  and  the  colonnettes 
of  precious  marbles  of  the  pulpit.  The  great  crucifix 
was  brought  from  Venice  in  1508.  The  organ  was  made 
by  Frater  Urbinus  in  1485.  Its  wings,  painted  in  1489 
by  Giovanni  Bellini,  are  now  on  the  first  pier.  In  1767 
another  organ  replaced  it.  The  sacristy,  an  irregular 
building  of  1444-1452,  cost  4,020  zecchins.  It  has  a 
pointed  barrel  vault,  and  contains  a  very  fine  row  of 


278  TRAU  ANDTHERIVIERAOFTHECASTELLI 

cupboards  worked  by  Gregorio  di  Vido  in  1452,  made  of 
walnut,  carved  and  inlaid,  and  costing  125  ducats.  The 
treasury  was  once  the  richest  in  Dalmatia,  but  now  only 
contains  a  few  objects — arm  reliquaries,  ostensory,  and 
a  silver-gilt  ewer,  &c.  The  most  interesting  things  are 
some  embroideries  and  a  MS.  of  the  ninth  or  tenth  cen- 
tury, with  very  beautiful  script.  The  embroideries  are 
the  centre  of  a  cope,  with  S.  Martin  dividing  his  cloak, 
in  high  relief  (the  horse,  drapery,  and  crown  in  seed 
pearls,  the  hair  in  gold,  and  the  canopy  ornamented 
with  gilded  discs  and  seed  pearls)  of  the  beginning  of 
the  fifteenth  century,  and  a  mitre  said  to  have  been 
Bishop  Casotti's,  with  the  Virgin  and  Child  standing  in 
the  centre  (at  each  side  Byzantine  roundels  painted  on 
gold,  the  whole  set  in  jewels  and  with  seed  pearls). 

The  chapel  of  S.  Giovanni  Orsini  and  the  baptistery 
remain  to  be  described.  S.  Giovanni  was  the  greatest 
of  the  bishops  who  filled  the  see  of  Trau,  and  was 
canonised  in  1192.  He  came  to  the  city  with  the  legate 
John  of  Toledo  in  the  time  of  the  Croatian  king  Cresi- 
mir.  The  papacy  desired  to  unif}/-  the  ritual  of  the 
Church,  substituting  the  Latin  language  and  the  Roman 
use  for  the  national  liturgies,  as  it  had  done  in  Spain,  in 
Milan,  and  Aquileia.  At  this  time  there  was  no  bishop 
of  Trau.  The  piety  and  strict  life  of  S.  Giovanni  were 
soon  noised  abroad,  and  the  people  desired  him  for  their 
bishop.  In  this  they  were  supported  by  the  legate,  and 
he  was  consecrated  in  1064  by  Archbishop  Lauren tius 
of  Spalato.  He  dismissed  his  servants,  and  went  through 
long  night-watches,  lying  naked  on  straw  spread  on  the 
floor,  to  mortify  the  flesh.  The  fame  of  miraculous  oc- 
currences accompanied  his  austerities.  His  hand  on  the 
wine-press  produced  abundance  of  juice ;  he  escaped  dry- 
shod  from  a  wreck  near  Sebenico  ;  and  destroyed  by  his 
words  the  war-engines  of  Coloman  in  n  05,  when  he  was 
attacking  Zara.     A  white  dove  which  settled  on  his 


THE   CHAPEL   OF   S.   GIOVANNI    ORSINI     279 

head  when  in  conference  with  the  king  at  Castell,  near 
Sebenico,  was  taken  as  a  spiritual  symbol.  He  prophe- 
sied his  own  death  and  the  destruction  of  Sebenico,  and 
miracles  were  performed  at  his  grave.  The  body  was 
found  in  Bua  after  the  Traurines  returned  from  Spalato 
in  1 152,  though  another  account  says  that  it  was  dis- 
covered within  the  area  of  the  cathedral,  near  the  high- 
altar  where  there  is  now  a  well.  In  1174  he  is  reported 
to  have  appeared  above  the  building  in  the  form  of  a 
shining  star ;  and  after  that  the  commune  adopted  a 
comet  as  the  arms  of  the  city.  The  chapel  stands  on 
the  site  of  the  more  ancient  double  chapel  of  SS.  Doimus 
and  Anastasius.  It  was  begun  under  Bishop  Turlon  in 
1468,  the  architects  being  Masters  Nicolo  Fiorentino 
and  Andrea  Alecxi  of  Durazzo,  the  stipulated  price 
being  3,300  ducats,  and  the  work  occupying  six  years. 
The  chapel  is  rectangular,  with  a  barrel  vault.  Round 
the  walls  a  seat  runs,  the  front  of  which  is  ornamented 
with  diamond  forms  filled  with  foliage.  Above  it  is  a 
kind  of  stylobate  with  pilasters  supporting  the  columns 
of  the  next  stage,  the  spaces  between  them  decorated 
with  reliefs  of  torch-bearing  putti,  who  are  represented 
as  issuing  from  partly  open  double  doors,  some  of  which 
are  very  pretty.  Each  side  contains  six  arches,  two  of 
which  are  pierced  with  windows,  the  others  having  shell- 
headed  niches  divided  by  channelled  pilasters  or  twisted 
columns,  and  tenanted  by  statues  nearly  life-size.  Those 
which  are  named  are  "  S.  Tomas,  S.  Ioannes  Evangelista, 
S.  Pavlvs,  and  S.  Filippo."  Others  recognisable  by  their 
attributes  are  S.  John  the  Evangelist  as  an  old  man,  with 
the  eagle  at  his  feet,  S.  Mark  with  his  lion,  Madonna  and 
S.  John  the  Baptist  on  the  end  wall,  with  our  Lord  in  the 
centre.  Vasari  says  that  Alessandro  Vittoria  did  four 
Apostles  in  the  church  of  Trau,  and  it  is  suggested  that 
the  named  figures  are  these  four.  The  architects 
carved  the  first  figure,  that  of  S.  John  the  Evangelist, 


280TRAU  ANDTHERIVIERAOFTHECASTELLI 

in  1482,  at  a  cost  of  twenty-five  ducats.  Between 
the  heads  of  the  niches  little  children  stand  on  the 
capitals,  and  above  the  cornice  is  a  space  pierced  by 
oculi  between  pilasters.  The  ceiling  is  coffered  with 
a  cherub's  head  in  each  panel,  except  the  central  one, 
which  is  four  times  the  area  of  the  others,  and  con- 
tains a  half-length  of  Christ,  surrounded  by  a  wreath, 
holding  an  orb,  and  blessing.  On  the  lunette  is 
the  Coronation  of  the  Virgin.  Above  the  altar  is  the 
ancient  tomb  of  the  saint,  upon  the  lid  of  which  is  his 
effigy,  with  silver-plated  mitre,  and  crozier,  gloves  and 
shoes.  It  is  of  red  marble,  the  front  being  divided  into 
three  panels  by  twisted  colonnettes,  once  gilt,  with 
statuettes  at  the  corners,  and  bears  an  inscription  giving 
the  date  1348.  The  angels  are  modern.  On  the  pier 
opposite  the  side  door  an  inscription  records  the  gift  of 
the  right  femur  of  "  B.  Jo.  Ursinus  "  to  Benedict  XIII. 
by  the  Venetian  senate  in  1724. 

The  baptistery  is  of  the  same  date  as  the  chapel,  and 
was  founded  by  the  same  bishop,  who  belonged  to  the 
Anconitan  family  of  Turglonia.  The  door  externally  is 
square-headed,  and  has  an  architrave  with  sculptured 
della  Robbia  like  fruits.  Over  it  is  a  Baptism  of  Christ, 
with  God  the  Father  and  the  Dove  above.  Within  is  a 
frieze  of  putti  bearing  garlands,  with  shell-head  niches 
and  channelled  pilasters  below.  Above  this  is  a  band 
of  Venetian-Gothic  leaves,  and  in  the  coffered  ceiling 
are  rosettes.  This  ceiling  is  a  pointed  wagon  vault,  cut 
from  two  great  blocks  of  marble,  which  meet  in  the 
centre.  A  round  window  in  the  west  gable  lights  well 
a  life-sized  figure  of  S.  Jerome  above  the  altar,  the 
warm  brown  tint  of  a  portion  of  the  stone  being 
cunningly  used  to  give  the  effect  of  shadow  on  the 
upper  part  of  the  figure.  A  seat  runs  round  the  base  of 
the  wall  as  in  the  chapel.  An  inscription  gives  the 
name  of  Andreas   Alexius  of  Durazzo,   and  the  date 


THE    LOGGIA    AT    TRAU  281 

1467.  The  cost  was  4,980  zecchins.  The  resemblance  of 
this  baptistery  to  portions  of  the  cathedral  at  Sebenico 
is  striking. 

The  Loggia  faces  the  cathedral  at  the  other  side  of 
the  piazza.  One  of  the  shorter  ends  is  open  ;  the  other 
is  closed  by  the  clock-tower,  and  on  this  wall  is 
elaborate  carved  ornamentation,  behind  the  seat  of  the 
judges.  The  floor  is  three  feet  above  the  piazza,  and  is 
approached  by  five  semicircular  steps.  Towards  the 
piazza  five  marble  pillars  (in  several  pieces)  support 
moulded  brackets,  upon  which  an  architrave  beam 
rests,  and  there  is  one  on  the  shorter  side.  The  caps 
are  of  different  dates,  and  for  the  most  part  come  from 
older  buildings,  one  indeed  being  antique.  Between 
the  columns  is  an  early  Renaissance  balustrade.  Stone 
benches  run  along  the  walls.  Above  the  judges'  seat 
the  wall  is  panelled.  In  the  central  top  panel  is  a 
figure  of  Justice  seated  upon  a  winged  globe ;  right  and 
left  of  her  are  half-lengths  of  winged  figures  with  in- 
scribed scrolls,  laudatory  of  Justice,  emergent  from 
circles.  Below  Justice  is  a  great  lion  of  S.  Mark,  and 
below  the  other  figures  are  S.  Giovanni  Orsini  with  a 
model  of  Trau,  and  S.  Laurence  with  his  gridiron.  At 
each  side  is  a  long  panel  with  a  candelabrum  very  like 
those  in  panels  in  the  chapel  in  the  cathedral,  which 
make  it  pretty  certain  that  the  carving  is  by  the  same 
hand,  especially  as  the  date  1471  appears  in  one  of 
the  inscriptions.  There  are  other  inscriptions  with  the 
dates  1513  and  1606,  and  later  coats  of  arms.  On  the 
corner  shaft  are  the  arms  of  Pietro  Loredano.  By 
the  judges'  seat  is  a  piece  of  iron  which  marks  the 
place  where  the  criminal  was  chained  when  his  crime 
was  announced.  The  restoration  was  carried  out  in 
1892  by  Professor  Hauser.  Right  of  the  steps  three 
standard  measures  stood  till  1843. 

It  is  interesting  to  note  a  few  of  the  pains  and 

36 


282TRAU  ANDTHERIVIERAOFTHECASTELLI 

penalties  inflicted.  The  statute  was  revised  in  1291 
and  1303  by  the  first  Venetian  Count,  M.  Morosini, 
who  collected  the  chapters  into  three  volumes.  The 
town  physician  was  not  allowed  to  leave  the  town  with- 
out permission  from  the  count  under  a  fine  of  twenty- 
five  lire  di  piccoli.  No  one  could  go  about  at  night 
without  a  light,  and  a  fine  of  forty  soldi  was  incurred  by 
gambling  anywhere  except  in  the  piazza.  Spinning  was 
forbidden  to  the  saleswomen  on  the  loggia — fine,  five 
soldi.  A  servant  who  stole  from  his  lord  had  his  nose 
cut  off,  or  lost  one  or  both  eyes  if  the  value  was  ten  to 
twenty-five  lire.  If  the  value  was  greater  the  thief 
was  hung  up  till  he  died.  In  Trau  there  was  neither 
bridge-playing  nor  company-promoting. 

Trau  is  tolerably  rich  in  the  remains  of  ancient 
houses,  of  which  the  drawing  shows  an  example.  The 
most  celebrated  is  the  Casa  Cippico  facing  the  cathedral, 
of  late  Venetian-Gothic  verging  on  Renaissance.  The 
court  inside  was  built  in  1457.  In  the  entrance  hall  are 
preserved  two  wooden  prow  ensigns  taken  from  the 
Venetian  galleys  during  war  between  Trau  and  Spalato  ; 
one  is  in  the  form  of  a  cock  standing  on  a  clenched  hand, 
the  other  a  fragment  of  a  small  figure  of  a  man.  Also 
an  inscription  flanked  by  two  shields  with  rampant 
lions,  which  are  good.  Opposite  the  Loggia,  on  the  other 
side  of  the  street,  is  a  highly  decorative  lintel,  which 
appears  to  have  belonged  to  a  palace  of  the  Cippico, 
with  two  contemplative  lions  and  half-length  angels  in 
roundels  with  scrolls.  The  caps  have  the  same  kind  of 
foliage  as  is  seen  at  Curzola  and  Sebenico.  The  Austrian- 
Lloyd  office  is  on  the  ground  floor  of  a  tower  of  the 
Venetian  period,  now  a  nunnery.  It  has  a  trefoiled 
ogee- window  and  a  great  balcony  above  it,  with  trellises 
behind  which  the  nuns  can  take  the  air  without  being 
seen,  recalling  those  of  Sicilian  nunneries.  All  the 
other  openings  are  square-headed. 


A     DECAYED    PALACE,    TRAU 


To  fare  pa°e  282 


THE    CHURCH    OF  S.  GIOVANNI,  TRAU     283 

The  ruined  church  of  S.  Giovanni,  formerly  belonging 
to  a  Benedictine  nunnery,  has  exactly  the  same 
patterns  about  it  as  the  cathedral,  and  must  be  of  the 
same  date.  Along  the  nave  walls,  and  ramping  up  the 
gables,  is  a  double-arched  corbel  cornice  with  pilasters 
at  the  angles,  and  a  bell  turret  consisting  of  a  prolonga- 
tion of  the  nave  wall,  gabled  and  with  three  pointed 
arched  openings,   two  below,   and  one  above.     In  the 


LATE   GOTHIC   LINTEL  AT   TRAU 


tympanum  of  the  door  is  a  pierced  roundel  with  the 
Agnus  Dei. 

The  Palazzo  Comunale  has  been  rebuilt,  preserving 
the  portions  which  were  of  special  interest,  and  also 
pieces  of  architectural  carving  from  other  parts  of  the 
city.  Its  interest  is  therefore  rather  that  of  a  museum 
now.  I  was  fortunate  enough,  on  one  of  my  visits,  to 
have   the   guidance    of    the    podesta,    Commendatore 


284TRAU  AND  THE  RIVIERA  OF  THE  CASTELL I 

Madirazza,  to  whom  I  had  been  introduced  by  Professor 
Bulic  at  Spalato.  I  have  to  thank  him  for  showing 
me  several  things  I  should  otherwise  have  missed. 

From  Bua  (Bavo  or  Boa),  an  island  used  by  the 
Romans  as  a  place  of  exile,  a  comprehensive  view  of 
Trau  may  be  obtained,  with  towers  and  campanile 
breaking  the  line  of  the  houses,  with  the  strait  in  the 
foreground,  and  with  boats  drawn  up  on  the  shore. 
In  a  private  garden  is  a  palm-tree  said  to  be  the  most 
northerly  specimen  in  Dalmatia,  though  there  are 
several  at  Lussin  Piccolo,  which  is  much  farther  north. 

Our  first  visit  to  Trau  was  made  by  carriage  from 
Spalato,  and  occupied  the  whole  of  a  most  delightful 
day,  for  we  did  not  get  back  till  long  after  dark.  The 
excellent  road  is  due  to  the  French,  but  follows  the  line 
of  that  made  by  the  Romans  or  before  their  time,  pass- 
ing quite  near  the  Castelli,  some  of  which  we  were  able 
to  visit.  It  was  spring :  the  vines  were  making  long  shoots, 
and  the  fields  and  banks  were  gemmed  with  flowers  ;  on 
one  side,  the  sapphire  sea  ;  on  the  other,  the  mountain 
slopes,  with  scented  breezes  to  cool  the  ardour  of  the 
sun.  For  the  most  part  the  peasants,  men  and  women, 
were  busy  in  the  fields,  or  washing  by  the  stream,  and 
appeared  well-to-do,  though  we  passed  one  man  half 
naked,  searching  his  garments  upon  a  heap  of  stones. 
But  he,  we  gathered  from  a  gendarme  near,  was  con- 
sidered weak  in  the  head.  Long  before  the  town  is  ap- 
proached, the  towers  of  Trau  are  silhouetted  against  the 
horizon,  emphasising  the  point  of  land  which  they  termi- 
nate, grey  walls  and  dark  trees  running  together  into  a 
mass,  but  contrasting  with  each  other  on  a  nearer  view. 
We  started  on  our  return  a  little  before  sunset,  while  the 
sun's  level  rays  cast  long  simplifying  shadows  across  the 
landscape,  and  enjoyed  the  glow  upon  flowery  hillside 
and  purple  crag,  from  which  the  houses  flashed  out  like 
jewels,  and  the  water  beneath  changed  its  colour  with 


BETWEEN  TRAU  AND  SPALATO    285 

the  changing  sky.  The  twilight  faded  while  we  were 
passing  Salona,  and  in  the  long  climb  to  the  crest  of  the 
rising  ground  above  Spalato  we  had  only  the  light  of  the 
carriage  lamps,  finally  alighting  outside  the  northern 
wall  of  the  palace  (for  carriages  cannot  enter  within  the 
town)  weary,  but  rilled  with  delightful  impressions  and 
recollections.  Another  time  we  went  by  boat,  starting 
at  6  o'clock,  and  enjoying  the  early  morning  freshness 
of  effect.  In  this  trip  also  we  had  the  opportunity  of 
visiting  some  of  the  Castelli,  which  are  interesting  gener- 
ally rather  for  their  picturesqueness  than  for  archaeo- 
logical reasons.  In  the  chapter  dealing  with  Spalato 
will  be  found  some  details  as  to  remains  of  the  early 
Croatian  period  found  along  the  coast  and  in  the 
environs.  At  Castel  Vecchio  we  saw  on  the  wall  of 
the  churchyard  a  cross  with  a  much  damaged  antique 
cap  as  base,  and  another  antique  base  on  a  larger 
scale  beneath  it.  It  was  6.40  a.m.,  and  along  the  shore, 
a  little  way  off,  a  procession  was  passing  with  a  tinkling 
bell,  two  banners,  and  processional  crosses,  preceding 
a  figure  in  a  cope  of  white  and  gold  beneath  a  canopy. 
It  was  Low  Sunday  (called  Piccola  Pasqua  in  Dalmatia), 
and  the  priest  was  bearing  the  Host  either  to  some 
sick  person  or  to  a  neighbouring  church.  Such  sights 
are  frequent  in  the  country  places,  where  religious 
observances  are  more  evident  than  in  the  towns. 

Whichever  way  Trau  is  visited  from  Spalato 
(given  pleasant  weather)  the  day  may  be  looked  forward 
to  as  giving  a  constant  succession  of  delightful  experi- 
ences, of  which  the  central  point  will  be  the  mediaeval- 
looking  city  with  its  magnificent  cathedral  and  glorious 
west  door,  though  the  quaintness  of  the  costume  of 
the  country  people,  very  individual  and  unlike  other 
Morlacchi  costumes,  will  count  for  something. 

The  Castelli  were  built  as  defences  against  Turkish 
raids.     Starting  from  Trau  the  first  is  Castel  Papali ; 


286TRAU  ANDTHERIVIERAOFTHECASTELLI 

Castelnuovo,  Castel  Vecchio,  Castel  Vitturi,  Castel 
Cambio,  and  Castel  Abbadessa follow,  and  Castel  Sucurac 
is  the  nearest  to  Spalato  and  Clissa.  These  are  the 
Sette  Castelli,  but  there  are  several  others — Stafileo, 

Andreis,     Cega,    Quarco,    and 
Dragazzo. 

Castel  Papali,  or  Nehaj,  is 
three-quarters  of  an  hour  from 
Trau,  and  was  built  in  1548  by 
Lodovico  and  Giovanni  Celio. 
It  was  then  called  Celio  or 
Lodi.  In  1680  it  passed  to  the 
family  of  Francesco  Papali,  the 
Celi  having  failed  of  heirs 
male.  It  now  belongs  to  Count 
Fanfogna-Garagnin  of  Trau. 

Castel  Stafileo  was  built  in 
1500  by  Stefano  Stafileo,  of  a 
family  established  in  Trau 
coming  from  Candia.  He  se- 
parated it  from  the  mainland, 
and  it  was  entered  by  a  draw- 
bridge ;  the  ditch  is  now  filled 
up.  The  concession  is  dated 
1484. 

Castel  Dragazzo,  or  Dracic, 
founded  by  Matteo  Dragazzo 
in  1543,  on  a  concession  from 
the  Venetian  senate,  was  never 

A   QUAINT   COSTUME,    TRAU  /-      •    i         i      •  r    i    • 

finished,  in  consequence  01  his 
death.  The  material  of  the  walls  was  used  to  construct 
the  port  of  Castelnuovo.  The  Dragazzi  appear  in  1389. 
They  were  originally  butchers,  but  for  about  three 
centuries  gave  the  country  men  of  intellect  and  valour. 
Castel  Quarco  "  in  Bile,"  of  which  very  little  is  left, 
was  built  in  1588  by  Giovanni  Quarco  with  a  walled 


< 
p 

w 

H 


THE    CASTELLI  287 

courtyard.  The  site  was  granted  to  Matteo  Dragazzo, 
who  ceded  it  to  Quarco. 

The  church  at  Castelnuovo  inherited  with  the  title 
of  S.  Pietro  the  rights  of  S.  Pietro  di  Klobucac,  a  little 
inland  on  the  slope  of  the  hill  (where  remains  of  a 
monastery  or  palace  of  the  ninth  to  the  eleventh  century 
have  been  found).  It  was  demolished  in  1420.  Ac- 
cording to  tradition  some  of  the  objects  there  preserved 
came  from  the  older  church.  The  fiala  of  the  high-altar, 
a  panel  painting  on  gesso  ground,  the  Virgin  and  Child 
seated,  on  the  right  S.  Peter  with  the  keys,  on  the  left 
S.  John  the  Baptist  with  scroll  "  Ecce  Agnus  Dei,"  half- 
length,  is  one  thing.  The  inscriptions  are  in  Roman 
capitals.  Also  two  Romanesque-looking  bronze  candle- 
sticks. The  Castello  has  a  square  tower,  which  has  lost 
the  balcony  which  surrounded  it  at  the. height  of  the 
first  floor.  In  the  piazza  is  the  Loggia,  rebuilt  in  1795, 
as  an  inscription  states.  It  was  burnt  in  1523  together 
with  most  of  the  houses.  The  prow  editor  e  granted 
materials  for  rebuilding,  but  it  was  again  burnt  in  1575. 
Until  recently  this  Castello  belonged  to  the  Cippico. 
It  was  the  birthplace  of  the  historian  Katalinic,  born 
here  in  1779. 

Castel  Vecchio  was  founded  in  1481  by  Coriolanus 
Cippico,  with  booty  gained  in  the  war  against  Mahomet 
II.  in  1 47 1,  as  is  testified  by  the  inscription  over  the 
gate,  "  Triremis  ex  manubiis  Asiaticis  hanc  villain 
aedincavit,"  with  date  1481.  Tradition  says  that  a 
house  on  the  left  of  the  eastern  gate  with  a  walled 
courtyard  was  also  his  work.  He  died  here  in  1493, 
leaving  it  to  his  sons  Alvise,  bishop  of  Famagosta,  and 
Zuanne,  archbishop  of  Zara.  Over  a  door  in  the  court- 
yard is  the  Cippico  crest  with  the  motto  ''Omnia  exalto." 
Opposite  is  a  chapel  dedicated  to  S.  Joseph  and  the 
Virgin,  built  by  Coriolanus's  son  Laelius,  according  to  the 
inscription,  with  the  incredibly  late  date  of  1695.     In 


288TRAU  AN D  THE  RIVIERA  OF  THE  C  AS TELLI 

1480  Nicolo  Pisani,  count  of  Trau,  received  a  "  ducale  " 
from  Giovanni  Mocenigo,  in  which  Cippico  was  pro- 
mised munitions  of  war  and  men-at-arms  to  preserve 
the  Castello,  and,  by  the  assurance  of  security,  to  attract 
cultivators  to  the  fertile  country  "  for  greater  public 
usefulness/'  This  seems  to  support  Karaman's  state- 
ment that  the  Castello  was  founded  in  1476.  An  in- 
scription of  1492  above  the  arch  between  the  court  and 
main  street  records  its  ruin  by  fire  and  restoration  by 
the  senate.  In  1500  the  Venetian  Government  com- 
pleted Cippico' s  work  at  a  cost  of  500  ducats.  It  was 
called  Castel  Vecchio  because  it  was  the  first  of  the 
Castelli  founded. 

Castel  Vitturi,  built  in  1487  by  Girolamo  and  Nicolo 
Vitturi  of  Trau,  by  concession  from  Count  Carlo 
di  Pesaro,  is  now  without  drawbridge  or  ditch.  The 
founder  of  the  family,  Lampridio,  son  of  Giacomo 
Vitturi,  a  Venetian  noble,  came  to  Trau  in  12 13,  and 
married  Bona  Cega.  The  Castello  is  square,  with  two 
gates,  one  to  the  sea,  and  the  other  to  the  north,  ap- 
parently entirely  rebuilt  in  1563,  except  the  north  side, 
which  still  has  two  turrets  flanking  the  gate  pierced  for 
musketry,  and  traces  of  the  holes  through  which  the 
chains  of  the  drawbridge  passed,  also  of  a  balcony  which 
was  probably  for  defence. 

The  next  one  is  Castel  Rosani  (Rusinac),  built  in 
1482  by  Michele  Rosani,  under  a  concession  from 
Count  Francesco  Ferro.  The  village  was  surrounded 
with  walls  ;  but,  fearing  that  they  would  not  be  able  to 
beat  off  the  Turks,  the  inhabitants  dismantled  them, 
and  sought  refuge  in  Castel  Vitturi,  which  was  larger  and 
better  fortified.  It  is  still  in  good  preservation,  how- 
ever, with  its  little  church,  which  contains  the  tomb  of 
the  unfortunate  lovers  whose  story  has  been  told  by 
Marco  di  Casotti. 

Castel  Cambio  (Kambelovac)  was  built  in  1566  by 


THE    CASTELLI  289 

Francesco  Cambi  of  Spalato.  It  is  still  partly  pre- 
served. At  one  time  it  formed  one  parish  with  the 
adjacent  Castel  Abbadessa  (Gomilica).  It  belonged 
to  the  lordship  of  Sucurac,  which  embraced  nine 
villages.  The  nuns  in  the  sixteenth  century  erected  the 
Castello  on  an  island,  and  here  the  abbesses  were  wont  to 
come  for  the  summer  ;  hence  the  name.  The  nuns  built 
the  little  church  at  the  entrance  of  the  village  on  the 
right  of  the  road ;  it  was  dedicated  to  SS.  Cosmo  and 
Damian,  and  consecrated  by  Assalone,  archbishop  of 
Spalato,  1159-1160.  It  is  suggested  that  the  Slav  name 
Gomilica  ("masses  of  masonry")  comes  from  the  fact 
that  the  newer  houses  were  built  with  the  ruins  of  the 
village  of  Kozice,  destroyed  by  the  Turks. 

Castel  Sucurac  is  the  nearest  of  the  Castelli  to 
Spalato,  the  first  to  which  the  Turks  would  come,  de- 
scending from  Clissa.  The  position  and  the  Roman  re- 
mains found  here  are  held  to  prove  that  it  was  a  suburb 
of  Salona.  It  took  its  name  from  S.  Giorgio,  a  little 
chapel  upon  the  hill,  which  in  Croat  is  called  Sut  Juraj, 
corrupted  into  Sucuraj.  The  church  was  built  by  the 
great  zupan  Miroslav  ;  and  the  ruined  walls  which  sur- 
round the  present  chapel,  showing  a  foot  above  the  soil, 
are  supposed  to  be  the  remains  of  that  church,  since 
there  are  amongst  them  a  few  pieces  of  carved  stone. 
The  most  ancient  Croat  document  existing  is  a  deed  of 
gift  of  this  place  and  church  to  the  Archbishop  of 
Spalato,  Pietro  III.,  by  the  King  Trpimir,  in  837,  in  ex- 
change for  £11  given  by  the  archbishop  for  the  construc- 
tion of  the  church  and  monastery  of  S.  Peter,  between 
the  ruins  of  Salona  and  the  fortress  of  Klis.  In  1076 
King  Zvonimir  confirmed  the  gift.  One  of  the  finest 
buildings  in  the  village  is  the  palace  of  the  archbishop, 
dated  1488  by  an  inscription  over  the  door.  The  Castello 
and  walls  round  the  village  were  built  by  Andrea  Gualdo, 
archbishop  in  1392,  by  concession  of  Valchio,  ban  of 

37 


290TRAU  AND  THE  RIVIERA  OF  THE  CASTELL I 

Croatia.  In  1489  Archbishop  Bartolommeo  Averoldo 
of  Brescia,  built  a  second  wall.  In  1503  it  was 
further  strengthened ;  but  two  years  later  the  Turks 
burnt  it.  In  1646,  after  being  repulsed  from  Spalato, 
they  attacked  Sucurac  again,  but  were  unsuccessful. 
The  first  summer  palace  of  the  archbishops  was  in 
Vranjic  ;  it  was  destroyed  by  the  Venetian  fleet  in  1204. 

Castel  Cega  was  built  by  Andrea  di  Celio  Cega  in  1487, 
and  rebuilt  by  Paolo  Andreis.  The  Celio  were  an  ancient 
family  of  Trau,  said  to  date  from  Roman  times,  and  had 
many  branches,  one  of  which  (extinct  in  15 11)  was 
called  Celio-Morte,  because  a  member  of  it  had  the 
habit  of  threatening  opponents  with  death,  and  used  a 
skull  for  his  crest. 

The  following  privileges  were  enjoyed  by  the  nobles 
of  the  Castelli,  or  founders  of  the  towns.  The  right  to 
special  contributions  from  the  country  people,  and  the 
jus  patronato  of  the  churches.  The  sacristan,  without 
their  assent,  could  not  give  the  third  signal  of  the  Mass, 
nor  of  Vespers  on  festival  days,  a  usage  which  is  still 
observed  at  Castel  Cambio  and  Castel  Vitturi.  In  the 
church  they  had  their  own  benches,,  and  the  space  they 
occupied  could  not  be  taken  by  any  one  else,  not  even  for 
the  erection  of  new  altars.  When  the  provveditore  was 
present  at  solemn  functions  a  bench  was  placed  for  him 
and  the  "  padroni,"  as  well  as  for  the  authorities  of 
the  Castelli  and  the  colonel  of  the  district.  They  were 
the  first  to  receive  incense  after  the  priest  at  Mass  ;  and 
there  were  numerous  other  similar  customs.  If  a  child 
of  the  "padrone"  died,  all  the  bells  rang ;  if  an  adult, 
they  were  clappered ;  and  all  the  confraternities  had  to 
be  present  at  the  funeral,  whether  in  the  village,  at 
Spalato,  or  at  Trau.  The  "  padrone  "  was  the  medium 
of  communication  between  the  higher  authorities  and 
the  village  headman,  who  had  to  close  the  gates  at  night, 
and  take  him  the  key.     He  received  the  tolls  paid  for 


PRIVILEGES    OF    THE    NOBLES  291 

living  in  the  village ;  and  there  was  a  kind  of  corvee  of 
forced  work.  Moreover,  he  had  the  right  to  buy  the 
houses  of  those  who  sold  them,  at  a  third  less  than  their 
real  value,  to  sell  again  to  fresh  inhabitants.  The  oil- 
mills  belonged  to  him,  and  a  fifth  of  the  produce  was 
divided  between  him  and  the  customs.  If  the  olives 
were  taken  elsewhere  a  tenth  of  the  oil  was  paid  to  him 
all  the  same.  Wine-presses  were  also  his  property  ;  the 
oven,  too,  and  a  proportion  of  the  wine  made  and  bread 
baked  went  to  him.  Nothing  could  be  bought  or  sold 
without  his  license.  He  received  all  the  tongues  of 
oxen  killed,  and  the  heads  of  pigs.  He  covered  the 
cistern  in  time  of  drought,  and  water  could  only  be 
drawn  when  he  took  the  cover  off.  The  streets  were 
ordered  to  be  kept  clean,  and  slops  taken  to  the  sea,  not 
thrown  out  of  the  window  !  At  Christmas  and  Easter 
the  country  people  still  bring  presents  to  their  lords. 

The  proverb  "  Wine  of  the  Castelli,  honey  of  Solta, 
and  milk  of  Bua  "  is  still  justified ;  and  agents  for  wine 
merchants,  especially  French,  bargain  for  the  wines 
before  the  grapes  are  ripe.  Enormous  hogsheads  are 
shipped  on  the  boats,  and  the  transhipping  them  is 
often  a  dangerous  business,  if  we  may  judge  from  our 
own  experiences.  At  Castel  Vecchio  we  were  nearly 
spectators  of  a  serious  accident  when  a  cord  slipped, 
and  we  observed  that  the  men  crossed  themselves  each 
time  one  was  safely  lowered  into  the  hold. 


XXI 

SPALATO 

Spalato  appears  for  the  first  time  in  the  "Tavola 
Peutingeriana  "  under  the  name  Aspalathos,  as  a  station 
on  the  shore  road  which  led  from  the  promontory  Ad 
Dianam  (at  the  end  of  Monte  Marjan)  to  Epetium 
(Stobrec)  below  Salona,  but  appears  at  that  time  to 
have  been  a  place  of  no  importance.  It,  however,  is 
thus  proved  to  have  existed  before  the  end  of  the 
third  century,  which  makes  the  accepted  derivation  of 
the  name  from  "  ad  Palatium  "  plainly  erroneous.  Its 
great  celebrity  is  due  to  the  palace  which  Diocletian 
began  to  build  for  himself  there  shortly  before  300  a.d. 
and  to  which  he  retired  after  his.  abdication  in  305. 
Within  its  walls  fugitives  from  Salona,  who  had  re- 
turned from  the  islands  to  which  they  had  fled  at 
the  time  of  the  destruction  of  the  city  in  639,  found 
shelter,  and  so  the  existing  city  began  its  mediaeval 
course.  The  palace  faced  the  sea  to  the  south,  and 
along  this  side  were  the  imperial  apartments  with  the 
open  loggia  of  fifty  arches  raised  above  the  water 
upon  massive  substructures.  The  plan  is  not  quite 
square,  but  imitates  a  Roman  camp,  with  great  square 
towers  at  the  angles,  a  gate  in  the  centre  of  each  of 
three  sides  flanked  with  octagonal  towers,  and  with 
smaller  square  towers  between  gates  and  angles.  To- 
wards the  sea  was  a  water  gate  on  a  lower  level.  The 
material  is  marble  from  Trau  and  Brazza  limestone. 

292 


THE    PORTA    AUREA,    SPALATO 


To  face  page  293 


PALACE   OF   DIOCLETIAN  293 

The  sea  facade  is  about  550  ft.  long,  the  north  about 
530  ft.,  the  east  and  west  some  620  ft.  The  external 
walls  are  double  throughout,  of  worked  stone  filled  in 
with  concrete,  the  thickness  being  6  ft.  6  in.,  and  the 
height  from  60  to  80  ft.  On  the  three  land  facades 
are  double-arched  windows  20  ft.  from  the  ground, 
6  ft.  6  in.  broad,  and  a  little  over  11  ft.  high.  Only 
three  of  the  angle  towers  remain,  the  fourth  having 
fallen  in  1555.  The  principal  gateway  is  towards 
Salona,  and  is  known  as  the  Porta  Aurea.  Above  the 
gate  itself  is  an  open  arch  flanked  by  niches  on  each 
side ;  above  them  are  brackets  which  sustained  the 
columns  of  a  higher  row  of  seven  niches,  the  whole 
forming  a  grandiose  architectural  composition,  of  which 
the  illustration  shows  the  effect.     The  passage-way  is 

13  ft.  high  by  11  ft.  3  in.  wide.  The  other  gates  are 
known  as  the  Porta  Ferrea  and  Porta  Argentea.  The 
latter  has  practically  disappeared  ;  the  former  is  over 

14  ft.  high,  and  the  same  width  as  the  Porta  Aurea,  but 
without  its  architectural  magnificence.  These  gates 
gave  entrance  to  streets  which  divided  the  palace  into 
quarters,  that  from  the  Porta  Aurea  leading  to  the 
great  peristyle,  around  and  beyond  which  were  the 
public  buildings  and  the  imperial  apartments,  while 
the  women's  quarter  was  probably  to  the  west  of  this 
street,  and  the  officials'  rooms  to  the  east,  the  street  at 
right  angles  separating  them  from  the  more  important 
parts  of  the  palace. 

The  colonnade  of  the  peristyle,  which  is  114  ft.  by 
50  ft.,  consists  of  six  free-standing  columns  of  red 
granite  on  each  side  and  four  at  the  end.  Those  at  the 
sides  support  arches  beneath  an  architrave  continued 
across  the  end  and  rising  into  an  arched  form  over  the 
central  space  beneath  the  pediment.  This  portion  is 
raised  several  steps  above  the  general  level.  To  the 
left  is  the  cathedral,  an  octagonal  building  which  was 


294  SPALATO 

the  mausoleum  of  Diocletian,  with  the  campanile 
standing  between  it  and  the  peristyle,  through  which 
a  flight  of  steps  leads  ;  these  will  again  form  the  entrance 
when  the  restorations  are  completed.  Towards  the 
sea  steps  give  entrance  to  the  "  atrio  rotondo/'  a  circular 
ante-room,  once  decorated  with  precious  statues, 
paintings,  and  other  costly  ornaments,  while  the  lantern 
of  the  roof  was  covered  with  purple  hangings.  The 
decoration  has  vanished,  leaving  mere  construction 
except  for  the  fine  door  of  entry.  To  the  right,  at  the 
end  of  a  narrow  alley,  is  the  baptistery,  formerly  prob- 
ably the  emperor's  private  temple  or  chapel,  as  one  may 
say,  which  now  contains  a  very  interesting  font  made 
up  of  fragments  of  ninth-century  carving,  and  the  beau- 
tiful doors  of  the  cathedral,  stored  there  temporarily. 
The  base  blocks  of  the  cathedral  are  nearly  20  ft.  high, 
and  there  are  twenty-two  steps  in  the  flight  of  approach. 
The  portico  which  surrounds  it  has  columns  of  marble 
and  granite  21  ft.  high.  Only  nineteen  remain  of  the 
original  twenty-four.  The  caps  are  Corinthian,  and  they 
sustain  the  usual  architrave,  frieze,  and  cornice.  The 
octagon  within  has  alternate  semicircular  and  rect- 
angular niches,  except  on  the  side  which  opens  into  the 
late  Renaissance  choir  ;  at  each  angle  stands  a  column 
of  Egyptian  granite  with  Corinthian  cap,  and  a  highly 
decorated  but  rather  heavy  order  runs  round  the  in- 
terior. Above  this  is  a  second  smaller  row  of  columns 
of  porphyry  with  a  shallower  order,  reaching  to  the 
springing  of  the  dome,  which  is  built  of  Dalmatian 
tiles,  arranged  in  imbrications.  Round  the  upper 
frieze  are  putti  hunting,  bearing  garlands,  &c.  The 
height  to  the  dome  is  68  ft.,  and  the  internal  diameter 
42  ft.  A  couple  of  niches  in  the  upper  order  are  so 
arranged  that  a  word  spoken  low  in  one  is  well  heard 
in  that  opposite,  an  arrangement  supposed  to  have 
been  connected  with  oracular  responses.     Before  the 


DOOR    OF    THE    "  ATRIO    ROTONDO,"    PALACE    OF    DIOCLETIAN, 

SPALATO 

To  face  page  294 


PLAN    OF    CATHEDRAL   AND    CAMPANILE,    SPALATO 


296  SPALATO 

restoration  there  were  galleries  on  the  columns,  both 
below  and  above. 

The  high-altar  stands  under  the  niche  which  has  been 
opened  to  give  access  to  the  choir.  At  each  side  of  it 
are  the  altars  of  S.  Ranier  and  S.  Anastasius,  the  latter 
made  by  George  of  Sebenico  in  1448  to  match  the  former, 
made  in  1427  by  the  Milanese  Gasparo  Bonino,  and 
both  Gothic.  To  the  left  is  the  very  beautiful  pulpit 
shown  in  the  illustration.  It  bears  considerable 
resemblance  to  that  at  Trau,  but  is  superior  to  it  both 
in  design  and  execution.  The  lower  capitals  are  worked 
as  if  in  wood,  which  makes  the  tradition  all  the  more 
probable  that  Guvina  (who  made  the  beautiful  doors  in 
1 2 14)  had  to  do  with  the  making  of  it.  The  very  origi- 
nal stalls  in  the  choir,  with  their  curious  combination 
of  Eastern  and  Western  motifs,  have  also  been  ascribed 
to  him  ;  brought  hither,  as  is  thought,  from  S.  Stefano 
de  Pinis  when  it  was  destroyed. 

The  treasury  contains  a  good  many  interesting 
things,  among  which  the  first  place  should  perhaps  be 
given  to  a  fine  Gospel  book  of  the  eighth  century,  upon 
which  the  suffragan  bishops  used  to  swear  fealty  to  the 
metropolitan,  reciting  the  commencement  of  the  Gospel 
of  S.  John  in  Greek,  which  portion  is  therefore  trans- 
lated from  the  Latin  for  that  purpose.  Eight  formulas 
used  by  suffragan  bishops  from  1059  to  I200  are  inserted 
in  it.  Two  other  MSS.  are  interesting  on  account  of 
their  bindings,  a  Gospel  book  and  a  missal,  both  of  the 
thirteenth  century,  reset  in  the  seventeenth.  On  one  is 
Christ  seated  on  the  rainbow  in  the  attitude  of  blessing, 
within  a  mandorla,  with  cruciferous  nimbus  and  the 
monograms  "  IC  XC,"  the  corners  being  filled  with  the 
symbols  and  names  of  the  Evangelists ;  on  the  back  is 
the  Madonna  enthroned  with  the  Child,  and  two  angels 
in  circles  ;  above  is  the  inscription  "  Michael,  Mater  Dni, 
Gabriel."     The  other  binding,  which  is  rather  later  in 


INTERIOR    OF    THE    CATHEDRAL,    SPALATO 

To  face  page  296 


THE   CATHEDRAL   TREASURY 


297 


style,  shows  our  Lord  in  Glory,  with  the  monograms 
"  Ihs  xrc"  in  an  ornamented  mandorla,  and  the  Evan- 
gelists' symbols  ;  and,  on  the  back,  the  Crucifixion,  with 
the  feet  separate.     There  are  eight  chalices,  all  of  the 


RELIQUARIES    AND    CHALICE,    TREASURY,    SPALATO   CATHEDRAL 

fourteenth  or  fifteenth  century,  damaged  by  an  inexpert 
goldsmith  who  had  them  to  repair,  with  nielli  or  enamel 
grounds  to  the  medallions,  and  good  foliage  in  relief ; 
two  arms  of  S.  Doimus,  richly  set  with  gems  and  precious 

38 


298 


SPALATO 


stones  among  filigree ;  a  good  late  fourteenth-century 
head  of  S.  Giovanni  Elemosinario  ;  a  morse  of  the  same 
period,  with  gems  and  nielli ;  a  fifteenth-century  pax  of 
gilded  brass ;  and  several  interesting  and  very  early 
crosses,  probably  of  the  eighth  or  ninth  century,  some 
even  earlier.  One  of  these,  bearing  a  figure  of  Christ 
wearing  the  colobium,  and  resembling  Coptic  work,  bears 
the  inscription  "  HCA  HCA,"  while  another  of  rock- 
crystal  has  Coptic  inscriptions.     The  treasure  is  kept 

in  a  cupboard  just 
inside  the  door  of 
the  cathedral ;  but 
in  the  upper  sacristy 
some  larger  objects 
are  preserved.  Here 
are  a  fine  silver  mon- 
strance of  1532,  a 
chapel  supported  by 
two  angels,  and  a 
chalice  of  silver  fili- 
gree ;  also  some  fine 
embroidered  vest- 
ments of  the  16th 
and  17th  centuries 


MORSE    IN    THE   TREASURY,    SPALATO    CATHEDRAL 


upon    crimson 
velvet. 


cut 


The  campanile  is  Romanesque  in  style,  and  dates 
from  the  early  part  of  the  thirteenth  century  ;  it  has 
five  stories  divided  by  strings,  and  was  nearly  170  ft.  high 
before  the  restoration,  which  has  been  going  on  ever  since 
1882.  It  was  largely  built  of  ancient  material,  and  at 
the  sides  were  two  sphinxes,  one  of  which  (headless)  has 
been  removed  into  the  museum,  the  head  being  built 
into  a  house  in  the  Ulica  Ghetto  ;  it  bears  an  inscription 
showing  that  it  is  of  the  epoch  of  Amenhotep  III. ;  the 
other,  of  granite  of  Syene,  is  still  among  the  scaffolding 


o  •*• 

<  & 

w 

4 

<; 

« 

Q 
W 
K 
H 
< 
O 

W 

H 

O 

en 
O 

o 
p 

(f) 

I— I 

> 

o 

o 

h-1 
w 

55 

*H 


CAMPANILE    AND    BAPTISTERY  299 

which  surrounds  the  campanile.  Lions  crouch  at  each 
side  of  the  stairs  on  the  level  of  the  top  step ;  and  on 
the  side  towards  the  church  are  interesting  reliefs  by 
Mag.  Otto,  probably  a  Benedictine.  They  represent 
SS.  Doimus  and  Anastasius  and  S.  Peter,  and  probably 
formed  part  of  an  altar  ;  above  is  the  Nativity,  in  two 
panels,  of  a  later  date.  A  third  relief  shows  the  Annunci- 
ation, and  round  the  arch  of  the  facade  are  roughly 
carved  struggling  figures  and  animals,  and  also  the 
Sacrifice  of  Abraham.  The  building  is  generally  believed 
to  have  been  commenced  by  Queen  Mary  of  Naples 
(1270-1323),  but  an  inscription  found  in  the  cornice  of 
the  first  story  shows  that  it  had  reached  that  height  in 
1257.  The  major  part  is  due  to  the  Spalatine  Tvrdoj, 
who  signed  a  contract  in  1416  to  construct  it,  and 
probably  took  it  up  to  the  third  story.  The  upper 
part  is  much  later,  and  the  octagonal  pyramid  was 
not  completed  till  the  eighteenth  century. 

The  baptistery  is  32  ft.  long  and  29  ft.  broad,  with 
pilasters  at  the  angles.  It  was  probably  prostyle,  with 
a  pediment  in  front  which  has  gone ;  under  the  cornice 
is  a  rich  frieze  with  symbols  denoting  a  dedication  to 
Jupiter.  The  door  is  richly  ornamented,  and  is  nearly 
20  ft.  high  by  a  little  more  than  8ft.  broad.  The  build- 
ing has  a  wagon  vault  of  three  courses,  carved  with  cover- 
ings and  rosettes  above  a  magnificent  cornice.  Resting 
against  the  wall  are  the  fine  doors  of  the  cathedral, 
carved  with  twenty-eight  subj  ects  in  panels  divided  by 
scroll-work  ;  amongst  the  scrolls,  animals,  birds,  and 
figures  appear,  and  traces  of  colour  and  gilding  may  be 
discovered,  the  design  showing  by  style  the  influence  of 
Byzantine  models.  Here  are  also  several  early  sar- 
cophagi— that  of  Archbishop  Giovanni  (|68o),  that  of 
Archbishop  Lorenzo  (11097),  and  that  of  the  two 
daughters  of  Bela  IV.  of  Hungary,  which  used  to  be 
over  the  door  of  the  cathedral. 


300  SPALATO 

The  panels  of  the  cruciform  font  were  put  together 
in  1527-1533  by  Archbishop  Andrea  Cornelio,  and 
probably  came  from  the  cathedral.  The  archaeological 
society,  "  Bihac,"  took  it  to  pieces  in  March,  1895.  It  is 
made  of  fourteen  slabs,  twelve  external  and  two  as  walls 
between  the  shorter  arms  and  the  internal  space,  all  of 
Greek  marble  with  blue  veins.  Six  of  the  external  slabs 
have  early  mediaeval  carvings,  one  has  Roman  ornament, 
a  Roman  inscription  is  on  the  back  of  another,  the  rest 
are  smooth  back  and  front,  and  several  have  been  sawn. 
They  are  nearly  the  same  height  and  thickness,  but  vary 
in  length,  and  were  part  of  some  chancel  enclosure,  altar 
or  sarcophagus.  The  carvings  are  probably  of  the 
eleventh  century,  and  are  extremely  curious.  It  is 
possible  that  they  may  be  work  of  pupils  of  Mag.  Otto, 
though  the  character  of  the  patterns  points  rather  to 
the  Comacines,  who  were  certainly  working  a  little  higher 
up  the  coast.  In  a  passage  in  the  Porta  Aurea,  above 
the  gate,  is  a  little  chapel  made  in  the  eighth  or  ninth 
century,  and  dedicated  to  the  Blessed  Virgin,  S.  Martin, 
and  S.  Gregory  the  Pope.  It  is  said  to  have  belonged 
to  the  tertiaries  of  S.  Dominic  till  a  century  or  so  back, 
and  was  then  used  as  a  store.  Mgr.  Bulic  restored  it 
in  1899.  On  the  lintel  of  the  door  of  entry  is  an  in- 
scription mentioning  a  presbyter  Dominicus.  There 
is  a  "  Dominicanus  presbyter,  capellanus  "  as  witness 
in  a  deed  of  gift  of  the  ban  Trpimir  in  852,  and  the 
screen  of  a  chapel  of  Trpimir  at  Rizinice,  near  Salona,  is 
like  that  of  this  little  chapel  in  style.  This  is  the  oldest 
place  of  worship  in  Dalmatia,  except  the  cathedral. 
It  occupies  the  space  between  the  two  niches  above  the 
archway,  and  the  pierced  window-slabs  of  the  ninth 
century  still  remain  in  the  little  windows.  The  screen 
has  two  octagonal  colonnettes  with  a  cable  necking,  and 
rough  caps  with  volutes,  but  no  foliations  support  an 
arch  beneath  a  steep  gable  ;  a  Latin  cross  with  grifhns 


CARVING    IN    EARLY    CHURCHES         301 

crouching  on  each  side  fills  the  space  between.  Round 
the  arch  and  along  the  frieze  runs  an  inscription.  All 
along  are  the  simple  crockets  called  by  the  Italians 
"  caulicoli."  The  slabs  at  the  bottom  are  surrounded 
by  a  running  pattern  bordered  by  zigzags.  A  number 
of  remains  of  this  period  have  been  found  in  Dalmatia, 
of  which  a  few  may  here  be  noted.  The  most  ancient 
inscription  of  the  national  dynasty  is  on  the  fragments 
of  the  screen  already  referred  to  at  Rizinice,  between 
Clissa  and  Salona,  where  the  ban  Trpimir  founded  a 
convent  of  Benedictines  in  860,  and  where  the  founda- 
tions of  church  and  castle  were  excavated  in  1895-1899. 
The  church  of  S.  Maria  de  Salona,  or  de  Otok,  lies 
on  an  island  in  the  Jader  joined  by  a  bridge  to  the 
Clissa  road.  It  was  founded  by  Queen  Helena,  whose 
sarcophagus  was  discovered  among  the  foundations  in 
1898,  and  bears  the  date  976  and  the  name  of  Helena, 
wife  of  King  Mihael  and  mother  of  King  Stefanus. 
The  church  was  a  small  basilica  with  nave  and  aisles, 
and  an  apse  in  the  thickness  of  the  eastern  wall,  with 
three  piers  and  corresponding  pilasters  in  the  side 
walls.  It  was  about  36  ft.  long,  with  a  width  of 
11  ft.  6  in.  the  nave,  and  7  ft.  4  in.  the  aisles.  There  was 
one  west  door,  a  narthex  of  two  bays,  and  an  atrium. 
Amongst  fragments  of  ninth  and  tenth-century  carving 
a  pattern  closely  resembling  Syrian  ornament  was  found. 
At  Knin,  when  the  railway  was  being  made,  stones 
with  ninth-century  patterns  were  also  found.  This 
city  was  a  royal  residence  and  seat  of  the  courts  of 
justice,  and  in  the  middle  of  the  eleventh  century  the 
bishop  of  Knin  was  made  primate  of  Croatia  and  a 
councillor  of  the  king.  All  these  carvings  were  prob- 
ably executed  by  Comacines,  documentary  evidence 
of  whose  presence  in  the  country,  brought  from  Cividale 
by  the  Croatian  ban,  has  been  found  by  Mgr.  Bulic. 
Two  sculptors  only  are  known  by  inscriptions  earlier 


302  SPALATO 

than  the  Benedictines,  who  took  a  leading  part  in  the 
development  of  mediaeval  Dalmatian  sculpture  in  the 
twelfth  and  thirteenth  centuries.  These  are  Mag. 
Andrea,  builder  of  the  little  church  of  S.  Lucia,  near 
Besca,  in  Veglia,  which  is  earlier  than  the  twelfth  cen- 
tury, and  Mag.  Otto  of  the  eleventh  century.  After 
them  the  names  of  Guvina  and  Raduanus  occur,  at 
Spalato  and  Trau.  There  are,  however,  indications 
that  Mag.  Otto  may  have  himself  been  a  Benedictine  ; 
the  Order  appears  to  have  been  established  in  Dalmatia 
before  the  tenth  century,  and  to  them  S.  Crisogono,  Zara, 
was  due.  If  so,  according  to  the  rule  of  his  Order,  he 
would  have  inherited  the  manual  of  art  which  every 
Benedictine  leaving  the  mother  monastery  to  found  a 
new  one  carried  with  him,  together  with  the  liturgical 
books. 

] After  the  death  of  Diocletian  in  313  Salona  inherited 
the  palace.  The  imperial  apartments  were  reserved 
for  illustrious  guests,  and  the  rest  appears  to  have  been 
used  as  a  cloth-factory.  It  is  thought  that  it  was  here 
that  the  dethroned  Emperor  Nepos  was  slain  in  Odo- 
acer's  time.  Towards  the  end  of  the  fifth  century 
Marcellinus,  first  king  of  Dalmatia,  lived  here  for  a 
short  time  after  his  proclamation,  when  the  province  had 
been  taken  from  the  Emperor  Leo.  The  destruction  of 
Salona  in  639  drove  the  inhabitants  to  take  refuge  in 
the  islands  where  the  Avars  could  not  follow  them. 
When  the  Croats  drove  these  away  Severus  recalled 
some  of  them,  and  they  inhabited  the  palace.  The  bish- 
opric was  founded  in  649  by  John  of  Ravenna,  legate 
of  Pope  Martin  I.  He  it  was  who  converted  the  mau- 
soleum into  a  cathedral,  opening  the  door  on  the 
south  side  which  has  the  curious  ornament  round  it,  and 
dedicating  it  to  the  Assumption,  and  also  bringing  the 
relics  of  S.  Anastasius  and  S.  Doimus  from  Salona, 
and  placing  them  beneath  the  side  altars.  The  beginning 


pq 


HISTORY    OF   SPALATO  303 

of  the  Venetian  dominion  was  brought  about  by  the 
appeal  for  help  against  Cresimir  which  the  Spalatines 
made  to  Venice  by  advice  of  Basil  and  Constantine, 
emperors  of  Byzantium.  Pietro  Orseolo  received  the 
homage  of  the  citizens  in  the  cathedral,  defeated 
Cresimir,  and  made  peace  at  Trau  on  the  understanding 
that  Zara  and  Spalato  were  to  be  Venetian  thenceforth  ; 
but  the  Croat  kings  assumed  the  title  of  King  of  Dal- 
matia  and  obtained  the  assent  of  the  Pope  to  their 
holding  the  dignity  till  the  Hungarian  dynasty  suc- 
ceeded them.  In  1401  all  Dalmatia,  except  the  Bocche 
and  Ragusa,  became  Neapolitan  ;  and  Ladislas  was 
crowned  by  a  papal  emissary  king  of  Hungary  and 
Dalmatia  at  Zara.  His  viceroy  built  a  palace  at 
Spalato,  of  which  remains  exist  between  the  Marina  and 
the  Piazza  deir  Erbe  ;  to  which  the  Venetians  added 
the  octagonal  tower  for  the  defence  of  the  port,  so  con- 
spicuous from  the  sea.  Turkish  raids  were  frequent. 
In  1570  the  garrison  of  Clissa  nearly  took  the  city  ;  but 
twenty-six  years  later  the  Spalatines  retaliated  by 
surprising  and  massacring  the  garrison  of  Clissa  in 
a  night  attack,  led  by  the  archdeacon,  who,  with  three 
canons,  was  left  on  the  field.  Their  leader  dead,  they 
were  not  able  to  retain  possession  of  the  fortress. 
Under  Venice,  Spalato  was  the  principal  place  for  trade 
with  Persia  and  the  Indies,  and  many  noble  Venetian 
families  established  themselves  there. 

The  costume  of  the  country  people  shows  the  in- 
fluence of  Turkish  and  Oriental  relations,  and  suggests 
the  possibility  of  many  figures  in  Old  Italian  pictures 
being  painted  from  Dalmatian  models.  The  men  are 
generally  blonde,  and  wear  great  moustaches.  They 
are  fond  of  bright  colours,  and  wear  light-blue  tight 
cloth  hose,  red-and-green  stockings,  the  usual  shoes,  a 
broad  red-leather  girdle,  which  used  to  have  weapons  in 
it,  a  red  waistcoat,  a  short  brown  jacket  embroidered 


304  SPALATO 

with  red  and  ornamented  at  the  corners  with  red  and 
white  stripes,  and  on  the  head  a  turban  of  a  red-brown 
colour.  These  costumes  may  be  seen  in  numbers  in 
the  morning  in  the  market,  on  the  way  to  the  station. 
The  women  have  a  shawl  or  folded  piece  of  stuff  on 
their  heads,  and  frequently  wear  printed  calicoes  of  a 
startling  pattern  in  the  town,  but  outside  have  a  modi- 
fication of  the  usual  Morlacca  costume. 

Along  the  quays  many  Italian  boats  are  moored, 
bringing  cargoes  of  fruit,  onions,  and  other  kindred 
produce,  which  they  appear  to  sell  retail  as  well  as 
wholesale ;  and  many  picturesque  subj  ects  may  be 
noted,  to  which  the  masts  and  rigging,  awnings  and  sails, 
weather-beaten  paint,  baskets  of  gleaming  fruit  and 
other  articles,  cordage,  gangway  planks,  &c,  in  careless 
arrangement,  lend  attractiveness  and  beauty,  whether 
in  the  full  glare  of  the  midday  sun,  with  its  strong  con- 
trasts of  light  and  shade,  or  in  the  early  morning  or  late 
evening,  when  its  level  rays  tend  to  greater  simplicity  of 
effect  and  greater  glow  of  colour.  On  Sunday  evening 
the  long  parapet  of  the  Marina  is  lined  with  townsfolk 
taking  the  air,  while  those  who  desire  to  show  off  their 
toilettes  march  up  and  down  the  Piazza  dei  Signori 
(which  appears  to  answer  to  the  "  Park  ")  for  an  hour 
or  so,  after  which  it  resumes  its  usual  quiet  condition. 
On  the  morning  of  May  i,  the  municipio  was  decorated 
with  flags,  and  saluted  by  a  band  which  played  in  front 
of  it  for  a  short  time  and  then  marched  off,  still  playing. 

At  the  end  of  the  Marina  is  the  Franciscan  convent 
dedicated  to  S.  Felice,  bishop  of  Epetium,  whose  relics 
are  said  to  be  preserved  in  the  church.  It  was  built 
by  Archbishop  Giovanni  IV.  of  Spalato  in  1059,  ^u^  nas 
been  modernised,  and  little  of  an  early  date  can  be  seen. 
In  the  wall  towards  the  cloister  are  several  walled-up 
windows,  with  semicircular  heads  cut  out  of  a  lintel,  and 
in  the  cloister  itself  are  a  few  caps  which  appear  to 


SCULPTURES    IN    THE   MUSEUM  305 

be  eleventh-century,  but  the  bulk  of  it  is  fourteenth- 
century  in  style,  and  that  is  the  date  of  the  three  in- 
scriptions inserted  in  the  walls.  It  is  a  pleasant  little 
cloister,  with  a  school  attached  to  it,  and  the  church 
is  crowded  with  the  poor  at  service  time. 

The  situation  of  the  city  is  very  fine,  and  the  harbour 
accommodation  there  and  in  the  immediate  neighbour- 
hood led  the  Austrian  admiralty  at  one  time  to  think 
of  it  as  the  principal  military  port.  Preference  was 
given  to  Pola  on  account  of  its  connection  with  the 
main  railway  lines,  for  which  the  archaeologist  and 
artist  may  be  thankful.  The  two  ranges  of  Kozjak  and 
Mosor  (Mons  Aureus)  dip  down  to  the  pass  which  is 
guarded  by  the  rock  of  Clissa.  On  the  slopes  of  one  lie 
the  ruins  of  Salona  ;  on  the  other,  those  of  Epetium  ;  in 
front  is  the  sea,  always  peaceful,  being  sheltered  by  the 
islands  of  Solta  and  Brazza;  and  beyond  Marjan  the 
land-locked  Salonitan  port. 

The  museum  accommodation  is  very  insufficient,  and,, 
though  several  of  the  larger  monuments  are  in  the  open 
air  (like  the  second-century  monument  of  Pomponia 
Vera  near  the  Porta  Argentea),  the  four  museums  are 
crowded  with  the  objects  which  excavations  have 
brought  to  light.  There  are  an  enormous  number  of 
inscriptions,  a  few  sculptures  comparatively,  a  great 
many  architectural  fragments,  and  an  infinity  of 
small  objects.  Among  the  sculptures  two  or  three 
sarcophagi  may  be  specially  noted.  One  with  the  sub- 
ject of  Hippolytus  and  Phaedra,  found  in  the  narthex  of 
the  little  basilica  at  Salona  in  1859,  in  a  fifth-century 
stratum,  is  a  late  copy  of  one  in  the  Louvre.  Near  it 
was  a  colossal  sarcophagus  of  the  first  half  of  the  fourth 
century,  with  the  Good  Shepherd  upon  it,  which  is  also 
in  the  museum.  At  one  end  is  a  door  watched  by  figures 
at  each  side  ;  at  the  other  a  genius  leaning  on  a  reversed 
torch  stands  on  a  pedestal  beneath  the  arch  of  a  little 

39 


306  SPALATO 

gabled  building  with  twisted  columns.  The  columns 
in  front  are  also  twisted  ;  those  at  the  back  channelled 
with  three  flutes.  The  one  with  the  Hunting  of  the 
Caledonian  Boar,  which  stood  outside  the  baptistery, 
where  its  inscription  was  copied  by  Cyriacus  of 
Ancona  in  1436,  is  of  the  period  of  the  Antonines,  and 
has  been  used  twice.  One  of  the  ends  is  really  fine.  A 
fourth,  with  the  Passage  of  the  Red  Sea  on  the  front, 
and  three  panels  on  the  back,  was  brought  from  the 
Franciscan  cloister.  One  end  has  two  standing  figures 
with  a  Latin  cross  in  high  relief  between  them,  and  a 
garland  with  waving  ribands  surrounding  the  labarum 
above ;  the  other  an  imbrication  with  the  spaces  in  relief. 
The  back  has  an  Orante  or  Virgin  in  the  centre,  and 
male  figures  at  the  ends,  with  S-shaped  striations 
between. 

There  is  also  a  very  beautiful  torso  of  Venus  accom- 
panied by  Cupid,  and  in  one  of  the  more  distant  museums 
two  fine  fragments  of  a  relief  of  undoubtedly  Greek  work. 
There  are  many  striking  fragments  of  architectural 
carving,  among  which  one  of  the  most  interesting  is  a 
balustradebearing  close  resemblance  to  the  carving  upon 
an  ambo  at  S.  Agata,  Ravenna,  but  constructed  of  many 
pieces,  whereas  that  is  an  adaptation  of  a  portion  of  a 
fluted  column.  There  are  also  a  good  many  pieces  of 
ninth  and  tenth-century  work,  and  a  large  collection  of 
Christian  lamps.  The  most  ancient  object  in  the  col- 
lection is  a  Corinthian  vase  with  cover  of  the  sixth 
•century  B.C.,  found  at  Salona,  and  ornamented  with 
animals  and  rosettes  in  black  and  violet  on  a  yellow 
ground.  A  new  museum  is  to  be  built  near  the  agri- 
cultural college  on  the  way  to  the  monastery  of  the 
Paludi,  which  lies  on  the  shore  on  the  Salona  side  of 
Marjan,  with  cypresses  in  its  grassy  forecourt,  and  a 
garden  beyond  the  cloister. 

This  convent  is  Franciscan,  but  was  founded  bv 


S.    MARIA    DEI    PALUDI  30? 

Benedictines  in  the  eleventh  century,  the  Franciscans 
taking  their  place  in  the  fifteenth  century.  Near  the 
entrance  is  the  inscribed  lid  of  a  sarcophagus  upside 
down,  used  as  a  water-trough.  The  convent  was  forti- 
fied by  the  Spalatines  in  1540,  of  which  fortification  the 
machicolated  tower  to  the  left  of  the  church  remains. 
The  church  is  early  Renaissance  in  appearance,  and  is 
dedicated  to  S.  Maria  delle  Grazie.  It  was  a  favourite 
place  of  burial  for  distinguished  Spalatine  families,  and 
the  floor  was  covered  with  fine  gravestones  in  relief, 
mainly  of  the  sixteenth  century,  worked  in  a  hard  white 
Dalmatian  limestone.  These  have  now  been  taken  up 
(in  1900)  and  arranged  along  the  wall  of  the  cloister. 
Many  of  them  are  beautiful  in  design,  with  borders  of 
early  Renaissance  ornament.  Perhaps  the  most  charm- 
ing is  that  of  Caterina  Cvitic,  but  the  historic  interest 
of  that  of  Tommaso  de  Nigris  of  Scardona  and  Trau,  who 
died  in  1527  in  Spalato,  is  greater.  There  is  a  half- 
length  portrait  of  him  in  the  library  by  Lorenzo  Lotto. 
Behind  the  high-altar  in  the  monks'  choir  is  an  im- 
portant picture  by  Girolamo  da  Santa  Croce  (1549). 
It  consists  of  ten  panels.  In  the  upper  row  the  centre 
is  occupied  by  a  Madonna  and  Child  surrounded  by 
child  angels,  flanked  by  SS.  Helena  and  Scolastica,  be- 
yond whom  are  SS.  Catherine  and  Mary  Magdalene. 
In  the  centre  of  the  lower  row  is  S.  Francis  in  ecstasy, 
with  SS.  Antonio  and  Bernardino,  flanked  by  S.  Doimo* 
(with  the  city  of  Spalato)  and  S.  Louis  of  Toulouse, 
beyond  whom  are  SS.  John  the  Baptist  and  Jerome.  In 
the  gable  of  a  much  restored  frame  is  a  dove.  On  the 
right  side  is  a  curious  lintelled  door  with  dull  arabesques 
emphasised  by  lines  of  drilling  and  pictures  on  either 
side.  One  is  a  Carpaccio  in  tempera  on  canvas,  a 
"  Madonna  auxilium  Christianorum,"  with  the  Child  in  a 
vesica  on  her  breast,  and  S.  Sebastian  and  a  bishop  (S. 
Doimus),  one  on  each  side.     She  holds  her  cloak  out  to 


308  SPALATO 

shelter  a  crowd  of  kneeling  men  on  one  side,  and  women 
on  the  other,  from  the  darts  which  God  the  Father  is 
showering  from  above.  In  the  sky  are  cherub  heads  ; 
two  child  angels  hold  a  crown  above  the  Virgin's  head; 
in  the  background  are  Venetian  towers  and  hills.  The 
frame  is  architectural,  with  painted  arabesques.  Close 
by  is  an  inlaid  black  marble  slab,  with  music,  the  words 
of  a  psalm,  and  flowers  in  colour.  On  the  other  side  of 
the  door  is  a  Virgin  and  Child,  with  SS.  John,  Peter, 
and  Scolastica  in  front,  and  two  little  angels  on  the  steps 
of  the  throne,  a  tempera  picture  on  panel,  rather  grey  in 
colour.  A  ghastly  painted  crucifix,  with  a  great  deal 
of  blood,  stands  near  the  door.  On  one  of  the  wells  in 
the  cloister  is  the  date  1453 ;  they  are  decorated  with 
roundels  bearing  various  devices.  The  remarkable 
thing  which  brings  tourists  to  the  Paludi  is,  however, 
the  antiphonary  of  Padre  Bonaventura  Radmilovic, 
painted  with  vegetable  colours,  and  finished  after  ten 
years'  labour  in  1675. 

Not  far  away,  among  the  vineyards,  is  the  ninth- 
century  church  of  SS.  Trinita,  of  which  the  earliest 
known  mention  is  in  the  eleventh  century.  It  consists 
of  six  niches  surrounding  a  circle  of  the  same  diameter 
as  the  similar  buildings  already  described  at  Zara.  At 
the  springing  of  the  arches  a  cornice  runs  right  round 
the  building.  The  niches  terminate  in  semi-domes,  and 
two  of  them  are  pierced  with  doors,  one  of  which  is  of  a 
later  date  than  the  rest  of  the  building.  The  exterior 
of  each  niche  has  a  rough  arcading  of  three  arches. 
The  springing  of  the  dome  and  ornamented  rosettes  in 
the  semi-domes  still  remain.  The  courses  are  horizontal, 
and  the  niches  terminate  outside  in  a  slightly  sloped 
roof.  The  door  has  been  made  into  a  window,  and  the 
lintel  bears  a  bit  of  antique  egg-and-tongue  moulding. 
Three  Latin  inscriptions  of  the  ninth  century  have  been 
found,  and  various  pieces  of  ornament,  which  are  in  the 


THE   ROAD    TO    SALONA  309 

museum,  also  quantities  of  bones,  testifying  to  its  long 
use  as  a  cemetery  chapel.  On  the  way  back  to  Spalato 
the  Casa  Katie  may  be  noted,  in  the  walls  of  which  many 
antique  fragments  are  encrusted. 

There  was  another  early  church,  that  of  S.  Eufemia, 
within  the  military  hospital,  which  was  destroyed  in 
1877.  It  had  a  central  elliptical  dome  without  windows 
resting  on  four  pillars  ;  twro  more  on  each  side  made 
the  nave  four  bays  long.  The  apse  and  aisle  ends  were 
square,  and  the  nave  was  vaulted  with  a  wagon  vault. 

The  great  excursion  from  Spalato  is  to  Salona,  a 
city  large  enough  to  quarter  the  entire  army  of  the 
Consul  L.  Cecilius  Metellus  in  119  B.C.,  and  then  known 
as  Colonia  Martia  Julia.  The  walls  extend  for  a  long 
distance  upon  the  roads  to  Trau  and  to  Clissa  after 
crossing  the  Jader,  and  the  city  also  stretched  some 
distance  up  the  mountain  slopes,  the  debris  from  which 
have  done  so  much  to  hide  its  remains.  Several  burial- 
places  have  been  discovered,  of  greater  or  less  extent,  an 
amphitheatre,  basilicas,  a  baptistery  with  the  buildings 
appertaining,  city  gates,  and  more  than  one  circuit  of 
walls.  Salona  may  be  reached  b}^  rail  or  road ;  in  the 
latter  case  the  aqueduct  may  be  observed,  originally  con- 
structed by  Diocletian  for  his  palace,  and  restored  in 
1879  by  Dr.  Bajamonti  for  the  use  of  the  Spalatines.  It 
is  six  miles  long,  and  taps  the  source  of  the  Jader.  The 
road  descends  by  long  curves  to  the  valley,  and  enters 
the  village,  where  the  Clissa  road  diverges,  under  the 
pleasant  shade  of  trees,  beyond  which  is  a  marshy  field, 
white  in  spring  with  the  giant  snowdrop.  Half-way 
down  the  hill  is  a  fountain  which  muleteers  and  pedes- 
trians find  most  refreshing,  especially  if  they  are  pressed 
for  time  as  we  were  on  one  occasion  when  we  had  an 
appointment  in  Spalato,  and,  missing  the  train,  had  to 
return  on  foot  in  the  middle  of  the  day.  The  railway 
customs  are  rather  curious.     On  one  visit  I  asked  for 


310  SPALATO 

return  tickets,  and,  as  they  were  not  taken  on  leaving 
the  station  at  Salona,  supposed  I  had  them.  In  the 
train  the  guard  told  us  as  we  were  returning  that  they 
were  not  available,  and  that  we  must  therefore  pay  a 
fine  of  a  florin  !  I,  of  course,  protested,  detailed  the 
circumstances,  and  pleaded  the  ignorance  of  a  foreigner  ; 
and  on  arrival  at  Spalato  the  matter  was  referred  to  a 
higher  official,  who  was  graciously  pleased  to  refund 
the  fine,  and  accept  the  fare  for  a  single  journey.  The 
traveller  in  Austria  must  not  calculate  on  paying  his 
fare  on  the  train,  as  he  would  do  on  the  Italian  light 
railways. 

Near  the  station  at  Salona  is  a  little  osteria,  in  and 
about  which  a  number  of  antique  fragments  are  dis- 
posed. It  was  stopping  to  have  some  wine  here  that 
caused  us  to  miss  our  train.  There  were  some  eight 
or  ten  children  playing  beneath  the  pergola,  and  I  found 
by  experience  how  small  a  sum  may  suffice  to  make  a 
human  being  happy,  since  the  distribution  of  three 
halfpence  in  heller,  the  small  copper  coin  which  is  the 
basis  of  calculation,  delighted  them  all  !  As  we  left  the 
station  on  arriving  we  saw  a  crowd  of  peasants  kneeling 
at  the  cross  roads,  with  three  banners,  a  big  crucifix,  a 
chandelier  with  three  candles,  and  other  objects  rising 
above  their  bent  heads.  The  priest  in  the  centre  was 
blessing  the  fields,  sprinkling  holy  water  in  all  directions, 
whilst  prayers  and  responses  went  up  from  the  kneeling 
people,  the  smoke  from  the  censers  which  the  acolytes 
were  slowly  swinging  hanging  round  the  group  like  a 
cloud.  Afterwards  they  came  down  the  road  in  pro- 
cession. The  priest  held  a  little  silver  crucifix  on  a 
base  ;  near  him  were  the  acolytes  bearing  their  various 
utensils,  and  a  choir  of  male  singers.  The  men  and 
boys  went  first,  in  two  rows  down  the  sides  of  the  road, 
just  as  we  had  often  seen  in  Italy.  The  women  and 
girls  followed. 


SALONA  311 

The  oldest  part  of  the  city  is  towards  the  Clissa 
road,  for  it  spread  westwards.  The  Basilica  Urbana  is 
quite  close  to  the  wall,  and  only  a  little  farther  south  are 
the  Porta  Suburbia  and  the  Porta  Caesarea.  Of  the 
latter  the  arches  no  longer  exist,  but  the  ruts  in  the 
stone  show  the  carriage-way,  flanked  by  two  footways. 
The  Basilica  Urbana,  with  its  accompanying  buildings, 
has  been  fully  excavated.  It  was  used  for  religious 
purposes  till  its  restoration  in  the  ninth  century,  for 
Salona  was  not  entirely  abandoned  after  its  destruc- 
tion in  639.  The  soil  removed  showed  evident  traces 
of  its  destruction  by  burning.  It  consisted  of  nave  and 
aisles  with  a  western  narthex,  and  buildings  both  to  the 
north  and  to  the  south.  The  nave  appears  to  have  had 
twelve  columns  on  either  side,  with  proj  ecting  piers  from 
the  narthex  and  from  the  eastern  wall.  There  was  one 
apse  with  an  ambulatory  surrounding  it,  as  in  the 
Lycaonian  buildings  recently  described  by  Miss  Low- 
thian  Bell.  The  foundations  of  the  chancel  were 
found,  and  of  an  enclosure  which  reached  to  the  second 
column  on  the  right.  In  the  north  aisle  wall  were  two 
doors,  one  towards  the  baptistery,  the  other  to  the 
catechumens'  room,  and  all  along  the  wall  there  was  a 
seat.  The  prothesis  is  an  irregular  space  to  the  north  of 
the  apse,  entered  by  a  door  at  the  end  of  the  aisle,  with 
a  short  column  in  the  middle,  probably  the  central 
column  of  a  table.  For  ritual  reasons  this  arrange- 
ment (the  diakonikon  communicating  directly  with  the 
presbytery,  while  the  prothesis  does  not)  is  usual  in  the 
Greek  Church.  The  nave  appears  to  have  been  flagged, 
but  the  aisles  were  covered  with  a  mosaic  pavement, 
now  more  or  less  damaged.  Fragments  of  glass  were 
found,  and  an  inscription  of  the  fourth  or  fifth  century 
discovered  in  the  cemetery,  "  Pasc[asi]o  vi^iano," 
shows  that  glassmaking  was  a  Salonitan  industry.  Be- 
neath the  presbytery  remains  of  an  earlier  building  were 


312  SPALATO 

discovered  with  a  pagan  mosaic  of  the  second  or  third 
century,  representing  the  poetess  Sappho  and  the  nine 
muses.  The  ambulatory  is  also  floored  with  mosaic, 
in  which  is  this  inscription  : 

NOVA  POST  VETERA 

COEPIT  SYNFERIUS 

ESYCHIUS   CJUS   NEPOS 

CUM  CLERO  ET  POPULO  FECIT 

HAEC   MUNERA 

DOMUS  5^i  GRATA 

TENE. 

The  two  names  here  recorded  are  those  of  bishops 
of  the  end  of  the  fourth  and  beginning  of  the  fifth 
centuries,  judging  from  the  palaeography  of  other  in- 
scriptions. Esychius  was  bishop,  406-426.  The  bap- 
tistery is  accessible  by  steps  both  from  the  basilica  and 
the  narthex.  Attached  to  it  is  the  consignatorium,  as 
at  Parenzo.  This  retains  its  mosaic  pavement,  with 
a  design  of  stags  drinking  at  a  vase,  and  the  text 
"  Sicut  cervus,"  &c.  It  is  kept  covered  with  pebbles  to 
preserve  it.  The  baptistery  itself  is  octagonal  exter- 
nally and  circular  internally;  with  niches  and  several 
doors.  It  appears  to  have  had  six  columns  (fragments 
of  three  of  cipollino  remain)  and  grey  stone  bases.  The 
font  is  somewhat  cruciform  in  shape,  about  3  ft.  deep, 
and  with  a  little  step  at  one  end.  The  slabs  at  the 
bottom  and  the  conduit  for  the  water  still  remain.  North 
of  this  is  the  house  of  the  Director  of  the  Excavations, 
with  a  pergola  composed  of  fragments  from  the  cam- 
panile, &c,  among  which  is  a  cap  the  exact  counterpart 
of  one  in  the  cathedral  at  Veglia. 

North-west  of  the  house  is  the  Christian  cemetery, 
a  bewildering  mass  of  sarcophagi  and  foundations  of 
several  epochs,  from  among  which  many  objects  have 
been  taken  to  the  museum.     All  the  sarcophagi  had 


CHRISTIAN    CEMETERIES   AT   SALONA     313 

been  broken  into  and  plundered;  with  a  single  exception, 
that  of  a  little  Greek  girl  who  still  had  the  earrings 
in  her  ears.  Apparently  apses  were  built  round  the 
martyrs'  tombs,  pointing  in  all  directions,  and  many 
burials  took  place  close  to  them.  When  the  Goths  de- 
stroyed the  city  they  plundered  the  tombs ;  and  when  the 
Christians  returned  they  levelled  the  ground,  and  built 
another  basilica  properly  orientated;  and  here,  also, 
burials  took  place.  The  Avars  descended  upon  this  and 
destroyed  it,  and  the  soil  washed  down  from  the  hills 
covered  much  of  it  to  the  depth  of  15  ft.  Fragments 
found  of  the  eighth  and  ninth  centuries,  however,  show 
that  the  place  was  not  abandoned  ;  the  theatre  was  only 
demolished  at  the  end  of  the  tenth  century  to  build 
S.  Michele,  and  the  amphitheatre  lasted  till  the  close  of 
the  thirteenth.  Upon  the  extinction  of  the  Croatian 
dynasty  in  11 02,  Salona  rapidly  declined,  and  when  the 
Turks  appeared  in  the  sixteenth  century  it  became  a 
neglected  ruin. 

At  Marusinac,  some  distance  to  the  north  of  the 
station  and  the  amphitheatre,  is  another  basilica,  dedi- 
cated to  S.  Anastasius,  and  a  Christian  cemetery.  The 
children  are  on  the  look-out  for  chance  visitors,  and 
ready  to  point  out  the  road,  and  sell  copper  coins  and 
tesserae  of  mosaic  at  a  price  which  lowers  remarkably 
as  the  basilica  is  approached.  It  is  to  be  feared  that 
they  come  from  the  great  mosaic,  which  is  necessarily 
unguarded.  The  basilica  consists  of  nave  and  aisles, 
separated  apparently  by  six  columns  on  each  side, 
with  a  single  apse,  which  seems  to  have  had  external 
buttresses,  but  there  is  no  trace  of  the  usual  internal 
bench.  The  total  length  approaches  150  ft.,  the  nave 
is  39  ft.  wide,  the  left  aisle  about  14  ft.,  and  the  right 
17  ft.  6  in.  The  prothesis  and  diakonikon  are  square, 
and  a  long  schola  cantorum  forms  a  continuation  to  the 
presbytery  westward,  though  it  is  less  in  width.     The 

40 


3H  SPALATO 

westward  angles  of  the  aisles  also  have  rectangular 
rooms  walled  off.  The  whole  surface  was  covered  with 
mosaic,  of  which  a  great  deal  is  still  preserved,  con- 
sisting of  geometrical  pattern  work  for  the  most  part, 
without  inscriptions,  though  there  is  one  panel  showing 
a  vase  with  scrolls  issuing  from  it.  A  large  drawing  to 
scale  has  been  made  of  it,  which  is  in  the  communal 
palace.  It  took  a  full  year's  labour  to  complete.  The 
basilica  was  built  between  425  and  443,  but  there  was 
a  villa  there  previously,  of  which  considerable  remains 
were  discovered  in  1890,  at  the  same  time  that  the 
first  sarcophagi  came  to  light. 

In  the  modern  chapel  of  S.  Caius,  pope  and  martyr, 
the  side  of  an  antique  sarcophagus  serves  as  altar- 
frontal.  It  is  sculptured  with  the  deeds  of  Hercules. 
The  subjects  are  the  Killing  of  the  Dragon  of  the  Hes- 
perides  (which  the  peasantry  mistake  for  the  Garden 
of  Eden),  Alcestis  being  brought  back  from  Hades,  and 
the  Binding  of  Cerberus.  The  water  which  filtered  into 
the  sarcophagus  believed  to  be  the  tomb  of  S.  Caius 
was  credited  with  the  same  miraculous  powers  as  the 
"  Manna  "  of  S.  Nicola  at  Bari.      . 

A  path  skirts  the  wall  of  Salona  to  the  Porta  Andetria 
upon  the  Clissa  road,  which  climbs  the  hillside  in  well- 
graded  curves.  To  the  north  the  ridge  of  Kozjak  rises 
to  the  height  of  2,000  ft.  ;  across  the  gap  up  which  the 
Roman  Via  Gabiniana  ran,  the  course  of  which  the 
modern  road  follows,  beyond  Clissa,  the  still  higher 
crests  of  Mosor  frown.  The  isolated  rock  on  which  the 
fortress  stands  appears  to  have  been  an  outwork  of 
Salona  in  Roman  times,  and  some  assume  that  it  was 
Andetrium,  which  others  place  farther  off ;  the  Byzan- 
tines called  it  Clausura.  It  is  the  key  between  Sinj  and 
Spalato,  its  possession  effectually  closing  the  pass  to  an 
enemy.  The  Avars  took  it  in  640  by  stratagem,  dis- 
guising themselves  as  Romans.     It  was  Turkish  from 


A    MORLACCO    FAMILY,    BETWEEN    SALONA    AND    CLISSA 

To  face  page  314 


CLISSA  315 

1537  till  1669,  except  for  a  short  period,  and  one  of 
the  attempts  of  the  Spalatines  to  possess  themselves 
of  it  has  been  referred  to.  The  fort  has  three  terraces, 
and  retains  a  characteristic  building,  a  mosque  of 
Turkish  times,  now  used  as  an  ammunition  store. 
Round  arches  which  sustain  the  dome  spring  from 
stalactite-shaped  brackets.  There  is  also  a  Venetian 
wall-fountain,  but  considerable  additions  have  been 
made  to  the  buildings  in  modern  times  by  the  Austrian 
military  authorities,  who  have  held  the  place  since 
1813 ;  and  permission  from  the  command  at  Spalato  is- 
necessary  to  enter  the  fort.  To  the  south-east  are  the 
ruins  of  the  Roman  camp. 


XXII 

THE    SOUTHERN    GROUP    OF    ISLANDS 

The  chain  of  islands  which  forms  a  natural  break- 
water to  the  coast  of  Dalmatia  is  broken  into  two 
groups  by  the  Punta  Planka,  the  ancient  Promontorium 
Syrtis,  south  of  Sebenico.  To  the  northern  group  be- 
long Veglia,  Cherso,  Ossero,  Arbe,  Pago,  and  a  number 
of  smaller  and  less  important  islands,  including  Ugljan, 
opposite  Zara,  and  Pasman,  a  little  farther  south.  Of 
these  the  first  four  have  been  described  at  length,  and 
the  others  are  mentioned  briefly  in  the  chapter  dealing 
with  Zara  and  its  surroundings.  The  southern  group 
lies  south  of  the  harbour  of  Spalato,  and  includes 
Solta,  Brazza,  Lesina,  Curzola,  Meleda,  the  more  distant 
Lissa,  Busi,  and  Lagosta,  and  a  few  small  islands  which 
belonged  to  the  Republic  of  Ragusa.  The  interest  of 
these  varies  a  good  deal,  some  containing  much  to  de- 
light the  traveller,  while  others  are  scarcely  worth  a 
visit.  Most  of  them  have  historical  memories  reaching 
from  the  dawn  of  history  to  times  which  are  within  the 
memory  of  many  now  living,  and  some  of  them  are 
remarkable  for  their  geological  formation  or  luxuriant 
Southern  vegetation.  The  planning  of  a  tour  among 
them  requires  the  most  careful  comparison  of  the  time- 
tables of  the  various  shipping  companies,  and  the 
scheme,  once  decided  on,  must  be  strictly  adhered  to 
under  pain  of  the  risk  of  being  stranded  in  some  little 
visited  place  for  three  or  four  days  without  any  of  the 

316 


SOLTA    AND    BRAZZA  317 

comforts  which  the  average  traveller  now  expects  to 
find  everywhere ;  for  the  weather  cannot  be  relied  on 
for  twenty-four  hours  together  in  the  seasons  when 
travellers  are  most  numerous,  the  sea  frequently  rising 
under  an  unfavourable  wind  so  rapidly  as  to  make 
escape  by  a  fishing-boat  a  doubtful  experiment. 

The  direct  boats,  on  leaving  Spalato,  steer  between 
Solta  and  Brazza,  and  round  the  point  of  Lesina,  pro- 
ceeding by  the  Canals  of  Curzola  and  Meleda  towards 
Gravosa  ;  and  we  cannot  do  better  than  visit  the  islands 
in  much  the  same  order. 

Solta  is  the  ancient  Olinthia,  celebrated  for  its 
honey ;  Olinthian  honey  was  held  to  be  superior  to  all 
other,  except  that  of  Hymettus.  The  bees  are  of  a 
special  kind,  which  work  hard,  and  go  out  in  wind  and 
slight  rain ;  but  the  excellence  of  the  honey  was  pro- 
bably due  to  the  rosemary  blossoms,  on  which  they 
feed  by  preference,  only  visiting  other  flowers  when 
these  have  been  completery  rifled.  Of  late  years  the 
inhabitants  have  cleared  a  great  part  of  the  land  in 
order  to  cultivate  vines  or  chrysanthemum,  so  the 
yield  of  honey  is  much  reduced.  Remains  of  mosaic 
pavements  found  here  and  there  show  the  sites  of 
Roman  villas. 

Brazza  is  the  largest  of  the  Dalmatian  islands,  the 
most  populous,  and  the  richest  in  wine  and  oil.  The 
stone  for  Diocletian's  palace  came  mainly  from  this 
island ;  and  Professor  Bulic  has  found  abandoned  frag- 
ments partially  worked  in  the  quarries,  as  well  as  in- 
scriptions. The  greater  part  of  the  stone  with  which 
Salona  was  built  also  came  from  Brazza.  Its  history 
commences  with  the  destruction  of  Salona  and  Epetium 
in  the  seventh  century,  much  of  the  population  taking 
refuge  in  the  island,  though  it  is  believed  that  Greeks 
inhabited  it  before  the  Romans.  The  legend  that 
S.  Helena,  the  mother  of  Constantine,  was  born  here 


318     THE   SOUTHERN   GROUP    OF   ISLANDS 

(though  most  historians  regard  her  as  English)  pro- 
bably arose  from  the  name  of  Brettanide,  which  is  said 
to  have  been  the  Greek  name  for  the  island,  though 
Brattia  is  also  met  with.  The  most  ancient  document 
preserved  is  a  privilege  of  1077,  given  to  the  nobles  by 
Demetrius  Zvonimir  ;  but  the  island  belonged  by  turns 
to  Byzantium,  Venice,  the  Ostrogoth,  Frank,  Narentan, 
and  Hungarian,  becoming  finally  Venetian  in  1420, 
except  for  the  disturbed  period  which  closed  in  1815  ; 
since  then  it  has  been  Austrian.  In  a  convent  of 
Dominicans  at  Bol,  on  the  south  coast,  is  a  Gothic 
church,  with  a  restored  altar-piece  representing  the 
Marriage  of  S.  Catherine,  with  SS.  Mary  Magdalene, 
Paul,  and  Dominic  as  witnesses.  An  entry  in  the 
convent  register  attests  the  authorship — "  to  Master 
Jacomo  Tintoretto,  painter,  a  further  payment  of 
200  ducats  for  the  high-altar  piece.' '  In  the  convent  is 
a  collection  of  coins  and  a  Lombard  lintel  with  ninth- 
century  interlacings  ;  and  on  the  Casa  Nisiteo  a  knocker 
resembling  that  at  Curzola — a  female  figure  with  an 
anchor  in  the  middle,  a  lion  on  each  side  with  head 
turned  up,  a  shell  below  and  a  shield  with  arms  above, 
charged  with  a  sun  and  dolphin  one  above  the  other  ; 
a  crowned  lion  and  an  eagle  as  supporters. 

In  a  hut  at  Birce,  near  Serip,  Andrea,  son  of  Salo- 
mon the  exiled  king  of  Hungary,  lived  as  a  shepherd 
and  died. 

Lesina  was  once  a  Venetian  arsenal  and  station  of 
the  fleet.  The  vegetation  is  sub-tropical.  Rosemary 
fills  the  air  with  its  aromatic  scent,  oleanders,  lemons, 
lofty  palms,  carob  and  bay  trees  are  continually  met 
with,  and  aloes  are  often  used  for  hedges.  It  was  the 
island  Pharos  of  the  Greeks,  a  colony  from  the  ^Egean 
Paros,  founded  in  385  B.C.,  and  a  free  republic.  Coins 
which  have  been  found  are  similar  to  the  most  ancient 
ones  of  Greece  and  Asia  Minor,  and  the  remains  of 


LESINA 


319 


walls  appear  to  be  Pelasgic.     From  221  B.C.  it  belonged 

to  the  Roman  province  of  Dalmatia,  and  shared  the 

fate   of  its   neighbour   Brazza.     The   Illyrian   pirates 

mastered  it,  and  under  their  lordship  the  celebrated 

Demetrios  was  born,  who  was  like  a  condottiere  of 

the   Middle   Ages   and 

Renaissance,  and  whose 

treachery   led    to    the 

destruction  of  the  Greek 

city.      Many  Christian 

martyrs    were    buried 

here,    and    it    became 

known  as  "  the  Holy." 

The  population  is  Slav, 

and   the    Greek   name 

"Pharia"  is  preserved 

to  some  extent  in  the 

Slav    name     "  Hvar." 

It    is    the    longest    of 

the  Dalmatian  islands, 

being     70     kilometres 

long  by  10  broad. 

The  town  of  Lesina 
lies  on  the  south-west 
coast,  and  still  retains  a 
great  part  of  its  crenel- 
lated walls.  It  is  de- 
cayed, and  there  are 
many  ruined  palaces  of 
the  Venetian  period, 
some  of  which  are  fine. 
The  piazza  is  the  largest  in  Dalmatia,  and  beyond  it  the 
houses  form  a  semicircle  interspersed  with  gardens.  On 
the  east  is  the  cathedral,  Lombardesque  in  style ;  on  the 
south  a  large  building,  the  so-called  Venetian  arsenal. 
The   present   ground   floor,    with    broad-arched    door 


PORTA   MAGGIORE,    LESINA 


320     THE   SOUTHERN    GROUP   OF    ISLANDS 

opening  on  the  water,  was  arranged  to  house  the  galleys 
belonging  to  the  Republic,  and  was  used  till  1776, 
when  the  arsenal  was  transferred  to  Curzola.  The 
upper  floor,  divided  into  two,  was  the  theatre  and 
communal  hall.  The  Loggia  of  Sanmichele  is  to  the 
north,  close  to  the  remains  of  the  palace  of  the  count. 
It  has  seven  rather  narrow  arches  on  piers  with  columns, 
and  a  whole  order  attached  in  front,  a  balustrade  be- 
tween the  pedestals  and  above  the  frieze,  with  obelisks 
supported  on  balls  as  crowning  features.  The  door  is 
in  the  centre ;  above  it  a  panel  with  the  lion  of  S.  Mark 
replaces  the  balusters.  It  is  now  the  hall  of  a  sana- 
torium which  has  been  erected  behind  it,  thus  destroy- 
ing two  of  the  towers  of  the  palace  of  the  count,  and 
spoiling  a  very  picturesque  composition.  The  fC  Fon- 
dachi"  are  used  for  military  purposes;  other  Gothic 
palaces  remain  along  the  side  of  the  piazza.  Above 
the  town  is  Fort  Spagnuolo,  which  probably  occupies 
the  site  of  an  older  castle  besieged  by  the  Hungarians 
and  their  allies  in  1358  ;  an  inscription  states  that  the 
present  building  is  due  to  the  Spaniards,  and  was 
built  in  155 1  under  Charles  V.,  when  he  was  allied  to 
Venice  against  the  Turks.  Higher  still  to  the  east  is 
Fort  S.  Nicolo,  constructed  after  the  Russian  attack 
in  1807. 

The  cathedral  is  not  remarkable  for  its  architecture. 
The  facade  has  a  semicircular  termination,  quadrants 
above  the  aisles,  and  an  early  Renaissance  doorway. 
The  stalls  are  carved  and  pierced  like  those  at  Arbe 
and  Zara,  but  have  lost  the  tops  and  the  carved  divi- 
sions. At  each  side  is  an  ambo  of  stone  supported  on 
four  columns,  but  with  an  octagonal  body  above, 
arcaded,  with  shafts  at  the  angles.  The  arches  are  all 
round,  but  the  change  in  the  plan  produces  a  curious 
pointed  appearance  in  perspective  in  the  lower  arcade. 
On  the  high-altar  is  a  picture  by  the  younger  Palma,. 


THE    CATHEDRAL,   LES1NA  321 

a  Madonna  and  the  Child  in  the  clouds,  with  S.  Stephen 
vested  as  pope  below,  and  SS.  Jerome  and  Carlo 
Borromeo.  There  is  also  a  more  ancient  picture  by 
Antonio  Gradinelli,  a  dead  Christ  supported  by  angels. 
Near  the  west  end  is  a  carved  reredos  of  Venetian- 
Gothic  style  ;  S.  Luke  in  the  centre  with  his  ox,  and  S. 
John  the  Baptist  are  recognisable  among  the  well-carved 
figures  of  saints  beneath  pointed  arches  with  shell- 
heads  to  the  niches.  Two  Venetian  lions  have  closed 
books  with  the  date  1475.  The  sacristy  contains  some 
fine  embroidered  vestments  and  several  interesting 
pieces  of  metal-work — a  ciborium  of  the  fifteenth 
century  of  silver,  with  a  pyramidal  roof,  a  large  silver 
chalice  of  Venetian  late  fifteenth-century  work  in 
repousse,  a  monstrance  with  round  upper  part  and  an 
angel  with  a  scroll  and  the  inscription  "  O  Salutaris," 
&c,  decorated  with  translucent  enamel. 

There  is  also  a  very  curious  sixteenth-century 
crozier  of  gilded  copper  enriched  with  silver  bands  and 
rosettes,  which  repeats  and  enlarges  on  the  idea  of 
Bishop  Valaresso's  crozier  at  Zara.  Inside  the  crook 
(which  is  a  complete  circle)  is  the  Coronation  of  the 
Virgin,  above  whose  head  is  a  dove,  and  beneath  her 
feet  the  head  of  the  serpent,  which  terminates  it.  She 
is  crowned  by  a  half-figure  emerging  from  a  flower, 
wearing  the  kind  of  high  mitre  which  is  frequently 
given  to  God  the  Father  ;  behind  her  is  a  similar  half- 
figure  of  Moses  bearing  a  scroll,  and  with  his  shoes  on 
the  ground  before  him.  On  the  outside  are  busts  of 
Christ  and  six  Apostles,  right  and  left  in  profile,  also 
springing  from  flowers,  all  with  nimbi  ;  lower  down 
are  the  twelve  prophets,  holding  labels  with  their 
names,  and  set  close  one  above  the  other.  At  the  top 
of  the  stem  are  six  figures,  four  Evangelists,  S.  John  the 
Baptist,  and  Elijah.  Below  are  twelve  little  busts  of 
patriarchs  named  on  labels.     The  knop  has  twisted 

41 


322     THE    SOUTHERN   GROUP   OF    ISLANDS 

colonnettes  at  the  angles,  with  swags  hanging  from  the 
lower  parts,  and  half-length  figures  above  a  canopy 
with  one  arch  and  two  half-arches  on  each  face  ;  on 
the  flat  surfaces  between  are  miscellaneous  saints  ; 
below  are  three  bishops  and  three  other  saints,  and 
below  them  are  representations  of  the  six  days  of 
creation  ;  the  words  "  Opvs*  Presbyterr  Pavli*  Silvii* 
Tivnio*  lavs*  Deo  "  can  be  deciphered.  The  stem  is 
sheathed  with  silver  plates  with  stamped  patterns. 

The  ruined  church  of  S.  Marco,  now  undergoing  re- 
storation, has  a  fine  campanile,  rather  dilapidated,  and 
sepulchral  slabs  of  members  of  patrician  families,  and 
the  Franciscan  convent,  S.  Maria  delle  Grazie,  has  a 
similar  campanile,  both  of  which  were  probably  rebuilt 
after  the  Turkish  raid  of  1571  under  Uluz-Ali,  the 
Calabrian  renegade.  The  door  in  the  western  facade  of 
this  church  resembles  that  of  the  cathedral  at  Ossero, 
and  appears  to  belong  to  the  original  building  of  1471. 
Within  it  are  three  interesting  altar-pieces  by  Fran- 
cesco da  Santa  Croce ;  one  above  the  high-altar  has 
two  rows  of  panels  with  figures  of  the  Madonna,  SS. 
Helena,  Lucy,  Clara,  Elizabeth,  Stephen,  Peter,  Francis, 
Anthony,  Bernardino  of  Siena,  and  Bonaventura ;  an- 
other shows  seven  prophets  ;  and  a  third  has  the  Ma- 
donna in  the  centre,  with  three  little  angels  below,  and 
S.  Jerome  on  the  left,  and  S.  John  on  the  right.  The 
church  also  contains  a  S.  Francis  by  Jacopo  Palma,  and 
a  S.  Diego  and  S.  Francesco  di  Paola  by  Jacopo  Bas- 
sano,  restored.  The  principal  treasure  of  the  convent, 
however,  is  the  great  Last  Supper  by  Matteo  Rosselli, 
a  very  impressive  picture,  which  fills  the  end  wall  of 
the  refectory  above  the  panelling,  and  contains  his  own 
portrait  (1578-1650).  The  table  at  which  the  Apostles 
are  seated  is  in  the  form  of  a  horseshoe,  with  Judas  on 
the  near  side.  The  story  goes  that  Rosselli  went  to 
Ragusa  to  deliver  some  paintings  commissioned  from 


LES1NA    AND    CURZOLA  323 

him,  and  on  his  way  back  fell  ill,  and  was  obliged  to 
land  at  Lesina,  where  the  Franciscans  took  care  of 
him  and  nursed  him  back  to  health  ;  in  gratitude  he 
painted  this  picture  for  them.  The  great  cypress, 
which  spreads  almost  like  an  oak,  he  may  have  sat 
under  during  his  convalescence. 

The  other  towns  are  Cittavecchia,  Verbosca,  and 
Gelsa.  The  first  is  the  new  Pharos,  founded  at  the 
end  of  the  third  century  B.C.,  and  flourishing  during  the 
Roman  period.  It  lies  at  the  bottom  of  an  inlet  six 
miles  long,  and  is  a  flourishing  modern  town  with 
little  antiquity  visible.  The  campanile  of  S.  Stefano, 
which  appears  to  be  of  the  fourteenth  century,  is  on 
ancient  foundations,  and  there  are  traces  of  Cyclopean 
walls  here  and  there.  In  Verbosca  is  a  fortified  church 
with  bastions,  S.  Lorenzo,  which  contains  the  frag- 
ments of  a  Titianesque  painting,  ascribed  to  the  master 
on  the  strength  of  an  entry  in  the  archives  of  a  pay- 
ment of  1,000  ducats  to  the  Master  Titiano  Vecelli. 
It  is  now  in  three  portions,  and  shows  S.  Laurence  with 
angels  and  the  Virgin  above,  S.  Roch,  and  S.  Augustine. 
In  another  church,  S.  Maria,  is  a  Birth  of  the  Virgin, 
ascribed  to  Paolo  Veronese.  At  Gelsa  the  church  is 
also  fortified,  a  memorial  of  the  time  when  protection 
against  Turkish  raids  was  necessary. 

Curzola  lies  due  south  of  Lesina,  separated  from  the 
long  peninsula  of  Sabbioncello  on  the  mainland  by 
quite  a  narrow  channel.  It  is  the  Corcyra  Nigra  or 
Melaina  of  antiquity,  so  called  from  its  luxuriant  pine 
forests,  little  of  which  now  remain.  Various  origins 
are  attributed  to  the  settlement  ;  one  of  them  is  com- 
memorated in  the  inscription  on  the  Porta  Marina : 
"  Hie  Antenoridae  Corcyrae  prima  Melanae  fundamenta 
locant."  The  early  Greek  geographers  include  it  in  the 
territory  of  Narenta  or  Liburnia.  From  Augustus  to 
Heraclius  (642  a.d.)  it  was  Roman  or  Byzantine,  and 


324     THE    SOUTHERN    GROUP   OF    ISLANDS 

from  that  date  till  998  Narentine.  From  the  victory 
of  Orseolo  II.  till  11 00  it  was  Venetian,  when  the 
Genoese  possessed  it  for  twenty-eight  years.  In  1128 
the  Venetians,  under  Popone  Zorzi,  took  it  again,  and 
it  remained  Venetian  on  the  whole  till  1357  ;  from  that 
time  till  141 8  it  was  sometimes  Hungarian,  sometimes 
Genoese,  Bosnian,  or  Ragusan.  Two  years  later  it 
finally  gave  itself  to  Venice,  with  which  it  was  con- 
nected till  the  Napoleonic  wars.  The  English  occupied 
it  from  1813-1815.  It  has  suffered  from  raids  ;  and  the 
attack  by  Uluz-Ali  after  he  had  sacked  Lesina  is  notice- 
able for  the  brave  conduct  of  the  women.  The  com- 
mandant of  the  island  and  fortress,  Antonio  Balbi, 
and  a  great  many  of  the  well-to-do  inhabitants  fled 
without  fighting.  The  women  and  boys  put  on  their 
uniforms  and  manned  the  walls,  making  the  Turks 
think  that  the  place  was  well  garrisoned  and  too  strong 
to  be  taken  quickly  with  the  force  at  their  disposal. 
In  one  of  the  naval  battles  with  the  Genoese  off  the 
island,  Marco  Polo  (who  has  been  claimed  as  a  Curzolan) 
and  Andrea  Dandolo  were  taken  prisoners.  Dandolo 
dashed  his  brains  out  against  the  .side  of  the  galley ; 
but  Marco  Polo  occupied  his  four  years  of  captivity 
in  writing  his  travels,  and,  according  to  legend,  earned 
his  freedom  by  the  pleasure  which  his  work  gave  to  the 
Genoese. 

The  statute  is  the  oldest  in  Dalmatia  (1214),  and  is 
noticeable  for  its  provisions  against  the  slave  trade, 
which  are  among  the  earliest  in  history.  A  curious 
survival  of  mediaeval  festivity  still  exists  in  the 
"  Moresca,"  a  kind  of  Pyrrhic  dance,  danced  on  national 
festas,  which  is  a  reminiscence  of  the  days  of  Algerian 
piracy.  There  are  twenty-four  dancers,  and  the  leaders, 
the  standard-bearer,  and  the  "  bula,"  who  is  the  spouse 
of  the  Moorish  king.  The  performers  are  divided  into 
two   bands,    one   representing   Christians   (in   Spanish 


THE   "MORESCA"  325 

costume),  and  the  other  Moors,  from  which  the  name 
comes.  The  whites,  led  by  the  king  of  Spain,  conquer 
in  the  combat,  and  the  "  bula  "  is  taken  and  freed  amid 
general  rejoicing.  At  the  beginning  and  end,  the 
Christians  declaim  a  kind  of  prologue  or  introduction 
in  accordance  with  the  object  of  the  festa,  and  a  salu- 
tation and  thanks  to  those  assisting  at  the  end.  The 
costumes  are  rich,  each  dancer  carries  sword  and 
dagger,  and  the  performances  (which  are  enthusi- 
astically received)  take  place  in  the  open  air  upon  a 
raised  platform.  In  one  or  two  places  there  are  also 
survivals  of  mediaeval  mystery-plays. 

The  town  is  on  an  oval  peninsula  on  the  north-east 
coast,  united  to  the  mass  of  the  island  by  a  low  isthmus. 
The  main  street  runs  along  the  ridge  from  the  land 
gate  to  the  cathedral  piazza.  From  the  sea  the  walls 
appear  almost  perfect,  but  there  is  a  wide  quay  all 
round  the  town,  and  the  houses  stretch  a  long  way 
along  the  shore.  There  is  not  a  street  within  the  walls 
through  which  a  vehicle  could  pass,  all  the  thorough- 
fares (which  are  mainly  alleys  and  staircases)  rising 
steeply  to  the  cathedral.  The  buildings  remain  much 
as  when  the  Morosini  and  Faliero  ruled,  but  compara- 
tively few  of  the  three  hundred  or  so  of  houses  within  the 
walls  are  inhabited  ;  most  of  the  ruined  palaces  are  of 
the  period  of  the  Ducal  Palace,  Venice,  and  some  of 
them  have  been  architecturally  remarkable.  The  walls 
and  towers  are  in  the  main  of  1420,  but  were  strength- 
ened by  the  Venetians.  The  towers  which  remain  are 
the  Merlata  Barbarigo  of  1485,  Merlata  Tiepolo  of 
about  the  same  date,  Merlata  dell'  Aspello,  erected  as 
a  defence  against  the  Turks  in  1570,  the  gate-tower 
on  the  Piazzetta  of  1649,  and  the  Gothic  Torre  Lom- 
bardo  of  1448,  near  the  land  gate.  The  walls  can  be 
walked  round  in  a  quarter  of  an  hour,  and  are  domi- 
nated by  the  Fort  S.  Biagio,  erected  by  the  English. 


326     THE    SOUTHERN    GROUP    OF    ISLANDS 

The  cathedral  has  a  fine  west  doorway  with  twisted 
and  knotted  colonnettes  and  a  pointed  arch  with  tracery 
in  the  tympanum,  and  a  modern  figure  of  a  bishop  in 


front  of  it.  Enormous  brackets  supporting  couchant 
lions  rest  upon  the  knotted  columns,  with  curious 
figures  of  Adam  and  Eve  on  their  lower  faces.     A 


THE    CATHEDRAL,   CURZOLA  327 

circular  hood  mould,  with  ogee  finial,  springs  from 
them.  In  the  gable  is  a  traceried  rose,  above  which  is 
an  elaborate  cornice  with  beasts'  heads  projecting  at 
the  angles,  shell  niches,  and  floral  finial,  and  at  the 
meeting-point  of  the  ramps  a  bust  of  an  elderly  woman 
in  the  costume  of  the  fourteenth  century,  with  hair 
in  curls  at  each  side  of  the  face,  a  jewelled  circlet, 
pleated  gown  with  tightly  fitting  sleeves  slashed  and 
embroidered,  and  a  border  round  the  neck  above  a 
laced  under-garment.  There  are  two  other  doors  at 
the  ends  of  the  aisles.  The  tower  appears  to  have 
been  added  above  the  north  aisle  about  1463  ;  it 
finishes  with  a  shafted  parapet  and  two  open  octagons 
with  domical  roofs,  one  above  the  other.  Along  the 
aisle  roof  a  carved  cornice  runs,  and  above  the  trefoiled 
pointed  clerestory  windows  is  an  arched  corbelled 
cornice.  The  nave  and  aisles  terminate  in  semicircular 
apses.  The  nave  and  choir  together  are  of  five  bays, 
with  a  pointed  arcade  on  monolithic  pillars.  The  aisles 
are  cross- vaulted  without  ribs,  but  with  pointed  arches 
between  the  bays.  The  roof  of  the  nave  is  of  wood.  The 
triforium  is  of  two  round  arches  to  each  bay,  with 
short  coupled  columns,  now  built  up,  and  with  wooden 
figures  of  the  Apostles  set  in  each  arch.  The  tower 
occupies  one  bay  of  the  north  aisle,  and  encroaches  on 
the  next  arch.  Four  of  the  caps  have  the  symbols  of 
the  Evangelists  ;  those  of  the  columns  of  the  south 
aisle  bear  flowing  late  Gothic  foliage  resembling  two  at 
Sebenico,  and  the  doorway  illustrated  at  Trau  ;  those  of 
the  north  arcade  are  of  the  seventeenth  century.  A 
fourth  aisle  was  added  to  the  north  in  1532  as  a  burial 
chapel.  The  ciborium  has  three  octagonal  stages 
pierced  with  quatrefoils,  above  long  architrave  blocks, 
the  carving  of  all  the  lower  part  being  Renaissance  in 
style.  The  interior  of  the  church  was  sadly  modernised 
in  1804,  but  the  curious  sacristy  door  still  remains.     It 


328     THE    SOUTHERN    GROUP    OF    ISLANDS 

has  a  tympanum  with  S.  Michael  weighing  souls  and 
trampling  on  the  Devil,  and,  below  the  lintel,  two 
brackets  with  musicians,  the  hood  mould  running  up  in 
ogee-shape  to  a  finial.  The  high-altar-piece  is  a  Tin- 
toretto— S.  Mark  vested  as  a  bishop  and  blessing,  with 
a  lion  at  his  feet  between  SS.  Bartholomew  and  Jerome, 
who  are  nearer  the  spectator.  On  a  side  altar  is  a 
picture  representing  the  Trinity,  by  Giacomo  da  Ponte 
(1510-1592).  The  treasury  possesses  some  good  em- 
broideries and  two  or  three  chalices,  one  of  which,  with 
a  half-figure  of  Christ  in  the  tomb,  is  set  before  the 
baldacchino  on  Good  Friday,  to  show  symbolically  that 
the  Body  of  Christ  is  in  the  Sacrament. 

On  the  way  to  the  church  of  Ognissanti  the  Palazzo 
Arneri  is  passed  ;  it  has  a  fine  knocker  in  the  manner 
of  John  of  Bologna — Neptune  standing  and  controlling 
two  lions,  a  design  of  which  there  are  examples  in 
Padua  and  elsewhere.  The  church  of  All  Saints  was 
built  in  1303.  It  has  been  modernised,  but  still  retains 
a  ciborium  with  quatrefoil  piercings  and  angle  pin- 
nacles, bearing  much  resemblance  to  that  in  the  cathe- 
dral. A  stair  leads  to  a  Greek  church,  in  which  are 
several  painted  wood  crucifixes  and  Byzantine  pictures. 

Some  forty  minutes  away,  on  a  small  island  to  the 
east,  is  the  Franciscan  convent,  La  Badia,  a  building  of 
the  fifteenth  century  for  the  most  part,  containing  a 
rather  pretty  cloister  of  white  marble  erected  in  1477. 
The  arches  are  stilted,  pointed,  and  trefoiled,  arranged 
in  groups  of  three,  with  wider  slightly  segmental  open- 
ings with  cuspings  for  entrances.  The  spandrils  are 
filled  with  Gothic  leafage,  the  bases  and  caps  to  the 
columns  are  early  Renaissance,  and  the  frieze  is  quite 
plain,  with  a  dentilled  cornice.  The  church  is  not  in- 
teresting architecturally  ;  the  western  f  acade  is  imitated 
from  the  cathedral,  but  it  contains  a  crucifix  brought 
from  Bosnia  by  refugees  after  the  battle  of  Kossovo. 


LISSA  329 

The  plague  of  1558  smote  Curzola  very  heavily,  and 
as  years  went  by  it  sank  lower  and  lower.  The  con- 
venience of  the  neighbouring  pine-woods,  the  two  ports 
between  which  the  town  lies,  and  the  existence  of 
Porto  Pedocchio  caused  the  Venetians  to  move  their 
arsenal  hither  from  Lesina  in  1776 ;  and  during  the 
last  century  it  has  recovered  to  some  extent,  but  the 
population  remains  poor. 

The  island  of  Lissa  lies  to  the  north-east  of  Curzola, 
much  farther  away  from  the  mainland.  The  climate  is 
very  mild ;  palms,  cactus,  aloes,  and  myrtle  flourish  ;  and 
a  wine  known  as  Opollo  is  as  much  sought  after  as  that 
made  from  Lissan  grape-juice,  praised  in  antiquity  by 
Agathar chides.  It  is  cut  into  by  two  large  bays,  to  the 
west  the  Valle  di  Comisa,  and  to  the  north-east  the 
harbour  of  Lissa.  There  are  some  small  remains  of 
antiquity.  The  foundations  of  the  Roman  theatre  are 
partly  in  the  sea,  and  other  Roman  ruins  are  round 
about  the  harbour,  though  the  ancient  Issa  occupied 
the  site  of  Gradina,  300  ft.  above  the  sea.  One  statue 
at  least  which  was  found  here  has  been  taken  to  Vienna. 
Lago  says  that  under  the  building  of  the  Blessed 
Virgin  "  delle  Graticelle "  there  are  caverns  said  to 
contain  the  graves  of  Diomede  and  his  companions. 
Apollonius  of  Rhodes  says  that  the  original  colonists 
came  from  Issa  in  Lesbos,  and  were  Pelasgic  Liburnians ; 
but  Polybius  tells  of  a  Greek  colonisation  in  392  B.C. 
under  Dionysios  the  Elder,  of  Syracuse.  It  is  certain, 
from  gems  and  inscriptions  found,  that  a  free  state 
existed  here  about  340  B.C.  It  was  through  Issa  seek- 
ing protection  from  Rome  that  the  commencement  of 
the  conquest  of  Illyria  sprang.  Their  being  able  to 
help  the  Romans  with  twenty  ships  in  their  war  with 
Philip  of  Macedon,  and  their  founding  such  cities  as 
Tragurium  and  Epetium  show  their  importance  in 
antiquity.     The  Goths  of  Ravenna  destroyed  the  town 

42 


330     THE    SOUTHERN    GROUP   OF   ISLANDS 

in  535  a.d.,  on  their  way  to  Salona.  It  was  destroyed 
a  second  time  by  the  Narentans,  and  a  third  time,  in 
1483,  by  the  Aragonese.  The  great  battle  for  which 
Lissa  is  celebrated  took  place  on  March  13,  181 1,  when 
the  French  were  beaten  by  the  English,  who  destroyed 
all  their  ships  but  three,  the  commander  Dubourdieu 
being  killed,  after  which  Lissa  was  made  a  kind  of 
Adriatic  Malta.  The  Austrians  strengthened  the  forti- 
fications of  the  English,  making  it  an  arsenal,  and  in 
1866  Tegethoff  beat  the  Italian  fleet  here.  Some 
interest  attaches  to  the  fortifications,  monuments, 
and  graveyards  of  the  island,  on  account  of  the  British 
occupation.  The  monument  recording  the  English 
victory  is  in  the  English  cemetery ;  in  the  other  is  a 
memorial  to  those  who  died  in  the  I talo- Austrian  fight. 
At  Busi,  a  few  miles  away,  is  a  blue  grotto,  discovered 
in  1884,  claimed  to  be  even  more  remarkable  than  the 
celebrated  grotto  at  Capri. 

Lagosta  lies  due  south  of  Curzola.  It  belonged  to 
Ragusa,  and  the  islanders  are  still  very  proud  of  the 
connection.  Uros  I.  (the  Great)  gave  it  to  Ragusa  in 
the  second  half  of  the  thirteenth  century.  In  the 
cathedral  is  a  Titian  signed  on  the  back. 

Meleda  is  east  of  Lagosta,  and  south  of  Sabbioncello. 
It  also  belonged  to  Ragusa,  given  to  the  Republic  by 
a  Servian  prince  in  the  twelfth  century.  It  has  his- 
torical memories  of  Julius  Caesar,  Octavian,  Septimius 
Severus,  and  Caracalla,  and  was  used  in  antiquity  as  a 
place  of  banishment,  like  Bua  opposite  Trau.  In  the 
town  of  Porto  Palazzo  ruins  of  the  palace  built  by  the 
Cilician  Agesilaus  of  Anazarba,  governor  of  Cilicia 
under  Nero,  and  sent  here  by  Septimius  Severus,  still 
exist.  In  the  ninth  century  the  island  was  part  of  the 
Narentan  dominions.  The  building,  formerly  a  con- 
vent, traditionally  said  to  have  been  founded  before 
1000  on  the  little  island  of  S.  Maria  del  Lago,  is  like  a 


S.   MARIA   DEL   BISCIONE,   MEZZO         331 

mediaeval  castle  with  battlemented  walls  and  a  tower. 
The  cloister  is  picturesque  with  ancient  date-palms, 
and  there  are  several  monuments  in  the  church.  The 
island  is  prettily  situated  near  the  shore  of  the  Lago 
Grande,  one  of  two  lagoons  reached  by  a  pleasant  road 
from  Porto  Palazzo. 

Nearer  to  Gravosa  is  Mezzo,  the  ancient  Delaphodia, 
which  also  belonged  to  Ragusa.  The  mother  church  is 
away  from  the  town,  and  is  known  as  S.  Maria  del 
Biscione,  a  building  of  the  fifteenth  century.  It  con- 
tains an  altar-piece  with  gilt  arabesques  on  a  blue 
ground,  and  large  painted  and  gilt  wooden  figures  of 
Apostles  and  the  subject  of  the  Assumption.  A  pre- 
della  contains  carvings  of  the  Last  Supper  and  the 
Washing  of  the  Disciples'  Feet.  It  was  made  in  the 
seventeenth  century,  though  the  style  is  earlier.  There 
are  also  two  pictures — a  Madonna  and  Saints,  of  the 
earlier  Venetian  school,  and  an  enthroned  Madonna 
and  Child  with  four  panels  of  saints  at  the  sides,  both 
restored.  In  the  sacristy  are  a  Venetian  lavabo,  some 
embroideries,  and  a  fine  fifteenth-century  processional 
cross.  An  iron  grille  round  a  side  altar  bears  the 
Visconti  arms,  which  are  also  those  of  Mezzo.  The 
"biscione"  (serpent)  in  these  arms  gives  its  name 
to  the  bay,  and  so  to  the  church.  The  church  of  the 
deserted  Franciscan  convent  is  now  used  as  the  parish 
church.  It  is  a  building  of  the  latter  part  of  the 
fifteenth  century,  and  contains  some  fine  carved  stalls 
of  the  usual  type,  and  a  fine  altar-piece  by  Nicolaus 
Raguseus,  9  ft.  high,  and  with  an  arched  top.  God  the 
Father  is  enthroned  above,  surrounded  by  angels  with 
the  instruments  of  the  Passion.  The  five  panels  in 
the  upper  row  show  the  Angel  of  the  Annunciation, 
S.  Blaise,  Christ  with  the  Cross,  and  half-figures  of  S. 
Anthony  and  the  Virgin.  The  centre  subject  is  rather 
broader.     Below  it  is  a  later  painted  wood  carving  of 


332     THE   SOUTHERN    GROUP    OF    ISLANDS 

the  Madonna  and  Child.  The  panels  at  the  sides  have 
figures  of  SS.  Roch  and  John  the  Baptist,  Francis  and 
Catherine.  The  frame  is  carved  and  painted  blue,  and 
gilded.  There  is  another  picture  by  the  same  artist  in 
S.  Nicholas,  which  was  the  Dominican  church — an 
Annunciation,  dated  March  16,  1513,  with  a  predella 
of  five  subjects,  a  praying  Dominican,  a  Nativity  of 
Christ,  a  galley  in  the  harbour  of  Mezzo,  the  Adoration 
of  the  Magi,  and  the  entrance  of  the  Dominicans  into 
the  cloister.  A  good  campanile  still  remains,  though 
the  cloister  is  ruined.  There  are  several  chapels  in  the 
place,  also  roofless  and  in  ruins,  and  two  ruined  castles. 

A  Captain  Pracat,  who  left  200,000  ducats  to  the 
Republic  of  Ragusa,  and  who  was  honoured  with  a 
half-length  figure  set  up  in  the  court  of  the  Rector's 
Palace  in  1638,  was  a  native  of  Mezzo.  A  towel  given 
him  by  the  Emperor  Charles  V.  is  preserved  at  Mezzo, 
together  with  some  church  plate  of  unusual  design. 
The  chalice  is  a  mixture  of  late  Gothic  and  early 
Renaissance  in  character,  with  two  little  angels,  now 
wingless,  holding  to  its  edge,  and  treading  with  one 
foot  on  the  knop,  thus  forming  handles.  It  is  so  large 
as  to  recall  the  ancient  ministerial  chalices.  Medal- 
lions with  the  Evangelists'  symbols  ornament  the  bowl, 
with  scroll-work  between  ;  the  knop  is  covered  with 
similar  ornament,  and  on  the  foot  is  a  full-length  figure 
of  S.  Blaise.  An  ostensory  has  the  same  detail  of  the 
flying  angels,  and  there  is  also  a  large  paten  with  Christ 
as  the  Man  of  Sorrows  on  a  blue  enamel  ground. 

The  island  of  Lacroma  is  beyond  Ragusa,  and  can  be 
easily  visited  from  that  place.  It  is  the  last  Austrian 
island  of  any  importance,  and  will  be  described  in  the 
next  chapter. 


XXIII 

RAGUSA 

Ragusa  is  one  of  the  most  charming  spots  in  Dalmatia, 
and  one  can  quite  understand  the  action  of  the  in- 
habitants who  refused  to  leave  it  notwithstanding  the 
ruin  wrought  by  the  earthquake  of  1667,  when  it  was 
proposed  to  move  the  community  to  a  safer  situation. 
The  grey  town  upon  its  rocky  seat,  lighted  by  the 
brilliant  sun,  contrasts  with  the  blue  of  the  sea  and 
the  green  of  the  luxuriant  vegetation  (much  of  it 
tropical),  amidst  which  villas  nestle  picturesquely,  and 
from  the  cliffs  on  either  side  at  morning  and  evening 
the  glow  of  the  sun's  level  rays,  or  the  characteristic 
silhouettes  of  town  and  rock  are  equally  effective, 
according  to  the  position  of  the  spectator.  But  the 
sea,  which  is  generally  calm  and  blue,  can  be  lashed  to 
fury  when  scirocco  blows,  so  strongly  sometimes  that  it 
is  difficult  to  keep  one's  feet,  and,  though  storms  do 
not  usually  last  many  days,  the  spray  has  been  known 
to  fly  right  over  Fort  S.  Lorenzo,  situated  on  an 
isolated  rock  100  ft.  above  the  water. 

Large  steamers  cannot  enter  the  little  harbour,  so 
Gravosa,  on  the  estuary  of  the  Ombla,  a  mile  or  so 
away,  serves  as  the  usual  port.  It  is  sheltered  by  the 
rocky  island  of  Daxa,  and  affords  another  of  those  fine 
harbours  with  which  Dalmatia  is  so  well  provided. 
On  one  of  our  visits  to  Ragusa  we  stayed  at  the  Hotel 
Petka  at  Gravosa,  and  in  front  of  the  windows  a  flotilla 

333 


334  RAGUSA 

of  torpedo-boats  lay  at  anchor  with  steam  up.  It  was 
interesting  to  see  the  men  doing  everything  to  word  of 
command.  In  the  morning  they  got  up  at  a  signal ; 
drew  up  water  to  a  signal,  washed  themselves  and 
then  the  boats,  prepared  meals,  &c,  &c,  all  in  public 
view,  for  there  was  very  little  deck  and  apparently  no 
room  below  at  all.  In  the  hotel  we  were  interested  by 
some  tame  swallows,  which  flew  about  the  hall  and 
came  into  the  restaurant ;  but  a  detestable  mechanical 
piano,  operated  by  an  electrical  motor  on  the  penny-in- 
the-slot  plan,  which  was  a  source  of  great  pleasure  to 
some  Slav  visitors,  interfered  a  good  deal  with  our 
comfort.  I  am  sorry  to  say  that  when  I  had  time  to 
look  over  the  account  for  the  rooms  (for  we  were 
hurried  in  leaving)  I  found  that  we  had  been  charged 
for  a  day  more  than  we  had  been  there,  the  only  in- 
stance of  such  a  thing  which  we  experienced  in  our 
journeys  up  and  down  the  coast.  Some  of  the  houses 
along  the  road  by  the  water  have  delightful  gardens, 
and  piles  of  fruit  and  vegetables  made  fascinating 
colour  compositions  by  the  waterside,  whilst  the  vivid 
colour  of  some  of  the  strange  costumes,  such  as  that  of 
the  quaint  old  Herzegovinian  charcoal  porter,  con- 
trasted well  with  the  more  ordinary  clothes  of  officials 
and  traders.  Large  numbers  of  Herzegovinian  emi- 
grants take  boat  at  Gravosa  ;  and  I  remember  one  day, 
when  Ragusa  was  full  of  them  and  their  friends  and 
every  vehicle  crowded  between  that  place  and  Gravosa, 
what  a  strange  sight  the  pier  presented,  so  thickly 
packed  with  people  that  one  wondered  none  were 
pushed  off.  The  variety  of  colour  and  picturesqueness 
of  costume  and  type  among  the  men  and  women  was 
interesting,  and  it  was  touching  to  think  of  the  sunder- 
ing of  friends  and  relations,  and  the  grief  at  parting 
which  many  of  them  showed  in  their  strongly  marked 
countenances.     From  Gravosa  the  source  of  the  Ombla 


HERZEGOVINIAN    CHARCOAL    PORTER,    GRAVOSA 

To  face  page  334 


CANNOSA   AND    STAGNO  335 

is  easily  visited,  a  strange  river  springing  full-grown 
from  beneath  a  cliff  but  a  few  miles  from  the  sea.  The 
Greeks  called  it  Arione,  the  Latins  Umbla,  and  it  is 
believed  to  be  the  same  river  as  the  Trebisnizza,  which 
becomes  subterranean  some  two  and  a  half  hours' 
journey  away  in  the  Herzegovina.  Its  depth  is  un- 
known, as  the  actual  source  at  the  foot  of  the  Falken- 
berg  cannot  be  approached,  but  the  weir  which  dams 
up  the  river  creates  a  pool  some  65  ft.  across,  in  which 
mulberry-trees,  fig-trees,  reeds,  and  bushes  are  reflected, 
and  furnishes  the  power  for  working  two  great  mills. 
The  river  is  but  three  miles  long  before  it  merges  in  the 
estuary,  and  its  banks  are  sprinkled  with  villas  and 
villages,  the  railway  station  and  the  admiralty  stores 
occupying  the  portion  nearest  to  the  harbour. 

From  Gravosa  the  excursion  to  the  plane-trees  of 
Cannosa  and  to  Stagno  may  be  made.  The  great  plane- 
trees  are  40  ft.  in  circumference,  and  their  branches 
spread  over  a  diameter  of  some  200  ft.  The  larger  one 
takes  twelve  men  with  outstretched  arms  to  surround 
it.  The  villa  of  Count  Gozze,  close  by,  has  beautiful 
gardens.  Stagno  has  historical  interest.  It  is  twenty- 
three  miles  from  Ragusa,  and  is  mentioned  in  the 
"  Tavola  Peutingeriana "  as  ''Turns  Stagni  "  ;  the 
Romans  knew  it  as  "  Stagnum."  There  are  traces  of 
ancient  walls  right  across  the  isthmus,  which  is  only  a 
kilometre  wide,  Sabbioncello  being  thus  almost  an  island. 
It  was  given  to  Ragusa  by  Stephen  VI.  of  Servia  in 
I333,  and  the  Republic  spent  120,000  ducats  in  fortify- 
ing it  during  the  next  twenty-four  years.  Till  18 15  it 
remained  tributary  to  Ragusa,  and  was  ruled  by  a  civil 
and  political  count.  A  little  way  north-west  was  the 
northern  slip  of  territory  which  Ragusa  gave  to  Turkey 
to  prevent  her  territories  touching  those  of  Venice,  the 
little  peninsula  of  Klek,  with  about  two-thirds  of  a  mile 
of  coast  and  the  little  port  of  Neum.     On  the  south 


336  RAGUSA 

the  Sutorina  valley  fulfilled  the  same  function.  Both 
were  handed  over  to  Turkey  in  1699  at  the  peace  of 
Carlowitz  with  the  assistance  of  Spain,  and  were  only 
incorporated  with  Austria  in  1878. 

The  road  to  Ragusa  climbs  the  neck  of  the  penin- 
sula of  Lapad,  where  the  Ragusan  merchants  had  their 
villas  in  their  days  of  prosperity,  passing  the  exer- 
cising-ground,  up  and  down  which  recruits  march  and 
manoeuvre  notwithstanding  the  heat.  The  high  walls 
have  masses  of  flowers  hanging  over  them  and  little 
summer-houses  perched  upon  them  here  and  there 
among  the  verdure.  At  the  bottom  of  the  descent  is 
a  tree-planted  promenade,  across  which  the  grey  walls 
of  the  Porta  Pile  glimmer,  pierced  with  a  low  arch 
above  which  the  patron  saint,  S.  Biagio,  looks  forth 
from  an  early  Renaissance  niche,  with  his  hand  raised 
in  blessing,  as  he  does  from  above  the  other  gates  and 
from  the  huge  bulk  of  the  Torre  Menze,  the  great 
tower  crowning  the  line  of  walls  which  ramps  up  the 
slope  to  the  left.  The  situation  is  magnificent,  and 
from  the  sea  the  view  of  the  town  is  unique  among 
Dalmatian  cities  by  reason  of  the  strong  sea  walls,  a 
sign  of  freedom  from  the  supremacy  of  Venice,  whose 
winged  lion  only  appears  in  one  place,  by  the  convent 
of  S.  Maria,  on  the  gate  to  the  sea,  closed  in  1358, 
where  the  upper  border  of  the  panel  may  also  be  seen. 
Within  these  walls  the  streets  are  mere  narrow  lanes  in 
one  direction,  and  in  the  other  mainly  flights  of  steps 
which  climb  the  hill.  Fine  effects  of  light  are  produced 
in  consequence,  especially  when  the  street  dives  be- 
neath houses  through  dark  arches.  The  only  broad 
street  is  the  Stradone,  which  runs  from  one  gate  to  the 
other,  and  was  once  an  arm  of  the  sea,  though  one  can 
scarcely  believe  that  it  could  have  been  so  sufficiently 
recently  to  have  allowed  of  the  ships  lying  close  to  the 
merchants'  houses  in  the  time  of  Ragusan  prosperity, 


PORTA    PILE,    RAGUSA 


To  face  page  336 


o 

s 

h 

O 

o 

525 
<J 

W 

8 


FORTIFICATIONS    OF   RAGUSA  337 

as  some  say.  The  houses  along  this  street  are  all  of 
the  same  character,  and  were,  no  doubt,  built  after  the 
great  earthquake  of  1667.  Many  of  them  have  shops 
beneath  an  arch,  half  of  which  is  filled  by  the  counter, 
while  on  the  wall  outside  hang  draperies  of  ravishing 
colours,  or  embroideries  or  metal-work,  sparkling  in 
the  sun,  or  cases  containing  jewellery,  brightly  coloured 
leather-work,  &c.  Above  the  roof-cornices  quaint 
dormers  and  strangely  fashioned  chimneys  rise,  pro- 
ducing a  most  picturesque  sky-line. 

The  walls  are  perfect  in  their  whole  circuit,  and 
give  one  a  very  clear  idea  of  the  complicated  arrange- 
ments for  the  defence  of  a  mediaeval  town,  by  the  many 
gateways  and  tortuous  roads  by  which  the  town  is 
entered,  while  the  external  appearance  remains  quite 
mediaeval. 

These  fortifications  date  from  1380,  when  the  last 
Venetian  Count  had  gone,  but  there  are  later  additions. 
At  this  time  the  Cast  el  S.  Lorenzo  was  built,  displacing 
an  oratory  built  on  the  site  of  a  nunnery  established 
before  the  eleventh  century.  Forte  Molo,  by  the 
harbour  (formerly  Fort  S.  Giovanni,  and  now  much 
altered)  and  the  tower  of  S.  Luca  still  remain  of  the 
earlier  fortifications.  As  the  town  spread  it  was  forti- 
fied by  the  addition  of  the  Torre  Menze  (built  in  1464  by 
Michelozzo  and  George  of  Sebenico,  but  altered  in  1538), 
the  Torre  Leverone  (built  in  1539  to  defend  the  harbour 
and  the  road  to  Breno),  and  Fort  S.  Margherita  (1571). 
The  French  built  Fort  Imperiale  on  Monte  Sergio 
and  the  battery  on  Lacroma.  The  cliff-like  masses  of 
stone  are  stern  and  forbidding,  and  one  thinks  the 
citizens  must  have  been  glad  to  escape  from  them  on 
to  the  wooded  slopes  of  Monte  Sergio  (bare  and  stony 
now),  though  their  apparent  impregnability  must  have 
been  comforting  in  those  days;  when  the  strong  hand 
often  over-ruled  right  and  justice. 

43 


338  RAGUSA 

The  origin  of  the  city  is  given  thus.  Fugitives  from 
Epidaurus  (Ragusa  Vecchia)  in  639  took  refuge  on  a 
rocky  hill  sheltered  by  an  oak  wood  (dubrava  in  Slav, 
from  which  the  Slav  name  Dubrovnik  may  be  derived), 
and  Salonitans  joined  them.  In  690  or  870  they  began 
to  enclose  the  place  with  walls,  with  the  help  of  the 
Servian  ruler,  Paulimir.  These  walls  only  enclosed 
the  southern  part,  and  the  Stradone  served  as  ditch 
and  harbour.  It  is  claimed  that  the  Republic  was 
founded  in  663.  Three  extensions  of  the  walls  are 
recorded  before  the  twelfth  century.  There  was  a 
Slavonic  colony  on  Monte  Sergio,  on  the  other  side  of 
the  ditch,  and  the  name  of  their  patron  saint,  Sergius, 
has  survived  in  that  name.  The  patron  saint  of  the 
Latin  colony  on  the  island  was  Bacchus,  and  when  the 
two  colonies  amalgamated,  as  neither  would  accept 
the  patron  saint  of  the  other,  they  chose  a  fresh  one, 
S.  Blaise.  They  put  themselves  under  Venetian  protec- 
tion in  998,  the  first  count  being  Ottone  Orseolo.  The 
earliest  recorded  commercial  treaty  is  with  Pisa,  made 
in  1 1 69.  From  1205  we  find  Venice  supreme,  and  she 
remained  so  for  nearly  a  hundred  and  fifty  years,  with  an 
interval  of  Byzantine  rule.  In  1358  Ragusa  was  under 
the  protection  of  the  king  of  Hungary  :  the  sneer  against 
it  of  being  "  sette  bandiere"  (seven  flagged)  suggests 
that  it  sought  protection  from  more  than  one  power  at 
a  time.  It  was  the  headquarters  of  effort  for  the  con- 
version of  the  Slavs,  which  explains  the  gifts  made 
to  its  churches  by  Servian  kings  and  nobles.  From 
1358  it  was  practically  independent,  though  it  paid  a 
tribute  of  500  iperperi  to  Hungary,  and  used  the  Hun- 
garian standard  as  well  as  that  of  S.  Biagio.  The 
fifteenth  century  was  the  period  of  greatest  prosperity, 
overshadowed  by  the  fear  of  being  eaten  up  by  Venice. 
To  make  themselves  secure  the  Ragusans  paid  tribute 
to  Constantinople  in  1453  of  1,500  ducats,  increased 


THE   GREAT   EARTHQUAKE  339 

afterwards  to  10,000  ;  and  this  tribute  appears  to  have 
been  continued  till  1718.  Sigismond  Malatesta  came 
to  Ragusa  in  1464,  intending  to  make  it  a  base  of  attack 
on  Italy  in  conjunction  with  the  Sultan,  but  stayed 
there,  and  became  military  commander.  Ragusa  thus 
gained  the  special  benevolence  of  the  Pontifical  Court, 
and  permission  to  traffic  with  the  infidel. 

The  greatest  misfortune  which  befel  Ragusa  was 
the  earthquake  of  April  6,  1667,  which  is  thus  de- 
scribed. In  the  early  morning  "  there  came  from 
below  ground  a  horrible  and  dreadful  earthquake, 
which  in  a  few  moments  destroyed  the  Rector's  palace, 
the  Rector  himself  being  killed,  and  all  the  other  palaces, 
churches,  monasteries,  and  houses  in  the  city,  every- 
thing being  overthrown,  and  there  was  much  loss  of 
life  ;  the  havoc  was  increased  by  the  huge  rocks  which 
fell  from  the  mountains  ;  thus  the  city  became  a  heap  of 
stones.  At  the  same  time,  a  wind  having  arisen,  mis- 
fortune was  heapedupon  misfortune,  and, in  consequence 
of  the  fall  of  timbers  upon  the  kitchen  fires,  flames 
burst  forth  :  the  fire  lasted  several  days,  causing  much 
suffering  to  the  few  survivors  of  this  horrible  disaster. 
Not  more  than  600,  besides  25  nobles,  escaped,  and  it 
was  a  sad  sight  to  see  these  people,  most  of  them 
injured,  wandering  about  almost  beside  themselves 
with  despair,  in  the  ruined  streets,  imploring  pity  and 
pardon  from  the  Lord  God  for  their  sins.  Moreover, 
the  Castle  rock  was  seen  to  burst  open  and  close  again 
twice,  and  the  waters  of  the  sea  sank  back  four  times. 
Even  the  wells  dried  up  completely.  The  land  fort 
remained  untouched ;  the  sea  fort,  the  dogana,  and  the 
lazaretto  were  partially  damaged,  but  can  be  repaired 
in  a  short  time.  Many,  moved  by  compassion  at 
hearing  the  lamentable  cries  of  those  buried  among  the 
ruins,  struggled  to  remove  the  rubbish  of  stones  and 
timber  with  which  they  were  covered,  and  found  some 


340  RAGUSA 

still  alive,  although  they  had  been  three,  four,  or  even 
five  days  in  that  terrible  condition  "  (from  a  Venetian 
book  of  1667).  A  good  deal  of  plundering  went  on, 
the  peasants  and  Morlacchi  looking  on  the  catastrophe 
as  a  godsend.  Biagio  Caboga  and  Michele  Bosdari 
armed  their  retainers,  and  kept  watch  over  the  ruined 
churches  and  public  buildings  :  the  relics  and  remains 
of  the  cathedral  treasure  were  removed  to  a  chapel  in 
the  Dominican  monastery,  and  bricked  up,  with  a 
barred  aperture  only  left ;  and  the  State  treasure  was 
taken  to  Fort  Leverone,  where  a  provisional  government 
was  established.  The  situation  appeared  so  hopeless 
that  it  was  proposed  to  move  the  town  to  Gravosa,  but 
the  citizens  would  not  leave  the  place.  Apparently  some 
5,000  people  had  been  killed,  but  the  fragments  of 
Venetian  architecture  on  the  slopes  of  Monte  Sergio,  as 
well  as  the  one  house  pointed  out  beyond  the  cathedral, 
show  that  a  good  many  houses  survived  in  part. 

In  1796,  when  the  French  occupied  the  Ionian  Islands, 
a  French  commissary  appeared  at  Ragusa,  and  asked 
for  a  loan  of  1,000,000  francs.  It  was  granted,  but  pro- 
duced a  rebellion  which  brought  about  a  short  occu- 
pation by  Austrian  troops.  By  the  peace  of  Presburg 
(1805),  Austria  ceded  Dalmatia  and  the  Bocche  to 
France.  The  Bocchesi  and  Montenegrins  determined 
rather  to  give  themselves  to  Russia,  and,  with  the  help 
of  a  squadron  sent  from  Corfu,  took  the  Bocche  from 
Austria  as  far  as  Castelnuovo.  The  French  moved 
towards  Ragusa,  meaning  to  occupy  Cattaro.  General 
Lauriston,  with  800  men,  crossed  the  Ombla  and  entered 
the  city  under  pretext  of  resting  his  soldiers.  The  news 
reached  Cattaro,  and  the  Bocchesi,  Montenegrins,  and 
Russians  invaded  the  territory  of  the  Republic,  beating 
the  French  near  Ragusa  Vecchia,  and  besieging  them  in 
Ragusa.  On  July  6, 1806,  Gravosa  was  burnt,  with  the 
shipping  and  stores.     In  1808  Marmont  declared  the 


THE   CHURCH    OF   S.   STEFANO  341 

"Republic  dead  and  buried,  and  the  French  retained 
Ragusa  till  1814.  In  January  of  that  year  Count 
Biagio  Bernardo  di  Caboga  raised  the  people,  and  with 
English  and  Austrian  troops,  freed  his  country  from  the 
French.  The  flag  of  Ragusa  flew  for  the  last  time 
between  those  of  Austria  and  England  on  January  3. 
On  the  28th  the  territory  was  taken  possession  of  by 
Austria.  A  short  time  before  the  French  occupation 
Ragusa  had  400  sea-going  ships. 

There  is  very  little  remaining  from  the  early  period, 
though  there  are  records  of  building  being  done.  Resti, 
who  is  an  authority  for  the  local  history  of  Ragusa, 
says  that  Stefano,  king  of  Croatia  Bianca,  vowed  to 
restore  S.  Stefano,  Ragusa,  and  remained  there  two 
years  while  it  was  being  done,  spending  much  money 
upon  it.  His  wife  Margherita,  a  noble  Roman  lady, 
sent  a  quantity  of  silver  to  ornament  the  relics  of  the 
saints,  of  which  the  church  had  many  3  and  finally  the 
royal  couple  visited  it,  the  king  being  accompanied  by 
several  barons,  and  the  queen  by  her  ladies.  The  rest 
of  the  Court  stayed  at  Breno  and  Canali,  because  the 
Ragusans  said  they  could  not  accommodate  them  all, 
the  city  being  but  small.  The  king,  in  return  for  the 
distinguished  treatment  which  was  accorded  him,  is 
said  to  have  given  to  the  Republic,  Breno,  Vergato, 
Ombla,  Gravosa,  the  valley  of  Mam,  and  part  of 
Gionchetto,  on  the  condition  of  churches  dedicated 
to  S.  Stephen  being  built  in  all  the  towns.  After  his 
-death  his  queen  resolved  to  retire  to  Ragusa  and 
become  a  nun.  She  had  a  small  room  built  for  her  by 
the  side  of  S.  Stefano,  and  also  built  the  little  church  of 
S.  Margherita,  removed  in  1570  when  the  fort  which 
still  bears  the  same  name  was  constructed,  and  rebuilt 
in  the  present  military  hospital,  the  old  Jesuit  convent, 
where  it  was  used  as  a  mortuary.  She  also  brought 
to  Ragusa  two  pieces  of  the  wood  of  the  true  Cross,  the 


342  RAGUSA 

larger  of  which  is  still  in  the  cathedral.  The  cell  which 
was  built  for  her  still  existed  in  the  fifteenth  century. 
The  church  of  S.  Stefano  was  the  old  cathedral ;  it  was 
partially  destroyed  by  the  earthquake  of  1667,  and 
never  rebuilt.  The  site  is  now  used  as  a  recreation 
ground  for  the  cathedral  clergy.  Above  an  early 
Renaissance  door,  made  when  the  building  was  con- 
verted into  a  sacristy  for  the  later  church,  is  encrusted 
a  piece  of  ninth-century  sculpture,  with  the  usual 
arches,  crosses,  and  palmettes,  and  in  the  adjoining  wall 
is  an  oculus  with  an  ornamented  moulding.  By  the 
side  of  the  bishop's  palace  is  a  little  chapel  with  a 
door  apparently  of  the  ninth  century.  It  has  a  scroll 
pattern  up  the  jambs  and  across  the  lintel,  with  the 
characteristic  triple  furrowing,  and  above  the  lintel  a 
palmette  cornice  ;  on  the  reveal  is  a  twisted  guilloche 
treated  in  the  same  manner.  There  are  two  or  three 
early  churches  of  little  interest  on  the  hill ;  one  at 
least  has  been  rebuilt.  Gelcich  says  :  "  Of  the  Byzantine 
epoch,  except  the  bas-reliefs  of  S.  Stefano,  nothing 
remains  save  a  memory  in  the  name  of  the  mountain 
above  the  city,  and  the  worship  of  some  saint  whose 
name  recalls  the  East." 

The  present  cathedral  was  rebuilt  between  1667 
and  1713,  and  is  of  the  usual  character.  It,  however, 
possesses  several  good  pictures  and  a  very  rich  treasury. 
The  most  interesting  of  the  pictures  is  a  triptych 
or  portable  altar,  an  old  Bruges  picture,  which  the 
envoys  took  with  them  when  they  went  to  Constanti- 
nople every  three  years  to  pay  the  tribute.  The  sub- 
ject is  the  Adoration  of  the  Magi.  In  the  centre  the 
Virgin  is  seated  with  the  Child  on  her  lap.  He  is 
kneeling,  and  extending  His  hand  to  the  oldest  of  the 
three  kings,  who  has  placed  sceptre  and  gifts  at  the 
Saviour's  feet.  Behind  him  is  another  king  ;  through 
arches  a  landscape  is  seen  at  the  back.     On  the  left 


En 

o 

Q 
< 

m 

x 

w 

X 
H 

En 
O 

o* 

3 

w 


OPENING   THE   TREASURY  343 

wing  are  the  third  king,  a  Moor,  with  a  group  of  figures 
and  landscape  behind.  On  the  right  wing  is  a  bald- 
headed  man  in  a  rich  robe,  and  in  the  background  a 
castle.  The  centre  panel  is  2  ft.  9  in.  high  by  1  ft.  9  in. 
broad.  It  is  in  the  style  of  Memling.  There  are  also 
several  Padovaninos  and  pictures  ascribed  to  Titian 
and  others,  a  Palma  Vecchio,  and  a  fine  head  of  Christ 
by  Pordenone. 

The  formalities  for  opening  the  treasure  caused  us 
some  trouble.  We  arrived  just  as  the  usual  weekly 
exhibition  was  over,  and  I  was  told  that  it  was  im- 
possible for  it  to  be  opened  again  for  seven  days.  I 
explained  that  I  had  a  special  permission  from  the 
Government  to  see  such  things,  but  that  I  preferred 
asking  Monsignore  (and  the  little  Canon  who  opened 
the  treasury)  to  be  good  enough  to  give  me  the  facilities 
which  I  desired.  He  asked  to  have  the  statthalter' s 
letter  to  show  the  bishop.  I  knew,  of  course,  that  he 
wanted  to  take  it  to  the  municipio,  to  see  if  it  was 
authentic,  and  therefore  consented,  on  his  engaging  to 
return  it ;  and  so  we  parted.  The  next  day  I  was 
allowed  to  enter  the  treasury,  thereby  obliging  a  rich 
American  family,  who  would  otherwise  have  found  the 
doors  shut,  and  had  a  test  of  my  knowledge  applied  by 
being  asked  the  period  to  which  a  reliquary  belonged 
of  which  the  date  was  known.  Having  passed  my  exa- 
mination satisfactorily,  I  had  the  pleasure  of  handling 
any  of  the  objects  which  I  desired  to  examine,  and, 
further,  of  being  asked  to  oblige  Monsignore  by  telling 
him  the  period  when  certain  of  the  objects  were  made. 
Some  of  the  photographs  of  the  reliquaries  were  not 
quite  successful,  and  the  next  year  we  returned  to 
make  others,  taking  with  us  some  copies  which  we  had 
promised  to  send  to  the  bishop.  I  was  rather  amused 
to  be  greeted  effusively  as  "  Carissimo  "  ;  it  was  such  a 
contrast  to  our  first  reception. 


344  RAGUSA 

The  treasury  is  particularly  rich  in  reliquaries,  of 
which  the  most  valued  contains  the  head  of  S.  Blaise. 
It  consists  of  a  number  of  small  Byzantine  enamels 
reset  in  an  elaborate  floral  pattern  of  filigree  and 
enamel  by  a  Venetian  goldsmith  in  1694 — "  Franc00 
Ferro  Venet0,"  as  he  signs  himself  on  the  lower  edge. 
The  design  resembles  the  later  Hungarian  enamel-work 
very  closely.  The  stalks  are  simply  gold  wires,  and  the 
leaves,  flowers,  &c,  are  filled  in  with  enamels  of  differ- 
ent colours,  very  delicately  varied,  leaving  the  copper 
ground  showing,  each  plaque  being  surrounded  with  a 
twist  of  gold  and  pinned  down  to  the  capsule  of  the 
skull.  Legend  says  that  the  head  was  brought  to  Ra- 
gusa  in  1026,  but  even  the  Byzantine  enamels  scarcely 
look  as  old  as  that ;  and  the  occurrence  of  two  half- 
lengths  of  S.  Blaise  and  two  of  S.  Peter  suggests  that 
it  was  made  up  with  fragments  of  several  reliquaries,  of 
which  other  portions  have  been  used  in  the  arm  reli- 
quary of  S.  Blaise.  The  names  appear  to  have  been 
added  in  the  thirteenth  century ;  the  letters  are  Latin. 
There  are  three  rows  of  the  enamels.  At  the  top,  upon 
the  curve,  are  four  figures  in  roundels — "  SS.  Andreas, 
Blasivs,  Petrvs,"  and  the  Archangel  Michael.  The 
nimbi  are  blue-green,  the  figures  red.  The  second 
row  has  eight  enamels,  alternately  round  and  square  ; 
the  round  ones  are  unnamed,  and  represent  three 
saints  (one  with  a  stole,  holding  a  cross  in  the  right 
hand)  and  a  badly  restored  Madonna.  The  others 
are:  an  Apostle  with  a  roll,  "  Santvs  Petrvs";  a 
bishop,  "Santvs  Blasivs";  "Santvs  Matevs "  with 
a  book  in  the  left  hand;  "Santvs  Jacobvs"  with 
a  roll.  The  third  row  has  eight  circular  enamels, 
alternately  figures  and  ornaments.  The  figures  are : 
Christ  enthroned,  blessing  with  the  right  hand,  and 
with  a  roll  in  the  left  inscribed  "  IC  XC  "  ;  S.  John  the 
Baptist  with  inscription  "  S.  10.   BAPT."  ;   S.  Zeno- 


RELIQUARIES    IN    THE   TREASURY      345 

bius,    with    his    name    in    full,    commencing   with    a 

Greek  £;  and  S.  John  the  Evangelist,  "  S.  Johes  Eb 

Agenda.'*     The  arm  reliquary  is  inscribed  "  Tomaso 

Paleologo   despota  del   Peloponeso   donato   a   Giorgio 

Radovanovich  civi  Raguseo  1452. "     The  saints  who 

appear  on   the  enamels   are   SS.    Laurence,   Andrew, 

Nereus,  Achilleus,  Lucas,  Tomas,  Simon,  Bartholomew, 

;md  Paul.     Another  reliquary  has  remains  of  enamel 

plaques  of  Christ,  the  Virgin,  Simeon,  SS.  John  the 

Evangelist, 

Blaise,  and  John 

the  Baptist.     A 

hand  of  S.Blaise 

is  contained  in  a 

beautiful  filigree 

reliquary,  and  is 

kept  under  glass. 

Ahead  reliquary 

has  a  fine  pierced 

pattern    and    a 

punched  border™  r+ifr 

of  early  Renais-  " 

sance  character, 

with   niello 

medallions    of 

,i  -p>  t     ,     1  HEAD    RELIQUARY    IN    CATHEDRAL,    RAGUSA 

the  Evangelists 

symbols.  Another,  not  quite  so  good,  is  dated  1349, 
and  has  similar  nielli,  with  interlacings  of  oak-sprigs. 
There  are  several  very  curious  thorax  reliquaries,  and 
many  arms.  Two  portable  altars  with  inlaid  reliquaries 
in  patriarchal  crosses  were  seen  by  Eitelberger,  with 
fine  figure  subjects  ;  on  one  the  Virgin  and  S.  John  in 
repousse  in  Romanesque  style,  and  Christ  on  the  Cross 
on  the  other,  with  the  monograms  added  in  enamel. 
These  I  did  not  see.  A  cross  with  reliefs  of  the  Virgin 
and  Child,  with  angels  at  the  top,  S.  Mary  Magdalene 

44 


346 


RAGUSA 


below,  and  SS.  Blaise  and  Vincent  on  the  arms,  encloses 

what  the  Canon  told  us  with 
pride  was  the  largest  piece 
of  the  true  Cross  in  existence. 
A  processional  cross  of  the 
fourteenth  century,  set  upon 
an  eighteenth-century  stem, 
bears  figures  in  relief  of 
Christ,  and  the  Evangelists' 
symbols,  gilt  on  a  silver 
ground.  On  the  back  are 
the  Madonna  and  Child,  with 
God  the  Father  above  and  a 
cherub  beneath,  SS.  Biagio 
and  Francis.  Most  of  the 
obj  ects  are  either  of  the  four- 
teenth or  late  thirteenth 
century  in  style,  but  may 
very  likely  be  later,  the 
goldsmiths  still  using  the 
patterns  of  an  earlier  period. 
The  curious  reliquary  sup- 
porting the  j  aw  of  S.  Stephen 
of  Hungary,  and  with  a 
figure  of  the  monarch  hang- 
ing below  it,  is  interesting 
(as  well  as  unusual)  as  being 
an  example  of  ancient  Hun- 
garian silversmith's  work. 
It  was  brought  to  Ragusa 
for  safety  during  the  Turkish 
period.       There     are     also 

reliquary  of  the  jaw  ok  s.stephen  several  monstrance-like  reli- 

OF   HUNGARY  •  -,  r 

quanes,  and  one  fine  mon- 
strance of  a  later  period  with  something  of  German  style 
in  its  foliated  ornament ;  but  the  objects  which  are 


SILVER   STATUE   OF   S.    BIAGIO  347 

exhibited  with  most  pride  and  with  evident  expectation 
of  the  stupefaction  of  the  tourist  are  a  ewer  and  dish  of 
silver-gilt,  which  are  covered  with  representations  of  sea 
creatures  and  weeds,  worked  with  the  most  extraordinary 
realism  and  fineness,  and  proving  very  satisfactorily 
that  the  copying  of  nature  and  the  production  of  a  work 
of  art  are  not  necessarily  connected.  They  are  kept  in 
leather  cases,  and  the  tourist  generally  makes  the  ex- 
pected exclamations  when  they  are  disclosed  to  view. 
There  is  an  "N"  stamped  upon  the  metal,  and  it  is 
thought  that  Nuremberg  was  responsible  for  them. 

The  church  of  S.  Biagio  is  quite  near,  a  late  Renais- 
sance building,  which  replaced  the  votive  church 
erected  in  1349-52  after  the  plague  of  1348,  and  burnt 
in  1706.  Above  the  high-altar  is  the  celebrated  silver 
statue  of  S.  Blaise  which  was  saved  from  the  fire,  and 
is  now  preserved  under  glass.  It  is  made  of  silver 
plates,  gilded,  on  a  basis  of  wood,  and  shows  the  front 
part  of  an  old  man  with  a  long  beard,  in  episcopal  robes, 
holding  a  model  of  the  city.  The  back  portion  has 
never  been  completed.  The  head  is  too  large,  the  neck 
too  short,  and  the  arms  too  long.  The  chasuble  has  an 
embroidered  cross  with  figures  of  Christ  and  three 
saints  or  Apostles,  with  two  little  angels  censing  below 
the  arms,  and  a  quatrefoil  in  the  centre.  Two  half- 
length  saints  are  on  the  dalmatic  beneath  a  double 
arch.  The  draperies  are  well  treated,  especially  the 
chasuble,  upon  which  is  worked  an  elaborate  Burgundian 
pattern.  The  details  of  the  town  which  the  saint  holds 
in  his  hand  prove  that  it  was  made  between  1480  and 
1485.  It  shows  the  harbour  closed  by  a  chain.  The 
breakwater  was  built  in  1485.  The  clock- tower  also 
appears  (built  in  1480).  The  cast  portions  of  the  figure 
(of  which  the  town  is  one)  are  of  silver  of  a  different 
colour  from  that  of  the  beaten  parts,  and  there  is  no 
doubt,  from  the  variety  of  style  in  certain  of  the  details 


348 


RAGUSA 


that  it  has  been  restored  more  than  once, "  probably 
after  the  fires  of  1547  and  1706. 

The  Dominican  convent  is  just  within  the  Porta 
Ploce,  and  the  stair  which  leads  to  it  dates  back  to 
Roman  times,    though   it   now  has   Venetian-looking 


e\VXL 


PLAN    OF   THE   DOMINICAN   CONVENT,    RAGUSA 


balustrades  of  the  fourteenth  century.  It  led  to  a  gate 
of  the  city.  Until  the  seventeenth  century  it  was  the 
duty  of  the  Dominicans  to  defend  Porta  Ploce  ;  the 
Franciscans  defended  Porta  Pile ;  and  the  cathedral 
canons  Porta  Pescheria.     One  hundred  soldiers  were 


CHURCH    OF    S.   DOMINICO  349 

selected  monthly  from  the  various  ranks,  and  were 
divided  into  two  bands  for  alternate  nightly  police ; 
twenty-seven  more  were  told  off  to  defend  nine  selected 
points  against  external  attack.  The  lesser  towers  be- 
longed to  patrician  houses  who  were  responsible  for 
their  defence,  whilst  the  greater  and  more  exposed 
were  looked  after  by  the  State.  The  Dominicans  were 
first  established  in  1225,  in  S.  Giacomo  in  Peline,  a 
small,  roughly  constructed  church  high  on  the  hill, 
which  has  a  fourteenth-century  Madonna  over  the 
altar.  Tradition  says  that  S.  Dominic  himself  estab- 
lished the  community.  The  present  church  was  build- 
ing in  1297,  and  was  consecrated  in  1306.  The  portions 
which  survived  the  earthquake  of  1667  are  the  south 
door  with  the  apse  of  the  chapel  close  to  it,  the  main 
apse,  and  the  sacristy.  This  last  is  the  ancient  church 
of  the  Assumption,  given  to  the  Dominicans  in  1253  by 
the  Palmotta.  The  convent  was  built  in  1348.  The 
church  has  a  long  nave  with  a  horizontal  wooden  roof 
and  a  polygonal  apse.  The  choir  was  once  vaulted. 
There  are  two  side  altars  in  recesses  rather  behind 
the  high-altar.  Above  them  are  restored  pictures  by 
Nicolaus  Raguseus.  To  the  right  the  centre  panel  is 
filled  by  a  figure  of  S.  Nicholas  in  a  shell-headed  niche  ; 
on  the  right  are  SS.  Mary  Magdalene  and  James ;  on 
the  left,  SS.  John  the  Baptist  and  Stephen.  The  panels 
are  round-headed,  and  the  sky  fills  the  space  behind 
the  figures  with  their  gilded  nimbi.  On  S.  Stephen's 
dalmatic  are  patterns  in  gold ;  S.  Nicholas's  chasuble  is 
of  gold  with  patterns  on  it.  In  the  picture  to  the  left 
the  Madonna  is  seated  on  the  crescent  moon  holding 
the  Child,  and  surrounded  by  cherubs  ;  on  her  right  are 
S.  Biagio  holding  the  city,  and  S.  Paul ;  on  her  left, 
S.  Thomas  Aquinas  holding  a  church,  and  S.  Augustine. 
There  is  a  good  deal  of  gold  used  in  the  draperies,  and 
the   ground  is   gold.     Both   these   pictures   are   very 


350  RAGUSA 

decorative.  The  high-altar-piece  is  a  Venetian  Ma- 
donna and  Child,  with  SS.  Dominic  and  Clara.  On  the 
north  wall  is  a  picture  ascribed  to  Titian,  parts  of  which 
may  be  from  his  hand,  but  it  has  been  restored.  It 
represents  S.  Biagio  with  a  crozier,  holding  the  town ; 
S.  Mary  Magdalene  in  ecstasy,  with  long  hair  and  a 
white  dress  ;  at  the  right  the  donor  kneeling,  and  behind 
him  Tobit  and  the  Angel.  There  is  also  a  great  coloured 
crucifix  with  SS.  John  and  Mary,  regarded  as  miracu- 
lous at  the  time  of  the  plague  of  1358.  It  was  placed 
here  by  Pasquale  Resti,  and  is  well  modelled,  with  the 
head  cast  down.  The  dark  brown  colouring  of  the 
hair  is  not  pleasant,  and  the  white  drapery  cuts  hardly 
against  the  dark-hued  flesh. 

The  pulpit  is  of  stone  ;  beneath  shell-headed  niches 
on  the  front  stand  figures  of  SS.  Catherine  of  Siena, 
Dominic,  Thomas  Aquinas,  and  Peter  Martyr.  They 
and  their  emblems  are  painted ;  the  nimbi  and  the  ribs 
of  the  shells  are  gilded.  Across  the  west  end  of  the 
nave  is  a  fine  early  Renaissance  triple  arch  which  was 
once  the  architectural  setting  to  three  altars  on  the 
north  side  of  the  church.  Among  the  ornament,  traces 
of  Gothic  feeling  still  linger.  In  the  sacristy  are  an 
Early  Martyrdom  of  S.  Laurence  and  two  other  pic- 
tures in  compartments  on  a  gold  ground,  which  bear  a 
certain  resemblance  to  others  produced  in  the  March 
of  Ancona.  The  frame  of  one  of  them  is  especially 
fine,  with  projecting  hoods  to  the  niches  in  which  the 
figures  stand.  In  the  centre  is  the  Baptism  of  Christ, 
with  a  landscape  background;  on  the  right  are  SS. 
Augustine  and  Stephen ;  on  the  left,  SS.  Nicholas  and 
Michael.  Above  are  half-lengths  of  the  Madonna  and 
Child  in  a  vesica  starred  with  cherubs ;  on  the  right, 
SS.  Peter  Martyr  and  Francis ;  on  the  left,  SS.  Peter 
and|Dominic.  Another  has  the  Madonna,  SS.  Julian, 
James,    Dominic,  and    Matthew   on    a    gold  ground. 


SACRISTY  AND  TREASURY,  S.  DOMINICO  351 

These  have  also  been  restored.  There  are  also  two 
good  Flemish  pictures  on  panel,  a  Christ  and  a  veiled 
woman.  Within  a  pointed  arch  is  an  interesting 
funerary  inscription  stating  that  the  port  was  the  work 
of  "  Pasqualis  Michaelis  Ragusmus/'  with  the  date 
1485.  He  was  also  master  of  the  foundry,  and  appar- 
ently supervised  the  fortifications.  He  was  the  archi- 
tect of  the  bridge  of  Porta  Pile  in  1471,  and  to  him  the 
design  of  the  Sponza  is  ascribed  by  some.  The  note 
recording  the  commencing  of  the  construction  of  the 
port  (February  19,  148 1)  embodies  the  fact  of  the 
sailors'  approval  of  the  design. 

The  cross  of  Uros  I.  (1275-1320)  is  over  an  altar 
in  a  room  within  the  sacristy,  the  door  of  which  is  kept 
double-locked.  It  is  not  very  interesting  from  the 
point  of  view  of  craft.  It  is  a  patriarchal  cross  with 
piercings  at  the  crossings,  and  rosettes  at  the  ends  of 
the  arms,  which  are  probably  later  additions.  The 
material  is  silver,  parcel-gilt. 

The  treasury  contains  reliquaries  and  chalices,  and 
a  Gothic  monstrance,  but  nothing  of  great  interest. 
The  south  door  has  round  arches  beneath  an  ogee 
hood,  the  jambs  are  ornamented  with  damaged  scrolled 
leafage,  and  in  the  tympanum  is  a  figure  of  S.  Dominic. 
The  apse  of  the  chapel  close  by  is  Romanesque,  and, 
with  the  flight  of  steps  to  the  door  and  the  foliage 
of  a  tree  which  overhangs  them,  makes  a  picturesque 
background  to  the  groups  of  Herzegovinians  who 
pass  on  their  way  from  the  Porta  Ploce  to  the 
Stradone.  The  cloister  is,  however,  the  most  pictur- 
esque part  of  the  convent.  Beneath  round  arches 
smaller  cusped  round  arches  with  shafts  and  caps 
are  grouped  in  threes,  the  head  having  two  circles 
within  it,  sometimes  pierced  as  quatrefoils,  sometimes 
with  an  interlacing  pattern  with  Oriental  suggestion, 
and  reminding  one  of  the  patterns  in  a  similar  situa- 


352 


RAGUSA 


tion  in  the  cloister  at  Tarragona.  The  same  mixture 
of  ornamental  motifs  may  be  noticed  in  the  richly 
carved  moulding  which  terminates  the  wall  beneath 
the  parapet.  The  well  in  the  centre  is  of  1623,  but 
takes  its  place  among  the  trees,  flowers,  and  warm- 


PLAN    AND    ELEVATION   OF   ONE   BAY   OF   CLOISTER, 
DOMINICAN   CONVENT,    RAGUSA 

toned  stone  quite  pleasantly.  Above  towers  the  cam- 
panile containing  two  old  bells,  one  cast  by  Battista 
of  Arbe  in  15 16,  and  one  by  Bartolommeo  of  Cremona, 
in  1363.  It  was  built  by  a  Ragusan,  Fra  Stefano,  in 
1424,  and  has  three  stories  of  two-light  windows,  with 
mid-wall  shafts  under  round  arches,  and  a  crowning 


LAVABO    IN    SACRISTY    OF    FRANCISCAN    CONVENT,    RAGUSA 

To  face  page  353 


THE    FRANCISCAN    CONVENT  353 

octagonal  stage.  The  enlargement  of  the  church  and 
convent  was  executed  by  the  architect  Pasquahs 
Michaelis,  just  referred  to. 

The  Franciscan  convent  is  at  the  other  end  of  the 
Stradone,  just  inside  the  Porta  Pile.  The  Order  was  at 
first  established  outside ;  but  the  convent  founded  in 
1235  was  destroyed  by  the  Republic  to  prevent  the 
Servians  from  using  it  as  shelter,  and  in  1315  the 
monks  came  within  the  walls.  It  is  said  that  S.  Francis 
himself  came  to  Ragusa  in  1220,  and  several  of  the 
Franciscan  convents  in  Dalmatia  claim  to  have  been 
founded  by  him.  The  church  has  a  late  Gothic  door- 
way on  the  south,  with  an  ogee  tympanum  bearing  a 
Pieta,  and  flanked  by  pinnacled  niches  which  have 
statues  of  SS.  John  the  Baptist  and  Jerome  ;  above  is 
a  figure  of  a  bearded  saint  holding  a  book.  The  foliage 
is  well  carved,  and  the  pilasters  are  panelled  in  two 
stages.  Behind  the  church  is  the  first  cloister,  sur- 
rounded by  an  arcade  resting  on  coupled  octagonal 
colonnettes  with  unmoulded  round  arches,  divided  into 
groups  of  six  by  piers.  The  wall  above  is  pierced  by 
oculi  of  different  sizes,  some  of  which  have  quatrefoil 
tracery  within,  and  the  caps  of  the  columns  show  an 
almost  Romanesque  variety  and  vivacity.  The  wall 
terminates  with  a  carved  quarter-roll  moulding  and  a 
balustrade  with  cusped  round  arches  above  coupled 
colonnettes.  This  balustrade,  notwithstanding  its 
style,  was  only  completed  in  1629,  unless  this  date 
refers  merely  to  repairs  done  at  that  time.  On  the 
south  side  is  a  fifteenth-century  fountain,  with  a  later 
statue  of  S.  Francis  ;  in  front  of  it  is  a  paved  walk 
flanked  by  seats,  the  backs  of  which  form  the  en- 
closure of  the  raised  garden  on  each  side.  It  is  as 
pleasant  a  place  as  the  Dominican  cloister,  though  quite 
unlike  it.  The  architect  was  Mag.  Mycha  of  Antivari, 
whose  signature  may  be  found  on  a  corner  pilaster, 

45 


354  RAGUSA 

with  the  date  1363.  Higher  up  the  hill  is  another 
cloister,  long  and  narrow,  with  round  arches  resting  on 
square  piers,  and  a  well  under  a  picturesque  penthouse 
roof.  Here  it  was  that  the  herbs  and  simples  were 
grown.  By  the  side  of  the  steep  stair  (which  goes  up 
still  higher)  a  little  rill  of  water  flows,  I  suppose,  to  the 
lower  cloister.  The  convent  cost  28,000  ducats  to 
the  public  treasury,  besides  much  given  by  generous 
donors,  the  Ghent  merchants  especially  contributing 
largely.  The  top  of  the  campanile  was  replaced  after 
the  earthquake  of  1667.  In  the  sacristy  are  some  stall- 
fronts  and  cupboards  ornamented  with  intarsia  of 
arabesques  and  figures  of  saints  of  the  Order,  the  latter 
rather  rough  in  workmanship.  Also  a  pretty,  early 
Renaissance  lavabo  in  Istrian  stone.  The  church  plate, 
including  a  fine  monstrance,  is  kept  in  a  Gothic  cup- 
board painted  with  the  arms  of  the  Bona  family.  In 
the  church  is  a  great  crucifix  which  came  from  Stagno, 
painted  in  tempera,  with  the  symbols  of  the  Evangelists. 
The  library  is  rich  in  literary  documents,  and  in  the 
convent,  upstairs,  is  a  picture  which  shows  Ragusa  as 
it  was  before  the  earthquake. 

High  on  the  hill  above  the  Franciscan  church  is  the 
early  nuns'  church  of  La  Sigurata,  hidden  away  in  a 
court.  Like  several  others  of  the  early  churches  it 
shows  no  sign  of  its  great  antiquity. 

The  Rector's  Palace  was  commenced  in  1388  and 
completed  in  1424,  at  a  cost  of  40,000  zecchins.  In 
1435  it  was  partially  burnt,  and  was  restored  under 
"  Onofrio  Giordani  de  la  Cava,"  who  had  been  five 
years  in  the  city. 

The  second  story,  which  existed  as  a  kind  of  tower 
above  each  end  of  the  facade,  was  thrown  down  by 
the  great  earthquake,  and  never  rebuilt.  The  loggia 
has  stone  benches  against  the  walls,  one  to  the  left,  and 
two,  one  above  the  other,  to  the  right,  which  were  the 


LOGGIA    OF    THE    RECTOR'S    PALACE,    RAGUSA 

To  face  page  354 


CAPITAL    FROM    THE    LOGGIA,    RECTOR'S    PALACE,    RAGUSA 

To  face  page  355 


THE    RECTOR'S    PALACE  355 

seats  for  senators  on  great  fete  days.  In  1462  there 
was  another  fire,  so  that  only  fragments  of  Onofrio's 
work  remain — the  hall  on  the  ground  floor  with  the 
seventeenth-century  wooden  ceiling,  several  of  the  caps 
of  the  loggia,  and  the  courtyard  within,  the  great  door 
and  the  windows  of  the  first  floor.  This  is  all  that 
appears  to  have  been  preserved.  The  great  council 
then  called  in  Michelozzo  the  Florentine  and  George  of 
Sebenico.  The  former  was  at  Ragusa  in  1463,  looking 
after  the  building  of  the  walls  of  the  city ;  and  on 
February  11,  1464,  it  was  ordered  "that  the  palace  be 
rebuilt"  after  his  designs;  but,  in  the  following  June, 
George  of  Sebenico  was  appointed,  working,  no  doubt, 
on  the  general  lines  laid  down  by  Michelozzo.  The 
great  hall  was  burnt  during  the  French  siege,  and  very 
little  remains  inside  worthy  of  note.  There  are  two 
tolerable  pictures,  one  an  early  copy  of  the  Paris 
Bordone  in  the  National  Gallery,  the  Venus  and  Adonis, 
and  the  other,  a  Baptism  of  Christ,  in  the  manner  of 
Paduan  work  of  the  fifteenth  century.  Both  have 
been  restored.  The  courtyard  has  an  arcade  of  round 
arches,  resting  on  cylindrical  columns  with  Renaissance 
caps,  and  an  upper  arcade  resting  on  twin  columns 
and  piers,  two  arches  to  each  bay,  both  stories  being 
vaulted  with  sustaining  arches,  but  without  ribs.  The 
loggia  in  front  has  ribs  and  bosses  at  the  intersections. 
A  small  staircase  to  the  right  contains  other  remains  of 
Onofrio's  building — a  bracket,  on  which  is  carved  a 
figure  of  Justice  holding  a  label,  and  with  a  mutilated 
lion  on  each  side  of  her ;  opposite  to  it  is  a  capital,  on 
which  is  carved  the  Rector  administering  justice  ; 
neither  of  them  in  their  original  place.  The  main 
doorway  is  pointed  with  a  richly  carved  moulding  and 
caps,  which  belong  to  Onofrio's  work  ;  above  it  is 
S.  Biagio  in  a  Renaissance  niche,  and  between  the  caps 
and  the  arch  a  shallow  frieze  is  interposed,  on  which 


356  RAGUSA 

are  carved  little  figures  engaged  in  combats,  a  love 
scene,  and  Cupids  with  an  organ  and  trumpets.  The 
corbels  from  which  the  vaults  spring  are  carved,  the 
subjects  being  two  groups  of  boys  playing,  a  man 
fighting  a  dragon  or  basilisk  with  club  and  little  target, 
a  struggle  between  a  girl  and  a  bear,  &c.  The  doors 
at  the  end,  the  Porta  della  Carita,  where  distribution  of 
corn  used  to  be  made  to  the  poor  at  a  low  price,  and 
that  opening  on  a  stair  to  the  hall  of  the  Lesser  Council 
appear  to  belong  to  the  earlier  building.  The  ring 
with  the  lion's  head  on  the  door  is  a  fine  piece  of  four- 
teenth-century bronze-work.  The  knocker  is  not  so 
good.  A  knight  with  raised  arm  stands  on  a  lion's 
head  against  a  post  covered  with  scales ;  above  and 
below  foliage  spreads  out.  The  caps  of  the  loggia  are 
very  fine,  though  not  of  equal  value.  The  three  central 
ones  are  Renaissance  work,  and  marry  admirably  with 
their  heavy,  ornamented  abaci,  which  in  the  others 
appear  over-heavy,  and  plainly  an  addition.  In  the 
earlier  work  the  technique  of  the  carving  is  better,  and 
the  foliage  has  more  spring.  The  most  interesting  one 
is  the  ^Esculapius  subject,  which  De  Diversis  saw  in 
the  carver's  hands  in  1435,  planned,  as  he  says,  by 
Nicolo  de  Lazina,  a  Cremonese  noble,  who  was  chan- 
cellor at  the  time.  It  is  interesting  both  from  the 
point  of  view  of  the  carving  and  costume,  and  as 
showing  the  apparatus  of  an  alchemist's  laboratory. 
Close  by  it  on  the  wall  is  the  "  metrical  epitaph/' 
which  De  Diversis  says  the  chancellor  composed.  The 
columns,  which  are  of  Curzola  marble,  belong  to  the 
earlier  building,  though  the  entasis  shows  that  classical 
feeling  was  beginning  to  affect  even  architects  who 
worked  in  Gothic.  Mr.  T.  G.  Jackson's  explanation  of  the 
addition  of  the  heavy  abaci  seems  quite  reasonable — 
viz.  that  the  earlier  arcade  was  pointed,  and  that,  since 
a  good  deal  of  the  building  survived  the  fire,  it  was 


^SCULAPIUS    CAPITAL,    RECTOR'S    PALACE,    RAGUSA 

To  face  page  356 


FOUNTAIN  OF  ONOFRIO  DE  LA  CAVA,  RAGUSA 

To  lace  page  357 


FOUNTAINS    AND    A    VOTIVE   CHURCH  357 

necessary  to  raise  the  springing  of  the  arches,  when 
they  were  made  round  to  match  the  levels  of  the  ends 
which  were  not  destroyed.  The  carved  string-course 
above  and  the  Gothic  windows  of  the  piano  nobile  are 
also  remains  of  the  earlier  building.  There  was  a  castle 
on  the  site  of  the  palace  from  the  days  of  the  establish- 
ment of  the  Slav  colony  on  Monte  Sergio,  which,  to- 
gether with  the  marshy  inlet  which  then  occupied  the 
site  of  the  Stradone,  afforded  sufficient  protection  to 
make  sudden  attack  on  the  part  of  the  Slavs  inadvis- 
able ;  when  the  two  settlements  were  joined  together 
by  a  common  line  of  defences  it  became  the  seat  of 
government. 

There  are  two  other  pieces  of  Onofrio's  work  still  in 
existence  in  Ragusa,  the  pretty  little  fountain  between 
the  Rector's  Palace  and  the  Sponza,  next  door  to  the 
Corpo  di  Guardia,  of  which  an  illustration  is  given, 
showing  a  certain  admixture  of  Renaissance  feeling 
with  Gothic  foliage,  and  the  much  mutilated  fountain 
just  within  the  Porta  Pile.  It  had  two  columns  at 
each  angle,  of  which  only  the  inner  one  remains,  and  a 
marble  cupola  surrounded  by  statues.  The  aqueduct 
which  supplies  it  and  the  other  fountains  is  eight  miles 
long,  and  brings  the  water  from  Gionchetto.  It  was 
only  completed  in  1438,  after  many  discouraging 
incidents.  Opposite  to  it  is  the  pretty  facade  of 
S.  Salvatore,  built  after  the  earthquake  of  1520,  and 
due  to  Bartolommeo  da  Mestre,  "  protomagister  "  of 
the  cathedral  of  Sebenico,  which  it  resembles  a  good 
deal  in  the  character  of  its  design  and  mixture  of 
Gothic  and  Renaissance  forms.  It  has  a  nave  of  three 
bays  with  an  apse ;  the  vaulting  is  Gothic,  as  are  the 
windows,  but  the  arches  rest  on  classic  pilasters,  used 
also  at  the  angles  of  the  facade,  the  horizontal  lines  of 
which  are  varied  by  the  semicircular  gable  and  quad- 
rants   which  flank  it.     A   rose-window  occupies    the 


358 


RAGUSA 


central  place,  and  above  the  door  (which  is  rather  later 
in  style)  is  a  long  dedicatory  inscription  in  an  orna- 
mented panel  space. 

At  the  bottom  of  the  piazza,  upon  which  the  Rector's 

Palace,  the  cathedral, 
and  S.  Biagio  face, 
is  the  Sponza  or 
Dogana,  the  ancient 
custom  -  house  and 
mint.  The  custom- 
house was  on  the 
ground  floor,  and  the 
scales  for  weighing 
merchandise  hung  in 
the  wide  arch  oppo- 
site the  entrance. 
The  mint  was  on  the 
second  floor,  and  the 
first  floor  was  used 
for    carnival    and 


social  meetings  of  the 
nobility.  The  build- 
ing  is  of  several 
periods  dating  from 
the  beginning  of  the 
fourteenth  century  to 
1520,  a  date  given  by 
an  inscription  on  the 
second  story.  The 
courtyard  has  an 
arcade  of  round 
arches,  four  on  each 


BlfsttMtt- 


PLAN    OF    LA    SPONZA,    RAGUSA 


side,  and  one  of  a  greater  breadth  at  each  end,  resting 
on  octagonal  piers,  the  caps  and  arches  moulded  simply. 
The  first  floor  has  an  arcade  of  pointed  arches,  two  to 
a  bay,  with  alternate  piers  and  columns,  the  end  having 


LA    SPONZA    AND    ONOFRIO'S    FOUNTAIN,    RAGUSA 

To  face  page  359 


THE    SPONZA  359 

circular  arches  above  the  broader  arch  below.  The 
second  story  is  lighted  by  four  little  square  windows, 
and  above  are  three  quatrefoils  to  give  air  to  the  roof 
timbers.  On  the  end  wall  are  two  angels  in  relief, 
holding  "  I.H.S."  within  a  garland.  The  two  arcades 
are  vaulted  simply,  the  caps  en  the  first  floor  have 
good  foliage,  and  the  stories  are  divided  by  moulded 
string-courses.  Names  of  saints  are  inscribed  over 
the  doors  of  the  warehouses  opening  from  the  lower 
cloister. 

The  facade  terminates  with  a  fantastic  cresting 
above  the  roof  cornice.  In  the  centre  of  the  second 
story  is  a  niche  with  a  figure  of  S.  Blaise,  flanked  by 
two  rectangular  windows  on  each  side.  The  piano 
nobile  has  two  ogee-headed  windows  with  geometric 
tracery,  flat  decorated  archivolt,  and  slender  shafts  on 
the  outer  and  inner  surface  of  the  jamb,  and  a  three- 
light  window  in  the  centre,  made  up  to  a  square  head 
with  quatrefoils  in  the  fashion  of  the  Ca  d'Oro  at 
Venice.  On  the  ground  floor  there  is  a  graceful  round- 
arched  portico  resting  on  columns  with  Renaissance 
caps  ;  beneath  it  are  the  windows  and  entrance  door 
of  the  custom-house.  The  building  is  still  used  for  its 
original  purpose,  and  Albanian  and  Herzegovinian 
porters  lounge  about  it  in  strange  costumes.  The 
clock-tower  was  built  in  1480,  and  altered  in  1781. 
There  is  a  bell  in  it  founded  by  Battista  of  Arbe.  Oppo- 
site is  the  Roland  column.  Affixed  to  a  pilaster  is  a 
symbolic  statue  typifying  freedom  of  jurisdiction  and 
commerce.  It  was  replaced  there  in  1878  after  a  pro- 
longed sojourn  in  the  Rector's  Palace,  having  been 
thrown  down  by  a  storm  in  1825,  when  a  brass  plate 
was  found  with  an  inscription  of  the  beginning  of  the 
fifteenth  century,  stating  that  here  was  the  place  of  the 
standard  of  the  Republic.  It  is  not  a  work  of  any 
artistic  merit. 


360  RAGUSA 

A  little  way  outside  Porta  Pile  (thought  to  be  a 
corruption  of  the  Greek  word  nvkr),  a  gate)  is  the 
cemetery  church  "  alle  Dance,"  overlooking  a  bay 
beneath  the  Lapad  promontory.  It  was  begun  in  1457 
for  the  poor  of  the  city,  and  contains  a  fine  picture. 
The  west  door  is  elaborately  carved  with  somewhat 
confused  ornament,  and  in  the  pointed  tympanum  is  a 
Madonna  and  Child  flanked  by  two  standing  angels, 
which  do  not  fit  in  quite  comfortably.  By  the  door  is 
a  holy-water  niche  of  still  stranger  design,  with  a  shell- 
head  which  quite  insufficiently  supports  the  three 
figures  forming  the  crowning  feature.  The  sacristy 
was  in  possession  of  several  women  who  were  washing 
clothes  on  both  the  occasions  when  I  visited  the  church. 
The  picture  is  by  "  Nicholavs  Rhagvsinvs,,,  who  thus 
signs  it,  with  the  date  1517.  It  is  in  the  original  frame 
divided  by  pillars  into  three  compartments,  with  a 
predella  and  a  lunette  above.  In  the  lunette  is  a 
Crucifixion  with  the  Virgin  and  S.  John,  two  female 
figures  and  S.  Mary  Magdalene,  and  cherubs  round  our 
Lord  ;  the  Virgin's  robe  is  deep  blue ;  the  others  are 
red  or  green,  on  a  gold  ground.  In  the  centre  com- 
partment are  the  Virgin  and  Child  enthroned,  with  a 
little  S.  John  kneeling,  surrounded  by  little  angels. 
Silver  crowns  have  been  added.  The  Virgin  has  a  red 
robe  with  a  cloak  of  cloth  of  gold  on  which  is  an  elabor- 
ate pattern  in  dark  blue ;  the  Child  holds  fruit  and  corn ; 
the  cherubs  have  scarlet  wings  and  gilt  nimbi.  In  the 
right-hand  panel  is  S.  Martin  on  horseback,  dividing 
his  cloak  ;  he  wears  a  green  tunic,  over  which  is  a 
golden  coat  with  a  design  in  red  lines  upon  it.  The 
cloak  is  bright  scarlet.  The  beggar  is  Christ  with 
cruciferous  nimbus.  On  the  left  hand  is  S.  Gregory, 
with  his  dove  on  his  shoulder,  carrying  a  crucifix  ;  he 
wears  a  richly-embroidered  cope  of  cloth  of  gold,  with 
red  pattern  and  a  border  of  saints  in  niches.     These  are 


PICTURES    IN    THE   "DANCE"   CHURCH     361 

both  on  gold  grounds.  The  predella  has  also  three 
compartments.  In  the  centre  is  S.  George  and  the 
dragon,  with  a  pale  blue  landscape  and  sea;  the  princess 
kneels  in  the  background.  On  the  right  hand  is  a  saint 
receiving  a  mitre  from  two  bishops,  surrounded  by 
other  bishops,  monks,  choristers,  &c.  On  the  left,  a 
pope  in  a  golden  robe  is  being  crowned  by  two  cardinals, 
surrounded  by  cardinals,  bishops,  Dominicans,  and 
Franciscans.  There  is  a  landscape  background.  The 
whole  effect  is  most  decorative,  due  partly,  no  doubt, 
to  the  fine  frame  with  golden  arabesques  on  a  dark 
blue  ground.  Another  picture  above  the  high- altar 
looks  later,  though  it  is  in  a  very  architectural  frame. 
It  represents  the  Madonna  and  Child  on  a  large  scale 
in  the  centre,  with  God  the  Father  and  angels  in  an 
oblong  panel  above.  At  each  side  of  the  Madonna  are 
two  small  saints  one  above  the  other,  probably  SS. 
Francis,  George,  Blaise,  and  Nicholas.  The  Madonna 
and  Child  and  God  the  Father  have  crowns  of  silver 
or  silver-gilt ;  the  Child  is  nude  ;  the  Madonna  draped 
in  metal,  with  a  pattern  on  the  outer  robe.  The 
background  and  the  frieze  are  entirely  covered  with 
little  votive  silver  plaques. 

From  the  hill  which  one  mounts  on  the  return, 
the  whole  of  Ragusa  lies  spread  at  one's  feet,  from 
the  great  fort  S.  Lorenzo,  perched  upon  its  rock,  to  the 
Torre  Menze,  the  culminating  point  of  the  walls,  in 
front  of  which  the  lower  slopes  of  Monte  Sergio  are 
covered  with  the  houses  of  the  suburb.  On  a  fine 
evening  the  view  past  the  fort  towards  the  Bocche  is 
enchanting,  but  when  scirocco  blows,  and  the  foam 
splashes  high  up  the  rocks,  it  is  not  safe  to  approach 
the  edge.  Here  a  pleasant  garden  has  been  laid  out, 
and  aloes  grow,  though  not  so  luxuriantly  as  on  the 
other  side  of  the  town. 

Above  the  door  of  the  salt-magazine  near    Porta 

46 


362  RAGUSA 

Ploce  is  the  oldest  relief  of  S.  Blaise,  possibly  dating 
from  the  beginning  of  the  thirteenth  century.  Behind 
the  communal  palace  is  the  harbour,  Porto  Casson, 
which  recalls  the  prosperity  of  the  Republic,  when  it 
was  one  of  the  richest  countries  in  the  world,  and  when 
the  merchants  and  privateer  captains  who  lived  in 
the  Via  Priko,  upon  the  hill,  owned  between  them 
100,000,000  ducats,  according  to  computation. 

From  here  a  little  steam-launch  plies  in  the  afternoon 
to  the  island  of  Lacroma,  on  which  a  cloister  was  founded 
in  the  eleventh  century,  the  Benedictine  rule  being 
transplanted  hither  in  1023  from  the  Tremiti  Islands  in 
the  person  of  Fra  Pietro  the  Ragusan,  who,  with  a  priest 
named  Leone,  laid  the  foundations  of  the  monastery 
on  land  given  them  for  that  purpose.  An  inscription 
mentions  the  name  of  Vitalis  the  archbishop,  son  of 
Dominus  Theodore  (1023-1047).  It  was  the  Ragusan 
Westminster  Abbey  till  the  Franciscan  and  Dominican 
churches  were  built.  Here  it  was  that  Richard  Cceur 
de  Lion  escaped  from  shipwreck,  and,  according  to  local 
tradition,  founded  the  cathedral  of.Ragusa  in  gratitude 
for  his  escape,  though  the  entries  in  the  Ragusan 
archives  prove  that  it  was  built  by  contributions  from 
the  nobles.  The  ill-fated  Maximilian  of  Mexico  owned 
the  island,  and  restored  the  convent  as  a  country  resi- 
dence, in  which  the  unfortunate  Crown  Prince  Rudolf 
also  lived.  We,  who  had  gone  there  in  hopes  of  seeing 
something  of  the  eleventh-century  buildings,  were  dis- 
appointed at  being  taken  through  corridors  and  rooms 
containing  objects  which  were  looked  upon  as  relics, 
and  finally  round  some  elaborately  laid  out  and  luxu- 
riant gardens  to  one  or  two  natural  curiosities.  The 
building  is  now  occupied  by  a  school,  towards  the 
support  of  which  a  landing-tax  of  one  corona  per 
person  is  exacted.  This  did  not,  however,  prevent 
the  man  who  showed  us  round  telling  us  that  he  was 


OUTSIDE    PORTA    PLOCE  363 

dependent  on  the  charity  of  visitors  !  All  that  is 
to  be  seen  in  the  way  of  architecture  is  a  cloister  of 
the  early  Renaissance  period,  pretty  enough  with  its 
garden  within ;  but  I  should  certainly  not  recommend 
the  English  tourist  to  spend  time  and  money  in 
visiting  the  island. 

Beyond  the  harbour  of  Ragusa  the  road  leads  below 
the  Dominican  convent  to  the  outer  Ploce  gate,  passing 
two  chapels — SS.  Annunziata,  with  a  group  of  S.  John 
the  Baptist  and  two  other  saints  in  the  tympanum  of 
the  Gothic  doorway,  and  S.  Luke,  with  Renaissance  de- 
coration and  tympanum.  Turning  sharply  beneath  two 
gates,  above  the  outer  of  which  S.  Blaise  stands  in  his 
usual  place,  the  road  passes  over  a  stone  bridge  which 
replaces  the  original  drawbridge,  and  through  the  outer 
gates  to  the  lazaretto  and  Turkish  bazaar.  Here  there 
is  a  late  Renaissance  fountain,  at  which  country  people, 
most  of  whom  are  Herzegovinians,  may  be  seen  water- 
ing their  mules,  for  the  road  to  Trebinje  comes  down  to 
this  gate.  There  is  little  else  to  see  in  the  bazaar,  the 
importance  of  which  has  much  declined ;  but  from  this 
side  of  the  town  charming  views  of  Ragusa  may  be 
obtained,  with  a  foreground  of  rocks,  of  aloes,  often  in 
bloom,  of  rough  steps  going  down  to  the  shore,  or  a 
little  farther  away,  where  the  height  of  Lapad  can  be 
seen  crowning  the  city,  of  olives  and  stony  roads  ; 
always  with  the  blue  sea  stretching  from  below  towards 
and  beyond  the  grey  town  shut  so  securely  within  its 
walls.  Beyond  is  the  romantically  situated  deserted 
convent  of  S.  Giacomo  degli  Olivi,  and  from  it  paths 
wander  farther  among  olives  and  cypresses  along  the 
edge  of  the  cliff,  below  which,  on  the  level  of  the  water, 
is  the  grotto  Spila  Betina. 

The  Republic  was  a  curious  mixture  of  enlighten- 
ment and  oriental  backwardness.  In  1335  the  whole 
town  was  paved,  a  great  sewer  was  constructed,  and 


364  RAGUSA 

there  were  regulations  about  tiling  and  other  construc- 
tional matters.  Traffic  in  slaves  was  abolished  by  act 
of  the  Greater  Council  on  January  26,  1416.  In  1432  a 
foundling  hospital  was  established,  and  in  '1435  public 
schools.  All  who  died  of  the  plague  in  1430  were  burnt, 
by  advice  of  the  Ferrarese  physician  Giacomo  God- 
waldo,  who  also  established  the  custom  of  isolating  the 
sick  some  years  before.  Yet,  in  the  state  prisons  below 
the  small  loggia,  prisoners  were  sometimes  walled  up 
alive,  and  dungeons  existed  flooded  at  high  tide,  with- 
out any  precautions  being  taken  to  prevent  it.  The 
treatment  of  women  was  quite  oriental.  In  1462  girls 
above  the  age  of  twelve  were  not  allowed  outside  the 
house,  and  were  seen  only  by  their  relations  and  by 
ecclesiastics  ;  and,  of  course,  marriages  were  arranged  by 
the  parents.  In  the  theatre,  only  noble  women  and 
those  of  the  citizen  class  were  admitted.  The  sumptu- 
ary laws  were  strict.  Nobles  and  public  officials  above 
eighteen  were  obliged  to  wear  a  large  loose  robe  and 
black  hose.  It  is  recorded  that  a  certain  Tuberone 
Cerva  came  into  the  Senate  one  day  with  a  robe  longer 
than  the  prescribed  measure,  and  it  was  cut  short  then 
and  there,  which  mortified  him  so  much  that  he  turned 
monk.  At  funerals  they  had  hired  mourners,  which 
again  suggests  oriental  influences. 

The  consiglio  maggiore  contained  all  the  nobles 
above  twenty  years  of  age  inscribed  in  the  golden  book 
called  "  Lo  Specchio  "  (which  was  compiled  in  1440). 
The  Senate  acted  as  court  of  appeal  in  judicial  cases, 
and  was  formed  of  forty-five  senators,  the  "  Pregati," 
who  were  over  forty  years  of  age.  The  executive  was 
the  Little  Council  of  seven  members.  At  the  head  of 
public  administration  was  a  senator  who  from  1358  was 
called  Prior,  then  Count,  and  later  Rector.  The  popu- 
lace called  him  "  Knez  "  (Prince).  He  was  in  office  for  a 
month  only,  and,  with  eleven  councillors,  settled  the 


GOVERNMENT    OF   THE    REPUBLIC        365 

most  important  affairs  of  state.  He  lived  in  the  palace, 
and  only  left  it  on  state  business.  He  wore  a  red  cloak 
with  a  black  band  on  the  left  side,  and  red  shoes  and 
stockings  (in  accordance  with  a  Byzantine  tradition). 
He  never  went  out  alone,  but  was  always  accompanied 
by  councillors,  secretaries,  the  chamberlain,  twenty- 
four  red-clad  attendants,  and  a  band  of  music.  Besides 
the  Rector  there  was  a  town  council  of  ten,  which  acted 
as  police  superintendents.  The  five  pr ovv editor it  elected 
annually  from  among  the  "  Pregati,"  looked  after  the 
rigorous  observance  of  the  statute.  No  law  could  be 
altered  without  the  vote  of  seven-eighths  of  the  Greater 
Council,  and  no  new  law  could  be  made  without  a  three- 
quarters  majority  of  the  same.  The  treasurers  were 
elected  from  the  oldest  senators.  At  the  head  of  the 
eleven  administrative  districts  were  counts  or  repre- 
sentatives ;    they  were  the  only  salaried  officials. 

Under  the  Venetian  supremacy  great  precautions 
were  taken  to  prevent  usurpation  of  the  rights  of  the 
Republic,  while  the  count  was  received  with  great 
splendour.  On  disembarking,  he  presented  himself  to 
the  people,  received  from  the  signory  the  standard  of 
S.  Biagio,  and,  with  this  in  his  hand,  swore  on  the  gos- 
pels to  preserve  and  observe  the  customs  and  laws  of 
Ragusa.  Then  he  went  to  the  cathedral,  receiving  at 
the  door  incense  and  holy  water  from  the  chapter,  who 
gave  him  the  gospels  to  kiss,  upon  which  he  renewed  his 
oath  in  front  of  the  altar.  After  a  canon  had  delivered 
an  oration  in  praise  of  him  and  of  the  doge,  he  returned 
to  the  piazza,  still  bearing  the  standard,  where  he  re- 
ceived the  homage  of  the  people,  "  who  swore  the  holy 
pact  with  the  Serenissima,"  the  standard  of  S.  Mark 
being  unfurled. 

The  people  were  divided  into  five  castes — clergy, 
nobles,  citizens,  workmen  (sailors,  merchants,  &c),  and 
countrymen.     There  was  a  gulf  between  nobles  and 


366  RAGUSA 

people.  The  countrymen  were  like  serfs  attached  to 
the  land,  and  spoken  of  as  "  things  "  belonging  to  their 
masters.  Among  the  nobles  were  two  orders.  Those 
of  ancient  lineage  were  called  "  Salamanchesi,"  from 
the  University  of  Salamanca,  where  they  had  been 
educated  ;  the  "  Sorbonnesi  "  (from  the  Sorbonne) 
were  nobles  of  more  recent  date. 

After  the  earthquake  of  1667  several  citizen  families 
were  ennobled.  But  between  the  two  ranks  of  nobles 
the  antipathy  was  so  great  that  they  never  intermarried. 
The  plague  of  1526  destroyed  20,000  persons,  that  of 
1348,  11,000,  and  the  earthquake  of  1667  some  6,000. 
It  has  been  computed  that  in  the  times  of  her  prosperity 
Ragusa  counted  40,000  inhabitants.  In  connection 
with  the  visitations  of  the  plague  it  may  be  noted  that 
in  1466  the  musicians  of  the  rector  were  ordered  to  go 
every  Saturday  to  play  before  the  houses  of  large  donors 
to  the  votive  church  of  S.  Biagio  ;  but  by  the  request  of 
their  descendants  this  custom  was  in  1548  replaced  by 
a  similar  concert  in  front  of  the  altar  of  the  crucifix  in 
that  church. 

In  1805  the  first  capital  sentence  for  twenty-five 
years  was  pronounced.  The  city  went  into  mourning, 
and  an  executioner  had  to  be  brought  for  the  purpose 
from  Turkey. 

The  salt  monopolies  and  the  customs  were  the  most 
important  parts  of  the  revenue,  but  there  were  also  im- 
portant manufactures.  Ragusa  made  woollen  and  silk 
stuffs  after  the  looms  for  silk  were  brought  from  Tus- 
cany in  1539,  and  shoes  and  glass,  coral  wares  and  wax, 
besides  salt  and  other  things  were  produced  and  sent 
into  the  interior  by  caravans.  Ships  went  to  India  and 
America,  France,  Spain,  England,  and  Holland.  A 
document  addressed  by  Cromwell  to  the  Senate  is 
extant,  granting  privileges  in  all  English  harbours  to 
Ragusans,    and   they   were   as   daring   sailors   as   the 


THE   COINAGE  367 

Bocchesi,  as  many  as  300  serving  as  captains  in  the 
navies  of  Charles  V.  and  his  successors. 

The  earliest  law  of  Ragusa  relating  to  the  coinage 
is  one  of  1327  imposing  penalties  for  falsification  of 
money.  This  shows  that  it  had  a  mint  before  that 
time.  At  this  date  the  "  grosso  "  is  the  only  silver  coin 
of  the  town  known,  but  the  fines  are  all  calculated  in 
"  iperperi."  The  word  "  zecha  "  occurs  for  the  first 
time  in  a  law  of  1338.  A  few  years  afterwards  all  im- 
porters of  silver  had  to  present  themselves  at  the  mint 
within  three  days  of  their  arrival,  the  tenth  part  of  their 
silver  being  liable  to  purchase  at  "14  iperp :  and  2 
grossi "  the  pound.  If  they  did  not  do  so  the  tenth  part 
was  confiscated,  half  going  to  the  informer.  In  1420  the 
price  was  half  as  much  again,  and  in  1161  it  was  worth 
38  iperperi  the  pound.  In  1748  the  mint  had  ceased 
issuing  money,  but  was  at  work  again  from  1791  till 
1806.  The  iperpero  was  worth  12  grossi,  and  3  of 
them  went  to  a  scudo.  The  earliest  known  is  of  1683. 
In  Ralph  of  Coggesh all's  time  it  was  worth  3  sous  of 
silver — that  is  to  say,  about  105.  At  Ragusa  this  coin 
still  passes,  according  to  a  writer  in  the  Bullettino  di 
Storia  Dalmata. 

Six  miles  beyond  Ragusa  is  Ragusa  Vecchia,  the 
ancient  Epidaurus,  which  became  a  Roman  colony  in 
10  a.d.  under  the  Consul  Cornelius  Dolabella,  and  was 
destroyed  by  the  Avars.  Near  here  is  the  grotto  of 
iEsculapius,  on  Mount  Snienitza,  thought  to  be  the 
Mons  Cadmaeus  of  antiquity,  entered  by  a  hole  8  ft. 
across  in  the  living  rock.  The  cave  is  in  the  form  of  a 
cross,  92  ft.  long  and  164  ft.  broad,  with  stalactites  and 
stalagmites.  In  the  middle  is  a  pond  called  "  The 
Nymph's  Bath,"  with  slightly  acidulated  and  intensely 
cold  water.  A  legend,  which  goes  back  to  the  tenth 
century,  says  that  a  dragon  lived  here,  going  out  at 
night  and  slaughtering  men  and  women.     The  hermit 


368  RAGUSA 

S.  Hilarion  attacked  and  burnt  it,  calling  on  the  people 
to  thank  God,  and  declaring  that  it  was  the  Devil. 
According  to  one  tradition  ^Esculapius  was  born  in 
Epidaurus  of  a  beautiful  Dalmatian,  Jupiter  being  his 
father.  His  statue,  in  the  form  of  a  serpent,  was  erected 
there,  but  was  taken  to  Rome  in  393  B.C.,  during  a 
visitation  of  plague,  which  then  ceased. 


XXIV 

THE    BOCCHE    DI    CATTARO 

The  fine  harbour  known  as  the  "  Bocche  di  Cattaro  "  is 
thirteen  miles  long  from  the  entrance  to  Cattaro  itself, 
which  lies  at  the  extreme  south.  The  "  bocche,"  the 
mouths,  lie  between  the  Punta  d'Ostro  and  the  Punta 
d' Arza,  both  fortified,  and  in  the  channel  is  the  little  rock 
Rondoni,  on  which  is  another  fort,  Mamola.  These 
defensive  works  were  completed  in  1897.  The  bay  was 
known  to  the  ancients  as  "  Sinus  Rhizomcus,"  Rhizon, 
from  which  it  was  then  named,  being  the  modern  Risano 
at  the  extremity  of  the  northern  arm.  The  "Tavola 
Peutingeriana  "  gives  the  name  "  Resinum."  The  first 
mention  of  the  "  Rhizinitae  "  is  about  B.C.  229,  at  the 
period  of  the  unfortunate  wars  waged  by  Teuta,  widow 
of  Agron,  against  the  Romans.  Their  origin  is  vari- 
ously ascribed  to  Colchis,  Troy,  and  to  Sicilian  colonies 
sent  by  Dionysius  of  Syracuse.  The  Bocchesi  prefer  a 
Sicilian  origin  ;  but  the  Greeks  called  all  this  part  of  the 
continent  Illyris  Barbara.  Livy  mentions  the  Rizuniti 
among  the  peoples  of  the  kingdom  between  the  fall  of 
Teuta  and  the  ruin  of  Genzius.  Risano  was  Teuta' s, 
capital,  and  there  she  died  in  220  B.C.  Her  husband 
Agron  had  conquered  the  country  as  far  as  Friuli. 

Teuta  allowed  her  subjects  to  be  pirates,  with  the 
result  that  Issa  (Lissa),  the  only  island  which  had  re- 
mained independent,  complained  to  Rome,  and  the 
Romans  sent  an  embassy  to  protest ;  but  the  youngest 

369  47 


370  THE   BOCCHE  DI    CATTARO 

ambassador  offended  her  majesty,  and  was  beheaded 
in  consequence.  This  decided  the  Romans  to  destroy 
her  power,  and  treachery  made  the  task  easy.  From 
227  B.C.  Corfu,  Lesina,  and  Lissa  were  under  Roman 
protection ;  the  Illyrians  were  only  allowed  two  ships, 
and  were  not  permitted  to  pass  the  Issus.  Subsequent 
intrigues  between  Demetrius  (who  had  gained  the  lord- 
ship over  the  Ardiei  by  treachery)  and  Philip  III.  of 
Macedon,  wars  and  revolts,  brought  about  the  subjec- 
tion of  Illyria  to  the  Romans,  and  its  conversion  into 
a  province  in  168  B.C.  The  far-seeing  Rizuniti  had 
already  put  themselves  under  Roman  protection,  and 
were  therefore  given  privileges,  exempting  them  from 
all  public  burdens. 

At  Prevlacca,  near  Punta  d'Ostro,  are  remains  of 
antique  walls,  thought  to  be  those  of  the  ancient 
Epidaurus,  by  those  who  maintain  that  it  was  at  the 
gates  of  the  ' '  Sinus  Rhizonicus. ' '  Most  authorities,  how- 
ever, agree  in  placing  it  at  Ragusa  Vecchia.  Objects 
of  the  bronze  age  have  been  excavated  at  Risano,  and 
sepulchral  stones  and  altars  of  strange  and  un-Roman 
form  have  been  found  at  Lastua  Inferiore  and  Per- 
zagno. 

Cattaro  appears  as  a  Roman  city  under  the  name  of 
Ascrivium  or  Acrivium,  and  it  and  Risano  are  the  only 
two  towns  known  at  the  fall  of  the  Illyrian  kingdom. 
The  Romans  made  a  road  from  Aquileia  to  Durazzo. 
It  passed  by  Epidaurus  and  along  the  Sutorina  Valley 
to  Castelnuovo,  where  it  turned  along  the  coast  to 
Risano,  Perasto,  Orohovac,  Dobrota,  and  Ascrivium. 
Thence  it  went  to  Castel  Trinita.  This  road  put  the 
Rizuniti  into  communication  with  the  Dalmatians,  and 
with  the  tribes  to  the  south.  Rizinum  was  a  Roman 
colony,  and  inscriptions  show  that  it  belonged  to  the 
Sergian  tribe  and  was  governed  by  decurions.  It  was 
the  seat  of   the  god   Medaurus,  of  whom   all  that  is 


HISTORICAL   DETAILS  371 

known  is  contained  in  an  inscription  found  at  Lambessa 
in  Mauritania,  set  up  by  a  Dalmatian  legate  sent  to 
Numidia  as  consul  by  Marcus  Aurelius  (161-180  a.d.). 
It  records  the  dedication  of  a  lance  to  him. 

Ascrivium  was  also  a  Roman  colony.  The  munici- 
pal senate  was  presided  over  by  duumvirs,  who  held 
office  for  a  year,  and  had  power  over  the  entire  adminis- 
tration of  the  city  and  of  justice.  The  greater  part  of 
the  ancient  Rhizon  is  now  under  water,  and  Cattaro 
has  been  many  times  destroyed  by  invaders,  so  that 
there  are  very  few  antique  remains. 

At  Risano  are  the  remains  of  a  building  vaulted  in 
two  compartments,  like  an  ancient  tomb,  and  a  few 
stones.  Some  thirty  sarcophagi  found  there  in  1870 
raised  hopes  of  the  discovery  of  a  necropolis,  but  these 
hopes  were  disappointed.  A  colossal  foot  of  an  ox  in 
bronze  and  one  of  white  marble  were  found  in  1868,  and 
a  few  inscriptions,  one  of  which,  at  the  entrance  to  the 
Greek  church,  shows  that  the  7th  Legion  was  stationed 
there.  It  is  to  a  distinguished  soldier,  who  had  twice 
gained  a  golden  garland  of  honour,  neckchain,  and  brace- 
lets, which  he  wore  in  the  triumph  after  the  Dacian 
war.  At  Prevlacca,  Cattaro,  Scagliari,  Scoglio  S. 
Giorgio,  and  Perasto  are  also  inscriptions. 

After  the  death  of  Theodosius  the  ' '  Sinus  Rhizoni- 
cus  "  became  subject  to  the  Western  Empire  (395  a.d.), 
and  till  the  days  of  Diocletian  it  was  the  southern  limit  of 
Dalmatia.  Justinian  took  it  from  the  Ostrogoths,  and, 
considering  it  as  part  of  Dardania,  fortified  the  castle 
of  Karrapo?  in  532  to  defend  it  from  barbarian  inroads. 
Risano,  like  Salona  and  Epidaurus,  was  destroyed  by 
an  inroad  of  the  Huns  in  639,  after  which  Heraclius 
handed  Dalmatia  over  to  the  Croats  and  Serbs,  who 
divided  it  between  them.  He,  however,  reserved  to 
himself  the  important  coast-towns.  In  867  the 
Saracens  destroyed  Budua,  and  went  with  thirty-six 


372  THE   BOCCHE   DI    CATTARO 

ships  to  attack  Porto  Rose  and  Ascrivium,  which 
they  burnt.  The  inhabitants  took  refuge  in  the  fort, 
and  after  the  Saracens  had  gone,  with  the  help  of  some 
nobles  from  the  Bosniak  city  of  Kotor  (as  is  said), 
rebuilt  it.     The  Slav  name  is  still  Kotor. 

The  bishopric  of  Cattaro  is  said  to  date  from  the  fifth 
or  sixth  century  as  suffragan  to  Spalato  (that  is,  to 
Salona,  as  Spalato  only  became  metropolitan  in  650) ; 
but  the  first  certain  date  occurs  in  877,  in  which  year  an 
act  of  the  Concilium  Delmitanum,  when  the  ancient 
rights  of  Salona  were  divided  with  Spalato,  enacts  that 
Cattaro  and  Budua  shall  be  suffragan  to  Dioclea. 
Bishops  of  Risano  are  mentioned  in  141  and  591.  In 
1033  the  metropolitan  of  Salona  called  a  council,  and 
the  bishop  of  Cattaro  went  with  those  of  Dulcigno, 
Antivari,  and  Suacia.  They  were  caught  in  a  storm 
and  wrecked  at  Bacile  near  Torcole,  twelve  miles  from 
Lesina,  and  were  all  drowned.  The  sailors  have  never 
forgotten  the  catastrophe.  The  Cattarines  in  conse- 
quence sent  to  the  Pope,  pointing  out  the  difficulties 
of  communication,  and  obtained  transference  to  the 
arch-diocese  of  Antivari. 

The  "  bocche  "  consist  of  several  expanses  of  water, 
separated  by  narrow  canals  and  surrounded  by  lofty 
mountains,  which  often  rise  so  nearly  directly  from  the 
water's  edge  as  greatly  to  increase  their  impressiveness. 
Ai  The  scenery  is  exceedingly  fine,  and  indeed  the  view  from 
the  road  to  Cettinje  is  claimed  as  almost  unsurpassed  in 
Europe.  The  first  of  the  narrows  is  between  the  Kobila 
range  (1470  ft.)  and  the  west  point  of  the  peninsula 
Lustica.  It  leads  into  the  Bay  of  Topla,  and  the 
steamer  heads  direct  for  Castelnuovo,  leaving  on  the 
left  the  Sutorina,  the  lower  part  of  the  Canali  valley,  a 
portion  of  the  territory  of  the  Republic  of  Ragusa  ceded 
to  Turkey  in  1699  to  form  a  buffer  state  between  herself 
and  Venice.     The  Slav  name  of  Castelnuovo  is  Erzeg- 


CASTELNUOVO  373 

novi,  and  it  was  founded  in  1373  by  the  Bosniak  king 
Tvarko  I.,  Kotromanovic.  In  1483  it  was  enlarged  and 
raised  to  the  position  of  principal  place  in  the  dukedom 
of  Herzegovina,  founded  by  Duke  Stephan  Sandalj 
(1435-1466).  It  lies  on  the  slopes  of  Monti  Dobrastica 
and  Radostak,  piling  up  most  picturesquely  above  the 
little  harbour,  with  great  bastions  split  with  wide  cracks 
and  deformed  by  the  loss  of  pieces  which  have  fallen 
into  the  sea,  but  clothed  with  ivy  which  hides  much  of 
the  ruin.  It  has  often  changed  its  masters.  After  the 
death  of  Stephen  Sandalj  it  became  Turkish  ;  in  1538 
the  Turks  were  driven  out  by  the  Spaniards  and  Vene- 
tians. At  that  time  the  Spaniards  built  the  fort  which 
crowns  the  hill  to  the  north  of  the  town.  It  was  the 
only  part  of  Dalmatia  ever  held  by  the  Spaniards. 
Next  year  the  Sardinian  renegade,  Hassan  Barbarossa, 
put  the  whole  garrison  to  the  sword,  and  also  conquered 
Risano.  The  Turks  retained  possession  of  Castelnuovo 
till  1687,  when,  by  the  assistance  of  the  Knights  of 
Malta,  it  again  became  Venetian.  Three  Turkish  in- 
scriptions still  remain  ;  one  over  the  door  of  the  Spanish 
fort,  which  was  restored  by  the  Turks,  a  second  of  1660 
over  the  Porta  Terra  Ferma,  and  a  third  on  the  well  in 
the  piazza. 

Towards  the  east  is  Kloster  Savina,  a  monastery 
said  to  have  been  founded  in  1030,  and  now  the 
summer  residence  of  the  Servian  Orthodox  bishops 
of  Cattaro.  There  is,  however,  nothing  to  be  seen 
authorising  so  early  a  date  ;  the  smaller  of  the  two 
churches  may  perhaps  date  from  the  thirteenth  century, 
since  it  has  a  pointed  wagon  vault  and  transverse  ribs 
without  mouldings.  In  this  church  the  Knights  of  Malta 
who  died  some  two  hundred  years  ago  lie  buried.  The 
interest  of  the  place  lies  in  the  seventeenth-century  sil- 
ver-work, in  which  the  treasure  is  rich.  It  includes  some 
twenty  carved  crosses  mounted  in  silver  and  enamel 


374  THE    BOCCHE    DI    CATTARO 

from  Mount  Athos ;  hanging  lamps  of  pierced  silver,  in 
which  the  design  is  much  older  than  the  workmanship, 
with  medallions  of  saints  ;  silver-mounted  book-covers, 
one  of  which  is  decorated  with  enamels  ;  a  most  curious 
"  five-bread  platter,"  with  a  cup  in  the  centre,  and  two 
little  cruets  and  two  little  platters  on  projecting  arms, 
all  in  pierced  work  of  archaic  design  enriched  with  blue 
enamel ;  and  some  embroidered  vestments  of  the 
fifteenth  century,  all  of  which  are  said  to  have  been 
brought  from  Studenitza.  Farther  on  is  Meljina,  with 
a  lazaretto  of  the  seventeenth  century. 

The  view  from  the  road  between  these  two  places 
is  enchanting.  Above  the  blue  waters  of  the  Bay 
of  Teodo  the  ground  rises  to  the  mountains, 
which  divide  it  from  the  Gulf  of  Cattaro,  while 
farther  still  and  bluer,  the  greater  heights  of  Monte- 
negro cut  the  sky  with  their  serrated  edges.  To  reach 
the  Bay  of  Teodo  another  of  the  narrows  is  passed, 
the  Canal  of  Kombor,  by  the  foot  of  Mount  Dvesite. 
Here  is  a  naval  station.  The  land  is  the  most  fertile  in 
the  whole  district,  and  here  is  grown  the  famous  Mar- 
gamino  wine.  At  Bianca,  near  Teodo,  Danilo,  Prince 
of  Montenegro,  used  to  pass  the  summer.  Farther  on 
is  the  Strait  of  Le  Catene,  so  called  because  in  1381 
Lewis  of  Hungary  actually  put  chains  across  it  to  pro- 
tect the  inner  portions.  Opposite  to  the  channel  is 
Perasto,  to  the  left  the  Valle  di  Risano,  to  the  right  the 
Gulf  of  Cattaro.  In  front  of  Perasto  are  two  little 
islands,  with  picturesque  buildings  upon  them — the 
Scoglio  S.  Giorgio,  and  the  Madonna  del  Scarpello,  a 
little  church  with  a  green  cupola,  containing  a  picture 
of  the  Madonna  ascribed  as  usual  to  S.  Luke,  a  Byzan- 
tine work  decked  with  gold  and  silver,  brought  hither 
from  Negropont  in  1452.  For  many  years  the  Bocchesi 
brought  shiploads  of  stone  to  increase  the  size  of  the 
island,  and  still,  on  July  22  of  each  year,  a  stone-laden 


THE    MADONNA    DEL   SCARPELLO        375 

boat  goes  from  Perasto  to  the  rock.  There  are  two 
festivals  celebrated  here,  of  which  the  more  important 
is  that  of  the  Assumption,  August  15.  The  other,  the 
Birth  of  the  Virgin,  on  September  8,  is  less  so.  There  is 
a  proverb  "  Entre  le  due  Madonne  cade  la  pioggia/'  the 
greatest  rainfall  occurring  between  the  two  festivals. 
On  festival  days  the  picture  is  decked  with  rings,  chains, 
&c,  kept  locked  up  at  Perasto  during  the  rest  of  the 
year.  The  property  of  the  church  is  over  £30,000. 
For  five  hundred  years  it  has  been  a  centre  of  interest  in 
the  Bocche.  According  to  the  legend,  a  luminous  figure 
of  the  Madonna  was  seen  by  a  sailor  on  the  rock  on 
July  22,  1452,  and  on  that  spot  a  chapel  was  erected. 
The  present  church  was  built  in  1628.  Inside  are  a  good 
many  late  seventeenth-century  pictures,  and  in  two 
rooms  close  by  are  votive  pictures  of  the  usual  kind. 
There  is  a  cafe  on  the  island  for  the  benefit  of  pilgrims. 
The  island  of  S.  Giorgio  is  gradually  wasting  away.  The 
monastery  is  said  to  have  been  the  most  ancient  in  the 
district,  and  a  list  of  the  abbots  "  in  commendam  " 
from  1 1 66  exists,  with  notices  of  the  church  and  monas- 
tery, going  back  to  the  tenth  century.  There  was  a 
long  contest  for  its  possession  between  Cattaro  and 
Perasto,  ending  in  the  assassination  of  the  abbot  by  the 
Perastines,  who  took  the  property  by  force.  Venice 
gave  the  commune  of  Cattaro  an  annual  subvention  as 
solatium.  The  abbey,  destroyed  in  1571,  was  rebuilt  in 
1624,  and  in  1654  was  plundered  by  the  Turks,  and  then 
almost  ruined  by  earthquake  in  1667.  The  French 
erected  a  battery  upon  it,  which  was  abandoned  some 
thirty  years  ago.  The  church  was  restored  for  service 
on  October  27,  1878. 

Near  Risano,  at  Sopoti  (the  rushing),  is  an  intermit- 
tent waterfall  45  ft.  high,  which  I  was  told  was  100  ft. 
wide.  As  soon  as  it  runs  dry  the  cave  from  which  it 
issued  can  be  entered  for  several  hundred  yards.     The 


376  THE   BOCCHE   DI   CATTARO 

flow  commences  after  heavy  rains,  and  at  the  same  times 
a  well,  or  spring,  at  Cattaro  spirts  up  with  such  force  as 
to  throw  out  stones  of  several  pounds'  weight.  Above 
Risano  are  two  strong  fortresses,  erected  after  the  in- 
surrection of  the  Crivoscians  in  1881.  The  revolt  of  500 
men  against  conscription  necessitated  the  mobilisation 
of  a  whole  corps  d'armee  to  subjugate  them.  They  lived 
on  the  slopes  of  inaccessible  mountains,  and  the  troops 
had  to  make  the  mountain  paths  into  roads  practicable 
for  artillery.  The  rebels  were  taken  between  troops 
from  Risano  and  Orohovac,  and  others  who  came  from 
the  Herzegovinian  mountains.  Part  laid  down  their 
arms,  and  part  fled  into  Montenegro.  To  prevent  a  re- 
currence of  the  trouble,  and  perhaps  also  with  an  eye  to 
Montenegro,  the  forts  and  a  number  of  blockhouses  were 
built,,  which  one  may  see  high  up  the  mountains,  some- 
times against  the  sky-line. 

A  white  line  about  3,000  ft.  high  marks  the  military 
road  between  Perasto  and  Cattaro  ;  the  way  of  access 
to  the  blockhouses,  in  each  of  which  a  detachment  of 
twenty-five  men,  with  two  non-commissioned  officers 
and  one  lieutenant,  is  on  duty  for  a  year  at  a  time,  bear- 
ing great  heat  in  summer  (for  it  is  said  that  an  egg  laid 
on  the  rock  in  the  sun  is  hard  in  eight  minutes),  while  in 
winter  they  are  often  blocked  by  the  snow  for  two  or 
three  weeks  together. 

Perasto  is  now  a  little  place  of  some  500  inhabitants, 
but  shows  in  its  ruined  palaces  and  unfinished  church 
that  it  was  once  populous  and  prosperous.  It  has  had 
a  stormy  history,  during  which  the  Perastines  have 
shown  themselves  sturdy  fighters  and  loyal  supporters 
of  their  overlords,  and  is  the  one  city  of  the  Bocche 
which  remained  faithful  and  grateful  to  Venice,  even 
after  Campo  Formio.  When  the  Austrian  troops  came  to 
take  possession,  the  gonfalon,  which  had  been  confided 
to  the  Perastines  by  the  Republic,  as  a  reward  for  their 


PERASTO  377 

faithful  services  almost  four  centuries  before,  was  buried 
beneath  the  altar  of  S.  Nicolo  with  a  solemn  requiem,  as 
if  for  the  burial  of  a  father.  It  was  a  red  flag  with  a 
yellow  border,  and  the  winged  lion  in  the  centre,  pre- 
pared to  defend  the  cross  planted  upon  a  base  rising  out 
of  the  sea.  It  was  only  consigned  to  the  army  in  mari- 
time and  land  enterprises  in  the  Levant.  The  city  was 
distinguished  by  Venice  with  the  title  of  "  fedelissima 
gonfaloniera."  The  guards  were  selected  from  the 
twelve  "  casate  "  into  which  the  city  was  divided,  the 
names  being  those  of  the  original  feudal  families.  It  is 
asserted  that  the  Perastines  had  the  same  honour  con- 
ferred upon  them  by  the  Servian  kings,  the  guard  con- 
sisting of  a  company  of  twelve.  Some  say  that  it  was 
their  valour  in  taking  the  citadel  of  Cattaro  in  1378 
which  was  the  origin  of  the  trust.  After  the  contests 
with  Cattaro  in  1160  it  followed  the  fortunes  of  that  city 
till  1365,  but  in  that  year  Perasto  put  itself  under 
Venice.  The  activity  shown  in  assisting  Victor  Pisani 
in  1378  had  other  results,  for  it  was  attacked  shortly 
afterwards  and  sacked  by  the  allies  of  Lewis  of  Hun- 
gary. Till  about  1400  it  was  subject  either  to  Lewis  or 
Tvartko  of  Bosnia.  It  is  now  quite  a  little  place,  with 
some  500  inhabitants.  The  palaces,  with  fine  stone 
balconies  now  falling  into  ruins,  which  were  inhabited 
by  the  noble  families,  show  how  it  prospered  under 
Venetian  rule,  as  do  the  high  campanile  and  the 
fragment  of  a  large  church  on  the  model  of  La  Salute 
at  Venice,  commenced  some  hundred  and  thirtv 
years  ago,  but  never  completed.  It  is  entered 
from  the  sacristy  of  the  small  church,  the  arch 
and  vault  of  the  apse  towering  above  it,  and  show- 
ing the  whole  of  the  vault  and  the  caps  of  the  pilasters 
over  its  roof.  In  the  museum  are  a  banner  taken 
from  the  Turks  in  1654,  a  sword  presented  to  the 
commune  by  Peter  Zrinyi,  and  the  gonfalon  already 

48 


378  THE   BOCCHE   DI    CATTARO 

mentioned,  which  was  buried  beneath  the  altar.  A  fine 
processional  cross,  a  sixteenth-century  filigreed  chalice, 
a  monstrance,  and  several  reliquaries  are  also  preserved 
in  the  place ;  and  here  is  also  the  mausoleum  of  Bishop 
Zmajevic  of  Antivari,  who  took  the  Albanians  to  Borgo 
Erizzo  near  Zara,  and  was  a  Perastine  by  birth.  It  lies 
at  the  foot  of  Monte  Cassone  (about  2,900  ft.  high),  upon 
which  is  Fort  S.  Croce.  From  its  base  the  Bay  of  Ljuta 
stretches  away  south-eastwards  towards  Dobrota,  with 
Orohovac  at  its  foot.  The  two  Stolivos  beneath  the 
lofty  Vrmac,  and  Perzagno  may  be  seen  on  the  opposite 
shore.  This  last-named  place  stands  finely  on  a  pro- 
montory, with  a  large  domed  church  (an  unfinished  shell 
with  gaping  window-openings)  crowning  the  eminence, 
whilst  many  houses,  of  the  same  date  as  those  at 
Perasto,  and  with  fine  angle  balconies,  are  scattered 
about  the  road  along  the  shore,  from  which  there  are 
delightful  views.  A  late  Renaissance  church  has  a 
rather  pretty  rose-window  with  radiating  shafts  recalling 
the  Romanesque. 

Nearer  to  Cattaro  is  Mula,  and  on  the  other  side 
Dobrota ;  along  both  roads  are  red  and  white  oleanders, 
orange  and  lemon  trees,  ancient  figs  and  chestnuts, 
locust  beans  (carob),  olives,  pomegranates,  and  many 
flowers,  among  which  may  be  specially  named  beautiful 
pale  mauve  irises.  The  torrent  Skurda,  or  Fiumara, 
separates  the  mountains  Pestingrad  and  Mrajanik  from 
the  lofty  Lovcen,  which  towers  above  Cattaro  to  the 
height  of  5,770  ft.  It  is  the  holy  mountain  of  Monte- 
negro ;  on  it  the  great  Wladika  Pietro,  the  singer  of  the 
Servian  redemption,  chose  to  be  buried,  as  if  from  that 
height  his  spirit  might  watch  and  protect  the  land  to 
which  he  devoted  his  life.  Every  year  a  pilgrimage 
climbs  to  the  white-walled  little  chapel  which  sparkles 
on  the  dark  mountain  side.  The  Servian  dream  is  for 
the  waters  of  Cattaro  to  be  covered  with  ships  under  the 


S 


X 


a 


ANDREACCIO    SARACEN1S  379 

eagle  of  the  Nemagna,  for  the  country  folk  know  well 
the  story  of  Uros,  the  great  Stephan  Nemagna,  and  the 
epic  of  the  wars  against  the  Turks. 

In  the  city  of  Cattaro,  the  ancient  Ascrivium  or 
Acrivium,  some  small  remains  of  the  Roman  period  are 
to  be  seen  encrusted  in  the  walls  of  the  clock-tower, 
an  altar  and  a  memorial  to  a  girl  and  her  teacher. 
At  the  beginning  of  the  ninth  century  it  boasted 
several  fine  buildings,  to  which  a  rich  man  named 
Andreaccio  Saracenis,  mentioned  as  "  Certo  zitadino 
nobile  zintilhomo  si  de  generazion  come  di  richeza," 
contributed.  Towards  the  end  of  the  eighth  century 
S.  Maria  Infunara  was  built  by  him  in  the  rope-makers' 
district,  and  here  he  also  founded  a  convent  to  enable 
his  second  daughter  Theodora  to  lead  the  life  of  con- 
templation. He  also  paid  for  the  first  cathedral  of 
S.  Trifone,  which  Porphyrogenitus  says  was  circular. 
The  body  of  this  martyr  of  the  third  century  was  being 
brought  to  Venice  from  Asia  Minor  by  certain  mer- 
chants, when  a  storm  obliged  them  to  shelter  in  the 
Bocche.  The  magnates  of  the  city  and  Andreaccio 
treated  with  the  pilot  for  its  purchase,  and  paid  200 
Roman  solidi  for  the  shrine,  and  100  for  a  gemmed 
crown  above  it.  On  January  13,  809,  clergy  and  people 
went  by  ship  to  Porto  Rose  to  fetch  the  body.  On 
their  return  the  bishop  invited  them  to  stop  on  the  spot 
where  the  church  was  to  be  built,  and  hymns  were 
sung.  February  3,  the  reputed  day  of  his  martyr- 
dom, was  accepted  as  the  festival,  and  a  figure  of  S. 
Trifone  was  put  on  the  standard  of  the  city.  Certain 
coins  which  bore  his  effigy  were  named  after  him.  The 
sarcophagus  of  Andreaccio,  in  which  his  wife  was  also 
buried,  was  found  beneath  the  street  in  1840,  between 
the  cathedral  and  the  bishop's  palace.  A  portion  of  the 
ciborium  of  his  church  is  encrusted  in  the  wall  of  the 
sacristy  inscribed  :  "  Andree  sci  ad  honorem  sociorvmq 


380  THE   BOCCHE   DI    CATTARO 

majorem,"  and  other  fragments  of  the  same  period  have 
been  found  during  the  restoration,  which  is  still  going 
on.  That  these  fragments  were  part  of  an  ambo  on 
three  columns,  to  which  reference  has  been  found,  is 
proved  by  the  inscription  from  the  Ash  Wednesday 
service  which  runs  along  it,  "  Memento  te  homine,"  &c. 
The  front  had  two  crosses  beneath  semicircular  heads, 
with  conventional  trees  or  candlesticks  beside  them, 
and  a  great  piece  of  circular  interlacings,  small  and 
large,  like  the  slabs  at  S.  Maria  in  Trastevere,  Rome. 
The  sides  had  bands  of  ornament  dividing  the  surface 
into  unornamented  sunken  panels.  A  capital  or  two  of 
the  same  period  were  also  found,  a  relief  of  peacocks 
drinking  from  a  vase,  and  some  antique  fragments,  a 
piece  of  a  frieze,  a  column  of  cipollino  and  several  of 
granite,  and  a  few  antique  caps. 

The  rock  above  the  town,  called  Stirovnik,  has  a 
chapel  upon  it,  the  Madonna  della  Salute,  now  used  as 
an  ossuary,  which  has  a  piece  of  Lombard  carving  in- 
serted in  the  tympanum  above  the  door.  The  present 
cathedral  was  built  about  the  middle  of  the  twelfth 
century.  A  great  effort  was  made,  contributions  were 
invited,  and  a  tax  of  three  per  cent,  on  legacies  was  im- 
posed. Success  crowned  the  effort,  and  on  June  19, 
1 166,  Bishop  Malone  consecrated  the  altars,  amid  the 
rejoicings  of  the  Bocchesi.  The  head  of  S.  Trifone, 
stolen  in  968,  was  brought  from  Constantinople  in  1227 
by  Matteo  Bonascio.  At  first  deposited  in  S.  Pietro,  it 
was  brought  to  the  cathedral  on  December  20,  with  great 
pomp.  In  return,  he  was  given  the  field  of  S.  Theodore, 
and  his  family  was  exempted  from  communal  taxes  in 
perpetuity. 

The  plan  of  the  cathedral  is  that  of  a  Roman  basilica 
with  nave  and  aisles.  The  three  apses  are  semicircular, 
with  pilasters  externally.  The  nave  has  three  quadri- 
partite bays,  and  a  half-bay  to  the  west.     The  aisles 


PLAN   OF  THE  CATHEDRAL,    CATTARO 


382  THE    BOCCHE   DI    CATTARO 

have  seven  quadripartite  bays,  two  to  each  one  of  the 
nave,  with  columns  between  the  three  pairs  of  piers 
upon  which  the  vaults  rest.  The  bay  before  the  apse 
has  been  a  step  higher  than  the  rest.  What  the 
arrangement  will  eventually  be  it  is  difficult  to  say, 
judging  from  the  state  of  the  interior  on  the  two 
occasions  when  I  was  in  Cattaro.  The  columns  of  the 
nave  are  some  of  them  Byzantine-Roman,  and  some  of 
them  Corinthian.  The  aisle  windows  and  the  fine  east 
window  are  Gothic.  The  vaults  are  most  of  them  of 
the  sixteenth  century,  the  towers  of  the  facade  seven- 
teenth or  eighteenth,  and  the  great  rose- window  and  the 
doorway  below,  late  Gothic  with  Renaissance  details, 
rebuilt  after  the  earthquake  of  1667.  The  nave  is  about 
88  ft.  long,  the  aisles  within  the  towers  81  ft.,  breadth  of 
nave,  19  ft.  6  in.,  of  the  aisles  9  ft.  9  in.  The  ciborium 
is  exceedingly  interesting.  It  rests  upon  four  octagonal 
columns  of  the  red  marble  of  Lustizza,  a  place  not  far 
away.  The  altar  was  rebuilt  and  beautified  in  1362, 
and  it  is  probable  that  the  baldacchino  is  of  that  date. 
On  the  base  on  which  the  pillars  rest  are  sinkings  show- 
ing that  the  altar  had  a  central  octagonal  pillar,  with 
four  smaller  circular  ones  surrounding  it.  The  caps  of 
the  ciborium  are  rather  richly  carved,  and  the  lintel 
bears  on  three  sides  subjects  in  relief  from  the  legend  of 
S.  Trifone,  the  back  being  carved  with  ornament.  The 
illustration  shows  the  three  stages  of  trefoiled  arches, 
the  two  lower  with  coupled  colonnettes.  The  lowest 
has  caryatid  figures  of  a  warrior  and  a  civilian  in  front 
of  the  angles  to  the  west.  The  next  stage  has  twisted 
colonnettes  at  the  angles,  the  third  squat  single  shafts, 
and  on  a  little  crowning  member  pierced  with  four 
arches  stands  a  gilded  angel,  the  rest  of  the  canopy 
being  octagonal.  The  proportions  of  the  figures  are 
squat,  and  the  carving  rather  rough.  The  first  time  I 
saw  it  I  was  able  to  examine  it  closelv,  as  it  was  sur- 


CIBORIUM    OF    S.    TRIFONE,    CATTARO 

To  face  page  383 


THE   CATHEDRAL   TREASURY  383 

rounded  by  scaffolding,  and  there  were  some  remains  of 
colour  on  the  figures  ;  but  I  should  not  like  to  assert  that 
it  was  original,  since  I  understand  that  the  reliefs  were 
painted  to  imitate  marble,  and  the  figures  gilded  about 
the  middle  of  the  last  century.  The  silver  pala  is  said 
to  be  fixed  on  the  wall  of  the  apse  during  the  completion 
of  the  restoration  ;  it  certainly  was  not  there  when  I 
visited  the  cathedral,  and  I  have  not  seen  it. 

The  treasury  contains  a  good  many  rather  unin- 
teresting objects,  such  as  arm  and  leg  reliquaries  of  the 
fourteenth  century,  or  later  rather,  decorated  with  nielli 
and  bosses  in  relief,  and  a  few  others  shaped  like  vases 
borne  on  stems  ;  on  some  of  them  the  date  1483  can  be 
traced.  The  reliquary  of  the  body  of  S.  Trifone  is  of 
silver,  and  rather  rough  sixteenth-century  work,  but 
encloses  a  wooden  coffer,  upon  which  remains  of  ninth- 
century  paintings  have  been  discovered.  The  head  reli- 
quary is  of  gold  and  enamel,  the  stem  and  an  arcade 
round  the  upper  part  of  fourteenth-century  work  (the 
upper  portion  re-made  in  the  seventeenth),  and  the  foot 
apparently  of  an  intermediate  period,  with  early  Re- 
naissance details  upon  a  Gothic  plan,  medallions  in 
relief,  and  rough  scroll-work.  The  knop  has  eight 
roundels  with  niello  crosses  crossleted  ;  on  the  stem 
are  saints  in  niello  in  vesicas.  The  arches  of  the  cano- 
pied arcade  are  filled  with  figures  in  relief  in  couples  and 
enamels  in  basse-taille,  red  and  blue  alternately.  The 
nielli  have  had  a  ground  of  blue  enamel.  These  two 
reliquaries  and  a  crystal  cross  in  a  very  graceful  setting, 
early  Renaissance  in  style,  are  kept  in  a  receptacle  lined 
with  cut  velvet,  upon  which  are  embroideries  of  half- 
figures  of  saints  beneath  niches  raised  in  gold  ;  above 
the  niches  are  domes,  and  between  them  twisted 
columns,  probably  originally  part  of  a  vestment.  A 
globe-shaped  ciborium,  with  cresting  and  knop  of  the 
fourteenth  century,  is  interesting.     Upon  the  globe  a 


384  THE   BOCCHE    DI    CATTARO 

pattern  with  beasts  and  leaves  is  chased  ;  the  foot  is 
conical  and  sexfoil  in  plan,  with  little  niello  medallions 
and  piercings  on  the  perpendicular  parts  of  two  steps. 
The  knop  has  pinnacles  and  pierced  gables.  A  half- 
length  figure  of  Christ  in  silver,  upon  a  seventeenth- 
century  pierced  hemispherical  base,  is  well  modelled  and 
designed,  and  a  reliquary  cross  of  wood  used  by  the 
Capuchin  monk  Marcus  Avianus,  on  September  12, 
1683,  to  bless  the  allied  hosts  on  the  Leopoldsberg  be- 
fore the  relief  of  Vienna  from  the  Turks,  deserves  men- 
tion. In  the  treasury  is  also  a  great  Romanesque 
crucifix  of  painted  wood,  over  life-size,  with  the  feet 
crossed.  According  to  tradition  it  belonged  to  the 
church  of  the  Franciscans  outside  the  walls,  built  in 
1288  by  Elena,  wife  of  Orosius  I.  The  church  was 
pulled  down  when  there  was  war  between  Venice  and 
the  Turks,  and  moved  within  the  Porta  Gordicchio, 
which  was  therefore  called  the  Porta  S.  Francesco. 
Most  of  the  convents  are  now  used  by  the  military 
authorities. 

La  Colleggiata  is  the  ancient  church  of  S.  Maria 
Infunara,  which  Andreacci  Saracenis  founded,  but 
was  rebuilt  in  1221,  during  the  Servian  period.  It 
has  a  nave  two  bays  in  length,  the  first  cross-vaulted, 
and  the  second  with  a  dome  enclosed  within  an  octag- 
onal drum,  and  with  a  barrel- vaulted  presbytery  before 
the  apse.  An  aisle  to  the  north,  continued  to  the  tower 
as  a  sacristy,  is  later.  The  apse  has  shallow  pilasters 
dividing  the  exterior  surface  into  three,  in  the  centre  of 
which  is  a  walled-up  east  window  of  two  lights,  with  a 
cross  within  a  circle  in  the  tympanum  beneath  the  en- 
closing arch.  The  arch  of  the  south  door  is  perhaps  a 
fragment  of  the  original  building,  and  the  west  door  also 
looks  early.  In  the  aisle  is  a  Virgin  and  Child,  with 
painted  faces,  and  the  hands  and  feet  added  in  relief  and 
painted.     The  draperies  are  silver  and  silver-gilt,  pat- 


RELIQUARY    OF    THE    HEAD    OF    S.    TRIFONE,    CATTARO 

To  face  page  384 


S.    LUKA,    CATTARO 


To  face  page  385 


CHURCH    OF   S.    LUKA  385 

terned,  and  each  figure  has  a  nimbus  formed  of  a  gilded 
patterned  roll.  The  background  is  of  silver,  with  little 
angels  supporting  the  Virgin's  nimbus,  and  there  is  a 
curious  frame  of  filigree  arabesques  of  tinsel  set  in  wire 
and  standing  free. 

S.  Luka,  the  Greek  church,  of  nearly  the  same 
period  and  plan  as  the  cathedral,  was  built  in 
1 195  by  Marco  di  Andrea  Casa  Franci,  and  Bona, 
daughter  of  Basilio,  prior  of  Cattaro.  The  dome  is 
pointed,  and  rests  on  four  pointed  Romanesque  arches 
with  rough  pendentives.  The  apse  is  divided  by  pilas- 
ter strips  into  three  portions  externally,  and  in  the 
central  one  is  a  two-light  round-headed  window  with 
central  colonnette.  The  roof  is  continued  over  the 
chapel  of  S.  Spiridion  to  the  north  (which  has  an  apse, 
but  no  window,  except  the  little  rose  over  the  external 
door),  and  this  makes  the  church  look  square  from  the 
south-east.  The  west  side  has  one  clerestory  window 
beneath  a  great  unmoulded  arch,  and  a  circular-headed 
door  below,  the  jambs  of  which  are  made  of  earlier  frag- 
ments ;  the  late  belfry  is  of  three  arches,  two  and  one  ; 
beneath  is  an  unusual  curved  ornamentation,  a  curious 
presage  of  the  "  New  Art  "  of  a  few  years  ago.  The 
church  appears  to  have  been  restored  in  the  fourteenth 
century,  since  a  consecration  by  Bishop  Doimo  II.  is 
recorded  in  1368  ;  but  it  has  been  a  Greek  church  since 
1689,  was  enlarged  in  1747,  and  the  structure  shows 
signs  of  considerable  rebuilding.  The  iconostasis  is  of 
the  seventeenth  century  ;  the  paintings  are  covered 
with  silver  plates.  There  is  a  huge  cross  with  wings  at 
the  base  and  paintings.  Through  the  central  arch  the 
area  and  a  little  cross  are  seen.  The  chapel  of  S.  Spiri- 
dion also  has  its  iconostasis.  At  Easter  time  two  pro- 
cessional crosses  of  silver  and  a  Resurrection  banner 
decorate  the  church  outside  the  iconostasis.  The  Cat- 
tarine  silversmiths  have  also  executed  work  away  from 

49 


386  THE    BOCCHE    DI    CATTARO 

their  own  shores.  It  will  be  remembered  that  Stephen 
IV.  of  Servia  gave  a  silver  altar  to  the  church  of  S. 
Nicola,  Bari,  in  1322,  the  work  of  Abrado  of  Cattaro. 

There  are  a  few  interesting  doors  and  windows  in  the 
town,  of  various  periods.  The  Palazzo  Drago,  near  the 
cathedral,  has  a  pretty  window  of  something  the  same 
style  as  the  east  window  of  the  cathedral ;  the  great 
doorway  of  the  provincial  tribunal  has  some  fine 
heraldry  in  the  tympanum  (a  helmeted  lion,  with 
another  lion  for  the  crest)  and  angels  in  the  spandrils, 
while  upon  the  caps  beneath  the  lintel  are  other  lions, 
with  shields  flying  from  their  necks.  These  are  of 
the  late  Venetian  period.  The  facade  of  the  Nautical 
School,  illustrated,  displays  a  bold  and  unusual  treat- 
ment, and  there  is  a  well  near  the  hotel  with  elaborate 
and  massive  iron-work  about  the  pump  connected  with 
it.  The  streets  and  alleys  are  all  of  the  same  width,  and 
badly  lighted,  and  it  is  a  difficult  place  to  find  one's  way 
about  after  dark.  The  only  amusement  available  is 
usually  the  large  cafe  on  the  Riva,  which  appears  to  be 
open  at  all  hours  of  the  day  and  night — at  least,  we  had 
coffee  there  before  leaving  by  boat  at  4.15  a.m.  The 
gates  are  shut  at  9  p.m.,  except  the  Porta  Marina.  Over 
this  gate  the  Venetian  lion  still  appears,  a  rather  late 
example,  but  in  refreshing  contrast  with  the  griffins 
supporting  the  Austrian  arms  above,  a  work  of  1814. 
Outside  are  gigantic  oleander-trees,  and,  to  the  right, 
the  market,  where  many  Montenegrins  may  be  seen  in 
their  striking  costumes.  Beyond  the  Porta  Gordicchio 
is  the  wood  market,  and  one  for  horses  and  forage  is 
outside  the  Porta  Fiumara,  where  the  barrack  for  be- 
lated Montenegrins  stands,  for  they  are  not  admitted 
within  the  walls. 

Just  outside  the  Porta  Marina  we  found  a  shooting- 
saloon  established  on  our  second  visit,  with  a  number 
of  moving  figures,  which  performed  on  the  marksman 


OG 

8, 

l 


o 

H 
H 

O 

<f 
U 

H 
P 
<J 
iz; 

< 

o 
p 
u 

W 
P 

H 


OUTSIDE   THE    WALLS  387 

hitting  a  certain  point,  the  most  diverting  of  which  were 
an  old  woman  with  a  kicking  donkey,  and  two  fighting 
goats.  Several  soldiers  tried  their  hands,  but  with  very 
indifferent  success.  Great  excitement  was  evoked  by 
an  accident  while  the  mails  were  being  unloaded  one 
afternoon  ;  a  post-van  fell  into  the  water,  many  large 
postal  parcels  being  damaged,  and  part  of  the  top  of  the 
van  ripped  off  by  the  measures  adopted  for  its  recovery. 
This  "  Riva  "  was  the  scene  of  the  murder  of  Danilo  II. 
in  i860. 

The  walls,  which  are  28  ft.  high,  were  built  in  1667, 
after  the  older  ones  had  been  thrown  down  by  an  earth- 
quake. These  must  have  been  strong,  since  the  city 
was  blockaded  in  vain  by  a  Venetian  fleet  in  1378,  and 
attacked  by  the  Turks  equally  vainly  in  1539, 1569, 1572, 
and  1657.  The  present  walls  zigzag  up  the  mountain 
to  the  Fort  S.  Giovanni,  which  dominates  the  roads 
leading  into  Montenegro.  From  the  fort  one  looks 
down  upon  the  first  house  beyond  the  frontier.  A  little 
below  the  fort  is  a  threatening  mass  of  rock,  which  has 
been  bound  with  iron  to  prevent  it  from  falling  upon  the 
city  below.  The  Montenegrin  road  climbs  the  mountain 
with  no  less  than  sixty-six  zigzags. 

At  a  little  chapel  with  an  early  Renaissance  facade 
some  way  outside  the  town,  the  Angelus  bell  hung  out- 
side just  below  the  gable  termination,  without  any 
visible  means  of  being  rung,  and  we  wondered  how  this 
was  done,  until  we  happened  one  day  to  be  within  sight 
at  the  Angelus  hour,  when  we  saw  a  man  bring  out  a 
ladder  and  ascend  to  within  reach  of  a  short  cord  hang- 
ing from  the  clapper,  which  he  seized  and  agitated  ! 

The  military  are  on  the  look-out  for  spies,  and  our 
camera  occasioned  two  or  three  very  searching  in- 
quiries. I  congratulated  myself  upon  having  obtained 
authority  to  photograph  from  headquarters,  without 
which     we     should    certainly     have     been     stopped. 


388 


THE   BOCCHE   DI    CATTARO 


After  taking  the  group  of  the  Albanian  horsedealers 
(who  crossed  with  us  to  Ban  with  their  merchandise) 
we  wished  to  have  a  separate  figure  of  the  villain  to  the 
left ;  but  the  next  man,  who  was  master  of  the  gang, 
thought  time  enough  had  been  lost,  and,  taking  the 


A    CORNER   OF   THE   WALLS,    CATTARO 


halter  from  a  horse,  twisted  it  round  his  neck  by  way  of 
explaining  that  he  was  his  servant,  and  that  he  objected 
to  any  further  interruption  to  business.  As  we  were 
walking  between  Perzagino  and  Mula  an  old  man  ad- 
dressed us,  asking  if  we  were  English,  and,  on  our  reply- 


THE    BOCCHESI  389 

ing  that  we  were,  said  he  had  been  twenty  times  in 
London,  and  called  our  attention  to  his  house,  which  he 
said  had  been  inhabited  by  Prince  Nikita  during  the 
troubles  at  Cattaro. 

We  saw  very  few  English  on  our  second  trip.  From 
the  time  we  passed  Cologne  to  the  time  we  arrived  at 
Cattaro  we  did  not  hear  a  word  of  our  own  language, 
though  the  boat  in  which  we  travelled  from  Spalato  to 
Cattaro  was  entirely  of  English  make,  with  Liberty 
chintzes  in  the  cabins,  and  panels  of  coloured  plaster  in 
the  saloon.  It  had  cost  £70,000,  the  captain  said,  and 
was  certainly  extremely  rapid  and  comfortable.  In  the 
early  morning  we  saw  the  sardine  boats  coming  in. 
They  carry  on  the  bow  an  apparatus  with  a  number  of 
jets  connected  with  an  acetylene  plant,  producing  at 
night  a  most  vivid  light.  The  Bocchese  is  a  born  sea- 
man, beginning  at  the  age  of  twelve,  and  often  going  on 
till  he  is  seventy.  In  the  Bocche  scarcely  a  third  of 
the  land  is  fruitful,  yet  40,000  people  lived  in  the 
district,  mainly,  of  course,  by  the  sea.  From  their 
childhood  the  boys  have  always  longed  for  the  day  when 
they  might  accompany  their  fathers  into  the  world 
beyond  the  sea.  They  were  always  ready  to  fight,  and 
expected  to  have  to  do  so,  for,  until  the  second  half  of 
the  eighteenth  century,  it  was  unusual  good  fortune  to 
make  a  sea  or  land  trip  to  Albania  without  being  at- 
tacked. The  ancient  houses,  with  loopholes  and  little 
windows,  still  look  more  like  citadels  than  convenient 
dwellings.  The  women  had  to  protect  their  children 
and  their  own  honour  when  the  men  were  away,  and 
this  had  its  effect  upon  their  character.  In  many 
villages  it  was  the  custom  for  a  bride  to  go  out  some 
morning  before  she  was  married  into  a  lonely  place  and 
sing  the  death-wail,  so  that  she  might  know  it  if  she 
became  a  widow  ! 

The  introduction  of  the  steamboat  has  reduced  the 


390  THE  BOCCHE    DI    CATTARO 

employment  of  sailing  craft,  and  the  Bocchesi  have 
become  poor,  but  they  provided  the  best  sailors  for  the 
Venetian  fleet,  and  their  seamanship  has  not  decayed. 

There  were  certain  variations  among  the  Bocchesi 
from  the  religious  customs  of  the  Morlacchi,  which  are 
perhaps  worth  noting.  The  great  fast  before  Easter 
lasted  for  fifty  days,  and  during  that  time  even  fish  was 
allowed  but  twice  to  the  sick,  on  the  Annunciation  and 
on  Palm  Sunday.  During  fasts  the  people  do  not  sing, 
a  custom  observed  strictly  on  the  islands.  Three  days 
before  Ascension  Day  the  crosses  are  taken  out  of  the 
churches  and  fastened  to  poles  ten  or  twelve  feet  high, 
with  fluttering  banners  ;  these  days  are  therefore  called 
"  Cross  "  days.  The  village  girls  make  garlands  to  hang 
from  the  ends  of  the  crosses.  They  are  then  carried  in 
procession  round  the  village  and  over  the  fields  ;  when  a 
spring  is  reached  it  is  surrounded,  the  priest  reads  the 
gospel,  and  blesses  the  water  and  the  people  with  the 
cross.  On  Ascension  Day,  or  the  day  before,  a  proces- 
sion with  the  cross  goes  through  the  village,  and  every 
house  is  blessed.  In  the  coast-strip,  on  the  eve  of 
"  Cross  Day,"  there  is  a  frugal  supper ;  on  the  day  itself, 
a  dinner.  Before  both,  the  master  of  the  house  cuts  a 
piece  of  bread  from  the  "  Kreuzlaib  "  (a  large  round 
loaf  with  a  cross  marked  in  the  centre),  and  sticks  in  it 
a  taper  which  he  has  lighted  with  a  brand  from  the 
hearth.  All  pray  before  it  for  their  dead,  cross  them- 
selves, and  sit  down  to  table.  Later  in  the  meal  the 
master  rises  with  a  glass  of  wine,  soaks  a  bit  of  bread 
in  it,  and,  with  the  traditional  formula,  "  I  to  thee,  bread 
and  wine ;  thou  to  me,  health  and  joy,"  extinguishes  the 
taper  with  the  morsel.  Then  he  drinks  to  all,  and  they 
to  him.  The  great  piece  of  bread,  into  which  the  taper 
was  stuck,  is  given  to  the  first  beggar  who  comes  by. 
They  provide  much  more  than  enough  for  the  guests, 
as  the  custom  is  on  those  days  to  feed  the  poor  in 


CUSTOMS   OF   THE   BOCCHESI  391 

villages  and  towns.  Unless  the  family  is  in  mourning, 
drinking  songs  are  sung  suitable  to  the  guests,  of  what- 
ever position. 

Fires  are  lighted  on  the  eve  of  S.  Stephen's  Day,  and 
also  on  New  Year's  Day  and  Epiphany,  as  well  as  on  the 
morning  of  S.  John  the  Baptist's  Day,  when  the  people 
jump  over  the  midsummer  fires  and  cry  :  "  From  one 
S.  Giovanni  to  another,  may  aching  feet  be  far  from 
me  !  "  On  New  Year's  Day  the  children  get  an  apple 
or  an  orange  from  the  mother,  and  go  to  the  father, 
asking  him  to  silver  it ;  he  sticks  a  ten-kreuzer  piece  or 
two  into  it,  and  they  go  on  to  friends  and  relations  with 
the  same  request. 

Every  village  has  its  church  (some  have  three  or 
even  more),  every  hilltop  has  its  sanctuary,  and  each 
island  its  holy  place.  In  Cattaro,  till  the  beginning  of 
the  nineteenth  century,  churches  and  convents  occupied 
a  third  of  the  area  within  the  walls,  and  each  nobleman 
had  his  private  chapel  in  his  villa.  The  Bocchesi  were 
noted  for  their  honourable  fidelity  to  their  word  once 
given,  and  this  probity  is  still  recognised  in  their  com- 
mercial dealings.  The  married  sons  usually  live  in  the 
house  till  the  father's  death ;  then  the  property  is 
divided,  and  each  takes  his  own  house.  If  the  mother 
is  alive  she  lives  with  the  eldest  son.  The  house  master 
divides  the  food,  giving  sufficient  to  each  one,  so  that 
he  would  sometimes  go  short  himself  if  the  girls  and 
daughters-in-law  were  not  always  ready  to  offer  him 
the  best  part  of  their  portions.  The  country  women  of 
Montenegro  always  kiss  the  hand  of  a  male  acquaint- 
ance in  greeting.  On  the  road  the  man  is  met  on  mule- 
back  smoking,  the  woman  on  foot  with  a  load,  and  they 
neither  of  them  would  consent  to  change  their  position, 
and  put  the  load  on  the  mule  and  make  the  man  walk. 
The  men  wear  full  breeches,  a  waistcoat  and  sash  round 
the  waist,  and  a  thick  whitish  wool  coat  over  it,  which 


392 


THE   BOCCHE    DI    CATTARO 


is  sometimes  girded  with  the  sash,  leggings,  and  the 
usual  raw-hide  shoes.  On  the  head  is  a  black  silk 
cap  with  a  magenta  centre  embroidered  with  gold 
thread.  The  women  wear  a  coat  of  the  same  shape, 
but  of  lighter  material,  and  sleeveless,  over  a  kind  of 
jacket,  and  on  the  head  the  same  shaped  cap  with 
a  handkerchief  draped  over  it  and  hanging  down  at 
the  back. 

Cattaro  has  about  2,000  inhabitants,  of  whom 
scarcely  ten  families  are  old-established  ;  all  the  old 
families  are   dead,  or   have   emigrated.     Part   of   the 


MONTENEGRINS    IN    THE    MARKET,    CATTARO 

present  population  are  Italian  immigrants;  part  are 
Albanian  and  Montenegrin  families  (to  which  nation- 
ality many  of  the  country  people  also  belong),  who, 
either  for  purposes  of  trade  or  craft,  have  settled  in  the 
town.  From  many  towns  in  Austria  come  the  sub- 
alterns, who  have  married  and  now  live  here.  The  usual 
language  is  Croat,  but  Italian  is  generally  understood, 
and  songs  with  the  Venetian  accent  may  be  heard.  But 
all  are  much  interested  in  the  "  Marinerezza,"  the  finest 
festival  of  the  Bocche,  held  on  February  3.  On  Janu- 
ary 27  the  preliminaries  commence.    The  marine  officers 


THE   "MARINEREZZA"  393 

arrange  themselves  on  the  seat  before  the  cathedral  at 
midday.     As  soon  as  the  clock  has  struck  the  second 
stroke  of  12  the  "  little  sea  director,"  a  boy  of  nine 
of  ten,  comes  out  on  the  gallery  above  the  door,  armed 
and  in  national  costume,  and,  in  Croat,  delivers  a  short 
speech  announcing  the  beginning  of  the  festival,  and 
calling  the  citizens  to  take  part  in  it.     At  the  end  he 
takes  off  his  cap,  waves  it,  and  greets  the  standard  of 
S.  Trifone  with  three  "  Slava  !  "     At  this  moment  the 
flag  is  unfurled,  the  music  strikes  up,  the  bells  ring,  and 
the  people  shout  "  Slava  !  "  (which  means  "  Glory  1"). 
On  the  eve  of  the  day  the  outside  members  are  met  and 
greeted  with  music  by  those  of  the  town,  parading 
before  the  cathedral.     At  4  p.m.  the  sea  director  meets 
the  bishop,  who  blesses  the  "  Kolo  "  before  Vespers. 
The  whole  piazza  is  thronged  with  people,  and  in  the 
middle  is  the  body  of  the  "  Marinerezza,"  with  the 
"  Kolo  "  leader  and  his  company  ready.     The  ancient 
costumes,  golden  knives,  silver  gypsires,  gold  pierced 
purses,  &c,  show  the  ancient  riches  of    the  Bocche. 
The  music  strikes  up,  and  the  "  Marinerezza  "  begins  the 
ancient  "  Kolo  "  dance,  after  which  the  bishop  enters  the 
church,  where  a  solemn  service  begins,  lasting  late  into 
the  night.     The  next  day  the  same  dance  is  repeated 
before  Mass,  after  which  the  relics  of  S.  Trifone  are 
carried  in  procession  through  the  narrow  streets.    Then 
the  Society  feasts  the  poor  of  the  town  and  neighbour- 
hood in  the  court  of  the  bishop's  palace.     In  the  even- 
ing there  are  fireworks,  and  other  celebrations  take 
place  on  the  Sunday  following. 

The  standard  of  S.  Trifone  bears  his  figure  on  a 
white  ground,  with  the  words  "  Fides  et  Honor  "ona 
gold  embroidered  band. 

Cattaro  appears  to  have  been  a  republic  till  the 
thirteenth  century,  when  it  came  under  the  protection 
of  Servia,  and  so  continued  till  the  extinction  of  the 

50 


394       THE  BOCCHE  DI  CATTARO 

dynasty  of  the  Nemagna.  A  document  of  135 1  of 
Stephen  "  per  la  Dio  gratia  Imperator  de  Servia  et  de 
Grezia  "  confirms  all  its  privileges.  It  was  one  of  the 
most  important  ports  of  the  eastern  coast  of  the 
Adriatic  in  the  Middle  Ages,  and  competed  with  Ragusa 
for  the  inland  trade.  In  1301  it  was  attacked  by  that 
city,  and  again  in  1361.  After  the  death  of  Uros  the 
Strong,  in  1368,  it  sought  the  protection  of  Lewis  of 
Hungary,  at  that  time  the  most  powerful  prince  in 
Europe,  and  thereby  lost  the  friendship  of  Venice.  In 
1378  Victor  Pisani  ravaged  the  Bocche,  sacked  the  city, 
and  took  away  a  foot  of  S.  Trifone  in  a  silver  reliquary, 
which  he  placed  in  S.  Fantino,  Venice.  Twenty  years 
later  Cattaro  offered  itself  to  Venice,  but  was  not  ac- 
cepted till  twenty  more  years  had  passed.  On  July  25, 
1420,  Pietro  Loredano,  Captain  of  the  Gulf,  came  to 
take  formal  possession.  The  ensigns  of  the  commune 
and  the  keys  of  the  city  were  brought  in  procession  to 
the  representative  of  the  Republic,  and  the  standard  of 
S.  Mark  was  hoisted  on  the  cathedral.  The  oath  of 
loyalty  and  devotion  to  the  "  Serenissima  "  was  taken 
by  Paolo  Bucchia,  count,  Marius  Bisanti  and  Luca 
Drago,  judges,  and  the  forty  members  of  the  greater 
council.  The  territory  was  then  called  Albania  Veneta. 
The  Bocchesi  enrolled  themselves  voluntarily  as  sailors, 
and  formed  the  finest  portion  of  the  personnel  of  the 
Venetian  navy. 

Under  the  Byzantines  the  prior  was  first  in  the  state, 
though  there  is  mention  of  a  Catapan  in  1163.  The  title 
of  the  supreme  officer  was  changed  to  "  Rector,"  and 
(in  1 159)  to  "  Count."  Till  1398  he  was  elected  annu- 
ally ;  after  that  time  he  bore  office  for  a  month.  He 
was  required  to  be  a  native  of  a  friendly  Dalmatian  city, 
and  was  elected  by  the  "  arengo  "  of  the  nobles.  His 
payment  was  partly  in  coin  and  partly  in  kind.  No  one 
could   ask   him   to  be  godfather,  nor  could  others  of 


GOVERNMENT   OF   CATTARO  395 

his  family  contract  spiritual  affinity  with  any  citizen. 
Neither  he  nor  his  relations  could  receive  gifts,  nor  go 
to  banquets  in  or  out  of  the  city,  except  for  marriages, 
and  with  permission  of  the  greater  council ;  nor  could  he 
sleep  outside  the  city.  He  was  always  followed  by  a 
knight  and  six  squires,  clothed  at  his  own  expense  ;  and, 
notwithstanding  his  grandeur  and  power,  one  would 
think  must  have  been  glad  when  his  term  of  office  was 
completed.  The  council  of  the  "  Pregati  "  consisted  of 
fifteen  members  of  the  Senate,  elected  annually  on 
S.  George's  Day.  There  were  three  judges  selected  by 
them  from  the  lesser  council,  which  was  composed  of 
six  nobles,  also  elected  annually.  Till  the  tenth  cen- 
tury the  bishop  was  elected  by  the  chapter,  from  that 
time  till  the  thirteenth  by  the  clergy  and  people,  after 
which  period  the  appointment  was  made  by  the  Pope. 
Thefts  were  punished  by  fine  up  to  three  times  the  value 
of  the  object  stolen,  and  by  prison,  beating,  branding, 
and  maiming,  following  inability  to  pay.  Similar 
punishments  were  enacted  for  offences  against  the 
person  ;  but  homicide  of  a  citizen  brought  the  criminal 
to  the  halter. 

From  Cattaro  it  is  but  a  short  distance  to  the 
southern  boundary  of  the  Austrian  Empire  on  the 
Adriatic.  A  stone  column  between  Spizza  and  Anti- 
vari  marks  the  line.  Two  telegraphic  wires  are  at- 
tached to  this  stone,  one  belonging  to  Austria,  and  one 
to  Montenegro.  The  Bay  of  Antivari  is  said  to  be  the 
most  picturesque  place  on  the  Albanian  coast,  sur- 
rounded as  it  is  by  lofty  mountains,  with  trees  almost 
hiding  the  minarets  of  the  town,  while,  to  the  north, 
Spizza  is  perched  on  red  rocks  rising  steeply  from  the 
water.  There  is  a  great  waterfall,  which  appears  to  fall 
sheer  into  the  sea,  with  a  mill  just  at  its  foot.  Budua, 
which  is  fifteen  miles  from  Cattaro,  is  something  like 
Arbe  in  situation,  crowning  a  projecting  peninsula,  and 


396  THE   BOCCHE   DI    CATTARO 

with  grey  mountains  towering  above  it.  It  was  a  Ro- 
man fortress,  known  as  Buta,  and  one  of  the  keys  to  the 
interior.  It  was  sacked  by  Saracen  pirates  in  the  ninth 
century,  and  in  1571  the  Turks  fell  on  it  and  burnt  it. 
In  1687  it  was  defended  against  them  by  a  Cornaro, 
but  contains  nothing  of  sufficient  importance  to  repay 
the  trouble  of  a  visit. 


XXV 

THE  RECIPROCAL  INFLUENCES  OF  THE  TWO 

SHORES 

Between  the  Eastern  and  Western  shores  of  the  Adri- 
atic there  has  been  constant  communication,  either 
peaceful  or  bellicose,  from  the  earliest  times,  for  the  sea 
was  a  highway  traversed  with  equal  ease  by  the  enter- 
prising merchant  or  the  daring  pirate.  While  the  result- 
ing influence  of  one  coast  on  the  other  was  considerable, 
more  distant  lands  from  which  the  way  was  open  by 
the  same  course  can  be  shown  to  have  also  affected 
the  progress  of  art  and  craft  on  either  side  of  the  sea — 
Byzantium,  North  Africa,  and  the  countries  between 
being  the  strongest  factors.  The  occurrence  of  Syrian 
motifs  at  Ravenna  and  Spalato  is  frequent,  both  in  orna- 
ment and  construction  ;  peculiar  expedients  which  were 
used  in  Tunis  and  other  parts  of  North  Africa  appear  in 
Lombard  or  Comacine  work,  while  the  influence  of 
Alexandrian  and  Antiochene  art  on  the  styles  which 
preceded  and  prepared  the  genesis  of  Romanesque 
ornament  appears  incontestable.  The  close  relations 
between  the  two  coasts  at  the  period  when  they  were 
governed  from  one  centre,  either  Eastern  or  Western, 
make  these  influences  probable.  Ecclesiastical  contro- 
versies at  times  affected  portions  of  both,  while  their 
common  Christianity  necessarily  produced  community 
of  interests  and  sympathy  for  the  woes  which  one  side 
or  the  other  suffered  from  the  incursions  of  heathen  and 

397 


398    THE  INFLUENCES  OF  THE  TWO  SHORES 

barbarous  hordes.  Nor  must  the  commercial  relations 
be  forgotten,  by  which,  in  the  earlier  mediaeval  period, 
objects  of  luxury,  which  served  as  models  for  the  local 
artists,  were  spread  to  all  points  of  the  Mediterranean 
basin,  and  at  the  period  of  the  Renaissance  the  manu- 
facture of  such  objects  as  the  plaquettes  of  bronze  or 
lead  which  appear  to  have  been  produced  in  Italy  es- 
pecially, with  the  intention  of  serving  as  suggestions  for 
craftsmen  who  were  deficient  in  imagination  or  capacity. 
History  records  the  assistance  rendered  by  one  shore 
to  the  other  on  many  occasions,  and  the  interference  of 
the  stronger  and  more  civilised  power  in  the  affairs  of 
the  weaker.  To  those  already  cited  in  the  body  of  the 
work  a  few  may  be  added  here.  The  Liburnians  helped 
Octavius  Augustus  in  the  naval  battle  of  Actium  ;  and, 
when  he  became  emperor,  he  did  much  for  Dalmatia,  in 
return  for  the  assistance  rendered.  Yet  the  rebellions 
continued,  mainly  owing  to  the  rapacity  of  the  gover- 
nors sent  from  Rome,  as  is  proved  by  the  answer  of 
Batone  to  Tiberius,  reported  by  Dion  Cassius.  He  asked 
the  reason  for  the  frequent  rebellions  in  town  and 
country,  and  the  implacable  hatred  which  appeared  to 
be  nourished  against  the  very  name  of  Roman.  Batone 
replied  :  "  Because  you  sent  neither  shepherds  nor  dogs 
to  guard  your  flock,  but  wolves."  A  better  regime  for 
the  Dalmatians  followed  the  peace  which  was  made,  and 
from  that  time  onward  Dalmatia  furnished  many  dis- 
tinguished men,  who  rose  to  high  office  in  the  empire, 
several,  indeed,  wearing  the  imperial  purple.  It  is 
suggested  that  one  of  these,  Decius  the  Illyrian,  intro- 
duced the  use  of  the  dalmatic  into  Rome  (the  common 
dress  in  Dalmatia),  which  was  frequently  used  by  the 
nobles  of  the  court  of  Valerian.  Lampridius  notes  that 
Commodus  sometimes  wore  it  at  special  solemnities. 
Clergy  and  laity  wore  the  same  dress  at  that  time, 
except  for  a  fringe  which  distinguished  the  sacerdotal 


THE    DALMATIC  399 

vestment.  S.  Cyprian,  who  succeeded  Donatus,  bishop 
of  Carthage,  speaks  of  its  use  as  an  ancient  thing,  from 
which  it  may  be  concluded  that  in  the  second  and  third 
centuries  it  was  accepted  as  the  Eucharistic  vestment 
in  North  Africa,  or  worn  by  bishops  outside  the  church. 
S.  Eutychian,  Pope  in  275,  ordered  the  alternative  use 
of  the  dalmatic  for  clothing  the  bodies  of  martyrs  with 
the  "  colobium  "  (a  long  tunic  of  crimson  silk),  which 
had  been  in  use  before  ;  an  order  reversed  by  S. 
Gregory.  It  was  used  at  first  by  the  celebrant,  but, 
when  the  chasuble  came  into  use  in  the  Roman  Church, 
it  became  the  vestment  of  the  deacons.  S.  Symmachus 
conceded  to  S.  Caesarius,  bishop  of  Orleans,  in  508,  as  a 
favour,  that  his  deacons  might  use  the  dalmatic,  and 
S.  Gregory  granted  the  same  privilege  to  the  archdeacon 
of  the  Franks.  At  a  later  period  the  use  was  granted  to 
kings  for  their  coronation. 

The  Byzantines  used  Istria  as  a  base  in  the  final 
operations  against  the  Goths  till  555,  when  they  were 
conquered.  This  was  the  period  when  so  many  basilicas 
were  built  in  that  country,  in  gratitude  for  the  securing 
of  freedom  to  the  province  from  the  yoke  of  the  Arians, 
and  for  the  re-establishment  of  the  "  Holy  Republic," 
the  inaccurate  term  which  the  Istrians  used  for  the 
Byzantine  Government.  The  exarchs  ruled  till  752. 
During  this  period  the  bonds  between  Istria  and  Ra- 
venna were  close.  It  was  a  military  district  under  a 
provincial  magister  militum,  directly  subordinate  to  the 
exarch  of  Ravenna,  and  appointed  by  him.  He  was 
also  charged  with  the  civil  administration,  and  lived  at 
Pola,  which  was  the  capital  till  the  ninth  century. 
Istrians  rose  to  high  ecclesiastical  honours  in  Ravenna, 
Grado,  and  Tor  cello.  Justinian  granted  an  appeal  from 
the  provincial  judge  to  the  bishop,  who  had  also  juris- 
diction over  secular  and  regular  clergy,  except  in  crimi- 
nal cases.     The  archbishop  of  Ravenna  had  the  right 


400    THE  INFLUENCES  OF  THE  TWO  SHORES 

of  revising  the  decisions  of  the  judges  of  Pola,  a  right 
which  continued  till  133 1,  when  Pola  gave  herself  to 
Venice,  and  probably  commenced  at  the  time  of  Maxi- 
mian,  who  was  appointed  archbishop  by  Justinian 
in  546. 

He  was  a  native  of  Vistro,  now  Porto  Vestre,  be- 
tween Rovigno  and  Pola,  and  must  have  been  a  man  of 
resource  and  great  personal  influence.  The  story  runs 
that  he  found  a  treasure  when  cultivating  his  field.  He 
sewed  together  two  skins  of  a  goat  into  the  form  of  boots, 
and  filled  them  and  the  skin  of  an  ox  from  the  treasure, 
deciding  to  take  the  rest  to  the  emperor  at  Constanti- 
nople, to  whom  treasure-trove  legally  belonged.  When 
he  presented  this  remainder  he  was  asked  how  much  he 
had  kept  for  himself.  He  replied :  "As  much  as  a 
stomach  and  a  pair  of  boots  could  absorb/ '  The  Em- 
peror Justinian  interpreted  this  as  meaning  that  he  had 
taken  as  much  as  he  required  for  food  and  for  the 
journey,  and  became  attached  to  him.  Ambassadors 
arriving  from  Ravenna  to  announce  the  death  of  Arch- 
bishop Vittore  (546),  and  to  ask  for  the  pallium  for  his 
successor,  gave  Justinian  the  opportunity  of  advancing 
Maximian,  whom  he  sent  to  Ravenna  with  many  gifts, 
including  much  of  the  "  feudo  di  S.  Apon'mare,"  lands 
at  Pola,  and  in  its  vicinity,  which  belonged  to  that 
church  for  centuries.  Pope  Vigilius  was  at  that  time 
an  exile  in  Bithynia,  and  therefore  the  Ravennese  at 
first  refused  Maximian,  but  changed  their  minds  on 
learning  of  his  many  virtues  (among  which  the  imperial 
gifts  no  doubt  ranked).  His  architectural  works  in 
Istria  were  considerable ;  and  in  Ravenna  he  consecrated 
the  two  churches  of  S.  Vitale  and  S.  Apollinare  in  Classe, 
built  by  Julian,  the  treasurer.  In  Istria  he  founded  the 
monastery  of  S.  Andrea,  near  Rovigno,  and  the  church 
of  S.  Maria  Formosa,  or  "  in  Canneto/'  at  Pola  (which 
had  property  in  the  exarchate  of  Ravenna),  a  magnificent 


THE    FEUD    OF   S.    APOLLINARE  401 

church,  which  has  been  spoken  of  in  the  chapter  on  Pola. 
The  "  feud  "  consisted  of  a  palace,  with  its  dependencies, 
and  three  towers  in  the  city  of  Pola,  and  a  quantity  of 
land  in  the  district.  The  wood  at  Vistro  where  the 
treasure  was  found  was  also  given  to  S.  Apollinare  by 
Maximian.  In  1001  Otho  II.  gave  S.  Maria  and  S. 
Andrea  to  the  archbishop  of  Ravenna ;  afterwards  they 
belonged  to  S.  Mark's,  Venice.  A  document  of  1138  in 
Ravenna  shows  Abbot  Paul,  of  the  monastery  of  Pom- 
posa,  asking  for  himself  and  his  successors  for  one  hun- 
dred years  the  renting  of  certain  lands  from  Martin, 
abbot  of  S.  Maria  in  Canneto  and  of  S.  Andrea.  In  1200 
the  feud  consisted  of  many  rights  of  jurisdiction,  tithes, 
and  charges,  both  in  the  city  of  Pola,  and  in  towns  in 
its  territory,  some  of  the  land  having  been  sold,  with 
Urban  III.'s  permission,  between  11 85  and  11 87.  There 
was  a  chapel  of  S.  Apollinare  and  a  house  with  their 
belongings  near  the  Porta  del  Duomo,  and  three  towers, 
the  country  possessions  being  spread  over  eleven  places. 
At  this  time  Engelbert  III.,  Count  of  Gorz,  stole  it,  and 
held  it  for  some  time,  notwithstanding  an  appeal  to  the 
Popes  Celestine  III.  and  Innocent  III.  In  12 13  the 
archbishop  granted  the  feud  to  a  certain  Stefano  Segnor, 
so  he  must  have  then  regained  it.  Seven  years  later 
Simeon,  archbishop  of  Ravenna,  conceded  his  lands  in 
Istria  to  Guido  Michele  and  his  successors,  with  the 
obligation  to  renew  the  contract  every  sixty  years,  and 
reserving  the  right  of  appeals.  The  Castropola  bought 
the  feud  from  the  Giroldi  about  1300  for  1,800  "  lire 
piccioli.,> 

Aquileia  was  the  most  prosperous  city  of  the  empire 
after  Rome,  having  600,000  inhabitants  in  the  days 
of  its  prosperity.  The  fleet  which  kept  the  capital  in 
communication  with  the  eastern  coast  of  the  Adriatic, 
and  so  with  Liburnia,  Giapidia,  Pannonia,  and  the 
Levant,  had  a  station  there.      Trajan  took  the  divi- 

5i 


4o2    THE  INFLUENCES  OF  THE  TWO  SHORES 

sion  which  was  called  Aquileian  or  Venetian  from  the 
Pretorian  fleet  at  Ravenna.  It  had  charge  of  the  Upper 
Adriatic  from  Ancona  to  Zara,  and  of  the  shore  from  the 
Adige  to  the  Arsa.  After  the  Greeks  lost  Ravenna  to 
the  Lombards  the  station  of  the  fleet  was  moved  to  Zara. 
Shortly  before,  in  743,  the  exarchate  included  the  Dal- 
matian islands,  and  also  the  cities  of  Zara,  Trau,  Spalato, 
and  Ragusa.  The  Slavs  occupied  Dalmatia  in  640-642. 
Paulus  Diaconus  says  that  they  crossed  to  Siponto  in  649 
and  sacked  several  places  near.  The  annals  of  Bari 
(926)  speak  of  the  siege  and  capture  of  Siponto  by  a  Slav 
king,  Michael,  possibly  the  husband  of  Queen  Helena, 
who  is  named  on  his  wife's  sarcophagus  found  on  the 
island  in  the  Jader,  near  Salona,  as  described  in  the 
chapter  on  Spalato.  In  the  ninth  century  the  Narentans 
helped  in  driving  the  Saracens  from  Monte  Gargano. 

The  bishop  of  Torcello  had  possessions  in  Cittanova 
and  Muggia,  which  were  confirmed  to  him  in  1177  by 
Frederick  Barbarossa.  The  see  of  Grado  had  rights 
and  possessions  on  the  islands,  and  in  Istria,  at  Trieste, 
Capodistria,  Pirano,  Cittanova,  Parenzo,  Pola,  and  Cas- 
tel  S.  Giorgio  y  but  the  actual  power  was  in  the  hands 
of  the  patriarch  of  Aquileia,  who  several  times  settled 
matters  with  his  adversaries  by  giving  them  things 
which  really  belonged  to  Grado.  With  the  increase  of 
the  Venetian  power  to  the  point  at  which  the  coast- 
towns  were  practically  forced  to  yield  themselves  to 
her  supremacy,  Istria  and  Dalmatia  became  pawns  in 
the  political  game  which  was  played  in  Italy,  and  the 
reciprocal  influences  of  the  two  shores  became  princi- 
pally artistic  and  individual,  rather  than  corporate  or 
national. 

Artists  of  both  shores  worked  indiscriminately  on 
either  side  of  the  Adriatic,  as  may  be  divined  from 
the  similarity  of  style  in  many  of  the  buildings  and 
in   much  of  the  decorative  work,  even  without  the 


RESEMBLANCES  IN  DESIGN  AND  DECORATION  403 

documentary  evidence  which  is  often  available.  It  is 
to  be  expected  that  between  the  early  basilicas  of 
Ravenna  and  of  Pola  there  should  be  a  great  resem- 
blance ;  but  at  Parenzo,  also,  there  is  a  likeness  to  both 
those  places,  and  it  seems  probable  that  the  same  school 
of  artists  worked  upon  the  mosaics  there  and  at  S.  Maria 
in  Cosmedin,  Ravenna.  The  decoration  in  opus  sectile 
also  has  resemblances,  but  these  seem  more  probably 
due  to  direct  Byzantine  influence,  since,  both  at  S. 
Sophia,  Constantinople,  and  S.  Demetrius,  Salonica,  the 
same  form  of  decoration  occurs ;  and  it  is  pretty  well 
established  that  there  was  a  regular  export  trade  in 
carved  capitals  and  columns  from  Constantinople,  the 
same  patterns  occurring  in  many  places  far  apart  from 
each  other.  Comacine  work  is  frequently  met  with  all 
down  the  eastern  coast  as  far  as  Cattaro,  as  in  Lom- 
bardy  and  the  Venetian  territory.  The  building  at 
Ravenna  known  as  the  Palace  of  Theodoric  resembles 
the  Porta  Aurea,  Spalato,  in  its  decoration  of  columned 
niches ;  and  the  material  of  his  mausoleum,  Istrian 
stone,  inclines  one  to  look  across  the  sea  for  the  inspira- 
tion of  the  design  (which  may  possibly  be  a  Gothic 
imitation  of  the  mausoleum  of  Diocletian),  though  it 
must  be  remembered  that  Theodoric  sent  an  architect 
to  Rome  to  study  the  ancient  buildings. 

At  a  later  period  we  have  many  names  of  artists  who 
crossed  the  sea  in  one  direction  or  the  other.  In  1319 
Uros  II.  of  Servia  sent  Abiado  di  Dessislavo  from  Cat- 
taro to  make  the  silver  altar  at  S.  Nicola,  Bari.  Miche- 
lozzo  of  Florence  was  at  Ragusa  in  1463  ;  George  of 
Sebenico  was  at  Ancona  rather  earlier  ;  Onofrio  de  La 
Cava  did  work  at  Ragusa  ;  before  his  time,  George  of 
Sebenico's  friend,  Giovanni  Dalmatico,  was  working  in 
Rome,  in  the  third  quarter  of  the  fifteenth  century. 
Bartolommeo  da  Mestre  was  frotomagister  at  Sebenico 
between  1517  and  1525,  and  many  artists  of  different 


404    THE  INFLUENCES  OF  THE  TWO  SHORES 

kinds  bore  the  name  "  Schiavone  "  in  Venice  during  the 
fifteenth  and  sixteenth  centuries,  where  the  chapel  of 
the  Illyrian  colony,  S.  Giorgio  degli  Schiavoni,  was 
decorated  by  Vittore  Carpaccio  with  subjects  from  the 
life  of  S.  Jerome  (a  Dalmatian  by  birth),  S.  George, 
patron  of  Dalmatia,  and  S.  Trifone,  venerated  at  Cat- 
taro.  Sigismond  Malatesta  is  credited  with  the  design 
of  part  of  the  fortifications  of  Ragusa,  where  artists  of 
many  nationalities  were  employed,  one  of  the  bells 
bearing  the  names  of  two  Dutchmen,  Willem  Corper 
Cornells  and  Jacob  Vocor.  The  building  on  the  eastern 
shore  which  had  the  most  effect  upon  the  western,  and 
indeed  upon  the  whole  of  the  Occident,  is  the  Palace  of 
Diocletian,  in  which,  for  the  first  time  in  Europe,  the 
arch  appears  springing  directly  from  the  capital  without 
the  interposition  of  the  entablature,  a  building  which 
was  almost  certainly  constructed  by  Syro-Greeks,  pro- 
bably brought  by  the  emperor  from  Antioch.  All  the 
masons'  marks  are  Greek  letters,  and  many  of  the  com- 
binations of  architectural  forms  are  found  in  the  dead 
cities  of  Central  Syria,  in  buildings  dating  from  the  end 
of  the  second  century.  The  method  of  construction  of 
the  domes,  the  great  bearing-arches  which  relieve  the 
architrave,  the  exterior  niches  which  decorate  the  walls, 
and  the  architrave  turned  into  an  archivolt  over  the 
tympana  of  the  pediments  all  occur  at  about  this  period. 
At  Laodicea,  Baalbek,  Palmyra,  and  Petra,  motifs 
which  were  in  use  till  the  end  of  the  Byzantine  period 
appear.  Tesserae  of  mosaic  have  been  found  in  one  of 
the  vaults  at  Spalato,  showing  that  it  played  a  part  in 
the  decoration,  as  might  be  expected  in  so  magnificent 
a  building.  Dr.  Strzygowski  says  :  "  What  we  have  in 
Spalato  grew  in  that  corner  of  Central  Syria  which  we 
call  Hittite,  and  in  the  hinterland  of  Asia  Minor,  which 
communicated  with  the  sea  by  way  of  Antioch."  In 
Khorsabad  a  glazed  brick  frieze  has  been  found  in  which 


ORIENTAL   AND    AFRICAN    INFLUENCES  405 

the  horizontal  member  became  an  arch  over  the  door. 
The  new  thing  was  the  putting  it  on  pillars  ranged 
before  the  facade,  which  he  thinks  was  probably  done 
at  Seleucia  on  the  Tigris.  The  plan  of  the  palace  at 
Spalato,  with  projecting  towers,  and  the  soldiers'  quar- 
ters against  the  walls,  is  Syrian,  of  which  examples  may 
be  cited  at  Kasr-el-Abj  ad  and  Deir-el-Khaf  (which  is 
dated  306).  The  colonnaded  streets  are  a  well-known 
Syrian  town  feature,  and  the  plan  resembles  that  of 
Antioch,  as  described  by  the  rhetorician  Libanios, 
scarcely  fifty  years  after  the  death  of  Diocletian.  Dr. 
Strzygowski  concludes  that  the  emperor  had  seen  the 
palace  at  Antioch,  which  was  commenced  by  Gallienus, 
and  possibly  was  completed.  He  wished  it  copied,  and 
therefore  brought  over  Antiochenes  to  do  it. 

There  are  other  Eastern  characteristics  both  here  and 
in  other  places  on  the  coast,  such  as  the  sheet  of  lead 
upon  which  the  bases  of  columns  are  set,  as  in  Byzantine 
work ;  the  free-standing  apse,  found  at  Salona  in  two 
places,  and  in  the  earlier  church  at  Parenzo  ;  the  plan  of 
S.  Maria  delle  Grazie,  Grado,  with  the  apse  in  the  centre, 
and  the  two  chambers  flanking  it,  an  arrangement  found 
in  a  temple  of  192  a.d.,  at  Is-Sanamen  in  the  Northern 
Hauran,  by  Mr.  H.  C.  Butler,  while  the  former  arrange- 
ment was  seen  by  Miss  Lowthian  Bell  in  many  ruins  in 
Lycaonia,  as  has  been  already  noted. 

The  Egyptian  influence  also  appears  to  be  made  out. 
Upon  heathen  tomb  monuments  of  the  second  and  third 
centuries  at  Ghirza  in  Tripoli  are  columns  supporting 
arches  cut  out  of  a  thin  slab,  not  constructional,  an 
arrangement  just  like  the  Lombard  ciborium  tops.  The 
connection  appears  clear.  The  ciborium  was  a  tomb 
generally  erected  over  a  martyr's  grave  or  the  relics  of 
a  saint  to  whom  the  altar  was  dedicated,  and  the  form 
of  these  tombs  appears  to  have  thus  been  perpetuated. 
That  there  were  links  between  North  Africa  and  the 


4o6    THE  INFLUENCES  OF  THE  TWO  SHORES 

Adriatic  towns  is  suggested  by  various  facts.  Coptic 
objects  have  been  noted  in  the  treasury  at  Spalato,  and 
the  patriarchal  chair  once  at  Grado  has  been  described. 
At  Agram  a  stele  is  preserved,  found  at  Salona, 
which  is  of  the  shape  of  Coptic  altars.  On  it  is  a  repre- 
sentation of  Jonah  being  vomited  by  the  whale,  and  a 
head,  with  a  curious  kind  of  form  at  the  bottom  like  the 
plan  of  an  apse  with  a  rail  returned  across  the  entrance. 
Dr.  Strzygowski  gives  similarly  shaped  stelai  from  Alex- 
andria and  Cairo,  with  incised  awkward  scrolls,  and 
some  of  Arab  date.  He  suggests  that  the  shape  origi- 
nated with  the  altars  in  the  apses  above  the  relics  of 
martyrs,  and  says  that  the  Salona  example  (which  is  of 
the  eighth  century)  is  the  most  ancient  that  he  knows, 
and  the  only  Western  example.  The  ivory  chair  of 
Maximian  at  Ravenna  is  another  case  in  point.  Maxi- 
mian,  before  he  was  chosen  bishop  of  Ravenna,  had 
made  a  journey  in  the  East,  and  visited  Alexandria. 
Agnellus  gives  extracts  from  his  own  account  of  his 
visit.  Apparently  he  ordered  the  chair  from  the  ivory 
carvers  there  after  his  elevation,  for  the  costume  in  the 
Joseph  subjects,  and  the  choice  of  that  history,  as  well 
as  the  admixture  of  animal  forms  in  the  ornament,  point 
to  an  Egyptian  origin.  It  seems  probable  that  Ravenna 
was  the  centre  from  which  the  influence  spread  west- 
wards. There  were  many  Orientals  in  the  city,  Syrians 
being  so  numerous  that  they  were  able  to  nominate  one 
of  their  number  for  the  episcopal  dignity.  With  the 
taking  of  the  place  by  the  Lombards  the  way  was  made 
open  for  the  best  craftsmen  to  migrate  to  the  more  im- 
portant city  of  Pavia,  the  Lombard  capital,  and  so  to 
spread  the  Oriental  influence  farther  and  farther  west- 
ward, though  of  course  it  also  penetrated  France  by  the 
ordinary  trade  routes  through  Narbonne  and  Marseilles. 
It  is  a  curious  fact  that  the  plan  of  the  great  Rhenish 
churches,  with  the  apses  and  transepts  at  each  end,  is 


UNION   OF  ORIENTAL  AND  OCCIDENTAL  ART  407 

found  in  North  Africa  at  a  much  earlier  date,  which 
suggests  direct  intercourse,  of  which  no  record  has 
survived. 

The  tracing  of  the  various  currents  which  united  to 
form  the  full  flowing  river  of  that  magnificent  style 
known  as  Romanesque  is  a  fascinating  subject,  but 
not  one  to  be  taken  up  at  the  end  of  a  book  which  has 
already  run  to  a  considerable  length.  The  fusing  of 
antique  Occidental  art  with  Oriental  may  be  said  to  have 
been  the  principal  factor  in  its  production  ;  and,  though 
the  shores  of  the  Adriatic  were  not  the  district  in  which 
its  greatest  triumphs  were  achieved,  it  was  here  that 
the  fruitful  union  first  took  place  which  at  various 
periods  since  has  rejuvenated  the  dulled  artistic  senses 
of  the  Western  peoples  with  the  exciting  stimulus  of 
mysticism,  of  the  unfamiliar,  of  that  charm  of  colour 
and  gorgeousness  of  effect,  which  are  characteristicfof 
the  products  of  the  Oriental  imagination. 


INDEX 


Adriatic,  Boundaries,  2 

„         Mountains  of  the  eastern 
coast,  2 
Physical  data,  1-4 
Alp,  or  Mora,  17 
Andreaccio  Saracenis,  379,  384 
Antiquities  found  at  Aquileia,   37, 
39  ;    Cattaro,   379  ;    Grado,  46  ; 
Ossero,  185  ;   Pola,  157  ;   Risano, 
371  ;    Salona  and   Spalato,   305, 
306  ;   Trau,  266  ;   Trieste,  62,  64, 
66  ;    Zara,  215,  216 
Aquileia,  23 

Antique  remains,  25,  36- 

39 

„        Baptistery,  36 

,,        Campanile,  35 

„  Carved  work  of  ninth  cen- 
tury in  the  cathedral, 
27,  29 

„  Carved  work  of  fourteenth 
century  in  the  cathe- 
dral, 31,  32,  33 

,,        Cathedral,  25,  26-34 

,,        Chiesa  dei  Pagani,  36 

,,        Choir  of  the  cathedral,  33 
Crypt  of  the  cathedral,  31 

„  Early  Renaissance  work 
in  the  cathedral,  33,  34 

i„  Frescoes  of  eleventh  cen- 
tury in  the  cathedral,  30 

„         History,  24,  25,  32 

,,  Mosaics  found  below  pave- 
ment in  the  cathedral, 
26,  27 

„        Museum,  36-39 
Narthex,  35 

„  Objects  from  the  treasury 
at  Gorz,  34,  35 

„  The  patriarchate,  24,  25, 
39,  40 


Arbe,  192 

Campanile  of  cathedral,  198 

Cathedral,  194-198 

Chapel  of  the  Campo  Santo, 

199 
Church  of  S.  Andrea,  198 
Church  of  S.   Giovanni  Bat- 

tista,  199 
Convent  of  S.  Eufemia,  199 
History,  193,  194 
Mediaeval  houses,  193 
Reliquaries  in  the  cathedral, 

195-198 
S.  Pietro  in  Valle,  200 
Area  of  S.  Marcella,  Nona,  242 
,,       S.  Simeone,  Zara,  235 
Artistic  resemblances  in  buildings 

on  both  shores,  402 
Ascrivium  (Cattaro),  370 
Avar  inroads,  189 


E 


Besca  Nova,  176 

Drive  to  Veglia,  177 
Besca  Valle,   Glagolitic  inscription 

in  S.  Lucia,  178 
Bocche  di  Cattaro,  369,  372-378 

History,  369-372 
Bora,  4 

Borgo  Erizzo,  243 
Brazza,  317,  318 

„       Knocker  on  Casa  Nisiteo, 
Bol,  318 
Tintoretto  at  Bol,  318 
Brioni  Islands,  131 
Bua,  263,  264,  279,  284 
Budua,  395 

Byzantine  capitals  in  cathedrals : 
Arbe,  194 ;  Grado,  44 ;  Parenzo, 
113  ;  Veglia,  172 


409 


52 


4io 


INDEX 


Byzantine  capitals  in  S.  Maria  delle 

Grazie,  Grado,  52 
Byzantine  civil  casket  at  Capodis- 

tria,  92 
Byzantine    civil    casket    found    at 

Pirano,  97 


Canal  di  Leme,  127,  131,  135 

Canal  of  Fasana,  131 

Cannosa,  335 

Capodistria,  Baptistery,  90 

,,  Byzantine  casket,  92 

,,  Castel  Leone  and  walls, 

87 
Cathedral,  88 
,,  Cathedral  treasury,  91, 

92 
,,  Church  of  S.  Anna,  90 

,,  Door-handles   of   Casa 

del   Bello  and  Casa 
Borisi,  91 
„  Good  Friday  and  other 

ceremonials,  92,  93 
History.  86 
„  Knocker    on    Palazzo 

Tacco,  91 
Loggia,  91 

Palazzo  Comunale,  87, 
88 
,,  Piazza  da  Ponte,  92 

Pictures  in  the  cathe- 
dral, 89 
Capodistrian  craftsmen,  90 
Captain  of  the  Pasenatico,  135 
Captain's  opinion  of  Morlacchi,  202 
Carpaccio,  Benedetto's     house     at 
Capodistria,  90 
,,  Pictures  at  Capodistria, 

89 
Carpaccio,    Vittore.     See    "  Crafts- 
men "  and  "  Pictures  " 
Carved  picture-frames  : 

Cathedral,  Aquileia,  by  Giovanni 

Pietro  di  Udine,  33 
Church    "  alle   Dance,"    Ragusa, 

360,  361 
Parish  Church,  Mezzo,  332 
Sacristy  of   Cathedral,    Parenzo, 

117 
Sacristy  of  S.  Domenico,  Ragusa, 
35° 


Carved  picture-frames  {continued)  : 
Sacristy  of  S.    Francesco,   Zara, 

237 
S.  Anna,  Capodistria,  by  Vittore 

da  Feltre,  90 
S.    Maria    del    Biscione,    Mezzo, 

33i 

Castel  Abbadessa  (Gomilica),  289 

„     Cambio,  288 

,,     Cega,  290 

,,     Dragazzo,  286 

,,     Nuovo,  near  Spalato,  287 

,,     Nuovo,  in  the  Bocche,  373 

,,     Papali,  286 

,,     Quarco,  286 

„     Rosani  or  Rusinac,  288 

„     Stafileo,  286 

,,     Sucurac,  289 

„  ,,        Early  church,  289 

„     Vecchio,  285,  287 

,,     Vitturi,  288 
Castropola,     destruction     of     the 

family,  159 
Cattaro,  371,  372,  379-388 

Cathedral    of    S.    Trifone, 

379-384 
„        Church  of  S.  Luka,  385 
,,        Fortifications,  387,  388 
„        La  Colleggiata,  384 

Mediaeval  history  and  go- 
,,  vernment,  394,  395 

,,      .  Riva    and    Porta    Marina, 

386 
„        Secular  architecture,  386 
Treasury  in  the  cathedral, 

383-384 
Ceremonial   of   blessing   the  fields, 

Salona,  310 
Cherso,  186 
Choir-stalls,  Cathedral,  Arbe,  195 

Parenzo,  116 
,,  Spalato,  296 

Trau,  277 
,,  Zara,  222 

S.  Francesco,  Zara,  236 
Church  of  S.  Maria  de  Salona,  or  de 

Otok,  301 
Cissa,  127 

Cittanova,  Baptistery,  106 
,,  Church,  105 

,,         Early  carvings  found  in 
the  crypt,  105 
Climate  of  Dalmatia,  4 
Clissa,  303,  305,  314 


INDEX 


411 


Comacine  carvings  at  Aquileia,  27, 
29  ;  Cattaro,  379,  380  ;  Cittanova, 
105;  Grado,  46,  51;  Knin  and 
Rizinice,  301;  Parenzo,  120; 
Pola,  149,  152,  158  ;  Ragusa,  341 ; 
Spalato,  300,  306 ;  Valle,  141  ; 
Zara,  215,  216 

Communes,  their  organisation,  76, 

77 
Coptic  crosses  in  Cathedral,  Spalato, 

298 
Costume  at  S.   Lorenzo  in  Pasena- 
tico,  133 
„  San  Vincenti,  140,  141 

„       of     country     people      at 
Fiume,  166 
country  people   of  Spa- 
lato, 303 
,,  country  people  at  Zara, 

211 
„  Lussin  Grande  and  Pic- 

colo,  182 
,,  the  Montenegrins,  392 

„  the  Morlacchi,  10,  11 

,,  the  peasants  at  Rovigno, 

128 
,,  the  people  of  Sebenico, 

258 
Costume    and    type    of    peasants, 

Pisino,  138 
Customs  of  the  Bocchesi,  389-391 
Craftsmen  : 

Abrado  or  Abiado  di  Dessislavo, 

of  Cattaro,  386,  404 
Adalpert,  118 
Alberti,  Leo  Battista,  255 
Alexci    or     Alexis,     Andrea,     of 

Durazzo,  255,  279,  280 
Antonio  da  Murano,  117 
Bartolommeo    da    Mestre,     255, 

357,  404 
Bartolommeo  of  Cremona,  352 
Bassano,  Jacopo,  322 
Battista  of  Arbe,  352,  359 
Bellini,  Giovanni,  277 
Bernardo  of  Parenzo,  126 
Boccanich,  Trifon,  275 
Bonino,  Gaspare,  of  Milan,  249, 

296 
Carpaccio,  Benedetto,  89,  99 

Vittore,    89,    98,    222, 
236,  307,  404 
Cima  da  Conegliano,  90 
Cleriginus  di  Justinopoli,  90 


Craftsmen  {continued)  : 

Cornelis,  Willem  Corper,  404 
Del    Vescovo,  Antonio   and    Lo- 
renzo. 132 
"  Donado  Macalorso  da  Vinesia," 

49 
Donato  of  Parenzo,  132 
Ezechiel,  monk  of  the  Monastery 

of  Laura,  118 
Francesco  da  Santa  Croce,  322 
Fra  Sebastiano  da  Rovigno,  132 
Fra  Stefano  of  Ragusa,  352 
Frater  Urbinus,  277 
George  of  Sebenico,  184,  247-255, 

296,  355>  404 
Giacomo,     son     of     Matteo     da 

Mestre,  252 
Giorgio  Dalmatico,  404 
Giottino,  Tommaso,  64 
Giovanni  Pietro,  di  Udine,  33 
Girolamo   da   Santa   Croce,    101, 

137.  *7>  183,  307 
Goykovic,  Matteo,  275 
Gradinelli,  Antonio,  321 
Gregorio  di  Vido,  278 
Guvina,  296,  302 
Lombardi  of  Venice,  255 
Lotto,  Lorenzo,  257,  307 
Maestro  Giovanni  quondam  Gia- 
como di  Borgo  S.  Sepolcro,  236 
Magister  Andrea,  302 
Mag.  Beloa  Viccentius,  237 
Mag.  Domenico  di  Capodistria,  90 
Mag.    Johannes  de  Pari,  Terges- 
tinus,  and  his  son  Lazarus,  123 
Mag.  Mycha  of  Antivari,  353 
Magister  Otto,  299,  300,  302 
"  Maiste  Nicolai  de  te  dito  cervo 

d  Venecia,"  269 
Massegna,  Pietro  Paolo,  247 
Master  Stefanus,  275 
Masticevich,  Giovanni,  252 
"  Mavrvs  of  Trau,"  276 
Michelozzo,  355,  404 
Nicolaus     Raguseus,     331,     332, 

349.  360 
Nicolo  Fiorentino,  279 
Onofrio  Giordano  de  la  Cava,  354, 

357.  404 
Padre  Bonaventura  Radmilovic, 

308 
Palma  the  younger,  222,  257,  321 
Palma  Vecchio,  232.  343 
Paolo  Veronese,  323 


412 


INDEX 


Craftsmen  (continued)  : 

Pasqualis    Michaelis    Ragusinus, 

351,  353 
Paulus  Silvius  Tinnius,  presbyter, 

322 
Pellegrino  di  S.  Daniele,  33 
Pietro  della  Vacchia,  182 
Pordenone,  343 
Raduanus,  270,  302 
Rosselli,  Matteo,  322 
San  Michele,  207,  245,  320 
Sansovino,  91 

Schiavone,  Andrea,  140,  222 
Sebastiani,  Lazzaro,  90 
Taddeo  da  Rovigno,  132 
Tartini,  99 

Tintoretto,  Jacomo,  318 
Titian,  323,  330,  350 
Tvrdoj,  Nicolo,  299 
Vecellio,  Marco,  257 
Vincenti,  Giorgio,  90 
Vittore  da  Feltre,  90 
Vittoria,  Alessandro,  279 
Vivarini,  Alvise,  186 
Vivarini,  Bartolommeo,  177,  182, 

199 
Vocor,  Jacob,  404 
Crivoscian  insurrection,  376 
Croats,  or  Morlacchi,  7,  9-21 
Croats  and  Serbs,  189 
Curzola,  323-328 

Cathedral,  326-328 
Church  of  Ognissanti,  328 
„        Knocker  on  Palazzo  Arneri, 

328 
,,        La  Badia,  the  Franciscan 
convent,  328 
Walls  and  towers,  325 


D 


Dalmatia,  Climate,  4 
Flora,  4 

History,  187-191 
Races      inhabiting      the 
country,  6 
Decay  of  Aquileia,  32 
De  Dominis,  Archbishop,  and  Dean 

of  Windsor,  193 
Dinaric  Alps,  or  Velebits,  2,  3 
Diocletian's     Palace     at     Spalato, 

292-295,  299,  404 
Dobrota,  378 
Drive  to  Ossero,  183 


Due  Castelli,  135,  136 
Duino,  Castle  of,  55 


Early  carvings  in  Spalato,  300  ;  in 
other  parts  of  Dalmatia,  300-302, 
3i8 

Early  Cilician  churches,  Plans  com- 
pared with  Grado,  52 

Earthquake  of  1667,  339 

Education  in  Istrian  coast  towns, 

93 
Embroideries  : 

Chasuble  in  church  at  Dignano, 

142 
Mitre    and    portion    of     cope    in 

Cathedral,  Trau,  278 
Painted  vestments  in  S.  Simeone, 

Zara,  235 
Treasury,  S.  Trifone,  Cattaro,  383 
Vestments  in  Cathedral,  Curzola, 

328 
Vestments  in  Cathedral,  Lesina, 

321 
Vestments  in  Cathedral,  Spalato, 

298 
Vestments  in  S.   Maria  del  Bis- 

cione,  Mezzo,  331 
Excavations  at  Aquileia,  25-27,  36 


Festival  of    the  Assumption,   Pic- 
tures carried  in  procession  over 
the  lagoon,  53 
Feud  of  S.  Apollinare,  401 
Fiume,  Ancient  Tarsatica,  163 

,,       Church    of    Madonna    del 
Tarsatto,  165 
Costume    of    the    country 
people,  166 
,,        Roman  remains,  163,  164 
Flora  of  Dalmatia,  4 
Folk-lore  of  the  Morlacchi,  13-16,  17 


G 


Geological  formation,  3-4,  54 

,,  of  Istria,  159 

Giorgio  of  SebenicO's  house  door, 
Sebenico,  256 ;  his  part  in  the 
cathedral,  253-255 ;  works,  249- 
250 


INDEX 


413 


Glagolitic  inscription  in   S.   Lucia, 
Besca  Valle,  178 

Goldsmiths'  work  : 

Altar  frontal  at  Grado,  49,  50 
Area  of  S.  Simeone,   Zara,  234- 

235 
Chalice  and  ostensory  at  Mezzo, 

332 
Chalice  in  treasury,  S.  Simeone, 

Zara,  235 
Chalices  in  Cathedral,  Curzola,  328 
Chalices   in   S.    Francesco,    Zara, 

237 
Church    plate    in    S.    Francesco, 

Ragusa,  354 
Cross   of  Uros  I.,    S.   Domenico, 

Ragusa,  351 
Crozier  of  gilded  copper  in  Cathe- 
dral, Lesina,  321,  322 
Greek   Benedictional   cross,    Pa- 

renzo,  117 
Greek  rhyton  of  silver  in  Civic 

Museum,  Trieste,  65 
Monstrance  at  Ossero,  184 
Monstrance  in  Colleggiata,  Isola, 

102 
Monstrance,  cross,  and  chalice  in 

church  at  Dignano,  142 
Objects    from    the    treasury    of 

Cathedral,   Aquileia,    at   Gorz, 

34,  35 
Objects  in  Cathedral,  Pisino,  137 
Objects     in     treasury,     Muggia 

Nuova,  84 
Ostensory,    reliquaries,     &c,    in 

Cathedral,  Trau,  278 
Pala  at  Veglia,  173,  174 
Pala  in  Cathedral  Parenzo,  116 
Pastoral  staff  of  Bishop  Valaresso, 

228 
Processional    cross   in    Cathedral 

treasury,  Trieste,  64 
Processional  cross  in  S.  Maria  del 

Biscione,  Mezzo,  331 
Reliquaries,  early,  at  Grado,  47, 

48 
Reliquaries,  early,  found  at  Pola, 

153.  154 
Reliquaries,      early,      in     Museo 

Sacro,  Vatican,  48-49 
Reliquaries  in  Cathedral,  Lesina, 

321 
Reliquaries,    &c,    in    Cathedral, 

Ragusa,  344~347 


Goldsmith's  work  {continued)  : 
Reliquaries,    &c.,    in    Cathedral, 

Spalato,  296-298 
Reliquaries  in  Cathedral  treasury, 

Zara,  225-228 
Reliquaries  in  S.  Anselmo,  Nona, 

241 
Reliquaries  in  S.   Maria  Nuova, 

Zara,  232-234 
Reliquaries  in  S.  Trifone,  Cattaro, 

383 
Reliquaries  and  chalices,  &c,   in 

S.  Domenico,  Ragusa,  351 
Reliquary  of  S.  Christopher,  and 

champleve  panels  in  Cathedral, 

Arbe,  195-198 
Reredos  of  repousse  silver  in  S. 

Simeone,  Zara,  235 
Silver  statue  of  S.   Blaise  in  S. 

Biagio,  Ragusa,  347 
Silver     and     enamel     work     in 

Kloster  Savina,  374 
Treasury    in    Cathedral,     Capo- 

distria,  91,  92 
Good  Friday   ceremonies  in   Greek 

church,  Zara,  238 
Gorz,  Objects  from  the  treasury  of 

Aquileia,  34,  35 
Gradese  song  sung  at  Trieste,  58 
Grado,  41 

,,      Cathedral,  44,  45 

„  ,,         early  pulpit,  45 

,,  ,,         mosaic  pavement, 

45.  46 
,,  ,,         treasury,  47-50 

,,      Church    of    S.    Maria    delle 

Grazie,  51,  52 
,,       History,  42,  43 

Patriarchate,  43,  44 
,,      Patriarch's     seat     now     at 

Venice,  50,  51 
,,      Patriarch's   seat   and   other 
ninth-century  carvings,  46 
Gravosa,  333 

Greek  church  at  Cattaro,  385 
,,  ,,         Curzola,  328 

Sebenico,  257 
,,  ,,  Zara,  238 

Greek    Church    procession    at    Se- 
benico, 257 
Greek    colonies     in    Dalmatia    and 

the  islands,  6,  187 
Greek   convent   at    Castel    Nuovo, 
Kloster  Savina,  373 


414 


INDEX 


Island  of  S.  Giorgio,  375 

Islands,  3 

Isola,  Colleggiata  and  treasury,  10 1, 
102 
„     History,  101 
,,     Return  of  contadini,  102 
,,     Scuola  dei  Battuti,  102 
,,     Walk  from  Pirano,  100,  101 

Istria,  Barbarian  and  pirate  raids, 

75 
„       Destruction  of  Nesactium,  70 
General  appearance  of  coast 

towns,  161 
Geological  formation,  160 
History,  70-77 
„       Italianising  of  the  country, 

7i 
„       Original  inhabitants,  69 
,,       Races  inhabiting  the  country, 

6,  7,  69,  71 
„      Schism  of    the  "three  chap- 
ters," 72,  73 


Julian  Alps,  2 


K 


Kaiser  Brunnen,  near  Zara,  244 
Karvarina,  or  price  of  blood,  19 
Kerka  falls,  260 
Klek,  peninsula,  335 
Kloster  Savina,  373 


Lacroma,  island  near  Ragusa,  362 
Lagosta.  330 
Le  Catene,  374 
Lesina,  318-323 

„       Cathedral,  320-322 

„       Cittavecchia,  Verbosca,  and 

Gelsa,  323 
„       Franciscan  convent,  S.  Ma- 
ria delle  Grazie,  322 
Loggia,  320 
„       S.  Marco,  322 
„       Treasury  of  the  cathedral, 
321,  322 


Limoges  gemellions  at  Grado,  49 

Lissa,  329-330 

Loparo,  200,  202 

Lovcen,  Servian  pilgrimage  chapel, 

376 
Lussin  Grande,  181 

,,  „         Pictures  in  churches 

182 
Lussin  Piccolo,  180 


M 


Madonna  del  Scarpello,  374 
Marinerezza,  Festival  at  Cattaro,  393 
Maximian  of  Ravenna,  400 
Meleda,  330,  331 

Porto  Palazzo,  330 

S.  Maria  del  Lago,  331 
Metkovic,  191 
Mezzo,  331-332 

Goldsmiths'  work,  &c,  332 
,,       Pictures  in  other  churches, 
332 

S.  Maria  del  Biscione,  331 
Monfalcone,  Railway  to  Nabresina, 

54,  55 
Montenegrin  costume  and  customs, 

39i.  392 
Moresca,     an     ancient     dance     at 

Curzola,  324 
Morlacchi,  9,  10,  11-21 

,,  Costume  of,  10,  11 

,,  Curious  customs  among, 

13,  14,  15,  18,  19 

,,  Marriage  customs,  20 

Music   and   singing,    12, 
260 
,,  Proverbs,  21 

,,  Religious    customs,     13, 

14,  15 
Mosaics  : 

Apse     and     triumphal     arch     of 

Cathedral,  Parenzo,   114,  115 
Apses  of  Cathedral,  Trieste,  61,  62 
At  Cathedral,  Pola,  151 
Facade    of    Cathedral,    Parenzo, 

119 
From  S.  Maria  del  Canneto,  Pola, 

149 
Opus  sectile  in  apse  of  Cathedral, 

Parenzo,  114,  115 
Pavement  of  Cathedral,    Grado, 

45,  46 


INDEX 


415 


Mountain  chains :    Julian  Alps,   2  ; 

Velebits,  or  Dinaric  Alps,  2,  3 
Muggia  by  boat,  79 
Muggia  Nuova,  Church,  84 

„  „         ,,  treasury,  84 

„  ,,         Fortifications,  83 

History,  84-85 
,,  ,,         Municipal  palace, 

84 
Muggia  Vecchia,  Church,  80-82 

Early  ambo,  81,  82 
„  ,,         Wall  paintings,  82 

Music  of  the  Morlacchi,  260 


N 

Neresine,  Franciscan  convent,  183 
Nesactium  destroyed,  70 
Nona,  Area  of  S.  Marcella,  242 

Church  of  S.  Anselmo,  240- 
241 
S.  Croce,  240 
S.  Michele,  242 
S.  Nicold,  243 
History,  239 

Treasury  of  S.  Anselmo,  241- 
242 
North  African  influences  on  orna- 
ment, 405,  406 
Novaglia,  202,  205 


o 


Ombla,  the  river  Arione,  335 
Oriental  influences  on  construction, 

405 
Ornament  in  the  West  influenced 
from  the  East  and  from  Africa, 
405-407 
Ossero,  184 

„       Ancient  bishop's  seat  from 

S.  Maria,  185 
„       Cathedral,  184 
,,       Museum,  185 


Pago,  205 

Parenzo,  An  Easter  Eve  ceremonial, 

121 
,,        Atrium    and   facade  with 

mosaics,  119 


Parenzo,  Baptistery  and  surround- 
ing rooms,  120 
„         Bishop's  palace,  121 
„        Chapels  of  the  cathedral, 

118 
,,         Christian    cemetery    with 
commemorative  chapels, 
119 
,,         Ciborium,  116 
,,        Excavations     below    and 
around    the    cathedral, 
107-113 
„        Greek  Benedictional  cross 
in  the  cathedral,  117, 118 
,,        Mediaeval   fragments   and 

buildings,  122,  123 
„  Modern  life,  125-126 
,,        Mosaic      inscriptions      in 

pavements,  108,  112 
„  Mosaic  in  the  apse,  114 
„  ,,      upon      triumphal 

arch,  115 
„        Pala  of  high-altar,  116 
„        Picture    by    Antonio    da 
Murano  in  sacristy,  117 
„         Roman  remains,  122 
,,        Stalls    in    chapel    of    the 

Sacrament,    116 

„        Struggles  between  bishop 

and  commune,  124,  125 

„        The  first  basilica,  107-1 10 

,,        The     present     cathedral, 

113-121 
„        The  second  basilica,  110- 
113 
Perasto,  374~377 
Perkovic-Slivno,  262,  263 
Pictures  : 

Altar-piece  of  fifteenth  century  in 

S.  Antonio,  Arbe,  199 
Altar-piece  of     1430  in  sacristy 

of  S.  Francesco,  Zara,  237 
Antonio    da  Murano  in  sacristy 

of  Cathedral,  Parenzo,  117 
Bassano  Giacomo  (da  Ponte)  in 

Cathedral,  Curzola,  328 
Bassano,   Jacopo,   in   Franciscan 

Convent,  Lesina,  322 
Bellini,    Giovanni,   Organ    wings 

in  Cathedral,  Trau,  277 
Bruges     picture     in     Cathedral, 

Ragusa,  342 
Carpaccio,  Benedetto,  in   Cathe- 
dral, Trieste,  64 


416 


INDEX 


Pictures  (continued)  : 

Carpaccio,  Benedetto,  in  Com- 
munal Palace,  Capodistria,  89 

Carpaccio,  Benedetto,  in  office  of 
the  Salt  Works,  Pirano,  99 

Carpaccio,  Benedetto,  in  S.  Anna, 
Capodistria,  89 

Carpaccio,  Vittore,  in  Cathedral, 
Capodistria,  89 

Carpaccio,  Vittore,  in  Church  of 
the  Paludi,  Spalato,  307 

Carpaccio,  Vittore,  in  Communal 
Palace,  Capodistria,  89 

Carpaccio,  Vittore,  in  S.  Fran- 
cesco, Pirano,  98 

Carpaccio,  Vittore,  six  small  pic- 
tures in  Cathedral,    Zara,   222 

Carpaccio,  Vittore,  in  S.  Fran- 
cesco, Zara,  236 

Cima  da  Conegliano  in  S.  Anna, 
Capodistria,  90 

Crucifixion,  &c,  on  gold  ground 
with  Greek  inscriptions,  Cathe- 
dral, Arbe,  195 

Early  Madonna  and  Child,  Cathe- 
dral, Arbe,  195 

Francesco  Santa  Croce  in  Fran- 
ciscan Convent,  Lesina,  322 

Giottino,  Tommaso,  in  sacristy, 
Cathedral,  Trieste,  64 

Girolamo  da  Santa  Croce  in 
Cathedral,  Pi  si  no,  137 

Girolamo  da  Santa  Croce  in 
Church  of  the  Paludi,  Spalato, 

307 
Girolamo  da  Santa  Croce  in  Col- 

leggiata,  Isola,  10 1 
Girolamo    da    Santa    Croce    in 

Monastery    of     Val    Cassione, 

Veglia,  175 
Girolamo  da  Santa  Croce  in  S. 

Francesco,  Neresine,  183 
Gradinelli,  Antonio,  in  Cathedral, 

Lesina,  321 
Lotto,  Lorenzo,  in  Church  of  the 

Paludi,  Spalato,  307 
Lotto,  Lorenzo,  in  S.   Domenico 

alia  Marina,  Sebenico,  257 
Mantegna,    or    John   Bellini,    in 

Cathedral,  Cittanova,  106 
Nicolaus  Raguseus  in  "  Dance  " 

Church,  Ragusa,  360 
Nicolaus     Raguseus     in     Parish 

Church,  Mezzo,  331 


Pictures  (continued)  : 

Nicolaus  Raguseus  in  S.  Domen- 
ico, Ragusa,  349 
Nicolaus  Raguseus  in  S.  Nicolo, 

Mezzo,  332 
Padovaninos    in    Cathedral,    Ra- 
gusa, 343 
Painted  crucifix  in  S.  Crisogono, 

Zara,  231 
Painted  crucifix  of  tenth  century 

in     Chapel     of     S.     Carlo,     S. 

Francesco,  Zara,  236 
Pala  from  S.  Pietro  di  Klobucac, 

in  church  of  Castelnuovo,  287 
Palma     Giovane    in     Cathedral, 

Lesina,  321 
Palma     Giovane    in     Cathedral, 

Zara,  222 
Palma  Giovane  in  S.   Domenico 

alia  Marina,  Sebenico,  257 
Palma  Giovane  in  S.  Domenico, 

Trau,  269 
Palma  Giovane  in  S.  Francesco, 

Zara,  236 
Palma,     Jacopo,    in    Franciscan 

Convent,  Lesina,  322 
Palma     Vecchio     in     Cathedral, 

Ragusa,  343 
Palma     Vecchio     in     S.     Maria 

Nuova,  Zara,  232 
Panels  of  saints  on  gold  ground, 

S.  Domenico.  Trau,  269 
Paolo     Veronese    in    S.    Maria, 

Verbosca,  323 
Paris  Bordone  (copy)  in  Rector's 

Palace,  Ragusa,  355 
Pellegrino     di     S.     Daniele     in 

Cathedral,  Aquileia,  33 
Picture   of    school   of   Titian,   S. 

Maria  Nuova,  Zara,  232 
Pictures  of  the  Venetian  school 

in     S.     Maria     del     Biscione, 

Mezzo,  331 
Pietro  della  Vacchia  in  S.  Maria 

degli   Angeli,    Lussin   Grande, 

182 
Pordenone  in  Cathedral,  Ragusa, 

343 
Pordenone      in      S.     Francesco, 

Veglia,  175 
Rosselli,   Matteo,   in    Franciscan 

Convent,  Lesina,  322 
Schiavone,  Andrea,  in  Cathedral, 

Sebenico,  257 


INDEX 


4i7 


Pictures  (continued) : 

Schiavone,  Andrea,  in  Cathedral, 
Zara,  222 

Schiavone,  Andrea,  in  church, 
San  Vincenti,  140 

Tintoretto,  Jacomo,  in  Domini- 
can Convent,  Bol,  on  Brazza, 
3i8 

Titian  in  Cathedral,  Lagosta,  330 

Titian  in  S.  Domenico,  Ragusa, 

35° 
Titian  in  S.  Lorenzo,  Verbosca, 

323 
Vecellio,  Marco,  in  S.  Domenico 

alia  Marina,  Sebenico,  257 
Vivarini,  Alvise,  in  priest's  house, 

Cherso,  186 
Vivarini,    Bartolommeo,     in     S. 

Andrea,  Arbe,  199 
Vivarini,     Bartolommeo,     in     S. 

Eufemia,  Arbe,  199 
Vivarini,     Bartolommeo,    in     S. 
Maria     degli     Angeli,     Lussin 
Grande,  182 
Vivarini     in    church     at     Besca 
Nova,  177 
Pirano,  93 

,,       Baptistery,  98 
„       Byzantine  casket  found  in 
the  cathedral,  97 
Carved  stall  in  the  church 

of  S.  George,  99 
Church  of  S.  Francesco,  98 
Funeral,  marriage,  and  fes- 
tival customs,  97 
History,  94,  95,  96 
,,       Picture  by  Ben.  Carpaccio 
in    office     of     the     salt- 
works, 99 
Picture  by  Vittore  Carpac- 
cio in  S.  Francesco,  98,  99 
Tartini,  statue  of,  99 
The  statute,  96 
,,       The  walls,  95 
Pisino,  136 

„      Castle  and  cathedral,  137 
„      Costume     of     peasants     at 

cattle-fair,  138 
„      Ravine,  137 
Placito  of  Risano,  74 
Plague,  Its  ravages,  yy,  78 
Pola,  Amphitheatre,  146 

,,     Antique     marbles     sent     to 
Venice,  150 


Pola,  Castle,  155 

,,     Cathedral,  1 51-153 

,,     Church  of  S.  Francesco,  154 

,,     Church  of  S.  Maria  Formosa, 

147-150 
,,     Communal  museum,  157 
,,     Communal  palace,  155 
,,     Early  churches,  150,  151 
,,     Early  reliquaries  found  near 

the  cathedral,  153,  154 
,,     Harbour,   143 
„     History,  158,  159 
,,     Mediaeval  walls,  and    regula- 
tions with  regard  to  them, 
156,  157 
,,     Porta  Aurea,  145 
,,     Porta     Gemina     and     Porta 

Ercole,  145 
,,     Remains  of   building   of   the 

ninth  century,  151,  152 
,,     Temple  of  Augustus,  145,  146 
,,     The  Roman  city,  144 
Poppo's   rebuilding   of    Cathedral, 

Aquileia,  29 
Privileges  of  the  nobles  or  founders 

of  the  Castelli,  290 
Proverbs  of  the  Morlacchi,  21 
Punta  Planka,  264 


Quarnero,  162,  166,  167 
Quays    at    Trieste,    Shipping    and 
varied  costumes,  57 


R 


Race  animosity  in  Dalmatia,  21 
Ragusa,   Cathedral,    342-347 

,,  „  the    treasury, 

343-347 
,,       Cemetery      church      "  alle 
Dance,"  360 
Chapel  of  S.  Luke,  363 
Chapel  of   SS.  Annunziata, 

363 
„       Church  of  S.   Biagio,   347, 
366 
Church  of  S.  Salvatore,  357 
„       Dominican  church,  349 
,,  cloister,  351 

,,  convent,  348-53 


53 


4i3 


INDEX 


Ragusa,  Enlightenment  in  Middle 
Ages,  364 
Fortifications,  336,  337,  361 
Fountains    by    Onofrio    de 

La  Cava,  357 
Franciscan  convent,  353 
Government  of  the  Repub- 
lic, 364 
History,  338,  341 
La  Sigurata,  354 
,,       Lazaretto  and  Turkish  ba- 
zaar, 363 
Oldest  relief  of  S.    Blaise, 

362 
Porta  Pile,  336,  351 
Porta  Ploce,  348,  351,  362, 

363 
Rector's  Palace,  354-357 
,,       Revenue  and  coinage,  366, 

367 
Roland  Column,  359 
S.  Giacomo  degli  Olivi,  363 
,,       S.      Stefano      and      early 
churches,  341,  342 
Situation,  333,  336 
Sponza,  358 

Strips  of  territory  given  to 
Turkey,   335 
Ragusa  Vecchia,  367 
Railway  customs  at  Spalato,  310 
Regulations  under  the  communes, 

17  . 
Relations  between  the  two  coasts, 

398-404 
Rhizinitae,  369 
Risano,  370,  371,  376 

Intermittent  waterfall,  375 
Riviera  dei  Castelli,  from  the  rail- 
way above,  263 
Roman  roads  in  Dalmatia,  188 
Rovignese  craftsmen,  132 
Rovigno,  1 27-1 3 1 

Colleggiata,  Chapel  of  S. 

Eufemia,  129 
Costume  of  the  peasants, 

128 
Funeral  ceremonies,  128 
Oratory  of  the  Trinity,  129 
Pirate  raids,  131 


Salona,  309-314 

,,       Basilica  at  Marusinac,  313 


Salona,  Basilica  Urbana,  311,  312 
„       Christian  cemetery,  312 
,,       Sarcophagus    in    S.    Caius, 

3H 
Salvore,  100 
S.     Eufemia,     Rovignese    legends, 

129-131 
S.  Giorgio  degli  Schiavoni,  Venice, 

404 
S.  Giovanni  Orsini  of  Trau,  278 
S.  Lorenzo  in  Pasenatico,  133 
S.  Lorenzo  in  Pasenatico,  Church, 

134 
S.   Lorenzo  in  Pasenatico,   Loggia 

and  gateways,  134 
S.  Maria  di  Barbana,  52 
San  Vincenti,  Castle,  138,  139 
,,  ,,       Churches,  140 

Jousts     and     witch- 
burning,  138 
,,       Wedding        customs, 
141 
Scardona,  259 
Scoglio  Orlandino,  127 
Sebenico,  245 

,,  at  night,  260 

Baptistery,  252 
Cathedral,  247-255 
Church  of  S.  Barbara,  256 
Church    of     S.     Giovanni 
Battista,  256 
•  City  arms,  246 
Communal  wells,  256 
Costume  of  the  people,  258 
Door  of   Giorgio's  house, 

256 
Fort  Barone,  245 
,,     S.  Anna,  245,  262 
,,     S.  Giovanni,  245,  262 
„     S.  Nicolo,  245 
,,  Greek  Christian  procession 

on    Feast    of    the    As- 
sumption, 257 
Greek  church,  257 
,,         History,  246 
„         Loggia,  256 
„         S.  Domenico  alia  Marina, 

257 
„         S.  Francesco,  257 
Slav  immigration,  7 
Slavs  described  by  Procopius,  8 
Smergo — "  Dirupo  di  Smergo,"  185 
Solta,  317 
Spalato,  Approach  to,  263,  264 


INDEX 


419 


Spalato,  Baptistery,   299 
„       Campanile,  298 

Cathedral,  294-298 
Chapel  of  S.  Martin,  Porta 
Aurea,  300 
,,       Chapels  in  the  cathedral  by- 
Gaspare  Bonino  of  Milan 
and  Giorgio  of  Sebenico, 
249 
,,       Church  and  convent  of  S. 
Francesco,  304 
Church  of  S.  Eufemia,  309 
Church  of  SS.  Trinita,  308 
Corinthian    vase    of    sixth 

century  B.C.,  306 
Diocletian's    Palace,     292- 

295.  299 
History,  302,  303 
Marina,  304 
Monastery   of   the   Paludi, 

307 
Origin,  292 
Pictures  in  the  church  of  the 

Paludi,  307,  308 
Sculptures  in  the  Museums, 

305.  306 
Treasury  in  the  cathedral, 
296-298 
Spizza,  395 
Stagno,  335 

Stormy  passage  to  Arbe,  200-203 
Strzygowski's  opinions  on  palace  of 

Diocletian,  405 
Syrian  influences  in  ornament  and 

construction,  397,  404 
Syro-Greek  construction  at  Spalato, 
404 


Three  chapters,  Schism  of,  70,  71 
Tommaseo,  Nicolo,  259 
Trau,  Antiquities,  pagan  and  Chris- 
tian, 266,  267 
Campanile  of   the  cathedral, 
275 
,,       Casa      Cippico      and      other 
palaces,  282 
Castel  del  Camerlengho,  266 
Cathedral,  269-280 

,,  baptistery,  280 

,,  chapel   of    S.    Gio- 

vanni Orsini,  276, 
278-280 


Trau,  Cathedral,  exterior,  274 

,,  interior,  275,  278 

sacristy,  277 
tomb    of     S.    Gio- 
vanni Orsini,  280 
west  door,  270-274 
,,    Church  of  S.  Barbara,  267-269 
S.  Domenico,  269 
S.  Giovanni,  283 
S.  Nicolo,  267 
,,    from  Spalato,  284,  285 
,,    Gates,  265,  266 
,,    History,  264 
,,    Loggia,  281 
,,    Pains  and  penalties,  282 
,,    Palazzo  Comunale,  283 
Trieste,  56 

Arco  di  Riccardo,  65 
Cathedral,  SS.    Giusto  and 
Servolo,  59-64 
mosaics  in  apses, 
61,  62 
Civic  museum,  65,  66 
Classical  carvings  in  cathe- 
dral and  campanile,  62 
Descent  from  Nabresina,  56 
Gradese  song,  58 
History,  59,  67,  68 
Museo  Lapidario,  64 
Pictures  and  treasury  in  the 

cathedral,  64 
Quays,  57 
Varied  costumes,  57 


u 


Ugljan,  206 
Umago,  104 
Uscocs  of  Zengg,  167,  168 


V 


Val  Cassione,  201,  205 
Valle,  Embroidered    chasuble    and 
silver-work    in  the  church, 
142 
,,     Fortifications,   141 
,,     Ninth-century     carving      in 
crypt,  141 
Veglia,  Castel  Muschio,  169 
Castle  and  walls,  171 
Cathedral,  172-174 


420 


INDEX 


Veglia,  Cathedral,  the  silver  pala,  173 
Church  of  S,  Francesco,  175 
,,  ,,        S.  Maria,  175 

,,  ,,        S.  Quirinus,  174 

,,      Defeat  of  Caesarian  fleet  in 

49  b.c,  169 
,,      Monastery  of  Val  Cassione, 

175 
,,      The  last  Count  Frangipani, 

170,  171 
,,      Venetian  remains,  171,  175 
Velebits,  2 

Venetian  advances,  76 
Vilen,  17 


Zara,  206 

„     Altar  of  S.  Anastasia,  224 
,,     Antique    remains,    212,    213, 

215 
,,     Bo  d'Antona,  207 
,,     Cathedral,  219-222 
„  ,,        baptistery  and  sa- 

cristy, 229 
„  ,,         campanile,  221 

,,  ,,  crypt,  222,  224 

,,  ,,  interior,  221 

„     Church  of  S.     Barbara,     now 
sacristy     of    the 
cathedral,  229 
,,  ,,         S.    Crisogono,  229- 

231 
„  ,,  S.  Domenico,  217 


Zara,   Church  of  S.    Domenico   (S. 
Michele),  238 
„         S.     Lorenzo,     216, 
217 
,,  ,,         S.     Maria    Nuova, 

231-234 
,,  ,,         S.    Maria     Nuova, 

treasury,       232- 

234 
,,  ,,         S.    Pietro  Vecchio, 

219 
,,  ,,         S.    Simeone,    234- 

236 
„        Church  and  Convent  of    S. 
Francesco,     236- 
238 
„  ,,         and  Convent  of  S. 

Francesco,      Pic- 
tures in,  236,  237 
„     Cinque  Pozzi,  207 
,,     Costume     of      the     country 

people,  211 
„     Foundations    of     chapel     on 

Riva  Nuova,  217,  218 
„     Greek  church,  S.  Elia,  238 
„     History,  207-211 
„     Loggia,  now  Para  via  Library, 

238 
„     Porta  Marina,  206,  207 
„     Porta  Terra  Ferma.  207 
,,     Reliquaries  in  the  cathedral, 

'225-228 
„     S.   Donato,   church  and  mu- 
seum, 214-216 
Zara  Vecchia,  244 


Printed  by  Hazeil,   Watson  <£>  Viney,  Ld.,  London  and  Aylesbury. 


UNIVERSITY  OF  TORONTO 
LIBRARY 


Acme  Library  Card  Pocket 

Under  Pat.  "Ref.  Index  File." 
Made  by  LIBRARY  BUREAU,  Boston